(navigation image)
Home American Libraries | Canadian Libraries | Universal Library | Community Texts | Project Gutenberg | Children's Library | Biodiversity Heritage Library | Additional Collections
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload
See other formats

Full text of "Representative men and old families of southeastern Massachusetts : containing historical sketches of prominent and representative citizens and genealogical records of many of the old families"

LUif^s (jj ^ (y-^h 



REPRESENTATIVE MEN 
and OLD FAMILIES of 

SOUTHEASTERN 
MASSACHUSETTS 



CONTAINING 

HISTORICAL SKETCHES OF PROMINENT AND 
REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS AND GENEALOG- 
ICAL RECORDS OF MANY OF THE OLD FAMILIES 



ILLUSTRATED 



VOLUME I 



J. H. bj:j<: P. s & c 

CHICAGO 



PREFACE 



IN presenting RejDresentative Men antl Old 
Families of Southeastern ^Massachusetts to 
its patrons, the publishers wish to make 
grateful acknowledgment of the encouragement 
and support their enterprise has received, and the 
willing assistance rendered in enabling tliem to 
surmoujit tlie manj' unforeseen obstacles to be 
met Avith in the production of a work of this 
character. 

The inipoi-tance of placing in book form 
genealogy and biographical history — both for its 
immediate worth and for its value to coming gen- 
erations — is admitted by all thinking people; and 
within tlie past decade there has been a growing 
interest in this commendable means of perpetuat- 
ing family history and genealogy. Many of 
these sketches concerning representative citizens 
and early settled families of Bristol, Plymouth 
and Barnstable counties contain items of history 
which would be jjreservcd in no other Avay. In 
nearh' every instance the data \vere submitted to 
those immediately interested for revision and 
correction. The work, which is one of generous 
amplitude, is placed in the hands of the public  
with the belief that it will be found a valuable 
addition to the library, as well as an invaluable 
contribution to the historical and genealogical 
literature of New England. 

THE PUBLISHERS 



INDEX 



Akin Families 843, 1141 

Akin, Francis T 1141 

Akin, Mrs. Franklin S.... 1141 

Akin, Peleg P 843 

Akin, Thomas 1 143 

Albro Family 1614 

Alden Families 1506, 1704 

Alden, George N 1507 

Alden, Lucas W 1704 

Alger, Mrs. Abbie A..... 1614 

Alger, Arthur M 896 

Alger Families 

894, 949, 1231, 1613 

AJger, Prank S 949 

Alger, Newton H 1613 

Alger, Stillman 1231 

Alger, Rev. William R... 895 

Allan, Edward H 356 

Allen, Ethan 1754 

Allen Families 

70, 350, 1380, 1678, 1754 

Allen, George H. H 357 

Allen, Gideon, Jr 355 

Allen, Gideon H 1380 

Allen, Gilbert 355 

Allen, Mrs. Horatio A.... 355 

Allen, James W 356 

Allen, Joseph D 1631 

Allen. Samuel 1739 

Allen, Mrs. Sophia A 1631 

Allen, Thomas F 1678 

XWph. Walter S 357 

Almy, Benianiin R 824 

Almy, Mrs'. Emily M 826 

Mmy Families 

fi70, 691, 824, 1662 

Almy, Norman L 1663 

Almy, William 672 

inics Family 26 

Ames, Frederick L 29 

Ames, Miss Mary S 30 

Ames, Hon. Oliver 27 

Ames, Hon. Oliver, Jr. ... 28 

Anthony, Benjamin H.... IS 

Anthony, Daniel A 155u 

Anthony, Edmund 45 

Anthony. Edmund, Jr. ... 46 

Anthony, Mrs. Ella F 1264 

Anthony Families ....45, 1550 

Anthony, Mrs. Sarah C... 46 

Archer " Familv 108 

Archer, Dr. Jason H 109 

Archer, John J 109 



Arnold Familie3.480, 1302, 1336 

Arnold, Franklin G 1302 

Arnold, Moses N 482 

Arnold, Wallace E 484 

Arnold, William B 483 

Arnold, Wilson W 1335 

Ashley, Mrs. Bettie H 1322 

Ashley, Charles S 151 

Ashley Families 150, 1321, 1783 

Ashley, George B 1783 

Ashley, Henry T 1322 

Ashley, Jefferson 1114 

Atherton, l^eBaron 923 

Atwood, Alton B 611 

Atwood, Benjamin S 216 

Atwood, Charles A., M. D. 758 

Atwood, Charles H 1564 

Atwood, Charles N 609 

Atwood Families 

216, 609, 758, 960, 1333, 

1.366, 1543, 1563, 1616, 1788 

Atwood, George S 1333 

Atwood, Gustavus 1616 

Atwood, Dr. Joseph 1366 

Atwood, Josiah W 1564 

Atwood, Levi 1788 

Atwood, Marcus 1543 

Atwood, William B 960 

Averell, Edward E 1317 

Averill (Averell) Family. 1317 
Ayer (Ayers, Ayres) 

'Family 1517 

Babcock Family 1521 

Bacon, Ebene7x>r 858 

Bacon Family 878 

Bacon, Mrs. Lucretia M. . 358 

Bailey Familv 18 

Baker, Charles A 1127 

Baker, Charles F 295 

Baker, Charles L 1127 

Baker Families 

295, 57?., 1087, 1099, 1126,1319 

Baker, Capt. George O . . . . 1087 

Baker, Capt. Joshua G... 572 

Ballou Family 4.'55 

Ballou, Walter 455 

-Barden Family 677 

Larden, Mrs. Louise B.,.. 681 

Burden, Winthrop P 681 

Ban »r, Anson J 1524 

Barke., Capt. Charles W.. 1410 
Barker, Mrs. Edith F. .208, 247 



Barker, Edward 208 

Barker, Mrs. Emily K 1411 

Barker Families 

207, 331, 1410, 1524, 1655 

Barker, Orville A 1526 

Barnett, George D 1776 

Barney, Algernon H 1015 

Barney Families 1014, 1063 

Barney, Morgan 1064 

Barrows Families 611, 1275 

Barrows, Fletcher L 1277 

Barrows, Horatio 1275 

Bartlett Families.841, 1079, 1255 

Bartlett, Frederick D 84? 

Bartlett, Horace 125 

Bass Family ^17 

Bassett, Charles A 319 

Bassett Families 317, 1413 

Bassett, Lester E 1415 

Bassett, Rufus W 319 

Bassett, Thomas B 320 

Bates, Mrs. Anna W...524, 536 

Bates, Mrs. Elderetta 1491 

Bates, Elipbalet R 852 

Bates Families 

401, 536, 851, " ..Vi 

Bates, Joshua .'>M 

Bates, Orrin I lUO 

Bates, Mrs. Ruth T. . R"'* 

Battles, David W.... iVtiii 

Battles Family KilT 

Battles, Joseph ...... 177^* 

Baxendale, John V... 167,ft- 

Baxcndale, .lohn W... . l!}7ft 

Baxendale, Thomas A.. 320 

Baylies, Charles S ' ^2^ 

Baylies Family 5^* 

Baylies, John B f;25 

Baylies, Mrs. Mary C. . .52'* 

Baylies, William .;rS 

Beal, Charles A 3^" 

Beal(s) Families 338, -,, IV'» 

Beal, Mrs. Florence L , SiP 

Beal, George A 3Sft 

Beal, George C 34'> 

Beal, Herbert A . 34(* 

Beals, Arthur L., M.I V,7'. 
Beals ( Beal ) Families 

338, 905, 1  !.'il4 

Beals, Isaiah A ]^M 

Beals, Joseph E '06 

Beals, Walter L . IH)? 

Bearce, Mrs. Jefferson . .533 



yi 



INDEX 



Beaxse, Erastus T 1524 

Bearse Family 1522 

Beattie, John 1226 

Beattie, William 1226 

Benjamin Family 213 

Benjamin, Isaac W 213 

Benjamin, Mrs. Olive L... 214 

Bennett I amilies 1511,1746 

Bennett, H>nry H 1746 

Bennett, William A 1613 

Bent Family 635 

Bent, William H 637 

Besse Families 954,1627 

Besse, Frank A 956 

Bickford Family 753 

Bickford, George E 753 

Bickford, Mrs. Mary T. . . 755 

Bird Family 422 

Bishop Family 1779 

Blackinton, Amos S 1474 

Blackinton Family 1472 

Blackmer (Blackmore) 

Family 1530 

Blackmer, Herbert A 1531 

Blackstone, Alfred V., M.D. 562 

Blackstone Family 560 

Blackstone. Hollis M 561 

Blake Family 714 

Blake, James Edwin...... 714 

Blanding Family 1313 

Blanding, William W 1315 

Bliss, Charles E 977 

Bliss, Miss Cordelia L 978 

Bliss Families 808, 976 

Blossom, Alonzo C 1476 

Blors'i.i Family 1475 

Bodge Family 1516 

Bodge. John P 1517 

Bonney, Elliot L 839 

Borden, Mrs. Abbie L 346 

Borden, Miss Anna H 13 

Borden, Mrs. Bertha V.,. 1359 

Borden, Mrs. Bethana B,. 419 

Borden, Miss Carrie L.... 13 

BordcTi, Charles F 1247 

Sorden, Edwin 555 

fierden, Jlrs. Ellen F 14 

l^SWen Families 

«<-■ 8, 82, 417, 553, 1228, 1248 

l|en, Henry F., M.D. . . 1228 

den, .Tonathan 554 

i^rflen, Nathaniel B 84 

ienj- Nathaniel B., Jr. . 89 

den, Fhilip D 1250 

tlen, Fhilip H 419 

(Ten, Col. Richard 9 

Sfden,- Richard B 13 

!"^en, Robert R 1250 

^en, Simeon, Sr 87 

rden, Simeon, Jr 88 

if^en, Col, Tliomas J 11 

l^^n«; Edmund W 1291 

Time Family 1289 

^e,- Stand'ish 1291 

\feii' -Family 1244 

«en; Joseph A 1245 

Borden, Dr. Albert G 144 

B^yden; Arthur C 146 

^yden Family 142 

Bfij'den, Mrs. Isabella W . . 147 

!B%deB, Wallace C 147 

fifftdford. Complins F. . _ lan.'i 



Bradford Families 




915, 1284, 


1305 


Bradford, Miss Frances M. 


916 


Bradford, Lewis G 


915 


Bradford, Miss Mary E... 


1080 


Bradford, Mrs. Mary E . . . 


1307 


Bradford, William 


1079 


Braley, Mrs. Annie E . . . . 


949 


Bralev Families 304 


948 


Braley, Capt. Sierra L 


948 


Brayton, Mrs. Caroline E. 


125 


Bray ton, David A 


122 


Brayton, Miss Elizabeth H. 


123 


Bravton Family 


120 


Brayton, Miss Harriet H.. 


124 


Brayton, Hezekiah A 


124 


Brayton, -John S 


123 


Brayton, Miss Julia W , . . 


122 


Brayton. William B 


122 


Brett, Ellis 


239 






239, 366, 516, 


1764 


Brett, Henry A 


368 


Brett, William F 


367 


Brett, Zenas F 


368 


Briggs. Abram T 


999 


Briggs Families 




457, 510, 729, 911, 1000, 




1246, 1354, 1581, 


1596 


Briggs, Franklin 


731 


Briggs, George E 


1596 


Briggs, George R 


1246 


Briggs, Seth M 


1354 


Brightnian, Charles 


851 


Brightman, Charles P 


1649 


Brightnian, Miss Eva St, C 


1648 


Brightman Families . , . 850, 


1647 


Brightman. Hathaway .... 


1648 


Eronson Family 


397 


Bronson. Dr. John R 


397 


Brown Families. 608, 1273, 


1771 


Brown, Isaac A 


1772 


Brown, Marcus A 


1273 


Brownell, Ah'in C 


1030 


Brownell, Benjamin F 


1481 


Brownell, Mrs, Deborah D. 


1481 


Brownell, Mrs. Evelyn H., 


777 


Brownell Families 




cm, 0S2, 10.10, 1177, 1471 




1480, 


1(730 


Brownell, Fenner 


1472 


Brownell, Fenner C 


1472 


Brownell, Isaac T 


1178 


Brownell, Joseph 


692 


Brownell, William H 


1630 


Brvant Familie^ 868, 


1699 


Bryant, Walter C 


867 


Buffington, Darius 


1368 


Buffinton (Buffington) Fa- 




milies 1219, 1367, 


1706 


Buffinton, Frank 


1707 


Buffinton, Mrs. James N.. 


277 


Buffinton, Oliver 


1707 


Bullard Family 


102':. 


Bullard, John T., M.D 


K':o 


Bullock, Hon, William J.. 


IZ'Jf 


Bump Families IP^f, 


VM-'- 


Bump, James S 


)'iu 


Bump, Josiah B. . . . , . 


loro 


Burbank Famdlv 


V,-:' 


Burrell, David X, 


.. i;fiG 


Eurrell Families TJ"' 


if.05 


■Ri,r».cll .Tnririb 


lAftff 



Burt Families 789, 1278 

Burt, Henry P 791 

Burt, Samuel P 790 

Burt, T. Preston 1279 

Bushee, Albert A 1791 

Bushee, Charles H 1790 

Bushee Family 1789 

Byram Family 517 

Cady Family 1050 

Cady, Frank L 1050 

Cahoon, Mrs. Annie J.... 559 

Cahoon, Ellery C 558 

Cahoon F.amily 558 

Caldwell, Benjamin 1108 

Caldwell-Family 1108 

Canedy Family 1452 

Canedy, Zebulon L 1452 

Capron, Everett S 1583 

Capron Family 1582 

Capron, Harford A 1583 

Carleton Family 1750 

Carleton, George H 1750 

Carleton, Mrs. Mary W... 1751 

Carpenter, Mrs. Eliza J.. 1583 

Carpenter Families. . .642, 1578 

Carpenter, Frank L 642 

Carpenter, Mrs. Harriet D. 1581 

Carpenter, Henry L 1580 

Carpenter, Lyman 1581 

Carpenter, Shepard W 1580 

Carr Family 1534 

Carr, Simeon D 1534 

Gary, Charles H 1564 

Gary Families 360, 517, 1564 

Gary, Mrs, Matilda F 363 

Gary, William H 360 

Case, Charles A 1663 

Case, Charles E 1745 

Case Families 1663, 1745 

Case, Mrs, Nellie M 1(J64 

Caswell, Mrs, Eliza J I(i40 

Caswell Family 1639 

Caswell, William H 1639 

Ghace, Arthur F., M.D. ... 707 

Chace, Benjamin S 707 

Ghace, Charles A 707 

Chace (Chase) Families 
132, 237, 518, 854, 1218, 

1343. 1615 

Ghace, Frank C 1220 

Chace, Frank M ISi 

Chace, George A 2:)S» 

Chace, George M. ...... .. 7(1  

Chace, Rev. Obadi-^^ •• 70 

Chace, Mrs. Sarah A 2S 

Chace, Walte Y 71- 

Chace, Wa n eii -0 703 

Chace, William B. .>f.... 518 

Chan->)!i;«iiii Fairrily. ... 403 

C>  ;uborlain, T<.vr-r! V. 402 

r-lu idler C:::- obad A... 7C 
-■% Her .Fa-.iiliss. .68, 965, 1195 

Oh.tndler, Heiv?y W 966 

'ha':d.leT, Ji>seph 1196 

a^!^.. Edward L 1343 

i'!' (Chace) Fafnilies... 
-•i-i, 237, 518, 854, 121H. 

1343, 1610 

Chase, Simeon B 133 

Child Family 12.5!!; 

Church Families. . .552, 740, 1254 

i}hur'h^ NathftmeL__ 1^. .55^ 



INDEX 



vu 



Church, Miss Sarah C 553 

Churchill, Alexander 1607 

Churchill Families 840, 941, 1266 

Churchill, George 1266 

Churchill, Newton 942 

Clapp Family 518 

Claric Family 954 

Clark, Maj. Herbert, A. . . . 448 

Clark, Mrs. Melissa C 1713 

Clark, Nicholas A 1712 

Cleavcland Family 1189 

Cleayeland, Walter F 1190 

Clifford, Charles W 165 

Cliflord Family 163 

Clifford. John H 164 

Clifford, Walter 166 

Cobb Families 1450, 1719 

Cobb, l>ler 1450 

Colby, Mrs. Ann P 1356 

Cole, Elmer B 1333 

Cole Families.. 1022, 1329, 1718 

Cole, Henry H 1332 

Cole, Leander S 1719 

Cole, Mrs. Rosa A 1720 

Cole, Theron M 1331 

Coiiant Family 382 

Conant, Marcus 383 

Conant, Prelet D 737 

Connell, Arthur I., M.D... 1418 
Connell, Dr. Charles W. . . . 1417 

Connell Family 1416 

Connell, William 1410 

Cook, Charles C 1350 

Cook, Charles E 1229 

Cook, Ernest L 989 

Cook Families 

986, 989, (040, 1230, 1292, 1349 

>ok, Gen. Henry Clay 1041 

ook, Henry W 1294 

■.uok, MilU-r, Jr 1294 

Cook, Randall W 987 

Cook, Robert 372 

Cook, Samuel H 1031 

Cook, Mrs. Sarah P 1032 

Copeland, Mrs. Caroline A. 635 

Copeland, Davis 633 

Copelanc. Families 

127, 631, 1526, 1558 

Copeland, George 129 

Copeland, Dr. George W. . . 127 

Copeland, Heman 634 

Copeland, Horatio F., M.D. 129 

Copeland, Ira 632 

Copeland, Mrs. Julia H. . . 127 

Ooppl.nnd, Lyman E 1558 

Copeland, Warren T 1526 

Cornell, Daiiol "^ 1128 

Cornell Fawili. , , ..980, 1127 

Cornell. Pardi'ri 981 

CortheH, Miss ■■; ,- 503 

Corthell, Eim.-r '. 504 

Corthell Fu'iii'. 501 

Corthell, Jr, ,ir.-- i 503 

Corthell, E<.'. v .amP.. 501 

Couch, Da'!'. "■■ .., 137 

Couch Parjiiy... 136 

Couch, Lee,.. a'r.l ''. 138 

Coyel, Alphw. o P 1097 

Coyel, lier ,.!..; u 1097 

Coyel. Ber-ja ,., 1098 

Covel FaniViv - 109G 

Covel, I'hona:' •■ 1098 

Novell Ff -iiil / 1623 



Covell, Capt. George A... 1623 

C'oyell, William P 1624 

Crandall, George N 757 

Crandall ( Crandell ) Fam- 
ilies 694, 756 

Crandell, Mrs. Abby D 695 

Crandell, Arthur R., M.D. 694 

Crane Families 044, 1493 

Crane, Joshua E 646 

Crapo Family 1 

Crapo, Henry H 2 

Crapo, Hon. William W.. 4 

Crocker, Dayid 876 

Crocker Families 876,1457 

Crocker, Harvey 1458 

Crocker, jMrs. Louise S... 1459 

Cromwell Family 583 

Crowell, Capt. Elkanah... 1300 

Crowell Families 1298, 1649 

Crowell, Isaiah 1301 

Crowell, Capt. Sturgis 1297 

Crowell, Thomas F 1649 

Cummings, Jlrs. A. Emma 690 

Cummings, Benjamin .... 689 

Cummings, Charles S.... 690 

Cummings Family 687 

Curtis, Charles H 1763 

Curtis Families 793, 1763 

Curtis, Jlrs. S. Adelaide. 1764 

Gushing Families 807, 1281 

Cushman, Andrew B., M.D. lOOl 

Cushman, Bradford K. . . . 1154 

Cushman, Emery 181 

Cushman Families 

105, 180, 995, 1002, 1133, 

1154, 1741 

Cushman, Henry E 182 

Cushman, Henry W 182 

Cushman, Herbert E 108 

Cushman, Jol, S 1134 

Cushman, Setli L 107 

Cushman, William H 108 

Danforth, Mrs. Adelaide W. 

729, 983 

Danforth Family 1786 

Danforth, Minot L 1786 

Darling Family 676 

Darling, Joseph M 676 

Dassanee, Mrs. Carrie F . . 1266 

Davis, Amos N 898 

Davis, Charles S 565 

Davis, Capt. Cornelius A.. 899 

Davis, Capt. Elijah G 897 

Davis, Mrs. Emma B 789 

Davis Faniilie.j 

562, 717, 788, 896, 1552 

Davis, Henry L 788 

Davis, Howland 566 

Davis, Capt. Joseph F 898 

Davis, Mrs. Mary A 307 

Davis, Mavnard A 712 

Davis. Nathan S 897 

Davis, Robert T., M.D 378 

Davis, Samuel M 1552 

Davol, Bradford D 1066 

Davol Family 1064 

Davol. James C. C 1067 

Davol, Mrs. Mary E 1067 

Davol, Stephen 1065 

Dean, Miss Bertha 850 

Dean, Edgar E., M.D. . . . 1256 



Dean, Ellery C 1280 

Dean (el Families 

724, S49, 1257,1280,1486, 1561 

Dean, George A 1561 

Dean, Joshua 1487 

Dean, Miss Marian E..... 1258 

Dean, Theodore 850 

Dean, William M 727 

Deane, Ash.ael S., M.D..,. 725 

Delano, Augustine A 1404 

Delano, Charles H. L 820 

Delano Families. .774, 818, 1405 

Delano, George 820 

Delano, Joshua 775 

Delano, Miss Ruth B 775 

Delano, Mrs. Sarah S. B. . . 820 

Denham Families 1286, 1497 

Denham, Tliomas M 1499 

Denham, Tilson B 1286, 1497 

Denison Family 506 

Denison, John H 567 

Denison, Mrs. Louise A... 568 

Dennie Family 1687 

Dennie, Fred M 1687 

Dennie, Jlrs. Jessie F 1688 

Dexter Families 829, 1346 

Dexter, Lemuel LeBaron . . 829 

Dill, Charles H 1054 

Donovan, Alfred W 1167 

Donovan, Timothy 1167 

Doty Family 887 

Drake, Albert B 1200 

Drake, Charles E 1483 

Drake Families 1199, "'S3 

Drew Family 'J 

Drew, Fred' Ii^j9 

Dring, Miss Caroline A... 815 

Dring, Charles H S15 

Dring, Charles P 812 

Dring Family 812 

Dudley Fami'ly 1370 

Dudley, Sumner A 1370 

Dunham, Benjamin F 1691 

Dunham Families 450, 1645, 1691 

Dunham, Oscar E 1646 

Durfee Families 

835, 893, 1447, 1573 

Durfee, George N 894 

Durfee, George T - 1448 

Durfee, Nathaniel B 893 

Durfee, Randall N 838 

Durfee, Winthrop C 835 

Dwelley Families 138, 1262 

Dwelley, Jedediah 1263 

Dwelly Family 138 

Dwelly, Frank H 140 

Dwelly, Jerome, M.D 139 

Dwelly, Miss Mary B - V.O 

Dyer, David H ... 308 

]>V'er, E. Alden, M.D Slfi 

Dyer, Edward 818 

Dyer Families 307, 8)5, 984 

Dyer, George F 309 

Dyer, James B 985 

Dyer, Miss Marietta W... 985 
Dyer, Samuel B 984 

Eames Family 1599 

Earle, Andrew B 307 

Earle Families ..305, 1082, 1412 

Earle, Mrs. Hannah E 307 

Earle, John M "f"" 



Till 



Earle, John W 1413 

Earle, Lloyd S 306 

Eaton Families 1340, 1379 

Eaton, Mrs. George 524 

Eddy, Mrs. Ada H 997 

Eddy Families 414, 461 

Eddy, George M 415 

Edson Family 1761 

Edson, Simeon W 1761 

Eldred, Davis R 1734 

Eldred Family 1734 

Eldridge, Albert S 495 

Eldridge, Miss Alniira 494 

Eldridge, Eli H 494 

Eldridge Family 493 

Eldridge, John H 495 

Ellis, Obed H 1762 

Emerson, Charles 485 

Emerson Family 485 

Estes Family 1240 

Estes, J. Edmund 1241 

Estes, John H 1241 

Evans, Charles E 1115 

Evans, Edwin H 1115 

Evans Family 1114 

Everson Family 1208 

:Everson, Richard A 1209 

Faunce, Adoniram 1748 

Faunce, Charles M 608 

Fa\uice Families 606. 1748 

Famice, Walter H 606 

Field, Daniel W 315 

Field Family 313 

Field, Frederic F 317 

7ield, William L 314 

''iloon Family.. 176 

filoon, Fred Williams 178 

^iloon. Dr. Henry H 179 

'iloon, Miss Mabel A . . . . 178 

'iloon, Veranus 177 

lagg Families 759, 1602 

lagg, George W 763 

lagg, Lester G 764 

lagg, Loren A 1602 

lagg, Wullace C 759 

letcher, Elmer H 804 

letcher, Eustis J 804 

'letcher Family 802 

■letcher, John " A 803 

'lint Families 244, 762 

i^int John D 244 

'""ontneau. Frank 1307 

roster Families 1104, 1149 

Foster, John 1104 

Foster, Nathan B 1 1 50 

Foster, Mrs. S. Ettie 1151 

Fox Familv 490 

T'ox, William H 493 

Francis, .James P 353 

Freeman, Mrs. Clara S .. . 331 

Freeman, George H 331 

French, Miss Abby M 533 

French. Enoch T 531 

French Families 

461, 528, 791. 1493 

French, James H 531 

-French, Job B 532 

■"h, Joseph E 791 

Samuel 1494 

'»phen L 530 

-■ • L 461 



Frost, Mrs. Thomas W 1716 

Fuller r.'mily 1307 

Fullerton 7nmily 1116 

Fullerton, Richard M 1116 

Furlong, Mrs. W. H 203 

Gammons, Mrs. Amantha B. 1323 

Gammons, Edgar H 1322 

Gammons, Edward A 391 

Gammons, Ephraim H 1689 

Gammons Families. .. 1194, 1688 
Gammons, George T. M... 1688 

Gammons, Leonard F 1194 

Gammons, Mrs. Mary E. . . 1195 

Gammons, Noble E 1641 

Gardiner Family 1315 

Gardiner, George N 1317 

Gardner, Mrs. Abisjail A.. 521 

Gardner, Arnold t) 1213 

Gardner, Charles H 1212 

Gardner. Mrs. Emma E... 1212 

Gardner Families 932, 1210 

Gardner. Francis L 1212 

Gardner, Leander E 1211 

Gardner, Mrs. Martha J.. 140 

Gardner, Orrin A . : 934 

Gates Familv 368 

Gates, Samuel P 368 

Gee, Frederic A Ill 

Gibbs Families.. 742. 1021. 1216 

Gibbs, George 742 

Gibbs, Mrs. Jane W 1218 

Gibbs, Mrs. Judith ( Cole )B. 1022 

Gibbs, C.apt. Lot H 1216 

Gibbs, Capt. Stephen B... 1022 

Gifford, Abram 1738 

Gifford, Benjamin F 1773 

Gifford. Charles F 1619 

Gifford, Edmund L 1.594 

Gifford Families 

700, 874, 944, 979. 1364, 

1594, 1739, 1772 

Gifford, Ferdinand H 701 

Gifford. Gideon 701 

Gifford, Henrv H 1618 

Giff'jrd. Dr. -John H 980 

Gifford, I^vi 1618 

Gifford. Obed A 1737 

Gifford, William 945 

Gif.o d, William H 945 

Gifford. William L 1366 

Gilbert. Julius C 1198 

Goddard, M-s. Alice M. . . 1586 
Goddard Col. (.oorge B... 1.587 

Goff Famines 332, 1337 

Goff, Frederic E 334 

Goff. William H 332 

Goldtluvaite, Emerson 1362 

Goldthwaite Familv 1301 

Goodinsr Families SCO. 1476 

Goodwin. Samuel 1767 

Gorham, Ephraim A 1510 

Gorham Fnmilv 1509 

Goulding Family 1500 

Goulding, .Tames H 1501 

Goulding, I^wis 1500 

Goward, Edwin T 1013 

Goward Familv 1013 

Grav Familv l<5<)f 

Grav, Winsiow 1669 

Greene Families 8.32, 1303 

Greene, William S 834 

Grinnell. Arthur G 227 



Grinnell, Frederick ....'. . C"'^- 

Grinnell, Joseph G 29,1 

Grinnell, Lawrence 2?.!; 

Grinnell, Miss Marv R. . . . 2'.'.7 

Grinnell, Richard W 227 

Grout Family ". *• oiJ 

Grout, Mrs. Zira R G5.i 

Guild, Emmons D 924 

Guild Families 769, 924 

Gurney, Mrs. Chloe R 301 

Gurney, David B 736 

Gurney Families 299, 735 

Gurney, Henry 1343 

Gurney, Lysander F 299 

Hadley, Eugene J 872 

Hadley Family 870 

Hadley, Jacob B 870 

Haffards, Griffitts M 728 

Hall, Andrew H 723 

Hall, Everett C 335 

Hall Families 335, 720 

Hall. Frederick S 722 

Hamblin Family 1684 

Hambly, Mrs. Clarence E. . 1595 

Hammond, Edgar B 1177 

Hammond Family 1175 

Hammond, Henry F 1177 

Hancock Family 1384 

Hancock, Portu's B 1384 

Hanson. Frederick 1634 

Hanson, Thom,".,s R 1634 

Harding, David E 202 

Harlev, Harry B 1397 

Harley, James B 1396 

Harlev, Mrs. Mary E 1397 

Harlow Families 190, 966 

Harris, Benjamin W 54. 

Harris Family ^'^ 

Harris, Robert ..... . 58 

Hart, Albert T 1766 

Hart Family 1(65 

Hartley, Mrs. Mary J 418 

Hartsliom, Mrs. Alice R. . 471 

Hartshorn, Geort-p F 470 

Hartshorn, George T 471 

Hartshnme (Hartshorn) 

Family 469 

Haskell, Reward 992 

Haskell. Mrs. Louisa B..82, 992 

Hastings, Alton B 1131 

Hastings Familv 1131 

Hatch Family .' 733 

Hatch, George E 1.536 

Hatch. Rev. Leonard B., 

D. D 734 

Hathaway, Clarence M. . . 615 

ilithawav, Edward E. ... 614 

Hathaway, Mrs. Ellen A.. 1198 

Hathaway, Mrs. Ellen R. . 1312 
Hathawav Families ..612, 

625, 782, 800. 1196, 130' ■•2 

Hathaway, Francis .... 1313 

Hathaway, Capt. Hemv C 6^4 

Hathaway, Herman }■■. . 1502 

Hathaway, Horatio 131'.? 

Hathaway, James I' TSS 

Hathawav, John B 627 

Hathaway, Capo. .Tudah... 800 

Hathaway, Mrs. Mavd C. . . 61.5 

Hathaway, Samuel 61" 



INDEX 



li 



Hathaway, Samuel W. ... G14 

Hathaway, William J. ... 1196 

Hauthaway, Charles L. . . 289 

Hauthaway, Charles M. . . 288 

Hauthaway, Frank M. ... 291 
Hauthaway, Mrs. Susan 

Augusta" 290 

Hawes, Edward E., M.D.. 600 

Hawes, Mrs. Eliza P 1394 

Bawes Families . . . ; 

221, 600, 1183, 1389, 1392 

Hawes, Frederick B 1391 

Hawes, CTeorge H 230 

Hawes, Jonathan C 1391 

•Hawes, Mrs. Mary W 1391 

Hawes, Oliver K 230 

Hawes, Oliver S 229 

Hawes, Svlvanus T 1392 

Hawes, William C 1184 

Hawes, William M 229 

Hawes, William T 1184 

Hawkins, Charles W 997 

Hawkins, Edward L 997 

Hawkins," Edwin M 997 

Hawkins Family 996 

Hawkins, Henry C 997 

Hayes, Mrs. Helen L 1636 

Hayward, Ernest L 885 

Hayward Families 234, 884, 1532 

Hayward, John L 1532 

Hayward, Dr. Joseph W.. 884 

Hayward, Walter B.. M.D. 885 

Heard Family 517 

Hedge, Barnabas 1169 

Hedge Family 1108 

Hedge, Mrs. "Priscilla S. .. 1170 

Hersey Family 985 

Hersom Family 1455 

Hersom, Thomas 1455 

Hervey, E. Williams 912 

Hervey Family 911 

Hewett, Miss Ellen E. . . . 478 

Hewett Family 477 

Hewett, Herman 478 

Hewett, Josepli 477 

Hewett, Justin 470 

Hewett, Mrs. Mary O . . . 470 

Heywood, Miss Grace A. . . 1543 

Heywood, John J 1542 

Hicks, Andrew 771 

Hicks, Bamev 770 

Hicks, Miss Charlotte 771 

Hicks Family 769 

Hicks, Isaac 771 

Hicks, John Jay 771 

Hicks, Miss Maria R 772 

Hicks, Mrs. Sarah A 772 

Hicks, William B 772 

Hill Family 075 

Hills Family 1495 

Hills, George H 1496 

Hobart, Hon. Aaron 7 

Hobart, Edward 8 

Hobart, Edward E 1567 

Hobart Families ...5, 796. 1567 

Hodge, Michael 743 

Hodges Families 

846, 1051, 1319, 1584 

Hodges, Frederick G 1320 

Hodges, Leonard M 1052 

Hodges, William B 1320 

Holbrook (e) Families 10.3, 1730 

Holbrook, Samuel A 1730 



Holbrook, Mrs. Susan J... 1731 

Hollis, Mrs. Esther 967 

Hollis Family 967 

Hollis, John "H 967 

Hollywood Family 1683 

Hollyivood, Joseph M 1683 

Holman, David Emory, 

M. D 298 

Holman Family 296 

Holman, Samuel F 298 

Holmes, Albert W 1424 

Holmes, Barnabas H 1518 

Holmes, Charles J 280 

Holmes, Charles L 281- 

Holmes, Edward 39J- 

Holmes, Ezra 1680 " 

Holmes Families 

277, 392, 1424, 1518, 1680 

Holmes, Frank H 395 

Holmes, Miss Helen 395 

Holmes, Miss Helen R. ... 1519 

Holmes, Josiah, Jr 1427 

HoJmes, Judge Lemuel LeB. 838 

Holmes, Mrs. Mary A. . . . 281 

Holmes, Paraclefte W 396 

Hood, Alfred H 592 

Hood Family 591 

Hood, William P 591 

Hooper Families 285, 555 

Hooper, Dr. Frederick H . . 555 

Hooper, George M 286 

Horton, Adin B 1237 

Horton, Charles M 919 

Horton, Edwin J 444 

Horton, Mrs. Emily H. . . 447 

Horton, Maj. Everett S. . . 442 

Horton Families 

441, 731, 917, 1236 

Horton, Gideon M 446 

Horton, James J \ 447 

Horton, Mrs. Mary J -^237 

Horton, Nathaniel B 1J37 

Horton, Raymond M 448 

Hosmer Family 1408 

Hosmer, Stephen D 1408- 

Hough Family 453- 

Hough, Garry deN 454 

Hough, George A 454 

Hough, Dr. George T 453 

Hovey Family 1G81 

Howard, Charles 96 

Howard, Cyrus 1715 

Howard, Daniel S., Jr 44 

Howard, Daniel S., Sr 42 

Howard, Miss Edith F 540 

Howard, Embert 300 

Howard Families 

40. 96, 309, 536, 764. 993, 1162 

1513, 1638, 1668, 1682, 1715 

Howard, Francis E 536 

Howard, George 993 

Howard, Gorham B 43 

Howard, Harry C 995 

Howard, James E 1164 

Howard, Jeremiah B 1515 

Howard, Leavitt T 1682 

Howard, Lester S 1515 

Howard, Mrs. Mary Cobb. 43 

Howard, Nathan C 1514 

Howard, Mrs. Sylvia M... 1683 

Howard, Warren A 43 

Howes Family 1110 

Howes, Maioiis H 1110 



Howland, Abraham H. ... 466 

Howland, Miss Eli.';abeth K. 155 

Howland Familie: 

153, 464, 805, 11 1<>, 1323, 1508 

Howland, Miss Mary T. . . 467 

Howland, Pelep 154 

Howland, Hoi eston . . . 467 

Hubbard, Mr: lara I 860 

Hudner Fami- y 1728 

Hudner, Michael T 1729 

Hume, Miss E. Maude . . . 556 

Humphrey Families. . 1625, 1710 

Humphrey, Galen 1626 

Humphrey, George W 1711 

Hunt, Dr. Charles R 522 

Hunt Families 334, 521, 1059 

Hunt, Reuben 1060 

Hussey, Miss Emily Morgan 135 

Hussey, George 135 

Hussey-Morgan Family. . . 134 

Ingraham Family 1784 

Ingraham, Robert C 1785 

Inness, Thomas B 526 

Ivers, Miss Ella F 265 

Ivers Family 264 

Ivers, Samuel 264 

Jackson, Amos M., M.D... 162 

Jackson, Elisha T 1076 

Jackson Families ] 60, 1073 

Jackson, James F 1076 

Jackson, John A 1074 

Jackson, John H., M. D. . . 161 

Jackson, Oliver H., M. D.. 162 

Jackson, Prescott H 1075 

Jackson, Ralph W., M. D. . 161 

Jean, Jean B 1324 

Jenkins Family 400 

Jenkins, George 400 

Jenney Families ....1544, 1700 

Jenney, Mrs. Mary A 195 

Jenney, Mrs. Mary E 1545 

Jenney, Perry P 1545 

Jennings, Mrs. Annie B . . . 366 

Jennings Family 364 

Jennings, William H 365 

Jones, Mrs. Abbie B 396 

* Jones, Augustus T 578 

Jones, Bradford E 235 

Jones Families 235, 578 

Jones, Henry M 397 

Keevey, Peter 1404 

Keith, Adelbert F 18 

Keith, Allen P 718 

Keith, Bela 654 

Keith, Charles 

Keith, Charles P 74 

Keith, Dennis Gary 23 

Keith, Edward A 19 

Keith, Edward H 429 

Keith, Edward P 1575 

Keith, Edwin (Brockton). 778 

Keith, Edwin (Taunton).. 185 

Keith, Eldon B 23 

Keith, Elmer L. 1423 

Keith Families 

14, 71, 184, 267, 456, 
488, 718, 775, 783, 1145, 

1352, 1420, 1465, lf75 1585 

Keith, Frank P Ui.4 



INDEX 



Keith, George E 20 

Keith, Harold C 23 

Keith, Hor ce A 267 

Keith, Howard P 1585 

Keith, Martin L 777 

Keith, Merton S 1424 

Keith, Myron I - 25 

Keith, Nahum Villiams.. 1352 

Keith, Nathan .. 1145 

Keith, Preston B 75 

Keith, Roland M 489 

Keith, Rufus P 77 

Keith, Miss Sarah E. . . . 185 

Keith, Capt. Seth 382 

Keith, Simeon Elliott 430 

Keith, S. Lorin 490 

Keith, Solomon 490 

Keitii, Wallace C, M. D.. 783 

Keiih, Warren R 428 

Keith, Ziba C 779 

Kellev, Charles S 243 

Kellev Families 241, 1411 

Kellev, George W 888 

Keli.\y, Mrs. Sarah A 244 

Kem^ton, David B 937 

Kempton Families 936, 1026 

Kem; on, Mrs. Susan H. .. 937 

Kent Tohn S 90 

Kilbma (Kilbourne) Familv 1619 

Kilbuvn, William J '. 1620 

Kimball Family 130 

King Fhmily 1165 

King, William B 116C 

Kingman, Benjamin S 1643 

Kingman, Calvin D 408 

Kingman Families 

409, 913, P''4, 1325, 1540, 1643 

Kingman, Ga. iner J 1325 

Kingman, Herbert L 913 

Kingman, Horace 974 

Kingman, Josiah W 1326 

Kingman, Mrs. Mary A. . . 410 

Kingman, Rufus P 1541 

Kirbv Families 601, 917 

KirbV. Holder C, M. D... 603 

Knowles, Daniel M 196 

Knowles, Edward 196 

Knowles Familv 192 

Knowles, Henry M 196 

Knowles, Capt." John P. . . 194 

Knowles, John P., Jr 195 

Knowles, Joseph 197 

Knowles, Joseph C 195 

Knowles, Joseph F 198 

Knowles, Mrs. Mary J. . . 195 

' nowles, Thomas H 194 

Ai:owles, William H 195 

Kollock, Mrs. Helen M. .. 1516 

KoUock, Lemuel M 1516 

Lane, Alonzo 662 

Lane, Mrs. Deborah M. ... 1404 

Lane. Maj. Everett 002 

Lane Families 660,1402 

Lane, George F 1402 

Lane, Mrs. Helen E 662 

Lane, Jenkins 661 

Lani>, Richmond J 661 

Lane, Zenas M 662 

Lawrence Family 1164 

Lawrence, Miss Ida E 1165 



Lawrence, James W 1165 

Lawrence, Dr. N. Louise.. 1628 

Lawson Familv 1369 

Lawson, Frederick W 1369 

Lawton, Charles H 512 

Lawton, Mrs. Clara P. . . . 513 

Lawton Family 511 

La^vton, Horace A 512 

Lawton, Mrs. Mary E 512 

Leach Families. . .380, 382, 1084 

Leach, Henry W 1085 

Leach, James C 379 

Leach, Mrs. Phebe 381 

LeBaron Families 831, 1035 

Leonard, Cornelius H. . . . 1377 

Leonard, Daniel B 590 

Leonard Families 

587, 1217, 1264, 1277, 1378 

Leonard, Henrv T 589 

Leonard, Job M 1265 

Leonard, Milton H., M.D. 590 

Leonard, Theodore W 1218 

Lewis Families 211, 1008 

Lewis, Zenas W 1008 

Lincoln, Edward 346 

Lincoln, Edward E 346 

Lincoln Families. . .60, 343, 1010 

Lincoln, George A 1012 

Lincoln, Miss Helen B. . . . 67 

Lincoln, Henry C 346 

Lincoln, Henry E 1012 

Lincoln, James M 348 

Lincoln, Mrs. Jeanette A.. 1013 
Lincoln, Jonathan T. (de- 
ceased) 344 

Lincoln, Leontine 347 

Lincoln, Lorenzo 348 

Lincoln, ISIiss Mary E 346 

Lincoln, Nathaniel R 348 

Lincoln, Theodore G 67 

Lincoln, Tlieodnre L 67 

Lincoln, Gen. Thomas .... 66 

Lindsey, Crawford E 215 

Lindsey Family 214 

Lindsey, Mrs. Mary E 216 

Little Familv 1545 

Lflthrop, Edwin H 880 

Lothrop Families 31, 880 

Loud Family 389 

Loud, Reuben 389 

Lovell, Dr. Charles E 1076 

Lovell Families 

1076. 1205, 1463, 1624 

Lovell, George W 1464 

Lovell, Samuel C. : 1205 

Lovering Charles L 63 

Lovering Family 61 

Lovering, Henry M 65 

Lovering, Willard 62 

Lovering, William C 64 

Low, Emeiy M 438 

Low Family 438 

Luce, Arthur G 1687 

Luce Family 1 686 

Luce, Capt."Hervcy E 1686 

Luce, Matthew 1061 

Limd Family 182 

Lund, Parkman M 184 

Luscomb, Andrew 340 

Luscomb. Mrs. Mary M 350 

Luther, Charles B 685 

Luther Families 683, 1072 



Luther, Joseph G 1072 

Luther, Samuel M 685 

Lyon, Arthur V., M.D 620 

Lyon Family 620 

Macomber Families 

1144, 1549, 1628 

Macomber, Miss Harriet P. 1550 

Macomber, Capt. John A.. 1145 

Macomber, John C 1629 

Macomber, Joseph L 1549 

Macy, Edwin B 293 

Macv Familv 291 

MacV, Frank H 294 

Macy, Frederick 292 

Macy, Frederick B 293 

Macy, George 1 293 

Macv, James R 294 

Macv, Philip E 294 

Macv, Thomas W 294 

Maglathlin Familv 998 

Maglathlin, Capt. "Henry B. 998 

Magri, Countess Lavinia.. 1674 

Makinson Family 1206 

Makinson, John F 1206 

Manchester Family 1005 

Mandell, Augustus H.,M.D. 1436 

Mandell Family 1435 

Manlev, Albert 1194 

Manley Families ....1191, 1533 

Manley, Milo 1193 

Mann, Charles F 674 

Mann Families 673, 940 

Mann, Frederick C 672 

Mann, Mrs. Pamelia L. . . 674 

Manning Family 1611 

Manning, Lucian W. . 1613 

Marang, Mrs. Clara S. . 257 

Marbel Family . 1557 

Marbel, Capt. William P.. 1557 

Marshall Family 1232 

Marshall, Howard T 1234 

Marston, Arthur B., 3d... 1695 

Marstnn Family 1693 

Mar!-ton, Harry L. ...... 1695 

Mar^ion. Zenas L 1695 

Mart in Family 746 

Marvin Family 396 

Mai N in. Nelson H 396 

Ma~on Families 

405, 518, 934, 1048, 1049 

Ma^ion, Francis A 1048 

Mason, Frederick 408 

Mason, Herbert N 1050 

Maxim, Charles j\f 1777 

Maxim, Clarence W 1779 

Maxim Family ... 1777 

McCrillis Familv 1727 

McCrillis, Mrs. Hettv T....1728 

McCrillis, John S 1727 

McCullough, John 508 

McLathlin Family 1752 

McWhirr. Mrs. Elizabeth J. 1361 

Mc Whirr. Robert A 1360 

Meaney, IMrs. Mary 1462 

Meaney, Tliomas J 1460 

Mendcll, James H 1537 

Messinger. Austin 1.376 

Metcalf Family 637 

Miller, Abishai 12-5 

Miller-dishing FamiRes . . 80ft 



IXDEX 



XI 



Miller Families 

126, 1004, 1171. 1380. 1419 

Miller, Franklin H 1172 

Miller, John A 1005 

Miller, Southard 11 1172 

Milliken, Charles W., M.D. 301 

Milliken Families 302, 1481 

Milliken. Mrs. Helen K. . . 197 

Milliken, Joseph K 1483 

Mitchell Families 282, 287 

Mitchell. Herbert 284 

Mitchell. Isam 233 

Moore, Charles E G17 

Morey Family 541 

Morgan, Charles W 135 

Morgan Familv 134 

Morse, Alfred B 939 

Morse, Edward N 939 

Morse Families 

937, 1433, 1508, 1774 

Morse, Harrison 1568 

Morse, John P 1773 

Morse, .Justin X 940 

Morse, Nahum F 1433 

Morton, Charles H 1364 

Morton, Ephraim S 1181 

Morton Families 

358, 548. 901, 1182, 1303 

Morton, Herbert A 551 

Morton. James M., LL. D. 359 

Morton, James M., 3d 360 

Morton, Hon. Marcus .63, 551 

Morton, Thomas J 550 

Munro (Munroe) Family.. 1775 

Munroe, Miss Charlotte'B. 1770 

Munroe, Josiah 1776 

Nash, jSIrs. Clara J 922 

Nash Families 920, 1151 

Nash, Thomas N 921 

Neill, Hon. Joseph 739 

Neill, Mrs. Marv J. Conant 739 

Nelson Families 458, 1540. 1589 
Nelson, Mrs. Hannah 

Cooiner 400 

Nelson. John H 1589 

Nelson. Mrs. Mary D. \V.. 1592 

Nelson. Sidney Tucker . . . 1549 

Nelson, William H 459 

Newconib Families . . . 159. 820 
Newcomb. !Miss Harriot A. 

07,' 160 

Newcomb, Nathaniel 159 

Newcomb, Mrs. Sarah J. . . , 

822, 847 

Newcomb, Washington L.. 821 

Newton. !Mrs. James E . . . . 984 

Nickerson. Capt. Alfred . . 173 

Noyes, Edward 1503 

Noyes Family 1503 

Nutter, Charles L 255 

Nutter Family 253 

Nutter.' Isaac N 254 

Nutter, Richard W 255 

Nye, Charles H 412 

Nye, Charles H., Jr 413 

Nye, Dayid D 1261 

Nye Families. 329. 412, 785 

1103. 1107, 1234. 1350, 1743 

Nye, James H 1234 

Nye, Obed 785 

Nye, Mrs. Susan C 1 104 

Nye, Thomas 1 104 



Nye, Willard 330 

Nye, Willard. Jr 331 

Nye, William F 1107 

Nye, William h 1357 

Oesting, F. William 982 

Oesting, Mrs. Violetta C . . 982 

Osborn Familv 37 

Osborn, Mrs. Hannah F. . . 532 

Osborn, James E 40 

Osborn, James M 39 

Osborn. Judge Joseph .... 37 

Osborn, Weaver 38 

Osborn, William J. 37 

Osborne Family 750 

Osborne, William H 752 

Packard, Mrs. Allie V. . . . 1148 

Packard, Davis vS 78 

Packard. DeWitt Clinton.. 681 

Packard, Elmer C 513 

Packard Families 78, 111, 326, 

513. 520. 004. 681, 1214, 1258 

1374, 1488. 1636, 1702, 1752 

Packard, Frederick Ill 

Packard. Fred H 604 

Packard, Fred 1. 1216 

Packard, Gcorje A 1702 

Packard, Mrs.' Harriet J.. . 1753 

Packard. Josiah Q 1488 

Packard, Martin 1636 

Packard, Moses A 326 

Packard, Nathan F 1752 

Packard. Nathaniel R. . . . 520 

Packard. Robert H 1374 

Packard, Sidney E 1215 

Packard, Sunnier T 80 

Packard. Warren 1? 006 

Page (Paige) Family 556 

Paige. Xoimis. jSl. D 556 

Paige. Dr. Onias 558 

Paine, A. Elliot. M. D... 905 

Paine Familv 90;\ 

Park Familv 1758 

Park. Frederick Wuldo . . . 1758 

Parker. David L 1017 

Parker Families 1016, 127:1 

Parker. Capt. Josiah 1467 

Parker, Ward TM 1016 

Parker. W'illiam C 1271 

Parker. William N 1466 

Partridge. Miss Deborah A. 1372 

Partridge Familv 1371 

Paull, Mrs. Abb'ie F 142 

Paull, Elbridge G 1690 

Paull Families ..141, 1493, 1689 

Paull, John 141 

Pearse Familv 1099 

Pearse.. George G 1102 

Pearse, William G 1102 

Pearse, William H., de- 
ceased 1101 

Pearse. William H 1102 

Peck, Capron 1201 

Peck, Clarence A 748 

Peck Families 746, 1200 

Peck, Frank O •749 

Peck, Herbert L 748 

Peck, Jathniel A 746 

Peck, Miss l.vdia D 1202 

Peck. Kussell A. 748 

Peckham. Anson C, M. D. . 1037 



Peckham Families ...1038, 1528 

Peckham, Henry C 1527 

Peirce, Mrs. Amanda E... 34 
Peirce, Charles M., Jr. ... 34 

Peirce Family 810 

Peirce, Hon. James P 810 

Penney Family 1725 

Penney, Justin B 1725 

Percival, Henrv M 936 

Perkins Families 

231, 312, 647, 1148, 

1485, 1588, 1600, 1721, 1739 

Perkins, George A 1486 

Perkins, Henry 647 

Perkins, James 1588 

Perkins, Merritt G 233 

Perkins, Oscar C 232 

Perkins, Stillman S 1721 

Perkins, Thomas H 1486 

Perkins, William (2) 1601 

Perry, Alonzo W 1160 

Perry, Augustus F 1698 

Perry Families 1160, 1698 

Perry, !Mrs. Lucy M 464 

Perry, Mrs. Susan B 1699 

Philbrick, Mrs. Annie E... 349 

Phillips Family 928 

Phillips, Capt. Jacob B. . . . 800 

Phillips, Lot 928 

Pickens Families.. 411, 641, 811 

Pierce. Alfred 533 

Pierce, A. Martin, M. D. . . 33 

Pierce, Andrew G 35 

Pierce, Anthony 910 

Pierce, Mrs. Caroline L... 36 

Pierce. Charles S 157 

Pierce. Miss Clara 911 

Pierce (Pearce. Pearse) 

Families 32,155,533,910, 1491 

Pierce, George R 157 

Pierce, James 1491 

Pierce, Mrs. Lizzie J 34 

Pierce, Mrs. Mary 1492 

Pierce. Otis N 36 

Pitts Families 718, 13.55 

Pitts, Joseph S 1355 

Poisson, Joseph 1200 

Poole, Benjamin F 1058 

Poole Families. 1057, 1136, 1449 

Poole. Isaac B 1449 

i'oole, I. Chester 1450 

Poole. Jerome B 1060 

Pope, Charles E 1455 

Pope Families 922, 1454 

Porter Family 628 

Porter, Henry S 628 

Porter, John 568 

Potter, Andrew H 1285 

Potter, Capt. Alden T. . . . 1043 

Potter Families 1043, 1284 

Potter, Warren B 1-8C 

Potter, William F 1287 

Pratt. Augustus 1338 

Pratt. Dr. Charles A 569 

Pratt, Charles H 1372 

Pratt Families.. 796, 1251, 

1338, 1342, 1350, 1372, 1382 

Pratt, Henry K 1251 

Pratt, Henry T 1352 

Pratt. Mrs. "jennie E 1251 

Pratt, Joseph 1381 



ai 



'ratt, Mrs. M. Adah 1452 

'ratt, Prescott H 1341 

'resbrey Family 797 

'lesbrey, Mrs. Fannie S... 800 

•resbrey, Silas D., M. D. . . 798 

'resbrey, William L 799 

"roctor Family 1702 

differ Family 575 

•uffer. Dr. Loring W 575 

Juinby Family 822 

Juinby, Oliver B 822 

landall Family 1732 

landall, George H 1732 

lankin Family 155G 

iankin, Mrs. Kate J 1557 

tankin, William 1550 

lankin, William J 1557 

Jead, Alexander, M. D. . . 92 

llead, Benjamin B 1407 

lead, Mrs. Cynthia A 620 

Jead(e) Families 

91, 540, 619, 1407 

lead, Joseph R 619 

lead, Paddock R 540 

lead, William A 92 

leade (Reed) Families... 

49, 341, 853 

leed, Arthur B 388 

Reed, Edward P 387 

Reed ( Reade ) Families . . . 

49, 341, 386, 859, 1151, 1670 

Reed, Mrs. Georgiana S... 388 

Reed, Henry G 860 

Reed, Mrs. Joseph S 1789 

Reed, L. Alston 342 

Reed, Lucius 341 

Reed, Hon. Warren A 49 

Elemington, Clinton V. S.'. 175 
Remington, Mrs. Elizabeth 

A 174 

Remington Family 173 

Remington, Hale 175 

Remington, Joshua 281 

Remington, Robert K 173 

Reynard. Capt. Robert P.. . .1018 

Reynard, Capt. William H. 919 

Reynolds, Bion F 658 

Reynolds, Charles T 656 

Reynolds, Edmund D 1670 

Reynolds, Mrs. Ellen K . . . 653 

Reynolds, Mrs. Emily J. . . 1205 

Reynolds, Miss Emma D.. 1432 

Reynolds, Enos H 1202 

Reynolds Families 651, 655, 

756, 1202, 13«8, 1429, 1671 

RejTiolds, Isaac N 1398 

Reynolds, Jay B 657 

Reynolds, Jonas 651 

iRf -molds. Lowell M 657 

Reynolds, Luke W 659 

Reynolds, Mrs. Minnie I . . 738 

Reynolds. Philip 1428 

Reynolds, Mrs. Sarah S. . . 657 

Rhodes Family 420 

Rhodes, George H 421 

Rhodes, John B 422 

Rhodes, John C 422 

Rhodes, Marcus M 421 

Rice, CharK'3 L 1123 

Rice, Clarence E 1126 

Rice Family 1121 



Rice, John A 1122 

Richards, Mrs. Winifred C. 1129 

Richardson Family 541 

Richardson, Henry A 542 

Richardson, Miss Linda . . 542 

Roarty Family 1308 

Roarty, James A 1308 

Robbins, Benjamin W. ... 1610 

Robbins Family 1610 

Robbins, Mrs. Frank B. . . . 922 

Robertson, John T 739 

Rodman Family 384 

Rodman, Miss Julia W. . . 386 

Rodman, Thom.as R 384 

Rogers, Asa 1511 

Rogers Families 203, 430 

Rogers, Frank L 1653 

Rogers, Henry Huttleston. 430 

Rogers, Capt. John 1652 

Rotch Family 247 

Rotch, Morgan 249 

Rotch, William J 248 

Rounseville. Aldcn, Jr. ... 1640 

Rounseville, Cyrus C 202 

Rounseville Families. .201, 1640 

Rugg, Charles P 1642 

Rugg Family 1G41 

Rugg, Mrs. Mary P 1642 

Ruggles Family " 952 

Ruggles, John A ' 952 

Ruggles, Mrs. Susan R. . . 953 

Russell Families.. 743, 885, 1247 

Russell, George T. 885 

Russell, Henry T 887 

Russell, Mrs.'Rubie D. . . . 883 

Sampson, Elnathan T. ... 1282 

Sampson Families 

10.34, 1282, 16G1 

Sampson, George R 1034 

Sanford. Baalis 545 

Sanford, Dr. Edward 931 

Sanford, Rev. Enoch, D. D. 931 

Sanford Families 

185, 545, 930, 1573 

Sanford, John Elliott 187 

Sanford, Miss Kate 1 188 

Sanford, Miss L. Augusta. 931 

Sanford, Philip H 16^3 

Sanford, Samuel T 1574 

Sanford. Mrs. Sarah A.... 1653 

Sanford, Mrs. Susan 1575 

Savery Families 1569, 1625 

Sawin, Ezekiel R 1388 

Sawin Fiimily 1386 

Sayer, Miss Caroline M... 1119 

Sayer Family 1118 

Saver, Fredenc L 1119 

Sayer, William L 1119 

Scates Family 1535 

Scates, John 1535 

Seabury, Alexander H. . . . 81 

Seabury, Charles P 571 

Seabury Families 80, 569 

Seabury, Mibs Helen H 571 

Seabury, Humphrey W. . . 570 
Seabury, Miss Mary B. . . . 571 
Seatury, Mrs. Sarah W. .. 571 

Sears, Chauncev H 168 

Sears Families " 166, 638 

Sears, Henry W ^ . 640 

Severance Famil.y llSOi 

Severance, Lorenzo F 1157 



Severance, Mrs. MarvM... 1157" 

Shaw, Bartlett M. .' 972 

Shaw, Benjamin C 1041 

Shaw, Capt. Charles F. . . . 118& 

Shaw, Mrs. Etta F 1599 

Shaw, Eugene E 096 

Shaw Families 

343, 667, 696, S3ft, 865, 

972, 1041, 1185, 1505, 1598 

Shaw, Francis E 670 

Shaw, Francis M 668 

Shaw, Job L 1187 

Shaw, John J., M. D 865 

Shaw, Joseph 1505 

Shaw, Linus - H 669 

Shaw, William H 1597 

Sherman, Albert S 1555 

Sherman, Elbridge G 1358 

Sherman Families 468, 1170, 1358, 

1519, 1553, 1571, 1720, 1756 

Sherman, James L 1572 

Sherman, Nathaniel B. . . . 1756 

Sherman, Nelson 467 

Sherman, Wilson 1553 

Short Family 888 

Short, Mace B 888 

Short. Mrs. Nancy B 890 

Shove, Charles M 119 

Shove, Charles 118 

Shove, Edward 119 

Shove Family 117 

Shove, Mrs. Sarah Elmen- 

dorf 120 

Shove. Walter Frank 120 

Shurtleff, Albert T 710 

Shurtleff Families 709, 959, 1384 

Shurtleff, Mrs. Maria Y.. . 710 

Shurtleff, Nathaniel F. . . . 959 

Shurtleff, Walter D., M. D. 710 

Simmons Family 765 

Simmons, John 767 

Sisson, Arnold B 1654 

Sisson, Mrs. Hannah A. .. 1655 

Slade, Abbott E 651 

Slade, Abner 70S 

Slade. David F 474 

Slade Families 

471, 649, 708, 1085, 1263, 1479 

Slade, George W 147i> 

Slade, John L 1263 

Sladt;, John P 650 

Slade, Jonathan 473 

Slade, Mrs. Lois A 650 

Slade, Nathan 1085 

Slade, William L 473 

Slade, William W 474 

Small Familv 772" 

Small, Reuben C 773 

Smith, Dr. Andrew J 732 

Smith. Bradford 1780 

Smith Families 847, 1780 

Smith, Iram 1791 

Smith. Mrs. Timothy 367 

Snell, David A 1633 

.Snell Families 1394, 1632 

Snell, Varanus 1394 

Snow F.axnilies ..208, 1345, 1437 

Snow, George G 209 

Snow, George H 211 

Snow, Herbert E 210 

Snow, Levi M 1345 

Snow, Loum 1439 

Snow, Robert 1440 



iiVUHiA. 



XUl 



Soule Families 

449, 842, 1007, 1089 

Soule, George D 1006 

Soule, Mrs. Hannah 1090 

Soule, Oakes S 1089 

Soule, Rufus A 451 

Soule, Thomas H 453 

Southworth, Edward 1539 

Southworth, Miss Ella F.. . 1539 
Southworth Families 1539, 1621 

Southworth, Marcus C 1021 

Spare Family 373 

Spare, Dr. John 374 

Spare, John V 375 

Sparrow Family 1068 

Sparrow, Frank M 1072 

Sparrow, Harry P 1070 

Sparrow, Jacob A 1070 

Sparrow, Solomon E 1071 

Sparrow, Dr. William E... 1071 
Sparrow, William E., Jr.. 1071 

Spence, Mrs. Anne F 266 

Spence, James W 267 

Spence, John 266 

Spence, William H 267 

Sproat Family I-tlS 

Sproat, Horace M 1418 

Stacy Family 1172 

Stacv, William H 1172 

Standish Family 1292 

Staples, Mrs. Alice M 105 

Staples Family 103 - 

Staples, Herbert M 104 

Staples, Sylvanus N 103 

Starrett, Arthur P 1760 

Stearns, Mrs. Caroline W.. 1093 

Stearns Family 1092 

Steams, William L 1092 

Stetson Families 257, 663 

Stetson, George W 260 

Stetson, John M 260 

Stetson, Nahum (deceased) 258 

Stetson, Nahum 260 

Stetson, Mrs. Ruth B. . . . 260 
Stoddard, Mrs. Sarah M... 1388 

Strobridge Family 1492 

Studley, Ezekiel R 903 

Studley Families 826, 902 

Studley, Gideon 827 

Sturdy, Albert W 500 

Sturdy, Charles A 500 

Sturdy, Charles H 500 

Sturdy Family 496 

Sturdy, Frederic E 498 

Sturdy, James H 499 

Sturdy, John F 497 

Sturdy, William A 497 

Sturteyant Family 1742 

Sulliyan, Mrs. Catherine E. 1605 

Sullivan, John B 1604 

Sumner Family 260 

Swain, David G 1758 

Swain Family 1758 

Swan Family 1656 

Swan, Henri' S.. M.D 1659 

Swan. Mrs. "Matilda J 1659 

Sweet, Andrew H 1376 

Sweet Families 1376, 1789 

Sweet, Frank R 1789 

Swift, Hon. Charles Francis 1294 
Swift, Miss Elizabeth P.. 1561 

Swift Families 

114. 199, 256, 1295, 1459, 1559 



Swift, Frankly i K 200 

Swift, Frederick C 1296 

Swift, Humphrey Hathaway 115 

Swift, Moses C 1561 

Swift, Noble P 256 

Swift. Rodolphus Nye 200 

Sylvester, Charles F" 908 

Sylvester FaniiliL-s 862, 907 

Sylvester, Frederick 909 

Sylvester, George 1 909 

Sylvester, Jlrs. Laura G. . 909 

Sylvester, Robert 864 

Sylvia, Antone L 1609 

Taber, Charles S 786 

Taber, Edward S 206 

Taber Families 

205, 474, 711, 786, 1024 

Taber, Frederic 476 

Taber, George H 712 

Taber, Capt. Jacob 463 

Taber, John H 712 

Taber, Mrs. Laura H 786 

Taber. Miss Mary Kempton 1026 

Taber. William G 1025 

Talbot Family 665 

Talbot, George H 665 

Tannatt Family 1743 

Tannatt, James C 1743 

Tappan, Charles H 272 

Tappan, Ephraim H. . . . . 271 

Tappan Family 270 

Tappan, Mrs. Fannit M... 273 

Tappan, Frank E 273 

Tappan, William C 272 

Taylor, James B. . 1388 

Terry Families. .1253 .1635, 1699 

Terrj-, Isaiah F 1699 

Terry, Joseph C 1253 

Terry, Capt. Phineas 1635 

Tew" Family 1006 

Tliacher Family 968 

Tliacher, John 970 

Thacher, William T 971 

Thayer Families . . 18, 763, 767 

Thomas, Mrs. Annie C 901 

Thomas Families 89!^ 1445 

Thompson, Albe«t C 169 

Thompson Families 

169, V55, 956 
Thompson, Mrs. Marcia A. 172 
Thompson, William M. ... 956 

Thomas, William A 900 

Tliomson (Thompson) Fa- 
mily 169 

Thome, William H 1717 

Tliornton Family 847 

Thornton, Elisha, Jr 848 

Thornton, John R 848 

Thumb, Mrs. General Tore 1674 

Thurber Family 1347 

Thurber, Zimri 1347 

Thurston, Anthony 1724 

Thurston Family 1723 

Thurston, Frank A., 1725 

Tillinghast, Mrs. Elizabeth l.l'A5 

Tillinghast Family 1443 

Tillinghast, John T 1443 

Tillinghast, Joseph 1446 

Tillson Family 1577 

Tillson, Henry H 1578 

Tillson, Mrs. Lvdia C 1578 

Tilton, Charles W 696 



Tilton Family 1696 

Tobey Families ..265, 305, 1220 

Tobey, William H 1221 

Torrey Family 1053 

Torrcy, George W 1056 

Torrey, Josiah A 1054 

Totman Family 828 

Totman, Horace 828 

Townsend Family 1664 

Townsend, Mrs. W. C 296 

Trafford, Allison W 425 

Trafford, Andrew R 424 

Trafford, Bernard W 425 

Trafford, Charles A 424 

Trafford Family 422 

Trafford, Henry L 425 

Trafford, Orrin F 425 

Trafford, Perry D 425 

Trafford, William C 424 

Tribou, Charles E 1033 

Tribou Family 1032 

Tribou, John A 1033 

Tripp, Arnold G 1521 

Tripp, Azariah S 275 

Tripp, David K 916 

Tripp Families. . . ."274, 916, 1520 
Tripp, Miss Katharine M. . 917 

Tripp, Philip E 277 

Tripp, Hon. Philip J 275 

Tripp, Thomas A 1521 

Trow Family 1708 

Trow, Frederick L 1708 

Trow, Mrs. Olive H. M 1710 

Tucker, Abram R 1093 

Tucker, Almon H 1137 

Tucker, Charles 1222 

Tucker, Edward T., M.D... 694 
Tucker, Ervin A., M.D.... 1138 

Tucker Families 

516, 692, 1062, 1093, 

1137^ 1222 
Tupper, Mrs, Mary Akin . . 844 

Turner Family 864 

" Turner, Mrs. Fannie H . . . . 795 

Turner, Joseph S 794 

Tuttle, Elias A 1159 

Tyler Family 1744 

Vigneron Family 375 

. Wade, Hon. Albert R 702 

Wade Family 702 

Wade, Mrs. Susan H 704 

Wadsworth Family 1433 

Waite, Benjamin H 1335 

Waite Family 1334 

Waite, Miss Florence L.. . . 1335 

Walker Family 749 

Walker, Cieorge H 714 

Walker, William E 750 

Warner Family 574 

Warner, Richard E 575 

Warren Families 615, 1676 

Washburn, Col. Abram... 881 
Washburn, Mrs. Annie R.731, 733 

Washburn, Azel 1754 

Washburn, Charles G 596 

Washburn, Clinton 699 

Washburn, Elliott, M. D.. 596 

Washburn Families 

188, 522, 593, 608, 698, 

732. 872, 882, 1754, 1781 

Washburn, Francis B 1782 



CIV 



INDEX 



tVashburn, Frederic A 872 

iVashburn, George A 595 

iVashburn, George R 1783 

Vashburn, Miss Harriet 

M. S 1754 

tVaahburn, Herbert T 732 

iVashburn, Mrs. Mary B . . 723 

A'ashburn, Mrs. Mary J . . . 874 

Washburn, Dr. Nahmn... 698 

iVashburn, Nathan 190 

(Vashburn, Thomas J 597 

jVaterman Family 1223 

Waterman, Fred E 1224 

tVatkins, Miss Emma E . . . 285 

A^atkins Family 284 

iVatkins, William 284 

iVatson, Benjamin M 920 

;Vatson Family 927 

iVatson, Tliomas R 928 

tVeeks, Mrs. Andrew G . . . . 207 

tVeeks Family 1679 

S'eeks, Capt. William 1679 

tVeeks, William J., M. D. . 1680 

iVellington Family 856 

kVellington, Dr. James L . . 856 

kVeston Families 460, 946 

iVeston, Lon 946 

iVetherell Family 1269 

;Vetherell, Orin B 1270 

iVexel, Mrs. Helen A'. 1048 

tVexel, Henry 1047 

RTieeler, Mrs. Ada W 1085 

kVheeloek Family 399 

Whipple Families 249, 1338 

Whipple, Col. John J 249 

White, Andrew M.W.,M.D. 982 

White, Charles P i. 372 

White, Dr. Charles W 961 

White, Mrs. Eliza C 963 

White Families 

100, 370, 890, 961 

White, Francis E 890 

White, Hon. Jonathan 100 

White, Mrs. Margaret T. . . 372 

Whiting, Edward B 944 

Whiting Family 943 

Whiting, Miss Susan A... 944 



Whitman Family. . 

Whitmttn, Wiiliasn 1 

Whitman, William P 

Whifcmarsh, Ezra S 

Whittaarsh Fiimilies 

n»4, 1188, 
Whitmarj'.ii, FriJeric P.... 

Whitmar'vh, Irving F 

Whiliiey, .'vDjana ........ 

W-liitm-y, M- r, Knmia M. . . 

Whitney Family 

Wilbar, Giiaries A 

Wilbar (Wiibor, •■Vilbur) 

Families... J(M)\\ 1272, 

Wiibor, Alfred G 

Wiibor ( V, i ! bur ) Families 

744, 1272, 

Wiibor. Tvtr.s. L<niise A. . . . 

Wilbur, DaJii.l 

Wilbur (V^ilbor. Wilbar) 

Families 1090, 1272, 

Wilbur. Gt 0- ge TO 

Wilcox, Bf DJarairi 

WilcoK Fn.uiilira 479, 

Wilccx, Mif,5 Susan A. . . . 

Wiloo.v. Th'.mas 

Wilcox, Thymas H.. 

Wilkinson Family. 

Wilkinson, Simuel W 

' V'iHiaras, M s. Adelaide N. 
104, 

William.5 F.'.milies 582, 

^ViHia.ni.^, George B 

WiJl'ani'.', -Joseph 

Williamn, Mri. Josephine T. 

Vvillianr.3, i.ewis 

^'V'iIliara9, l.Irs. Mary Hor- 

ton 

Williams, .Vliss Sarah B . . 

Willi?, il fliur H 

Willis, Churles E 

Willis, Bdward M 

Willis i''amilie8..963, 1139, 
Willis, Capt. James M. . . . 

Willis, Nithan E 

Willis, WiJUaffl H 

Wi!Ii9t'.in, Oharies H 



'220 Williston Family 1713 

222 Wilmarth Family 1129 

220 Wilmarth, William D 1130 

1134 Wing, Charles F 1239 

Wing Families 1095, 1238 

1637 Winslow, Capt. Albert 1288 

1188 Winslow, Miss Betsey B. .. 1112 

1537 Winslow Families 

378 364. nil, 1288 

378 Winslow, Miss Hope 1289 

376 Winslow, Hudson 1113 

1090 Winslow, William B 1111 

Winsor, Miss Ellen A 500 

1400 Winsor Family 542 

1400 Winsor, Walter P 544 

Winstanley, Emanuel 1632 

1400 WinstanleV Family 1632 

1402 Winstanley, James H 1632 

1273 Winstanley, Mius Liz 'V :; 1632 

Winter, Everett H 599 

1400 Winter Family 597 

744 Winter, Sanford 597 

1082 Wood Families 845, 1157 

1080 Wood, George S 845 

1440 Wood. Nathan M 1157 

480 Woodard, Horace F 623 

1080 Wordell, Mrs. Elizabeth D. 992 

262 Wordell Families 

1'259 1152, 1468, 1653 

Wordell, Marcus M 1152 

585 Wordell, Rodney D 1469 

1592 Wordell, Rufus E 991 

586 Wright, Augustus H 95 

1592 Wright, Barzillai E 1605 

1445 Wriffht, Edmund 9C 

585 Wright, Ellery C 1607 

Wright, Elwin T 685 

919 Wright Families . . ..92, 086, 1605 

587 Wright, Rev. Horace W. . . 96 
964 Wright, Mrs. Jane B 95 

1737 Wright, Mrs. Pamelia K.. 95 

1736 Wright, Theodore F 94 

1735 

1139 Young, John M 1593 

964 

1735 Zuill Familv 1608 

1714 Zuill, Robert W 1608 



Southeastern Massachusetts 

Genealogy — Biography 




IRAPO (Xew Bedford f:)mily). 
Through tlie greater part of the 
last eentury and up to the ])res- 
ent writing, the name of Crapo 
has stood in and about jSTcw Bed- 
ford as a synonym for useful citi- 
zenship. Here have lived during 
tliat period Henry Howlaud 
Crapo and William W. Crapo, father and son, 
of whom a recent biographer says : ''Among 
the many citizens of New Bedford and Dart- 
mouth who liave achieved high honor, and 
whose names are held in respect wherever they 
arc known, are Ilenry H. Crapo and his son 
William W. Craiio. Born on a Dartmouth 
farm, from the sterile soil of which his jKironts 
could no more than wrest a livelihooi!. Henry 
11. Crapo showed his inborn attributes by clos- 
ing hi.s life in the highest otTice which the 
people of the State of Michigan could confer 
upon him." And again, "The strong mental 
as well as physical resemblance of the son to 
the father is a striking illustration of Calton's 
doctrine of heredity," this last liaving esjjccial 
rdcrcnce to William W. Crapo. 

The Crapo family with its allied connections 
is of original Xew England stock. (I) Peter 
Crapaud (Crapo), the progenitor of the family, 
was a young Frencli lad cast ashore from a 
wreck olT Cape Cod about 1080. His real name 
i': unknown, but be was nicknamed "Crapaud," 
the generic designation of a Frenchman. He 
was "put out" to Prancis Combes, an inn- 
holder, of North Pochestei, Mass. On May 31, 
1704, lie .was married to Penelope White, 



daughter of Samuel White of Rochester, a son 
(jf Resolved White, who came to Plymonth in 
the "Mayflower" with his father, William 
Wliite, in KWO, his younger brother. Peregrine 
White, being born on shipboard off Province- 
town harbor. The children of Peter and Pene- 
lope (White) Crapo were: Francis, born Oct. 
14-, 1705, was married to I'ashent Spooner; Su- 
sanna, born Nov. 5, 1707, married Louis De- 
moranviUe ; Perez (Peter), born Nov. 20, 
1700, married Ann liUce; John, born Feb. 33, 
1711-12, married Sarah Clark; Mary, born 
Sept. 27, 1713, married Jonathan Spooner; Re- 
becca, born March 22, 1717-18, married John 
Mathews; Hczekiah, born March 12, 1719-20, 
died unmarried; Nicholas, horn Dec. IT), 1721, 
married Alice Blackwell ; Seth was born May 4, 
1724. 

(II) John Crapo, son of Peter, born Feb. 
22, 1711-12, married in Rochester Nov. 7, 
1734, Sarah Clark, and their children were: 
James, Sarah, Ariste, John, Joshua, Peter 
(born 174.3, married twice), Elkanah and Con- 
sider. 

(Til) Peter Crapo, son of John and Sarah, 
and grandson of the progenitor, was born in 
1743. He married (intentions published in 
Dartmouth, May 14, 1706) Sarah West, and 
their children were: Azubah, horn June 8, 
1708; Richard, in 1770; Peter, in 1777; 
Charles, between 1770 and 1780; Reuben, 
April IS, 1780; Jesse, May 22, 1781; and De- 
borah, April 4, 1780. He married (second) 
(intentions published Sept. 7. 1789) Content 
Hathaway, of Freetown, and their children 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



were: Content, Susanna, Orinda,' Betsey, 
Sarah, Joseph and Abiel. Peter Crapo, the 
father of this family, was one of tlie minnte- 
men of the Revolution, a member of Capt. Levi 
Rounseville's company, which marched on the 
Lexington alarm, April 19, 1775, to Washing- 
ton's camp at Cambridge. 

(IV) Jesse Crapo, son of Peter and Sarali, 
was horn on the 22d of 5th month, 1781, and 
he died the 11th of 1st month, 1831. His 
home was in Dartmouth. He married there 
July 10, 1803, Phebe Howland, born 29th of 
3d month, 1785, and who died 22d of 12th 
month, 1870. She was the daughter of Henry 
Howland, and a direct descendant of one of 
the three Howlands who came early to Ply- 
mouth, one of whom was John Howland, a pas- 
senger in the "Mayflower" in 1()20. Her line 
of descent from Henry Howland, one of the 
emigrants, who was of Duxlmry and became 
one of the original purchasers of Freetown, 
1659, is through Zoeth, Henry (2), Thomas, 
David and Henry Howland (3). To Jesse and 
Pliehe (Howland) Cra]io were born children 
as follows: Henry Howland, born May 24, 
1804; David, Sept. 16, 1808; Joseph, April 12, 
1812; Phebe, March 6, 1817. 

(V) Henry Howland Crapo, son of Jesse 
and Phebe (Howland) Crapo, was born May 
24, 1801, in the northern part of the town of 
Dartmouth, Mass. He passed his early life 
on his father's farm in the southerly part of 
Dartmouth, assisting with the farm work in 
season and attending the district school in the 
winters. His early years were full of toil, 
which rapidly developed in him many of the 
sterling qualities that marked his mature 
years. He possessed a natural thirst for knowl- 
edge, was ambitious to rise above the circum- 
stances that surrounded him and made every 
sacrifice that would further that end. It is 
recorded of him by James B. Congdon that he 
has seen a dictionary in manuscript compiled 
(not copied) by him in youth, and it is said 
that he frequently traveled the distance of 
eight miles from his home to New Bedford in 
order to learn the meaning of a word or phrase 
which had puzzled him. Unaided he made 
himself master of the theory of surveying, and 
when there came the long-looked-for oppor- 
tunity to put his knowledge into practice he 
was undaunted by the fact that he had no 
compass, but going to a blacksmith slion he 
fashioned a crude one for himself. By appli- 
cation he became competent to teach the vil- 
lage school, and when a high .school was onened 
he determined to apply for the principalship, 
and was examined, it is bclii'ved, for the posi- 



tion by J. H. W. Page, then a preceptor in the 
Friends" Academy, wiio gave him a certificate 
of qualification. 

At the age of twenty-eight years Mr. Crapo 
removed to New Bedford and became a land 
surveyor, sometimes acting as auctioneer. He 
was soon elected town clerk, treasurer and col- 
lector of taxes, and held these positions some 
fiftei'n years. On the change of the municipal 
government he was elected treasurer and col- 
lector of taxes, holding the office two years. He 
was also police justice many years, served on 
the boai'd of aldermen, was chairman of the 
council committee on education, and in this 
capacity personally prepared the report upon 
wliich was based the order for the establish- 
ment of the Free Public Lilirary of New Bed- 
ford. Upon its organization he was cluisen one 
of the first trustees. 

To so7ne extent Mr. Crapo was engaged in 
the whaling industry, a fine bark, of which ho 
was part owner, being named in his honor. Ho 
was president of the Bristol County Fire In- 
surance Company, and secretary of the Bed- 
ford Commercial Insurance Company. For a 
number of years he was colonel of one of the 
regiments of State militia. He organized the 
Horticultural Society of New Bedford and was 
its first president. He was actively interested 
in the cultivation of fruits and flowers. Later 
on he gave much attention to the cultivation of 
every kind of fruit and ornamental trees, 
shrubs, flowers, etc. He exhibited from his 
grounds at horticultural fairs in Boston and 
elsewliere one hundred and fifty varieties of 
pears of his own propagation, and one hundred 
and twenty varieties of roses. While an officer 
of tlie municipal government he compiled and 
published the directories of New Bedford for 
1836 and 1845. He became a regular contribu- 
tor to the New England Horticultural Journal, 
and gained a wide reputation as an authority. 

In 1856 Mr. Crapo removed to Michigan, lo- 
cating at Flint. This move was due primarily 
to investments in pine lands. He came into 
possession of a farm of 1,100 acres, most of 
which he redeemed from swamp by a system 
of drainage perfected by himself. He engaged 
in breeding and importing fine blooded stock 
and in 1863 was elected president of the Gene- 
see County Agricultural Society. He engaged 
largely in the manufacture of lumlier, and in- 
terested ca]iital and built railroads, becoming 
one of the largest and n\(ist successful business 
men in the State. He at once took an active 
interest in the municipal affairs of Flint, and 
was elected mayor after a residence there of 
(mly five years. In lS(i2 he was elected State 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 3 

senator to represent Genesee county, and unfailing integrity. In all the walks of life 
ranked with the leading men of Michigan in there was not a purer man in the State. So 
the war Senate. In 1864 he was nominated on faithful, so laborious, so  conscientious a man 
the Eepublican ticket for governor and was in office is a blessing beyond computation in 
elected by a large majority. He was reelected the healthful influence which he exerts in the 
in 1866, holding the ofSce two terms and re- inidst of the too prevalent corruptions that so 
tiring in January, 1869. Governor Crapo's lamentably abound in the public service. We 
administration was remarkably efficient and have often thought that, in his broad and ster- 
especially characterized by his vetoing railway ling good sense. Governor Crapo closely resem- 
aid legislation and his firm refusal to pardon bled the lamented Lincoln. He was a man 
convicts, except upon overwhelming proofs of of the people and most worthily represented 
their innocence or excessive sentence. During them. His decease is an occasion for public 
the later years of his life Governor Crapo be- mourning and the state has very few men like 
came a regular contributor to the "Country him and can ill afford to spare such an emi- 
Gentleman," and after his death an affecting nently useful citizen. His death will be pro- 
eulogy of himself was pronounced by the foundly deplored throughout our Common- 
president of the National Horticultural So- wealth and a general sympathy will be sin- 
ciety at its meeting in Philadelphia in 1869. cerely extended to the bereaved family." 
During his last term as governor he was at- On June 9, 1825, Mr. Crapo married, in 
tacked by the disease which terminated liis life Dartmouth, Mass., Mary Ann, daughter of 
within one year. Williams Sloeum of Dartmouth and his wife 

Governor Crapo often referred to the train- Ann, daughter of Benjamin and Mary (Almy) 
ing he received in New Bedford civic meetings Chase, of Portsmouth, R. I., and a descendant 
and offices, and averred that but for this he of Giles Sloeum, from whom her lineage is 
could not have succeeded in the loftier and through Peleg, Peleg (2), Peleg (3) and Wil- 
more honorable offices which his fellow citi- Hams Sloeum. There were born to Mr. and 
zens of Michigan bestowed upon him. After Mrs. Crapochildren as follows : Mary Ann, born 
his death a New Bedford newspaper printed Nov. 6, 1827, married John Orrell ; William 
the following: "No man connected with the Wallace, born May 16, 1830, married Sarah 
municipal government ever had to a greater Davis Tappan; Rebecca Folger, born March 26, 
extent than Mr. Crapo the confidence of the 1833, married William C. Durant; Sarah 
people. He was exact and methodical in all Bush, born Jan. 14, 1835, married Alphonso 
matters of record; conscientious and labori- Ross; Lucy Anna, born Nov. 8, 1836, married 
ously persistent in the discharge of every duty ; H. H. H. C. Smith; Rhoda Macomber, born 
clear in his method and statements in all that July 29, 1838, married James C. Wilson; Hen- 
appertained to his official transactions with the rietta Peel, born July 19, 1840, married Fer^ 
town and his townsmen, leaving, at the close ris F. Hyatt ; Lydia Sherman, born June 19, 
of his long connection with them, all that be- 1843, died Sept. 14, 1861 ; Emma Eliza Chace, 
longed to his department as a financial or re- born June 1, 1845, married Harlan P. Christy; 
cording officer so luminous and complete that and Willielmina Helena, born April 6, 1849, 
no error has ever been detected or improve- married Charles W. Clifford, 
ments made upon his methods." Mrs. Crapo died Feb. 21, 1875, in Flint, 

Governor Crapo died July 23, 1869, at his Mich., on which occasion a local paper paid her 
home in Flint, Mich. The Detroit Tribune of this tribute : "Mrs. Crapo's was a character 
July 24, 1869, said: "In all the public posi- of rare, precious qualities. Of New England 
tions he held Governor Crapo showed himself birth and education she had all the earnestness 
a capable, discreet, vigilant and industrious and exalted veneration for truth and honor, 
officer. He evinced wonderful vigor in mas- and the high sense of duty, which fell to the 
tering details, and always wrote and spoke in- best type of New England people. During a 
telligently on any subject to which he gave his long life of duties, and not free from afflic- 
attention. Michigan never before had a gov- tions, she walked always helpfully beside her 
ernor who devoted so much personal attention husband, the two combining in a singular de- 
and painstaking labor to her public duties as gree the executive force which conquers ob- 
he did. His industry was literally amazing, stacles, and the grace which wins love and es- 
He was not a man of brilliant or showy quali- teem. Since the death of her husband she has 
ties, but he possessed sharp and remarkably devoted herself to the duties of her home, 
well developed business talents, a clear and meeting all the demands of society and look- 
practical understanding, sound judgment and ing with a watchful eye over the interests of 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



her children. Her death will be severely felt 
in this community." 

(VI) William W. Ceapo, son of Gov. 
Henry Howland Crapo, was born May 16, 
1830, in Dartmouth, Mass. He acquired his 
preliminary education in the New Bedford 
public schools and prepared for college at Phil- 
lips Academy, Andover. Then entering Yale 
he was graduated with the class of 1858. Hav- 
ing very early in life decided to make the legal 
profession his life work, after leaving college 
he began to read in the office of Gov. John H. 
Clifford, of New Bedford, and later continued 
at the Harvard Law School, Cambridge. Like 
his father, he possessed in abundance those 
qualities of energy and perseverance which aid 
in making the successful student and his prep- 
aration for the legal profession was most pains- 
taking and thorough. He was admitted to the 
bar in 1855, and at once began to practice in 
New Bedford, having therefore now (1911) 
completed a period of over fifty-five years as a 
practitioner. In 1911 he received the degree 
of LL. D. from Williams College. 

It was but a short time after his admission 
to the bar that Mr. Crapo was appointed city 
solicitor and he held the office twelve years, 
giving the most conscientious and thorough at- 
tention and devotion to all his official duties. 
He began his first real work in politics in behalf 
of John C. Fremont, the first candidate of the 
Republican party for President, in 1856, and 
during the campaign he won a brilliant repu- 
tation as an orator. In that same year he him- 
self was elected to the Massachusetts House of 
Representatives, and in the following year de- 
clined to become a candidate for State senator, 
desiring to give more attention to his increas- 
ing legal business. It was somewhat remark- 
able that he so soon attained a leading position 
at the bar, a success which was in large measure 
due to his exhaustive legal knowledge, his 
patient industry and unfailing self-reliance. 
His qualifications rapidly gained recognition 
and he won to an exceptional degree the confi- 
dence of the citizens of New Bedford. All 
measures tending to advance the interests of 
the village, even during his earliest endeavors 
to secure a firm professional foothold, found, in 
him an earnest and unselfish supporter. He 
was chairman of the commission in charge of 
the first public water supply, and from 1865 to 
1875 was chairman of the water board. 

With the breaking out of the Civil war Mr. 
Crapo entered heartily into all measures for 
the support of the government, and during the 
close of the struggle he gave freely of his time, 
energy and means for the welfare of the cause. 



He has never been a man whom the people 
were disposed to leave out of public service, 
and he was elected to the Forty-fourth Con- 
gress to fill a vacancy, and was reelected to 
the Forty-fifth and Forty-sixth and Forty- 
seventh (L^ongresses, declinmg m 1882 to ac- 
cept again the nomination. 

While not attempting in this brief notice to 
give an adequate account of Mr. Crapo's work 
as a legislator, it may be stated that he early 
took a prominent position in Congress; was a 
member of the committee on Foreign Affairs 
in the Forty-fifth Congress, and of the com- 
mittee on Banking and Currency in the Forty- 
sixth and Forty-seventh. During his last term 
he was chairman of the last named committee 
and much has been said and written in praise 
of the skillful and efficient manner in which 
he managed the bill for extending the charters 
of national banks, a bill which was successfully 
carried through under his leadership against 
formidable obstacles. In the tariff legislation 
through which the tax on the capital and de- 
posits of banks was removed, his familiarity 
uitli the subject was of great service and 
secured the direct application of the law to the 
national banks. Mr. Crapo's value in the 
legislation of the country during his incum- 
bency of the office of Congressman was recog- 
nized not only by his constituents but by the 
nation. 

In a short review of Mr. Crapo's life and 
public services some years ago the biographer 
said : "At the age of fifty Mr. Crapo finds him- 
self well started in political life, in the full 
maturity of his powers and possessing what 
some politician has so neatly termed the pecu- 
niary basis. In person he strongly resembles 
his father, a man of hardy intellectual physiog- 
nomy. The family is of French origin, regard- 
ing which there is a romantic tradition. Both 
father and son have the style of face which is 
French rather tlian English." 

Mr. Crapo has achieved remarkable success 
as a lawyer of finance, and as guardian or trus- 
tee of individual estates his high character and 
business talents have brought him more in- 
terests and cases than he could attend to. In 
nearly all of the more prominent business en- 
terprises of New Bedford his name is found in 
some capacity and in the conduct of each his 
mature advice, his rarely erring judgment and 
foresight, and his entire trustworthiness, have 
been sought and fully appreciated. Mr. Crapo 
has served as president of the Mechanics' Na- 
tional Bank for a third of a century. He has 
been prominent in the board of directors of 
numerous manufacturing industries, and for 



SOUTHEASTEEN MASSACHUSETTS 



many years has been president of the Flint & 
Pere Marquette Eailroad Company, as well as 
actively interested in and associated with the 
management of several other railroads. To 
many other departments of business industry 
he has at some period of his life devoted atten- 
tion, gaining the ripe experience that comes to 
men of broad powers. He has always been a 
Eepublican and an earnest and influential sup- 
porter of his party. That he has not in recent 
years received the nomination for governor of 
Massachusetts is due more to his reluctance to 
the employment of the political methods of the 
day than to any other cause. He is a man of 
brilliant intellectual ability, high scholarship, 
comprehensive legal and business knowledge, 
and enjoying to the largest degree the confi- 
dence and admiration of the people. The de- 
gree of LL.D. was conferred upon him by Yale 
College in 1882. 

On Jan. 22, 1857, Mr. Crapo was married 
at New Bedford, Mass., to Sarah Davis, daugh- 
ter of George and Serena (Davis) Tappan, and 
the marriage was blessed with the following 
children: Henry Howland, born Jan. 31, 
1862; George Tappan, born March 16, 1864, 
who died Sept. 12, 1865 ; Stanford Tappan, born 
June 13, 1865, who married Emma Morley, of 
Detroit, Mich., and has two children, William 
Wallace (born Aug. 2, 1895) and Catherine 
Morley (born July 23, 1897) ; and Anna 
Almy, born Nov. 10, 1866, who died April 27. 
1867. 

HOBAET (East Bridgewater family). The 
East Bridgewater family bearing this name, 
the head of which was the late Hon. Aaron 
Hobart, long one of the town's leading citizens 
and substantial men, and whose father before 
him, Hon. Aaron Hobart, was an eminent law- 
yer and efficient public servant, holding many 
positions of trust and responsibility, State sena- 
tor, member of the United States Congress, 
etc., is a branch of the older Abington Hobart 
family, in wliich town the Hobarts were long 
prominent, and that a branch of the still older 
Hingham family of the name. 

It is the purpose here to consider the East 
Bridgewater Hobart family only. The name 
there is perpetuated and being worthily worn 
and the family reputation sustained by the 
posterity of Judge Aaron Hobart. There fol- 
lows in chronological order from the first Ameri- 
can Hobart ancestor and somewhat in detail 
the family history and genealogy. 

(I) Edmund Hobart, from Hingham, in 
the County of Essex, England, and born in 
that parish about 1570, came to this country. 



arriving in 1633 at Charlestown, and with his 
son, Thomas, and several others, came to "Bare 
Cove" the same year, probably for the purpose 
of assisting in establishing a new plantation, 
but it is generally thought that he did not lo- 
cate there permanently until the arrival of his 
son, Eev. Peter, and those who came with Mm. 
He was an early settler of Hingham, one of 
those who drew their home lots on Town 
(North) street Sept. 18, 1635. He married 
(first) Margaret Dewey, who was the mother of 
his children, and (second) Oct. 10, 1634, Mrs. 
Sarah Lyford, widow of Eev. John. Mr. 
Hobart resided on North street, opposite 
Hobart's bridge. He was made a freeman 
March 4, 1634; was constable that same year; 
and in 1639, 1640 and 1642 was a deputy to 
the General Court. He died March 8, 1646. 
His wife Sarah died June 23, 1649. His chil- 
dren, all born in England to Margaret, were: 
Nazareth, born about 1600; Edmund, 1604; 
Peter, 1604; Thomas, 1606; Eebecca; Sarah; 
and Joshua, 1614. 

(II) Thomas Hobart, born in 1606, in Hing- 
ham, England, came from Windham village, 
adjoining Old Hingham, to Charlestown in 
New England in 1633, and to Hingham, Mass., 
the same year. It is doubtful, however, whether 
he came here to live permanently until 1635. 
The Christian name of his wife, probably the 
second, was Jane. She died in Hingham, Feb. 
18, 1690, and he died Aug. 18, 1689, aged 
eighty-three years. He was made a freeman 
May 14, 1634. His place of residence was on 
West street. His children were : Caleb, born 
in 1633; Jolm, 1635; Eebecca, baptized in 
Hingham in December, 1637 ; Joshua, baptized 
Feb. 4, 1638-39; Thomas, baptized Oct. 23, 
1649; Mehetabel. born July 4, 1651; Isaac, 
born April 25, 1653 ; Hannah, born Jan. 17, 
1654-55; Moses, born Dec. 2, 1656; Elias, Dec. 
9, 1658; Aaron, baptized Aug. 25, 1661; and 
Nathaniel, baptized May 25, 1665. 

(III) Aaron Hobart, baptized Aug. 25, 1661, 
in Hingham, married, Jan. 27, 1696-97, Ee- 
becca, daughter of Eoger and Mary (Joselyn) 
Sumner. Mr. Hobart was drowned March 3, 
1704-05, while sailing toward Boston. His 
widow remarried. Their children, all born in 
Hingham, were: Thomas, born June 27, 1698; 
Isaac, July 15, 1700; Mary, May 19, 1702; and 
Aaron, Aug. 11, 1704. 

(IV) Isaac Hobart, liorn July 15, 1700, in 
Hingham, Mass., married in 1724, in which 
year he removed to Abington, Mary, daughter 
of John Harden, and died in Abington, Mass., 
in 1775. Children: Thomas, born in 1725; 
Col. Aaron, 1729; Mary, 1735; and John, 1738. 



6 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



Of Mr. Hobart, in his work on Abington 
(1866) the late Benjamin Hobart wrote: 
'"Isaac Hobart, the first named, was my grand- 
father; he is not, however, to be noticed on 
account of that relation, but on account of a 
noted work which he undertook in his day 
(1745). This was making a tunnel under 
ground, nearly fifteen rods in length, with deep 
cuts at the entrance and outlet; some points 
of it being about twenty feet deep from the 
surface of the ground. It was walled on the 
sides, and covered over at the top with large 
flat stones. The width at the bottom was five 
feet; at the top four; the height was from 
five to si.\ feet. A canal, one mile long, convey- 
ing the water to this tunnel, was dug; and, by 
means of it, two streams were united to enlarge 
a mill privilege. The inhabitants agreed, as 
an inducement, to allow him to take three 
quarts of corn as toll for grinding a bushel, 
instead of two, as provided by law. This mo- 
nopoly continued over thirty years until my 
father, Aaron Hobart, who inherited the mills 
and privileges, relinquished it in the Revolu- 
tionary war, as stated before. 

"This work, for that day, was a great un- 
dertaking, and its accomplishment by a farmer 
with limited means, shows great energy and 
perseverance of character. This tunnel, so far 
as I know, was the first dug in this country; 
and it has continued to be used to this day 
with but little repairs. There have been im- 
portant results from the construction of this 
tunnel. Except for the union of the two 
streams, the present extensive works for making 
tacks, brads, shoe nails, and many other useful 
articles, would probably never have been estab- 
lished. My honored grandfather, who emigrated 
to this town over 140 years ago, little thought, 
when he was doing this work, that he was lay- 
ing the foundation of so great an establishment 
in the days of one of his grandsons, the writer 
of this article." 

(V) Col. Aaron Hobart, born in 1729, in 
Abington, Mass., married (first), Nov. 5, 1753, 
Elizabeth, daughter of Jacob Pilsbury, and 
(second) Nov. 25, 1777, Thankful, born May 
25, 1747, widow of Elihu Adams, a brother of 
President John Adams. 

Mr. Benjamin Hobart, in his history alluded 
to above, continues: "Another one of the same 
name. Col. Aaron Hobart, my honored father, 
requires some notice, not, as I said above (of 
my grandfather), because he was my father, 
but because he was a noted man in his day. 
and did honor to the town. It has been stated 
in a previous chapter, on Manufactures, that 
he was the first who cast meetinghouse bells in 



this country. About the year 1769, in an ad- 
vertisement of his in a Boston newspaper, he 
ottered his services in casting bells at his fur- 
nace in Abington. The editor of the paper 
in a note remarked that 'it was a very fortunate 
circumstance that bells could now be cast in 
this country, and that we need not be obliged 
to send to England for them.' Another impor- 
tant manufacture of his (noted also in the 
chapter on Manufactures) was the casting of 
cannon in this town. He was the first person 
who cast them in this country. This honor 
has been claimed for the old town of Bridge- 
water before its division. William Allen, Esq., 
who has been a representative from the town 
of East Bridgewater, claimed this in a state- 
ment in a public newspaper; but it was satis- 
factorily answered in the same paper that he 
was mistaken. Col. Aaron Hobart, of Abing- 
ton, was the first person who cast them in this 
country. 

"After continuing the business for a num- 
ber of years very successfully and profitably, 
he sold the establishment to the State; and the 
late Col. Hugh Orr, of Bridgewater, now East 
Bridgewater, was employed to continue the 
business in that town. This probably caused 
Mr. Allen's mistake 

"Colonel Hobart in his day was a very ac- 
tive business man. He was the owner of sev- 
eral forges for making bar-iron and iron shapes, 
and a blast furnace for casting hollow ware 
and cannon balls. He was the owner of a town- 
ship of land in Maine (18,000 acres), on which 
he settled two of his sons, and built two saw- 
mills and a grist mill." 

The children of Colonel Hobart were: Jacob, 
born Aug. 5. 1754 ; Seth, Sept. 4, 1755 ; Nathan- 
iel, Oct. 15, 1759; Elizabeth, Feb. 5, 1761 
Aaron, Aug. 9, 1764; Noah, March 17, 1767 
Sarah, June 13, 1770; Isaac, Sept. 1, 1771 (all 
the foregoing were born to the first wife) : 
Adams, Dec. 3, 1779; Joseph and Benjamin 
twins, Oct. 24, 1781; Salome, March 20, 1784: 
Mary, Sept. 3, 1787; Thankful, March 9, 1793 

(VI) Aaron Hobart, born Aug. 9, 1764 
was united in marriage with Susanna Adams 
born Dec. 7, 1766, daughter of Elihu Adams 
of Braintree, and niece of President John 
Adams. Mr. Hobart died Jan. 9, 1818. Mrs 
Hobart died Dec. 31, 1826. They had chil- 
dren as follows: Elihu, born in December, 1785, 
married Sally Dyer, daughter of Christopher 
Dyer; Aaron was bom June 25, 1787; Susanna, 
born in March, 1788, was twice married, first to 
Zebah Hayden and later to Jared Whitman; 
Sarah, born in June, 1791, became the wife of 
John S. Champney; Abigail Adams, born in 



SOUTHEASTEEN MASSACHUSETTS 



June, 1793, married John S. Champney; and 
Eliza was born in January, 1800. 

(VII) Hon. Aaron Hobaet was born June 
25, 1787, in what was afterward South Abing- 
ton, Mass. He was fitted for college under the 
direction of Rev. Mr. Gurney, and at the early 
age of fourteen entered Brown University, 
from which institution he was graduated with 
the class of 1805. Having determined upon 
the legal profession as a life work he was pre- 
pared for it under the instruction of Hon. 
Nahum Mitchell, at East bridgewater. After 
his admission to the bar in 1809 he passed a 
year abroad and returning to this country set- 
tled in the practice of his profession in about 
1811 in the town of Hanover, Mass. He con- 
tinued in the practice of the law in Hanover 
until 1824, then removed to East Bridgewater, 
which was ever afterward his home. 

Liberally educated and of fine mind and abil- 
ity, Mr. Hobart soon after his admission to 
practice took a leading position at the Plymouth 
bar, and as well from almost the very start was 
prominently identified with the political inter- 
ests of Plymouth county. In 1820, when but 
thirty-three years of age and while yet a resi- 
dent of Hanover, he was elected to th^ State 
Senate and a member of the United States 
Congress to fill out the unexpired term of Hon. 
Zabdiel Sampson, of Plymouth, and perhaps 
was the youngest man in that body. Young 
Hobart entered upon his Congressional career 
with a comprehensive idea of the demands of 
his section, and so satisfactorily did he dis- 
charge the duties devolving upon him that he 
was reelected for three successive Congresses, 
serving his constituents and country with in- 
telligence, ability and ^delity until the year 
1827, when in consequence of ill health he re- 
signed and resumed the practice of the law in 
East Bridgewater. 

Judge Hobart, for he was for years judge 
of Probate for Plymouth county, holding the 
office until it was abolished, was a man of fine 
legal training, possessed great force of charac- 
ter, sound judgment, and was one of the hon- 
ored, distinguished sons of Plymouth county. 
He was for many years a memlDer of Governor 
Lincoln's council. Notwithstanding the fact 
that he was deeply absorbed and engrossed in 
the arduoiLS duties of professional life, he took 
the time to indulge in literary lines. His "His- 
tory of Abington" (1839)," a volume of 176 
pages, is an invaluable contribution to the his- 
toric literature of the Commonwealth. 

The Congressional career of Judge Hobart 
covered an historic and most interesting period 
of our country's history. He sat in Congress 



with the great Webster, and Calhoun and Ran- 
dolph, whose withering sarcasm and invective, 
perhaps, was never equaled, especially up to 
that period, in the Halls of Congress. Judge 
Hobart witnessed the presentation of General 
LaFayette to Congress, and was also a partici- 
pant in the vote which made John Quincy 
Adams President. His journal kept by him 
during these years, wherein he sketches, with a 
graceful pen, men and scenes in Congress, is 
now in the possession of his descendants, also 
his correspondence with his constitutents and 
others. He witnessed in Congress the struggle 
over the "Missouri Compromise." Judge Ho- 
bart, too, was a member of one or more of the 
Constitutional Conventions of Massachusetts. 

In 1814, Judge Hobart married Maria, 
daughter of Andrew Leach, of Belfast, Maine, 
and there were born to them: Susan, who mar- 
ried Eliab Latham, of East Bridgewater ; Aaron, 
of East Bridgewater; George, now deceased; 
Maria, who married John Lane, of East Bridge- 
water; Edward, of New York; John, of East 
Bridgewater; and Catherine, who married 
Oakeff A. Ames, Esq., of North Easton. 

Judge Hobart died at his home in East 
Bridgewater, Mass., Sept. 19, 1858. 

(VIII) Hon. Aaron Hobaet, son of Judge 
Aaron, was born in 1816, and lived the greater 
part of his life in East Bridgewater. After 
acquiring his education he was employed in a 
commission house in New Orleans, La., and 
there became very successful in business, being 
a member of the firm of Tufts & Hobart, gener- 
al commission merchants. At the close of a busi- 
ness career in which he had been abundantly 
prospered he returned North, where he pur- 
chased in the town of East Bridgewater the 
Barzillai Allen estate on Central street, upon 
which he erected a handsome home, in which 
he passed the remainder of his life. Mr. Ho- 
bart was one of the best and most honorably 
known business men and citizens of Plymouth 
county. He was actively identified with the 
Carver Cotton Gin Company from 1850, and 
for the greater part of the time its treasurer, 
on through life. He was practically manager 
of the business of the concern, and, possessed 
of rare good judgment and business ability, the 
success of the corporation was largely due to 
him. He was ever actively interested in the 
welfare of East Bridgewater and its people. 
He believed in employing at all times all of 
the home people practicable. He, too, believed 
in paying well for his skilled help, and it was 
a common thing to find people in the employ 
of the Carver Cotton Gin Company for a quar- 
ter of a century and more. 



8 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



Mr. Hobart was a gentleman of the old 
school of whom in this day we see so few; the 
blood of his distinguished forefathers was evi- 
dent in his demeanor and general deportment. 
He was ever most courteous, was of a kindly 
disposition, and given to the performance of 
good deeds, but always in a quiet, unostenta- 
tious manner. He cared little for political 
preferment, but served one term as senator from 
the East Bridgewater district in the State Leg- 
islature, 1857. 

The wife of Mr. Hobart was formerly Agues, 
daughter of the late President Swift, of the 
Fitchburg Eailroad. Three of the four chil- 
dren of this union survived the father, namely : 
Edward, mentioned below; Aaron, who resides 
in Braintree, and Agnes, who is the wife of W. 
H. Adams, M. D., of North Adams. There was 
one that died young. Mr. Hobart died at his 
home in East Bridgewater, Mass., Oct. 8, 1898. 
Mrs. Hobart passed away in 1903. 

(IX) Edward Hobakt, son of Aaron, born 
March 4, 1866, received his education at Bos- 
ton, attending first the public schools and later 
Harvard University, from which he was»gradu- 
ated in the class of 1889, with the degree of 
A. B. After completing his college course he 
entered the establishment of the Carver Cotton 
Gin Company, of which his father was then the 
head, working in the different departments un- 
til he had mastered the details of the business, 
and in time becoming assistant treasurer under 
his father. He filled that position until the 
father's death, when he was elected to the office 
of treasurer. This responsible position he has 
filled to the present time, giving satisfactory 
evidence of his business ability and executive 
powers in the continued prosperity of the large 
concern of which he is so important an officer. 
Aside from his connection with the company, 
he is a trustee and the president of the East 
Bridgewater Savings Bank and a director of 
the Commercial National Bank of Boston. He 
is a Republican in political sentiment but inde- 
pendent in action; in religion he is identified 
with the Unitarian Church. 

On June 7, 1904, at Newton, Mass., Mr. 
Hobart married Mabel II. Kimball, of Newton, 
daughter of Sylvester Kimball. They have had 
one child, Alice Hobart. 

BORDEN (Fall River family — line of 
Thomas, fourth generation). The Borden 
family is an ancient one both here in New 
England and over the water in old England, as 
well as one of historic interest and distinction. 
The New England branch has directly or in- 
directly traced the lineage of the American an- 



cestor, Richard Borden, many generations back 
in English history. His first English forbear 
went over to England from Bourdonnay, Nor- 
mandy, as a soldier under William the Con- 
queror, and after the battle of Hastings — A.D. 
1066 — was assigned lands in the County of 
Kent, where the family afterward became use- 
ful, wealthy and influential, the village where 
they resided being named Borden. One John 
Borden, of a later generation, early in the sev- 
enteenth century, moved to Wales, wliere his 
sons Richard and John were married. These 
sons returned to Borden, in England, and in 
May, 1635, embarked for America. 

(I) Richard Borden is found a settler in 
Portsmouth, R. I., in 1638, in which year he 
was admitted an inhabitant of the island of 
Aquidneck, and in that same year was allotted 
five acres of land. He figured in the surveying 
and platting of the lands thereabout in 1639, 
and in the year following was one of those ap- 
pointed to lay out the lands in Portsmouth, 
R. I. He was assistant in 1653-54; general 
treasurer in 1654-55; commissioner in 1654- 
55-56-57; and was deputy in 1667 and 1670. 
He bought land in Providence in 1661, and 
not far from 1667 became one of the original 
purchasers of land in New Jersey from the 
Indians. He died May 25, 1671. Joan. 
his wife, died July 15, 1688. Their 
children were : Thomas, of Portsmouth, R. I., 
and Providence, R. I.; Francis, of Portsmouth, 
R. I., and Shrewsbury, N. J.; Matthew, of 
Portsmouth, R. I.; John, born in Portsmouth; 
Josciih, of Portsmouth, E. I., and Barbadoes, 
West Indies; Sarah; Samuel, of Portsmouth, 
R. I., and Westchester, N. Y. ; Benjamin, of 
Portsmouth, R. I., and Burlington county, 
N. J.; Amey, and Mary. Of these, Matthew 
Borden, born in May, 1638, as the Friends' 
records declare, was the "first English child 
born in Rhode Island." The fourth son, 

(II) John Borden, from whom the Bordens 
under consideration in this article descend, be- 
came quite famous among the Friends through- 
out the country as John Borden of Quaker Hill 
on Rhode Island. He was born in September. 
1640, and in December, 1670, was married to 
Mary Earle, and they made their home in 
Portsmouth. They died, Mr. Borden in 1716, 
and Mrs. Borden in 1734. Their children 
were: Richard, John, Amey. Joseph, Thomas, 
Mary, Hope, William and Benjamin. Thife 
John Borden was deputy in 1673, 1680, 1700, 
1704, 1705 and 1708.' became a very extensive 
landowner, and settled his sons Richard and 
Joseph near the Fall river stream; and for 
many years the Borden family owned large 




^■''''2^e-*^<^-^sziH5-«>e^ ^y^^tr-f-cCc,'*--^- 



SOUTHEASTEEN MASSACHUSETTS 



portions of the land and water power in Fall 
Eiver, Mass., and are still among the largest 
owners ^f land and manufactories in that city. 
When Fall River became a town, in 1803, it 
contained eighteen families, nine of these being 
Bordens. 

(III) Richard Borden (2), son of John, 
born Oct. 35, 1671, married about 1692 Inno- 
cent Wardell. He lived on the main road about 
a mile from the east shore of Mount Hope bay 
and two and a half miles south o£ the city hall 
in Fall River, his homestead comprising about 
two hundred acres of land. He became one of 
the wealthiest men in the town, and at the 
time of his death was one of the largest land- 
holders there. He lived to about the age of 
sixty years. His children were : Sarah, John, 
Thomas, Mary, Joseph, Samuel and Rebecca. 

(IV) Thomas Borden, born Dec. 8, 1697, 
married Aug. 14, 1721, Mary, born Oct. 6, 
1695, daughter of Christopher and Meribah 
Gifford. Their children were : Richard, born 
in 1738; Christopher, born Oct. 10, 1726; De- 
borah; Mary, and Rebecca. Mr. Borden died 
in April, 1740, in Tiverton, Rhode Island. 

(V) Richard Borden (3), born in 1722, 
married March 12, 1747, Hope Cook. His 
father owned that part of Fall river stream 
which lay below the great falls on the south 
side of the stream, and the land adjoining 
down to the salt water, besides other landed 
estate, wliich he gave to Richard with other 
outside lots. Tliis portion of the stream was 
the site of the sawmill first erected by Caleb 
Church, of Waterto\Mi, who purchased of the 
original proprietors of the Pocasset Purchase 
thirteen shares of the mill lot and stream. Mr. 
Church sold these thirteen shares of mill lot 
with one half of the sawmill to his brother, 
Benjamin Church; both were purchasing mill 
rights at the time, and had secured twenty-six 
and a half thirtieths of the mill lot and stream, 
which in 1714 they sold to Richard and Joseph 
Borden, who had secured the balance. The 
property had been occupied during his life- 
time by Thomas Borden and was transmitted 
to his son Richard. Richard Borden was a 
man of ordinary abilities, but placed the pros- 
pective value of this property high. He was 
accustomed to tell his neighbors that the time 
would come when all the dams on the stream 
would be sought after by men who would have 
the money to pay a great price for them. Time 
has shown that he had a just appreciation of 
the prospective value of Fall river. During 
the Revolution the British landed a force at 
Fall River, burned the sawmill belonging to 
Mr. Borden and a large quantity of lumber 



which was owned by his two sons, Thomas and 
Richard, who operated the mill on their own 
account. Mr. Borden, Capt. Benjamin Borden 
and John Negus were taken prisoners by the 
British, who fired Mr. Borden's dwellinghouse. 
Mr. Borden died July 4, 1795. His children 
were: Patience, born Aug. 9, 1747; Thomas, 
born in 1749; Richard, born in 1752; Hope; 
Betsey, and Mary. 

(VI) Thomas Borden, born Oct. 26, 1749, 
married Mary Hathaway, born Nov. 21, 1757, 
and they lived in Fall River, Mass., where Mr. 
Borden died Nov. 29, 1831, and Mrs. Borden 
in 1824. Their children were : Joseph, born 
Nov. 16, 1777; Phoebe, Dec. 23, 1779; William, 
Dec. 28, 1781; Isaac H., March 7, 1784; 
Thomas, Feb. 6, 1786; Sarah, March 9, 1788; 
Hope, Oct. 28, 1790; Irene, June 4, 1793; 
Richard, April 12, 1795; Mary, April 7, 1797; 
Jolui, Feb. 5, 1799; Jefferson, Feb. 28, 1801; 
Maritta, Sept. 2, 1803. 

(VII) Col. Richaed Borden, born April 
12, 1795, in Fall River, Mass., son of Thomas 
and Mary (Hathaway) Borden, spent his early 
years after leaving school on his father's farm. 
During 1813-30 he had a grist-mill at the last 
fall, near the mouth of the river. He also 
combined the occupations of mariner and ship- 
builder with that of miller. After the war of 
1812, in which young Borden had enlisted, en- 
tering as a private, and subsequently becoming 
successively ensign, lieutenant, captain, lieu- 
tenant colonel and colonel, he was engaged with 
Maj. Bradford Durfee in the construction of 
coasting vessels, and after their day's labor was 
over on these they worked in a neighboring 
blacksmith's shop on the iron work for the ves- 
sels. They launched from their shipyard about 
one vessel a year^ of from twenty to seventy- 
five tons burden. The work of the blacksmith's 
shop gradually developed into a good business 
in the manufacture of spikes, bars, rods and 
other articles, which was the beginning of the 
Fall River Iron Works Company, and which 
has been the source of the capital for the de- 
velopment of many of the most important in- 
dustries of Fall River. The demand for the 
products of their shop was what suggested the 
establisliment of the iron-works. They formed 
a company with Holder Borden and David An- 
thony, of Fall River, William Valentine and 
Joseph Butler, of Providence, and Abraham 
and Isaac Wilkinson, of Pawtucket, each con- 
tributing $3,000, making a capital of $24,000, 
which was soon reduced, however, to $18,000 
by the withdrawal of the two Wilkinsons. At 
first hoop-iron was the principal production; 
then the manufacture of bar-iron of various 



10 



SOUTHEASTEEN MASSACHUSETTS 



sizes was begun and two nailmaking machines 
set up, the heading of the best quality of nails 
having been up to that time hand work. As 
the business rapidly increased, the shops were 
enlarged and new branches of production were 
added. They were the first makers of iron wire 
for the manufacture of wood screws in this 
country. The Fall River Iron Works Com- 
pany, which was organized in 1821, was incor- 
porated in 182.5 with a capital of $200,000. In 
1845 it was increased to $960,000. By 1849 
the company owned about a mile of wharf 
frontage, making it one of the principal wharf 
properties in Fall River. The growth of the 
large and varied business from its small begin- 
nings is largely due to Colonel Borden, who 
was its treasurer from the time of its organi- 
zation until his death, for over fifty years. 

The Old Colony railroad, which was origin- 
ally chartered to run from Boston and Plym- 
outh, owes its extension in the direction of Fall 
River and southeastern Massachusetts chiefly 
to Colonel Borden. He, with his brother Jef- 
ferson, also established the Fall River Steam- 
boat Line (originally known as the Bay State 
Steamboat Company), in 1847, with a capital 
of $300,000. 

Colonel Borden was director and president of 
the American Print Works, the American Linen 
Company, the Troy Cotton & Woolen Manu- 
factory and the Richard Borden Manufacturing 
Company, and was a director of the Anawan 
Manufactory and Metacomet Mill. He was 
president and director of the Fall River Na- 
tional Bank ; director, treasurer, agent and cor- 
poration clerk of the Fall River Iron Works 
Company; president of the Watuppa Reservoir 
Company; agent of the Fall River Furnace 
Company and director of the Fall River Gas 
Company. Of outside corporations, he was 
president of the Bay State Steamboat Company, 
the Providence Tool Company, the Cape Cod 
Railroad Company and the Borden Mining 
Company, and a director of the Old Colony 
Railroad Company. 

Colonel Borden once served in Fall River as 
assessor and surveyor of highways, and was 
elected to the State Legislature as representa- 
tive and senator. He was chosen Presidential 
elector in 1864. at the second election of Abra- 
ham Lincoln. He was a man of much patriot- 
ism, and he gave the soldiers' monument and 
lot at the entrance of Oak Grove cemetery. The 
Richard Borden Post of the G. A. R. was named 
in his honor. Besides being prominent as a 
man of great energy and industry in business 
life he was distinguished for liberality to char- 
itable and educational objects. 



On Feb. 21, 1828, Colonel Borden was mar- 
ried to Abby Walker Durfee, who was born 
March 22, 1798, at Pawtucket, R. I.,*and was 
brought to New Bedford at the age of nine 
months, coming to Fall River in 1815. She 
was a daughter of James and Sally (Walker) 
Durfee, he a direct descendant of Thomas Dur- 
fee, who is of record at Portsmouth, R. I., in 
1664, some of whose descendants reached high 
position in Rhode Island, notably Hon. Thomas 
Durfee, Hon. Job Durfee and Hon. Thomas 
Durfee (2), grandfather, father and son, re- 
spectively, all of whom were on the Bench in 
the judiciary of the State, the first named as 
chief justice of the court of Common Pleas for 
Newport county, and the last two as chief jus- 
tices of the Supreme court of Rhode Island ; the 
lineage of James Durfee from the Portsmouth 
settler being through Benjamin Durfee and 
Thomas Durfee (2). 

Mrs. Abby Walker (Durfee) Borden died 
Nov. 14, 1884, at her home in Fall River, 
Mass., surviving her husband over ten years, he 
dying at Fall River, Feb. 25, 1874. Their 
children were: (1) Caroline, born Sept. 20, 
1829, is unmarried and resides in Boston. (2) 
Thomas James, born March 1, 1832, is men- 
tioned below. (3) Richard Baxter, born Feb. 21, 
1834, is mentioned below. (4) Edward Pay- 
son, born Feb. 12, 1836, resides in Philadel- 
phia. He married Sept. 29, 1863, Margaret 
Lindsey Durfee, of Fall River, and has one 
son, Edward Shirley. (5) Capt. William Henry 
Harrison, born Sept. 13, 1840, married Sept. 
25, 1867, Fannie Ingram Bosworth, of Au- 
gusta, Maine, and they had one child, Mary I., 
who died in infancy. From his early boyhood 
he manifested great interest in everything re- 
lating to navigation, especially steam naviga- 
tion, and made several voyages to Europe for 
the purpose of perfecting himself in this direc- 
tion. • During the Civil war he was in command 
of the steamers "Canonicus" and "State of 
Maine," transporting troops on the James and 
Potomac rivers, on headquarters boat at Port 
Royal, and conveying wounded soldiers from 
City Point to Point Lookout and Washington. 
After the close of the Civil war he commanded 
the "State of Maine" on the Stonington Line, 
and the "Canonicus" running between Fall 
River and Providence and as an excursion boat 
on Narragansett bav- He died at Mentone, 
France, Jan. 3, 1872. (6) Matthew Chaloner 
Durfee, born July 18, 1842, now of New York, 
is the owner of the American Printing Com- 
pany and the Fall River Iron Works Company. 
He married Sept. 5, 1865, Harriet M. Durfee, 
of Fall River, Mass., daughter of Dr. Nathan 



SOTJTHEASTEKN MASSACHUSETTS 



11 



and Delane (Borden) Durfee, and they had 
cliildren: William 0., Bertram H., Harry E., 
Matthew S., Howard S. and Owen I. (7) Sarah 
Walker, bom May 13, 1844, married May 19, 
1869, Alphonso Smith Covel, of Fall Eiver, 
and resides in Boston, where Mr. Covel died 
April 13, 1907. They had children, Richard 
B., Abbie W., Borden, Gertrude E., Florence 
and Helen. 

(VIII) Col. Thomas James Borden, 
whose large share in the development of the 
business interests of Fall Eiver, whose efficient 
service in public office and whose high character 
in private life all tended to make him one of 
the most valuable citizens of the town and 
State, was born in Fall Eiver March 1, 1832, 
son of Col. Eichard Borden. His early educa- 
tion was received in private schools in his na- 
tive town, and when sixteen years old he en- 
tered the employ of the Fall River Iron Works 
Company, of which his father was treasurer. 
In order to fit himself the better for the man- 
agement of the great trusts likely to be re- 
posed in him, after a year spent in the above 
named works he entered upon a two years' 
course of study in the Lawrence Scientific 
School, in Cambridge, studying engineering 
under Professor Eustis and chemistry under 
Professor Horsford, both masters in their re- 
spective branches of science. Thus equipped he 
returned to the Iron Works Company, and en- 
tering the office spent two years more. At 
the age of twenty-one he was appointed agent 
and treasurer of the Bay State Print Works, 
formerly known as the Globe Print Works, 
which Richard and Jefferson Borden and Oli- 
ver Chace and others had just purchased. This 
was in 1853. Four years later (1857) the 
financial crash swept down three of the prin- 
cipal owners of this organization and also some 
of its selling agents, and a heavy burden was 
thus thrown upon the brothers, Richard and 
Jefferson Borden. This resulted in the con- 
solidation of the Bay State Works and the 
American Print Works, Thomas J. Borden 
being retained as manager of the Bay State 
section of the concern. In February, 1860, 
Mr. Borden was appointed agent and treasurer 
of the Troy Cotton & Woolen Manufactory, an 
establishment that dated back to 1813. When 
he took control of this mill he found in opera- 
tion there 9,408 spindles and 253 looms, turn- 
ins out less than two and a half million yards 
of cloth a year. He shortly submitted plans, 
which the directors approved, for greatly en- 
larcring the capacity of the works. Before he 
had been in the management a year 38,736 
spindles and 932 looms were in operation and 



the plant had quadrupled its production. This 
enlargement came at a most opportune time, 
being just after the first election of President 
Lincoln. The war proved a great boon to man- 
ufacturers and this corporation, like others, 
showed great advantages accruing therefrom. 

During the period of the Civil war Mr. Bor- 
den won the military title that he bore as long 
as he lived. He was commissioned first lieu- 
tenant of the Fall River Light Infantry Sept. 
3, 1863, and in the following year spent ninety 
days in Boston with the same rank in the 5th 
Unattached Company of Massachusetts Volun- 
teer Infantry, in the United States service. 
Later he served as captain and lieutenant col- 
onel, and became colonel June 23, 1868, in the 
3d Mass. Vol. Militia, resigning the command 
of the regiment in 1871. During his term of 
service he did much to elevate the standard of 
the State militia. 

In February, 1876, Colonel Borden resigned 
the treasurership of the Troy Mill. He had 
found a mill property worth $200,000, and he 
left one worth more than $800,000, which had 
in the meantime yielded more than $1,250,000 
in dividends. To the care of this property he 
added during tliis same period the develop- 
ment of two others, the Mechanics and the 
Richard Borden Mills. The Mechanics Com- 
pany was organized in 1868, Colonel Borden 
being elected president and agent, and having 
entire control of the business from the outset. 
The mill contained 53,712 spindles and 1,248 
looms, and was capitalized at $750,000. The 
stock was largely distributed among people of 
small means. The same feature was marked 
in the organization of the Merchants Manufac- 
turing Company the previous year, but this was 
the development of a new feature in the owner- 
ship of manufacturing property in Fall River, 
all previous enterprises of the kind having been 
controlled by associations of persons of consid- 
erable wealth, while these two were the results 
of the aggregation of the funds of parties hav- 
ing only very moderate capital. In another 
respect the Mechanics Mill was an innovation 
on previous practice in Fall River. Up to the 
time of its erection all of the cotton mills of 
any magnitude had been located near and drew 
their water supply from the stream leading out 
of Watuppa lake. The location selected for the 
Mechanics Mill was on the shore of the bay, 
about a mile and a half ijorth of the outlet of 
the Quequechan river, in a section used hitherto 
only for residence purposes. Water for the use 
of the mill was obtained by sinking a well eigh- 
teen feet in diameter, and of the requisite depth 
to secure a permanent supply. For two or three 



12 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



years this mill was quite isolated from the other 
manufacturing establishments of the city. But 
as no diiEculty on the score of a water supply 
was experienced, its erection was followed by 
that of five other mills further north, making 
six factories in the new group. As these mills 
were distant from the granite quarries of the 
city and within reach of the Taunton brickyard, 
either by water or rail, they were built of brick, 
unlike the practice prevailing elsewhere. The 
Mechanics Mill was the first new mill in the 
country provided with slashers for dressing 
warp. This improvement, which now has been 
everjTvhere adopted, reduced the cost of produc- 
tion in cotton manufacturing more than any 
other device has done since the invention of 
the self-operating mule. In order to further 
the development of his father's land on tlie 
south side of the Quequechan river, Colonel 
Borden early in 1871 organized the Richard 
Borden Manufacturing Company, with a capi- 
tal of $800,000, which was subscribed chiefly 
by members of the Borden family. Colonel Bor- 
den became treasurer of this corporation also. 
This mill at the time of its erection was one of 
the best structures for manufacturing purposes 
in the city. It was built under the personal 
supervision of its treasurer, who made the plans 
of construction and machine equipment. While 
the mill was in process of erection the company 
built ninety-six tenements for the use of the 
operatives, as there was little accommodation 
for them in the region of the mill. It also sold 
the sites for the Chace and Tecumseh mills, 
and thus laid the foundation for a very material 
extension of the city to eastward along the 
south bank of the Quequechan. Thus within 
three years the energy of Colonel Borden trans- 
formed a tract of waste land into a flourishing 
settlement and g;-eatly extended a prosperous 
business. From 1871 to 1876 Colonel Borden 
was the master spirit of the Troy, the Mechan- 
ics and the Richard Borden Mills, with their 
137,776 spindles and 3,228 looms. Under his 
skillful and energetic management, which in- 
cluded attention to detail as well to development 
of the general scheme, these institutions were 
financially successful and did much to deter- 
mine the direction of the future development 
of Fall River's indiistries. Colonel Borden's 
active control of these industries was termi- 
nated in 1876 by his acceptance of the 
agency of the American Print Works, 
which he was uVgently and persistently 
solicited to undertake. For thirty-nine years 
his uncle, Jefferson Borden, had held the posi- 
tion, but advancing years led him to desire re- 
lease from so heavy a weight of business cares. 



Yielding to the strong inducements held out 
Colonel Borden accepted the burden thus laid 
down and carried it until 1887, when he dis- 
posed of his interests to his brother, M. C. D. 
Borden, and retired from the corporation. Dur- 
ing his administration of the American Print 
Works the plant was greatly enlarged and im- 
proved, and its producing capacity vastly in- 
creased. The interior arrangements were thor- 
oughly reorganized and made to minister to a 
far greater economy of labor than was possible 
under the old plan. Various devices for the re- 
covery of what had been waste products were 
successfully applied. New structures were 
erected and thoroughly equipped, and all parts 
of the extensive works were brought into easy 
connection with one another. When he left the 
mills he had succeeded in developing one of the 
finest establislunents in the world devoted, to 
the printing of textile fabrics. At his death he 
was president of both the Richard Borden and 
the Mechanics Mills Corporations. 

An enterprise in whose development Colonel 
Borden had an important part was the Wa- 
tuppa Reservoir Company, of which he was 
treasurer from 1864 until he took control of 
the Print Works. When the Metacomet Bank 
was organized, in 1853, Colonel Borden was 
made one of the directors. At his death he 
was its president and the only member of the 
original board in the directorship, being also 
the oldest bank director in the city. He was also 
president of the Fall River Saviugs Bank, the 
original institution of the kind in the city, 
which has had a most honorable and successful 
history of over fourscore years. 

In 1874 Colonel Borden became a director of 
the Old Colony Railroad Company, and the 
Old Colony Steamboat Company, and to the 
last he held a place among the managers of 
these corporations. He was a director of the 
Fall River Manufacturers Mutual Insurance 
Company from its organization, in 1870, being 
long its president and treasurer. In Novem- 
ber, 1894, he was chosen president and treas- 
urer of the State Mutual and the American 
Mutual Fire Insurance Companies of Provi- 
dence, R. I., immediately after which he re- 
signed his directorship in the Boston, the Wor- 
cester and the What Cheer Mutual Fire Insur- 
ance Companies, and the American Mutual Lia- 
bility of Boston, which he had held for almost 
a score of years. All these corporations insure 
mill property only. For several years prior to 
his death Colonel Borden's time was mainly oc- 
cupied with the management of these various 
insurance interests. 

Colonel Borden was a member and at one 





/ 



Le4^y 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



13 



lime vice president of the American Society of 
Mechanical Engineers, and was a member and 
director in the New England Cotton Manufac- 
turers' Association. Among his other business 
cares was that of a directorship in the Borden 
Mining Company, of Frostburg, Md., a com- 
pany organized by his father to do a bitumi- 
nous coal business. Colonel Borden was ap- 
pointed assistant engineer of the Fall Eiver 
Fire Department in 1865. He became its chief 
engineer in 1870. This position he held three 
years, and among the men who have held this 
responsible trust not one labored more assidu- 
ously or with more marked success to heighten 
the efficiency of the department. When he re- 
tired from office the members of the depart- 
ment, in token of their appreciation, presented 
him a costly oil painting. 

As might he expected, a man who was so suc- 
cessful in the business world would be sought 
by the people for public office. He served as a 
member of the common council of Fall Eiver 
and as its president in 1874-75. Upon the 
passage of an Act of the Legislature, in 1894, 
placing the police and licensing power in the 
hands of a board of police commissioners to be 
appointed by the executive of the Common- 
wealth, Colonel Borden was appointed to the 
chairmanship of the board for the full term of 
three years by Governor Greenhalge. Gover- 
nor Wolcott reappointed him for a second 
term, but he insisted upon being relieved of 
the duties of the office. He was one of the first 
named of the committee of thirty citizens to 
whom was intrusted the important duty of 
drafting a new city charter, and liis services in 
this connection until the adoption of the char- 
ter were of infinite value to the movement. 

Like his father. Colonel Borden was inter- 
ested in whatever concerned the religious wel- 
fare of the community, being one of tlie lead- 
ing supporters of the Central Congregational 
Church. He was chairman of the lauilding 
committee which had charge of the erection of 
the elegant cliurch edifice now in use ; and he 
was the second president of the Congregational 
Club of Fall River. He was also the second 
president of the Fall River Associated Chari- 
ties. His interest in the work of foreign mis- 
sions led to his appointment, in 1877, as a cor- 
porate member of the American Board, a posi- 
tion he held until death, at that time being 
near the head of the membership in point of 
seniority. From the annual meeting of tliat 
society he was rarely absent, and was often 
given prominent place in the conduct of busi- 
ness. To the last he carried a heavy load of 
business care, and his death, Nov. 21, 1902, 



came when he had every reason to look for- 
ward to many years of useful activity. From 
his early years liis integrity, his energy, his 
business capacity, had made him a conspicuous 
man in the community, and he gave freely of 
his ability, his means and his time to all 
worthy enterprises. 

On Feb. 20, 1855, Colonel Borden was mar- 
ried to Mary Elizabeth Hill, born Aug. 5, 
1833, daughter of Ebenezer Allen and Ruth 
Howland (Slade) Hill, and a native of Slaters- 
ville,. R. I. Mrs. Borden died April 10, 1908. 
They had four children, Harriet Minerva, 
Anna Howland, Richard (died in infancy) 
and Carrie Lindley. Of these, Harriet Mi- 
nerva, _born June 15, 1856, died Oct. 16, 1904; 
she was married Sept. 13, 1882, to Rufus Wa- 
terman Bassett, and they had Thomas Borden, 
Frederic Waterman (died at the age of 
nineteen years), Margaret, Charles French 
(died in infancy) and Constance. Mr. Bassett 
died July 26, 1909. 

(VIII) Richard Baxter Borden, manu- 
facturer and financier at Fall River, was born 
there Feb. 21, 1834, son of Col. Richard and 
Abby W. (Durfee) Borden. He died Oct. 12, 
1906, after a useful and honorable life. He 
nttcniled the common schools of Fall River, 
the Middleboro Academy and the Lawrence 
Scientific School. He started in business life 
as a clerk in the office of the Metacomet Mill, 
later becoming a clerk at- the Fall River Iron 
Works. In 1859, liaving gained a knowledge 
of the manufacturing business, he was elected 
agent of the Metacomet Mill, the Anawan 
Manufactory and the Fall River Manufactory, 
all under the control of the old Iron Works 
Corporation. From 1873 to 1876 he was treas- 
urer of the Crescent Mills, retaining also the 
agencies of the Metacomet and Anawan. Prom 
1876 on he was treasurer of the Richard Bor- 
den and Troy Mills, two of the most successful 
corporations in the city. He was a director in 
the Troy, Merchants and Richard Borden 
Mills, president and director of the American 
Linen Company, president and director of the 
Union Belt Company and president and direc- 
tor of the Mechanics Mills; was a director and 
vice president of the Fall River National 
Bank ; was vice president and trustee of the 
Fall River Five Cents Savings Bank; a di- 
rector of the Manufacturers Mutunl Insur- 
ance Company of Fall River, the State Mu- 
tual Fire Insurance Company, the Enterprise 
Mutual Fire Insurance Company and the 
American Mutual Fire Insurance Company. 

Mr. Borden was greatly respected and highly 
esteemed as a citizen for his sterling worth 



14 SOUTHBASTEEN MASSACHUSETTS 

and practical public spirit. He was a man ness as a part of his character. While I did 
of the highest personal character and of un- not know him intimately I always considered 
questioned probity and integrity. He applied it a privilege to meet him and talk with him. 
the qualities of his heart and mind in the ac- He had a certain dignity of manner, a catho- 
tivities of everyday life and none regretted licity of sentiment and a broad way of view- 
his demise more sincerely than those with iiig things. He gave sympathetic treatment 
whom he came in contact in factory and office, to social questions, especially the labor ques- 
He was a member of the Central Congrega- tions. I have often noticed how few labor dis- 
tional Church, and was its treasurer at the turbances happened in the mills which Mr. 
time of his death, having held that office for Borden controlled. He recognized the human 
thirty-seven years. He was one of eighty per- element in business relations. He had the 
sons who joined the church in 1850. He was fine old Puritan conscience which revolted at 
also a corporate member of the American Board wrong-doing and felt a stain like a wound, 
of Commissioners for Foreign Missions. He He was quiet, reflective, self-contained, unpre- 
never sought promotion in public life, but was tentious and sincere. He led a life of stain- 
always ready to do his duty as a citizen. Hence less integrity, of admirable citizenship, and 
when his friends proposed to nominate liim for most effective results." 
the common council he yielded to their wishes 

and was twice elected, serving in 1858-59 and KEITH. The Keith family of the region 

1864. of country in • and about the Bridgewaters, 

On Oct. 15, 1863, Mr. Borden was married members of which have been most prominent 
to Ellen F. Plumer, of Boston, daughter of and influential there from the beginning, is as 
Avery and Elizabeth (Hodgdon) Plumer; four ancient as are the settlements there. Bridge- 
children were born to them, as follows: Rich- water, as originally, was the first interior 
ard Plumer, an attorney, member of the firm settlement in the Old Colony, the grant of 
of Slade & Borden; Charles Newton, treasurer the plantation being made in 1645, but 
of the Richard Borden Manufacturing Co. ; the actual settlement was not commenced 
Elizabeth May, who died June 24, 1908; and until after 1650, the first lots being taken up 
Nellie L., wife of Clifford M. Gardner, teller in the West Parish, and there the first house 
of the Massasoit-Pocasset National Bank (they was built and the first improvements made, the 
have one child, Elizabeth Borden). proprietors and inhabitants .practically all 

As a cotton manirfacturer Mr. Borden was coming from Duxbury. From the ancient 
a leading and successful figure. Though town of Bridgewater have since been set off 
wholly modest and unassuming, his rare abil- the towns of East Bridgewater, West Bridge- 
ity put him in the very first class of those who water and North Bridgewater, the latter since 
have fostered and developed Fall River's main becoming the thriving city of Brockton. The 
industry. He had a practical knowledge of first settlements being made in the West Par- 
mill work in all its departments and besides ish, the first church was built there. While 
the mechanical and technical experience he the settlement was thus early made and the 
gained by actual contact with his business he church formed, the society had no regular set- 
became a skillful, successful and noted finan- tied pastor until the coming thither, in 1664. 
cier. He was actively engaged in producing of Rev. James Keith, who was born in Scot- 
cotton goods longer than any other man in land, and emigrated to this country at the age 
Bristol county, and probably in New England, of eighteen years. From the Rev. James 
He was the only mill treasurer of recent years Keith have descended practically all those 
who was also treasurer at the time of the war. bearing the name in this Commonwealth. 
He was always remarkably alert in business Across the sea the Keiths were among the 
and even in his later years he was abreast of most ancient families in Europe. Of the no- 
the times in all that concerned improvement bility of Scotland, while some were originally 
in the machinery and methods of cotton man- Scots, others at different times came thither 
ufacture. His death was a positive loss to the from foreign countries. To the latter class 
community. He had a broad and sympathetic belonged the Keiths, it being the supposition 
mind, and he had the good sense to carry his that the ancient family derived its origin from 
humanity into his business dealings. In com- one Robert (who was of German origin), a 
menting upon it Hon. Milton Reed said : Mr. chieftain among the Catti. from which it is 
Borden was an exceedingly fine type of the said came the surname Keith. At the battle 
American business man, who carried his integ- of Panbridge, in 1006, he slew with his own 
rity into his business and moralized his busi- hands Camus, general of the Danes, and King 



SOUTHEASTEKN MASSACHUSETTS 15 

Malcolm, perceiving this achievement, dipped (educated, as tradition says, at the expense of 
his tingers in Camus' blood and drew red a maiden aunt), Ms name appearing on the 
strokes, or pales, on the top of Robert's roll in 1657, said college having been founded 
shield, which have since been included in the by George, the fifth Earl ,of Keith Marischal, 
armorial bearings of his descendants. As a in 1593. At the age of eighteen years he emi- 
reward for this signal bravery King Malcolm grated to this country, arriving in Boston in 
bestowed upon him several lands, particularly 1663. He was introduced to the church at 
the Barony of Keith, in East Lothian, called Bridgewater by Dr. Increase Mather, whom he 
after his own name, and from which his pos- always esteemed as his patron and best friend, 
terity assumed their surname. In 1010 the Eev. Mr. Keith is referred to in the records of 
King appointed him hereditary Great Mari- the church as "a student of divinity, having 
schal of Scotland, which high office continued some competent time improved his gifts 
in the family until the year 1715, when the amongst them in the work of the ministry, 
last Earl Marischal engaged in the Rebellion, and having also due approbation, by the testi- 
forfeiting his estates and honors (he was par- mony of the Reverend Elders of other 
doned by George II. in 1759 and restored to churches of Christ, to whom he was known." 
his estates) ; with his attainder, in 1716, the His settlement in Bridgewater took place Feb. 
dignity became obsolete in Scotland and thus 18, 1664, upon the following terms: "A 
ended the family's tenure of the office, after double house lot of twelve (12) acres, with a 
having served their country in a direct capac- house built thereon; a purchase right, so- 
ity upward of seven hundred years. The last called, being a fifty-sixth part of the original 
and tenth Earl was colonel of the Guards grant: and 40 pounds annual salary, 20 pounds 
under Queen Anne, but after his service in in Boston money and the other half at home." 
the Rebellion in 1715 he joined the service of The house in which he lived and died is still 
the King of Prussia, and died unmarried near standing, and is situated on the north side of 
Potsdam, Prussia, May 28, 1778, in his eighty- River street, near the intersection of Forest 
sixth year. His brother James became a field street. It was originally built in 1662, in 
marshal in the service of Peter the Great of 1678 enlarged, in 1837 remodeled, and re- 
Russia, afterward served with the same rank mains substantially the same at the present 
in the Prussian army, and after many signal time. The text selected for his first sermon 
services was killed at Hochkirch, in a battle was from Jeremiah 1 :6 : "Behold, I cannot 
with the Aiistrians, in 1758. A superb monu- speak, for I am a child," and it was said to 
ment erected to his memory at Berlin, by order have been delivered from a rock in the "mill 
of the King of Prussia, testifies to the estima- pasture" near the river. His advice and in- 
tion in which he was held by that illustrious fluence with the civil authorities of the Colony 
monarch. seem to have been considerable, instanced in 

As will be noted in the foregoing, a family the case of the Indian chief King Philip's wife 

dating back to the tenth century, enrolling and son ; when the question as to what should 

among its members the names of many noted be done with the son was in agitation he stated 

and famous characters in the history of the in a letter to Rev. Mr. Cotton that he "was in 

Old World, has good claims to the considera- favor of mercy," and though differing from 

tion of its descendants. most others his opinion had great weight, if 

This article is to particularly treat of the indeed it was not decisive in sparing the boy's 

branch of this family to which belonged the life. Rev. Mr. Keith preached the sermon at 

late Franklin Keith, one of the highly hon- the dedication of the new meetinghouse in 

ored and respected citizens of the community. South Bridgewater, in 1717, two years only 

and who was the head of a family which has before his death, which was printed in the 

figured so conspicuously in the business his- Bridgewater "Monitor," and contained some 

tory of Brockton, the father of sons whose ca- pertinent and impressive remarks on the sub- 

reers have been marked in mercantile, moral ject of intemperance. 

and social circles, and whose generous deeds On May 3, 1668, Rev. Mr. Keith married 

and good qualities are universally conceded Susanna Edson, daughter of Deacon Samuel 

and commended. The ancestral line of this and Susanna (Orcutt) Edson, the former of 

branch of the family, which follows, is given whom was born in England in 1612, and emi- 

in chronological order. grated to this country, settling first at Salem, 

(I) Eev. James Keith was born in 1644, whence he removed to Bridgewater, where he 

was educated at Aberdeen, Scotland, where he erected the first mill in the old town, and was 

was graduated, likely from Marischal College deacon of the church presided over by Rev. 



16 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



Mr. Keitli. To this iiniou were born children 
as follows: James, Jr. (Dec. 5, 1669), 
Joseph (Feb. 14, 1675), Samuel (1677), Tim- 
othy, John (1688), Josiah, Margaret, Mary 
and Susanna. The mother of these children 
died Oct. 16, 1705, aged sixty-five years, and 
he married (second) in 1707 Mary, widow of 
Thomas Williams, of Taunton. Rev. Mr. 
Keith passed away July 23, 1719, aged seven- 
ty-six years, in West Bridgewater, having lab- 
ored in the ministry of the town for fifty-six 
years and proved himself a worthy man and a 
faithful shepherd over his infant and feeble 
flock. 

(II) Timothy Keith, the fourth son of Rev. 
James Keith and his wife Susanna Edson, 
was born in 1683, and became one of the first 
settlers of the North Parish of Bridgewater, 
now Brockton, early in the eighteenth century, 
where his descendants have been numerous and 
prominent and influential citizens. There 
were no permanent settlements in the North 
Parish until after the year 1700, the first set- 
tlers being principally descendants of the first 
settlers of the mother town of Bridgewater. 
Timothy Keith married Feb. 1, 1710, Hannah 
Fobes, daughter of Deacon Edward Fobes, and 
to this union were born four children, as fol- 
lows: Timothy, Jr., Abiah, Nathan and Han- 
nah. The mother died May 23, 1765. Timothy 
Keith died Nov. 8, 1767, aged eighty-three 
years, and is buried in the burying ground on 
Main street, opposite Grove street, Campello, 
his grave being marked by a granite monument 
which was erected in 1881 by his descendants. 
He is described as having been a man small in 
stature, and of a frail constitution. He was a 
man who figured conspicuously in town affairs, 
being one of the original petitioners for the 
establishment of the North Precinct, the mod- 
erator of the first meeting held after it became 
a precinct, one of the committee of three to 
consult with Rev. Mr. Porter in relation to a 
settlement with them as a minister of the Gos- 
pel, all of which indicate him to have been a 
man of influence in both civil and religious 
matters. 

(III) Timothy Keith, the eldest son of 
Timothy and Hannah (Fobes) Keith, was 
born Jan. 27, 1711, and married June 2, 1737, 
Bethiah Ames, daughter of William Ames, and 
they were the parents of two children: Levi, 
born Aug. 25, 1738, and Timothy, born July 
24, 1740. The father died in " 1740, aged 
twenty-nine years, and is buried beside his 
father in the Campello lot. 

(IV) Levi Keith, the eldest son of Timothy 
and Bethiah (Ames) Keith, was born Aug. 25, 



1738, and married Nov. 8, 1759, Jemima Per- 
kins, daughter of Mark and Dorothy (Whip- 
ple) Perkins, the former of whom became a 
settler of North Bridgewater in 1741, and to 
this union were born children as follows: 
Bethiah, born in 1760; Timothy, born 
in 1761; Reuben, born in 1762, who 
died in 1768; Benjamin, born in 1763; 
Jemima, born in 1765, who died Jan. 20, 
1766; Jemima (2), born in 1767; Molly, born 
in 1769, who died Oct. 2, 1769; Levi, Jr., born 
in 1773; Molly (2), born in 1775; and Anna, 
born in 1781, who died in 1814. Levi Keith, 
the father, died in 1813, in his seventy-sixth 
year. He was a tanner and shoe manufacturer. 
His tannery was located at the corner of Mon- 
tello and Garfield streets, and in excavating 
for the foundation of the "Garfield House," 
in 1880, remains of the vats were found in a 
good state of preservation. His home was situ- 
ated at the corner of Main and Plain streets, 
on the site now occupied by the handsome resi- 
dence of Mr. George E. Keith. This house, 
which was built in 1746, was originally a 
square house, and in 1838 an addition was 
made thereto, a part of which was used as a 
shop and was known as the "Old Red Shop," 
in which many of the Keith name- first learned 
the art of shoemaking. Levi Keith was a 
man of considerable property and influence in 
the community. He was, without a question, 
the pioneer of the shoe industry in the vicinity, 
which at present employs so large a proportion 
of the population, and the "Old Red Shop," 
which is still remembered by many, was the 
original shoe factory from which has sprung 
this immense industry. In his old account 
book are to be found the names of nearly all 
the families then living in the community, 
whom he supplied with boots and shoes. 

(V) Benjamin Keith, son of Levi and Jem- 
ima (Perkins) Keith, was horn Nov. 18, 1763, 
and married Dec. 18, 1788, Martha Cary, 
daughter of Col. Simeon Cary and his wife 
Mary Howard, the former of whom was a de- 
scendant in the fourth generation from John 
Cary, who came from Somersetshire, England, 
and settled in Duxbury, Mass., in 1639, later 
becoming one of the first settlers of Bridge- 
water, where he was the first town clerk; and 
the latter a direct descendant in the fourth 
Q-eneration from John Howard, who came from 
England and settled first at Duxbury, later 
becoming one of the first settlers of the West 
Parish of Bridgewater in 1651. Col. Simeon 
Cary was a captain in the French and Indian 
war in 1758 and 1759, and was a colonel in the 
Revolutionary war in 1776. To Benjamin and 



SOUTHEASTEKN MASSACHUSETTS 



17 



Martha (Cary) Keith were born children as 
follows: Ziba, born Nov. 10, 1789, married 
(first) Sally Gary and (second) Polly Noyes; 
Arza, born May 10, 1791, married Marcia 
Kingman; Bela, born Feb. 2, 1793, married 
Mary Kingman; Charles, born Aug. 8, 1794, 
married Mehitable Perkins; Polly, born Oct. 
9, 1798, married Franklin Ames; Jason, born 
March 6, 1801, married Susan Smith and (sec- 
ond) Catherine Porter; Benjamin, born Feb. 
6, 1803, died in March, 1803. Benjamin Keith, 
the father, was principally a farmer, owning 
quite an extensive tract of land on the west side 
of Main street, and also operated the tannery 
which had been conducted by his father, locat- 
ed on the present site of the "Garfield House," 
and was as well engaged in making and repair- 
ing shoes. At this period (1800) the owner- 
ship of all the territory comprising what is 
now called Campello was vested in the Keith 
family. Mr. Keith died Sept. 9, 1814, aged 
fifty-one years, while his wife attained the ripe 
old age of eighty-six years, dying June 10, 
1852. 

(VI) Capt. Ziba Keith, the eldest son of 
Benjamin and Martha (Cary) Keith, was born 
Nov. 10, 1789, and married Nov. 25, 1813, 
Sally Cary, daughter of Jonathan and Abigail 
(Perkins) Gary, the former a direct descendant 
in the fifth generation from John Gary, who 
was one of the first settlers and first town 
clerk of the mother town of Bridgewater ; 
and the latter a direct descendant in the third 
generation from Mark Perkins, the son of Luke, 
who came from Ipswich, Mass., to North 
Bridgewater in 1741. To Capt. Ziba and Sally 
(Cary) Keith were born the following children : 
Benjamin, born Oct. 19, 1814, married Sera- 
phina W. Lothrop, of West Bridgewater ; Frank- 
lin, born Jan. 28, 1816, married Betsey Bailey, 
of Sidney, Maine; Martha Cary, born Dec 6, 
1817, married Henry Jackson, of North Bridge- 
water; Martin, born Sept. 12, 1819, died Nov. 
26, 1820; Martin Luther, bom Feb. 8, 1822, 
married (first) Mary Keith and (second) Mrs. 
Isabella Clark; Nancy Gary, born April 14, 
1824, died Jan. 30, 1838 ; David and Jonathan, 
twins, were born May 12, 1826, the former 
dying Sept. 23, 1826, and the latter married 
(first) Lavina Ames and (second) Olive P. 
Foster; Levi Watson, born April 9, 1830, mar- 
ried Amelia S. Ripley. The mother of these 
children, one of a family remarkable for their 
domestic attachment, passed away after a lin- 
gering illness Sept. 26, 1832, and the father 
married (second) March 13, 1834, Polly Noyes, 
daughter of Daniel and Huldah (Jenkins) 
Noyes, of Abington, Mass., and to this union 



were born children as follows : Daniel Noyes, 
born April 29, 1835, married Mary Howard, of 
North Bridgewater; Edwin, born Aug. 21, 
1840, married Ellen R. Howard; Ziba Cary, 
born July 13, 1842, married Abbie F. Jackson, 
of North Bridgewater. 

Capt. Ziba Keith was born in the old home- 
stead on Main street, and being of strong, robust 
build was, physically, well fitted for the occu- 
pation which he mainly followed, that of a 
farmer. He early learned to make and repair 
shoes under his grandfather, Levi Keith, and 
for some years, during the winter months, con- 
tinued this business, inherited from his ances- 
tors, in the "Old Red Shop."' As his sons be- 
came of age, they were likewise instructed in 
the art of shoemaking; and the entire number 
were in due time graduated from the benches 
beneath its roof. By a provision of his grand- 
father's will, he came into possession of the 
property at the corner of Main and Plain streets 
in 1813, and upon the death of his father, in 
1814, he was appointed administrator of his 
estate, and also administered several other es- 
tates. On May 29, 1816, he was commissioned, 
by Governor Brooks, as an ensign of a com- 
pany in the 3d Regiment of Infantry, 1st Bri- 
gade, 5th Division, and on Dec. 5, 1822, was 
promoted to a captaincy in the same company; 
which title, then acquired, attached to him 
through life. As a man Captain Keith was 
upright and just in all his dealings; as a neigh- 
bor, kind and respected by all, willing always 
to bear his share of private and public burdens ; 
and as a father, considerate and forbearing, 
fulfilling the summary of the whole law, "serv- 
ing God and keeping His commandments" and 
"doing unto others as he would they should 
do unto him." Capt. Ziba Keith died Sept. 28, 
1862, in the seventy-third year of his age, his 
widow surviving him, dying June 14, 1882. 

(VII) Franklin Keith, the second son of 
Capt. Ziba and Sally (Gary) Keith, was born 
Jan. 28, 1816, in North Bridgewater, now 
Brockton, Mass., and obtained his education 
in the district schools of his neighborhood. Like 
his brothers, he was a graduate of the "Old 
Red Shop," and pursued the business of shoe- 
making for many years, until the rapidly de- 
veloping manufacturing interests absorbed his 
time and attention and established him, in 1856, 
as a partner in one of the largest shoe manu- 
facturing firms then existing in North Bridge- 
water. Like his elder brother, he also brought 
his newly wedded wife to, and for a while 
made his home in, the old family homestead, 
until he became able to provide a house of 
his own. The happy custom prevailed here, as 



18 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



elsewhere, of locating the sons in the immediate 
vicinity of the old homestead; and in 1843 
he built and occupied what proved to be a per- 
manent and happy home, on a lot adjoining 
the homestead on the north. Here he labored 
for many years for E. N. Holbrook, of Ean- 
dolph, until he became a partner in the firm 
of Martin L. Keith & Co., in 1856, then one of 
the largest shoe manufacturing concerns in the 
community. Their trade was largely Southern, 
and upon the conmiencement of hostilities, in 
1861, with its suspension of trade relations and 
collections, they were compelled to compromise 
with their creditors, terminating this partner- 
ship and discontinuing the business. After the 
war Mr. Keith, however, again engaged in the 
manufacture of shoes in a small way, in a shop 
on Garfield street, continuing thus engaged 
until nearly the close of his life. Mr. Keith 
was an industrious man and intense in busi- 
ness affairs. He was ever actively interested 
in the public affairs of his native town, and 
being a man of strict integrity and probity 
commended himself to the people, being chosen 
selectman, assessor and overseer of the poor, 
serving in that capacity in 1856, 1857 and 
1858. In political faith he was in early life 
an old-line Whig, and upon the organization 
of the Republican party, in 1856, allied him- 
self with the latter party, continuing a stanch 
supporter of its principles until his death. Mr. 
Keith was prominently identified with the 
affairs of the South Congregational Church, 
of which he was an active and consistent mem- 
ber, and for several years was a member of 
the standing committee of the church. He was 
a man whose kindness of lieart and whose warm 
and generous sympathy were always in evidence, 
which made him beloved and esteemed by all 
who knew him. 

On Oct. 8, 1840, Mr. Keith was united in 
marriage to Betsey Bailey, who was born in 
Sidney, Maine, daughter of Paul and Betsey 
(Thayer) Bailey, formerly of West Bridgewa- 
ter, Mass. Mr. Keith passed away in Brockton, 
April 7, 1877, in the sixty-second year of his 
age, being survived by his wife, who lived to 
share the success of her sons. She was a de- 
vout, earnest Christian, and her lovable quali- 
ties as a woman and mother endeared her to 
all who knew her. Mrs. Keith died in Brock- 
ton June 22, 1903, aged eighty-two years. To 
Mr. and Mrs. Franklin Keith were born chil- 
dren as follows: Adelbert Franklin, horn Aug. 
2, 1841. married Eliza C. Baker; Helen Maria, 
born Oct. 22, 1843, married Sidney E. Pack- 
ard, of North Bridgewater, and died Dec. 21, 
1894, in Gallup, N. Mex. ; Flavel Bailey, born 



Nov. 8, 1845, married Ella Stevens, of North 
Bridgewater, where he was engaged in the 
manufacture of shoes for a number of years 
after the war of the Rebellion, in which he par- 
ticipated as a member of Company C, 60th 
Massachusetts Regiment, Volunteer Infantry, 
and where he died Jan. 1, 1886, in the forty- 
first year of his age; George Eldon, born 
•Feb. 8, 1850, married (first) Aima G. Reed 
and (second) Susan Elizabeth Archibald; 
Dennis Cary, born May 11, 1852, married 
Jennie G. Wilkins ; Myron Lee, born March 26, 
1859, married L. Ada Cummings. 

(I) Richard Tliayer (from whom Mrs. 
Keith descended through her mother), baptized 
at Thornbury, England, in 1601, married there 
April 5. 1624, Dorothy Mortimore; came in 
1640 or 1641 to New England, bringing eight 
children, and settled in Braintree, removing 
later to Boston. 

(II) Richard Thayer (2) came to New Eng- 
land with his father and married 24th day, 
10th month, 1651, Dorothy Pray, and settled 
in Braintree. They died, he in 1705, and she 
in that same year. 

(III) Nathaniel Thayer, born Jan. 1, 
1658, married in 1679 Hannah Hayden. 

(IV) Richard Thayer (3), born in 1683, 
married in 1708 Susanna, daughter of Samuel 
White, and settled in West Bridgewater, Massa- 
chusetts. 

(V) Abijah Thayer, born in 1726, married 
Betty, daughter of Robert Howard, in 1779, 
and had Betsey, born in 1780, and Abigail, born 
in 1782. 

(Yl) Betsey Thayer, boi'n in 1780, married 
Paul Bailey. 

(I) John, Bailey appears first in Scituate 
as tenant to C'apt. John Williams before 1670, 
at Farm Neck. He married in 1672 or 1673 
Sarah White, perhaps of Weymouth, also Rutli 
Clothier in 1699. He died in 1718. 

(II) Joseph Bailey, born in October, 1679, 
married and had a family, among them a son 
Adams. 

(III) Adams Bailey, born in 1722, married 
in 1746 Sarah, daughter of Jonathan Howard, 
of West Bridgewater, Mass., and settled there. 

(IV) Paul Bailey, of Bridgewater, born 
there in 1770, married in 1798 Betsey, daughter 
of Abijah and Betty (Howard) Thayer. He 
removed to Sidney, Maine. 

(VIII) Adelbert Franklin Keith, eldest 
son of the late Franklin and Betsey (Bailey) 
Keith, was born Aug. 2, 1841, in North Bridge- 
water (now Brockton), Mass., under his grand- 
father Keith's roof, at the corner of Main and 
Plain streets. His early educational training 



SOUTHEASTEEN MASSACHUSETTS 



19 



was acquired in attendance at the common 
schools of his neighborhood, and by diligence 
in his studies he became a good scholar. At an 
early age he was strongly inclined to prepare 
himself for the ministry, but deciding other- 
wise for the time, he became bookkeeper for 
Martin L. Keith & Co., then one of the lead- 
ing shoe manufacturing concerns of the com- 
munity, and he continued in that capacity 
until 1868, when he procured a clerkship in 
the war department at Washington, D. C, 
which position he held until 1864. He then 
returned to Campello and commenced the 
^nanufacture of shoes in partnership with his 
father, this partnersliip continuing for about 
three years, until 1867. Strong convictions of 
duty still following Mm, he entered the Theo- 
logical Seminary at Hartford, Conn., where he 
prepared himself for the ministry, and from 
which he was graduated in 1870. He then 
married, and accepting a call from the Congre- 
gational Church at Windham, Conn., he was 
ordained Oct. 26,- 1870. Here he continued 
to preach with great acceptance to his people 
until 1874, when he requested and was granted 
dismission. He was then invited to become 
pastor of the Congregational Church at Dan- 
ielsonville. Conn., accepted and preached to 
this people for a period of three years. He 
then accepted the call extended to him by the 
North Congregational Church at Providence, 
E. I., in 1877 ; this society at that time being 
a feeble one, the outgrowth of a mission, it 
afforded its pastor a welcome field for the 
work which he loved and for which he was so 
well fitted. How faithful these labors were 
is witnessed by the growtli from feeble begin- 
nings to its present sturdy proportions, and by 
the erection of a beautiful and commodious 
church. Owing to impaired health, and with 
a feeling that "the world was the true field," 
Eev. Mr. Keith asked for his release from this 
pastorate in 1884, which was granted, and he 
then accepted an invitation to preach at Mid- 
dlebury, Vt., remaining there for a period of 
about three years. On account of continued 
ill health and throat troiible, he then retired 
from the ministry, and returning to Campello 
accepted a clerical position with the George E. 
Keith Company, in which capacity he remained 
for about four and a half years, when he went 
to California in hopes of regaining his broken 
health, and there he resided for about two 
years, until his death, which occurred Nov. 29, 
1897, at Corona, California. 

As a minister of the gospel, Eev. Mr. Keith 
•was always earnest and direct, making the way 
of salvation plain and urging immediate duty. 



His doctrine was sound and uncompromisable ; 
his sermons were practical and always rich in 
saving common sense. With him it was a work 
of faith and entered upon with a sense of love 
and duty. He was a great-hearted man, who 
believed in the future and went forward man- 
fully to meet it. He began with the Sunday 
school and always made much of it, and while 
residing at Campello served for several years 
as superintendent of the Sunday school of the 
South Congregational Church. Seldom absent 
from this charge, he always put his best efforts 
into the work, the constant additions to his 
various charges bearing witness to his, faithful- 
ness. 

On June 22, 1870, Eev. Mr. Keith was united 
in marriage to Eliza Gillett Baker, daughter 
of William A. and Frances (Gillett) Baker, of 
Hartford, Coim., where her father was for 
many years general ticket agent of the New 
York, New Haven & Hartford Eailroad Com- 
pany. Since the death of her husband Mrs. 
Keith has made her home in Campello. To 
Eev. Mr. and Mrs. Keith were born three chil- 
dren, as follows : Fannie Baker, born Nov. 4, 
1873, who died Nov. 14, 1877; Edward Adel- 
bert, born Sept. 1, 1876; and Esther Frances, 
born June 11, 1881. 

(IX) Edwaed Adelbert Keith, only son 
of the late Eev. Adelbert Franklin Keith and 
his wife, Eliza Gillett (Baker), was born Sept. 
1, 1876, at Danielson, Conn., and acquired his 
early educational training in the schools of the 
towns in which his father was located in the 
ministry, supplementing the same by a three 
years' attendance at the Brockton high school. 
After spending a season in tutoring at Ash- 
burnham Academy, he entered Amherst College 
with the class of 1898, but on account of accom- 
panying his father to California, did not grad- 
uate until the following year, when he re- 
ceived the degree of A. B. from that institution 
of learning. Eeturning to Campello, he then 
entered the office of the George E. Keith Com- 
pany as associate credit man, having charge of 
the foreign trade of this shoe manufacturing 
concern, in which capacity he has since con- 
tinued with efficiency. 

Fraternally Mr. Keith is a member of the 
Masonic organization, holding membership in 
St. George Lodge, A. F. & A. M., of Campello. 
He also holds membership in the Brockton 
Country Club. 

In political faith he is a Eepublican, and 
has served in the city government from Ward 
Three, in 1907 and 1908 as a member of the 
common council, and in 1909 as a member of 
the board of aldermen, during which service he 



20 



SOUTHEASTEEN MASSACHUSETTS 



was a member of the Finance committee, and 
took an especially active interest in the muni- 
cipal government through his committee work. 

As have been his ancestors for several genera- 
tions, Mr. Keith is an active member of the 
South Congregational Church at Campello, and 
for several years he has served as chairman 
of the Parish committee of the same. He is 
also an active and earnest worker in the Young 
Men's Christian Association, of which associa- 
tion he is a member. 

On Oct. 5, 1904, Mr. Keith was united in 
marriage to Grace Coggins, of Hancock, Maine, 
daughter of Wallace and Maria (Wooster) 
Coggins, and this union has been blessed with 
two sons, as follows : Edward Gordon, born 
July 8, 1905; and Stanton Baker, born Jan. 
16, 1909. 

In 1911 Mr. Keith made a trip around the 
world in the interests of the George E. Keith 
Company, spending sevetal months in the Old 
World, during which time he visited and exlii- 
bited the product of this extensive shoe manu- 
facturing concern in every civilized country of 
the globe. 

(VIII) George Eldon Keith, son of the 
late Franklin and Betsey (Bailey) Keith, was 
l)orn Feb. 8, 1850, in North Bridgewater, now 
Brockton. He hail the advantages of the com- 
mon schools of his native town and of the 
high school, in acquiring his early educational 
training, being a member of the first class at 
the opening of the high school in North Bridge- 
water in 1864. His father being engaged in 
the boot and shoe business, it was but natural 
that the son, as he grew up, imbibed a knowl- 
edge of the business, and while yet a student 
at school his mornings and evenings were spent 
at the bench, where he early acquired a thorough 
knowledge of the making of shoes. After leav- 
ing school he continued working at the bench, 
making boots and shoes, until July, 1874, on 
the 1st of which month, associated with the late 
William S. Green, he began business on his 
own account, manufacturing boots and shoes, 
under the firm style of Green & Keith ; they 
established themselves in the factory formerly 
occupied by Mr. Keith's father. This partner- 
ship continued until 1880, at which time Mr. 
Keith sold his interests in the business to his 
partner. But this was not to discontinue the 
industry for which his talents and tact had 
proved him adapted and fit, he having already 
made a success of the business; it was for the 
purpose of giving his genius and ambition full- 
er play. He at once erected a large factory 
building on Perkins avenue, in which he con- 
tinued in the manufacture of shoes on a much 



larger scale. This factory was the nucleus 
of his present extensive and eminently prosper- 
ous business, and from this small beginning, 
his first six months' sales amounting to a little 
over $7,000, the business has grown steadily 
and rapidly until to-day the George E. Keith 
Company, incorporated, of which he is the 
president, is the foremost and most extensive 
shoe manufacturing concern in the State if 
not in the world, the sales in 1910 amounting 
to $12,000,000, and the payroll reaching 
$3,000,000. As his business has increased and 
expanded, requiring more factory room, Mr. 
Keith has been obliged to make numerous addi- 
tions to bis original plant, which is located at 
Campello, in which jiart of the city he was born 
and where he has always resided, until today his 
immense plant occupies several acres of ground, 
and instead of the one factory, as originally, 
he now occupies seven distinct buildings, as 
well as having four additional factories in other 
parts of the State, one at Middleboro, one at 
North Adams, one at East Weymouth, and 
another at Boston, the latter two being used 
for the manufacture of ladies' shoes. In 1898 
the business was incorporated under the laws 
of Massachusetts as the George E. Keith Com- 
pany, with a capital stock of $1,000,000, Mr. 
Keith becoming president of the corporation, 
in which capacity he has since continued. 

This enterprising concern gives employment 
to about five thousand hands, who produce from 
fifteen thousand to twenty thousand pairs of 
shoes per day. The George E. Keith Com- 
pany's product, known as the "Walkover" shoe, 
is well and favorably knovm the world over, 
the firm having salesrooms in many of the 
large cities of this country, and their shoes be- 
ing also shipped to foreign countries, they hav- 
ing established stores in various cities of the 
Old World, nine of which are located in Ijon- 
don, England. As a producer of shoes for the 
multitude in every land and clime of the civil- 
ized world, the George E. Keith Company 
has unique distinction. Their stores cover 
every known land where civilized people re- 
side. All through the cities, towns and coun- 
tries of Europe are scattered stores selling the 
Walkover shoes, and the rapid growth of this 
business abroad has been marvelous. In sup- 
plying its foreign trade through these retail 
stores the George E. Keith Company stands to- 
day as one of the largest — if not the largest — • 
exporters of American-made shoes. Their bus- 
iness at the present time comprises nearly one 
tenth of the entire export trade of this coun- 
try. With the foreign business of the concern 
on such firm standing the George E. Keith 



SOUTHEASTEEN MASSACHUSETTS 



21 



Compauy is still reaching out to other coun- 
tries which are yet open to invasion, their most 
recent expansion of business being in parts of 
South America. 

Thoughtfulness and consideration for the 
comfort and welfare of its employees have always 
been dominant features in the management of 
the George E. Keith Company, this being one 
of the causes — more eloquent than words — 
why the spirit of loyalty is so strong among 
the concern's army of workers. For the con- 
venience of the employees an up-to-date restau- 
rant is maintained, under excellent sanitary con- 
ditions. It was installed in October, 1889. A 
noon-day meal is served at a nominal sum, a 
novel idea, original with Mr. Keith, who with 
his accustomed liberality donates the profits 
derived therefrom to the direct benefit of his 
employees, the money being used as fund for 
the sick under the direction of a committee 
made up of one representative from each de- 
partment in the factory. The opening of the 
new and commodious executive office building 
on Jan. 31, 1911, at Campello, marked an 
epoch in the remarkable growth of the business 
of this concern. This building, which has five 
stories and a basement, is of fire-proof construc- 
tion, brick, steel and cement being the princi- 
pal materials used. It is believed to be the 
finest and most completely equipped executive 
building anywhere in the shoe trade, and noth- 
ing has been overlooked that may contribute to 
the comfort of its three hundred or more occu- 
pants, wliile at the same time providing for 
systematic time-saving in business details. This 
executive building is thoroughly equipped with 
every known convenience, and besides contain- 
ing the handsomely furnished private offices of 
the heads of the corporation and the heads of 
the various departments, the fifth floor .contains 
a banquet hall and lunch parlors, adjoining 
which are the kitchen and pantries, all thor- 
oughly up-to-date, while the basement contains 
bowling alleys and gymnasium for the use 
of the employees. 

It is worthy of note that Mr. George E. 
Keith, who was the founder of this enterpris- 
ing concern and who has remained its dominant 
head, has through the force of his own make-up 
risen from the bench, in 1874, when he began 
business on his own account with but a limited 
cnpitnl and some twenty hands, to the position 
of the foremost shoe manufacturer in the State 
of great shoe industries, and to wealth and 
prominence among his fellow men. 

In political faith Mr. Keith is a stalwart 
Republican, but although a prominent factor in 
the councils of that party has never felt in- 



clined to let politics interfere with his extensive 
business interests. When the town of North 
Bridgewater became the city of Brockton, in 
1882, he permitted the use of his name as a 
candidate for member of the first "board of 
aldermen, in which body he served with distinc- 
tion, from Ward Four. For several years he 
has been a member of the board of park com- 
missioners of the city. In 1900 he also served 
as a delegate from the State of Massachusetts 
to the National Republican Convention, held 
in Philadelphia, Pa., at which convention the 
late lamented William McKinley received his 
second nomination for the Presidency of the 
United States. In 1909 Mr. Keith was earnest- 
ly solicited by scores of prominent Republicans 
throughout the Fourteenth Congressional Dis- 
trict to allow his name to be presented as a 
candidate for the office of Congressman, they 
in common with many others having the assur- 
ance that he would be unanimously nominated 
and elected by a large majority, but Mr. Keith, 
as on various other occasions, respectfully de- 
clined to have the honor bestowed upon him, 
saying, in his letter of declination, "I still feel 
that I can be of greater value to my own city 
by remaining at home than by spending one- 
half of my time in Washington." 

Mr. Keith has been prominent and deeply 
interested in all religious matters. Since he 
was sixteen years of age he has been an active 
and consistent member of the South Congrega- 
tional Church and Society, serving as clerk of 
the church for a period of about ten years, and 
for a like period was also superintendent of 
the Sunday school. He also took a very prom- 
inent part in the organization of the Young 
Men's Christian Association, and was tlie first 
president of the association, serving in that 
capacity for several years, and has labored 
ardently to promote the cause in every possible 
way, its pronounced success being largely due 
to his efforts. In all projects having for their 
object the betterment and welfare of the com- 
munity, Mr. Keith is found taking an earnest 
interest and giving freely of his means, and 
though of a generous nature his giving is done 
always with an unostentatious hand. 

In addition to his responsibilities as head of 
the George E. Keith Company, Mr. Keith has 
varied financial interests. He was one of the 
original incorporators of the Brockton National 
Bank in 1881, becoming a member of its first 
board of directors, and for a number of years 
has been president of the bank; an original 
incorporator of the Brockton Savings Bank in 
1881, he served for a number of years as a 
member of its board of trustees; and was a 



22 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



charter member of the Campello Cooperative 
Bank, which was chartered in 1877, and of 
which he served as president for several years. 
He was for a term of years a director of the 
Third National Bank of Boston, and is now 
a director of tlie Old Colony Trust Company 
of Boston ; is a director of the United Shoe 
Machinery Company, of Boston, and an official 
member of various other corporations. He is 
also one of the vice presidents of the National 
Association of Boot and Shoe Manufacturers. 
Socially he is a member of the Commercial 
Club, of Brockton, and various other social 
and industrial organizations. 

Between the lines of this notice may be read 
evidence sufficient to show Mr. Keith's standing 
in the community, his worth as a citizen, his 
enterprise and public spirit, and the city of his 
birth may Justly feel a pride in his life's 
achievements. He is essentially a self-made 
man, and well made, and his success is due to 
an intelligent application of his energies -to 
his chosen calling, and his life an example well 
worth following by the young man of to-day. 

On Oct. 23, 1877, Mr. Keith was united in 
marriage to Anna Gertrude Reed, daughter of 
the late Hon. William Lincoln and Deborah 
(Chessman) Reed, of Abington, Mass., and 
a descendant of several of New England's early 
settled families, being a direct descendant in 
the eighth generation from William Reed, who 
was born in England in 1605, and mailed from 
Gravesend, in the County of Kent, in the sliip 
"Assurance de Lo," in 1635, settling in Wey- 
mouth, Mass., where he became prominent in 
the affairs of that town. Mrs. Keitli possessed a 
particularly beautiful character, her disposition 
ever sunny, and hers was a steadfast and endur- 
ing friendship. It was an actual pleasure to 
meet her at all times and her cheering words 
were an inspiration. Her life, character and 
conversation were uplifting, and the spirit of 
the Master being strongly imbued in her shone 
out brightly in her daily walk in life. In her 
death, which occurred in Brockton June 30, 
lfl06, the needy and less fortunate lost a true 
and generous friend, and her family a kind 
and devoted wife and mother. To Mr. and 
Mrs. Keith were born two sons, Eldon Bradford, 
born Oct. 18, 1879, and Harold Chessman, born 
June 18, 1884, both of whom are associated 
with the George E. Keith Company in an offi- 
cial capacity. On July 8, 1908, Mr. Keitli was 
married (second) to Susan Elizabeth Archi- 
bald, the accomplished daughter of the late 
William H. Archibald, of North Sydney, Cape 
Breton. 

Whether the elements of success in life are 



innate attributes of the individual, or whether 
they are quickened by a process of circumstan- 
tial development, it is impossible to determine 
clearly; yet the study of a successful life is 
none the less interesting and profitable by rea- 
son of the existence of this same uncertainty. 
So much in excess of successes is the record 
of failures that one is constrained to attempt 
an analysis in either case, and to determine the 
method of causation in an approximate way. The 
march of improvement and progress is acceler- 
ated day by day, and each moment seems to de- 
mand a man of broader intelligence and greater 
discernment than did the preceding one. Suc- 
cessful men iliust be live men in this age, brist- 
ling with activity; and the lessons of personal 
history may be far-reaching to an extent not 
superficially evident. Mr. Keith is a man who 
has measured up to modern acquirements, and 
has not only been eminently successful himself, 
but has been largely influential in the success 
of ethers. Though a man whose mind is so 
largely engrossed with weighty responsibilities, 
he is a keen observer, one who notes the little 
things in life and finds enjoyment in them. He 
has been an extensive and observant traveler, 
both in this country and the various foreign 
countries, and upon frequent occasions has 
afforded the citizens of his native city a pleas- 
ant and instructive evening with lectures des- 
criptive of the places of interest which he has* 
visited, usually illustrated with views of inter- 
esting points which were pliotographed by him 
personally. Of a literary turn of mind, Mr. 
Keith is a lover and patron of the fine arts as 
well as of standard literature, his large and 
comprehensive library affording him ample 
opportunity for literary entertainment. A de- 
votee of classical music, he has taken a keen 
interest in the affairs of tlie Brockton Choral 
Society, of which organization he has been 
president for several years. The position of Mr. 
Keith as a business man, citizen and individual 
is but the result of his great energy, executive 
ability and intelligent application of purpose. 
A good Judge of men, he has surrounded him- 
self with an able corps of lieutenants, the work 
of any one of whom he is instantly able to Judge 
intelligently. His intense familiarity with the 
multifarious details of his business not only 
enables him to dispose of a great amount of 
work, but he also maintains a remarkably close 
personal knowledge of affairs in general. Pro- 
gressive, up-to-date, he is ever ready to exert 
his influence and aid in all movements in the 
interest of better conditions, good government, 
the promotion of the city and the best means 
of advancing its prosperity. Socially Mr. 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



23 



Keith is genial, and of an even temperament, 
sympathetic, charitable, warm in his impulses, 
accessible, and polite to all, without regard 
for outward conditions or circumstances, flow- 
ever, he holds himself aloof from such as he 
deems unworthy of honorable rticognition. He 
is deservedly popular in the higliest sense; hav- 
ing hosts of friends who regard him as a gentle- 
man of ability, strictest integrity and incorrup- 
tible character. Mr. Keith's handsome resi- 
dence, which he erected in 1889, is on the site 
of the old Keith family homestead, at the 
corner of Mam and Plain streets, Campello, 
where lived liis ancestors for so many years. 

(IX) Eldon Bradfoed Keith, tlie eldest 
son of George Eldon and the late Anna Ger- 
trude (Keed) Keith, was born Oct. 18, 1879, 
in Brockton, Mass. His educational training 
was begun in the common schools of his native 
city, after which he became a student in the 
high school, graduating from the latter with 
the class of 1898. He then entered Amherst 
College, from which institution of learning he 
was graduated with the degree of A. B. with 
the class of 1902, attaining the honor of Phi 
Beta Kappa. Mr. Keith, after finishing his 
course at college, immediately entered the em- 
ploy of the George E. Keith Company, and was 
soon admitted a member of the corporation, 
assuming the position of assistant treasurer, in 
which capacity he remained until in November, 
1907, when upon the resignation of his uncle, 
the late D. Cary Keith, as treasurer, he was 
elected treasurer of the George E. Keith Com- 
pany, which official position he has since faith- 
fully and efficiently filled. In political views 
Mr. Keith is a supporter of the principles of 
the Republican party, and has served his native 
city as a member of the school committee for 
several years. Fraternally he is a member of 
the Masonic organization, holding raembersliip 
in St. George Lodge, A. F. & A. M. ; Satucket 
Chapter, R. A. M.; Brockton Council, R. & 
S. M. ; and Bay State Commandery, Knights 
Templar, of Brockton. Mr. Keith is also offi- 
cially identified with the financial institutions 
of the city, being a director of the Brockton 
National Bank, and a trustee of the People's 
Savings Bank. "A worthy son of noble sire," 
like his father he has taken an active interest 
in religious matters and in the affairs of the 
Young Men's Christian Association,, of which 
he has been a director for several years, and 
was president of the association for a period 
of two years. Mr. Keith is also an active mem- 
ber of the South Congregational Church of 
Campello, taking an earnest interest in the 
work of the same. 



On May 20, 1903, Mr. Keith was united in 
marriage to Lulie H. Keith, daughter of the 
late Zephaniah M. Keith and his wife, Charlotte 
L. (Perkins) Keith, of Brockton, and this 
union has been blessed with two sons : George 
Eldon Keith, 2d, who was born Nov. 8, 1905, 
and Eldon Bradford Keith, Jr., born Nov. 23, 
1908. Mr. Keith resides in a modern home on 
South street, Campello, in which locality his 
ancestors have lived since the early settlement 
of the towTi. 

(IX) Harold Chessman Kj;ith, the young- 
est son of George Eldon Keith and the late 
Anna Gertrude (Reed) Keith, was born June 
18, 1884, in Brockton, Mass. His educational 
training was acquired in the common schools 
of his native city, and in three years' attendance 
at the Broclvton higli school. Furthering his 
studies at a preparatory school at Lawrence- 
ville, N. J., he then entered Amherst College, 
graduating from the latter institution of learn- 
ing in 1908, with the degree of A. B. He then 
spent about six months abroad in travel and 
study, and upon returning to his native city 
was elected a director of the George E. Keith 
Company, of which corporation he was also 
elected assistant treasurer in 1909, in which 
capacity he has since continued. 

Fraternally Mr. Keith is a member of the 
Masonic organization, holding membership in 
St. George Lodge, A. F. & A. M., of Campello ; 
Satucket Chapter, R. A. M. ; Brockton Council, 
R. & S. M. ; and Bay State Commandery, 
Knights Templar, of Brockton, and is also a 
member of Aleppo Temple, A. A. 0. N. M. S., 
of Boston. 

Socially he is a member of the Commercial 
Club, the Country Club and the Young Men's 
Christian Association, of Brockton, and of the 
City Club, of Boston. He is also a member of 
the Chi Phi fraternity, and while at college 
took an active part in athletics. Like his hon- 
ored father and ancestors, Mr. Keith is a 
stanch supporter of the principles of the Re- 
publican party. 

On April 12, 1910, Mr. Keith was united in 
marriage to Ethel Middlebrook Bowne, daugh- 
ter of John Addison and Caroline (Middle- 
brook) Bowne, of East Orange, New Jersey. 

Mr. Keith resides in a handsome residence, 
erected in 1910, at No. 1383 Main street, 
Campello, in which' vicinity the Keith family 
has lived since the early settlement of the vil- 
lage, and to the business enterprises of which 
family is largely due the growth of that thriv- 
ing section of the city of Brockton. 

(VIII) Dennis Cart Keith, son of the 
late Franklin and Betsey (Bailey) Keith, was 



24 



SOUTHEASTEEN MASSACHUSETTS 



born May 11, 1852, in North Bridgewater, 
now Brockton, and died Nov. 1, 1908, at the 
age of fifty-six years. In the common schools 
Mr. Keith received his early education, wliich 
was supplemented by a two years' attendance 
at the high school. Leaving school when about 
seventeen years old, he went to worK for his 
uncle, Martin L. Keith, with whom he learned 
upper leather shoe cutting, remaining in his 
employ about two years. Going to Easthamp- 
ton, Mass., in September, 1871, he was clerk in 
the clothing store of A. J. Chase there for 
several months. The following spring he ac- 
cepted a position in a wholesale clothing house 
in Boston, at No. 72 Summer street, where he 
remained until the fire of 1872, which destroyed 
the stock and store, and as well the house where 
he was rooming. The keys to No. 72 Summer 
street, which he retained, he prized until his 
death. Mr. Keith's next move was to New 
Haven, Conn., where he was employed about 
one year as clerk in a clothing store, then being 
made manager of the branch store in Hartford, 
Conn., which position he held for another year. 
Then he went to Springfield, Mass., where he 
was clerk in the clothing store of S. Packard 
& Co., until March, 1874, when he returned to 
Campello and engaged in the clothing business 
en his own account, fitting up the store known 
as the Campello Corner Clothing House, in 
Keith's block, which he ran for a short time, 
when he closed it out. In 1877 he became 
bookkeeper for Green & Keith, shoe manufac- 
turers, his brother, George E., being the junior 
member of this firm, and continued with them 
until the dissolution of this partnership in 1880. 
At that time George E. Keith went into busi- 
ness for himself, and D. Gary Keith became 
bookkeeper and salesman for him, later also 
acting as credit man. Upon the incorporation 
of the George E. Keith Company, in 1897, he 
became its treasurer, which position he held un- 
til November, 1907, when on account of ill 
health he was compelled to relinquish the active 
duties of that position. However, he contin- 
ued as assistant treasurer and director of the 
concern until his death, although he had not 
been active. His death was entirely unlooked 
for, for though he had been so ill for several 
years as to be unable to attend to business there 
had been notable improvement in his condi- 
tion during the last two years, and the very 
day before the end came he was greatly en- 
couraged by his prospects of returning health. 
A man of retiring disposition, devoted to his 
home and his business, it would be difficult to 
measure the extent of Mr. Keith's influence 
upon the life of the community. He made 



many firm friendsliips, and retained the esteem 
of all who knew him, whether in business or 
social life. Throughout his busy career he al- 
ways found time to be genial and kindly, having 
a pleasant word for all who came in contact 
with him. Toward the poor and unfortunate 
he was especially sympathetic, but so unobtru- 
sive in bestowing his gifts that many of his 
most helpful acts were never Icnown to any 
but those immediately concerbed, and the ex- 
tent of his charities was realized by few. His 
ideals of usefulness were so broad that he was 
an active element in the growth of his town 
and city, though he had not been in close 
touch with the public for some years because 
of his failing strength. In fact, he did not 
seem to be so much distressed by the physical 
suffering he underwent as by the fact that it 
prevented him from doing many things in 
which he would have enjoyed active participa- 
tion. Nevertheless, the sorrow with which the 
news of his death was received was "confined 
to no particular circle. It was as broad as 
the city and extended far beyond it. All his 
life Mr. Keith had been one of those men who, 
by word and deed, delight in helping others, and 
many have cause to be grateful to him and 
hold his deeds in loving remembrance." 

Mr. Keith was a member of St. George 
Lodge, A. F. & A. M., of which he was secre- 
tary for many years, and also served as chap- 
lain; of Satucket Chapter, R. A. M.; Brockton 
Council, R. & S. M. ; Bay State Commandery, 
Knights Templar, of Brockton, and Brockton 
Chapter, 0. E. S. He was also a member of 
the Brockton Country Club. In politics he was 
a stanch Republican. Of strong religious con- 
victions, and an active worker for many years 
in the South Congregational Church of Cam- 
pello, it is worthy of note that Mr. Keith passed 
away on the fortieth anniversary of his union 
with that church. During all this long period 
he had been one of its most generous supporters, 
giving also of his time and influence to the 
furtherance of its various projects, and his 
deep spiritual life and earnest zeal were ever 
a source of inspiration to his fellow workers 
in the congregation. The pastor. Rev. Albert 
F. Pierce, D. D., who conducted the funeral 
services at the house, paid a touching tribute 
to his many good qualities, but most of all to 
his high standards and noble character : "Great 
men who are great in their sympathies and lofty 
and noble in their ideals are a source of wealth 
to any community. Through their influence 
they lift the standards of living and by their 
character make the neighborhood worth living 
in. The loss of such a one takes just so much 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



35- 



from the forces of righteousuess and leaves its 
citizens impoverished. The passing away of 
D. Cary Keith makes such a loss, not only to 
(-'ampello, but to the entire city as well. He 
was a man of noble traits and character and 
life. He was of gentle heart and life, broad in 
his sympathies and generous to a large degree ; 
he was honest, sincere, straightforward and 
true; he loved the pure and the good, and was 
the friend of every righteous cause." 

In accordance with Mr. Keith's wish, the 
ceremony at the grave was a simple committal 
service carried out by the officers of St. George 
Lodge. The interment was in Union cemetery. 
The body lay in state for an hour before the 
funeral, to give old friends, employees and the 
many who had known and loved Mr. Keith an 
opportunity to pay their last respects, and all 
of the George E. Keith factories, in Middleboro 
and North Adams, as well as at Campello, were 
closed for the day of the funeral. The pall- 
bearers were relatives and intimate business 
associates, including Mr. Keith's two surviving 
brothers. • In the public bequests made in his 
will Mr. Keith remembered the various asso- 
ciations in which he had been interested liber- 
ally, leaving $1,000 each to the South Congre- 
gational Church, the Brockton Y. M. C. A. (of 
which he was a member), the Young Women's 
Christian Association and the Brockton Hospi- 
tal, and $500 to St. George Lodge. 

On Dec. 25, 1879, Mr. Keith was united in 
marriage to Jennie G. Wilkins, daughter of 
Eufus and Mary J. (Wilson) Wilkins, of Law- 
rence, Mass., and to this union two children 
were born, as follows : Ethel Wilkins, born May 
11, 1885, died May 14, 1885; and Channing 
Wilkins, born March 2, 1888, died Nov. 22, 
1888. Like her husband, Mrs. Keith has been 
active in the work of the South Congregational 
Church of Campello. 

(VIII) Mykdn Lee Keith, son of the late 
Franklin and Betsey (Bailey) Keith, was born 
March 26, 1859, in North Bridgewater, now 
Brockton, in the old homestead at the corner of 
Main and Garfield streets. His early educa- 
tional training was acquired in the public 
schools of his native town, and later he attended 
the high school, which he left in 1875 to be- 
come bookkeeper for his older brother, Flavel 
B., who at that time was engaged in the manu- 
facture of shoes in Campello. He continued 
in this capacity until March, 1883, during the 
last two years of which period he had also been 
general manager of the factory, his brother hav- 
ing been in feeble health. He then entered the 
employ of his brother George E. Keith, as 
superintendent of the latter's large shoe factory, 



serving in that position from March 26, 1883, 
until the business was incorporated, in January, 
1898, under the laws of Massachusetts, as the 
George E. Keith Company, with a capital stock 
of $1,000,000. Mr. Keith tlien became one of 
the original incorporators and stockholders, and 
was elected first vice president and director, 
and also general manager, in which capacities 
he has since continued, he having full charge of 
the manufacturing end of this extensive con- 
cern, with its several large shoe manufacturing 
plants, which gives employment to nearly five 
thousand hands, its products going to almost 
every country in the world. The George E. 
Keith Company is a member of the Brockton 
Shoe Manufacturers' Association, of which or- 
ganization Mr. Keith has served for several 
years as director and vice president. 

In political views Mr. Keith is an ardent 
supporter of the principles of the Eepublican 
party, but with his large business interests 
has not had the time to devote to political 
affairs, although for a number of years he was 
clerk of the Republican city committee. 
Fraternally he is an active and prominent mem- 
ber of the Masonic organization, holding mem- 
bership in St. George Lodge, A. F. & A. M., 
of Campello, of which he is past worshipful 
master; is also a member of Satucket Chapter, 
R. A. M. ; Brockton Council, R. & S. M., of 
which he is thrice illustrious master, and of 
Bay State Commandery, Knights Templar, of 
Brockton, of which he is past eminent com- 
mander. Socially Mr. Keith is a member of 
the Commercial Club of Brockton, and the 
Brockton Country Club, of which he has served 
as president for several years, he being fond 
of golf, which game he plays as a pastime and 
recreation from the cares of business. 

For a number of years Mr. Keith was a direc- 
tor of the Boot and Shoe Sole Laying Company, 
of Boston. He is a director of the Home 
National Bank, and an incorporator of the 
People's Savings Bank, both of Brockton, and 
has taken an active interest in the Brockton 
City Hospital, of which he has been a trustee- 
for a number of years and of which he served as 
vice president for several years. 

Mr. Keith is a consistent and active member 
of the South Congregational Church of Cam- 
pello, and also of the parish, having been prom- 
inent in the committee work of the same, and 
for a period of over twenty-five years has served 
as clerk of the parish. He is liberal in his 
support of the church, as well as of all charitable 
and benevolent objects. 

On Jan. 6, 1886, Mr. Keith was united in 
marriage with L. Ada Cummings, daughter of 



36 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



Henry and Katherine M. (Pickett) Cummings, 
of Boston, and this union was blessed with one 
daughter, Edith Lee Keith, who was born April 
33, 1889, and died Aug. 4, 1890. 

As a man Mr. Keith is noted for his uniform 
courtesy, democratic manners and personal in- 
tegrity. Few men could be less pretentious and 
yet dignified, and none commands greater re- 
spect. He is an energetic, forceful and pro- 
gressive citizen in his ideas and purposes. 
Social in disposition and hospitable in his 
home, which is his abiding place when relieved 
of the business cares of the day, he has never- 
theless traveled considerably, not only in this 
country, but in foreign lands as well, during 
which trips he usually devotes part of his time 
to the interests of business. 

AMES. This surname is of early English 
origin, and the family living at Bristol bore 
the following coat of arms: Argent, on a bend 
cotised sable, three roses of the field. Motto : 
Fama Candida rosa dulcior. Crest: A white 
rose. 

(I) John Ames was buried at Bruton, Som- 
ersetshire, England, in 1560. 

(II) John Ames (2), son of John, died in 
1583; married Margery Crome. Children: 
John, Launcelot and William. 

(III) John Ames (3), son of John (2), 
born in 1560, died in 1629, married Cyprian 
Browne. Children : William and John. Of 
these John went to New England, settling first 
at Duxbury, where his name was on a list of 
those able to bear arms in 1643; removed to 
Bridgewater, and married Oct. 20, 1645, Eliza- 
beth Heyward ; died and left his estate to his 
brother's heirs. 

(IV) William Ames, son of John (3), born 
in 1605, came to New England and settled in 
Braintree as early as 1638. He was admitted 
a freeman May 26, 1647. The Christian name 
of his wife was Hannah. After his death, 
which occurred Jan. 1, 1653-54, she married 
(second) April 6, 1660, John Heiden (Hay- 
den). Children: Hannah, born May 12, 1641; 
Rebecca, born in October, 1642; Lydia, born 
in 1645; John, born March 24, 1647; Sarah, 
born March 1, 1650; and Deliverance, born 
Feb. 6, 1653. 

(V) John Ames. (4), son of William, born 
March 24, 1647, married Sarah, daughter of 
John Willis. He settled in West Bridgewater, 
Mass., as early as 1672. He served in King 
Philip's war. He died about 1726, when his 
estate was settled. Children: John, born in 
1672; William, born in 1673; Nathaniel, born 
in 1677; Elizabeth, born in 1680 (married in 



1697, Capt. John Field) ; Thomas, born in 
1682; Sarah, born in 1685 (married in 1706 
Daniel Field) ; David, born in 1688; and Han- 
nah, born in 1689 (married in 1712 David 
Packard). 

~~XVI) Thomas Ames, son of John (4), born 
in 1682, in West Bridgewater, Mass., married 
in 1706 Mary, born in 1685, daughter of Jo- 
seph Hayward. Children : Thomas, born in 
1707; Solomon, born in 1709; Joseph, born in 
1711; Ebenezer, born in 1715; Mary, born in 
1717 (married Seth Howard) ; Susanna, born 
in 1720 (married Thomas Willis) ; Nathan, 
born in 1722; Sarah, born in 1724 (married 
Capt. Jacob Packard) ; Betty, born in 1727 
(married James Ames). 

(VII) Thomas Ames (2), son of Thomas, 
born Feb. 6, 1707, married in 1731 Keziah, 
daughter of Jonathan and Sarah (Dean) How- 
ard. He died Nov. 27, 1774, aged sixty-seven 
years; she died Nov. 20, 1773. Children: 
Keziah, born in 1732; Susanna, born in 1734; 
Thomas, born in 1736; John, born April 7, 
1738; Mehetabel, born in 1740; Silvanus, born 
in 1744. Of these, Keziah married in 1751 
David Howard; Susanna married in 1752 Jos- 
iah Snell ; Mehetabel married in 1759 Eliab 
Fobes. 

(VIII) Capt. John Ames, son of Thomas 
(2), born April 7, 1738, married in 1757 Su- 
sannah, born 1735, daughter of Ephraim How- 
ard. Children: David, born in 1760, who was 
the founder of the famous Springfield Armory 
under commission of President Washington 
and his Secretary of War, General Knox ; 
Keziah, Abigail and Susanna, triplets, born in 
1762; Keziah (2), born in 1764; Huldah, born 
in 1768; Abigail (2), born in 1769; Cynthia, 
born in 1772; John, born in 1775. who estab- 
lished a knife shop in the northeast part of the 
town of Easton ; Oliver, born in 1779. Of 
these, Keziah married (first) Elijah Packard 
and (second) Benjamin Robinson: Abigail 
married Joseph Lazell ; Susanna married Jo- 
seph Fobes; and Huldah married Isaac Willis. 

Capt. John Ames was a pioneer iron manu- 
facturer in New England and proprietor of one 
of the nail and slitting mills condemned by the 
iron manufacturers of Great Britain, as the 
competition of American manufacturers endan- 
gered their luonopolv, and they asked the gov- 
ernment to abolish the American mills, declar- 
ing them a nuisance. Thereafter he took up the 
manufacture of shovels at his forge in Bridge- 
water, in 1773, and with heavy, clumsy imple- 
ments, including a trip hammer weighing about 
eisfhty pounds, and a common hammer and an- 
vil, he produced a shovel which compared favor- 




Z"«^'./iKc-a'^CV«i a Hnii.MX 



C^^yCy(^^<yy^..^y/7n>e^ 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



27 



ably with those subsequently manufactured by 
his son Oliver, who succeeded him m the busi- 
ness. In the American Revolution he was the 
gunmaker of the Province of Massachusetts. 
He was captain of a company of minute-men 
at Bridgewater, and was repeatedly called into 
active service on "alarms"' in Rhode Island and 
elsewhere. Toward the close of the Revolu- 
tionary war he was commissioned major of his 
regiTnent. Captain Ames died at West Bridge- 
water July 17, 1805. His wife survived him 
until Jan. 11, 1821. 

(IX) (Hon.) Oliver Ames, son of Capt. 
John and Susannah (Howard) Ames, was born 
April 11, 1779, in West Bridgewater, Mass., 
He received but an ordinary common school 
education, which with practical experience in 
the blacksmith shop of his father furnished him 
the ground work of a sober judgment, indus- 
trious habits, and a stable and energetic char- 
acter. At the age of eighteen he went to 
Springfield, Mass., where his elder brother, 
David, then resided, to learn the trade of gun- 
smith. Oliver Ames continued there until the 
close of his brother's term as superintendent 
of the Armory, in 1803, and then returned to 
Bridgewater and engaged with his father in the 
manufacture of shovels. At the very begin- 
ning of the nineteenth century, and very soon 
after his marriage, he removed from Bridge- 
water to the town of Easton, and began the 
manufacture of shovels and hoes. On Aug. 1, 
1803, he purchased the Shovel Shop pond priv- 
ilege and moved to Easton the following year, 
building the first factory for the manufacture 
of the famous Ames shovels. After three years 
there he moved to Plymouth to manufacture 
shovels for Messrs. Russell, David & Co. How- 
ever, he retained his property and business in 
Easton, carrying on there the manufacture of 
hoes and shovels, and was also one of the part- 
ners in the cotton factory managed by Col. 
David Manfey. He returned to Easton in 1811. 
In those early days he was beset with embarrass- 
ments and difficulties that would have disheart- 
ened and defeated anyone but a man of persist- 
ent energy and great ability. The effect upon 
business of the war of 1812 was still felt; the 
cotton factory had been burned; he was en- 
deavoring to restore the business of his father 
to a prosperous condition, and had made great 
outlays in getting established in Easton. But 
his credit was good and his cotirage strong ; his 
character and ability alike inspired unlimited 
confidence, and he worked steadily on a sure 
and lasting success. His business in time be- 
came by far the largest and most prosperous 
shovel business in the world. He never would 



permit any work to be sent to the market that 
was imperfect, and he thus laid the foundation 
for the great reputation which the Ames sliovel 
has borne and which it continues to bear. In 
18-14 he retired from active business, transfer- 
ring the active management to his sons Oakes 
and^ Oliver, under the firm name of Oliver 
Ames & Sons. 

Mr. Ames was a man of strong and resolute 
will, of great force of character, indomitable 
energy, and persevering industry. He possessed 
a splendid physique, and easily bore off the 
palm in all feats of strength and skill, especial- 
ly in wrestling, of which he was very fond. Hia 
manly and dignified bearing gave all who saw 
him the impression that they looked upon a 
man of mark. Born of the people, he was al- 
ways very simple in his tastes, as well as demo- 
cratic in his feelings and principles. He was 
equally decided in his likes and dislikes; but 
his judgment of persons was based upon what 
he believed to be the real worth of anyone, with- 
out reference to station or condition. He was 
consequently greatly respected and beloved by 
his neighbors and townsmen. 

Mr. Ames was no lover of office, being ambi- 
tious alone to have the charge of the highways 
of his town intrusted to him ; yet he was a num- 
ber of times honored by his fellow townsmen, 
being elected in 1828, 1833, and 1834 to the 
Massachusetts Legislature, and served with 
marked ability upon the committee on Manufac- 
tures. Contrary to his desires he was elected 
in 18-15 and b}' a large vote to the Massachu- 
setts Senate. 

In his religious faith Mr. Ames was a decided 
Unitarian, and the founder of the Unitarian 
Society of Easton, and he was liberal in his 
aid to religious institutions. He gave largely 
to charities. 

In April, 1803, Mr. Ames married Susan 
Angier, who was born March 8, 1783, daughter 
of Oakes Angier (Harvard, 1763), an eminent 
barrister of his day. Through her maternal 
grandfather, Edward Howard, she was a direct 
descendant of John Winslow, a brother of Gov. 
Edward Winslow and uncle of Gov. Josiah 
Winslow ; John Winslow married Mary Chil- 
ton, of "Mayflower" stock. She was a great- 
great-granddaughter of Rev. Urian Oakes, 
president of Harvard College, 1675-81, a direct 
descendant of Rev. Dr. William Ames, the emi- 
nent divine, author, theological controversialist 
and professor in the University of Francker, in 
Friesland. Dr. Ames's daughter, Ruth, after 
his death came with her mother and brother to 
New England, where she married Edmund 
Angier, of Cambridge, and their son. Rev. Sam- 



28 



SOUTHEASTEEN MASSACHUSETTS 



uel Angier, married Hannah Oakes, daughter 
of President Urian Oakes, of Harvard. Their 
son, Eev. John Angier, was the grandfather of 
Susan. Thus by the marriage of Oliver 
Ames and Susan Angier were united on the 
shores of New England two of tlie chief branch- 
es of the great English family of Ames. 

Mr. Ames died Sept. 11, 1863, at North Eas- 
ton. His wife died March 27, 1847, and the 
remains of both now repose in the Ames family 
lot in the village cemetery near Unity Church, 
in North Easton. Their children were : Oakes, 
born Jan. 10, 1804; Horatio, born Nov. 18, 
1805, who died Jan. 28, 1871 ; Oliver, Jr., born 
Nov. 5, 1807 ; Angier, born Feb. 19, 1810, who 
died Jan. 21, 1811; William L., born Julv 9, 
1812, who died Feb. 8, 1873; Sarah Angier, 
born Sept. 8, 1814, who died June 5, 1888 
(married Nathaniel Wetherell, of Bridgewater, 
born 1811, died Aug. 16, 1848) ; John, born 
April 18, 1817, who died May 14, 1844; and 
Harriet, born Sept. 12, 1819 (married Asa 
Mitchell, of East Bridgewater), who died Dec. 
29, 1896 (her son, Frank Ames Mitchell, born 
June 27, 1841, died Dec. 13, 1900). 

(X) (Hon.) Oliver Ames, son of Hon. 
Oliver and Susan (Angier) Ames, was born 
Nov. 6, 1807, in Plymouth, Mass. By his fa- 
ther's removal to Easton in 1813 he became a 
resident of that town, which place was after- 
ward his home. In his youth his time was di- 
vided between attending school and employ- 
ment in the shovel works. He became an ex- 
pert and thorough workman in every branch of 
shovel manufacturing. He also showed great 
aptitude for study, and in 1828, being disabled 
for actual labor bv a severe fall, he entered an 
academy at North Andover, Mass., intending 
to prepare for college, and ultimately to study 
law, for which pursuit his talents peculiarly 
fitted him : but after spending a year and a half 
at the academy he entered as a law student the 
office of William Baylies, Esq., of West Bridge- 
water. The confinement of the office, proving 
unfavorable to his health, together with the in- 
creasing demands of business at home, led him 
to cast in his lot with that of his father and his 
brother Oakes. In 1844 he entered into copart- 
nership with them, forming the house of Oliver 
Ames & Sons, and becoming the efficient cola- 
borer of his brother in the management of their 
great business. As early as 1826 he was much 
interested in the temperance movement, sup- 
porting the cause of total abstinence, of which 
from that time he was a consistent and earnest 
advocate, serving it actively, contributing to it 
largely, and being the first man in Easton to 
sign the total abstinence pledge. 



Mr. Ames was a member of the Whig party, 
and at its dissolution joined the Eepublican 
party, taking a lively interest in its princ.vples 
and measures. In 1852 he was elected to the 
Senate of Massachusetts by the Legislature, 
there being no choice by the people, and did ex- 
cellent service upon several important commit- 
tees. He was elected to the s.ime office in 1857 
by popular vote. In some of the campaigns he 
made effective speeches upon the issues of the 
hour. In the year 1855 the Messrs. Ames built 
the Easton Branch railroad, and after this be- 
came interested in those important railroad en- 
terprises in which the two brothers were so de- 
servedly famous. Though Oakes Ames with 
characteristic courage took the initiative in con- 
structing* the Union Pacific railroad, yet the 
prosecution and completion of this magnificent 
undertaking was owing to the united efforts of 
the two brothers. In 1866 Oliver Ames was 
elected president of that railroad, an office he 
held with signal ability until March, 1871. 
During this time the road passed through some 
of its stormiest days and severest trials. His 
sound judgment, great business capacity, and 
inflexible integrity were of immense service in 
carrying this great enterprise safely through 
difficulty and peril to final success. At Sher- 
man, Wyo., the highest point reached by the 
Union Pacific railroad, the company erected a 
monument in memory of Oakes and Oliver 
Ames. 

Oliver Ames held many positions of trust 
and responsibility. Besides his service as State 
senator he was a trustee of the Taunton Insane 
Asylum for some twenty years; was president 
of the National Bank of Easton, of the Ames 
Plow Company and the Kinsley Iron & Machine 
Company; a director of the Union Pacific, At- 
lantic & Pacific, Kansas Pacific, Denver Pacific, 
Colorado Central, Old Colony and Newport, and 
other railroads; also of the Bristol County Na- 
tional Bank, and other corporations. His pub- 
lic spirit led him to take great interest in en- 
terprises of education, philanthropy and reform. 
He was identified with agriciiltural, historical 
and other societies, and willingly served for 
years on the board of school committee of Eas- 
ton. He was always interested in the Unitar- 
ian Churches of Easton and North Easton, was 
very constant in his attendance upon religious 
services, and for several years was a Sunday 
school superintendent. 

Mr. Ames stood among the foremost in his 
reputation for manly and unblemished charac- 
ter and for business ability — a reputation he 
well deserved. No one could be with him with- 
out seeing that he was a strong, substantial. 




rt^r^^ed B^, Ci^ s. BMfi ■:: MX 



(y%i.v-t/yjnA>-i<.^ 




■• ' Chfrei'fj ffyr-/i~.i.BMfi!:jvr 




SOUTHEASTEKN MASSACHUSETTS 



29 



able and honorable man. His name was felt to 
be a sufficient indorsement of the worth and 
promise of any enterprise. 

Business cares were not allowed to engross 
all of Mr. Ames's attention. He continued to 
the last his interest in literature, kept himself 
familiar with the great questions that agitate 
thought and life, enjoyed the society of culti- 
vated persons, and often surprised tliem by the 
clearness and comprehensiveness of his care- 
fully formed opinions. In his character there 
were blended an admirable simplicity and a 
most cordial fellow feeling witli a real dignity 
and refinement. He was noted for his gener- 
osity. No help was denied any object that com- 
manded his confidence; but he shrank from all 
publicity in his benefactions. He had a high 
sense of honor, that was prompt to rebuke any- 
thing mean and dishonorable. He was not 
only a philanthropic but also a deeply religious 
man. Many of his benefactions have not been 
disclosed, but those he was known to have be- 
stowed were most wisely made, and are doing a 
good that is incalculable. He gave a fund of 
$50,000 each for the schools, the roads and a 
free public library. He built and gave a beau- 
tiful church to the Unitarian Society. Be- 
sides these may be mentioned his gift of the 
Village cemetery, of Unity Church parsonage, 
and two other bequests to keep the church, par- 
sonage and cemetery in repair. 

On June 12, 1833, Mr. Ames married Sarah, 
born Sept. 23, 1812, daughter of Hon. Howard 
and Sally (AVilliams) Lothrop, of Easton. 
She died Feb. 28, 1890. Their children were: 
Frederick Lothrop Ames, born June 8, 1835; 
and Helen Angier Ames, born Nov. 11, 1836, 
who died Dec. 13, 1882. Oliver Ames died 
March !), 187T, at North Easton, Massachu- 
setts. 

(XI) FjiKDEiiicK Lothrop Ame.s, A. B., 
son of Oliver and Sarah (Lothrop) Ames, was 
born June 8, 1835, in North Easton, Mass. 
He acquired wholesome home training and at 
the start laid the groundwork of his scholastic 
education in the neighborhood schools of Eas- 
ton. He then for a time studied in a school at 
Concord, Mass., and later fitted for college in 
the famous preparatory school at E.xeter, N. 
H., Phillips Academy. He passed from that 
institution to Harvard College, and graduated 
in 1854. At his graduation his inclination was 
to the study of law. But there was a call for 
him in. the large family business. Yielding 
his own preference to his father's wishes, he 
took his place with his older kinsmen, and en- 
gaged at once in the service of the company at 
North Ea.«ton, making himself acquainted with 



their already widely extended and still extend- 
ing business enterprises. He became a member 
of the firm in 1863, and its treasurer in 1876, 
when the reorganization took place. This of- 
fice he continued to fill to the end of life. His 
advance as a man of business was from the first 
steady and sure, soon carrying him beyond the 
limits of the manufacturing plant at North 
Easton. Among the many New England men 
who have distinguished themselves and their 
section of the country by building up an ex- 
ceptional prosperity, he had few equals in the 
capacity for seeing with a clear judgment and 
grasping with a firm hand the conditions of 
success. The construction of railroads in all 
parts of the country was developing its resources 
and these resources as they were developed de- 
manded additional facilities for transportation 
and travel. Vast capabilities for opening and 
improving unoccupied regions presented them- 
selves to farseeing men. And now the country, 
plunged suddenly into civil conflict for its ex- 
istence, had desperate need of expeditious com- 
munication between the Atlantic and Pacific 
oceans. But such enterprises involved extraor- 
dinary risks. Among the most sagacious of 
those who comprehended both the magnitude 
and the importance of these enterprises, and at 
the same time the risks, were the brothers Oakes 
and Oliver Ames. Patriotic observers all over 
the land welcomed their aid, applauded and in- 
dorsed their leadership. Frederick L. Ames 
was of the same blood. Not rashly but boldly 
he entered this field, took on himself with rare 
coolness and confidence heavy responsibilities 
in undertakings the results of which even the 
sanguine scarcely ventured to predict. His ex- 
pectations were justified. And so conspicuous- 
ly was his ability manifested, so approved his 
foresight by events, that his cooperation was 
sought at all points by those who had large, 
complicated and difficult projects of this na- 
ture in hand, till "he held directorships in about 
threescore railroad companies, among them the 
Union Pacific, Chicago & Northwestern and 
Old Colony (afterward the New York, New 
Haven & Hartford). He was also president of 
the First National Bank of Easton, North 
Easton Savings Bank, Hoosac Tunnel, Dock & 
Elevator Company, director of the New Eng- 
land Trust Company, Old Colony Trust Com- 
pany, Bay State Trust Company, all of Boston, 
Mercantile Trust Company, of New York, 
General Electric Company and many others. 

It did not take men of discernment long to 
conclude that a man who had a head for the 
management of such far-reaching and intricate 
organizations was a desirable adviser and assist- 



30 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



ant in any sort of affairs requiring these qual- 
ities. iSIaturally he was solicited to become 
associated with many and varied corporate 
bodies. To some of these solicitations widely 
away from the transactions of business Mr. 
Ames lent a sympathetic ear, accepting official 
trusts and responsibilities in educational, charit- 
able and religious organizations, in which he 
took a sincere interest, bringing to them the 
clear head so necessary as the complement to the 
warm heart. He was president of the Home for 
Incurables, a trustee of the Cliildren's Hospital, 
of the Massachusetts General Hospital, of the 
McLean Insane Asylum, and of the Kinder- 
garten for the Blind, a director of the Museum 
of Fine Arts in Boston, and "was very constant 
and faithful in his duties to those institutions." 
He was a fellow of the Corporation of Harvard 
College from 1888, till his death, and as a 
loyal son was devising liberal things for her 
benefit, the fulfillment of which only Ms death 
prevented. His greatest diversion from the en- 
grossing cares of a busy life was in horticulture. 
Through his liberality the Arnold Arboretum 
and the botanical department of Harvard Uni- 
versity were enabled to greatly extend their 
usefulness. For nearly thirty years Mr. Ames 
was an active member of the Massachusetts 
Horticultural Society, and for a long time one 
of its vice pi'esidents and a member of the 
finance committee. He was also a trustee of 
the Massachusetts Society for the Promotion 
of Agriculture. In his country home at North 
Easton he had at the time of his death one of 
the finest collections of orchids in the world. 
Mr. Ames was a loyal son of his native town, 
devoting much time to its interests. The rail- 
road station, built by Richardson, was his gift. 
With his mother and sister he largely increased 
his father's bequests to build the public library. 
He was a stanch upholder of his church, and 
both Unity Church in North Easton and the 
First Church in Boston had his reverent affec- 
tion and support. 

Mr. Ames was as far as possible from a de- 
votee to the accumulation and dispensing of 
wealth. As his most intimate friends describe 
him, there were in him not only tlie elements 
of the naturalist and the artist, but of the stu- 
dent of literature and disciple of science : these 
had a developed life in him and leading influ- 
ence with him. In tlie thick of the busiest en- 
gagements they claimed a just portion of his 
time and his care, showing their ruling pres- 
ence in his conversation and in his character. 
He not only let the accomplished architect build 
for him, he meditated and studied the struc- 
ture for himself. He not only bought and 



placed the picture that others approved and ad- 
mired, he, too, admired it and knew wherein it 
was admirable. His books not only ornamented 
his shelves, he had them down and read them. 
When he came home he left his business outside, 
not seeming merely to have turned in for rest 
and refitting for the next campaign among the 
competitors for fame or fortune. He was a 
man of strict integrity, sound judgment, strong 
and cultivated intellect, a self-poised, self-re- 
specting, vigorous character, conversant with 
and interested in all the great questions of the 
day, with decided literary and intellectual 
tastes, a lover of the beautiful in nature and art. 
Mr. Ames was a politician in the best sense, in 
that he loved his country, studied its institu- 
tions and policies, and put himself in its service 
in any place where he was needed. His prefer- 
ence was for a private life. He died Sept. 13, 
1893. 

On June 7, 1860, Mr. Ames was married ;to 
Rebecca Caroline, born Dec. 30, 1838, only 
child of James Blair, of St. Louis, Mo. She 
died Jan. 20, 1903. Six children were born to 
them, of whom five survive the father, namely : 
Helen Angier, who married Robert C. Hooper, 
of Boston, and died Feb. 13, 1907; Oliver; 
Mary Shreve; Frederick Lothrop; and John 
Stanley. Henry Shreve, the oldest child, born 
March 20, 1861, died Oct. 18, 1861. 

(XII) Oliver Ames (2), son of Frederick 
Lothrop and Rebecca Caroline (Blair) Ames, 
was born Oct. 21, 1864, in North Easton, Mass. 
He acquired his education at Adams Academy, 
Quincy, Mass., at George C. Noble's school, 
Boston, Mass., and in Harvard University, from 
whicli latter institution he was graduated in 
1886. Soon after the latter event he entered 
the Oliver Ames & Sons Shovel Works, then a 
corporation, at North Easton, Mass., and has 
ever since been actively identified with the ex- 
tensive business of that concern. After his 
father's death, in 1893, he became one of the 
trustees of his estate and is director of many 
railroad and trust companies. He was married 
Dec. 3. 1890, to Elise Alger West, of Boston, 
and their children are: Elise, born Aug. 14, 
1892: Olivia, Nov. 18, 1893; Oliver, Jr., April 
8, 1895; and Richard, Aug. 27, 1896. 

(XII) Frederick Lothrop Ames, son of 
Frederick Lothrop and Rebecca Caroline 
(Blair) Ames, was born in North Easton July 
23, 1876, was educated at the Groton School 
and Harvard College, graduating in 1898. He 
has extensive interests. On May 13, 1904, he 
was married to Edith Callender Cryder, daugh- 
ter of Duncan Cryder, of New York. They 
have two children : Frederick Lothrop, Jr., 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



31 



born May 1, 1905, and Mary Callender, born 
Sept. 20, 1908. 

(XII) John Stanley Ames, youngest son 
of Frederick Lotbrop and Rebecca Caroline 
(Blair) Ames, was born at North Easton J^eb. 
15, 1878, and received his education in the 
Hopkinson School, Boston, and Harvard Col- 
lege, graduating from the latter in 1901. He 
was married April 17, 1909, to Anne McKinley 
Filley, daughter of Oliver W. Filley, of St. 
Louis, Mo. They have one son, John Stanley, 
Jr., born March 2(J, 1910. 

LOTHROP. The Lotbrop family, of which 
the late Frederick Lotbrop Ames was a de- 
scendant on his mother's side, is an old family 
of Massachusetts. The name Lowthrop, Lotb- 
rop or Lathrop is derived from Lowthrope, a 
small parish in the wapentake of Dickering, 
East Riding of Yorkshire, England, four and 
a half miles northeast from Great Driffield, and 
a perpetual curacy in the archdeaconry of York. 
The church there was an ancient institution, 
said to have been built about the time of Ed- 
ward III., although there has been no institu- 
tion to it since 1579. 

(I) Mark Lothrop, of the Lothrops from 
that part of Yorkshire just alluded to, and who 
became the progenitor of a considerable branch 
of the Lothrop family of New England, was in 
Salem, Massachusetts Bay Colony, as early as 
1643. He is first mentioned in the Salem 
records: "At a meeting of the seven men on 
the 11th day of the 10th month, 1613, Marke 
Lothrop is receaved an inhabitant, and hath a 
request for some ground neer to his kinsman, 
Thomas Lothrop. At a meeting of the select- 
men, the 17th .3rd mo." 1652, granted to Hugh 
Woodberrie, Marke Lothrop and Thomas 
Priton a spot of medoe, lying between Benjamin 
Felten s medoe and the Gi-eat Swamp, near 
Wepham, to be equally divided between them.'" 

Mark Lothrop was one of the proprietors of 
Bridgewater, Mass., and was there in 1656. He 
took the oath of fidelity the following year, and 
in 1658 he was chosen constable; held for about 
a quarter of a century afterward a prominent 
place in the affairs of the town and church. 
He died Oct. 25, 1685. His estate was divided 
among his four children ; Elizabeth, Samuel, 
Mark and Edward, Samuel acting as adminis- 
trator of the estate. 

(II) Samuel Lothrop, son of Mark, born 
before 1660, married Mary Downer. He, as 
stated above, administered on his father's es- 
tate. In his will made in 1734 he refers to 
himself as "being old." The children of Sam- 
uel and Mary (Downer) Lothrop were: Mary, 



bornin 1683 (married Josiah Keith) ; Samuel, 
born in 1685; John, born in 1687; Mark, born 
in 1689; Sarah, born in 1693 (married Solo- 
mon Packard) ; Joseph (married Mary, daugh- 
ter of Joseph Snow) ; and Edward, born in 
1697. 

(III) Samuel Lothrop (2), son of Samuel, 
born May 17, 1685, died Jan. 13, 1772. He 
married in 1710 Abial, daughter ef Isaac La- 
zell, and their children were : Samuel, born in 
1711; Isaac, born in 1714; Sarah, born in 1717 
(married Abiezer Edson) ; Daniel, born in 
1721; and Abial, born in 1729, who married 
Israel Alger, Jr. 

(IV) Isaac Lothrop, son of Samuel (2), 
born in 1714, married (first) Nov. 23, 1738, 
Bethiah, born April 20, 1719, daughter of Maj. 
Edward and Mary (Byram) Howard, of Bridge- 
water, Mass. After her death he married (sec- 
ond) April 13, 1742, Patience, daughter of Jo- 
seph and Mary (Ames) Alger, of West Bridge- 
water, Mass. Mr. Lothrop died Nov. 25, 1774, 
aged fifty-nine years. Children : Bethiah, born 
in 1744; Edmund, born in 1746; Isaac, born in 
1748; Zephaniah, born in 1750; Abihail, born 
in 1752; Nathan, born in 1755; John, born in 
1757; Sarah, born in 1763; Keziah, born in 
1767. Of these, Bethiah married Samuel Wil- 
lis ; Isaac married Sarah, daughter of Adams 
Bailey, and (second) Betty Hacket ; Abihail 
married Lemuel Keith, of Easton, Mass. ; John 
married Sarah Cook; Sarah married John 
Cook and Keziah married Simeon Lothrop. 

(V) Edmund Lothrop, son of Isaac, born 
in 1746, in Bridgewater, Mass., married Sept. 
29, 1774, Betty, born May 9, 1751, daughter 
of George and Abigail (Copeland) Howard, of 
Bridgewater, Mass., he a direct descendant of 
John Howard, who was among those at Dux- 
bury able to bear arms in 1643 and who in 1645 
was among the original proprietors of Bridge- 
water, from whom his descent is through Eph- 
raim Howard and Ephraim Howard (2). 
George Howard was a soldier and patriot of the 
Revolution, serving in Capt. Daniel Lothrop's 
company. Col. John Bailey's regiment, for a 
period of three months and six days. 

Edmund Lothrop settled in the town of Eas- 
ton, where to this day his posterity has been 
prominent and influential in the afi^airs of the 
town. He died April 3, 1831. His children 
were: Howard, born Dec. 17, 1776, in Easton; 
Isaac, and Cyrus. The father was a soldier of 
the Revolution, serving for three months from 
Dec. 30, 1777, at Providence, Rhode Island. 

(VI) (Hon.) Howard Lothrop, son of Ed- 
mund and Betty (Howard), was born Dec. 
17, 1776, in the town of Easton, Mass. After 



32 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



liis school days were over and at the age of 
twenty-one he went to Vermont, where in Pitts- 
ford he became interested in a furnace. This 
he became superintendent and owner of and in 
time made the enterprise a success. He dis- 
posed of it in 1809, and owing to the failing 
health of his father returned to Easton and set- 
tled on the old homestead, where he continued 
to live the remainder of his life, and died Aug. 
23, 1857. 

Mr. Lothrop was for some nineteen years 
town clerk of Easton, serving from 1811 to 
1827, and from 1833 to 1836, proving a very 
accurate and competent officer. He was for 
many years the clerk of the Taunton North 
Purchase Company. From 1823 to 1827 he 
was a member of the State Legislature, and for 
the next four years he was State senator; suc- 
ceeding this for four years, from 1832 to 1836, 
he was a member of the Governor's council. 
He was a candidate for presidential elector on 
the Webster ticket in 1836. 

Mr. Lothrop was conservative in his opin- 
ions; of those opposed to the Eev. Mr. Sheldon 
during the great controversy, he remained or- 
thodox in his religious views. He styled him- 
self a farmer, yet did much business of a par- 
tially legal character, being often called upon to 
prepare and to execute wills and make the set- 
tlement of estates, for which work his superior 
business qualities and excellent judgment es- 
pecially fitted him. 

On June 13, 1805, Mr. Lothrop married Sal- 
ly, born May 0, 1787, daughter of Edward and 
Sarah (Lothrop) Williams, of Easton, Mass. 
He died Aug. 23, 1857, and she May 16, 1864. 
Ten children blessed the marriage, among them 
being: Edward W., born March 9, 1808, who 
died Jan. 26, 1812; De Witt Clinton, born 
Eeb. 21, 1825, who died Aug. 25, 1851 (his 
wife, Elizabeth Howard, born April 9, 1829, 
died Jan. 17, 1896) ; Sarah, who married Hon. 
Oliver Ames, Jr. ; George Van Ness, at one 
time United States minister to Russia : Howard 
Augustus, and Cyrus. 

PIERCE (New Bedford family). The Pierce 
family is one of the ancient Colonial families 
of the Commonwealth, the forerunners of the 
name playing a conspicuous part as masters of 
vessels bringing hither emigrants from Eng- 
land. For several generations there lias lived 
in New Bedford a branch of the old Relioboth 
and Swansea Pierce family, descendants of 
Capt. Michael Pierce, who have been leading 
spirits in Ihe community — names especially 
conspicuous in the industrial life of the town 
and vicinity. Reference is made particularly 



to some of the descendants of the late Otis 
Norton Pierce, whose son, the late Hon. Andrew 
Granville Pierce, was for forty-two years treas- 
urer of the Wamsutta Mills Company, an ex- 
tensive and the most successful cotton industry 
of New Bedford, serving, too, for a time as 
its president, and who was officially connected 
with many other enterprises of New Bedford 
and elsewhere; and who, too, was hardly less 
prominent in the public affairs of the place, 
serving as the chief executive officer of the city 
and as a member of the city government ; to an- 
other son, Otis Norton Pierce, Jr., who was long 
chief clerk of the Wamsutta Mills Company and 
of the New Bedford and Taunton Railroad 
Company, and has been officially identified with 
a number of corporations of New Bedford, being 
at present president of the Grinnell Manufac- 
turing Company ; to the sons of the first men- 
tioned of these brothers, Andrew G., who are 
now actively carrying forward to even greater 
success the work of their father; to Charles 
M. Peirce, deceased, who was long in business 
in New Bedford, active and influential in 
municipal and legislative work ; and to that be- 
loved physician. Dr. A. Martin Pierce, whose 
broad charity, benevolence and high efficiency 
made him in many ways the guardian and coun- 
sellor of the community. 

There follows in detail and chronological 
order the Pierce lineage of these men from their 
American ancestor, Capt. Michael Pierce. 

(I) Capt. Michael Pierce, who was born in 
England, came to America not far from 1645. 
Locating first in Hingham in 1646, the follow- 
ing year he removed to Scituate, where he pur- 
chased land in the Conihassett in 1647. Cap- 
tain Pierce was in the Narragansett fight in 
December, 1675, and escaped with his life only 
to fall in a more terrible conflict the March fol- 
lowing. The Narragansetts early in the spring 
of 1676 had committed ravages in Rhode Island ; 
parties had even penetrated to Plymouth and 
killed a number of inhabitants. On the alarm 
Capt. Michael Pierce, of Scituate, with a com- 
pany of fifty Englishmen and twenty friendly 
Indians from Cape Cod, was ordered to pursue 
the Indians toward Rhode Island. Suffice it to 
say that he met the enemy not far from Paw- 
tucket, where lie found himself in the presence 
of an overwhelming force, and here they were 
engaged until nearly every man fell, Captain 
Pierce among them. Captain Pierce was twice 
married, his first wife dying in 1662. About 
1663 he married (second) Mrs. Annah James. 
His children were: Persis, Benjamin, John, 
Ephraim, Eliza, Deborah, Anna, Abiah, Ruth 
and Abigail. 




^ 



J'.'S. 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



33 



(II) Ephraim Pierce, son of Capt. Michael, 
married Hannah, daughter of John Holbrook, 
of Weymouth, Mass., from which place he re- 
moved to Warwick, R. I. He was made free- 
man of the Colony from Providence May 3, 
1681. He died Sept. 14, 1719, and his wife 
passed away in that same year. Their children 
were : Azrikira, born Jan. 4, 1671 ; Ephraim, 
born in 1674; Michael, born in 1676; Rachel, 
born in 1678; Hannah, born in 1680; Experi- 
ence, born in 1682; John, born in 1684; and 
Benjamin, born in 1686. 

(III) Ephraim Pierce (2), son of Ephraim, 
born in 1674, married Mary Low, and they 
were residents of Rehoboth and Swansea, Mass. 
Their children were : Mial, born April 24, 
1693; Mary, Nov. 16, 1697; David, July 26, 
1701; Elizabeth, May 30, 1703; Clothier, May 
24, 1728; and Ephraim. 

(IV) Mial Pierce, son of Ephraim (2), born 
April 24, 1693, married Judith Ellis, born in 
1686, daughter of Judge Ellis. They lived in 
Warwick, R. I., and in Swansea and Rehoboth, 
Mass. Mr. Pierce lived to be ninety-four years 
of age, dying Oct. 18, 1786. Mrs. Pierce died 
Oct. 6, 1744. Their children were: Ephraim, 
born Nov. 9, 1712; Wheeler, July 11, 1714; 
Nathan, Feb. 21, 1716; Mary, Oct. 18, 1718; 
Juditli, Oct. 21, 1720; Mial, March 24, 1732; 
Job, April 2.5, 1723; Claleb, June 8, 1726; and 
Joshua. 

(V) Rev. Nathan Pierce, son of Mial and 
Judith, born Feb. 21, 1716, married Oct. 6, 
1736, Lydia Martin, born July 17, 1718, died 
Dec. 21, 1798, a descendant from Ephraim Mar- 
tin, and "a remarkably smart woman," noted 
for lier learning and the assistance she gave her 
husband. He spelled his name Perce and she 
Pierce. He was a Baptist minister for forty 
years, preaching in one church. He was suc- 
ceeded by his son, the Rev. Preserved, who 
preached in tlie same pulpit for forty years. 
The children born to Rev. Nathan and Lydia 
Pierce were: David, born April 11, 1739; 
Lydia, April 1, 1741; Freelove, Oct. 8, 1742; 
Nathan, Jan. 22, 1745 ; Joseph, Sept. 7, 1746 ; 
Benjamin, Jan. 29, 1748; Pardon, Oct. 23, 
1749; Mary, March 23, 1751; Martin, Feb. 
15, 1752; Judith, Oct. 23, 1753; Hezekiah, 
Jan. 25, 1755; Peleg, Nov. 15, 1756; Pre- 
served, July 28, 1758; Isaac, Sept. 22, 1763; 
Chloe, Nov. 18, 1765. 

(VI) Rev. Preserved Pierce, son of Rev. 
Nathan and Lydia (Martin), born July 28, 
1758, married May 15, 1784, Sarah Lewis, born 
in 1765, died Oct. 4, 1823. He married (sec- 
ond) May 10, 1824, in Dighton, Nancy Gush- 
ing. He died June 29, 1828. He resided in 



Rehoboth and Swansea. His children were: 
Preserved, born Aug. 1, 1785, married Betsey 
Davis; Lillius, born in July, 1787, married 
June 26, 1808, Olney Mason; Candus (or 
Caudace), born March 3, 1789, married Feb. 
27, 1821, Daniel Baker; Patience, born March 
30, 1792, married March 11, 1810, Samuel 
Baker; Lewis, born March 11, 1794, married 
Phebe Wood; Martin, born Feb. 21, 1796, 
married Betsey Chase; Polly, born Nov. 22, 
1799, married Sept. 24, 1818, David Wheaton; 
Lydia, born Feb. 22, 1802, married May 20, 
1821, James Wheaton; Otis H., born July 8, 
1804, married Joanna Lewis (or Levin). 

(VII) Martin Pierce, son of Rev. Preserved 
and Sarah, born in Rehoboth Feb. 21, 1796, 
married May 12, 1822, Betsey Chase of Swan- 
sea (born April 1, 1801, died Sept. 11, 1885). 
He died Jan. 1, 1872. He had his home in 
New Bedford. His son Otis was born March 
12, 1827. 

(VIII) Otis Pierce, son of Martin, was born 
March 12, 1827, in New Bedford, and died 
June 18, 1904. He married Judith C. C. De- 
voll, and their children were : A. Martin, Frank 
C, Caroline 0., William and Arthur Whiton. 

(IX) A. Martin Pierce, M. D., son of 
Otis and Judith C. C. (Devoll) Pierce, born 
in New Bedford March 14, 1852, was graduated 
from the New Bedford high school in 1870. He 
then entered the office of Dr. Edward Payson 
Abbe, the leading physician of New Bedford, 
as a student of medicine. Soon after that he 
went to the College of Physicians and Surgeons, 
New York City, from which he was graduated 
in 1873. Having passed a competitive examin- 
ation for a position in the Charity Hospital, on 
Blackwell's island. New York, he served there 
two years. He then took charge of the small- 
pox hospital on Blackwell's island for two 
months. In January, 1875, he returned to New 
Bedford, and was associated in .the practice of 
medicine with Dr. E. P. Abbe until July, 1882. 
He was appointed physician to the Poor depart- 
ment of the city in 1878 and 1879. He joined 
the Massachusetts Medical Society in 1875, and 
in 1895 was chosen its vice president. As a 
member of the South Bristol Medical Society 
he held all of the offices within the gift of that 
organization. He was on the surgical staff of 
St. Luke's hospital of New Bedford from its 
foundation in 1885 to his death, and in 1898 
he was president of the local Society for Medi- 
cal Improvement. Dr. Pierce's ideals of his 
calling were the highest. Devoted heart and 
soul to his profession, he was ever modest in 
his estimation of his own rare qualities, ever 
eager to recognize and welcome ability in oth- 



34 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



ers, never jealous of another's success. X wise 
physician, a skillful surgeon, a trusted friend, 
he is truly mourned, and his memory is 
cherished not only by his immediate friends and 
patients, but by all who knew him. 

In his religious connection Dr. Pierce was 
a member of the First Congregational (Uni- 
tarian) Church. He died Nov. 6, 1905, and 
was buried in Rural cemetery. 

Dr. Pierce married Oct. 17, 1878, Lizzie J. 
Macomber, daughter of Capt. Jolm A. and 
Jerusha S. (Hart) Macomber. To this union 
were born four children: Edward Abbe, Aug. 
4, 1879 (died Oct. 24, 1907) ; Elizabeth, Jan. 
20, 1883 (married Oct. 9, 1909, Thomas 
Wilson Williamson, and resides in Baltimore) ; 
Alice, Aug. 21, 1884; and Curtis Macomber, 
Feb. 13, 1888. 



(V) Joshua Pierce, son of Mial and Judith, 
married March 24, 1748, Mary Horton. They 
lived in Eehoboth and Swansea, Mass. Their 
children were : Shubael ; Israel ; Henry, born 
in 1750; Barnard, born Feb. 4, 1764; William; 
Joshua; Sarah; Silence; Hannah, and Mary. 

(VI) Barnard Pierce, son of Joshua and 
Mary, born Feb. 4, 1764, married Jan. 14, 
1786, Mary Rounds, born Nov. 12, 1767, 
daughter of Chace Rounds. They lived in Re- 
hoboth, Mass., where Mr. Pierce died May 5, 
1842, and Mrs. Pierce passed away Nov. 16, 
1849. Their children were: Jeremiah, born 
Aug. 29, 1786; Mary, Dec. 15, 1788; Nathaniel 
R., Jan. 1, 1792; Hannah M., Nov. 19, 1794; 
Barnard, March 15, 1797; Charles M., Aug. 9, 
1799; Otis Norton, Feb. 3, 1803; Chase (or 
Chace) R., May 12, 1805; Bradford S., June 
14, 1808; and Mary A., May 7, 1811. 

(VII) Charles M. Peirce, son of Barnard 
and Mary, was born Aug. 9, 1799, in Rehoboth. 
He married Oct. 27, 1822, Mary P. Maxfield. 
who died July 16, 1863. He died Aug. 9, 1880, 
at his home. No. 75 Elm street. New Bedford. 

Mr. Peirce's first employment was on his 
father's farm, but not being satisfied with this 
work he left home at an early age and began to 
learn the mason's trade in Providence, E. I. 
At the age of twenty-one he came to New 
Bedford and worked at his trade. In a few years 
he became a large contractor and builder, and 
for half a century was identified with the build- 
ing operations of his adopted city. The private 
and prominent public buildings of brick and 
stone which were constructed under his super- 
vision identified him closely with the interests 
of the city, and justified the words of one of 
the city fathers who said, "Charles M. Peirce 



nearly built New Bedford." He was foremost 
in the making and procuring of a patent on 
cement sewerage and well pipes, the former 
for many years being the only pipes used for 
drainage in the city. He was a man of sterling 
character, whose integrity was never questioned. 
He was not prominent in politics, but always 
took a stand for the principles he advocated. 
His children were : Charles M., Jr., born July 
26, 1823, is mentioned below; Mary, born July 
8, 1825, married Robert Allen, of Newport, 
R. I.; Susan P., born July 29, 1827, married 
John P. Nash, of New Bedford ; Ruby A., born 
Dec. 12, 1829, never married; Warren G., born 
April 25, 1832, married Mary M. Manchester; 
Harriet S., born June 24, 1834, married 
Charles E. Hendrickson, of New Bedford, 
Mass.; Averill H., born Jan. 6, 1838, died 
March 11, 1841; Emily F., born Jan. 16, 1840, 
married George W. Howland. 

(VIII) Charles M. Peirce, Jr., son of 
Charles M. and Mary P. (Maxfield) Peirce, 
born July 26, 1823, married (first) March 11, 
1851, Susan A. Durfee, born Dec. 27, 1826, 
died Oct. 6, 1855. He married (second) Nov. 
28, 1860, Amanda E. Hill, born Aug. 7, 1836, 
daughter of Thomas J. Hill, of Providence, 
one of the best known manufacturers of Rhode 
Island. 

Mr. Peirce was for many years a prominent 
figure in political and business circles in New 
Bedford. He was engaged for a long time in 
an extensive brick and lime business on Nortii 
Water street. Public affairs consumed much 
of his time and attention. He was a member 
of the common council six years, for two of 
which he was president. He represented his 
district for several terms in the State Legisla- 
ture, was for several years a member of the 
school committee, and at the time of his death, 
Sept. 12, 1875, a member of the Legislature. 
He was a man of indomitable energy and pos- 
sessed the courage of his convictions. Frater- 
nally he belonged to the I. O. 0. F. 

By his first marriage there was one son, 
Frank C, born Jan. 12. 1852, who is unmar- 
ried. By the second marriage there were the fol- 
lowing children: (1) Annie Calder, born Aug. 
23, 1861, married May 23, 1881, Hubert M. 
Howland. who died July 6, 1885. They had 
one daughter, Grace Edgarton, who married 
Nov. 17, 1909, Moses M. Sargeant of New 
York. (2) William Copeland, born Nov. 21, 
1863, married Isabelle Louise Baker, of Reho- 
both. on Sept. 27. 1887, and resides in Provi- 
dence, being president of the Providence Ma- 
chine Company, of which his grandfather, 
Thomas J. Hill, was the founder. Their chil- 







OBLIC 



<r^^*^^>^ 




SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



35 



dren are: Thomas J. H., Emma I. (married 
Oct. 5, 1910, William D. Barrows), William 
C, Jr., and Ruth. C. (3) Mary Averic Heineken, 
born July 31, 1865, married Nov. 6, 1881, 
Lieut. Percy H. Brereton, United States revenue 
service, now retired, and resides at Providence. 
They have one son, Peirce Hill. (4) Emily Hill, 
born Sept. 1, 1867, married Jan. 31, 1893, 
Thomas Potter Davis, and resides at Edge- 
wood. Children : Albert H., Beatrice, Thomas 
P., Jr., Hope and Charles M. (5) Albert Brown, 
born Dec. 36, 1869, is unmarried and resides 
in Providence. (6) Elizabeth Sawyer, born 
Sept. 30, 1871, married Walter D. Wood, of 
New Bedford, and resides in Edgewood, E. I. 
Their children are Walter C, Ralph W. and 
Dorothy. 

(VII) Otis Norton Pierce, son of Barnard 
and Mary (Rounds) Pierce, born Feb. 3, 1803, 
married Nov. 4, 1838, Susan Grinnell Cross, 
born May 35, 1805. They lived at New Bedford, 
Mass., where Mr. Pierce died June 33,. 1856. 
Mrs. Pierce passed away May 34, 1865. Their 
children were : Andrew G., born Aug. 9, 1839 ; 
Sarah, Aug. 14, 1831; Benjamin F., Sept. 30, 
1833; Elizabeth H., April 33, 1837; Otis N., 
Oct. 38, 1839 ; and Ellen N., Feb. 36, 1843. 

(VIII) Andrew Granville Pierce, son of 
Otis Norton and Susan Grinnell (Cross), was 
born Aug. 9, 1829, in New Bedford, Mass., 
where had lived the parents all of their lives. 
As a boy Andrew G. Pierce attended the pub- 
lic schools and finished by graduating from 
the New Bedford high school. Soon after 
leaving school he entered the employ of ]W- 
ward L. Baker, manufacturer of oil and can- 
dles, and a pcominent man in financial mat- 
ters. While in Mr. Baker's office, in 1847, Mr. 
Baker was chosen treasurer of the newly or- 
ganized Wamsutta mills, a position wluch did 
not occupy his entire time and the duties of 
which were conducted in the counting room of 
his factory. Much of this duty devolved upon 
young Pierce, who thus became rather a fac- 
tor of the mill than of the candle business. In 
1855 Mr. Baker resigned as treasurer of the 
Wamsutta mills, and Mr. Pierce, although only 
twenty-six years of age, was elected treasurer 
of the corporation. It established him in a 
position he occupied more than forty years, 
and made him the pivotal point around which 
probably the whole development of New Bed- 
ford's great cotton industry has centered. Mr. 
Pierce remained treasurer of the Wamsutta 
mills until 1897, when he retired on account 
of advancing years, and the feeling that he 
needed leisure. In all the years of his service 



the Wamsutta enjoyed wonderful prosperity. 
From the little mill in 1847 the establishment 
had grown to be what it is to-day. Mr. Pierce 
had been a great power in that growth and for 
several years he held the double position of 
treasurer and president. On his retirement as 
treasurer, in 1897, the following vote was 
passed by the corporation at its annual meet- 
ing and his son Edward T. Pierce was elected 
his successor : 

"The retirement of Andrew G. Pierce from 
the position of treasurer of the Wamsutta 
Mills is an event in its history of more than 
ordinary significance. He commenced his ser- 
vice when the corporation was organized, in 
1847, as clerk under Edward L. Baker, its for- 
mer treasurer. He was elected treasurer in 
August, 1855, and has held the office without 
interruption until now, a period of forty-two 
years. For a time he held the office of presi- 
dent of the corporation upon the death of Jo- 
seph Grinnell. His long service has been 
marked with the highest fidelity and with ex- 
ceptional ability. His watclifulness, industry 
and good judgment have contributed in large 
degree to the growth and prosperity of the 
mills. While he has adhered to the conserva- 
tive methods of earlier years, he has been ready 
to adopt the improvements and meet the re- 
quirements of the present. Under his admin- 
istration the Wamsutta mills have maintained 
a foremost rank in cotton manufacture and to 
Mr. Pierce has been accorded a prominent 
place among the leaders of that industry. 

"The stockholders and directors with great 
reluctance accede to his repeated request to be 
relieved from further duty. In retiring from 
active duty he takes with him the grateful 
commendation and the heartfelt good wishes 
of stockholders and directors." 

But Mr. Pierce's activities were not 
confined to the development of the Wamsutta 
alone. He was interested in the greater part 
of the city's most flourishing industries, had 
much to do with their formation and was gen- 
erally sought as an adviser. When the Morse 
Twist Drill and Machine Company was formed 
in 1864, he was one of its original directors, 
and remained such. At the time of his death 
he was its president and for many years both 
president and treasurer. When the Potomska 
Mill was organized, in 1871, he was one of its 
first directors, and so remained, being at the 
time of his death its president. He was leader 
in the formation of the Pierce Mill, of which 
his son Andrew G., Jr., was made the treas- 
urer, and was its president until his death. 
When his brother, Otis N. Pierce, formed the 



36 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



Grinnell Mill Corporation he became one of its 
directors and remained so. Even after liis re- 
tirement from the head of the Wamsutta Cor- 
poration he remained in its directorate. In 
1872, when the Fall River Bleachery was pro- 
jected, he became one of its directors; in 1899, 
when the New England Cotton Yarn Company 
was organized, Mr. Pierce became its president 
and continued as such until his death. While 
Mr. Pierce was in the office of Mr. Baker he 
projected the New Bedford, Martha's Vine- 
yard & Nantucket Steamboat Company, and 
for many years was its executive officer, finally 
resigning in favor of his son, Edward T. 
Pierce. He was also interested in the railroad 
development of the city, and in 1873 awakened 
to the need of connecting the north railroad 
station with the steamboat wharf by a street 
railway. He thereupon promoted the New 
Bedford & Fairhaven Street Railway Com- 
pany, with a capital of $50,000, the first street 
railway in the city. For many years he was 
one of its directors, and even after its develop- 
ment into the Union Street Railway Company 
he remained many years on its directorate. He 
was vice president of the Mechanics' National 
Bank many years; vice president, director and 
trustee of the Institution for Savings; director 
of the New Bedford Gas and Edison Light 
Companies; a trustee of the Swain Free School 
from its incorporation, in 1880, and a trustee 
under the Swain will, in 1857; one of the 
original trustees of St. Luke's Hospital, and 
for several years its president. In addition to 
his local offices he was a director of the Boston 
Manufacturers' Mutual Insurance Company 
and the American Mutual Liability Company 
of Boston. Upon the formation of the New 
Bedford Textile School Mr. Pierce became 
one of the State trustees of the institution and 
so remained. He died Sept. 11, 1903. 

In municipal affairs Mr. Pierce long ago 
took a deep and active interest. Back in the 
early sixties and for many years subsequent he 
was a member of the New Bedford Protecting 
Society and for several years was its president. 
Originally a Democrat, he became a Republic- 
an early in the party's history. He was called 
on to fill municipal offices frequently. He was 
for several years a member of the common 
council and for two terms president of that 
body. Later he was elected an alderman and 
in 1868 and 1869 served as mayor of the city, 
furnishing a business-like administration which 
brought him high commendation. He declined 
to run thereafter for municipal office, and 
dropped out of active political life on his re- 
tirement from the mayoral chair. 



On July 17, 1854, Mr. Pierce was married 
in New Bedford to Caroline Lincoln, daughter 
of Zachariah and Sylvia (Jenney) Hillman. 
To this union were born seven children, as fol- 
lows : Edward Taber, born May 2i, 1855, mar- 
ried Oct. 2, 1889, Maud M. Windrom; Mary 
B., born Jan. 3, 1858, is unmarried; Andrew 
G., Jr., born March 28, 1864, married Sept. 
28, 1897, Helen Parker Haskell; Louise Cook, 
born April 2, 1866, married Oct. 27, 1897, 
James Warren Kellogg, of Schenectady, N. Y.; 
Albert R., born Jan. 26, 1869, married April 
21, 1900, Harriett E. Howard, of New Bed- 
ford; Harry Lincoln, born March 23, 1872, 
died aged ten months; Elsie H., born May 21, 
1874, married April 8, 1899, William Almy, 
of Brookline, Mass. The three sons are all 
leading figures in the local mill business. 



(VIII) Otis Norton Pierce, son of Otis 
Norton and Susan Grinnell (Cross), was born 
at New Bedford, Oct. 28, 1839. He was edu- 
cated in the public schools of his native place. 
After leaving the high school he entered the 
employ of the Wamsutta Mills. For a num- 
ber of years he held the position of chief clerk 
there, and with the New Bedford and Taunton 
Railway Company, holding his position with 
the latter until the railroad was sold. In 1880 
he went to Fall River, as treasurer of the Bor- 
der City Manufacturing Company. He was 
there two years, during which time he built anew 
mill of 40,000 spindles, doubling its capacity. 

In 1882 he was the leading spirit in the 
organization of the Grinnell Manufacturing 
Corporation and lie was elected treasurer and 
returned to New Bedford. He was treasurer 
of the Grinnell Manufacturing Corporation 
from that date until a few years ago, when he 
was elected president, succeeding the late Ed- 
ward Kilburn. This mill has a capacity of 
128,000 spindles and manufactures cotton fab- 
rics of very fine texture, of both plain and 
fancy weaves. It has been one of the most 
successful corporations of New Bedford, always 
paying good dividends, and its stock sells at 
a large premium. In 1890 Mr. Pierce was 
one of the corporators of the City Manufactur- 
ing Company, and became its first president, 
serving a short time, when he resigned. He is 
a director of the Merchants' National Bank, 
and vice president, a trustee and one of the 
board of investment of the Five Cents Savings 
Bank. He is a member of the Wamsutta and 
New Bedford Country Clubs, of the Arkwright 
Club of Boston, and of the Home Market Club 
of Boston. 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



37 



In 1870 Mr. Pierce married Anna Thorn- 
ton, daughter of Elisha Thornton, Jr. She 
died Feb. ?, 1907. On April 27, 1909, he 
married (second) Mary A. Thornton, sister of 
his first wife. 

OSBORN (Fall Biver family). During the 
latter half of the century but recently closed 
and on into the present one, during the period 
of the great growth and development as an in- 
dustrial center of Fall River, the name Osborn 
has stood out conspicuously in the business life 
of the city. Reference is made notalily to the 
Osborn brothers — the late Hon. Weaver and 
James Munroe Osborn — for many years among 
the most prominent mill promoters and bank- 
ers of Fall River; and they have been followed 
by a generation now representative of the name 
and family, Mr. James E. Osborn, the son of 
James M., being now active and prominent in 
the same line of operation the father followed, 
is treasurer of the American Linen Company 
and Merchants' Manufacturing Company and 
president of the Covel & Osborn Company, 
dealers in hardware and mill supplies. This 
Osborn family here treated is one of at least a 
century and three quarters" standing, in Rhode 
Island and the near-by part of Massachu- 
setts. Still earlier than the beginning of the 
period just named there is a record of the family 
of Jeremiah and Mercy Osband at Bristol, now 
R. I., as early as 1684, the date of birth of their 
first child. Their children were : Robert, born 
Aug. 11, 1684; Katherine, born Nov. 12, 1686; 
John, born Oct. 12, 1689 ; Jeremiah, born July 
25, 1693; Margaret, born May 27, 1695; Sarah, 
born May 11, 1701; and Jeremiah (2), born 
June 11, 1706. 

One Nathaniel Osband petitioned the General 
Court at its Mav session, held at Newport, 
1682. 

So far as has been traced the genealogy of 
the Fall River Osborn family, the special 
branch to be here treated, extends to the family 
of William Osband, who was born Aug. 16, 
1729, and it is assumed at Newport, R. I., from 
the fact that he came from that place when a 
boy and lived during his minority with Samuel 
Hicks, of Tiverton. He spelled his name Os- 
band. Of his children Weaver alone so spelled 
it (Osband), the rest, Osborn. This William 
O.sband was the grandfather of the late Osborn 
brothers of Fall River alluded to above. 

William Osband, of Newport and Tiverton, 
R. I., born as stated Aug. 16, 1729, married 
May 28, 1752, in Tiverton, Elizabeth Shrieve, 
of that town, daughter of William Shrieve. Mr. 
Osband died Oct. 29, 1810. His wife died 



about 1814. Their children were : Wilson, born 
June 3, 1753, died about 1757; Weaver, born 
April 17, 1756; Elizabeth, born June 8, 1758; 
Patience, born July 17, 1761, died quite young; 
Thomas, born March 31, 1766; and William, 
born July 18, 1769. 

Thomas Osborn, son of William and Eliza- 
beth (Slirieve) Osband, born March 31, 1766, 
married in 1797 Ann, born March 6, 1775, 
daughter of Joseph and Abigail (Borden) Dur- 
fee, of Tiverton, R. I. Mr. Osborn was a sliip 
cooper and farmer in Tiverton, R. I. He died 
there Oct. 7, 1833. His wife Ann died May 
23, 1845, in Tiverton. Their children were : 
William, born Nov. 26, 1798, married Ruth 
Hambly, and died in Tiverton, R. I., Jan. 28, 
1829; Thomas, born Dec. 30, 1800, married 
Elizabeth S. Hambly and died in Tiverton 
March 1, 1884; Joseph was born Aug. 20, 
1803; Ann, born Dec. 4, 1805, died in 1812; 
Wilson, born April 15, 1808, married Mary 
Allen, and died Aug. 29, 1873; Eliza Ann, 
burn May 25, 1810, married Rev. Alexander 
Milne, and died in Fall River, Aug. 18, 1887; 
Patience, born Aug. 29, 1813, died m 1817; 
Weaver was born May 23, 1815; James Munroe 
was born Aug. 27, 1822. Of this family, 

Judge Joseph Osborn, born Aug. 20, 1803, 
spent his entire life at Tiverton, where for 
many years he was one of the foremost citizens 
of the town. In his early life he did a large 
business in the buying and selling of live stock, 
and later invested heavily in the cotton mills 
of Fall River, accumulating a fortune. Under 
the old regime he was a judge of the court oC 
Common Pleas, was a member of the Constitu- 
tional Convention of 1841, represented Tiver- 
ton in both branches of the General Assembly 
of Rhode Island, was treasurer of the town of 
Tiverton for tlie long period of forty-four years, 
and was at one time a member of ilie Board of 
State Charities and Corrections. He was a 
director of the Osborn Mills, one of the organ- 
izers and a director of the Pocasset National 
Bank and president of the Fall River Savings 
Bank from its organization, in 1851, until his 
death. He married Eliza Gardner, and their 
children were : Ann Catherine, William Joseph, 
Jason Woodward, Eliza Gardner and Henry 
Clay. 

William Joseph Osboen, son of Judge Jo- 
seph, was born Dec. 3. 183G, in Tiverton. R. T., 
was educated in the public schools, at Peirce's 
Academy, Middleboro, Mass., and at Bryant & 
Stratton'fi Business College, Providence. Af- 
ter leaving school he accepted a position as 
clerk in tlie freight depot of the Old Colony 
Railroad Company, at Boston, Mass., where he 



38 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



spent three years. He then came to Fall Eiver 
and was a clerk in the Citizens' Savings Bank, 
after which he became a partner of Frank A. 
Brackett, in the wholesale and retail tea and to- 
bacco business at Boston, under the firm name 
of Brackett & Osborn. Later, after the Civil 
war, he removed to New York, where he be- 
came interested in railroading and banking. He 
afterward became a stockbroker and was a 
member of the Consolidated Stock Exchange. 
He was noted for his honesty and upright deal- 
ings, was fully trusted by his patrons, and 
acliieved well merited success. While walking 
in a Benjamin Harrison political procession in 
New York City, Nov. 3, ]88S, he was taken 
suddenly ill and died in the street. He was 
buried in Oak Grove cemetery at Pall River. 
His religious connection was with the First 
Baptist Church, Pierpont street, Brooklyn, 
N. Y. ; in politics he was a Republican ; and in 
fraternal circles a Mason. 

On June 19, 1873, Mr. Osborn married Han- 
nah Humphrey French, daughter of Stephen 
L. and Phoebe Ann (Dwelley) French (see 
French family elsewhere). Mr. and Mrs. Wil- 
liam J. Osborn had one son, Charles French, 
who was born May 2, 1878. After grad- 
uating from the Fall River high school, 
he entered Williams College, where he grad- 
uated in 1901, with high honors, and win- 
ning several special scholarship prizes. He be- 
came connected with special branches of the 
United States government service, serving for 
a time in the Bureau of Animal Industry, and 
is now connected with the Bureau of Commerce 
and Labor. 

After the death of her husband Mrs. Osborn 
returned to Fall River, where she has since re- 
sided. She is prominent in educational cir- 
cles, and served as a member of the school com- 
mittee of Fall River in 1898, 1899 and 1900, 
and again from 1902 to 1908, finally declining 
a renomination. She is a member of the First 
Baptist Church. 

Weaver OsBO]i>f, son of Thomas and Ann 
(Durfee) Osborn, was born May 23, 1815, in 
Tiverton, R. I. Until eighteen years of age 
he remained at home, alternating between work 
on the farm in season and attendance at the 
neighborhood school, and for a short time he 
attended the seminary at Little West Hill, 
South Kingstown, R. I. Beginning an appren- 
ticeship at the blacksmith's trade at the age of 
eighteen years at Fairhaven, this State, he com- 
pleted it and followed that line of work until 
the year 1871. From 1835 to 184.T lie carried 
on blachsmithing in a shop of his own at Tiver- 
ton, R. I. The next year was passed at work 



in Providence, R. I. From 1844 to 1848 he 
was m the employ, as journeyman, of Andrew 
Robeson. Returning again to his native town 
he resumed business there and carried it on un- 
til January, 1855, at which time his shop was 
destroyed by fire. He then removed to Fall 
River, where he and his brother James M. Os- 
born entered into a co-partnership and carried 
on business under the firm name of W. & J. M. 
Osborn until 1871, though both brothers had 
long prior to this been identified with a num- 
ber of mills and enterprises and were active 
and influential in the growi:h of their adopted 
city ; and after they had dropped their black- 
smithing business were long associated together 
in business enterprises. 

Few men, perhaps, were more closely con- 
nected with the industrial gxowth of Fall River 
than was Mr. Weaver Osborn. He was chiefly 
instrumental in getting the stock taken and 
building the first mill in 1872 and became di- 
rector and president of the corporation operat- 
ing the mills which took his name, the Os- 
born Mills He was a director of the Montaup 
Mills Corporation. He was elected president 
of the I'ocasset National Bank in 1873, and 
sustained sucli relation to it for many years. 
He became a director in the bank in 1854 when 
it was organized as the Pocasset Bank, under 
the State laws, and continued such relation 
through life. He had been a member of the 
board of investment from the very start and 
was the last survivor of the original hoard, and 
from 1873 to the end of life was chairman of 
the board. For many years before his death he 
was also a -trustee of the Citizens' Savings Bank 
of Fall River, and of the State Workhouses at 
Bridgewater and Tewksbury, Mass. He was 
entrusted with the settlement of many estate.^;. 

Originally a Whig, casting his first presiden- 
tial vote for Henry Clay, Mr. Osborn became a 
Republican on the organization of that party 
and ever afterward acted with it, and as a Re- 
publican he represented Fall River in the State 
Senate in 1857, 1858 and 1859 and again in 
1879, and served on a number of important 
committees, among them the Military. In 
1868, 1869, 1871. 1873, 1876 and 1877, he was 
a member of the lower house from his city. 

In his young life Mr. Osborn took an inter- 
est and was active in the militia of the State, 
and passed through the grades from private to 
captain. He was out in the "Dorr war." 
Among Mr. Osborn's chief characteristics were 
strict integrity, sound practical judgment and 
unswerving fidelity to every trust committed to 
his care. As blacksmith, cotton-mill promoter, 
banker and legislator, he achieved distinction 



SOTJTHEASTEEN MASSACHUSETTS 



39 



and honor, and throughout an active career en- 
joyed the confidence, respect and esteem of all 
who knew him. He was a man of decision, 
great force of character, and unfailing resources, 
and in every sense a representative and enter- 
prising citizen. His sympathy and practical 
assistance were always at the command of 
young men endeavoring to get a start in lite, 
and he was especially the friend of the poor. 
He died 'Feb. 6, 1894, at his home in Fall 
River. 

On Jan. 7, 1837, Mr. Osborn married Pa- 
tience B., born May 27, 1817, daughter of Dan- 
iel and Mary (Slade) Dwelly, of Tiverton, li. 
I., who survived him. She was born in Tiver- 
ton, R. I., and died June 2, 1901. Mr. and 
Mrs. Osborn were members of the Baptist 
Church, which they joined in 1843. They had 
children as follows: Mary Slade, born Feb. 23, 
1838, a resident of Fall River, was a teacher 
in the Morgan street school (now the N. B. 
Borden school) for three years and for twelve 
years was a teacher in the Osborn street school ; 
Daniel Weaver, born June 7, 1840, died Feb. 
5, 1863; Thomas Frederick, born March 28, 
1847, died May 11, 1857; Anna Jane, born 
March 3, 1853, died July 11, 1861. 

James Muneoe Osborx, youngest son of 
Thomas and Ann (Durfee) Osborn, was born 
at Tiverton, E. I., Aug. 27, 1822, and his 
mother being left a widow when ne was eleven 
years old he remained with her on the farm 
for the next six years, meantime availing him- 
self of such school advantages as the locality 
afforded. Then he learned the blacksniitli's 
trade with his brother ^Yeaver, with whom he 
.lejnained three years, until he was twenty. Go- 
ing back to the farm he tried seine fishing for 
a time, but the results were unsatisfactory, and 
he resumed blaeksmithing, in Providence, work- 
ing there and at other places until 1845. the 
year of his coming to Fall River. Here he en- 
tered the employ of John Ivilburn, with whom 
he remained until Mr. Kilburn died, a year or 
so later. He was next employed by Kilburn & 
Lincoln, until 1855. when he joined Weaver 
Osborn in the purchase of the blacksmith shop 
of Gideon Packard. It was situated on ground 
now occupied by the postoffice. There the 
brothers did business under the name of W. & 
J. M. Osborn. In 1859, interesting themselves 
in the movement which had lately been begun 
to make Fall River a manufacturing center, 
they helped to build the Union Mill, the con- 
struction of which was soon followed by that of 
other cotton mills. Subsequently they became 
identified with the Granite Mill, and in 18G7 
invested largely in the stock of the Merchants' 



Manufacturing Company, and were also asso- 
ciated with otiiers in the establishment of the 
Stati:ord Mill. By tliis time otlier and more 
important interests had supersedsd the business 
which the firm was organized to transact, and, 
retaining the name, they dropped the black- 
smithing. In 1871 James M. Osborn was elect- 
ed a director and first treasurer of the Slade 
Mill, the construction of whose buildings he 
superintended. He next, with his brother, be- 
came interested in the Osborn Mill, and later 
still in other manufacturing organizations. The 
copartnership of W. & J. M. Osborn continued 
until 1880. James M. Osborn was long a direc- 
tor in the Globe Yarn Mills, and remained for 
many years in the directorate of the Merchants', 
the Osborn and the Stafford Corporations, being 
president of the first two named. He was also 
member of the board of investment of the Five 
Cents Savings Bank. 

With all his business interests, Mr. Osborn 
managed to make himself useful to his fellow 
men in various capacities and assumed many 
responsibilities not at all obligatory except in 
a moral sense. Throughout his active years he 
gave much of his time and thought to ethical 
and religious matters. On April 2, 1843, he 
became a member of the First Baptist Church 
of Fall River, and in 1846 was dismissed with 
others to form the Second Baptist Church. Ii, 
would be difficult indeed to name any one per- 
son who has been a greater friend to the latter 
body at any time during its history than Mr. 
Osborn. From 1884 to 1896 he was one of the 
deacons, declining to serve longer. For a very 
long period he was chairman of the standing 
committee of the corporation, and in that posi- 
tion did very efficient work in the care of the 
real estate of tlie society, its home buildings 
and its chapels. He superintended the moving 
of the chapels at various times in the course of 
the development of the chapel interests, and his 
devotion and unselfishness in the vital work of 
the church were freely admitted on all sides. 
Mr. Osborn was never given to public speaking, 
and in all his close relations with the church 
was conspicuous by his silence, but his actions 
were his best witness to the interest he had in 
the welfare of the organization. As he was a 
valuable worker in religious circles, so he was 
also to be counted on for the same service in 
the temperance and other causes for the better- 
ment of mankind. Quiet but ever helpful and 
faithful, his cheerfulness, sincerity, steadiness 
of purpose and perfect integrity commended 
him to all. 

In politics Mr. Osborn was first a Whig, later 
a Republican, and he took part in public mat- 



40 



SOUTHEASTEKN MASSACHUSETTS 



ters as he did in every other line in which liis 
sympathy or interest was aroused. In 1856, 
and again in 1858, he was a member of the 
board of aldermen, and in 1866 and again in 
1871 he served the city as a member of the com- 
mon council. His substantial citizenship and 
high position gave his influence much weight, 
•and as a progressive but conservative worker 
he was considered a valuable public servant. 

In 1859 Mr. Osborn completed the residence 
at No. 540 Cherry street where he made his 
home during the remainder of his life and 
where Mrs. Osborn still resides. He died there 
May 13, 1898, after an illness which lasted 
nearly a year, and was laid to rest in Oak Grove 
cemetery. On Aug. 9, 1847, Mr. Osborn mar- 
ried Mary B. Chace, born June 11, 1826, daugh- 
ter of Nathan and Elizabeth (Buffinton) 
Chace, of Somerset, and three children were 
born to them: Anna Elizabeth, born April 5, 
1850, who died July 1, 1850; Nathan Chace, 
born Aug. 9, 1853, who died Jan. 28, 1855 ; and 
James Edward. 

James Edward Osborn was born in Fall 
River Jan. 24, 1856, and there received his 
education, graduating from the high school in 
1872. He then entered the office of the Mer- 
chants' Manufacturing Company as clerk under 
Treasurer William H. Jennings, remaining 
there two or three years. He next engaged in 
the cotton brokerage business, associated with 
B. F. Randall under the firm name of B. F. 
Randall & Co., and was thus occupied until 
1884, in which year he purchased the interest 
of A. B. Sanford in the firm of Sanford & 
Covel, dealers in hardware and mill supplies, the 
firm becoming Covel & Osborn. Still later it 
was incorporated, under the name of the Cove! 
& Osborn Company, of which Mr. Osborn be- 
came president, a position he has since filled. 
In July, 1896, Mr. Osborn was elected treasurer 
of the American Linen Company, succeeding 
the late Philip D. Borden, and in April, 1898, 
he became treasurer of the Merchants' Manufac- 
turing Company, succeeding Andrew Borden. 
Mr. Osborn maintains many important business 
relations, being a director of the Merchants' 
Manufacturing Company, the American Linen 
Company, the Osborn Mills, the Ancona Com- 
pany and the Parker Mills, all of Fall River ; 
the Corr Manufacturing Company, of East 
Taunton ; the Warren Manufacturing Company, 
of Warren, R. I. ; and the Newmarket Mills, of 
Newmarket, N. H. He is a trustee of the 
Citizens' Savings Bank and of the Home for 
Aged People, both of Fall River. 

In political sentiment Mr. Osborn is a Repub- 
lican, though not an active one, and fraternally 



he is a Mason, belonging to King Philip Lodge, 
A. F. & A. M., Fall River Chapter and Council 
and Godfrey de Bouillon Commandery, K. T. 
He is prominent socially, holding membership 
in a number of such organizations. He attends 
the Central Congregational Church. 

In 1880 Mr. Osborn married Delia S. Carr, 
born Dec. 4, 1856, daughter of William and 
Elizabeth V. (Durfee) Carr, of Fall JRiver, and 
they have liad four children : Marion, born July 

21, 1881, now the wife of Joseph F. Sherer and 
residing in Worcester, Mass. (she has two chil- 
dren, Osborn and Jeanette) ; Helen, born Sept. 

22, 1882, who died Oct. 7, 1882; Elizabeth 
Carr, born Jan. 28, 1889, who married Nov. 8, 
1911, Leeds Burchard, son of the late Dr. 
Thomas Burchard of New York, and thev reside 
in Fall River: and Richard, born July 22, 1891. 

HOWARD. For two hundred and sixty and 
more years the family bearing the name of 
Howard has had a home in the Bridgewaters 
and the region of country thereabout, descend- 
ants in the main of 

(I) John Ha ward, who with his brother 
James came to America from England 
and settled in Duxbury, Mass. James 
went to Bermuda, while John moved to 
the West parish of ancient Bridgewater, and 
became one of the first settlers of the town in 
1651. The settlement in Bridgewater was the 
first interior settlement of the Old Colony, the 
grant of the plantation being made in 1645. 
while tlie actual settlement did not begin until 
1651. The grant was made to Duxbury. 
and the ancient or original town comprised 
what has since become the towTis of Bridge- 
water, East Bridgewater, West Bridgewater 
and Noi'th Bridgewater (the latter now tlie 
city of Brockton), and contained land about 
seven miles square. This tract of land was 
purchased from the Indians by Capt. Miles 
Standish and fifty-three other original pro- 
prietors, among whom was John Haward, for 
the trifling sum of seven coats, nine hatchets, 
eight hoes, twenty knives, four mooseskins and 
ten and a half yards of cotton, the whole not 
exceeding thirty dollars in value. The first 
settlements were made in what is now West 
Bridgewater, the settlers coming largely from 
Duxbury. There were no settlements in the 
North parish until after 1700, its settlers be- 
ing mostly from other sections of the original 
town. 

When a lad it is said that John Haward 
lived in the family of Capt. Miles Standish. 
He became a man of great influence in the 
new plantation, and was one of the first mili- 



SOUTHEASTEKN MASSACHUSETTS 



41 



tary officers of the town; ensign in 1664, and 
lieutenant in 1689 ; licensed to keep an ordi- 
nary or tavern in 1670; chosen selectman 
in 1678; and was deputy to the General Court, 
1678-1683. He died in 1700. His children 
were: John, James, Jonathan, Elizabeth, 
Sarah, Bethiah and Ephraim. Previous to 
1700 the name was commonly written Haward, 
but since that time Howard has been the ac- 
cepted spelling. 

This article is to treat particularly of the 
branch of the family to which belonged the 
late Daniel S. Howard, who was one of Brock- 
ton's foremost citizens and most successful shoe 
manufacturers ; his brother, Gorham B. How- 
ard, now retired, who for a number of years 
was one of that city's successful merchants, en- 
gaged in the dry goods business; and the for- 
mer's sons, Warren A. Howard, now deceased, 
who for years was extensively engaged in the 
manufacture of shoes, and Daniel S. Howard, 
Jr., who is president of the Emerson Shoe 
Company, of Eockland, Massachusetts. 

(II) Ephraim Howard, son of John, mar- 
ried in 1689 Mary Keith, daughter of Eev. 
James Keith, who came from Aberdeen, Scot- 
land, in 1662, at the age of eighteen years, and 
was the first ordained minister in Bridgewater. 
Their children were : Jane, Susanna, Martha, 
Ephraim, Jr., Daniel, David, Silence and Mary. 

(III) Capt. Daniel Howard, son of Eph- 
raim, was born Oct. 3, 1699, and was one of 
the first settlers of the North parish of Bridge- 
water (now Brockton) and a man of great 
respectability in the community. He repre- 
sented tlie town in the General Court for many 
years, liesides filling many public offices of 
trust ; was a justice of the peace : was the first 
captain of a military company of the parish. 
In 1784 he married Damaris Williams, daugh- 
ter of Thomas Williams, of Taunton, Mass. 
His children were : Mary, who married Col. 
Simeon Cary; Barnabas, who married Mehit- 
able Packard ; and Silence, who married Col. 
Josiah Hayden. Capt. Daniel Howard died in 
] 779, aged eighty years. 

(IV) Capt. Barnabas Howard, son of Capt. 
Daniel, was born June 19, 1730. He was cap- 
tain of a military company, justice of the 
peace, and was one of the committee of four 
appointed in 1784 to divide the parish into 
four grammar school districts. He kept a 
tavern at the north end of the town — one of 
the best known public houses there. On July 
2, 1755, he married Mehitable Packard, 
daughter of Seth and Mercy (Bryant) Packard, 
and a descendant of Samuel Packard, who with 
his wife and child came from Windham, Eng- 



land, in the ship "Diligence" of Ipswich, and 
settled at Hingliam, Mass., in 1638, later be- 
coming one of the first settlers of Bridgewater. 
The children born to Capt. Barnabas Howard 
and wife were : Vesta, who married Daniel 
Howard; Damaris, who married Capt. John 
French; Oliver, who married Susanna Reyn- 
olds; Daniel, who married Silence Packard; 
Barnabas, Jr., who died unmarried; Jonas, who 
married Abigail Packard ; Mehitable, who mar- 
ried John Wales; Gideon, who married Molly 
Willis; Lois, who married Nathan Keith; and 
Anna, who died single. Capt. Barnabas How- 
ard died Nov. 8, 1813, in his eighty-fourth 
year, and his wife died Nov. 28, 1813, aged 
eighty years. 

(V) Oliver Howard, son of Capt. Barnabas, 
was born June 19, 1758. He served in the 
Revolutionary war, being a private in Capt. 
Josiah Hayden',s company. Colonel Bailey's 
regiment of minute-men, who marched on the 
Lexington alarm ^pril 19, 1775, from North 
Bridgewater, and was also a member of the 
7th company of militia, 2d Regiment, in the 
county of Plymouth, which was mustered to 
suppress Shays's rebellion, at Taunton, Mass., 
in 1786. Mr. H ward was a farmer, and re- 
sided in the norih end of the town. He was 
a devout Unitarian in religious belief, and was 
known as ''Deacon" Howard because of his so- 
briety and uprightness. In political belief he 
was an enthusiastic Whig, and took an active 
interest in the affairs of the town. On Nov. 2, 
1780, he married Susanna Reynolds, daughter 
of Thomas and Elizabeth (Turner) Reynolds, 
the former of whom, son of Nathaniel Ref- 
olds of Boston, was one of the early settlers of 
the North parish of Bridgewater. Mr. Howard 
died Jan. 29, 1845, aged eighty-six years, and 
his wife Dec. 31, 1817, aged sixty-one years. 
Their children were: Parnel, who married 
James Ford : Oliver, Jr., who married Lucy 
Sturtevant ; Daniel, who married Abigail How- 
ard ; Emily, who married ApoUos Howard : 
Bernice, who married Zophar Field ; Lois, who 
married Samuel Linfield : Otis, who married 
Reuma Southworth : Mehitable. who married 
Charles Copeland ; Betsey, who married Robert 
Packard; and Olive, who died young. 

(VI) Oliver Howard, Jr., son of Oliver, was 
liorn Jan. 27, 1784, in North Bridgewater, and 
lived in the north part of tlic town, known as 
Montello, where he was extensively engaged in 
farming, and in early life carried his produce 
by team to the Boston markets, this at that 
time being the only mode of travel. He served 
in the war of 1812 as a member of Capt. Ne- 
liemiah Lincoln's fompany, which was sta- 



42 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



tioned at Plymouth, Mass., in 1814. He died 
in Montello, Aug. 8, 1838, in the fifty-fifth 
year of liis age. On Dec. 4, 1808, Mr. Howard 
married Lucy Sturtevant, only ciiild of Eph- 
raim and Abigail (Howard) Sturtevant, and 
granddaughter of Silas Sturtevant, who came 
to ISlortli Bridgewater from Plympton, Mass. 
To Oliver and Lucy (Sturtevant) Howard 
were born children as follows: Abigail, born 
Sept. 18, 1809, married Williams Packard; 
Willard, born Aug. 22, 1811, married Harriet 
Hawes; Eufus Emery, born Dec. 26, 1813, mar- 
ried (first) Sarah B. Dunbar and (second) 
Julia Ann Kingman, and he died July 8, 1838; 
Elizabeth, born April 32, 1816, died aged seven 
years; Daniel S., born Oct. 9, 1818, is men- 
tioned below; Lucy married Loring Holbrook, 
and she died in Whitman, Mass.; Elizabeth 
married Solomon C. Wells, and died in Whit- 
man, Mass., June 5, 1910; Gorham Bradford, 
born Jan. 22, 1827, is mentioned below. 

(VII) Danikl S. Howard, son of Oliver 
and Lucy, was born Oct. 9, 1818, in North 
Bridgewater (now Brockton), and after acquir- 
ing his early education in the district schools 
of his native town became employed in one 
of the small shoe shops which were scattered 
about the section previous to the days of fac- 
tory organization and large manufacturing 
businesses. He worked at treeing boots for 
$1.20 per day, and practiced rigid economy, 
saving his first $1,000 on these wages. He 
then associated himself with the late Noah 
Chessman in the manufacture of shoes. The 
combined capital of tiie firm was not large, 
but they were enthusiastic and energetic, and 
the first year made a profit of $400. The next 
year their books showed a profit of $800, but 
several of the firms which had purchased their 
product failed, and their failures more than 
wiped out the entire profits of Howard & 
Chessman, which so discouraged Mr. Chessman 
that he withdrew from the firm, while Mr. 
Howard with renewed vigor continued the 
business alone. The following year he made 
a profit of $3,500, and this was the beginning 
of the fortune which he made and saved. His 
ambition was to become a millionaire, and he 
worked steadily to that end. Associated with 
him first as employees were several of the past 
and present-day shoe manufacturers of the city 
of Brockton, who have also attained wealth 
and prominence in the shoe industry. Mr. 
Howard was at one time associated with his 
son, the present Warren A. Howard, who later 
was an extensive shoe manufacturer on his own 
account. In 1877 he was associated with Fran- 
cis E. White and Isaiah A. Beals, under the firm 



name of Daniel S. Howard & Co. They after- 
ward withdrew from the firm to enter busi- 
ness on their own account. The late George G. 
Snow and the present Daniel W. Field, well 
known and prominent shoe manufacturers, 
and many others, were among his employees, 
all of whom profited by the tuition received at 
his hands. There were also many others among 
his employees who left shoemaking to 
become prominent in other business lines. 
His large factory was located on Mon- 
tello street, and for many years he gave 
employment to many hands, his product 
going to all parts of the country. Mr. 
Howard retired fi-om active business Aug. 11, 
1887, and it is presumed that at that time he 
had attained his ambition to become a mil- 
lionaire. He had invested largely in real es- 
tate and was one of the largest property owners 
in the city, and for a number of years prior to 
his death was the heaviest taxpayer in the 
city. He always aimed at making safe, con- 
servative investments rather than at making 
large profits that would endanger his capital, 
and his money was used in a quiet, careful 
way. Though modest and unassuming Mr. 
Howard was energetic and resourceful. The 
poor, deserving man was never turned away, 
and yet he could say "no" when the case de- 
manded it. He set the highest example of 
right living, and came as near as it is possible 
for mortals in living up to the Golden Eule. 
A long-time friend of Mr. Howard's in speak- 
ing of him after his death said: "Seeing him 
almost daily for fifty years, I never knew Mr. 
Howard to do an ignoble thing, and when 1 
appealed to him for charitable purposes for the 
public, he always said 'If that isn't enough, 
come back again.' Ostentatious, never; and he 
had the affections of his employees more than 
any other man I ever knew." Although he 
was never conspicuous in his benevolences, Mr. 
Howard gave freely to public enterprises, and 
did* a great deal of good with his money in a 
quiet way. Wlien the Brockton Hospital was 
started he gave $500, and also gave an annual 
donation to the hospital during its first five 
years; and in February, 1902, he presented the 
same corporation $10,000 for its endowment 
fund. He drew his check for four figures and 
presented it toward the building of the new 
Young Men's Christian Association building, 
and in many other ways his fortune was used 
to help along causes which had his sympathy. 
He always said he did not care to be known for 
his gifts, his only desire being that the money 
be put to good use. Mr. Howard was a regu- 
lar attendant of the Church of the New Jeru- 




PDBm 




-Vtrr^c 



/^ 



, /^^ cr>'"^^-r5»-''VT7C_y 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



43 



salem, and was liberal in liis donations to same. 
He was a member of no societies, devoting him- 
self wholly to his home and his business. 

Mr. Howard was twice married. On Feb. 
17, 1839, he married (first) Rhoda Gary, born 
Aug. 16, 1821, daughter of Barzilla and Vashti 
(Suell) Gary, and a direct descendant in the 
seventh generation from John Gary, who came 
from Somersetshire, England, and settled in 
Duxbury, Mass., in 1039, later becoming one 
of the tirst settlers and the first town clerk of 
the town of old Bridgewater. Mrs. Howard 
died Dec. 4, 1868. Three children were born 
of this union, namely: Warren Alcott, born 
Dec. 20, 1839, is mentioned below; Frank 
Lucius, born Sept. 20, 1853, died Dec. 1, 1853 ; 
and Lizzie Stone, born Jan. 13, 1855, married 
Henry C. Litchfield, and lives in Newton, 
Mass. On June 10, 1869, Mr. Howard mar- 
ried (second) Mary Allen Cobb, born March 
8, 1842, daughter of the late David and Clar- 
issa (Bussey) Cobb, the former of whom was 
for many years one of the prominent merchants 
of North Bridgewater, his place of business 
having been at the corner of Main and Court 
streets. To this second marriage were born 
two children: (1) Clarissa married Harry L. 
Norton, and they reside in Brookline, Mass. 
They are the parents of one daughter, Elizabeth 
Howard Norton. (2) Daniel S., Jr., born Feb. 
15, 1879, of Brockton, is mentioned below. 

Daniel S. Howard died at Brockton, April 
30, 1904, in the eighty-sixth year of his age, 
and in his death the ancient town of North 
Bridgewater lost one of its pioneer shoe man- 
ufacturers, its first millionaire, and a foremost 
and strictly honorable citizen. The name of 
Howard has been one of long and honorable 
standing, and had a worthy representative in 
the person of the late Daniel S. Howard. 

(VII) GoRHAM Bradford Howard, young- 
est son of Oliver and Lucy (Sturtevant) How- 
ard, was born Jan. 22, 1827, in North Bridge- 
water, now Brockton. His early educational 
training was acquired in the "littk red school 
house" of his neighborhood, and at the private 
school conducted by , Jonathan Cole. Leaving 
school at tJie age of about fifteen years, he be- 
came a clerk  in the general store of the late 
Zenas Franklin i^re^;t, at Duxbury, Mass., 
where he remained for about one and a half 
years. Returning to his native town, he on 
June 2, 1864, became a clerk in the dry goods 
store of the late Henry W. Robinson, in which 
capacity he remained until in 1858, when Mr. 
Howard, Elbridge W. Morse and Baalis San- 
ford, all of whom were employees of the store, 
were admitted into partnership with Mr. Rob- 



inson. This partnership continued until in 
1869, in wliich year Mr. Howard and Mr. 
Morse retired from the firm, and they in com- 
pany with Henry J. White, under the firm 
name of Howard, Morse & White, purchased 
the dry goods business of A. J. Benner. For 
about two years this firm continued in the 
business, Mr. Howard at the end of that period 
purchasing the interests of his partners in the 
establishment, which he conducted alone imtil 
1882, when ill health compelled him to retire 
from active business. 

Public life has never appealed to Mr. How- 
ard, and while he is a stanch supporter of the 
principles of the Republican party, and its pro- 
tective policies, his interest in political affairs 
is simply that of a public-spirited citizen who 
is deeply interested in the growth and devel- 
opment of the country's resources. He attends 
tlie Church of the New Jerusalem, and is lib- 
eral in his views. 

On Oct. 31, 1858, Mr. Howard married El- 
len E. Mann, who was born in Boston, daugh- 
ter of Jonathan and Miza (Sears) Mann, of 
Pembroke, Mass., Mrs. Howard passing away 
in the latter town June 25, 1889, without issue. 
Mr. Howard is an affable, courteous gentleman, 
enjoying the respect and esteem of the com- 
munity in which he was horn and in which 
his long life has been spent. 

(VIII) Warren Alcott Howard, son of 
the late Daniel S. and Rhoda (Gary) Howard, 
wae born Dec. 20, 1839, in North Bridgewater 
(now Brockton). His schooling was acquired 
in the common schools and the Adelphian 
Academy, conducted by Loomis Brothers, • in 
his native town, after whicli for two years he 
was a student at the Hathaway Academy, Med- 
ford, Mass. Leaving school at the age of about 
nineteen years, he entered his father's shoe 
factory, where he was employed about two 
years, during which time he acquired a prac- 
tical knowledge of shoemaking, and in 1861 
he established himself in the manufacturing 
of shoes in that part of town known as Gen- 
treville, occupying the same factory in which 
liis father had first started in business. Here 
he continued about two years, when he became 
a partner of his father under the firm name 
of D. S. & W. A. Howard, their plant being 
then located on Montello street. During this 
partnership, in July, 1866, steam- power was 
installed, supplanting a hot-air engine, this 
being the first introduction of a steam power 
engine in a shoe factory in the town. Mr. 
Howard remained in company with his father 
until 1870, in which year he again established 
himself in the business on Crescent street, 



44 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



where he erected a large four-story factory 
building, which was the town's first modern 
shoe manufacturing plant, and in which the 
first machine-sewed slioes were made in tlie 
town. Mr. Howard met with deserving success 
in his new venture, and continued successfully 
engaged in the business until 1889, m wMcn 
year he discoutinvied active business life, and 
disposed of his plant and its equipment. He 
was engaged in the manufacture of what is 
known as the medium-grade shoe, giving em- 
ployment to about 25U hands, and producing 
about 1,500 pairs of shoes per day. 
. Upon retiring from the shoe manufacturing 
business, Mr. Howard took up his residence on 
a tract of land containing about fifty acres 
located on Belmont street, about a mile and a 
half from the center of the city, which he had 
purchased and upon which he erected a pleas- 
ant and modern home. Here he afterward re- 
sided with his family. His land was kept in a 
good state of cultivation, and he owned a herd 
of about twenty-five head of registered Hol- 
stein cattle, the care and oversight of wliich 
had been his pastime. Mr. Howard passed 
away Aug. 16, lUll, at his home. Fraternally 
Mr. Howard was a Mason, holding member- 
ship in Paul Revere Lodge, A. F. & A. M., 
which he joined in 1860; Satucket Chapter, 
R. A. M. ; Brockton Council, R. & S. M.; and 
Bay State Conimandery, K. T. He was a char- 
ter member of the Brockton Agricultural So- 
ciety, incorporated in 1874, which society holds 
annually the renowned Brockton Fair, in the 
affairs of which organization he took an active 
interest. In political faith Mr. Howard was a 
Republican, but he never cared for public office, 
although he took an interest in the welfare of 
his city. He afifiliated with the Church of the 
New Jerusalem, and his wife attends the 
Unity Church of Brockton. 

On Dec. 25, 1861, Mr. Howard married 
Mary Agnes Stetson, daughter of Capt. Lor- 
enzo Seabury and Lucia A. (Whitten) Stetson, 
of Kingston, Mass., and a descendant of his- 
toric New England ancestry, numbering among 
her forbears Cornet Robert Stetson, Elder Wil- 
liam Brewster and John Aldeii and Priscilla 
Mullins, of the "Mayflower," 1620. Mrs. How- 
ard's father, Capt. Lorenzo Seabury Stetson, 
was master of a vessel which plied between New 
York and South American ports, and during 
a voyage the vessel with all its crew was lost, 
the vessel never even being heard from. This 
occurred when Mrs. Howard was a mere child. 
Mr. and Mrs. Howard had children as follows : 
Mary Stetson, who is the wife of Frederick J. 
Ripley, M. D., one of the leading physicians of 



Brockton; Eugene Warren, born in October, 
1864, who died in September, 1884; Agnes Al- 
cott, who married Edward T. Rock, of Brock- 
ton, and died in May, 1905, leaving four chil- 
dren. Katharine Howard, Edward Howard, 
Warren Stetson and Richard Bradley; Annie 
Cary, who died in 1872, aged two years; and 
Frank Allen, a graduate of the Boston School 
of Teclmology, and now a civil engineer in 
charge of the bridges, stations, etc., of the Erie 
railroad (he married Faith Rider, of Ridge- 
wood, N. J., and has three children, Allen 
Rider, Warren Alcott 2d and Lucius Alex- 
ander). 

(VIII) Daniel S. Ho\v.u;u, Jk., only son 
of the late Daniel S. Howard and his wife 
Mary Allen Cobb, was born Feb. 15, 1879, in 
Brockton, Mass. He received his early educa- 
tion in the public schools of Ids native city, 
graduating from the Brockton high school in 
1 898. This training was supplemented by one 
as a student at Bro\vn University, after which 
lie entered the University of Pennsylvania, 
graduating from the latter in 1902. Mr. How- 
ard then became associated with R. B. Grover 
& ('o., of Brockton, manufacturers of the Emer- 
son siioe, and upon the incorporation of the 
coiiipany as the Emerson Shoe Company, in 
June, 1905, he became secretary of the same, 
continuing in that capacity until in November, 
1910, when he was elected president of the 
company to succeed the late R. B. Grover. The 
I.inerson Shoe Company, which since its in- 
corporation has been located at Rockland, 
Mass., is one of the best known shoe manufac- 
turing concerns in this country, the product 
having an enviable reputation for quality, stylo 
and workmanship. Mr. Howard is also presi- 
dent of the Emerson Fabric Company, of Rock- 
land, which was incorporated in September, 
1910; president of the Lenox Motor Car Com- 
pany, of Boston, makers of the Lenox car ; and 
treasurer of the Arthur L. Evans Company, of 
Boston, publishers of "The Shoeman." 

Mr. Howard was one of the original incor- 
porators of the Rockland Trust Company, of 
Rockland, Mass., of which he is a member of 
the board of directors and a member of the 
executive committee. 

Althougli of a quiet and retiring nature, Mr. 
Howard is an energetic and progressive busi- 
ness man, and takes an active interest in the 
welfare of his native city. He is a member of 
the Commercial Club and of the Young Men's 
Christian Association and is a trustee of the 
Brockton hospital. Fraternally he is a Mason, 
holding membership in Paul Revere Lodge, 
A. F. & A. M., of Brockton. 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



45 



On Jan. 6, 1906, Mr. Howard was united in 
marriage with Helen Stevenson Masters, of 
Brockton, daughter of the late Harry Budd 
Masters and his wife, Lida (Durland) Mas- 
ters. Mr. and Mrs. Howard have twin sons, 
Daniel S., Jr., and Durland Masters, born Oct. 
22, 1911. 

ANTHONY. This name has been a con- 
spicuous and prominent one in the New Eng- 
land States for the last two and a half centu- 
ries. Many members of the family have held 
prominent positions in the business, social and 
political circles of their various communities. 
The first known of the family was one William 
Anthony, who was born in 1495, in Cologne, 
Germany. He had three sons, the youngest, 
Francis, being goldsmith and jeweler to Queen 
Elizabeth of England, and several of his de- 
scendants became noted physicians of Europe. 
The first of the name to come to America was 
(I) John Anthony (or Antonie, as he wrote 
it), who was born in 1607. He became the 
founder of the name in New England, coming 
to America in the barque "Hercules," John 
Kiddey, master, April 16, 1634. He had, says 
Savage, previously re.?ided in the beautiful vil- 
lage of Hampstead, near London. He mar- 
ried Susanna Potter. The first mention we 
find of John Anthony is in the Colonial records 
of Ehode Island, July 14, 1640, when he was 
admitted a freeman of Portsmouth, R. I., and 
soon after chosen corporal in a military com- 
.pany. On Sept. 14, 1644, his land was as- 
signed to him at a place called "Wading 
River." On May 25, 1655, he was chosen by 
the General Court one of the two persons au- 
thorized by law to keep houses of entertain- 
ment in Portsmouth, and was also deputy and 
commissioner. He died July 28, 1675, aged 
sixty-eight years, and left five children : John, 
Joseph, Abraham, Susannah and Elizabeth. 

(II) Abraham Anthony, son of John, mar- 
ried Dec. 26, 1671, Alice Wodell, born Feb. 10, 
1650, daughter of William and .Mary Wodell, 
and they were residents of Portsmouth, R. I., 
where he was made a freeman in 1672. He 
was deputy from 1703 to 1711, and was speaker 
of the House of Deputies in 1709 and 1710. He 
died Oct. 10, 1727, and his widow passed away 
in 1734. Their children were: John; Susan- 
na; Mary; William; Susanna (2); Abraham: 
Thomas ; Alice : James ; Almy ; Isaac : and 
Jacob. 

(III) William Anthony, son of Abraham 
and Alice (Wodell) Anthony, born Oct. 31, 
1675, married March 16, 1694, Mary Cogeshall, 
daughter of John, the first president of the 



Colony of Rhode Island. They had fourteen 
children: William (who died in infancy), 
Abraham, Elizabeth, Mary, John (who died in 
infancy), Alice, Anne, Jolin (2), Amey, Wil- 
liam (2), James, Job (born April 10, 1714), 
Benjamin, Daniel, all born between the years 
1695 and 1720. 

(IV) Benjamin Anthony, son of William 
and Mary (Cogeshall) Anthony, born June 
10, 1716, died Jan. 8, 1800. He married 
Martha Luther of Swanzey and settled there 
upon a farm in that part of the town now 
called Somerset, and died there. Martha 
Luther was born Nov. 28, 1721, and died Nov. 
7, 1796. She was a direct descendant of Mar- 
tin Luther. Their children were : Abner, 
born Dec. 11, 1739, died Oct. 16, 1823 ; Peleg, 
born Aug. 30, 1741, died Nov. 4, 1820 ; Rufus, 
born Aug. 3, 1743, died Nov. 4, 1820; Reuben, 
born Nov. 3, 1745, died May 13, 1748; Heze- 
kiah, born April 21, 1747, died in September, 
1781; James, born May 22, 1749, died March 
4, 1799; Benjamin, born June 24, 1751, died 
Aug. 29. 1827; Luther, born Sept. 11, 1753, 
died Sept. 24, 1771; Caleb, born Oct. 4, 1756, 
died in 1830; Nathan, born July 21, 1758, 
died young; David was born Aug. 3, 1760. 

(V) David Anthony, son of Benjamin and 
Martha (Luther) Anthony, born Aug. 3, 1760, 
married Submit Wheeler, and died Jan. 20, 
1842. Their children were : Elizabeth, born 
Nov. 20, 1779, died Dec. 29, 1818; Nathan, 
born Aug. 27, 1781, married Sarah Anthony, 
and died Sept. 1, 1817; Jeremiah, born Dec. 

25, 1783, died March 11, 1865; David, bom 
Jan. 9, 1786, died July 6, 1867; Hezekiah, 
born April 3, 1788, died Jan. 29, 1883; Elisha, 
born Aug. 5, 1790, died June 2, 1842; Keziah, 
born July 29, 1792, died Oct. 24, 1880; Sub- 
mit, born Dec. 17. 1794, died June 18, 1821 ; 
Benjamin, born Oct. 23, 1797, died June 21, 
1806; Mary B., born Nov. 1, 1803, died Aug 

26, 1863 : and Elizabeth. 

(VI) Nathan Anthony, son of David and 
Submit (Wheeler) Anthony, born Aug. 27, 
1781, married Sarah Anthony, daughter of 
John, Jr. She was born May 3, 1784, and died 
May 14, 1830. Their children were: Lydia, 
born June 3, 1804, died Dec. 29, 1823; Ann, 
born April 13, 1806, died Sept. 13. 1822 ; Ed- 
mund, born Aug. 2, 1808, died Jan. 24. 1876; 
Charles, born Nov. 16, 1810, died Aug. 23, 
1861; Sarah, born April 10, 1814, died Oct. 
23, 1814; Mary B. was born Nov. 10, 1815. 

(VII) Edmund Anthony, son of Nathan 
and Sarah (Anthony) Anthony, was born Aug. 
2, 1808, at Somerset, Mass. His educational 
opportunities were limited. He entered a 



46 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



printing ofBce in Taunton when but sixteen 
years of age. Being ambitious to progress he 
took advantage of all opportunities to broaden 
his mind and improve his education, and so far 
succeeded that he soon became proprietor of 
the Bristol Counly Democrat, thus early tak- 
ing an advanced position in his well-chosen life 
work. In 1843 he founded and made success- 
ful the Taunton Daily Gazette. Later he went 
to New Bedford, bought out a job printing 
office and started as his new enterprise the daily 
and weekly called, respectively. The Evening 
Standard and The Republican Standard. His 
papers were soon noted for the progressive 
character and fearless editorials on political 
topics, and he not only made a position for 
his paper, but soon it took an advanced posi- 
tion in its territory. 

Originally a Democrat, Mr. Anthony was 
one of the earliest of the Free- Soil advocates 
and became prominent among the organizers 
and leaders of the Eepublican party, giving it 
substantial assistance by his outspoken edito- 
rials. 

In company with his son-in-law, Benjamin 
Weaver, in January, 1864, he founded the 
Springfield (Mass.) Union, but sold that biisi- 
ness a few years later after firmly establishing 
it. Mr. Anthony held many offices of trust 
and responsibility. He was town clerk in 
Taunton ten years, town treasurer six years, 
and later on for some time county treasurer. 
During the war period he was United States 
deputy collector of internal revenue, also a 
member of the common council during 1856 
to 1857 and 1859 to 1860, and a special jus- 
tice of the police court for about twelve years, 
resigning in 1870, having been appointed post- 
master by General Grant, an office he was hold- 
ing at the time of his death in 1876. He was 
a stanch Methodist. He was a rare man of the 
pure New England type. 

Mr. Anthony was married three times, (first) 
April 21, 1827, to Ruth Adaline Soper 
(daughter of Oliver Soper, of Taunton), who 
died Sept. 27, 1837. She was a descendant of 
Capt. Miles Standish and John Alden and 
Priscilla Mullens, all of the "Mayflower," 1620. 
On July 4, 1838, Mr. Anthony married (sec- 
ond) Nancy Jane Hodges, of Norton, Mass., 
who died Aug. 8, 1870; and (third) Mrs. Re- 
becca Helen Woodward. The children by the 
first marriage were: Nathan Anthony, born 
Feb. 11, 1832, married Clara Reed (he was a 
member of the firm of Bradford & Anthony, 
Boston) ; Edmund, born Oct. 19, 1833, "is 
mentioned below ; Oliver, born Aug. 15, 1835, 
died April 26, 1844; Benjamin, born Oct. 10, 



1836, is mentioned below. To the second mar- 
riage were born six children, namely: Marcus 
Morton; Adaline, who married Benjamin Wea- 
ver; Sarah, who married Charles S. Kelley; 
EUzabeth, deceased; William, who married Ru- 
hamah Hinkley, of New Bedford; and Arthur 
C, who married Mary Ella Loren Ellis. 

(VIII) Edmund Anthony, Jk., second son 
of Edmund Anthony, founder of the Standard, 
was born in Taunton Oct. 19, 1833, and at- 
tended the Old Bristol Academy. He spent 
his leisure in the printing office of his father, 
who was publishing the Bristol County Demo- 
crat at that time, so he graduated as a printer 
at the same time he completed his school days. 
When his father commenced the publication of 
the Standard Edmund Anthony, Jr., was sev- 
enteen years old, and he was a valuable assist- 
ant in all the departments. He appreciated 
the peculiar value of shipping news, a feature 
wliich he developed and which helped the paper 
to early success. When the elder Mr. Anthosy 
established the Springfield Union in 1865 the 
management of the Standard devolved upon 
the sons Edmund and Benjamin Anthony. Ed- 
mund Anthony, Jr., was the managing editor 
of the Standard for many years and his de- 
voted interest contributed largely to the news- 
paper's success. Mr. Anthony was prominent 
in public affairs and political honors were con- • 
ferred upon him in the presidential elections 
of 1896 and 1900, when he was the choice of 
the district for presidential elector. He was 
at one time president of the Fairhaven Im- ' 
provement Association, a member and chair- 
man of the Fairhaven school committee and a 
trustee of the Mi! li cent Library. Socially he at 
one time belonged to the Middlesex Club, of 
Boston. 

Mr. Anthony was twice married. His first 
wife was Frances Willard, of Taunton, Mass. 
In 1880 he married (second) Sarah Cox, 
daughter of Capt. Arthur and Julia M. 
(Pierce) Cox, of Fairhaven, and soon after he 
removed to that place, where he made his 
home. 

Although Mr. Anthony was always an active 
business man he was not indifferent to life's 
fair and pleasant things. He was neither a stoic 
nor an ascetic, being persuaded, as some one 
has said, that if God made us he meant us to 
enjoy the excellence and glory of present life 
with constant good cheer, a cheerfulness which 
shone like sunlight and did not desert him in 
the most trying hours. He believed that humor 
is as helpful a constituent of life as gloom, and 
his strong social sentiment and amiable views 
of human life made him many friends who 




-S'v ''iy-i-LPhiUips.M 



C/^ (^^■^■^'^'■'C'^-'t.'t-^i^ 




SOUTHEASTEEN MASSACHUSETTS 



47 



were brightened by his constitutional gaiety 
of heart. The excellence of his heart inspired 
"that touch of charity" which Christians praise 
so much and often know so little, a benevolence 
which was more active than sentimental, lie 
made those who knew him happier, which is. 
perhaps, the best wliich can be said of any man. 

(VIII) Benjamin Anthony, son of Ed- 
mund and Euth A. (Soper) Anthony, was born 
Oct. 10, 1836, in Taunton, Mass. His father 
came to New Bedford in 1850 and commenced 
the publication of The Standard. Benjamin 
Anthony entered the office in youth, immedi- 
ately after leaving the high school taking his 
place in the business department, where he re- 
mained up to the time of his death. As a clerk 
in the oiBce he soon became the guiding hand 
in the financial management, and, by the force 
of his ability for the work, speedily its head. 
Of painstaking, methodical, diligent disposi- 
tion, he was peculiarly adapted for the difficult 
duties that were imposed upon him, and it was 
largely due to his carefulness and foresight 
that the business was placed in the sound finan- 
cial position which it soon came to occupy and 
which it has always maintained. When the 
firm was reorganized and made a corporation, 
Mr. Anthony was elected its treasurer, and 
held that office until the death of his brother, 
Edmund Anthony, Jr., some five years previous 
to his own death, when he was chosen president. 
With his increasing years and the increasing 
business of the establishment, he had gradually 
given up much of the detail of the work to 
which he had formerly devoted himself, but 
there was no part of the business to which he 
did not pay close attention. He had a minute 
knowledge of affairs in every department, and 
his advice and assistance were always invaluable. 

While The Standard was established before 
the Eepublican party came into being, it was 
in the very beginning an advocate of the ideas 
which the Eepublican party was formed to 
champion, and was one of the first of the news- 
papers in the country to give adhesion and sup- 
port to that party, and it became one of the 
strongest Eepublican journals in the State. 
Mr. Anthony himself ardently espoused the 
party ideas, and never failed in his loyalty to 
them. But his tastes and desires all led him 
away from active participation in political 
work, and he steadfastly resisted all tempta- 
tions to become a candidate for office, except 
in one instance, when, in 1904, he was chosen 
a Eepublican presidential elector, an honor to 
which his faithfulness to the party and his zeal 
in its behalf had richly entitled him. He would 
have made a model public servant; but he 



served liis fellows perhaps better by his dili- 
gence in the work of his everyday life. Some- 
thing of the characteristics of Mr. Anthony 
may be surmised by the record of the fact 
that for twenty-tive years he acted as the libra- 
rian of the Sunday school connected with the 
County Street Methodist Church, and for tliir- 
ty years was a member of its board of trustees 
and treasurer of the board. No man ever gives 
so many years of work such as was involved in 
these places who does not combine faitlifulness 
and perseverance in a high degree. The same 
qualities were observable in his service from 
their organization as director of the New Bed- 
ford Cooperative Bank and the Acushnet Co- 
operative Bank, he giving patient and intelli- 
gent attention to the affairs of those institu- 
tions. He was also a director of the New Bed- 
ford Port Society for a long period. 

In 1896 Mr. Anthony was chosen president 
of the Massachusetts Press Association and 
served in that capacity two years. He had been 
a delegate of the association to the national 
convention in California, and at Buffalo and 
St. Louis. 

Mr. Anthony died on the morning of Nov. 
6, 1906, at his home on Madison street, aged 
seventy years. The Evening Standard of the 
day following said of him editorially over the 
initials W. L. S. (William L. Sayer, editor of 
the Evening Standard) : 

"With the death of Benjamin Anthony, there 
departs from this world the last of the three 
men — father and sons — whose foresight, whose 
energy, and whose patient industry transformed 
this newspaper from the creature of a strug- 
gling and uncertain enterprise into a well- 
rounded and strongly established success. The 
process was slow, sometimes painful and dis- 
couraging, but through it all these three de- 
termined men did not waver, and it is pleasant 
to-day to be able to record that each one lived 
to see how richly the labor and thought and 
self-sacrifice they had expended were rewarded 
• in the assured position which the Standard had 
secured at home and in the honor and respect 
which were accorded to it abroad. Men who 
work diligently do not always have the oppor- 
tunity of seeing while they live that they have 
succeeded well ; these men were fortunate to 
have had that experience — and they were no 
less worthy than they were fortunate. 

"Benjamin Anthony was of a type different 
in many respects from that of his father and 
his brother, but he most admirably supple- 
mented them in his conduct of a department 
in which his individual characteristics were 
important to the degree of being essential. He 



48 



SOUTHEASTEEN MASSACHUSETTS 



was highly methodical, painstaking, persever- 
ing, and industrious. The prosy details of the 
counting room may have sometimes become 
drudgery to his soul; but, if that was ever the 
case, his conscientiousness in seeing that they 
were all mastered to the minutest point never 
failed him. It was not so inspiriting, perhaps, 
to add up long columns in the ledger or to 
make out all the bills for subscriptions or ad- 
vertising or printing, as it was to score beats 
on rival newspapers, or to direct the policy to 
be observed toward a candidate or a political 
issue; but the newspapers could not have lived 
if somebody had not done that work. It was 
his work and that was enough for him. Long 
hours, and wearisomeness of body and mind, 
and the hateful monotony of it all, never 
caused him to abate a jot of his faithfulness. 
Many of the tilings which he did over and over, 
year after year, were in themselves small, and 
such as men of other natures would liave 
slurred as being of trivial importance. That 
was not his way. If the thing was worth doing 
at all, it was worth doing well ; and so by his 
faithfulness in doing the little things well, he 
did the large things well also, and thus es- 
tablished a standard of e.xcellence in his depart- 
ment which has never been lost sight of, and 
that will remain for years to come the monu- 
ment of his patient devotion and his spirit of 
loyalty to his duty. He saw the business de- 
partment of this newspaper grow to a degree 
where the work of a day often exceeded the 
work of a month in those early years; and, if 
he had not been the most modest of men, he 
would have said that were it not for liis laying 
so solid a foundation in the day of small and 
obscure things, then many busy workers of 
this hour would have had harder tasks. He 
did not say that •. those who remain are glad 
to say it for him. 

"And this spirit of loyalty to his duty wliich 
never became with liim the burden of a slave, 
was manifested everywhere. We know of no 
more striking manifestation of that quality 
than his service of twenty-five years as a Sun- 
day school librarian — a position in which there 
is little glory or satisfaction or reward except 
such as may come from the individual's own 
knowledge that he has tried to do his work 
well. That Mr. Anthony, with his busy and 
taxing life of every day, should have carried 
on this work in addition for a quarter of a cen- 
tury, is a most remarkable fact, and is a com- 
plete demonstration of his persevering con- 
stancy. This is only an illustration. This char- 
acteristic was as conspicuous in all other things 
which he undertook. For those of us in the 



service of this newspaper who were accustomed 
each morning to receive his quiet greeting and 
his word of interested inquiry if all were well, 
and who had learned to respect this associate 
and friend of ours for his -sterling manliness, 
and to love him for his kindly good will, a 
word of parting personal tribute may be per- 
mitted in this place. We had in him the ex- 
ample of an always living honor and integrity; 
of a temper which was equable and serene; of 
a nature which was benign, and a sympathy in 
which deeds spoke far louder than words; of a 
wise and thoughtful counselor; and of a never 
failing friend. He did not court notice; he 
rather shunned it. He would not put himself 
orward; sometimes he seemed reserved and 
afar off. But under that sedate and controlled 

terior beat a warm and true heart which 
was loyal to its highest promptings. In an 
hour like this, when brain and pen refuse to 
say in adequate phrase all that the emotion 
prompts, the words of the ancient Hebrew poet 
come to voice in a simple sentence that 
which we would write but cannot: 'The mem- 
ory of the just is blessed.' This is the solace 
and the inspiration of us who remain to con- 
tinue the work he began so well." 

Benjamin Anthony w^as twice married, first 
to Eliza Le Dieu C'oggeshall, born Oct. 23, 
1839, daughter of Henry W. and Emma 
(Brown) Coggeshall, he a direct descendant of 
John Coggeshall, a silk merchant who came 
from the County of Essex, England, to Boston, 
going thence to Newport, E. I., arriving at the 
former place in the sliip "Lion," in Septem- 
ber, 1633 ; became president of the Ehode Isl- 
and Colony, 1647. 

After the death of Mrs. .\nthony, which oc- 
curred April 9, 1881, Mr. Anthony married 
(second) Celia L. Chase, who survives him. 
Two children were born to the first marriage, 
namely : Benjamin Harris, born Aug. 1, 1863, 
of whom more below ; and Euth Emma, born 
April 19, 1869, who married Abiel P. E. Gil- 
.more. She died April 17, 1910, at Long Plain, 
in the town of Acushnet, Massachusetts. 

,(IX) Benjamin Hareis Anthony, son of 
Benjamin and Eliza Le Dieu (Coggeshall) An- 
thony, was born in New Bedford and attended 
the Friends' Academy in his native city, after- 
ward entering Yale, from which institution he 
was graduated A. B. with the class of 1886; in 
college he was a Creek letter man, a member of 
the Delta Kappa Epsilon fraternity, and of the 
Skull and Bones Society. Thus thoroughly 
equipped young Anthony in September follow- 
ing his graduation entered the oflBce of the 
Standard in his native city, in the conduct of 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



49 



which had wrought so well his grandfather in 
establishing the paper and building it up and 
where later likewise were brought to the busi- 
ness the younger blood and enthusiasm of his 
sons, Edmund and Benjamin, who at the period 
of Benjamin Jr.'s initiation into the es- 
tablislmient were figuring so conspicuously 
in bringing affairs to the most modern 
state, and to the then young clerk's 
credit be it said that aside from the 
natural inheritance of the forceful traits of 
character which had, as the years had come 
and gone, not only established a great news- 
paper and business, but made their influence 
felt in society, in the church and in the public 
affairs of the community, he brought to the en- 
terprise the prestige of distinguished ancestry 
and a liberal education that foreshadowed the 
able, wise and judicious conduct of affairs that 
his accession to the establishment brought to 
it when fell upon his shoulders the mantle of 
uncle and father. On the death of Edmund 
Anthony, Jr., in 1902, Benjamin Anthony be- 
came president, and Benjamin Anthony, Jr. 
succeeded the latter as treasurer and business 
manager, when became manifested his enter- 
prise and public spirit in keeping abreast of 
the times in installing new machinery and 
equipment. On the death of his father, in the 
year 1906, he succeeded him as president of 
the corporation, and continued in the treas- 
urership, both of which offices he has since con- 
tinued to most admirably fill. A man of fine 
executive ability and of that type of forceful, 
progressive business man that is so often seen 
in these twentieth century days, Mr. Anthony 
is keeping pace in the conduct of the Standard 
with the best journalism of the day, and in 
the most rapidly growing city in New England. 

In the year 1894 Mr. Anthony purchased an 
interest in the New Bedford Morning Mer- 
cury, and in January, 1903, he was instrumen- 
tal in having the business of the concern in- 
corporated. On the death, in 1906, of Mr. 
George S. Fox, the then treasurer of the Mer- 
cury Publishing Corporation, Mr. Anthony be- 
came his successor. 

Mr. Anthony is a member of the American 
Newspaper Publishing Association, and for a 
number of years served on important commit- 
tees of the association. He is a member of nu- 
merous clubs in New Bedford and Boston, 
among them the Wamsutta and Dartmouth of 
the former city. While at Yale be was com- 
modore of the Yale Yacht Club in his junior 
year, and business manager of the "Yale Rec- 
ord" in his senior year. He spent some seven 
months abroad in travel in Europe in the year 



1900, mainly in a business venture. 

In his political affiliations Mr. Anthony is a 
Republican. In 1908 he was honored by his 
party, being chosen to serve as presidential 
elector — the tliird successive member of the 
family to receive such honor, uncle, father and 
son, the first named serving two terms and 
the others one term each, making four consecu- 
tive terms for the family. 

On Sept. 25, 1888, Mr. Anthony married, at 
New Bedford, Mass., Harriet D., born March 
17, 1866, daughter of Charles H. Peirce and 
Charlotte Hinckley (Smith) Peirce, of New 
Bedford, and to them have come children: (1) 
Edmund was educated in the Friends' Acad- 
emy, New Bedford, Hotchkiss School for Boys 
at Lakeville, Conn., Sanford School, Redding 
Ridge, Conn., and St. Paul's Cathedral School, 
at Qarden City, Long Island. He is now a 
clerk in the office of the Standard, at New Bed- 
ford. (2) Margaret. (3) Catharine Chandler. 

Mrs. Anthony is a direct descendant of 
Michael Peirce, who came from England not 
far from 1645 and located in the following year 
in Hingham, thence going to Scituate, from 
whom her line is through Ephraim, Ephraim 
(2), David, Jonathan, John, Asa and Charles 
H. Peirce. 

HON. WARREN A. REED. The Reed family 
of Brockton, Mass., a leading member of which 
is Judge Warren A. Reed, lawyer and jurist, 
who for over a third of a century has been one 
of the foremost citizens of that community, 
and during the greater part of that long period 
connected with the judicial, civic and financial 
interests of the city, district and State, is one 
of long and honorable standing in this Com- 
monwealth, and one the forerunner of which 
came to these shores over two hundred and fifty 
years ago. Many members of this historic fam- 
ily have given good account of themselves, and 
many are there who have been prominent in 
the history of this country. An account of the 
branch of the family to which Judge Reed be- 
longs is here given in chronological order, be- 
ginning with the earliest American ancestor. 

(I) William Reade, born in 1605, sailed from 
Gravesend, in the County of Kent, England, in 
the "Assurance de Lo," in 1635, for America. 
He settled in Weymouth, Mass., and was made 
a freeman Sept. 2, 1635. He bought o house 
and land in 1636. Mr. Reade was among the 
early settlers of Weymouth, it having been made 
a plantation May 8, 1635; and Rev. Mr. Hall 
and twenty-one families settled there. Mr. 
Reade was a representative from Weymouth in 
1636 and 1638. The Christian name of his 



50 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



wife, it is supposed, was Ivis. Their children 
were: William, born Oct. 16, 1639; Esther, 
born May 8, 1641; Thomas (died Nov. 14, 
1719) ; John, born in 1649; Mary, who married 
Thomas Dyer; and Margaret, who married 
John Vining. 

(II) William Read (Reed) (2), son of Wil- 
liam and Ivis, born Oct. 16, 1639, in Weymouth, 
Mass., married in 1675 Esther Thomson, of 
Middleboro, Mass., daughter of John Thomson 
and his wife Mary (Cooke), the latter the 
daughter of Francis Cooke, of the "Mayflower" 
company. In 1675 William Reed was constable 
in Weymouth, in those times the chief ofiBcer 
of the town. In 1680 he was selectman, and a 
representative to the General Court. He dealt 
extensively in land. His will was proved Sept. 
13, 1706. To him and his wife Esther were 
born: William; John, born July 10, 1687; 
Jacob, born Nov. 6, 1691; Bushnor; Porter; 
Mercy; Mary; Hester; and Sarah, born March 
21, 1694. 

John Thomson, father of Esther, landed in 
this country at Plymouth in one of the early 
embarkations. He finally settled and built a 
log house thirteen miles west of Plymouth, on 
the confines of what was then called Plymouth, 
now Halifax and Middleboro. He lived there 
until his house was burned by the Indians in 
1675, when he and the other families fled to 
Plymouth. At the close of the war in 1677 
they all returned and took possession of their 
estates, and rebuilt their houses. While living 
there, either he or his wife would walk to meet- 
ing every Sunday. The only place where they 
had an elder to speak to them was Plymouth — 
a distance of more than thirteen miles. It is 
said that during one year of his residence there 
his wife, on two of the Sabbaths in June, after 
breakfast, took a child six months old in her 
arms, walked to Plymouth, attended meeting, 
and returned home the same day. 

Francis Cooke, grandfather of Esther (Thom- 
son) Reed, was an Englishman. He was with 
the Pilgrims at Leyden, and married in Hol- 
land. He and his son John embarked on the 
"Speedwell," at Delftshaven, in July, 1620, 
leaving behind his wife Hester and the other 
children, at Southampton, or Plymouth, Eng- 
land. They were transferred to the "May- 
flower" and in her set sail from the latter place 
on Wednesday, "6/16" September, 1620. He 
signed the compact in the cabin of the "May- 
flower" on Saturday, "11/21"— November, 
1620, the ship finally landing at Plymouth, 
Mass., Dec. 25, 1620." Up to 1645 there was 
hardly a year in which he did not serve the 
public in some capacity. His frequent service 



on the grand inquest and trial juries, and as a 
surveyor of highways, makes it clear that he 
was a man of sound judgment and had the re- 
spect and confidence of the community. 

(III) John Reed, son of William and Esther, 
born July 10, 1687, married (first) Sarah, and 
after her death (second) Mary. His children, 
all but the first born of the second marriage, 
were: John, born Aug. 10, 1713; James, born 
Oct. 12, 1716; Mary, born Dec. 21, 1719; 
Ezekiel, born Nov. 14, 1721 ; Peter, born March 
29, 1723; Squire, born May 25, 1725; Silence, 

•born Aug. 10, 1728; Betty, born April 8, 1730, 
and Samuel, born July 13, 1732, the latter two 
dying young. 

(IV) Ezekiel Reed, son of John and Mary, 
born Nov. 14, 1721, married in 1742 Hannah 
Beal, a direct descendant of John Beal, who 
came from the County of Norfolk, England, in 
1635, and settled in Hingham, Mass., which 
town he represented in the General Court of the 
Colony in 1649. The children born to Ezekiel 
and Hannah were: Ezekiel, born March 3, 1744; 
Hannah, Nov. 1, 1746; Squire, Nov. 1, 1748; 
Mary, Jan. 1, 1751; Zebulon, March 31, 1752; 
Mary (2), Nov. 20, 1754 (married in 1775 
Simeon Gannet) ; Samuel, Dec. 25, 1756; 
Issachar, Aug. 9, 1759; Deborah, Dec. 6, 1762 
(married Dec. 18, 1783, J. Gurney). 

(V) Ezekiel Reed (3), son of Ezekiel and 
Hannah, born March 3, 1744, in Abington, mar- 
ried April 2, 1768, Mary Rogers, of Marshfield, 
born Feb. 26, 1748-49, in that town, a direct 
descendant of John Rogers, of Scituate and 
Marshfield, of the former place as early as 
1643-44, and removing to Marshfield about 
1647, from whom her descent is through Tim- 
othy, Timothy (2), and Samuel Rogers and his 
wife, Experience (Thomas). "The making of 
tacks by hand," says Hayward's Gazetteer of 
Massachusetts, "commenced very early in 
Abington. The first attempt was to cut up old 
iron hoops into points by a very imperfect kind 
of shears, and take them up one by one and 
place them in a common vise, and screw up and 
unscrew for the purpose of heading each tack 
with a hammer. From this process they were 
called cut taeks; but the mode of making by 
hand was much improved by movable dies 
placed in an iron frame, in the shape of an ox- 
bow; the two ends, in which were placed the 
dies, being brought together by a lever pressed 
by the boot. In the first process, a man might 
make one thousand tacks per day; in the latter 
eight thousand. This was a great improvement, 
and the inventor, Mr. Ezekiel Reed, was enti- 
tled to a patent. He made some attempts to con- 
ceal the operation ; but it was simple, and so 



SOUTHEASTEEN MASSACHUSETTS 



51 



easily applied that others soon got it, and it 
came into general use. With machines, or tack 
'tools as they were called, thus improved, from 
thirty-six to four hundred men and boys were 
employed in making tacks in the town of Abing- 
ton and vicinity." Mr. Eeed died in North 
Bridgewater April 12, 1830. His children were 
all born in the town of Abington : Polly, Sept. 
7, 1769; Zelotes, April 9, 1771; Ezekiel, Sept. 
16, 1772 : Zebulon, May 30, 1774; Hannah, Jan. 
22, 1776; Olive, April 9, 1777; Jesse, Aug. 29, 
1778; Charles, April 5, 1780; Abraham, April 
25, 1782; Briggs Rogers, May 2, 1784; and 
Samuel Licander, July 24, 1786. 

(VI) Briggs Rogers Reed, son of Ezekiel 
and Mary (Rogers), was born May 2, 1784 
(says the "History of Abington"), in Abington, 
Mass., and (says the "Hutchinson Family") 
at Bridgeport, Conn., married. May 21, 1809, 
Betsey, born Jan. 14, 1791, daughter of Israel 
and' Susannah (Trask) Hutchinson, and grand- 
daughter of Col. Israel Hutchinson, of Revolu- 
tionary fame, the latter being a descendant of 
Richard Hutchinson, of Arnold, England, who 
came to New England in 1634 and became a 
resident of that part of Salem known as Salem 
village, now Danvers, from whom his lineage 
was through Joseph, Joseph (2), and Elisha 
Hutchinson. The immigrant Richard Hutchin- 
son of Danvers was descended in direct line 
from Bernard Hutchinson of Cowlam, County 
of York, who was living in the year 1282 (in 
the reign of King Edward I.), from whom his 
descent is through John, James, William, An- 
thony, Thomas, Lawrence, Thomas (2) and 
Thomas (3). Briggs R. Reed was a resident 
of Boston, WejTuouth, Pembroke and Danvers, 
Mass., dying at the latter place Sept. 28, 183.5. 
His wife survived him and died March 31, 
1850. Their home in Danvers was formerly 
that of Col. Israel Hutchinson, the house built 
by him and the one in which the women gath- 
ered on that memorable April 19, 1775, and 
saw laid out on the floor the dead heroes 
brought back from the fight, and which within 
comparatively recent years was standing at 
Danversport, close to the "new mills." 

Col. Israel Hutchinson's long and honorable 
military record began when he enlisted as a 
scout in Captain Herrick's company, in 1757. 
The next year, in the Lake George and Ticon- 
deroga campaign, he was a lieutenant in Capt. 
Andrew Fuller's company ; the next j'ear a cap- 
tain, he led a company under General Wolfe 
up the Heights of Abraham. A man of his 
experience was naturally enough chosen as a 
leader of the minute-men of Danvers on the 
Lexington alarm. 



Soon after Lexington he was commissioned a 
lieutenant colonel in Colonel Mansfield's regi- 
ment, and soon was promoted to the full rank of 
colonel. He was at the siege of Boston, and bis 
regiment was one of those detailed to fortify 
Dorchester Heights. He went to New York, 
commanded Forts Washington and Lee, and was 
with Washington throughout the memorable re- 
treat through New Jersey. On his return from 
the war, he was conspicuously honored by his 
fellow citizens, who sent him repeatedly to the 
General Court, and elected him to other offices, 
until politics entered more into consideration, 
and the Federalists carried the day against 
the Colonel and his fellow Democrats. 

To Briggs Rogers and Betsey (Hutchinson) 
Reed were born children as follows : Mary Ann, 
born Jan. 1, 1810, in Boston, married William 
E. Kimball, of Topsfield; Elizabeth, born Dec. 
17, 1811, in Weymouth, married Richard Phil- 
lips, of Topsfield; Susan Jane, born May 11, 
1814, in Pembroke, married William Alley, of 
Marlboro: William Briggs, born Dec. 15, 1816, 
in Danvers, married Eliza Howard, of Salem; 
Edward Rogers, born March 14, 1819, died 
young; Augustus, born April 13, 1821, is men- 
tioned below ; George W., born Aug. 5, 1823, 
was a member of the firm of Reed & Hastings, 
and later Reed Brothers, one of the oldest estab- 
lished insurance firms of Boston, which is still 
conducted under the name of Reed Brothers; 
John, born Aug. 13, 1825, died young; James 
Harvey, born Jan. 28, 1828, was at one time 
a teacher in St. Louis, but later became the 
junior member of the insurance firm of Reed 
Brothers, of Boston, having purchased the in- 
terest of Mr. Hastings; Joseph Warren, born 
May 7, 1830, was a Baptist clergyman, and died 
Julv 7, 1856, in the explosion of a boiler on 
board the "Empire State" at Fall River, Mass. ; 
Cornelia H., born Aug. 28, 1832, resides in 
Beverly, Mass., unmarried. 

(VII) Augustus Reed, son of Briggs Rogers 
and Betsey (Hutchinson), and father of Judge 
Warren A., was born April 13, 1821, in Danvers, 
Mass., and in his native town attended the 
public schools, his education being supplement- 
ed by a training at the Pembroke (N. H.) high 
school. After leaving the latter institution of 
learning he returned to Danvers and later as a 
young man settled in Boston, where he was 
successfully engaged in the grocery business in 
East Boston for a number of years. As a result 
of his honorable dealings he accumulated a com- 
petency, and at the time of his death, which 
occurred at his summer home in Winthrop, 
Mass., Sept. 4, 1881, was in comfortable cir- 
cumstances. He was a very stanch old-line 



52 



SOUTHEASTEEN MASSACHUSETTS 



Whig in his earlier days, and during the forma- 
tion of the Eepublican party was active in the 
councils of that party, ' being a stalwart Aboli- 
tionist. He served the city of Boston as assist- 
ant assessor, and during the Civil war was a 
member of the common council. In religious 
helief Mr. Eeed was a consistent and active 
member of the Baptist Church, and for many 
years served as deacon of the Central Square 
Baptist Church of East Boston. Mr. Reed was 
liighly honored and respected in the community 
in which so many of his active and useful years 
were spent. He married Laura Ann Leach, 
daughter of Lemuel and Betsey (Smallidge) 
Leach, of Shrewsbury, Mass., who died in Brock- 
ton at the home of her son, Warren x\., Sept. 
15, 1897. Mrs. Laura Ann (Leach) Reed was 
a direct descendant of Giles Leach, who appears 
as early as 1656, at Weymouth, ilass., whence 
he removed to ancient Bridgewater in 1665, 
settling on the borders of Nippenicket pond, 
in that part of the town known as Scotland. 
He married Ann Nokes, who lived in the family 
of Deacon Samuel Bass, of Braintree, and 
through their several children their posterity 
have become numerous. The children born to 
Mr. and Mrs. Reed were as follows : Annie E., 
who died unmarried ; Emma Cornelia, who mar- 
ried Edward D. Bakhnn, they residing in New- 
ton, Mass. ; Warren Augustus, mentioned below ; 
and Alice H., who was killed in 1893 in the 
wreck of a train while on her way to the 
World's Fair, Chicago (she was unmarried). 

(VIII) Warren Augustus Eeed, son of 
Augustus and Laura Ann (Leach), was born 
July 1, 1851, in Boston. Mass., and there re- 
ceived his early education in the public schools. 
He was prepared for college at the English high 
school and under private instruction, entered 
Harvard, and srraduated in 1875, with the de- 
gree of A. B., and he has been secretary of his 
class to the present time. After leaving college 
he spent a year and a half in European travel, 
and has had several subsequent trips abroad. 
He continued his studies upon his return 
home, entering Harvard Law School in 1876, 
and after spending about a year there furthered 
his law studies in the law office of Harris & 
Tucker, in Boston, and was admitted to the 
bar of Suffolk county, Mass., in 1878. He 
began the practice of his profession in Boston, 
where he remained until 1881. He has since 
been a resident and successful practitioner at 
Brockton, Mass., where he readily established 
himself in the confidence of the people. Upon 
first coming to Brockton, Mr. Eeed formed a 
partnership with Robert 0. Harris, formerly 
associate judge of the Superior court of Massa- 



chusetts and now Congressman from the Four- 
teenth Congressional District of Massachusetts, 
under the firm name of Eeed & Harris, which 
partnership for the practice of law continued 
for about a year, since which time Mr. Eeed 
has been alone. He has had a varied legal ex- 
perience, particularly in the management of 
trust property and the settlement of estates, in 
which connection he bears a very liigh reputa- 
tion, both as a recognized authority on proceed- 
ings and for the strict sense of honor which has 
marked all his transactions. 

Judge Reed has been active in the public life 
of his adopted city, both in his professional 
capacity and otherwise. He had been in Brock- 
ton but a few years when he was intrusted with 
the office of city solicitor, which he filled from 
1886 to 1889, resigning to accept the judgeship 
of the Police court of the city of Brockton and 
the Bridgewaters. On Dec. 16, 1885, he was 
appointed a justice of the peace ; became a 
notary public March 12, 1888 (both of which 
commissions he still retains) ; and was appoint- 
ed to the office of judge of the Police court 
(as above stated) Sept. 26, 1889, and has since 
served in that capacity. His interest in the 
cause of public education early led him into 
active connection with the public schools, and 
in 1885 he was elected a member of the school 
committee, upon which he gave six years' ser- 
vice. He has also served as a trustee of the 
Brockton Public Library and of the Howard 
Seminary, of West Bridgewater, of which he 
was for several years vice president. He was 
active in the Brockton Athenaeum, a society for 
literary and scientific study, organized in 1884, 
and served as its secretary and treasurer for 
several years. He was at one time president 
of the Brockton Industrial Corporation, formed 
for the purpose of building factories, in order 
to bring business to Brockton ; has long been a 
director of the Brockton National Bank, and is 
second vice president of the People's Savings 
Bank ; was for a time president of the Brock- 
ton Gas Light Company, from its organization; 
is a prominent member of the Commercial Club, 
which he has served as trustee and of which he 
was for a number of years president, and he 
has served as trustee of the Young Men's Chris- 
tian Association, in the success of which organi- 
zation he has taken a very prominent part, for 
six years serving as its president. During the 
time he was the chief executive the present sub- 
stantial building of the Association, at the cor- 
ner of Main and West Elm streets, was con- 
structed. He has also been active in the affairs 
of the Brockton hospital, and has for some time 
been a member of its board of trustees. He is 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



53 



president of the Economic Club of Brockton, 
which organization was formed in 1908 by the 
citizens for the purpose of studying economic 
problems important to the welfare of the city, 
and is also chairman of the commission ap- 
pointed by the Brockton city government to 
investigate and report upon the establishment 
of an industrial shoe school in Brockton. In 
view of his numerous social and public relations, 
it is not surprising that Judge Reed enjoys so 
wide an acquaintance, and to state that he is 
universally esteemed is a mild expression of the 
high regard which is evidenced wherever he is 
known — a tribute to his valued services and 
manly worth. 

Not only has Judge Reed been actively inter- 
ested in the affairs of the city of his adoption, 
but he has also been prominently identified with 
the affairs of his native State. He served for 
three years as a member of the committee on 
Technical Education, the report of which com- 
mittee received widespread attention for its 
completeness and useful suggestions; he was 
also a member of the State board of arbitration 
for three years. He is president of the trustees 
of the Massachusetts Savings Bank Insurance 
and Pension System, to which office he was ap- 
pointed by Governor Guild, and is also one of 
the vice presidents of the State Branch of the 
National Society for the Promotion of Indus- 
trial Education. He is also a member of the 
Massachusetts commission on probation, which 
commission was brought about by the action of 
the Legislature of 1908, and which commission 
has charge of the probation officers of the State. 
Judge Reed is a fluent and pleasing speaker, 
and as a consequence is in constant demand as 
a public speaker on various occasions and be- 
fore bodies particularly interested in the prob- 
lems of industrial education, of which subject 
he has made an especial study. 

In political faith Judge Reed is a stanch sup- 
porter of the principles of the Republican party. 
In religious belief he is a consistent member 
of the South Congregational Church of Cam- 
pello. Socially and for recreation he belongs 
to the Brockton Country Club, and is fond of 
golf, to which sport he devotes much of his 
time when away from his work. 

On Dec. 3, 1878, Judge Reed was married to 
Nellie N. Crocker, daughter- of Bradford Lin- 
coln and Mary (Perkins) Crocker, of Boston, 
Mass. Mrs. Reed passed away at her home in 
Brockton, Mass., Jan. 4, 1908. Owing to the 
fact she had been in poor health for a number 
of years Mrs. Reed had not been active in 
society, but had confined her efforts to her home 
life. She was a woman of culture and refine- 



ment, possessed a charming personality, and 
was beloved by all who knew her. She was 
kind and considerate of others, being of a very 
charitable and benevolent nature, always willing 
and ready to assist those in need. She was 
active in the work of the South Congregational 
Church at Campello. To Judge Reed and wife 
were born children as follows: Nellie, born in 
Boston, March 30, 1880, died April 5, 1880; 
Lawrence Bradford, born in Boston, Feb. 23, 
1881, graduated from Harvard University in 
1903, and from Harvard Medical School in 
1907, with the degree of M. D., and is now 
successfully engaged in practice at Pl}^uollth, 
Mass. (he married Edith Goddard, daughter of 
Warren Goddard, of Broclcton, and they have 
two cliildren, both born in Plymouth, Dorothy 
Bradford, in 1909, and Warren Goddard, in 
1911) ; Robert and Malcolm, twins, born in 
Brockton, March 2, 1886, died March 4, 1886 ; 
Warren Augustus, Jr., born Aug. 20, 1887, died 
April 21, 1890; Clarence Crocker, born in 
Brockton Aug. 30, 1889, is a member of the 
class of 1910, Harvard University; and Mildred, 
born Sept. 2, 1890, died Oct. l" 1890. 

Judge Reed as a lawyer and jurist has always 
been frank, independent and unequivocal in 
the expression of what he thinks just and true, 
although never dogmatical, over-confident or 
intolerant of the opinions of others. He is 
honorable, upright and kindly in his profes- 
sional conduct, and disdains to appeal to per- 
sonal or party prejudices, and has refrained 
from securing position by political juggling. In 
the employment of his talents he is diligent, 
and he ever entertains a just sense of the dignity 
and responsibility of his profession. His cul- 
ture has not been confined to the law, but he- 
is familiar with the best departments of litera- 
ture, always deligiiting in those works which be- 
long to a higher range of thought. He has also- 
traveled extensively both in this 'country and 
foreign lands, having made three trips abroad 
for the purpose of study. As a citizen, Judge- 
Reed is honored and respected by the entire 
community where he is so well and favorably 
IcnowTi. His courtesy is inborn, and therefore 
omnipresent. Few men in his position are ae 
approachable, and as void of false pride, and 
whether in the office or on the street he has the 
same gentle and pleasant manner. 

Mrs. Reed having always been interested in 
brightening the lives of and in helping those 
less fortunate than herself, and believing that 
such a project would have been her wish and 
desire. Judge Reed, in memory of his wife, had 
formulated a plan for the establishment in the 
town of Easton, Mass., of a farm for the pur- 



54 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



pose of giving poor boys opportunity for an 
outing; and through the cooperation of others 
who were also interested in such work tliis idea 
proved to be the nucleus of the present well 
appointed farm, where boys to the number of 
about three hundred are given an outing each 
year. 

HAERIS (East Bridgewater family). The 
Harris family here briefly considered — that of 
some of the descendants of the late Deacon and 
Hon. William Harris, of East Bridgewater, who 
for a quarter of a century was town clerk, for 
several years town treasurer, and a representa- 
tive in the Massachusetts General Court — is one 
of the ancient and honorable families of the 
Bridgewaters. Deacon Harris's son, the late 
Hon. Benjamin Winslow Harris, lawyer, states- 
man and judge through nearly sixty years, had 
a long, useful and honored public career; and 
his son, Hon. Robert Orr Harris, has for thirty 
years held a high place at the bar of his county 
and State, and been honored in the old home 
town of the family, being for nine years dis- 
trict attorney (an honor long before bestowed 
upon his father), a representative in the Gen- 
eral Court of the State, later judge of the 
Superior court of Massachusetts, and now 
Congressman from the Fourteenth Massachu- 
setts district. Sketches of the careers of these 
men, together with their family history and 
Harris lineage from their first known American 
ancestor, chronologicsilly arranged, follow : 

(I) Arthur Harris, of Duxbxiry as early as 
1640, became one of the original proprietors 
of Bridgewater and was among the first settlers 
in West Biidgewater. He removed to Boston, 
vrhere he made his will in 1673, and where 
he died June 10, 1674. The Christian name 
of his wife was Martha. His children were: 
Isaac, Samuel, Martha and Mary, and perhaps 
others. 

(II) Isaac Harris, son of Arthur, married 
(first) Mercy, daughter of Robert Latham, and 
(second) Mary, daughter of Robert Dunbar, 
of Hingham. He and his wife Mary both died 
about 1707. His children were : Arthur, Isaac, 
Samuel, Desire, Jane (born in 1671), Susanna, 
Mary, Mercy (born in 1680), Benjamin and 
Martha, the last named born to the second 
marriage. 

(III) Isaac Harris (2), son of Isaac, mar- 
ried (first) at Scituate Jane, daughter of Caleb 
Cook, of (probably) that part of Plpnouth 
which became Kingston, and after her death 
married (second) in 1719 Elizabeth, daughter 
of Joseph Shaw, and widow of Noah Washburn. 
His children were: Arthur, born in 1708; 



Abner, 1710; Anna, 1713; Elizabeth, 1714; 
Jane, 1716 (all born to the first marriage) : 
and Isaac, 172U. 

(IV) Arthur Harris, son of Isaac (2), born 
in 1708, married in 1730 Mehetabel, daughter 
of Samuel Rickard. of Plympton, and after her 
death (second) in 1741 Bethiah, daughter of 
Deacon Thomas Hayward. His children were : 
Benjamin, born in 1731; Silas, 1735; Lucy, 
1739 (all born to the first marriage) ; and 
Mehetabel, 1747. 

(Y) Benjamin Harris, son of Arthur, born 
in 1731, married in 1751 Sarah, daughter of 
James Snow. Mr. Harris died in 1803, aged 
seventy-one years, and his wife passed away in 
1807, aged seventy-five years. Their children 
were: Arthur, born in 1753; Sarah, 1755; 
William, 1762; Benjamin, 1765; Samuel, 1768; 
and John, 1770. Benjamin Harris, the father, 
was a patriot of the Continental army, serving 
as lieutenant in Capt. Nathan Snow's company 
on a secret expedition to Rhode Island, in 1777. 

(VI) Deacon William Harris, son of Benja- 
min, born Aug. 11, 1762, married May 14, 
1788, in Bridgewater, Alice, daughter of Gush- 
ing Mitchell. Mr. Harris died Feb. 23, 1831, 
in his sixty-ninth year. His children were : 
Jennet Orr, born in 1790; and William and 
Alice, twins, born Feb. 22, 1794, in Charles- 
town, Massachusetts. 

(VII) Deacon William Harris, son of 
Deacon William, bom Feb. 22, 1794, in Charles- 
to\vn, Mass., married in 1819 Mary W., daugh- 
ter of Winslow Thomas, and a direct descendant 
of Kenelm Winslow, a brother of Governor 
Winslow, of Plymouth Colony. Deacon Harris 
was a man of remarkable purity of character. 
He was for twenty-five years town clerk of 
East Bridgewater, was several years towTi treas- 
urer, and for four years deputy to the General 
Court. He died Aug. 4, 1852. His wife was 
a woman of commanding person, dignified and 
deeply religious. She possessed a natural gift 
of language, and a manner which made her 
society attractive. She was blessed with good 
health and longevity. Her death occurred in 
East Bridgewater, Mass., June 20, 1882, when 
she was aged eighty-five years. The children 
born to Deacon William Harris and wife were: 
Benjamin Winslow, born Nov. 10, 1823; Lucia 
Mitchell, born March 31, 1828, who died un- 
married Oct. 4, 1907; and William Thomas, 
born Dec. 29, 1833, who resides in East Bridge- 
water. 

(VIII) Benjamin Winslow Harris, son 
of William and Mary Winslow Harris, was bom 
Nov. 10, 1823, in East Bridgewater, Mass. He 
received his education in the public schools of 




/3. ^- ^OAyuU 



SOUTHEASTEEN MASSACHUSETTS 



55 



the town, in East Bridgewater Academy, under 
Daniel Littlefield, and in the classical depart- 
ment of Phillips Academy, Andover, Mass., re- 
maining in the latter institution some two and 
a half years, teaching school in the meantime 
in order to procure the means of pursuing his 
studies. He taught school in Halifax, Hanover, 
Pembroke, Kingston and East Bridgewater. 
Entering the Harvard Law School in the spring 
of 1847, he was graduated therefrom in 1848, 
when he entered the law office of John Phelps 
Putnam, Esq., of Boston, and it was upon 
motion of Judge Putnam in the Supreme 
Judicial court that he was admitted to the bar 
April 2, 1850. In June, following, he became 
a law partner of Hon. Welcome Young, at East 
Bridgewater, the term of their partnership be- 
ing for one year. At the expiration of this 
period Mr. Harris continued the practice of 
law alone, and, being a scholarly young man, 
gifted and fluent in debate, he soon acquired a 
local reputation as an advocate. Among liis 
early effo.rts and more important cases were an 
action against his own town for damages, 
caused by a defective highway, and the case of 
a Mrs. Gardner, of Hingham, who was indicted 
for the murder of her husband. This was in 
1857, and he was junior counsel with Hon. 
Charles G. Da\is as senior; this case was tried 
twice, the first trial resulting in a disagreement 
of the jury, and the second in her conviction 
of murder in the second degree. Between the 
first and second trials of Mrs. Gardner the 
General Court of Massachusetts passed a law 
permitting second degree murder trials, and 
under that law she was convicted on the second 
trial. 

In 1858 Mr. Harris entered a new field of 
professional labor, being appointed in that year 
by Governor Baiiks district attorney for the 
southeastern district of Massachusetts, to fill 
the vacancy caused by the resignation of Hon. 
James M. Keith, of Koxbury. This office called 
for the exercise of his talent and industry, for 
at the time there were many able criminal law- 
yers at the bars of both Norfolk and Plymouth 
counties, and to these distinguished lawj-ers 
he was often opposed; but his popularity with 
juries and his native tact for managing trials, 
especially his fidelity in handling unwilling and 
untruthful witnesses, caused him to be very 
successful. In fact, it came to be remarked by 
the lawyers who had often tried their hand in 
defending criminals that "Harris uniformly 
got everybody convicted, and that the most 
judicious course was to advise their clients to 
plead guilty, and then rely on the district 
attorney's good nature to let them down easy. 



with a light sentence." One of the most im- 
portant criminal trials which took place during 
his incumbency of the office was that of George 
C. Hersey, of Weymouth, for the murder of 
Betsey F. Tirrill, in 1860, which culminated in 
an indictment against Hersey for murder in 
the Superior court held at Dedham, in April, 
1861. In May of that year the trial took place 
before the Supreme Judicial court; sutSce it to 
say that the trial was long and exciting, and 
resulted in the conviction of the accused, and 
also in his execution. 

During all of the time that Mr. Harris filled 
the office of district attorney up to the time of 
his entering Congress, in 1872, he was actively 
engaged in general practice, having a large and 
lucrative business, and trying many important 
cases in Norfolk, Plymouth and Suffolk coun- 
ties. During the early winter of 1863-64 he 
opened an office in Boston, associating with him 
as partner shortly after Payson E. Tucker, Esq., 
a learned and able lawyer. Mr. Harris removed 
to Dorchester in 1866, on June 20th of which 
year he received from President Johnson the 
appointment of internal revenue collector for 
the Second Congressional district, whereupon, 
July 1, 1866, he resigned the office of district 
attorney. He held the new office until Jan. 1, 
1873. 

Returning to East Bridgewater in the early 
summer of 1872, Mr. Harris ever after made 
that point Ms home, and it was at this time 
that the liighest honors of his busy life were 
awaiting him. Mr. Harris had been identified 
with the Eepublican party from its birth, in 
1856, taking an active part in its many cam- 
paigns. In 1857 he was elected a member of 
the State Senate, and in 1858 was elected a 
member of the lower house, representing the 
Bridgewaters. In October, 1872, he was nom- 
inated for Congress and in November following 
was elected by a majority of 8,662 votes, his 
opponent being Hon. Edward Avery, of Brain- 
tree, the Democratic candidate. He was re- 
elected in the four succeeding Congressional 
elections, 1874, 1876, 1878 and 1880, receiving 
large popular majorities at each election. At 
the beginning of his Congressional career at 
the first session of the Forty-third Congress he 
was appointed on the committee on Indian 
Affairs. At the beginning of the Forty-fourth 
Congress he was appointed a minority member 
of the committee on Naval Affairs, continuing 
as such in the sessions of the Forty-fiith and 
Forty-sixth Congresses. At the first session of 
the Forty-seventh Congress he was made chair- 
man of the committee on Naval Affairs, a posi- 
tion he had honorably earned by faithful and 



56 



SOUTHEASTEEN MASSACHUSETTS 



laborious and highly intelligent service and re- 
search. In this Congress Mr. Harris's work 
ripened into law. Much was accomplished in 
behalf of the navy during his service in Con- 
gress, for which the whole country owes him 
the most profound gratitude. 

On retiring from Congress, March 4, 1883, 
Mr. Harris resumed his practice of the law, 
his son, Kobert Orr Harris, becoming a mem- 
ber of the firm of Harris & Tucker. This firm 
was dissolved Jan. 1, 1889, Mr. Harris and 
his son each having an office in East Bridge- 
water, and Mr. Tucker continuing to practice 
alone. On Sept. 7, 1887, the elder Harris was 
appointed by Governor Ames judge of Probate 
and Insolvency for the county of Plymouth. 

On June 4, 1850, Judge Harris married 
Julia A., daughter of Eobert Orr, Esq., of Bos- 
ton, and his wife Melinda (Wilbur) Orr, 
a lady of rare attainments and great culture. 
Four children blessed this union, three of whom 
survive: Mary Melinda, born Feb. 10, 1852, 
who married Judge Charles H. Edson, of Whit- 
man; Eobert Orr, ,born Nov. 8, 1854; Alice 
Mitchell, born Dec. 5, 1856, now the wife of 
John D. White, of Louisville, Ky. ; and George 
Winslow, born July 13, 1860, who died Nov. 
24, 1861. Judge Harris died at his home, Feb. 
9, 1907, and was buried in East Bridgewater 
cemetery. His wife passed away in Boston, 
Oct. 5, 1872, and she, too, rests in the East 
Bridgewater cemetery. Judge Harris was presi- 
dent of the old Historical Society of Bridge- 
water. 

(IX) Egbert Orr Harris, son of Hon. 
Benjamin W. and Julia A. (Orr) Harris, was 
born Nov. 8, 1854, in Boston, and received his 
elementary education in the public schools of 
the town of East Bridgewater, and in the 
Dwight school, Boston. His father's family 
having resided from 1865 to 1872 in Dorches- 
ter, Mass.. he finished his studies during that 
period in the Boston Latin and Chauncey Hall 
schools, then for a time attending the famous 
Phillips (Exeter) Academy. Entering Har- 
vard from the last named institution in June, 
1873, he was graduated therefrom with the 
class of 1877. Immediately after this event he 
began the study of law in the office of his 
father and partner, Harris & Tucker, taking 
also special courses in the Boston University 
Law School. He was admitted to the bar at 
Plymouth, March 4, 1879. He practiced in 
Brockton, associated with Judge W. A. Eced, 
under the firm name of Eeed & Harris, until 
the retirement of his father from Congress in 
March, 1883, when he became a member of the 
firm of Harris & Tucker. In 1892 he was made 



district attorney of Plymouth and Norfolk 
counties, and from 1895 to 1901 again filled 
that office. Upon the appointment of his father 
as judge of Probate he began practice on liis 
separate account, and continued alone. He was 
appointed June 4, 1902, judge of the Superior 
court for Massachusetts, by Gov. Winthrop 
Murray Crane (now United States senator 
from Massachusetts), which office he filled 
with dignity and honor until March, 1911, when 
he resigned. In 1910 Judge Harris was the 
unanimous choice of the Eepublican party as 
the candidate for Congressman from the Four- 
teenth Congressional district, and at the elec- 
tion which followed he received a majority of 
the votes cast, defeating his Democrat oppo- 
nent for the office. 

As a lawyer Judge Harris has the reputation 
of being a sound and safe adviser, and as a trial 
lawyer stands high. In trial he is cool and 
ready, and is ever effective with his juries. He 
has alwavs been interested and active in the 
public affairs of his town, and has served for 
a number of years on the school committee, of 
which he was a member up to very recent years. 
As district attorney it fell to his lot to be the 
first affected by the change in the law in regard 
to the trial of capital offenses, and to have to 
try two murder cases in his first year without 
the assistance and counsel of the attorney gen- 
eral. The district which he served is the same 
as was served by his father in 1858-1865, that 
of southeastern Massachusetts. Mr. Harris was 
a member of the Massachusetts Legislature in 
1889, and made a reputation as a debater and 
a man of practical good sense. 

Mr. Harris's political affiliations have been 
with the Eepublicans, and for many years he 
was active in the councils of the party. He has 
been a frequent and effective platform speaker 
in important campaigns, having a pleasant man- 
ner and a logical and convincing way of pre- 
senting his arguments. Mr. Harris is a member 
of the University Club of Boston, and of the 
Massachusetts Eepublican Club, of the Odd 
Fellows, of the Knights of Honor, and of the 
local Social and Improvement Association. He 
is a member of the Society of Mayflower 
Descendants, and is a member of the board of 
governors of the national society of the Sons_ 
and Daughters of the Pilgrims. Judge Harris 
numbers among his ancestors many of the 
"Mayflower" passengers, among them being 
James Chilton, John Alden, William Bradford, 
Eichard Warren, Peter Brown, Francis Cooke, 
Stephen Hopkins and William Mullins, and 
among his Pilgrim ancestors may be mentioned 
John Winslow, John Faunce, George Morton 





/^2^ ^. ;^^^^^>^>^<«^^^ 



SOUTHEASTEEN MASSACHUSETTS 



5r 



and Experience Mitchell. While quiet and do- 
mestic in his tastes, fond of reading and study, 
spending much of his spare time in his study, 
he likes society and has many warm social 
friends. He has always taken a deep interest in 
everything pertaining to the Bridgewaters and 
their history, and during the celebnation of the 
250th anniversary of the founding of the town 
of Old Bridgewater took an active and promin- 
ent part. He attends the Church of the New 
Jerusalem. 

On April 21, 1880, at Newport, R. I., Mr. 
Harris married Josephine B. Gorton, daughter 
of John and Henrietta (Cahoone) Gorton and 
granddaughter of John Gorton and Captain 
Cahoone. Their children were : Annie Winslow, 
born in July, 1881, married July 15, 1905, 
Pliny Jewell (2), of Boston, Mass., and has 
two children, Josephine (born Nov. 10, 1906) 
and Pliny. (3) (June 3, 1908) ; Alice Orr, 
born March 18, 1884, is a graduate of the high 
school, of Bridgewater Academy, and of the 
State normal school at Boston; Elizabeth 
Cahoone, born Aug. 23, 1887, graduated from 
the East Bridgewater high school and Bridge- 
water Academy, and received her musical edu- 
cation in Boston; one died in infancy; Louise 
Chilton was born March 14, 1893 ; Grace How- 
land, born Feb. 8, 1895, is in school. 



Upon the occasion of the memorial to Judge 
Benjamin W. Harris held by the Brockton and 
Plymouth County Bar Associations, at the ses- 
sion of the Superior court at the Brockton' 
courthouse, June 4, 1909, which was also the 
fifty-ninth anniversary of the marriage of 
Judge Benjamin W. Harris, and also the sev- 
enth anniversary of the appointment to the 
bench of his son, the present Judge Robert 0. 
Harris, the following memorial was delivered 
by the Hon. Jonathan White, of Brockton, who 
as attorney at law had upon frequent occasions 
been pitted against Judge B. W. Harris, and 
between them a warm friendship of many years 
had existed: 

"As an acquaintance and friend of the late 
Benjamin W. Harris, of about the same age, I 
desire to contribute a few words on this occa- 
sion. I speak of him as a la\vyer and in his 
relation to Plymouth county, where only I had 
the opportunity to know him personally. What 
I have to say will be in nowise new, even to 
those now on the stage; a little while ago it 
would have been simply reminiscent to a wide 
circle of his contemporaries in eastern Massa- 
chusetts. 

"It was the good fortune of Mr. Harris to en- 
ter upon the practice of the law in the county 



in which he had his birth and passed his youth- 
ful days. Early in his professional life he was 
appointed prosecuting attorney of this district, 
appearing, of course, year after year before the 
grand juries at their sessions in Plymouth and 
Norfolk counties. It naturally happened, from 
this, that a large portion of the people of Ply- 
mouth county, especially, were already person- 
ally acquainted with, and well disposed toward 
him, quite early in his career as a lawyer. I 
think it falls to the lot of few lawyers to be- 
come so speedily and widely known and favor- 
ably regarded in the counties in which they are 
called upon to practice. As a result of this, 
I well remember young lawyers who were pit- 
ted against him in a contest before a Plymouth 
county panel were apt to feel that he stood on 
vantage ground and to have some slight mis- 
giving as to whether they were quite up to the- 
assurance of 'a square deal,' as the saying is. 

"Brief progress in a trial, however, made it 
evident that he depended upon his own re- 
sources and exertions and needed no adventi- 
tious aid. He very soon became a prominent 
member of the Plymouth bar, with the promise 
of a successful career in the law before him. 
That promise I may say, in a word, was realized 
as he rounded out the years of a long, busy and 
somewhat eventful life, full of honor and es- 
teem. Mr. Harris was eminently efficient and 
successful in jury trials. Painstaking in the 
preparation of a case, artful and vigilant in the 
presentation and conduct of it in court, shrewd 
and effective in examining witnesses, he was 
much more than ordinarily felicitous in addres- 
sing the jury. 

"Practicing in the same court, we of course 
occasionally met as opposing counsel in trials. 
He was a generous, a chivalrous opponent. Dis- 
courtesy and chicane were things foreign to his 
nature. He enjoyed a victory, but had too high- 
a sense of the dignity of his profession to re- 
sort to indirection to obtain it. He was a zeal- 
ous advocate, apt to entertain full faith in the- 
justice of his case, and more than willing to 
strike hard blows for his client 'an the law be- 
on his side.' It would be useless to deny, in 
his presence, that in certaminis gaudio, in the- 
stress of a struggle to win, now and then on one 
side or the other, a blow was delivered, in the- 
slang phrase of the ring, 'below the belt.' 

"I can aver with a clear conscience, however, 
that we never met out of court but as cordial 
friends. His habitual good nature, the sterling 
traits of his mental and moral character, were 
too conspicuous to be long or much obscured by 
a momentary feeling of rivalry on the nart of" 
anyone. Among members of the bar be w:is 



58 



SOUTHEASTEEN MASSACHUSETTS 



companionable, not given to boasting of his 
acMevements, ready to concede a favor in mat- 
ters of pleadings, or in the conduct of a case, 
and no one ever had occasion to be solicitous 
about his putting in writing the promise of a 
favor. I may say, m passing, that when the 
word 'companionable' is used in this connection 
it should be borne in mind that customs have 
changed since fifty years ago. 

"There was then no such convenient process 
open to the legal fraternity as keeping office and 
watching the short list by means of the tele- 
phone. For one who had cases to try in court 
and whose home happened to be distant from 
the only shire town in the county, there was 
nothing to do but to cram his files into his 
satchel and proceed to Plymouth with the intent 
to remain there until his last case was disposed 
of, which might be a week or two. The custom 
was continued, perforce, a long time after the 
stage coaches had given place to the railroad. 

"To this seeming hardship there was one 
important redeeming outcome. It brought to- 
gether members of the bar, two or three times 
a year, and gave them leisure, albeit in a meas- 
ure inforced, for social intercourse. It so con- 
duced much to friendship, to an esprit de corps, 
which were pleasant features in a vocation well 
understood to have certain other features of a 
diiferent tendency. The word 'companionable' 
had a meaning in those days. The word, I 
judge, is gradually becoming obsolete in the 
legal vocabulary, and it would not be strange 
if in the modern experience of the bar a like 
fate were happening to the things signified by 
the word. 

"Well, to return, Mr. Harris was companion- 
able, old style. His genial manner and hearty 
way of expressing himself made him a welcome 
addition to any social circle. He rarely in- 
dulged in sarcasm, and for banter of any sort 
had little time or inclination and almost in- 
variably maintained the earnest bearing of a 
man of affairs. In truth, it is very probable 
that all I have to say of him might have been 
summarized in the Single statement that 'he 
was one who by temperament as well as by native 
ability and training was fitted to sustain, dur- 
ing his day, the prestige of the Old Colony 
court, in which eminent men had practiced, 
from time to time, well nigh back to the Pil- 
grims.' Later in life, as is well known, he 
was appointed judge of the court of Probate, 
and served in that office up to the time of his 
death. He presided with dignity and affability. 
No adverse criticisms of him as judge were 
ever heard even from disappointed litigants. 

"But when it is said that Mr. Harris was an 



able and upright lawyer and judge, all is not 
said. I am aware that upon occasions like this 
we are often reminded that law is a jealous 
mistress, and that much may be urged in praise 
of concentration of effort, and the wisdom of 
looking after the main chance; nevertheless I 
am fain to believe that when, hereafter, we 
speak of Judge Harris, as he was called, it will 
be not the least of liis claims to grateful remem- 
brance that when 'he became a lawyer he did not 
cease to be a citizen. He was of those who in 
all ages have looked upon the profession as 
having a mission in the community, as being 
something higher and nobler than a mere busi- 
ness, a means of gaining a living. 

"Upon common report, he was, during his 
mature years, active and influential in the muni- 
cipal affairs of his native town; attended town 
meetings, took part in its discussions and do- 
ings, was confided in, looked up to. And when, 
at the age of eighty-four years, he ceased to 
live — for he retained his mental powers unim- 
paired till then — the people of East Bridge- 
water could not- but have felt that they had 
parted with a loyal citizen, a stanch advocate 
and a wise counselor. 

"I am not forgetting that the sphere of his 
activity and influence extended far beyond the 
bounds of his native town. He was a citizen 
of the State and country. But of that others 
can speak better than I can. Whether Mr. 
Hariis be regarded as citizen, lawyer or judge, 
there was one element in his make-up which, 
on all sides, and always, was seen and felt to be 
conspicuous in every position in which he was 
placed, and that was honor, unswerving honor. 
I am glad, in my survivorship, to bear witness 
to it. It was a recognized prominent trait in 
him, in court, on the bench, in the common 
affairs of life. It secured to him respect, dis- 
tinction and esteem wherever, in the wide world, 
he might be, in whatever vocation engaged. It 
stood him in stead till he died. It may well 
be the burden of any subsequent eulogy of 
him." 

Judge Warren A. Eeed made an address at 
the memorial exercises held at the Bridgewater 
Historical Society building in West Bridgewa- 
ter, Mass., Nov. n, 1907, in memory of the late 
Judge Benjamin W. Harris, which we quote in 
part: 

"It was a sad day for the Old Colony when 
she followed to their last resting place the re- 
mains of her well beloved son. She made no 
shovry display of grief. There was no pageantry. 
She laid her wreath of laurels in silence upon 
!iis tomb and went away. That was all. It 
was the mute suffering of a broken heart. The 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



59 



wintry winds were hushed into a mournful re- 
quiem and seemed to answer to each otlier in 
autiphonal chant, 'He is gone, Judge Harris is 
dead. No more shall ye hear his clear, melodi- 
ous voice, no more shall ye see that manly 
beneficent face, never again shall his dignified 
presence grace the public forum or halls of 
justice.' 

"And now, after the lapse of these months 
tiiat have followed, the sadness of his parting is 
still with us, and we would fain linger yet a 
little while over the sweet memories of his life, 
and recount to each other what he was to us. 
B. W. Harris was a child of Plymouth county, 
the bright consummate flower of her best insti- 
tutions. We must not take him from his sur- 
roundings, or think to catch the inspiration of 
his life without their help. He was of the best 
blood of the county, and brought up under the 
best influences wliich made the Old Colony what 
it was. All his ancestors lived in the Old 
Colony and were prominent in working out the 
great questions of which I have spoken. He 
carried easily the virtues of his ancestors, while 
he was remarkably free from their weaknesses. 

"His mother was a Winslow, a family whicli 
supplied to the Old Colony its thrice appointed 
governor, and she gave her own name to her 
illustrious son. She was a devout Christian wo- 
man, strong in the faith of her fathers, full of 
good works, and brought up her boy to be like 
her. He was his mothers boy and the magni- 
ficent lines of character in his countenance 
were reflected from hers. His father and his 
grandfather were each known to all the country 
around as 'Deacon Harris,' devout men of the 
sort whose influence has been felt in this coun- 
ty for two hundred years. He was born in 
East Bridgewater, Nov. 10, 1823 ; was educated 
in the public schools of the town ; in the East 
Bridgewater Academy, and at Phillips Acad- 
emy at Andover. 

"Like many another poor boy, bent on ac- 
quiring a profession, he was obliged to turn 
aside at the very outset in order to Barn the 
means for continuing his studies, and for several 
years taught school winters in his native and 
neighboring towns. In 1849 he graduated from 
Harvard Law School, and became a student in 
the law office of Judge Putnam, of Boston, 
where he remained one year, until he was ad- 
mitted to the bar in 1850. He fought his way 
by daily struggle and faithful work, until in 
eight years he was chosen by Governor Banks 
to be district attorney for the Southeastern 
district to fill a then unexpired term. 

"He was an impressive and eloquent speaker, 
and when in the height of his power he was one 



of the best jury lawyers in the Commonwealth, 
and his services were sought in many important 
cases outside the county, especially in Boston, 
where for many years he was at the head of a 
law firm doing an extensive business. 

"It is to his record for ten years in Congress, 
from 187'^ to 1882, in the prime of his life, 
that his friends turn with greatest satisfaction 
and pride. During that period he was put for- 
ward by the county as its leading and repre- 
sentative citizen, and he never in any degree 
fell short in the high commission. At the end 
of that long period, at his own request, amid 
the plaudits of his fellow citizens, for able and 
faithful service, he laid down the charge. 

"Inestimable has been the value to the nation 
of his pioneer work in laying the foundation 
of the new navy. By men much better able 
to judge of his work than I, he has been called 
the 'father of the modern United vStates navy.' 
There is no doubt that his great speech on the 
condition and needs of the navy, delivered in 
the National House of Representatives May 29, 
1878, was the first clear note of warning on 
the subject, and that it aroused the country to 
action. The first vessel completed in the new 
navy was fitly named the 'Boston' and, as you 
well remember, sailed with Dewey's fleet in 
Manila bay. His son, Hon. Robert 0. Harris, 
informs me that on the memorable morning, 
July 4, 1898, when we got the full account of 
the battle and the list of the sliips engaged, he 
stepped into his father's library to talk it over 
with him. As he came into the room and asked 
his father if he had read the account, he replied, 
'Yes,' and then after a little pause continued, 
'it looks as if my work for eight years on the 
na\7 committee has at last proved to be of some 
value to the country.' 

"I suppose that to most of my hearers, he 
was best known in his capacity as judge of Pro- 
bate. Our good judge was the most approach- 
able of men. He iinconsciously made it evident 
that he wanted you to talk wth him, and in the 
most courteous manner let you know that the 
way was open to you. His charming affability 
and gallantry impressed you as the bouquet or 
aroma of his whole being. It is doubtful if he 
knew that he possessed it and yet it was per- 
ceived by all who knew him. His whole life 
in this community fitted Mm especially to 
administer his high office. 

"I have intimated that the people of the Old 
Colony are not always mindful of its splendid 
past. This was not true of our brother. He 
never forgot that he was to the manner bom, 
or the part taken by his ancestors in the de- 
velopment of civil liberty. He walked the 



60 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



streets of his native comity conscious of the 
full meaning of her past, and loved her history 
as a child reveres a parent's birthplace. He 
spent the iiappiest hours in the company of 
tnose who, like him, loved to cherish ana re- 
view the past for its noble deeds and preserve 
from oblivion every shred and scrap that would 
help in future time to weave again the tapestry 
depicting her early history. Not the least 
impressive and enduring monuments to his 
memory are this building dedicated to the 
history of the Old Colony and the society which 
occupies it and mourns him here to-day. They 
are his work. He was the spirit and inspiration 
of them both." 

At the memorial exercises in Bridgewater 
Historical Society building, West Bridgewater, 
Mass., Nov. !), l'J07, the Hon. James Sidney 
Allen of Brockton made the following address 
in memory of Judge Benjamin W. Harris : 

•'The able men who have already addressed 
this audience have an advantage over me, in 
one respect, at least. They have spoken from 
the standpoint of the legal profession, while 
my remarks are to be mainly of a reminiscent 
nature, from the standpoint of a mere citizen 
and fellow townsman of Mr. Harris, with some 
reference to our social, educational and politi- 
cal associations. 

"My earliest recollection of Benjamin Win- 
slow Harris was in the fall of 1841, when we 
were together in the East Bridgewater Acad- 
emy, then under the charge of Daniel Little- 
field, a graduate of Dartmouth College. The 
scholars' ages ranged from nine or ten to eigh- 
teen or twenty years — Harris one of the eldest, 
I one of the youngest. In disposition most 
kind and genial, in personality most affable and 
charming, he was friend and favorite of every- 
one. He had no equal in reading, elocution 
and declamation, and excelled as a debater in 
the school lyceum. At that time his home was 
two miles away, near Conant's Corner, in East- 
ville, whither his*father had removed in 1835 
from the ancestral home in the village of 
Satucket. He soon after attended the Old 
Bridgewater Academy, walking the distance of 
five miles daily. His early ambition was to 
enter public life. He was interested in public 
men and measures, and delighted in reciting 
choice gems of oratory, even while at his work. 

"E. Frank Field, a near neighbor of the 
Harris family, told me that Benjamin, while 
pegging shoes for him, would quote from 
speeches of Webster and others, and said he 
meant some time to go to Congress. The child, 
in this instance, was indeed 'father of the man.' 
For a few years I saw and heard him speak 



only occasionally, mostly in lyceums and in 
exercises when he had opportimity for declama- 
tion. A favorite selection was the orator 
Rienzi's famous address to the Romans. 

"After a few years spent in teaching school 
and studying law, he was admitted to the bar, 
began practice in his native town, and quickly 
came into public notice. One of his first politi- 
cal victories was in a delegate convention— I 
think m Abmgton, where he broke into the 
plans of the 'machine' by a speech, electrifying 
the convention with the call, 'Give the boys a 
chance.' 

"The first extemporaneous speech I ever heard 
him make in a political meeting was at a Fourtli 
of July celebration, in 1855, in the grove on 
Sprague's Hill, in Bridgewater. Henry Wilson 
was orator of the day. He denounced Daniel 
Webster for subserviency to the South in las 
noted 7th of March, 1850, speech in Congress 
in favor of the Compromise Bill. When Wilson 
had finished, there came a general call from 
the crowd for Harris, Harris, who had not then 
left the Whig party. Mr. Harris responded 
vigorously in praise of Webster, quoting some 
of his patriotic utterances. When he closed. 
General Wilson arose, and instead of criticising 
what Mr. Harris had said complimented him, 
and trusting that he would remember and fol- 
low their great exemplar, Webster, only in his 
earlier and better days, warmly welcomed Mr. 
Harris, and such as he, to the new party of 
liberty ami equal rights. 

"Mr. Harris soon joined the new Republican 
party, and was active the following year in the 
Presidential campaign for Fremont, and was 
a delegate in the next national Republican con- 
vention. 

"He was elected to the State Senate for th« 
year 1857, and was representative the follow,- 
ing year. In 185.") or 1856 Mr. Harris organ- 
ized the Satucket Loan and Fund Association, 
in East Bridgewater, and was its head dur- 
ing a successful career of seven years. Being 
one of the directors the entire period, associat- 
ed with him also in the new political party, I 
watched with pride his unselfish public spirit, 
his devotion to tlie general welfare of the peo- 
ple, his activity in local town affairs, and especi- 
ally that remarkable and deserved hold of the 
public confidence which led to his election to 
Congress. 

"Even before the Civil war this call was 
manifest. In 1862 the great majority of the 
district in the Congressional convention, held 
in Bridgewater, was pledged to his support, 
when, to our surprise, John A. Andrew, the 
popular war governor, sent a special messenger 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



61 



to the fonventiou, setting forth the great dan- 
gers of the war situation, the need m Congress 
of representatives of tlie greatest and wisest 
business and legislative experience. He urged 
the nomination of Hon. Oakes Ames, of North 
Easton, who was one of the governor's council, 
and a wealthy business man. 

"Governor Andrew's wishes had almost the 
force of law, but the delegates would not desert 
their favorite. Mr. Harris, on being informed 
of the situation, promptly withdrew in favor 
of Mr. Ames, and waited ten years longer, 
meantirne holding the responsible office of 
United States collector of internal revenue. 
Elected to Congress in 1872, Mr. Harris, after 
three terms, declined to be a candidate for 
reelection. He was made president of the con- 
vention in North Bridgewater, Oct. 5, 1876, 
to nominate his successor. After many ballots, 
resulting in no clioice, the convention could no 
longer be restrained, and amid a tempest of 
excitement Mr. Harris was nominated by ac- 
clamation. He served in Congress two terms 
more, completing ten years of service in 1883. 
He resumed the practice of law, not aspiring 
to higher political honors, although named by 
leading newspapers for governor or United 
States senator. He was made judge of Probate, 
Jiolding that ottice the remainder of his life. 

"It has been truly said that Mr. Harris was 
a leader, not a dictator. He had rare tact in 
foreseeing and interpreting public opinion. 

"Goethe says: that 'in reading the life of the 
greatest genius, we always find that he was 
acquainted with some men superior to himself, 
who yet never attained to general distinction.' 
Mr. Harris had native genius. He came upon 
the stage during a period and in a neighbor- 
hood of intense mental activity. He saw and 
heard young men of mature minds, trained to 
discussion and debate in the lyceums of those 
years from 1830 to 1845, men of seeming supe- 
riority, but who never attained his own later dis- 
tinction, yet serving as examples and models, 
inspiring him with high ambition and lofty 
purpose. 

"It was reserved for him to illustrate by his 
character and career the union of real superi- 
ority and high attainment. To me and many 
others who best knew him, there came courage, 
cheer and stimulus to the highest endeavor, by 
reason of associating with our loved and lament- 
ed friend, Judsre Benjamin Winslow Harris." 

LOVERING (Taunton family). Through 
much of the nineteenth century there figured 
prominently in the business and social life of 
Taunton — continuing to do so at the present 



— the family bearing the name introducing this 
sketch. Keference is made to the late Hon. 
\\ illard Lovering, long one of the leading manu- 
facturers not only of Taunton, but of tlie great 
manufacturing region thereabout, in both Mas- 
sachusetts and Rhode Island, a representative 
in the Massachusetts Assembly, bank president, 
etc. ; and to liis sons and grandsons, the former 
being the late Charles L., the late Hon. Wil- 
liam C. and Hon. Henry Morton Lovering, all 
of whom are or have been officers in the Whit- 
tenton Manufacturing Company and among 
the leading business men and citizens of their 
city, William C. having been the representative 
in the United States Congress from the 13th 
and 1-lth Massachusetts districts. 

The home town of this Taunton Lovering 
family for generations was HoUiston, where the 
name was well represented in the struggle of 
the colonies for independence, and from which 
town and vicinity went out into other localities 
men of achievement. It was from this HoUis- 
ton stock sprang the eminent lawyer, Hon. 
Warren Lovering, of Medway, born Feb. 21, 
1797, who was often a member of the State 
Assembly, a member of the executive council 
for some years in the thirties, at the time being 
in warm personal relations with the then gov- 
ernor of Massachusetts, the Hon. Edward Ever- 
ett, Bank Commissioner, etc. ; and his brother, 
the late Hon. Amos Lovering, lawyer and judge, 
who figured prominently in the South and West. 
These were the sons of Amos and Lucy (Day) 
Lovering, he of HoUiston and they of Medway 
and Framingham, Mass. There lived at Aid- 
ham, near Hadleigh, County of Suffolk, Eng- 
land, one William Loveran and his wife Susan- 
na, one or more of whose children came to 
America and settled in New England, and from 
one Robert Loveran, who, by the genealogist 
Morse, is made a probable grandson of William 
Loveran of England, first alluded to, have de- 
scended the Holliston branch of the Loverings 
referred to in the foregoing. 

According to the church records of the parish 
of Aldham, County Suffolk, England, William 
and Susanna Loveran had children as follows: 

William, Sept. 6, (year torn off) ; John, 

Feb. 20, 1622 ; George, Jan. 30, 1634 : Jonathan, 
Sept. 10, 163.5; Thomas, Nov. 30, 1636; Su- 
sanna, Jan. 19, 1631; David, May 30, 1633; 
Elizabeth, Aug. 21, 1636; and Edward, Jan. 8, 
1637. The burials in the churchyard of the 
parish noted above of the Loveran name are: 
Edward, buried June 24, 1639; John. March 
16, 1663; William, Dec. 1, 1666; and Susanna 
(Close), Jan. 10, 1681. 
The following history of the Loveran family 



62 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS' 



of Aldham is gleaned from a power of attorney 
given by David Loverin, citizen and draper of 
London, England, dated March 10, 1703, who 
styles himself the only surviving son of Wil- 
liam Loveran, late of Aldham, near Hadleigh, 
County Suffolk, England, to John and Samuel 
Marion, of Watertown, in New England, to 
take possession of property falling to him as 
heir of Thomas Lovering, deceased, by virtue 
of his wife, dated Aug. 13, 1692. This power 
of attorney has against David Loverin's name a 
round seal bearing these arms : "On a bend, 
three martles; on a canton in the sinister chief, 
a rose." 

William Loveran, of Aldham, it seems, had 
served an apprenticeship as apothecary to Ar- 
thur Gale; and that Thomas Loveran was put 
as an apprentice to a clothier at Dedham, some 
six miles from Aldham ; that the latter in 1667, 
went to New England, returned to Dedham, 
and in about six months went again to New 
England. 

Bond, in his Watertown genealogies, gives 
John Loveran, as one of the largest original 
proprietors there, admitted a freeman in May, 
1636, and a selectman in that year and in 1637. 
And he also gives Thomas Loveran, born in 
1638, son of William Loveran, of Aldham, 
County Suffolk, England, to John and Samuel 
town as early as 1663, and giving by will, dated 
Aug. 13, 1692, all his estate to his wife Anna 
during her life ; and after her death it to go to 
the next heir bearing the name, if he appears 
to claim it within ten years, otherwise to go to 
John Kemball, Sr., and his heirs forever. 

(I) Eobert Loverain, of Holliston, whom 
Morse has given as a probable grandson of Wil- 
liam Loveran of Aldham, England, married at 
Roxbury, Jan. 3, 1704-05, Alice Craft, who was 
born in 1678, baptized in 1681, and died in 
Holliston about 1784 in the 105th year of her 
age, and in her fifth widowhood. She was a 
daughter of Samuel and granddaughter of 
Lieut. Griffin Craft, who settled in Roxbury, 
Mass., in 1630, sailing from England with 
Winthrop's party of colonists. Their children 
were: Elizabeth, born May 19, 1708, in Rox- 
bury; Robert, born Sept. 26, 1710; William, 
born March 1, 1713, in Roxbury; Samuel, born 
Dec. 5, 1715; Joseph, born probably in Boston. 

From this Robert and Alice (Craft) Loverain 
the descent of the several Lovering brothers of 
Taunton, alluded to in the foregoing, is through 
Joseph, Thaddeus, William and Willard Lover- 
ing. These generations in the order named and 
somewhat in detail follow. 

(II) Joseph Loverain, son of Robert, born 
probably in Boston, Mass., married ffirst) Han- 



nah, who died in March, 1759, and (second) 
Mercy. He settled in the town of Holliston, 
Mass., where he died Oct. 14, 1771. His chil- 
dren, all born in Holliston, were: Craft, born 
Oct. 14, 1731; Thaddeus, Sept. 6, 1735; Mary, 
June 10, 1739; Mary (2), Jan. 7, 1742; Eliza- 
beth, Oct. 23, 1750; Mercy, March 19, 1758; 
Joseph, April 26, 1760; Sylvanus, Dec. 18, 
1761 ; and Rhoda, June 10, 1765. 

(III) Thaddeus Lovering, son of Joseph, 
born Sept. 6, 1735, married April 25, 1765, 
Elizabeth, born April 6, 1747, daughter of 
Ephraim Littlefield, and they lived in. Hollis- 
ton, Mass. He died Dec. 4, 1799, and she 
passed away Feb. 11, 1831. Their children, all 
born in Holliston, were: Thaddeus, born July 
28, 1766; Anna, Oct. 13, 1770; Amos, June 6, 
1772; William, Jan. 16, 1775; and Gilbert, 
May 16, 1787. 

(IV) William Lovering, son of Thaddeus, 
born Jan. 16, 1775, married at Holliston, Dec. 
14, 1797, Mehitable Claflin, born June 17, 
1775. She died Sept. 14, 1842. Their chil- 
dren were: Betsy, born June 2, 1799; Willard. 
Nov. 18, 1801; Almira, Feb. 17, 1805; and 
Betsey, July 15, 1809. 

(V) WiLL.4RD Lovering, son of William 
and Mehitable (Claflin) Lovering, was bom in 
the town of Holliston, Mass., Nov. 18, 1801, 
where at farm work and in acquiring such edu- 
cation as would qualify him to teach school the 
earlier years of his boyhood and youth were 
passed. He, however, taught but a short period 
as conditions led him into other channels. He 
began in the city mills at Franklin, Mass., and 
in a most humble manner what proved to be 
a long and successful business career. This 
beginning was as an apprentice at the cotton 
business, in which he rose step by step until he 
became the owner of a mill and business. He 
seemed to have a natural taste for the walk in 
life he had cliosen, which with his energy and 
zeal led liim to rapid promotion, until finally 
he was in full charge of the mills. Such was 
his reputation that in 1830 he was placed in 
charge of the Blackstone canal corporation, 
which took him to Providence, R. I., as a place 
of residence. From the corporation just named 
he retired some three years later to assume the 
agency of the Carrington Mills, at Woonsocket, 
R. I. After an official service of some three 
years at the Carrington Mills, he became par- 
tial owner and manager of the Whittenton Mills 
and removed to Taunton, Mass. This was in 
1836. and the position he then assumed he oc- 
cupied for twenty-one years — until the failure 
of C. H. Mills & Co., the principal owners of 
the Whittenton Mills. The business and prop- 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



63 



erty of the corporation he himself purchased in 
1B58, and associated with him in business ius 
sons Charles L., William C. and Henry M. Lov- 
ering, who together, and in turn, have since 
been identified with the business. The father, 
owing to failing health, retired from active 
business in 1864. 

Mr. Lovering established in business circles 
and among his fellow citizens and acquaintances 
in general a high reputation. He was a thor- 
oughly honorable man and possessed a well 
rounded character. As intimated, he was well 
adapted for the business he learned and so suc- 
cessfully followed. He possessed rare qualifica- 
tions as a manager and attained liigh rank as a 
manufacturer. "Probably no man has done 
more for the cotton manufacturing industry in 
the vicinity of Taunton than Willard Lover- 
ing." 

As stated Mr. Lovering commenced liis busi- 
ness career in a humble way, as it were at the 
lower round of the ladder, but through the force 
of his make-up, through his industry and integ- 
rity steadily rose to position and wealth. He 
was one of the organizers of the Taunton Sav- 
ings Bank, in 1869, and became its president, 
a relation he sustained to the bank at the time 
of his death. The deposits of this bank have 
gone beyond $3,000,000 and one of his sons, 
Charles L. Lovering, has for years been vice 
president of the institution. Mr. Willard Lov- 
ering also served as president of the Taunton 
Branch Railroad. He represented Taunton in 
the State Assembly in 1865-66. He was one of 
that type of men who never neglected an oppor- 
tunity to advance the welfare of his adopted 
city. He was for nearly fifty years a promi- 
nent member of the Protestant Episcopal 
Church, identified for nearly all that period 
with St. Thomas's Church at Taunton. 

The Whittenton Mills, with which the name 
of Lovering has been so long and successfully 
identified, were incorporated with the Taunton 
Manufacturing Company in 1823, under the 
management of James K. Mills & Co., of Bos- 
ton. In 1831-32 a new stone mill was built, 
in which were placed seventy looms for the man- 
ufacture of finer grades of goods. In May, 
1835, Mills & Co. closed their connection with 
the Taunton Manufacturing Company and re- 
sumed proprietorship of the mills. In Septem- 
ber, 1836, Willard Lovering took the agency of 
the Whittenton Mills, and, becoming a joint 
proprietor, made many improvements in the 
manufacture of goods. In January, 1839, the 
older mill referred to was destroyed by fire. 
Under Mr. Lovering's management the business 
proved successful, but the Boston firm, having 



embarked in other important enterprises, closed 
their business in 1857 under the financial pres- 
sure of that year. In 1858 Mr. Lovering and 
Ids sons purchased all the property of the Whit- 
tenton Mills corporation, and inaugurated a 
period of remarkable business and manufactur- 
ing success. A few years before the death of 
Mr. Willard Lovering, Dee. 15, 1875, his sons, 
Charles L., William C. and Henry M. Lovering, 
became proprietors of the mills. In January, 
1883, the Whittenton Manufacturing Company 
was incorporated with a capital of $600,000, 
the officers being : William C. Lovering, presi- 
dent; Charles L. Lovering, treasurer; and 
Henry M. Lovering, agent and clerk. 

Mr. W^illard Lovering was twice married, 
first to Susan Longhead, born Nov. 20, 1814, 
daughter of Charles Thompson and Sarah Mil- 
ler (Thompson) Longhead, of Warren, R. I. 
She died Nov. 14, 1837, in her twenty-fourth 
year, and he married (second) Jan. 1, 1839, 
Sarah Carey, daughter of Governor Marcus and 
Charlotte (Hodges) Morton. His children 
were: Charles L., born Aug. 31, 1833; William 
C, born Feb. 25, 1835 (both born of the first 
marriage) ; Henry Morton, born July 28, 1840; 
and Charlotte Morton, born March 30, 1844. 
W^illard Lovering died Dec. 15, 1875, at his 
home in Taunton, Massachusetts. Mrs. Lover- 
ing died Jan. 18, 1886. 

Hon. Marcus Morton, father of the second 
Mrs. Lovering, was long one of the substantial 
and useful citizens and leading public men of 
his community and State. A native of Free- 
town, Mass., lie graduated from Brown Univer- 
sity in the class of 1804, became an eminent 
lawyer, represented his State in the United 
States Congress, was several times lieutenant 
governor of Massachusetts, was a .I'udge of the 
Supreme court for fifteen years, and Governor 
of Massachusetts for two terms. He was a de- 
scendant in the seventh generation from George 
Morton, who with his wife and children came 
to New England in 1623, in the schooner 
"Anne," from whom his lineage is through 
Ephraim, Eleazer, Nathaniel, Nathaniel (2) 
and Nathaniel Morton (3). 

(VI) Charles Loughead Lovering, eld- 
est son of Willard and Susan (Loughead) Lov- 
ering, was born Aug. 31, 1833, in Woonsocket, 
R. I., and came to Taunton with his father in 
1836, where he was reared and educated. He 
early developed an adaptability for the mill 
business which seemed even then destined to be 
the vocation of his life. In 1857 C. H. Mills 
k Co., who o^Tied most of the mills, failed and 
this embarrassed the concern temporarily, but 
in 1858 his father Willard Lovering, associated 



64 



SOUTHEASTEEN MASSACHUSETTS 



witli his sons, purchased the concern and mat- 
ters went smootlily with enlargements until 
18H4, when ill health caused his retirement, and 
the mills were henceforth conducted by the sons. 
Charles L. Lovermg was the energetic developer 
of the business part and the Whittenton Mills 
made a large place for themselves in the manu- 
facturing circles of the country and became as 
they are to-day, one of the main industries of 
the city and this part of ISiew England. Some 
years before his death recognition of Mr. Lov- 
ering's ability as a textile leader gave him the 
treasurership of the Massachusetts corporation, 
controlling large mills m Lowell and Georgia, 
and most of his time was thenceforth given to 
that with the principal office in Boston, but he 
still retained his attractive residence on Dean 
street m Taunton, and there toward the close 
of life he calmly and patiently awaited the final 
summons. 

Although a very busy man with large inter- 
ests to care for, Mr. Lovering was ever ready to 
promote all efforts for social, religious and phil- 
anthropic betterment. He was most energetic 
in establishing .the Union Congregational 
Church at Wliittenton, was for years active in 
its work, in the leadership of its Sunday school, 
and in charge of its music. The church in his 
death surely felt the loss of its strongest and 
closest friend. He gave freely of his time and 
his money in various other channels, was an en- 
thusiastic supporter of music in its educational 
forms, and never was known to turn aside and 
decline to help any cause or any man, woman or 
child, that could show that help was needed and 
deserved. 

Mr. Lovering was not a politician but was 
efficient at all times in the councils of the. Re- 
publican party, and in the effort to have the 
best men forward to represent the city, district 
and State. He served as alderman from the 
Eighth ward and put the same painstaking care 
into City Fall work that he did into hi« private 
business. In fart, in all ways he was a solid, 
square, kindlv and very able citizen of whom 
any municipality could justly be proud, and 
his death, even in the sunset period of life, 
comiuanded sorrow. Ho pa=sed awav at his 
home in Taunton, Mass., May 1, 1008. Of 
him the following in substance at the time of 
his death anpefjred in one of the local papers: 

By the death of Charles Longhead Lovering 
after many months of steadilv inrreasintr phys- 
ical weakness Taunton lo=cs one of its first citi- 
zens in all that givp= a man primacy in a mu- 
nicipality. For half a century he has filled 
a large nlace in Taunton's industrial, social 
and religious life, was one of the most active 



in building up manufactories and developing 
any effort which had for its object helping 
along a better manliood and womanliood. 

Mr. Lovering married Sarah E., daughter of 
Eev. Erastus Maltby. She died several years 
before her husband. Their children were: 
William M., who is unmarried; Edward, who 
married Sarah, daughter of Thompson New- 
bury, of Taunton; and Susan L., who is unmar- 
ried. 

( VI ) William C. Lovehing, second son of 
Willard and Susan (Longhead) Lovering, was 
born Eeb. 25, 1835, in Woonsocket, R. I., and 
he was but an infant when taken to Taunton. 
He was here reared and educated in the public 
schools, and also at Cambridge, Mass. At 
about the age of twenty years he entered the em- 
ploy of his father as clerk in the Whittenton 
Mills, later, as stated al)0ve, with his brothers 
and father becoming proprietor of all the prop- 
erty of the Whittenton Mills corporation and in 
January, 1883, on the incorporation of the 
Whittenton Manufacturing Company, he be- 
came its president. From the Whittenton Mills 
Mr. Lovering's interests extended to other mills 
in Taunton and New England, and he became 
a power in the cotton manufacturing industry 
of New England. He financed the first street 
railway in Taunton and introduced the water 
works system of the city. 

Mr. Lovering was greatly honored both in 
public and private life. He was for some twen- 
ty years just prior to his decease a trustee of 
the Taunton Lunatic Hospital. He was for 
years a trustee of the Bristol Academy, and for 
two years was president of the New England 
Cotton Manufacturers' Association. He. too', 
was at one time president of the Arkwright 
Club. 

In 189fi Mr. Lovering was nominated by ac- 
clamation by the Republicans of the 12th Mas- 
sachusetts district assembled in convention for 
representative in the United States Congress, 
and in the election that followed was elected 
over Mr. E. Gerry Brown, and continued a 
member by reelection the remaining years of 
his life. "He was one of the most distinguished 
representatives in congress ; he was a tariff re- 
visionist, the leader of the movement to extend 
the provisions of the drawback and make effec- 
tive the law as it was originally designed by con- 
gress, and identified with the progressive wing 
of the Republican party in all matters. He 
was deservedly popular in his district and was 
not dependent upon the party prestige for his 
strength.'' 

Mr. Lovering presided over the presidential 
convention in Boston in 1892, and was a dele- 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



65 



gate to the Chicago convention from his district 
when (jaiiield was nominated. He was conspic- 
uous in the State Senate of 1874 in the inaiter 
of rescinding the resolutions against Charles 
Sumner. Eecause of his agitation in favor of 
broad rim wheels, when in tae State Senate, he 
acquired the sobriquet of "Broad Eim," which 
ever afterward clung to him among the members 
of that body. 

Mr. Lovering served as president of the 
American Mutual Liability Insurance Com- 
pany, the board of directors of which represent 
the largest manufacturing interests in the coun- 
try. He was for many years president of the 
Bristol County Agricultural Society, and dur- 
ing that time, because of liis progressive ideas, 
many improvements were made and a large part 
of the then existing debt was paid. He was a 
past master of Ionic Lodge of Masons, having 
been master of the lodge for three years. He 
was a member of the Taunton chapter and 
Taunton council and of the Grand Army of the 
Republic. 

Mr. Lovering was one of the first to answer 
the call for troops at the breaking out of the 
Rebellion in 1861 and went out as quarter- 
master of the 2d Massachusetts Brigade, com- 
prising the 3d and 4th Regiments. He acted 
as mustering-in officer for nearly all of the 
first companies for the State service. 

On June 9, 1863, Mr. Lovering married Mary 
Loring Swasey, and to them were born chil- 
dren: Ruth, Aug. 39, 1864, married Jan. 5, 
1888, Henry Brinton Coxe, of Philadelphia, 
Pa.; Alice, April 3, 1867; Frances, Jan. 16, 
1869, married April 3, 1899, Charles Francis 
Adams (2) of Boston. Mrs. Lovering died 
Sept. 4, 1881, some years prior to the death of 
her husband, who passed away at his residence 
in Washington, D. C, in the morning of Feb. 
4, 1910, aged seventy-five years. His remains 
were brought to Taunton, Mass., where at St. 
Thomas' Episcopal Church funeral services 
were held and the remains buried in the Lover- 
ing family lot at Mt. Pleasant cemetery. 

Upon hearing of the death of Congressman 
Lovering, Gov. Eben S. Draper said: "I am 
very sorry to hear of the death of Congressman 
William C. Lovering. I knew him long and 
well. When chairman of the Republican state 
committee in 1892 I was instrumental in hav- 
ing him elected as chairman of the state con- 
vention that year, when he made an admirable 
address. Almost continuously from that time 
he has been prominent in public life. He was 
thoroughly posted on the affairs of his state and 
was an efficient public servant. His death is a 
real loss to the commonwealth." 



And said one of the local papers of the Taun- 
ton section of Massachusetts, editorially: "The 
death of Congressman William C. Lovering de- 
prives Massachusetts of the service of a dis- 
tinguished member of the delegation. Mr. 
Lovering had the habit of thinking for himself 
and had the independence to keep aloof from 
the administration machine. He gave much 
effort to the attempt to induce congress to make 
effective the drawback prin(?iple in the spirit in 
which congress originally vouchsafed it, and 
while he did not succeed in making congress 
stand its ground he established his own ability 
as a discerning statesman." 

(VI) Henhy Mohton Lovering, son of Wil- 
lard and Sarah Carey (Morton) Lovering, was 
born in Taunton July 28, 1840. He was fitted 
for college in Bristol Academy under Prof. 
Henry S. Nourse, and graduated from Brown 
University in the class of 1861, taking the de- 
gree of A. M. One of his fellow students in 
Brown was the late John Hay, noted diplomat, 
author and Secretary of State under President 
Roosevelt. After graduating he immediately 
entered business with his father. Prior to the 
incorporation in 1883 of the Whittenton Manu- 
facturing Company, he acted in the capacity of 
clerk, but was at that time made agent and 
clerk of the corporation, and is now assistant 
treasurer, having charge of the financial busi- 
ness of the concern. He was elected president 
of the Taunton National Bank in 1900, to suc- 
ceed Capt. G. A. Washburn, and has been a 
director since 1895. He is a trustee of the 
Taunton Savings Bank; president of the Taun- 
ton- New Bedford Copper Company; president 
of the Taunton Dye Works & Bleachery Com- 
pany; president of the Taunton board of water 
commissioners, having been a member of the 
board since 1880; president of the Old Colony 
Historical Society, to which organization he 
has given his hearty support in all ways which 
might promote its general welfare ; and a mem- 
ber of the Massachusetts Historical Society. In 
his religious belief and connections he is a sin- 
cere churchman, being a member and senior 
warden of St. Thomas's Episcopal Church of 
Taunton. He was a deputy to the lower house 
of the triennial general convention of the Epis- 
copal Church held at Richmond, Va., in October, 
1907, and deputy to the general convention 
held in Cincinnati in October, 1910. He is a 
member of the Winthro]) Club, of Taunton, and 
of the Union Club, of Boston, having joined the 
latter in about 1887. Mr. Lovering is a Repub- 
lican in his political affiliations, and has served 
both as councilman and as alderman of the city. 
His participation in politics has been limited, 



66 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



his large business interests demanding his en- 
tire attention. 

On June 28, 1864, Mr. Lovering married 
Isabet Francelia Morse, daughter of Jason 
Morse, of Taunton, Mass. They have had chil- 
dren as follows: Edith, born April 11, 1867, 
married Oct. 27, 1897, James Hartley Merrick, 
of Philadelphia, Pa., and she died in July, 
1910; Mabel, born May 15, 1870, married Jan. 
15, 1898, Horatio Hathaway, Jr., of New Bed- 
ford, Mass.; Charlotte Morton, born Nov. 25, 
1873; Henry Morton, Jr., born Aug. 3, 1877, 
died July 25, 1898; and Dorothy, born Feb. 7, 
1882, married A. Loring Swasey, of Taunton. 

LINCOLN. From the pioneer days at the 
settlement at Hingham and Taunton the Lin- 
coln family has been a continuous one in that 
region of Massachusetts ; one of prominence in 
the start, it has maintained itself both here and 
in the country at large and in both has long 
since become numerous. It has been claimed 
by the late Hon. Solomon Lincoln that all the 
Lincolns in Massachusetts are descendants of 
the Lincolns who settled in Hingham in 1636 
and 1638. He says: "We have evidence of 
authentic records that the early settlers of Hing- 
ham of the name of Lincoln were four, bearing 
the name of Thomas, di.stinguished from each 
other by their occupations, as miller, weaver, 
cooper and husbandman; Stephen (brother of 
the husbandman) ; Daniel, and Samuel (brother 
of the weaver)." He adds "our claim is that 
the early settlers of Hingham above enumerated 
were the progenitors of all the Lincolns of the 
country. From Hingham the Lincolns trace 
their early home to Norfolk County, England." 

(I) Of the Hingham Lincolns alluded to, 
Thomas Lincoln, the miller, came from old 
England to New England in 1635, and in July 
of the year following (1636) had a house lot 
of five acres granted to him in Hingham, where 
he had settled, and later other lots were granted 
him for planting purposes. Not far from 1650 
he removed with his family to Taunton, where 
Dec. 10, 1665, he married for his second wife 
Elizabeth Street, probably widow of Francis. 
Mr. Lincoln was an early miller in Taunton, 
and became owner of the mill lot in 1649. He 
continued proprietor of the mill about thirty- 
three years, when at his death his sons John 
and Samuel came into possession of it. In 
1688-89 Robert Crossman purchased the prop- 
erty and in the same year the dam and mill 
were rebuilt and a fulling mill added. These 
mills became well known as Crossman's mills 
and continued in use until 1823, when they 
gave place to others. It was in the old grist- 



mill that in 1675 the pioneers met for peaceful 
interview King Pliilip and bis chiefs. Thomas 
Liiicfilu had a house on the mill lot, west of 
the mill, and became a large land holder. He 
died in 1683. He and his son Thomas were lu 
the second list of the thirty-five persons who 
shared in the division of the original lands of 
Cohannet (Taunton). They and their families 
were identified with the early settlement and 
were prominent in the public aft'airs of the 
community. The children of Thomas Lincoln, 
all born to his first marriage, were : (1) Thomas, 
baptized in Hingham in February, 1637-38, 
became an early resident of Taunton. He 
married (first) Mary, daughter of Jonah Aus- 
tin, and their children, all probably born in 
Taunton, were: Samuel, Sarah, Hannah, Con- 
stance, Jonah, Mercy and Experience. (2) 
John, probaljly born in England, removed to 
Hingham with his parents and later became a 
resident of Taunton. The Christian name of 
his wife was Edith, and their children, all bom 
in Taunton, were: John, Thomas, Mary, Dan- 
iel and Josiah. (3) Samuel is mentioned below. 
(4) Sarah and (5) Mary completed the family. 

(II) Samuel Lincoln, son of Thomas, also 
became a resident of Taunton. The Christian 
name of his wife was Catharine, and their chil- 
dren, all probably born in Taunton, were : Sam- 
uel, Hannah, Tamson, Elizabeth, Ebenezer, 
Rachel, John, Thomas and Daniel. 

(III) Samuel Lincoln (2), son of Samuel 
and Catharine, married Experience, daughter 
of Jonathan and Experience Briggs, of Taun- 
ton. Their children were: Ambrose, Samuel, 
Ebenezer, Experience, Elizabeth, Nathaniel and 
Benjamin. 

(IV) Ambrose Lincoln, son of Samuel (2), 
married Hannah Clapp, of Walpole, Mass., and 
they had children : Hepzibah, who married 
Sept. 19, 1771, Solomon Witherell ; Rachel; 
Ezekiel ; Ambrose, Jr., who married Jan. 26, 
1783, Lois Smith; Thomas, born Sept. 4, 1759; 
and perhaps Hannah and Mary. 

(V) Gex. Thomas Lincoln, son of Ambrose 
and Hannah (Clapp), born Sept. 4, 1759, mar- 
ried Oct. 24, 1784 (intentions published), 
Esther Newland, who was born in Norton, 
Mass., May 23, 1766. Gen. Thomas Lincoln 
was largely employed in public business, and 
was a justice of the peace for a long term of 
years. Most of the years of his long life were 
spent on the farm where he was born, which 
was later owned and occupied by his son 
Theodore L. Lincoln. He was a member of 
the board of selectmen for ten consecutive years, 
from 1812 to 1821. He was sent to Boston as 
a delegate to several conventions, and was a 




lAfiattn-^'^ 



'^' 



>Oi 



„, ^ J a«i ,.-» jr <i,T7ri 



^/^i^Jo^ .J^^^^ ets^t^ 



SOUTHEASTEEN MASSACHUSETTS 



67 



representative to the General Court tor tiie years 
1815 and 1816. His military career began early 
in life, for at about the age of eighteen he was 
serving as a private in Captain Snow's company 
in the war of the Revolution. He was captain 
of a company in 1791, and was commissioned 
major Sept. 3, 1795. From 1805 to May 18, 
1809, he held the rank of lieutenant colonel and 
colonel, and June 26, 1807, during the embargo, 
he was in command of the 3d Regiment of 
the Bristol County Brigade, as lieutenant 
colonel. On May 18, 1809, he was commis- 
sioned brigadier general of the Bristol County 
Brigade, and held that otEce until his resigna- 
tion in 1814, receiving his discharge May 19th 
of that year. He passed through every grade 
from commander of a company to commander 
of a brigade, and was a capable and efficient 
officer through all. He died Aug. 10, 1836, and 
his widow on Dec. 21st of the same year. To 
Gen. Thomas Lincoln and his wife, Esther 
(Newland), were born: Thomas, Jr., born July 
10, 1785 (died Sept. 16, 1813, at Sacketts Har- 
bor) ; Esther, April 9, 1787; Amos, May 3, 
1789; Hepzibah, April 5, 1791; Rachel, Feb. 
20, 1793; Betsey, Feb. 10, 1795 (married 
Nathaniel Newcomb) ; Charlotte, March 13, 
1797; Timothy, March 7, 1799; Theodore 
Leonard, March 13, 1801 ; George Morey, Sept. 
8, 1803; Hannah Clapp, March 1, 1807; and 
Mary, March 14, 1812. 

The likeness of General Lincoln which ap- 
pears herewith was copied from a portrait 
painted in 1828 and now owned by his grand- 
daughter, Miss Harriot A. Newcomb, of Nor- 
ton, and was inserted by her. 

(VI) Theodore Leonard Lincoln, born 
March 13, 1801, son of Gen. Thomas and 
Esther (Newland) Lincoln, married Oct. 16, 
1831, Belinda Gary. He died July 14, 1887, 
and she May 9, 1881. Their children,all born 
in Taunton, were: (1) Belinda L., born Dec. 
14 (town record Dec. 12), 1832, died Jan. 5, 
1907. She married Rev. Charles A. Snow, and 
their children were: Irving A., born Sept. 28, 
1857 (died Aug. 4, 1866) ; Mary A., born Nov. 
15, 1859 ; Joseph L., born Feb. 19, 1862 ; Fred- 
erick A. G., born Nov. 16, 1864 (died Aug. 8, 
1866); Bertrand R., born Sept. 14, 1867; 
Daniel C. born May 1, 1870; and Grace M., 
born April 10, 1875. (2) Caroline, born June 
4, 1834, married Henry P. Crocker, and lives 
at Raynham. She has two children: Alice L., 
born Dec. 30, 1863; and Theodore L., born 
Sept. 15, 18G5. (3) Fanny, born Sept. 26, 
1836, died Jan. 20,. 1864. (4) Theodore Gary, 
born June 11, 1839, is mentioned below. (5) 
Jane, born Jan. 3, 1842, married Gustavus L. 



Wilbur, and had children: Jennie B., born in 
July, 1864, who died Nov. 19, 1904; Mary; 
and Harry L., born July 17, 1872. (6) Henry 
F., born Aug. 14, 1844, married Edna A. 
Lothrop, and has two children : Annie E., born 
June 2, 1874; and Ada F., born Oct. 4, 1883. 
(7) Daniel was born Dec. 3, 1848. 

Theodore Leonard Lincoln passed his early 
life on his father's farm and in attendance for 
a few months each year at the neighboring dis- 
trict school. He was prepared for college at 
the Phillips Academy in Andover, Mass., and 
at the University Grammar School in Provid- 
ence. The latter school was then under the 
care of Jesse Hartwell (B. U., 1819), afterward 
president of the Mount Lebanon University. 
In college he was a classmate of the late Barnas 
Sears, president of Brown University, 1855- 
1867. After his graduation from college in 1825, 
he read law in Taunton under the late Theo- 
philus Parsons, and was admitted to the bar 
m 1828. He continued in the practice of his 
profession but a few years, when at the death 
of his father he came into possession of the 
paternal estate and retired to the old homestead 
where he spent the remainder of his life in 
agricultural pursuits. Here he lived quietly 
for more than half a century, enjoying the re- 
spect and esteem of his neighbors and towns- 
men, a genial gentleman of the old school, nev- 
er aspiring to official or political positions. He 
was a justice of the peace for several years, but 
could not be persuaded to accept any more pub- 
lic office. 

(VII) Theodohe Gary Lincoln, son of 
Theodore Leonard and Belinda, born June 11, 
1839, married March 18, 1862, Sarah Ellen, 
born March 24, 1840, daughter of Cornelius 
and Eleanor (Smith) Lothrop. To this union 
were born children as follows: Frederick T., 
born April 26, 1863, who died May 18, 1889; 
Louis L., born Nov. 1, 1870; Alfred N., born 
Dec. 15, 1871; Frank 0., born Jan. 21, 1874; 
and Helen B., born July 18, 1876. 

Theodore G. Lincoln was educated in the 
Lothrop school in North Taunton and fitted for 
college at Bristol Academy. He entered Brown 
University, the alma mater of his father, with 
the intention of taking the full college course, 
but on account of ill health was obliged to leave 
college after an attendance of one year. He then 
entered the Whittenton store, at Whittenton, 
Mass., conducted by Mr. Farnham. After a 
period he began farming in North Taunton, 
and later he entered the shipping department 
of the T'aunton Tack Company, of whose plant 
he eventually became superintendent, his whole 
service with this company covering a period of 



68 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



eleven years, and terminating in 1889. During 
this period he resided in North Taunton until 
1884, when he removed to Ingalls street, re- 
maining there until 1889, when he bought the 
place of sixty-five acres at No. 215 County 
street where he spent the balance of his days. 
In this home he was much interested, and 
on it he built the present set of excel- 
lent buildings. He was one of Taunton's 
successful and representative men. , While 
a stanch Republican in politics and much 
interested in public affairs, he neither held 
nor aspired to public office. Of him at 
the time of his death, April 28, 1907, the News- 
Herald of Taunton said : "Mr. Lincoln was a 
man of the highest integrity. He was out- 
spoken in his opinions, and they were fair and 
honest opinions and high principles of justice. 
His home life was admirable, and he was a 
kind husband and father who made the family 
and its well-being the chief concern of his life." 

CHANDLER (Boston-East Bridgewater 
family). This Boston-East Bridgewater Chand- 
ler family, the head of which was the late Hon. 
Peleg Whitman Chandler, long one of the lead- 
ing counselors of the Commonwealth of Massa- 
chusetts, and one of a family of lawyers, comes 
of a Massachusetts-Maine branch of the ancient 
Duxbury family whose progenitor was Edmund 
Chandler. The branch just alluded to for sever- 
al generations at New Gloucester and Bangor, 
Maine, and at Boston in this Commonwealth, 
has been one of liberal education, college-bred 
men, men who have adorned the legal profes- 
sion, and it has allied itself through genera- 
tions with a number of the ancient and first 
families of the Old Colony. 

Here in East Bridgewater the family is repre- 
sented by one of the sons of Horace Parker 
Chandler, Esq., of Boston, and grandson of 
the distinguished late Hon. Peleg Whitman 
Chandler of that city. This East Bridgewater 
citizen, Cleaveland Angler Chandler, is in the 
midst of the activities of this section. He may 
justly take pride in the careers of his long line 
of Massachusetts forbears, in the many of them 
connected as patriots with that memorable strug- 
gle of the Colonies for independence, among 
whom were Peleg Chandler, member of the 
Committee of Safety of New Gloucester, Maine, 
1778-1783; Hugh Orr, appointed on the Com- 
mittee for Plymouth county, Mass., to raise 
men for New York and Canada, employed to 
make arms, and under whose superintendence a 
foundry was erected for casting cannon ; Oakes 
Angier, who signed the Association Test at 
Bridgewater; Isaac Parsons, captain. Colonel 



Prince's regiment. May 2 — Dec. 31, 1780, ser- 
vice at the eastward; Edward Howard, who 
signed the Association Test, 1776; Parker 
Cleaveland, who served as chaplain at several 
stations during the Revolution, notably Cam- 
bridge, in Connecticut and on the Hudson; 
Parker Cleaveland, Jr., sergeant. Col. Paul D. 
Sergeant's 16tli Massachusetts regiment. May 22 
— July 31, 1775; Ephraim Hathaway, captain 
3d company, 2d Bristol County regiment, April 
26, 1776, captain. Colonel Pope's regiment, 
service at Rhode Island on the alarm of Dec. 
8, 1776, captain, Col. Thomas Carpenter's 
regiment, July 20, 1777, to Aug. 24, 1777, ser- 
vice in Rhode Island; Sylvanus Lazel, private, 
Captain Orr's company, Col. John Bailley's 
regiment, at Lexington alarm, private, Capt. 
David Kingman's company, Col. Edward 
Mitchell's regiment, alarm Squautum, March, 
1776; Edward Mitchell, colonel, 3d Plymouth 
County regiment, Aug. 31, 1775, same, regiment 
Feb. 7, 1776, same for service at Bristol, Rhode 
Island, Dec. 8, 1776. 

There follows in chronological order from 
Edmund Chandler, the first American ancestor 
of this branch of American Chandlers, and in 
detail the family history and genealogy. 

(I) Edmund Chandler appears an inhabitant 
of Duxbury, where he was made a freeman in 
1633. He was constable of the town in 1636-37. 
In his will, proved June 4, 1662, he mentions 
children: Samuel, Benjamin, Joseph, Sarah, 
Ann, Mary and Ruth. His death occurred in 
1662. 

(II) Joseph Chandler, son of Edmund, mar- 
ried and had children : John, who married 
Sarah Weston; Joseph; Edmund, and Benja-_ 
min. 

(III) Joseph Chandler (2), son of Joseph, 
married in 1701, Martha Hunt, and their chil- 
dren were born as follows: Philip, 1702; Mary, 
1704; Joshua, 1706; Zachariah, 1708; Edmund, 
1710; Ebenezer, 1712; Sarah, 1714; Martha, 
1716; Jonathan, 1718; Judah, 1720. 

(IV) Philip Chandler, son of Joseph (2), 
born in 1702, married in 1725 Rebecca, daugh- 
ter of Thomas Phillips, and lived in Duxbury. 
Their children were: Nathan, born in 1726; 
Betty, 1728; Perez, 1730; Esther and Martha 
(twins), 1732; Peleg, 1735; Philip, 1738 (mar- 
ried Christian, daughter of Blaney Phillip) ; 
Asa, 1743; Mary, 1744; and Elijah, 1747. 

(V) Peleg Chandler, son of Philip and Re- 
becca (Phillips) Chandler, born April 27, 1735, 
in Duxbury, Mass., married at North Yar- 
mouth, Maine, Dec. 9, 1762, Sarah, daughter 
of Barnabas Winslow, who was a direct descend- 
ant of Kenelm Winslow, who with his brother 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



69 



Josiah, both brothers of Gov. Edward Winslow, 
came from Droitwitch, Worcestershire, England, 
probably in 1629, at least were here Jan. 1, 
1632-33, when Kenelm was made a freeman. 
He removed from Plymouth to Marshfield about 
1641. 

After tlieir marriage Mr. Peleg Chandler and 
wife removed from North Yarmouth, Maine, 
to New Gloucester, in that State, a distance of 
some fifteen miles, being conveyed thither in an 
ox-cart, the first wheeled vehicle that had been 
used to perform that journey. Mr. and Mrs. 
Chandler were two of the five members who com- 
posed the first Orthodox Congregational Church 
in the town. Both died in New Gloucester, he 
Aug. 24, 1819, and she in 1823. Their children, 
all born in New Gloucester, were : Mercy, born 
Sept. 16, 1763, married Fisher Hatch; Sarah, 
born Dec. 13, 1765, died in 1776; Philip, born 
May 23, 1767, married Deborah Hewett and 
(second) Jane (Moody), of Portland, Maine; 
Martha, born Aug. 12, 1769, married Capt. 
Isaac Parsons; Peleg, born July 26, 1771, died 
in 1773; Peleg (2) was born Sept. 9, 1773; 
George Washington, born Dec. 7, 1775, died 
Feb. 9, 1778; Sarah, born June 27, 1778, died 
Dec. 3, 1780; Salome, born Sept. 22, 1783, 
married Dexi;er Bearce; Samuel, born Aug. 11, 
1785, died in September, 1785. 

(VI) Peleg Chandler (2), son of Peleg, born 
Sept. 9, 1773, in New Gloucester, Maine, mar- 
ried there Dec. 7, 1797, Esther, born Jan. 18, 
1775, in New Gloucester, daughter of Col. Isaac 
Parsons, and his wife Salome (Merrill), he 
a direct descendant of JafErey Parsons, of Glou- 
cester, Mass., through Deacon Isaac Parsons. 

Peleg Chandler was graduated from Brown 
University with the class of 1795. He studied 
law and settled in its practice in .his native 
town, remaining there until 1826, when he re- 
moved from New Gloucester to Bangor, Maine. 
He held the office of judge. He died Jan. 18, 
1847. The children of Peleg and Esther (Par- 
sons) Chandler, all born in New Gloucester, 
Maine, were : Betsy Parsons, born Sept. 5, 
1798, married Dr. Josiah Deane; Esther Par- 
sons, born Aug. 20, 1800, died in that same year ; 
Charles Parsons, born Oct. 29, 1801, died in 
1857 ; Hannah Anderson, born Sept. 18, 1803, 
died in 1808; Sarah M. W., born Dec. 13, 1805, 
married Rev. Ariel P. Chute ; Theophilus P., 
born Oct. 13, 1807, married Eliza J. Schlatter; 
Hannah A., born June 13, 1809, married Wil- 
liam H. Ropes; Esther Parsons, born Jan. 24, 
1812, married Henry Quincy Andrews; Horace 
Philip, born April 13, 1814, died in 1818; 
Peleg Whitman was born April 12, 1816. 

(VII) Peleg Whitman Chandler, son of 



Peleg (2), was bom April 12, 1816, in New 
Gloucester, Maine. He was graduated in 1834 
at the Bangor Theological Seminary and at 
Bowdoin College in 1837. He studied law with 
his father and at the Harvard Law School and 
was admitted to the Suifolk bar. He located 
in the practice in Boston, was a city council- 
man, 1843-45, and president of the council the 
two last years; representative, 1845-47; city 
solicitor, 1845-53; Fourth of July city orator 
in 1844; trustee of Bowdoin College, and re- 
ceived the degree of LL. D. from Bowdoin in 
1867. He published two volumes of noted 
criminal trials and was connected for some time 
with the editorial management of the Boston 
Daily Advertiser. 

The Boston office of city solicitor was not 
established until 1827, the city having begun 
and continued for more than five years without 
a law department. Mr. Chandler succeeded as 
city solicitor perhaps one of the most learned 
men in the service of Boston — John Pickering 
— and he left two monuments behind him, the 
city code of '50 and the charter of '54. Mr. 
Chandler died in Boston, Mass., May 28, 1889. 

Mr. Chandler married Martha Ann, daugh- 
ter of Prof. Parker Cleaveland (Harvard, Col- 
lege, 1799), for years the leading geologist of 
the United States, at Bowdoin College. Their 
children were: Ellen Maria (died April 13, 
1908), Horace Parker, and Parker Cleaveland 
(died March 20, 1908). 

(VIII) Parker Cleaveland Chandler, son 
of Peleg Whitman and Martha Ann (Cleave- 
land) Chandler, was born Dec. 7, 1848, in Bos- 
ton, and was fitted for college at the Boston 
Latin School. He was graduated from Williams 
College in the class of 1872. He studied law 
in the office of his father, who had long been 
one of the foremost counselors at law in Massa- 
chusetts, and at the Harvard Law School, from 
which institution he was graduated in 1874. 
He was admitted to the Suffolk bar in 1875 
and practiced in Boston and New York, almost 
exclusive!}'' engaged in corporation matters. 

Mr. Chandler was managing counsel in the 
famous contest covering seven years of the 
Drawbaugh Telephone Company vs. the Ameri- 
can Bell Telephone Company; was the repre- 
sentative of Cyrus W. Field in the New York 
&' New England railroad litigation of 1888; and 
was for some years counsel for the Baltimore & 
Ohio Railroad Company; the Boston gas com- 
panies, and several electrical corporations. Mr. 
Chandler followed in his father's footsteps as 
an adviser in affairs of state as well as of 
law, keeping in touch with politics and social 
life. He was one of the originators of the Bris- 



70 



SOUTHEASTEEN MASSACHUSETTS 



tow movement within the Eepublican party in 
1876, which was the earliest movement to 
advance civil service reform. Later, in the 
campaign for the Republican Presidential nom- 
ination, in 1880, he was manager for Senator 
John Sherman; and during the heated Butler 
campaigns in Massachusetts he had charge of 
the Citizens' reform movement in Boston, and 
at that time drew the original drafts for the 
present registration laws of the State. He also 
gave much time to the study of the science of 
municipal government, and wrote for the press 
on political questions. With all his activity in- 
politics he never aspired to public office. 

Mr. Chandler was a member of numerous 
clubs in Boston and New York, among them 
the University Clubs of both cities, and the 
Union, Algonquin, St. Botolph and Athletic 
Clubs of Boston. He died in New York City 
March 20, 1908. 

(VIII) Horace Parker Chandler, son of 
Peleg Whitman and brother of Parker Cleave- 
land Chandler, was born in Boston, Sept. 13, 
1842. After graduating from Harvard, in 
1864, he entered the real estate business in Bos- 
ton, where he still resides, having become one 
of the best known men in his line in that city. 
He has engaged extensively in the business, and 
aside from his prominence in that line is one of 
the leading citizens of Boston. He was mar- 
ried in East Bridgewater, Mass., to Grace W. 
Mitchell, a native of Philadelphia, Pa., daugh- 
ter of James H. Mitchell, and a descendant of 
one of the oldest and most prominent families, 
who was born in East Bridgewater and lived 
there. Six children have been born to Mr. 
and Mrs. Chandler : Cleaveland Angler ; Grace ; 
Whitman Mitchell, who died Sept. 27, 1899; 
Ellen; James Mitchell, who was a student at 
Bowdoin College ; and Peleg Whitman. 

(IX) Cleaveland Angier Chandleu, son 
of Horace Parker Chandler, was born Sept. 
28, 1867, in Chicago; 111., and was reared in 
Boston, receiving his early education in the 
Boston Latin School there and later attending 
St. Paul's School at Concord, N. H. In 1886 
he became a member of the editorial staff of 
the Boston Globe, with which paper he was con- 
nected for a period of fifteen years, during 
which time he rose to the position of assistant 
to the managing editor. After leaving the 
Globe office he became one of the owners of the 
H. B. Humphrey Advertising Company, at 
No. 44 Federal street. Boston, being connected 
with that concern as vice president, and through 
his long experience in newspaper work he has 
succeeded in making a great success of the 
enterprise. Mr. Chandler is not only a busi- 



ness man of remarkable talent, but he is a man 
of refined tastes and high culture, progressive 
and public-spirited, and one who is an acquisi- 
tion to the community in wliich he has elected 
to make his jioine. Since taking up his resi- 
dence in East Bridgewater, where he moved 
permanently in 1906, he has interested him- 
self in its growth and progress. He is presi- 
dent of the East Bridgewater Board of Trade, 
chainnan of the East Bridgewater board of 
health, chairman of the East Bridgewater sewer 
commission, and member of the East Bridge- 
water school committee. He is independent in 
local political matters but Republican on na- 
tional questions. Mr. Chandler is also vice 
president of the Massachusetts State Board of 
Trade; secretary treasurer of the Old Colony 
Union ; treasurer of the Plymouth County Cam- 
paign Committee and Club; and also a member 
of the Boston Athletic Association; Boston 
Yacht Club ; Massachusetts Society, Sons of the 
American Revolution; Society of Alayflower 
Descendants; Bostonian Society; Eleusis Lodge, 
A. F. & A. M. ; St. Andrew's Royal Arch Chap- 
ter; Boston Council, Royal and Select Masters; 
St. Bernard Commandery, Knights Templar; 
Royal Arcanum ; Boston Sales Managers Club ; 
transportation committee, Pilgrim Publicity 
Association, and publicity committee, Boston 
Chamber of Commerce. 

In October, 1897, in East Bridgewater, Mr. 
Chandler married Louise Prescott AUen, daugh- 
ter of Granville C. and Abbie Louise (Ballou) 
Allen, and four children have been bom to 
them: Elizabeth Allen, Whitman Mitchell, 
Louise Cushing and Parker Cleaveland. 



Allen. The Allen family, to which Mrs. 
Chandler belongs, is one of the oldest in East 
Bridgewater or, indeed, in Massachusetts. We 
giveHier line from the emigrant ancestor, Sam- 
uel Allen, from whom she is descended in the 
ninth generation. 

(I) Samuel Allen (the first of this line 
in New England) and his wife Ann resided in 
Braintree, Mass. She died in 1641, and he 
married (second) Sarah, daughter of Lieut. 
Josiah Standish. Children: Samuel, Joseph. 
James, Sarah. Mary (married Nathaniel Green- 
wood in 1655) and Abigail (married John Gary 
in 1670). 

(II) Samuel Allen (2), born in 1632, settled 
in 1660 in what is now East Bridgewater, and 
was the second clerk of the town. He mar- 
ried Sarah Partridge, of Duxbury, who was 
born in 1639, daughter of George Partridge. 
Mr. Allen died in 1703. His children were 
born as follows: Samuel, 1660; Essiel, 1663; 



SOUTHEASTEKN MASSACHUSETTS 



71 



Mehitabel, 1665; Sarah, 1667 (who was first 
married to Jonathan Cary and later to Ben- 
jamin Snow) ; Bethiah, 1669 (married John 
Pryor) ; Nathaniel, 1672; Ebenezer, 1674; 
Josiah, 1677; Elisha, 1679; Nehemiah, 1681. 

(III) Ebenezer Allen, born in 1674, lived 
in East Bridgewater, where he died in 1730. 
In 1698 he married Eebeckah Scate, and they 
had children as follows: Sarah, born in 1699, 
who married Jonathan Crooker; Rebekah, bom 
in 1701, who died unmarried; Jacob, bom in 
1702; Jemina, born in 1704, who married 
David Pratt; Abigail, bom in 1706, who mar- 
ried Samuel Smith ; John, born in 1708 ; Ebene- 
zer, born in 1709; Ephraim, born in 1711; 
Isaac, born in 1719; Joshua; James; and 
Deborah. 

(IV) Jacob Allen, born in 1702, in East 
Bridgewater, met an accidental death, a cart 
running over liim. In 1730 he married Abigail 
Kingman, daughter of Henry Kingman, and 
they had a family of seven children : Abigail, 
born in 1730 (married Jonathan Randall) ; 
Jonathan, born in 1732; Jemima, born in 1735 
(married a Randall); Jacob, born in 1739; 
Ephraim, born in 1743; Josiah, born in 1746; 
and Ephraim, born in 1747. The mother of 
this family died in 1770. 

(V) Jonathan Allen, son of Jacob, was born 
in East Bridgewater in 1732, and in 1755 mar- 
ried Sarah Bass, daughter of Capt. Jonathan 
Bass, who was a relative of John Quincy Adams. 
They had two children : Batlisheba, born in 
1759, who married Capt. Isaac Whitman, and 
Barzillai, born in 1767. The mother died in 
1777, at the age of forty-one years, the father 
in 1780, aged forty-seven. He was a soldier in 
the Revolution, and a good citizen in every 
way. 

(VI) Deacon Barzillai Allen, son of Jona- 
than, born in 1767, maVried in 1796 (first) 
Joanna Bonney, daughter of William Bonney. 
She died in 1799. at the age of twenty-five years, 
leaving one child, Clara, born in 1797, who 
became the wife of Frederick Whitman and 
resided in Boston. . In 1803 Mr. Allen mar- 
ried (second) Lucy Baldwin, daughter of Rev. 
Samuel Baldwin, and to this union were bom 
five children, as follows: Sarah Bass, 1804 
(married Freedom Whitman as his second 
wife); Samuel Baldwin, 1807; Lucy, 1810; 
Abigail, 1812; and William, 1815 (graduated 
from Brown University in 1837). 

(VII) Samuel Baldwin Allen, born in 1807 
in East Bridgewater, grew to manhood there 
and became a store-keeper in that part of tBe 
town now known as Elmwood. He was quite 
prominent in the militia, and held the commis- 



sion of captain. All liis life was spent in the 
town, and he died there. He married Elizabeth 
McGoon Simmons, daughter of Levi Simmons. 

(VIII) Granville Gushing Allen, born Oct. 
28, 1850, in East Bridgewater, in the section 
known as Elmwood, received his education in 
the district schools and at Bridgewater Acad- 
emy. Upon commencing work he was employed 
at the shoe business, wliich he learned thor- 
oughly, and after several years engaged in the 
sale of shoes at Boston, where he conducted 
a successful shoe store for many years. He is 
now retired, making his home in Boston, 
though he spends the summers at East Bridge- 
water. 

In 1870 Mr. Allen married Abbie Louise 
Ballou, daughter of Henry Giles and Lucy" 
(Lane) Ballou. Their daughter, Louise Pres- 
cott, married Cleaveland A. Chandler. 

KEITH. The Keitli family, wliich has had 
worthy and honored representatives in the late 
Charles Perkins Keith, who was one of the 
highly respected citizens of North Bridgewater 
(now Brockton), and his sons, the present Pres- 
ton Bond Keith and Rufus Perkins Keith, all 
of whom have been prominently identified with 
the industrial, moral and social circles of the 
community in which their lives have been spent, 
is as ancient a one as is found in that part of 
the Commonwealth. Bridgewater. as originally, 
was the first interior settlement in the Old 
Colony, the grant of the plantation being made 
in 1645, but the actual settlement was not com- 
menced until after 1650, the first lots being 
taken up in the West parish, and there the first 
house was built and the first improvements 
made, the proprietors and inhabitants practic- 
ally all coming from Duxbury. From the an- 
isient town of Bridgewater have since been set 
off the towns of East Bridgewater, West Bridge- 
water and North Bridgewater, the latter since 
becoming the thriving city of Brockton. The 
first settlements being made in the West par- 
ish, the first churcli was built there. While the 
settlement was thus early made and the church 
formed, the society had no regular settled pas- 
tor until the coming thither, in 1664, of Rev. 
James Keith, who was born in Scotland, and 
emigrated to this country at the age of eighteen 
years. From the Rev. James Keith have de- 
scended practically all those bearing the name 
in this Commonwealth. 

Across the sea the Keiths were among the 
most ancient families in Europe. While some 
of the nobility of Scotland were originally 
"Scots, others at different times came to that 
country from foreign lands. To the latter class 



72 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



belonged the Keiths, it being the supposition 
that the ancient family derived its origin from 
one Robert, a chieftain among the Catti, who 
was of German origin, from which it is said 
came the surname Keith. At the battle of Pan- 
bridge, in 1006, he slew with his own hands 
Camus, general of the Danes, and King Mal- 
comb, perceiving this achievement, dipped his 
fingers in Camus's blood and drew red strokes, 
or pales, on the top of Robert's shield, which 
have since been included in the armorial bear- 
ings of his descendants. As a reward for this 
signal bravery King Malcomb bestowed upon 
him several lands, particularly the Barony of 
Keith, in East Lothian, after his own name, 
and from which his posterity assumed their 
surname. The King also appointed him here- 
ditary great marischal of Scotland, which high 
office continued in the family until the year 
1715, when the last Earl engaged in the Re- 
bellion and forfeited his estate and honors, and 
this ended the family's tenure of the ofiBce of 
marshal, after serving their country in a direct 
capacity upward of seven hundred years. The 
last and tenth Earl was colonel of the Guards 
under Queen Anne, but during the Rebellion, 
in 1715, he joined the service of the king of 
Prussia, and died unmarried near Potsdam May 
28, 1778, in his eighty-sixth year. His brother 
James became a field marshal in the service of 
Peter the Great of Russia, afterward served 
with the same rank in the Prussian army, 
and after many signal services was killed 
at Hochkirch in a battle with the Aus- 
trians, in 1758; a superb monument erected to 
his memory at Berlin, by order of the king 
of Prussia, testifies to the estimation in which 
he was held by that illustrious monarch. As 
will be noted in the foregoing, a family dating 
back to the Tenth century, enrolling among its 
members the names of many noted and famous 
characters in the history of the Old World, has 
good claims to the consideration of its descend- 
ants. The ancestral line of this branch of the 
family from the American progenitor, which 
follows, is given in chronological order. 

(I) Rev. James Keith was born in 1644, 
and was educated at Aberdeen, Scotland, where 
he was graduated, likely, from Marischal Col- 
lege, his name appearing upon the roll of that 
college in 1657, said college having been 
founded by George, the fifth Earl of Keith 
Marischal, in 1593. Rev. James Keith, as 
tradition says, was educated at the expense of 
a maiden aunt. At the age of eighteen years 
he emigrated to this country, arriving in Bos- 
ton in 1662. He was introduced to the church 
at Bridgewater by Dr. Increase Mather, whom 



he always esteemed as Ms patron and best 
friend. Rev. Mr. Keith is referred to in the 
records of the church as "a student of divin- 
ity, having some competent time improved his 
gifts amongst them, in the work of the minis- 
try, and having also due approbation, by the 
testimony of the Reverend Elders of other 
churches of Christ, to whom he was known." 
His settlement in Bridgewater took place Feb. 
18, 1664, upon the following terms: "A double 
house lot of twelve acres, with a house built 
thereon; a purchase right, so called, being a 
fifty-sixth part of the original grant; and forty 
pounds annual salary, twenty pounds in Bos- 
ton money and the other half at home." The 
house in which he lived and died is still stand- 
ing, and is situated on the north side of River 
street, near the intersection of Forest street. 
It was originally built in 1662, in 1678 en- 
larged, in 1837 remodeled, and remains sub- 
stantially the same at the present tjme. The 
text selected for his first sermon was from Jere- 
miah i 6 : "Behold I cannot speak, for I am 
a child," and it was said to have been delivered 
from a rock in the "mill pasture," near the 
river. His advice and influence with the civil 
authorities of the Colony seem to have been 
considerable, instanced in the case of the Indian 
chief. King Philip's wife and son; when the 
question as to what should be done with the son 
was in agitation he stated in a letter to Rev. 
Mr. Cotton that he "was in favor of mercy," 
and though differing from most others his 
opinion had great weight, if indeed it was not 
decisive in sparing the boy's life. Rev. Mr. 
Keith preached the sermon at the dedication 
of the new meeting house in South Bridge- 
water, in 1717, two years only before his death, 
which was printed in the Bridgewater Monitor, 
and contained some pertinent and impressive 
remarks on the subject of intemperance. 

On May 3, 1668, Rev. Mr. Keith married 
Susanna Edson, daughter of Deacon Sanmel 
and Susanna (Orcutt) Edson, the former of 
whom was born in England in 1612, and emi- 
grated to this country, settling first at Salem, 
whence he removed to Bridgewater, where he 
erected the first mill in the old town, and was 
deacon of the church presided over by Rev. Mr. 
Keith. To this union were born children as 
follows: James, Jr., Joseph, Samuel, Timothy, 
John, Josiah, Margaret, Mary and Susanna. 
The mother of these children died Oct. 16, 
1705, aged sixty-five years, and he married 
(second) in 1707 Mary, widow of Thomas Wil- 
liams, of Taunton. Rev. Mr. Keith passed 
away July 23, 1719, aged seventy-six years, in 
West Bridgewater, having labored in the min- 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



73 



istry of the town for fifty-six years and proved 
himself a worthy man and a faithful shepherd 
over his infant and feeble flock. 

(II) Timothy Keith, the fourth son of Rev. 
James Keith and liis wife Susanna Edson, was 
born in 1683, and became one of the first set- 
tlers of the North parish of Bridgewater (now 
Brockton), early in the eighteenth century, 
where his descendants have been numerous and 
.prominent and influential citizens. There were 
no permanent settlements in the North parish 
until after the year 1700, the first settlers be- 
ing principally descendants of the first settlers 
of the mother town of Bridgewater. Timothy 
Keith married Feb. 1, 1710, Hannah Fobes, 
daughter of Deacon Edward Fobes, and 
to this union were born four children, 
as follows: Timothy, Jr., Abiah, Nathan 
and Hannah. The mother died May 23, 
1765. Timothy Keith ,died Nov. 8, 1767, 
aged eighty-three years, and is interred 
in the burying ground on Main street, opposite 
Grove street, Campello, his grave being marked 
by a granite monument which was erected in 
1881 by his descendants. He is described as 
having been a man small in stature, and of 
frail constitution. He was a man who figured 
conspicuously in town affairs, being one of the 
original petitioners for the establishment of 
the North precinct, the moderator of the first 
meeting held after it became a precinct, one of 
the committee of three to consult witli Rev. 
Mr. Porter in relation to a settlement with 
them as a minister of the gospel, all of which 
indicate him to have been a man of infiuence 
in both civil and religious matters. 

(III) Timothy Keith (2), the eldest son of 
Timothy and Hannah (Fobes) Keith, was born 
Jan. 27, 1711, and married June 2, 1737, Beth- 
iah Ames, daughter of William Ames, and they 
were the parents of two children : Levi, born 
Aug. 25, 1738, and Timothy, born July 24, 
1740. The father died in 1740, aged twenty- 
nine years, and is buried beside his father in 
the Campello lot. 

(IV) Levi Keith, the eldest son of Timothy 
and Bethiah (Ames) Keith, was born Aug. 25, 
1738, and married Nov. 8, 1759, Jemima Per- 
kins, daughter of Mark and Dorothy (Whip- 
ple) Perkins, the former of whom became a 
settler of North Bridgewater in 1741, and to 
this union were born children as follows: 
Bethiah, born in 1760 ; Timothy, born in 1761 ; 
Reuben, bom in 1762, who died young; Ben- 
jamin, born in 1763; Jemima, born in 1765, 
who died in infancy; Jemima (2), born in 
1767; Molly, born in 1769, who died in in- 
fancy; Levi, Jr., born in 1773; Molly (2), born 



in 1775; and Anna, born in 1781, who died in 
1814. Levi Keith, the father, was a tanner 
and shoe manufacturer. His tannery was lo- 
cated at the corner of Montello and Garfield 
streets, and in excavating for the foundation of 
the "Garfield House," in 1880, remains of the 
vats were found in a good state of preservation. 
His home was situated at the corner of Main 
and Plain streets, on the site now occupied by 
the handsome residence of George E. Keith. 
This house, which was built in 1746, was orig- 
inally a scjuare house, and in 1838 an addition 
was made thereto, a part of which was used as 
a shop and was known as the "Old Red Shop," 
in which many of the Keith name first learned 
the art of shoemaking. Levi Keith was a man 
of considerable property and influence in the 
community. He was, without a question, the 
pioneer of the shoe industry in the vicinity, 
which at present employs so large a proportion 
of the population, and the "Old Red Shop," 
which is still remembered by many, was the 
original shoe factory from which has sprung 
this immense industry. In his old account 
book are to be found the names of nearly all 
the families then living in the community, 
whom he supplied with boots and shoes. 

(V) Benjamin Keith, son of Levi and Jem- 
ima (Perkins) Keith, was bom Nov. 18, 1763, 
and married Dec. 18, 1788, Martha Gary, 
daughter of Col. Simeon Gary and his wife 
Mary Howard, the former of whom was a de- 
scendant in the fourth generation from John 
Cary, who came from Somersetshire, England, 
and settled in Duxbury, Mass., in 1639, later 
becoming one of the first settlers of Bridge- 
water, where he was the first town clerk; and 
the latter a direct descendant in the fourth 
generation from John Howard, who came from 
England and settled first at Duxbury, later be- 
coming one of the first settlers of the West 
parish of Bridgewater in 1651. Col. Simeon 
Cary was a captain in the French and Indian 
war in 1758 and 1759, and was a colonel in 
the Revolutionary war in 1776. To Benjamin 
and Martha (Gary) Keith were born children 
as follows: Ziba,'born Nov. 30, 1789, married 
(first) Sally Cary and (second) Polly Noyes; 
Arza, born May 10. 1791, married Marcia 
Kingman; Bela, born Feb. 2, 1793, married 
Mary Kingman; Charles, born A\ig. 8, 1794, 
married Mehitable Perkins: Polly, born Oct. 
9, 1798, married Franklin Ames; Jason, born 
March 6, 1801, married Susan Smith; Ben- 
jamin, born Feb. 6, 1803, died in March, 1803. 
Benjamin Keith, the father, was principally a 
farmer, owning quite an extensive tract of 
land on the west side of Main street, and also 



74 



SOUTHEASTEEN MASSACHUSETTS 



operated the tannery wliich had been con- 
ducted by his father, located on the present 
site of the "Garfield House," and was as well 
engaged in making and repairing shoes. At 
this period (1800) the ownership of all the 
territory comprising what is now called Cam- 
pello was vested in the Keith family. Mr. 
Keith died Sept. 9, 1814, aged fifty-one years, 
while his wife attained the ripe old age of 
eighty-six years, dying June 10, 1852. 

(VI) Charles Keith, son of Benjamin, 
was born Aug. 8, 1794, and married Dec. 8, 
1817, Mehitable Perkins, born March 23, 1795, 
daughter of Josiah and Anna (Eeynolds) Per- 
kins, of North Bridgewater, both of whom were 
descendants of historic old New England fami- 
lies. To this union were born children as fol- 
lows: Damaris Williams, born Oct. 8, 1818, 
married Vinal Lyon, of North Bridgewater, 
where she died; Charles Perkins, born June 
20, 1820, is mentioned below; Anna Reynolds, 
born Nov. 11, 1822, married Theodore Lilley, 
of North Bridgewater, and died Jan. 28, 1882 ; 
Rhoda Perkins, born Oct. 28, 18.30, married 
Barnabas H. Gray, of Kingston, Mass. ; and 
Sanford, born Nov. 25, 1833, died in Boston, 
though he lived at Louisville, Ky., where he 
was engaged in the shoe business, and where 
he married Maggie J. Harvey. 

Charles Keith, the father, died July 29, 1859, 
and the mother passed away April 22, 1863. 
Naturally of a "bookish" turn of mind, out- 
door occupations had little attraction for Mr. 
Keith, and in the gratification of his tastes and 
inclinations farming pursuits were neglected 
for the less severe physical occupation of the 
shop. In his younger days he was evidently 
quite an athlete, for it is related that at the 
"raising" of Sprague's Mill, Factory Village, 
a wrestling match was planned for the occasion, 
and that he was pitted against several, all of 
whom he overcame, when, as a last resort, 
Lieut. Israel Packard was brought forward to 
contend for the honors; after a protracted 
struggle he, too, was thrown, it is said, "to the 
tearful grief of the lieutenant's brothers." By 
the death of his father, in 1814, Mr. Keith 
inherited the homestead at the corner of Main 
street and Keith avenue, and subsequently 
cared for his widowed mother until her death 
in 1852. His business pursuits, aside from 
some little attention to farming, were in the 
direction of shoe manufacturing, which he at- 
tempted in a small way as early as 1820. His 
principal markets were New Bedford and Nan- 
tucket, for which he produced a low-cut bro- 
gan, which was then called a "sailor's pump," 
and he was in the habit of carrying his prod- 



ucts by team or stage, at regular intervals, to 
New Bedford. This business he followed for 
many years until, in advanced age, in 1855, 
he was succeeded by liis son, Charles Perkins 
Keith. His intellectual tastes, as before inti- 
mated, inclined him to books, of which he was 
very fond and the study of which kept him 
thoroughly informed upon current topics and 
events. Upon these he was considered a neigh- 
borhood authority, and in argument on relig- 
ious or otlier subjects he was clear, decided, 
forcible and convincing. He was a devoted 
member of the South Congregational Church 
of Campello, which he served as treasurer and 
member of the parish committee for several 
years. His wife, though a confirmed invalid 
for nearly forty years, endured her suffering 
with resignation. 

(VII) Charles Perkins Keith, son of 
Charles, born June 20, 1820, married Dec. 4, 
1843, Mary Keith Williams, daughter of Jo- 
siah and Sylvia (Keith) Williams, of West 
Bridgewater. To this union were born three 
children, as follows: Sarah Williams, born 
March 31, 1845, married Jan. 8, 1873, Fred 
W. Park, and they have one son, Charles Mil- 
ton Park, born June 19, 1874; Preston Bond, 
born Oct. 18, 1847, and Rufus Perkins, born 
March 2, 1851, are mentioned below. 

The mother of the above children, a woman 
of strong convictions, of decision and force, 
who is remembered as a kind neighbor, a de- 
voted and affectionate mother and a true and 
helpful Christian woman, whose memory is 
honored by her children and by all who knew 
her, passed away Sept. 19, 1884. Mr. Keith 
iliarried (second) Dec. 8, 1885, Catherine Fitz- 
gerald, who survived her husband, dying in 
Brockton, Oct. 23, 1900, in the sixty-third year 
of her age. Charles Perkins Keith was born 
in the homestead of his father, on the site now 
occupied by the residence of his son, Rufus P. 
Keith, and in the district schools of his neigh- 
borhood acquired his educational training. 
Previous to his marriage he built what later be- 
came his home at the corner of Main street and 
Keith avenue. His early life was spent en- 
gaged in shoemaking with his father and he 
continued thus until 1855, in which year he 
succeeded his father as a manufacturer of 
shoes, remaining successfully engaged as such 
until 1870 or 1871, at which time he retired 
from shoe manufacturing, and his eldest son, 
the present Preston Bond Keith, removed the 
old shop, building a new and larger factory 
upon its site. His career as a shoe manufac- 
turer was in the days of the hand power out- 
fits, before the advent of the improved machin- 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



75 



ery now being used, all the work on boots and 
shoes then being necessarily done by hand. 
After retiring from the business Mr. Keith was 
for a while employed in his son's factory, but 
inclining to agricultural pursuits he continued 
thus engaged, together with looking after his 
extensive real estate interests, until his death, 
which occurred July 12, 1893, when he was 
aged seventy-three years. Upon the death of 
his father, and a division of his property, large- 
ly between his two sons, he purchased the rights 
of his, brother, consisting of large tracts of 
undeveloped pasture lands. The subsequent 
rapid growtli of the town and city made such 
demands upon these lands that it resulted in 
their occupation by numerous residences, and 
an avenue, since known as Keith avenue, per- 
petuates the name of the original owners. 

Mr. Keith was always a resident of the town 
of his nativity and never lived outside the 
limits of the district of his boyhood. Honored 
and respected by his fellow citizens, never de- 
siring public office, rather shunning the pub- 
licity of service, he was one of the most quiet 
and unpretending of men. To an unfamiliar 
observer he seemed indifferent to wliat was 
passing about him, but socially or iu matters 
of business he was quick of hearing and a 
keen observer. He ever clung to his habits of 
social and domestic life as formed in his early 
years, and whether in public or in private all 
unnecessary or outward demonstration or show 
was always carefully avoided by him. He had 
great sincerity of motive and kindness of heart, 
and conveyed his meaning in a few words, 
while his honesty and faitlifulness in all things 
were ever evident. Anyone who had knowl- 
edge of the antecedents of Mr. Keith would 
not wonder that he was a good citizen, and he 
lived up to the first measure of the high stand- 
ards set by his forefathers. Eeared as he was 
in a Christian home, he was early led to up- 
hold religious influences, and he was a devout 
and consistent member of the South Congre- 
gational Church. 

(VIII) Preston Bond Keith, eldest son of 
the late Charles Perkins and Mary Keith (Wil- 
liams) Keith, was born Oct. 18, 1847, in the 
village of Campello, North Bridgewater (now 
the city of Brockton), Mass. His boyhood was 
passed in the settlement where had lived his 
forefathers for a century and more, amid the 
scenes of generation after generation before 
him, where stood the Keith home, built a hun- 
dred and more years prior to his time. He at- 
tended the common schools of the town and 
also the North Bridgewater high school. After 
his school days were ended, in 1866, at the age 



of eighteen, he went to Boston and entered the 
office of Martin L. Keith, who was then one of 
the leading shoe manufacturers of North 
Bridgewater, and who had an office and store in 
Boston. During his stay of between five and 
six years with his employer Mr. Keith became 
thoroughly acquainted with the business 
of boot and shoe manufacturing, and, re- 
turning to what is now Brockton, he 
there in 1871, in the village of Cam- 
pello, began the business of shoe manufac- 
turing on his own account. His first location 
was in a building winch lie erected on Main 
street, on the site formerly occupied by his 
father as a shoe factory. Some three years 
later he removed to a building on Clifton ave- 
nue, which later he enlarged, and after carry- 
ing on operations here for another three years 
in order to meet the growing demands of his 
business he leased his factory on Clifton ave- 
nue and erected his present plant on what is 
known as Eutland Square, Campello, which 
was completed and opened in July, 1878. 
When Mr. Keith first engaged in the manu- 
facture of shoes no steam power was used, and 
very little machinery, and his output was only 
about two hundred pairs of shoes per day. His 
business lias prospered from the start and has 
enjoyed a steady growth. The original portion 
of his present factory was 150.x30 feet, four 
stories high, to which additions have since been 
made at various times, until it is now about 
four hundred feet long, together with addi- 
tional L"s, all connecting with the one-story 
addition used as the office. Mr. Keith's plant 
is modern in all its appliances, and one of the 
best appointed establishments in the State, be- 
ing well lighted, and supplied with automatic 
sprinklers, fire alarm and every precaution 
against fire. Mr. Keith's product at the com- 
mencement of his career as a shoe manufac- 
turer amounted to about $90,000 per year, and 
has steadily increased until now it is valued at 
over $1,000,000 per year, while the number of 
persons employed, at first from thirty to forty, 
has increased until there are now over four 
hundred hands. In 1896 the business was in- 
corporated under the laws of Massachusetts, 
with a capital stock of $100,000, as the Preston 
B. Keith Shoe Company, with the following 
officers: Preston B. Keith, president; Rufus 
P. Keith, vice president, and Charles M. Park, 
secretary and treasurer. For several years the 
product of this concern has been known as the 
"Konqueror" shoe, wliicli enjoys an enviable 
reputation for quality, style and durability. 

Brockton, Mass., is widely known as a shoe 
manufacturing city, as was the town under its 



76 



SOUTHEASTEEN MASSACHUSETTS 



former name, North Bridgewater, for it was 
only in 1874 that the town assumed its present 
name and not until 1881 that it was made a 
city. It is worthy of note that the shoe indus- 
try there has for generations been largely and 
successfully carried on by members of the old- 
est and most prominent families of the town, 
among whom none have been more prominent 
and successful than the various members of the 
Keith family. Through industrious habits, 
careful management, rare good judgment and 
business qualities, Preston B. Keith has steadily 
forged his way to the front, made a success of 
his business and prospered abundantly, reach- 
ing that creditable standing in the business 
world and society that is every man's ambition. 
His early experience, as a boy with his father, 
and afterward in Boston, gave him such an in- 
sight not only into the practical work of shoe- 
making, but into the financial end of the busi- 
ness as well, as to contribute "largely to his suc- 
cess in later life. This, augmenting his natural 
ability, admirably fitted him for his subsequent 
career. As a man of business, he is quick to 
grasp commercial and financial problems and 
efficient in execution. 

In political faith Mr. Keith is a stanch sup- 
porter of the principles of tiie Republican party 
but he is in no sense a politician, and being a 
man with extensive business interests to direct 
and care for he has found little time to devote 
to political affairs. His ability and manly 
character were, however, early recognized by 
his fellow citizens, who have in many ways 
shown their appreciation of and confidence in 
him. In 1883 and 1884 he served in the city 
government as a member of the board of alder- 
men from Ward Three, and was one of the 
board chosen by the city for the construction 
of the first public waterworks. Of a modest 
and unassuming nature, he not only shrinks 
from anything that might seem to partake of 
the spirit of self-seeking or desire for popular 
favor, but also from taking positions of public 
trust, though he is in every way qualified to 
fill them. 

When the Home National Bank was organ- 
ized, in 1874, Mr. Keith liecame an original 
incorporator and was chosen one of the first 
directors, in which capacity he has since con- 
tinued. In February, 1894, upon the death of 
Rufus P. Kingman, the first president of the 
bank, Mr. Keith was elected to the presi- 
dency, and served efficiently in that capacity un- 
til 1906, when he declined a reelection to that 
office, accepting the vice presidency of the insti- 
tution. Upon the organization of the Cam- 
pello Cooperative Bank, in 1877, he was also 



one of the original incorporators, and for sev- 
eral years served in the capacity of vice presi- 
dent and president of the same. He is also an 
incorporator and a trustee of the Brockton 
Savings Bank. As is shown, Mr. Keith has 
been officially connected with national and 
savings banks for a number of years, and to his 
financial ability and conservative spirit is due 
in unusual proportion the strength and excel- 
lent standing, in the financial world, of the 
institutions with which he has been identified. 
He was one of the originators of the horse-car 
street railway in Brockton, in which he was a 
stockholder, and of which he was a director. 
Socially Mr. Keith is a valued member of the 
Commercial Club and the Country Club of 
Brockton. He is also a member of the Brock- 
ton Shoe Manufacturers' Association, and a 
member of the board of directors of the same. 
In religious affiliations Mr. Keith and his 
wife are Trinitarian Congregationalists, both 
being active and earnest members and workers 
of the South Congregational Church of Cam- 
pello, and liberal contributors to the activities 
connected with the cliurch and society, which 
he served for a period of ten years as superin- 
tendent of the Sunday school. Mr. Keith was 
also prominent in the organization of the Hope 
Chapel, which was established in 1891 as a mis- 
sion of the South Congregational Church, and 
he was one of the building committee which 
had charge 'of the erection of the chapel on 
Warren avenue. He has always been actively 
interested in the growth and prosperity of the 
church and society, and ever ready and willing 
to bear his part of the burdens incidental 
thereto. He is not narrow or exclusive in his 
religious views and sympathies, but broad and 
tolerant, and respects the views of those differ- 
ing from him in their beliefs, and has always 
shown a friendliness to all religious institu- 
tions. His charities and benevolences are al- 
ways given unostentatiously and cheerfully, 
whenever it seems to be his duty to give. Mr. 
Keith is an active member of the Young Men's 
Christian Association, was prominent in its or- 
ganization, has served as a director of the same 
for a number of years, and for a period of years 
was also president of the association. 

In 1885 Mr. Keith erected a substantial 
three-story brick block containing stores, hall, 
etc., at the corner of Main and Market streets, 
Campello, which is a valuable acquisition to 
that part of the city, being known as the King- 
man block, so named in honor of his father- 
in-law, the late Josiah W. Kingman, who was 
one of the substantial business men of the city 
for many years. 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



77 



On Dec. 8, 1869, Mr. Keith was united in 
marriage to Eldora Louise Kingman, daughter 
of the late Josiah Washburn and Margaret 
(Duulap) Kingman, of North Bridgewater; 
she also is a descendant of several of New Eng- 
land's historic old families. This union has 
been blessed with one daughter, AUie Louise, 
born April 2, 1877, who was graduated from 
Dana Hall, Wellesley, and is now the wife of 
C. Ernest Perkins, D.D. S., one of the leading 
dentists of Brockton, who for several years was 
a professor at Harvard Dental School ; they are 
the parents of three daughters, Margaret, 
Katharine and Dorothy. 

In private life Mr. Keith is retiring and un- 
ostentatious, a man whose success in life, or 
whose high standing as a citizen, is not evi- 
denced by the slightest show or pretension. For 
many years he has been prominently identi- 
fied with nearly all the improvements which 
have been made in the town and city. He is 
courteous, atfable and always has a pleasant 
smile, never passing an acquaintance without 
speaking, seeming to have time to stop and 
chat, and yet never neglects the great volume 
of business which necessarily passes through 
his hands. A man of the strictest integrity, of 
refined tastes, a reader of good literature, pop- 
ular with his fellow citizens, and with a per- 
fect home life, Preston B. Keith is indeed a 
credit to an old and honorable ancestry. 

(VIII) RuFus Perkins Keith, youngest 
son of the late Charles Perkins and Mary 
Keith (Williams) Keith, was born March 2, 
1851, in the town of North Bridgewater, in 
that part of the town familiarly known as Cam- 
pello, in which village the Keith family had 
been honored residents since its early settle- 
ment. Mr. Keith acquired his early education- 
al training in the common schools of his neigh- 
borhood, finishing with a three years' course 
m the North Bridgewater high school. Leav- 
ing school at the age of about eighteen years, 
he entered the shoe shop of his father, in whose 
employ he remained until the latter discon- 
tinued the manufacture of shoes in 1871. Dur- 
ing this time he acquired a thorough knowl- 
edge of the rudiments and details of shoemak- 
ing. Upon his father's retirement from busi- 
ness his brother, Preston B. Keith, continued 
the manufacture of shoes and Mr. Keith as- 
Eumed charge of the workrooms in his broth- 
er's shoe factory, continuing in that capacity 
until 1896, when the business was incorporated 
as the Preston B. Keith Shoe Company, under 
the laws of Massachusetts, with a capital stock 
of $100,000. Mr. Keith became vice president 
of this corporation, in which official capacity 



he has since remained, besides having general 
supervision of the manufacturing end of the 
business. 

In his political affiliations Mr. Keith is a 
stalwart supporter of the principles of the Re- 
publican party, but he has never aspired to 
public office, although for several years he 
served as deputy warden of Ward Three. Fra- 
ternally he is a valued member of the Masonic 
organization, holding membership in St. 
George Lodge, A. F. & A. M., of Campello, of 
which he was worshipful master in 1883 and 
1884, and in which he has filled the office of 
treasurer for a period of over twenty-five years. 
He is also a member of Satucket Chapter, 
R. A. M., of Brockton. Socially he is a mem- 
ber of the Brockton Country Club. Mr. Keith 
was one of the original incorporators of the 
Campello Cooperative Bank upon its organiza- 
tion, in 1877, was vice president for several 
3'ears, and for a number of years served as a 
member of the board of directors of the same; 
he was also an incorporator of the Brockton 
Savings Bank. 

Mr. Keith is a consistent and active member 
of the South Congregational Church of Cam- 
pello, having been a member of the same since 
he was a boy in his teens, and for a period 
of over twenty years he has filled the office of 
clerk of the church, and has also been a mem- 
ber and chairman of the parish committee for 
a number of years; he has taken an active and 
prominent part in the work of the church and 
society, being liberal in his support of the 
same as well as of all charitable and benevolent 
objects. 

On Oct. 26, 1880, Mr. Keith was united in 
marriage to Marion Foster Keith, only daugh- 
ter of Jonathan and Lavina (Ames) Keith, 
of North Bridgewater, and a direct descendant 
in the eighth generation from Rev. James 
Keith. This union was blessed with one 
daughter, Clara May Keith, born April 2, 1887, 
who was graduated from Smith College in 
1909. Mrs. Keith passed away May 8, 1893, 
aged thirty-six years, and on April 14, 1896, 
Mr. Keith married (second) Mrs. Sarah Chess- 
man (Reed) Blades, daughter of the late Hon. 
W"illiam Lincoln and Deborah W. (Chessman) 
Reed, of Abington, Mass., and widow of the 
Rev. John T. Blades, a former pastor of the 
South Congregational Church, .it Campello. 
Mrs. Keith is also a descendant of historic old 
New England ancestry, being a direct descend- 
ant in the eighth generation from William 
Reade, who was born in 1605, and sailed from 
Gravesend, in the County of Kent, England, 
in the ship "Assurance de Lo," in 1635, for 



78 



SOUTHEASTEEN MASSACHUSETTS 



America, settling at Weymouth, Mass., where 
he became one of the early settlers and a free- 
man on Sept. 2, 16.35. 

Although of a retiring and unassuming na- 
ture, and domestic in his habits, Mr. Keith 
possesses a pleasant, affable manner, and as a 
business man and citizen enjoys the respect 
and esteem of the community in which his 
whole life has been spent. He resides in a 
pleasant home at the corner of Main street and 
Keith avenue, which he erected in 1886, on the 
former site of his grandfather's house, and 
he is much devoted to his home surroundings. 

DAVIS SNOW PACKARD. In the death 
of Davis Snow Packard, which occurred in 
Brockton, Mass., July 31, 1900, the city lost 
one of its foremost citizens as well as one of its 
most successful manufacturers. Mr. Packard 
was a native of the town of North Bridgewater, 
now the city of Brockton, born Jiine 24, 1826, 
son of Apollos and Betsey (Packard) Packard, 
and a descendant of one of the oldest and most 
promint t families of the old Bay State. 

(I) Samuel Packard, the founder of the 
family in America, was a native of England, hie 
home being at Windham, near Hingham. In 
1638 he came to this country in the ship "Dili- 
gence," of Ipswich, accompanied by his wife 
Elizabeth and one child. He located first at 
Hingham, Mass., whence he removed to West 
Bridgewater, where he became one of the first 
settlers, and where he held various public offices. 
He was also a tavern-keeper in 1670. His 
death occurred in West Bridgewater, his will 
being probated March 3, 1684r-85. He was the 
father of twelve children. 

(II) Zaccheus Packard, second son and third 
child of Samuel and Elizabeth Packard, made 
his home in West Bridgewater, where he fol- 
lowed farming. There he married Sarah 
Howard, daughter of John Howard, who came 
from England' and settled first at Duxbury, 
Mass., later becoming one of the first settlers 
of West Bridgewater. Zaccheus Packard died 
Aug. 3, 1723. He was the father of nine chil- 
dren, his youngest six sons all becoming early 
settlers of the North Parish of Bridgewater, 
now the city of Brockton. 

(III) Capt. Abiel Packard, the youngest child 
of Zaccheus and Sarah (Howard) Packard, 
was born April 29, 1699, in West Bridgewater, 
and later became one of the first settlers of 
the North Parish of Bridgewater, where he 
was engaged in farming, owning the land after- 
ward known as the Capt. Nathaniel Wales place. 
He was the largest land owner in the neighbor- 
hood, having over one thousand acres in one 



tract, upon which he settled seven of his sons. 
He was a captain in the militia. He married 
Jan. 11, 1723, Sarah Ames, daughter of John 
and Sarah (Washburn) Ames, and they became 
the parents of ten children. Captain Packard 
died in 1776, aged seventy-six years, and his 
wife died in Bridgewater, in 1790, aged eighty- 
three years. 

(IV) Thomas Packard, fourth son of Capt. 
Abiel and Sarah (Ames) Packard, was born 
Sept. 21, 1732, in North Bridgewater, and 
spent his entire life in his native town, engaged 
in farming on a tract of land given him by his 
father. In 1756 he married Mary Howard, 
daughter of Henry Howard, and by her had 
eight children. He married (second) in 1780 
Martha, widow of Nathan Packard. 

(V) Capt. Parmenas Packard, eldest child 
of Thomas and Mary (Howard) Packard, was 
born Nov. 26, 1757, in North Bridgewater, 
where liis life was spent in farming, and where 
he was a captain in the militia. On April 9, 
1778, he married Martha Reynolds, daughter of 
Thomas and Elizabeth (Turner) Reynolds, and 
their children were : Ambrose, Parmenas, Jr., 
Galen, Apollos, Susanna, Silence, Roland, 
Gideon H. and Royal. 

(VI) Apollos Packard, the fourth son of 
Capt. Parmenas and Martha (Reynolds) Pack- 
ard, was born July 5, 1788, in North Bridge- 
water, and grew to manhood on the homestead 
farm. He made farming his chief occupation, 
but also carried on shoemaking, as was then 
the custom. His entire life was spent in his 
native town, and he lived to the age of seventy- 
two years, dying Aug. 4, 1860. He married 
(first) March 26, 1811, Sophia Brett, daughter 
of Amzi Brett, and a direct descendant of Wil- 
liam Brett, who came from Kent, England, in 
1645, and settled first at Duxbury, Mass., later 
becoming one of the original proprietors of 
the ancient town of Bridgewater, where he was 
one of the leading men in the Old Colony. She 
died in February, 1823. To this union were 
born children as follows: Phebe, born in 1816, 
died unmarried; Henry White died young; 
Henry Brett, born in 1823, married Lucinda 
Hayward. Apollos Packard, the father, mar- 
ried (second) Aug. 26, 1823, Betsey Packard, 
daughter of Abiah Packard, and to this union 
were born the following children: Frederick 
White, born Feb. 25, 1824, who married Nancy 
Fisher Leach ; Davis Snow, who is mentioned 
below; and Apollos Morton, born March 21, 
1832, who married Adrianna E. Hall, and died 
March 17, 1910. The mother of these children 
passed away Aug. 5, 1845, and Apollos Packard 
married (third) Jan. 18, 1846. Salome Brad- 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



79 



ford, daughter of Perez Bradford, and widow 
of \Villiam Bradford, of Plympton, Mass. She 
died March 27, 1877, aged seventy-live years, 
seven months. 

(VII) Davis Snow Packard, second son of 
the late Apollos and Betsey (Packard) Pack- 
ard, was born in the old town of North Bridge- 
water, now the city of Brockton, Mass., June 
24, 1826, and sucii education as he received was 
obtained in the public schools of the district. 
At an early age he learned the trade of boot- 
making, wliich trade he followed until 1858, 
when he formed a partnership with the late 
Aberdeen Keith and engaged in the manu- 
facture of boot and shoe counters, under the 
firm name- of Keith & Packard, they being the 
pioneers in that line. This firm began business 
in a small way, employing five hands, but by 
strict attention to business they soon were do- 
ing a business of over a quarter of a million dol- 
lars per annum, this partnership continuing 
until 1876, when on account of ill health Mr. 
Keith was obliged to retire and seek the milder 
climate of California. Mr. Packard purchased 
the interests of his partner in the business, and 
continued successfully to conduct the business 
alone until July 1, 1880, when the late Veranus 
Filoon and Abbott W. Packard were admitted 
as partners, the firm name then becoming D. S. 
Packard & Co. In 1886 Abbott W. Packard 
withdrew from the firm, selling his interests 
to the other partners, who conducted the busi- 
ness under the same firm name until 1895, in 
which year Davis S. Packard retired from 
the business, disposing of his interests to Mr. 
Filoon, whose son, Fred W. Filoon, is still con- 
ducting the business at the same location and 
in the same factory, at the corner of North 
Warren avenue and Prospect street. The g^o^^'tll 
of this manufacturing establishment,, of which 
Mr. Packard was one of the founders and dur- 
ing his connection with it the moving spirit in 
its management, has been almost phenomenal, it 
being recognized as one of Brockton's represen- 
tative industries, and its success was largely 
due to the clear business foresight and execu- 
tive ability of Davis S. Packard, who was a keen 
business man, enterprising and progressive in 
his ideas, and noted for his good judgment and 
straightforward business dealings. 

Although Mr. Packard was actively engaged 
in the management of large business interests, 
he never shrank from the duties of good citizen- 
ship, and every project which had for its object 
the advancement or betterment of his native 
town and city found in him an ever earnest 
and influential advocate. Upon the organiza- 
tion of the Brockton National Bank in Feb- 



ruary, 1881, he became one of its original incor- 
porators, and was elected its first president, 
serving m that capacity until the time of his 
death, covering a period of nineteen years. He 
was also one of the original incorporators of the 
Brockton Savings Bank, which was org,anized 
in March, 1881, and served as a member of 
its board of trustees from the time of its organi- 
zation until his death, as well as being a mem- 
ber of the board of investment of that institu- 
tion. He was one of the sixty citizens who gave 
one hundred dollars each for the purpose of 
organizing the Brockton Agricultural Society, 
which was incorporated in 1874, which associa- 
tion holds annually the Brockton Fair, and he 
was elected one of the directors and first vice 
president of the society, serving in the latter 
office for a term of ten years, and in 1884 
being elected treasurer of the society to succeed 
Col. John Jay Whipple. After filling the office 
of treasurer for a period of five years he was 
again elected vice president, which office he was 
filling at the time of his death. He was also 
chairman of the committee which had^pliarge of 
the erection of the buildings on the fair grounds, 
and for a number of years was chairman of the 
committee on grounds. Mr. Packard also took 
an active interest in the formation of the North 
Bridgewater Board of Trade, which was organ- 
ized in 1871, and became one of the directors 
of the same, in the interests of which he was a 
prominent worker for a number of years. 

In public life Mr. Packard was also quite 
active and took a deep interest in all that tended 
to the advancement of his native town, serving 
his town and city faithfully and well, and dis- 
charged the duties of the various positions of 
honor and trust to which he was called to the 
entire satisfaction of his fellow citizens. He 
served as selectman of the town before it be- 
came a city, being an incumbent of that office in 
1875, 1876 and 1878. In 1880 and 1881 he 
served as representative in the State Legislature, 
and again in 1882, being the first to fill that 
office after the inauguration of Brockton as a 
city. In 1884 he was elected a member of the 
city's Sinking Fund Commission, which posi- 
tion he was filling at the time of his death. In 
1885 he served as alderman from Ward Seven 
in the city government, and in 1894 was made 
one of the first members of the Park Commis- 
sion of the city, and was still serving in that 
capacity at the time of his death. Mr. Packard 
was faithful and efficient in all his public duties, 
and was ever mindful of the trust reposed in 
him by the people. In political belief he was 
a stanch Eepublican, active in the councils of 
the party, and adhered strictly to its principles. 



80 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



Mr. Packard was a charter member of the 
Commercial Club of Brockton, and took an ac- 
tive interest in the affairs of that organization, 
serving for three years as its vice president, 
and m 1890 was elected president — the third 
to fill that responsible position. He served for 
seven years as president of this club, which is 
composed of Brockton's leading business and 
professional men, and when he retired from 
that office in 1897, it was against the wishes of 
the entire membership. It was during his ad- 
ministration as president that the new and 
commodious club house was built, at the corner 
of North Main and Spring streets. In Masonic 
circles Mr. Packard was also prominent, hold- 
ing membership in Paul Revere Lodge, A. F. 
& A. M. ; Satucket Chapter, R. A. M. ; Brockton 
Council, R. & S. M.; and Bay State Com- 
mandery, Knights Templar, serving as treasur- 
er for a period of years of the latter, of which 
he was an original member. 

Mr. Packard was twice married. On Nov. 
1, 1849, he was united to Minerva Bradford, 
born May 27, 1825, daughter of William Brad- 
ford, of Plympton, Mass., and by tliis union 
there was one daughter, Alice May, born Sept. 
13, 1850, who married Nov. 17, 1874, Dr. James 
T. Sherman, of Dorchester, Mass., and died 
April 13, 1877, aged twenty-six years. Mrs. 
Packard passed away Sept. 11, 1857, and Mr. 
Packard married (second) Oct. 29, 1870, Mrs. 
Emma S. (Tingley) Gurney, who was born 
Feb. 28, 1840, in Arlington, Mass., daughter 
of Rev. Timothy C. Tingley, and widow of 
Elbridge Gurney, and this union was blessed 
with four children, as follows: Emma Davis, 
born Dec. 19, 1871, who died Sept. 30, 1872; 
Sumner Tingley, born July 4, 1874; Ruth Beals, 
born March 9, 1876 ; and Emma Snow, born 
May 16, 1880, who married April 2, 1908, Her- 
bert C. Low, of Brockton. Mrs. Packard 
passed away at her home in Brockton, June 4, 
1880. 

Mr. Packard was a man of marked promi- 
nence in his native town and city. Possessed of 
a genial and affable disposition, being well in- 
formed and progressive, and having taste and 
ability for the discharge of public duties, a 
judgment well balanced and uniformly correct 
in its results, and an integrity of character that 
was never touched by whisper or reflection, it 
is not strange that he was selected by his fellow 
citizens as one fitted to assume and administer 
public trusts in a variety of relations in the 
town. His usefulness as a citizen extended far 
outside his business career into spheres of active 
beneficence. His many and substantial acts 
of charity were seldom known except to the re- 



cipients, liis acts of kindness being done for the 
pleasure and comfort the recipient derived from 
them. Mr. Packard had greatly enjoyed exten- 
sive travel both at home and abroad, which had 
broadened his active and retentive mind. Mr. 
Packard died at liis home on Prospect street, 
Brockton, July 31, 1900, aged seventy-four 
years, and honored and esteemed as he was in 
life his memory was accorded the highest de- 
gree of respect m death. 

(VIII) Sumner Tinglet Packard, only 
son of the late Davis Snow Packard, was born 
m Brockton July 4, 1874. He had the best 
educational advantages, attending the public 
and high schools of his native city, and then 
graduated from Brown University in the class 
of 1895. Deciding upon the law for his profes- 
sion, he then entered Harvard Law School, from 
which he was graduated in 1898, with the de- 
gree of LL. B., and was admitted a member of 
the Massachusetts bar. For a period of five 
years he practiced his chosen profession before 
the County and State courts and the United 
States District court, having offices in Boston 
and Brockton. In 1903 he became engaged in 
the manufacturing business, as a member of the 
Macrodi Fibre Company, with factories at 
Woonsocket, R. I., and to this industry he has 
since given his full time and attention. Like 
his father, Mr. Packard is enterprising and pro- 
gressive and public-spirited. He is a stanch 
Republican in political views, and has served as 
a member of the city government in the com- 
mon council, representing Ward Seven. He is 
an active member of the Commercial Club, of 
which he is secretary ; and is treasurer of Brock- 
ton Union Cemetery. In fraternal circles he is 
a prominent memljer of high degree in the 
Masonic organization, holding membership in 
Paul Revere Lodge, A. F. & A. M. ; Satucket 
Chapter, R. A. M. ; and Bay State Command- 
ery, Knights Templar, of Brockton. 

On June 30, 1903, Mr. Packard was united 
in marriage at Camden, Maine, with Maude E. 
Norwood, who was born Dec. 17, 1877, at Rock- 
port, Maine, daughter of Joseph H. Norwood, 
and they reside at the old Packard homestead 
on Prospect street. They are the parents of: 
Sumner Tingley, Jr., who was bom March 88, 
1904; Elinor Packard, born Jan. 30, 1905, who 
died Feb. 3, 1905 ; and Pauline Packard, born 
March 5, 1911. 

SEABURY— variously spelled Sebury, Sa- 
berry, Saberrey and Sabury. The American 
ancestor of the Seaburys of New Bedford was 

(I) John Seabury, of Boston, who died be- 
fore 1663. He married Grace, and had two 




•y ' ov .■*■' 



■^'^A~!"j j>^iJ.J''i' -" 




SOUTHEASTEEN MASSACHUSETTS 



81 



sons — Jolin (who went to Barbados) and 
Saniijel (born Dec. 10, 1610) — and several 
daughters. 

(II) Samuel Seabury, son of John, born 
Dec. 10, 1610, died Aug. 5, 1681. He married 
at Weymouth Nov. 9, 1660, Patience Kemp, 
who died Oct. 29, 1676. He married (second) 
April 4, 1677, Martha Pabodie, daughter of 
William and Elizabeth (Alden) Pabodie and 
granddaughter of John and Priscilla (Mullins) 
Alden of the "Mayflower." His children were : 
Elizabeth, born Sept. 16, 1661, who probably 
removed from the town, as in her mother's will 
she was given a negro girl Jane and a cow ''if 
she returns": Sarah, born Aug. 18, 1663; 
Samuel, born April 20, 1666; Hannah, born 
July 7, 1668; John, born Nov. 7, 1670; Grace 
and Patience, twins, born March 1, 1673 (all 
born to the first marriage) : Joseph, born June 
8, 1678; Martha, born Sept. 23, 1679; and 
John, who married Elizabeth Alden on Dec. 9, 
1697 (to the second marriage). 

Samuel Seabury, the father, was a physician 
and removed to Duxbury, Mass. His will gives 
to his son Samuel his landed property in Dux- 
bury ; to son Joseph "those great silver buttons 
which I usually wear" ; to son John "my bird- 
ing piece and musket. I will that my negro 
servant Nimrod (valued at twenty-seven 
pounds) be disposed of either by hier or sale 
in order to bring up my children, especially 
the three youngest now born." 

(III) Joseph Seabury, son of Samuel, re- 
moved to what is now Little Compton, E. I., 
and there married • Sept. 25, 1701, Phebe 
Smith. He died Aug. 22, 1755, and she April 
21, 1715. Their children were: Samuel, born 
June 5, 1702; Martha, Feb. 7, 1704; Joseph, 
Dec. 2, 1705; Benjamin, Jan. 20, 1708 (died 
March 11, 1773) ; Sion, March 17, 1713; Mary, 
April 17, 1715. 

(IV) Sion Seabury, son of Joseph, born 
March 17, 1713, married in Tiverton, E. I., 
Anna Butts, born March 28, 1709. He died 
Aug. 10, 1801. They became the parents of 
six children: Aaron, born Aug. 6, 1733; Jo- 
seph, June 20. 1736: Philip, Dec. 6, 1740; 
Alice, Dec. 8, 1742; Peleg, June 13, 1745; and 
Dorcas, Jan. 9, 1748. 

(V) Philip Seabury, son of Sion, born Dec. 

6, 1740, married Sarah, and became the father 
of David, born May 31. 1767; Cornelius, May 
2, 1769 ; George, July 27, 1771 ; Pearce, Jan. 

7, 1773; Mary, April 6, 1777; and Job, June 
23, 1781. 

(VI) Cornelius Seabury, son of Philip, bom 
May 2, 1769, married in Tiverton. E. I., in 
1795, Mary Gray, daughter of Col. Pardon and 



Mary Gray and a descendant of Edward Gray, 
who was brought over on the "Mayflower" by 
Governor Winslow when eighteen years of age 
and became a rich merchant; he married Mary 
Winslow, daughter of John Winslow, who was 
a brother of the Governor. From (I) Ed- 
ward and Mary (Winslow) Gray Mrs. Sea- 
burv's line was through (II) Edward and 
Mary (Smith), (III) Philip and Sarah, (IV) 
Philip and Deborah (Bailey) and (V) Pardon 
and Mary. 

To Mr. and Mrs. Cornelius Seabury were 
born — all in Tiverton — the following children : 
Pardon Gray, born March 28, 1796, married 
Sarah Borden; Jane Gray, born Oct. 7, 1797, 
married Andrew Corry; Harriet, born Nov. 9, 
1799, married Frederick Almy; Joseph was 
born Feb. 5, 1802; Nancy, born" Sept. 29, 1804, 
married Eev. Jared Eeed ; Alexander Hamil- 
ton, born Nov. 28, 1806, is mentioned below; 
Cornelius, born July 9. 1808, married; Mary, 
born Jan. 28, 1810, married Oliver Hicks; 
Maria Mary, born May 14. 1815, married Gid- 
eon Durfee; Sarah, born Jan. 27, 1818, mar- 
ried Frederick Slocum ; Benjamin Franklin, 
born Nov. 24, 1819, married Emily Manches- 
ter; and Cornelia, born Sept. 6, 1821, married 
Lewis P. Mead. 

(VII) Alex.\ndeii Hamilton Se.vbury, 
son of Cornelius and Mary, who died in New 
Bedford July 17, 1887, in the eighty-first year 
of his age, was one of the most prominent busi- 
ness men of that place. When a mere lad he 
commenced his business career in a grocery 
store, of which he eventually became proprietor 
— an early evidence of the remarkable business 
ability which he exhibited in the management 
of larger interests in later years. When twen- 
ty-seven years of age he came to New Bedford 
and opened a grain and provision store, which 
he conducted for twenty-five years, having as 
partners, from time to time, his brother. Par- 
don G. Seaburv, Joseph C. Eicketson and (from 
1845 to 1857) his nephew, Albert G. Corry. 
In the year 1857 William Baylies and Na- 
thaniel S. Cannon were admitted into the firm, 
and upon the death of Mr. Corry the active 
management was taken by them, although Mr. 
Seabury still retained an interest and gave the 
firm the benefit of his advice and experience. 
For many years he successfully conducted vari- 
ous otlicr enterprises. He established packet 
lines to New York and Albany, and his vessels 
brought large quantities of grain and flour to 
this market. He also became heavily interested 
in th6 business of packing beef and pork in as- 
sociation with men in Indiana. Much of this 
product was used in fitting out New Bedford 



82 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



whalers. He was agent from 1836 to 1841 for 
five whale ships, and later became an extensive 
owner of whale shipping. He also engaged in 
stock raising and in real estate enterprises near 
the city of Lafayette, Ind. Mr. Seabury was 
one of the leading spirits in the development 
of the city of New Bedford as a manufactur- 
ing center, having invested in nearly every in- 
dustrial concern started in the city. He was 
one of the chief promoters of the Mount Wash- 
ington Glass Works and the Pairpoint Manu- 
facturing Company; he was one of the incor- 
porators of the Five Cents Savings Bank, and 
for many years its vice president ; a director of 
the First National Bank, and of a number of 
cotton manufacturing corporations of New 
Bedford and Fall River. 

On Aug. 23, 1830, in Taunton, Mr. Seabury 
married Louisa Crandall (see Crandall family), 
a native of Tiverton, R. I., and a member of a 
prominent Rhode Island family. She died in 
New Bedford March 7, 1887. One daughter 
and one son were born to them : Louisa B., 
who married Edward Haskell, of New Bedford ; 
and Alexander Hamilton, who died young. Mr. 
Seabury was a man of strong personality and 
possessed an indomitable will. He was a most 
public-spirited man, and his name will go down 
as one who aided materially in the development 
of New Bedford. 



(IV) Benjamin Seabury, born Jan. 20, 
1708, son of Joseph and Pliebe (Smith) Sea- 
bury, married in 1733 Rebecca South worth, 
born Dec. 22, 1708, daughter of Edward and 
Mary. He died March 11, 1773. Their child- 
ren were: Mercy, born Aug. 13, 1734; Mary, 
Jan. 25, 1736; Rebecca (twin to Mary), Jan. 
25, 1736; Ruth, Nov. 26, 1739 ; Benjamin, Jan. 
24, 1743; Fobes, March 29, 1745 (died June 
4, 1746) ; Gideon, March 1, 1747 (died Oct. 
29, 1827); Constant, June 19, 1749; and 
Isaac, Nov. 3, 1751. 

(V) Constant Seabury, son of Benjamin and 
Rebecca, born June 19, 1749, married Susanna 
Gray. He died in January, 1807. His child- 
ren were as follows : ( 1 ) Hannah, bom March 
19, 1772, died in 1776. (2) Phebe, born April 
17, 1774, died in 1776. (3) Isaac, born March 
19, 1776, died Oct. 20, 1850. On Dec. 15, 
1797, he married Abigail Simmons. (4) Phebe 
born May 13, 1778, married George Seabury 
Nov. 2, 1800. (5) William, born May 22, 
1780, is mentioned below. (6) Hannah, horn 
July 29, 1782, married Josiah Wilcox. (7) 
Bridget, born Sept. 14, 1784, married Isaac 
Cook. (8) Ichabod, born Nov. 18, 1786, mar- 
ried Hannah Lowry, and went to Galway, N. Y. 



(9) Robert Gray, born July 10, 1789, married 
Caroline Woodman, daughter of Edward and 
Priscilla Woodman. (10) Elizabeth, born Nov. 
16, 1792, married Daniel Wilcox. 

(VI) William Seabury, son of Constant, 
born May 22, 1780, married April 12, 1807, 
Rhoda Woodman, who was born Dec. 11, 1786, 
daughter of Edward and Priscilla Woodman. 
She died Jan. 2, 1833, and he married (second) 
Feb. 16, 1834, Sally Woodman, born April 15, 
1785, a sister of his first wife; she died Nov. 
19, 1874. His children, all by the first union, 
were: (1) Otis, born Sept. 1, 1808, married 
Caroline Amelia Bailey. (2) Edward Wood- 
man, born Jan. 3, 1810, married Martha 
Thurston Heath. (3) Louisa, born Nov. 10, 
1811, married Benjamin Cushman, and died 
Nov. 3, 1895. (4) William Harrison, born 
Nov. 15, 1813, married Lydia A. Brownell, and 
died Jan. 27, 1897. (5) Julia Ann, born May 
19, 1815, died Jan. 12, 1892. (6) Humphrey 
Woodman, born June 28, 1817, died June 28, 
1891. He married (first) Mary B. Wilcox and 
(second) Susan M. Gifford. (7) Charles 
Pinckney, born Aug. 16, 1820, married Sarah 
Wilcox, and died Dec. 21, 1890. (8) Jason, 
born Nov. 2, 1822, was lost in the Arctic ocean 
in 1853. (9) Andrew Jackson, born May 17, 
1826, died Sept. 22, 1826. 

BORDEN (Fall River family— line of 
Joseph, fourth generation). The Borden family 
is an ancient one both here in New England 
and over the water in old England, as well as 
one of historic interest and distinction. The 
New England branch has directly or indirectly 
traced the lineage of the American ancestor, 
Richard Borden, many generations back in 
English history. His first English forbear went 
over to England from Bourdonnay, Normandy, 
as a soldier under William the Conquerer, and 
after the battle 'of Hastings— in A. D. 1066— 
was assigned lands in the County of Kent, 
where the family afterward became useful, 
wealthy and influential, the village where they 
resided being named Borden. One John Bor- 
den, of a later generation, moved to Wales early 
in the seventeenth century, where his sons 
Richard and John were married. These sons 
returned to Borden, in England, and in May, 
1635, embarked for America. 

(I) Richard Borden is found a settler in 
Portsmouth, R. I., in 1638, in which year he 
was admitted an inhabitant of the island of 
Aquidneck. and in that same year was allotted 
five acres of land. He figured in the surveying 
and platting of the lands thereabout in 1639, 
and in the year following was one of those 



SOUTHEASTEEN MASSACHUSETTS 



8n 



appointed to lay out the lands in Porstmouth, 
E. I. He was assistant in 1653 and 1654; 
general treasurer in 1654-55; commissioner in 
1654-55-56-57; and deputy in 1667 and 1670. 
He bought land in Providence in 1661, and not 
far from 1667 became one of the original pur- 
chasers of land in New Jersey from the Indians. 
He died May 25, 1671. Joan, his wife, died 
July 15, 1688. Their children were: Thomas, 
of Portsmouth and Providence, E. I. ; Francis, 
of Portsmouth, E. I., and Shrewsbury, N. J.; 
Matthew, of Portsmouth, E. I.; Jolm, born in 
Portsmouth; Joseph, of Portsmouth, E. I., and 
Barbadoes, West Indies; Sarah; Samuel, of 
Portsmouth, E. I., and Westchester, N. Y. ; Ben- 
jamin, of Portsmouth, E. L, and Burlington 
county, N. J. ; Amey, and Mary. Of these, 
Matthew Borden, born in May, 1638, as the 
Friends' records declare, was the "first English 
child born in Ehode Island." The fourth son, 

(II) John Borden, from whom the Bordens 
under consideration in this article descend, be- 
came quite famous among the Friends through- 
out the country as John Borden of Quaker Hill 
on Ehode Island. He was born in September, 
1640, and in December, 1670, was married to 
Mary Earle, and they made their home in 
Portsmouth. He was deputy in 1673, 1680, 
1700, 1704, 1705 and 1707. They died, Mr. 
Borden in 1716, and Mrs. Borden in 1734. 
Their children were: Eichard, John, Amey, Jo- 
seph, Thomas, Mary, Hope, William and Ben- 
jamin. This John Borden became a very ex- 
tensive land owner, and settled his sons Eich- 
ard and Joseph near the Fall Eiver stream; 
and for many years the Borden family owned 
large portions of the land and water power in 
Fall Eiver, Mass., and are still among the 
largest owners of land and manufactories in 
that city. When Fall Eiver became a town, in 
1803, it contained eighteen families, nine of 
these being Bordens. 

From this source has descended the especial 
Borden family of Fall Eiver to which this ar- 
ticle is devoted, that of the late Hon. Nathaniel 
Briggs Borden, long one of the most distin- 
guished men of his town and city, filling most 
honorable positions of trust and honor and 
whose sons and grandsons have most worthily 
worn the family name and sustained its rc]iiita- 
tion. 

(III) Eichard Borden (2), son of John, 
born Oct. 25, 1671, married about 1692 Inno- 
cent Wardell. He lived on the main road 
about a mile from the east shore of Mount 
Hope bay and two and a half miles south of 
the dty hall in Fall Eiver, his homestead com- 
prising about two hundred acres of land. He 



became one of the wealthiest men in the town, 
and at the time of his death was one of the 
largest land holders in the town. He lived to 
about the age of si.xty years. His children 
were: Sarah. John, Thomas, Mary, Joseph, 
Samuel and Eebecca. 

(IV) Joseph Borden, son of Eichard (2), 
born in 1702, married June 24, 1730, Abigail 
Eussell, of Dartmouth. Mr. Borden learned 
the trade of a clothier, and while quite young 
carried on that business in the old fulling mill 
built by Col. Benjamin Church on Fall Eiver 
near the head of the Great Falls. He pursued 
his business with diligence, and there being no 
competing establishment near him soon ob- 
tained a good sum of business, as it was the 
custom in those days for every family to manu- 
facture their own woolen cloth, which required 
fulling and dressing by those who understood 
the business. By the time of his marriage Mr. 
Borden was very pleasantly situated. His 
father had given him a deed of one half of the 
water power on the south side of the river, 
from the foot of the Great Falls to the Main 
road, together with half of the buildings upon 
the adjoining lands, and in 1732, by the will 
of his father, the other half of this property 
was given to him, besides other landed estate. 
A little more than two years after the death of 
his father Mr. Borden, while at work in his 
mill alone, was instantly killed, it being sup- 
posed that he in attempting to adjust some 
part of the machinery received a blow which 
ended his life. He was found lying upon the 
floor and the mill running at the usual speed ; 
nothing further than this was ever known con- 
cerning his death, which is entered on the 
Friends' record as having occurred in Decem- 
ber, 1736. Mr. Borden and his family were 
members of the Society of Friends. His chil- 
dren were: Patience, born in August, 1731, 
married Hon. Thomas Durfee; Abraham, born 
in 1733, married Ann Mumf ord ; Samuel, born 
April 12,1735, married Mary Sanford ; Peace, 
born Feb. 13, 1736, married Joseph Borden. 

(V) Abraham Borden, born in 1733, mar- 
ried in 1756 Ann Mumford, who was born Dec. 
8, 1734, and died in October, 1808. At the 
time of hh f;tther's death the children were all 
too young to manage for themselves. The 
widowed mother married a young man, Benja- 
min Jencks, who was an apprentice to her for- 
mer husband. He continued the business, and 
partly assisted her in managing the estate of 
Mr. Borden and in bringing up his children, 
until the eldest son, Abraham, was old enough 
to take charge of it. He, too, became a clothier. 
His death occurred in 1769. His children were: 



84 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



Simeon, bom m 1759 ; Perry, born in 1701, 
who married May 20, 1785, and lived at Fall 
River; and Judith, born in 17 G3, who died un- 
married. 

(V'l) Simeon Borden, son of Abraham, was 
born in 1759 in Freetown, Mass., and at one 
time lived in the house which stood on the west 
side of South Main street, nearly opposite the 
south end of the Pocasset mill, Fall River; this 
house was celebrated in local annais from the 
fact that two British soldiers were shot and 
killed at its eastern door when the English at- 
tacked the village in the war of the Revolution. 
Mr. Borden married Amey Briggs, a woman of 
elevated character and of superior business 
ability. He removed to the town of Tiverton, 
R. 1., in 1806, and died there Nov. 27, 1811. 
Mrs. Borden, it is said, was one of the founders 
of the Troy Cotton & Woolen Manufacturing 
Company in 1814. She died May 26, 1817, 
leaving five children, of whom Nathaniel B. 
was the fourth. 

(VII) Nathaniel Bkiggs Bokden was 
born April 15, 1801, m Freetown, in that por- 
tion thereof subsequently set off and incorpor- 
ated into a separate township by the name of 
Fall River, and he died in Fall River April 10, 
1865, when five days less than sixty-four years 
old. He was born in the house which stood 
formerly on the west side of South Main street, 
south of what is now Pocasset street, and nearly 
opposite the south end of the present Pocasset 
mill — the house mentioned above. 

Nathaniel B. Borden \vas but five years of 
age when his father removed to Tiverton, and 
only ten when he died. The greater part of 
his youth was spent there, upon the farm at 
what was called Nana Quaket. During the 
winter months lie attended the country school, 
and assisted upon the farm the rest of the year. 
His mother sought to give him a liberal educa- 
tion, and for this purpose sent him to the Plain- 
field Academy in Connecticut, but as she died 
when he was only sixteen years of age this pro- 
ject had to be abandoned, and he returned 
home to enter thus early upon the busy conflict 
of life. Although his school education was in- 
deed meager, young Nathaniel made the best 
use of his opportunities, and liis great interest 
in the success of the government of the then in- 
fant republic, kindled anew by his boyhood 
knowledge of the second war, led him to read 
and study well the best authors on government, 
paying particular attention to the writings and 
speeches of the statesmen of all countries, es- 
pecially to those of the fathers of our country. 

Having previously removed from Tiverton to 
Fall River, Mr. Borden associated himself with 



others m purchasing several null sites and ad- 
joining lauds, including the falls just west of 
Main street, where the Granite block and Po- 
casset mills now stand. On Aug. 15, 1821, 
these associates held a meeting and organized 
as the Pocasset Manufacturing Company. Mr. 
Borden, though but a few months over twenty 
years of age, was chosen clerk and treasurer of 
the corjioration, and continued to hold these re- 
sponsible positions to the entire satisfaction of 
the owners until January, 1838, when he re- 
signed on account of the pressure of public 
duties devolving upon him as a member of Con- 
gress. The Pocasset Manufacturing Company, 
after its organization, proceeded at once to de- 
velop its property, voting at first to erect a 
gristmill, but subsequently, changing its plans, 
erected what was known as the Old Bridge mill, 
which was built of stone, 100 feet by 40 feet, 
three stories high, and stood just north of the 
stream in front of the present Granite block, on 
territory subsequently taken by the town in the 
widening and straightening of Main street. It 
seems to have been one of the main purposes of 
the Pocasset Company in tbose days to encour- 
age small manufacturers, and to this end it 
erected buildings successively for ten or fifteen 
years, which were leased to other parties. In 
1825 the Satinet mill, so called, was erected. 
In 1826 a stone building was erected on the site 
of the present engine-room and picker-room of 
the Pocasset mill, where the old Quequechan 
mill formerly stood. The next year still an- 
other stone building was put up, which was 
afterward known as the Massasoit (now as the 
Watuppa) null. All the above buildings were 
let, the latter — which was thought to be so large 
that no one firm would want the whole of it, 
and consequently was built with a partition wall 
in its center and two wheelpits — being leased as 
a whole for fifteen years to that young master 
business spirit of the time. Holder Borden. In 
this way the Pocasset Company fostered the ear- 
ly manufacturing enterprises of the town. Thus 
Mr. Borden, though scarcely twenty-five years 
of age, was continuously engaged in building 
operations, whether of dwellings, factories or 
workshops, in leasing the same, and in buying 
and conveying real estate. 

In 1825 Mr. Borden and others obtained 
acts of incorporation from the Legislatures of 
Massachusetts and Rhode Island as the Wa- 
tuppa Reservoir Company, authorized to build 
a dam and make reserves of water in the Wa- 
tuppa ponds while yet the damages for flowing 
the surrounding lands would be inconsiderable, 
and realizing, it may be hoped, that soifte of 
the waters then in the ponds would ere long be 



SOUTHEASTEEN MASSACHUSETTS 



85 



wanted to quench the thirst of the popuhition 
of the great and prosperous city that they con- 
ceived would grow up and occupy the territory 
between the ponds and Mount Hope bay. 

A man of large capacity, thus early schooled 
in taking responsible positions in the numage- 
ment of manifold industries, Mr. Borden's ad- 
vice and aid were largely sought and highly ap- 
preciated. He was for many years m local 
public life as town clerk, selectman, assessor 
and highway surveyor, believing it to be the 
duty of every citizen to serve the public when 
called upon to occupy any official position for 
which he was qualified. He was a membei of 
the lower branch of the Massachusetts Legis- 
lature in 1831, 1831, 1851 and 1861, and was 
a member of the Senate in 1845 and 1817. 

At tlie time of the agitation of Freenuisoury 
and Antimasonry Mr. Borden took decided 
grounds against secret institutions in a free 
country, believing them to be unnecessary and 
of no practical use in a country where the gov- 
ernment is vested in the people. Identified 
with manufacturing interests from association 
and business, he acted in the earlier part of his 
adult life with the National Eepublican party, 
until the time when the Masonic question be- 
came a distinct issue, and then, as heretofore 
stated, he was found opposed to the Masonic 
fraternity. He advocated for those times a 
protective but not a stimulative tarifl:, believ- 
ing that capital should be left free to invigorate 
all the industrial interests of the country. He 
was prominent among the early and personal 
friends of the slave, and made his house an 
asylum for the fugitives, many of whom he as- 
sisted, either directly or indirectly, on their 
way to Canada and freedom. In 1834, at a 
time when it was fashionable to mob abolition- 
ists, he opened the Washington schoolhouse, 
then his private property, in which to form an 
antislavery society. His father-in-law, Arnold 
Buffum, was the first president of the New 
England Antislavery Society. 

In the winter of 1833-34 the questions of the 
re-charter of the United States Bank and the 
removal of the deposits were prominent sub- 
jects of public and private discussion, and Mr. 
Borden was found nearly in harmony with the 
Jackson party upon these questions. This led 
to his nomination as representative to Congress 
in the fall of 1834. and he was supported by 
both the Antimasonic and Jacksonian parties 
for that position. It was a spirited contest, 
and he was not elected until the third trial, 
being the first citizen of Fall Eiver ever chosen 
to said office. In 1836 he was reelected to the 
Twenty-fifth Congress, by an overwhelming 



vote. The Twenty-fourth Congress comprised 
the last two years of the administration of Gen- 
eral Jackson, and the Twenty-fifth the first 
half of the administration of Martin Van Bu- 
reu; and besides the bank question, the tariff 
questions, and the embarrassing (juestious of 
fiaance incident to the period of the most dis- 
astrous financial crisis through which the coun- 
try has ever passed, the slavery question was 
even then dominant, and began to assume por- 
tentous magnitude. New territories were be- 
ing acquired, and new States were knocking at 
the door of the Union, and in every instance 
the battle had to be fought over again — whether 
they should be admitted unless their constitu- 
tions prohibited slavery. The proslavery party 
was seeking to annex Texas for the purpose of 
cutting it up into slave States, and the anti- 
slavery people of the North were pouring in a 
multitude of petitions for the abolition of slav- 
ery, only to be jeered at, and met by Congress 
with a rule that upon their presentation "all 
such petitions,- without further action, should 
be laid on the table without being debated, 
printed or referred." To Mr. Borden, whose 
heart was so earnest in the antislavery. cause, 
it was a source of great satisfaction that in this 
severe conflict, in influence, in committee and 
in vote, if not in debate, he was privileged to 
participate in the support of the '"old man elo- 
quent" in his triumphant battle for the right 
of petition. With him were such men as 
Joshua E. Giddings and Stephen C. Phillips 
and Levi Lincoln and George N. Briggs and 
Eichard Fletcher and William B. Calhoun, 
whose nances might well have been stereo- 
typed into the multitude roll calls, always in 
favor of the right of petition. 

In the election of 1838, in consequence of 
some modifications in his views relative to the 
United States Bank, for the purpose of reliev- 
ing the financial distress of the country, and his 
entire want of sympathy with the administra- 
tion of Van Buren, and possibly his extreme 
antislavery principles, Mr. Borden was defeated, 
and Hon. Henry Williams, of Taunton, elected. 
But in 1840 Mr. Borden's friends again rallied 
to his support and elected him to the Twenty- 
seventh Congress, covering the period of the 
first half of the term for which President Harri- 
son was elected, but who, unfortunately for the 
country, soon died, and was succeeded by Vice 
President Tyler, for whose administration no 
party seems to have had respect. Again the 
great struggle between slavery and freedom 
for the colored race was renewed, and while even 
then the proslavery party in Congress was plot- 
ting the destruction of the government John 



86 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



Quincy Adams was threatened with expulsion 
by the House for presenting the petitions of 
the women of Massachusetts praying for the 
peaceable dissolution of the Union. Again 
Mr. Borden was only too glad to be there and 
stand shoulder to shoulder with Mr. Adams, 
whom he loved and venerated, until after one 
of the most stormy conflicts, of eleven days' 
duration, such as even "our stormy hall of legis- 
lation" has rarely witnessed, the heroic old 
man's complete vindication and victory came, 
Ms assailants being discomfited and vanquished 
and their resolution ignominiously laid upon 
the table. 

At the close of the Twenty-seventh Congress 
Mr. Borden declined a renomination. As a 
legislator he had extensive practical knowledge, 
a cool, deliberate judgment, and a firm purj)ose 
to do what he believed to be riglit regardless of 
personal or political conseciueuces to himself. 
His convictions of duty were ever in advance of 
any real or supposed interests that were merely 
personal. 

Mr. Borden was a large owner of real estate, 
a good deal of which was situated in the very 
center of the town, and when the great fire of 
1843 visited the village he was one of the larg- 
est sufferers, having eleven buildings consumed, 
the loss of which was severely felt. His pri- 
vate residence on Second street, nearly oppo- 
site the point where the fire started, was saved 
by the exertions of friends and neighbors, and 
was hospitably thrown open to those who had 
been less fortunate. Although somewhat dis- 
heartened, his spirits rallied, and by the advice 
and encouragement of his friends he immedi- 
* ately set about rebuilding in earnest. 

In 1845 the Fall Eiver railroad was opened 
as far as Myricks, and the next year it was ex- 
tended to South Braintree, connecting there 
with the Old Colony railroad. In 1847 Mr. 
Borden was chosen president, which position he 
held until 1854, when the Fall Eiver railroad 
was consolidated with the Old Colony railroad, 
a measure to which he was opposed as being 
against the best interests of Fall Eiver. Dur- 
ing his connection with the railroad the Fall 
River steamboat line to New York was estab- 
lished, which added largely to his labors. Mr. 
Borden carried to this position the benefits of 
his large experience, sound judgment and prac- 
tical knowledge, and discharged its duties with 
his accustomed zeal and efficiency. 

During the session of the State Legislature 
in 1851 the long and memorable contest for the 
election of a senator in Congress arose, wherein 
Robert C. Winthrop and Charles Sumner were 
the leading candidates. Mr. Borden was 



chosen to the Legislature on the Whig ticket, 
and to deal justly by his supporters he contin- 
ued to vote for his old friend and colleague in 
Congress, Mr. Winthrop, until, by town meet- 
ing and by petitions from the people of his dis- 
trict, it appeared that a large majority were in 
favor of Sumner, whereupon he changed his 
vote, and has the credit of casting the one bal- 
lot which secured Sumner's election. As was 
natural, Mr. Borden's course was considerably 
criticised at the time; he was blamed for over- 
looking party lines in so acrimonious a contest, 
and was even charged with having been instru- 
mental in procuring the expression of his 
townspeople in the mode it was given. But, to 
Mr. Borden's credit be it said, he was always a 
firm believer in the right of the people to "give 
instructions to their representatives," under 
Article XIX of the Bill of Rights of the Con- 
stitution of Massachusetts. He therefore, in 
cheerful obedience to the constitutional right 
of his constituents, as well as in deference to 
his own personal preference, voted for Charles 
Sumner, and it is to be hoped that neither the 
people of Fall River nor of Massachusetts ever 
had occasion to regret that vote. 

In 1856 Mr. Borden was chosen mayor of 
Fall River, and during the trying times of the 
winter of 1856-57, while the mills were stopped 
owing to the greatly depressed condition of the 
business of cotton manufacture, and hundreds 
were thrown out of employment and destitute, 
his constant and untiring efforts shone with a 
benevolence rarely surpassed. He believed that 
starvation and suffering for want of food should 
never be permitted in a Christian community 
having the means to alleviate them, and most 
nobly did he fulfill his duty. Employment was 
gfiven to many of the idle laborers having no 
legal settlement, at a very cheap rate, in neces- 
sary work about the city. By this means great 
improvements were wrought upon the city farm 
and Oak Grove cemetery, and in building new 
streets and repairing old ones, at a very small 
cost to the taxpayers. Mr. Borden believed it 
to be a just and wise, as well as humane, policy 
to provide for the wants of these people tem- 
porarily, and secure to the city at the same time 
the benefits of their cheap labor. Thev were 
thus retained at comparatively little additional 
expense to the city, where their useful services 
would again soon be in demand, and the objec- 
tionable course avoided of throwing them as a 
burden upon the State, with all the family dis- 
order and social deeradation consequent there- 
upon. If deeds of kindness and sympathy, 
coupled with well-directed charity, embalm a 
man's name in grateful remembrance, such will 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



8", 



be tlie recollection of the uame and character 
of Mr. Bordeu during this trying time. 

Mr. Borden was an alderman from 1859 un- 
til his death, in 1S65, and it mattered little 
what party or combination was formed against 
liim in his own ward, the people there knew 
him, and that was sufficient to secure his elec- 
tion. He was president of the Fall River Union 
Bank and of the Fall River Savings Bank at 
the time of his death, positions which he liad 
held for several years. 

In stature Mr. Borden was rather short and 
thick-set, but not gross, with a genial counte- 
nance. Possessed naturally of a happy, cheer- 
ful disposition, he was a pleasant and agreeable 
companion, a kind and indulgent parent. In 
religious faith he was a Unitarian and a firm 
believer in both the justice and goodness of the 
Deity. He uniformly maintained that the best 
preparation for a happy future life was to do 
well here. Cant and pretense had little influ- 
ence with him. "The doers of the word," and 
not the mere pretenders, were in his view Chris- 
tians. ''Show me thy faith without thy works, 
and I will show thee my faith by my works" 
was his favorite text and the rule of his con- 
duct. And so, by holiness in life and godliness 
in walk, he sought to be judged rather than by 
any show of the mere ceremonials of profession. 
Thus sought he his reward. It is what earth 
can neither give nor take away, "profitable unto 
all things, having promise of the life that now 
is, and of that which is to come." 

Such a character is pleasant to contemplate. 
With a moral integrity unimpeached and unim- 
peachable, a large heart and generous sympa- 
thies, he passed through life shedding light up- 
oil and assisting by kindly acts his fellow man 
wherever found, without regard to the color of 
his skin, the place of his birth, or the nature of 
his creed. To oppression he was an enemy, to 
the oppressed a friend. 

At a special meeting of the city council of 
Fall River, held on the day of his decease, the 
following preamble and resolutions were unan- 
imously adopted : 

Whereas, It has pleased Almighty Gort to call one 
of our number, the Hon. Nathaniel B. Borden, from 
Ijhe active arena of life to enter upon the untried 
scenes of eternity, one venerable in years, rich in 
experience, both in national, Stat^ and municipal 
legislation, one who has filled the highest executive 
position in our City, it is therefore 

Resolved. That it is with feelings of solemnity and 
sorrow that we bow under this dispensation of His 
providence in severing from the midst of this board 
one whose services have so long been identified with 
its action, one whose long experience in the nnmici- 
pal affairs of the city, together with his good judg- 
ment, enabled him to give direction to its councils 
and decisions. 



Resolved, That the members of this board sympathize 
with the family of the deceased in this their sad 
bereavement, and commend them to the loving kind- 
ness and companion of our blessed Lord, who doth not 
willingly afflict His children, but doeth all things, 
after the counsel of His own will, for our good. 

Resolved, That in token of our esteem for the de- 
ceased, we do attend his funeral in a body, and that 
the public offices of the city be closed on the a.fternoon 
of his funeral. 

Resolved, That a copy of these resolutions be trans- 
mitted to the family of the deceased by the city clerk, 
and the same be published in the newspapers of the 
city. 

Resolutions of similar import were passed by 
the Fall River Savings Bank, of which Mr. 
Borden was president at the time of his decease. 

Mr. Borden was married (first) March 16, 

1820, to Sarah Gray; (second) Dec. 10, 1840, 
to Louisa Gray, wlio died June 4, 1842; (third) 
on Feb. 12, 1843, to" Sarah Gould Buiium; and 
(fourth) on March 14, 1855, to Mrs. Lydia A. 
(Slade) AVilbur, daughter of William Slade of 
Somerset, and widow of John Wilbur, of Fall 
River. His children were: Amy, born Jan. 3, 

1821, died July 16, 1871; Simeon, born Dec. 
36, 1824, died Sept. 15, 1825; Sarah, born 
Aug. 26, 1826, died Sept. 9, 1854; Simeon (2), 
born March 29, 1829, died March 9, 1896; Na- 
thaniel, born Oct. 21, 1832, died Nov. 3, 1833 ; 
Louisa Gray, born Jan. 14, 1836, married Dr. 
James M. Aldrich, and died Oct. 24, 1897; 
Nathaniel Briggs, born Feb. 23, 1844, died Jan. 
9, 1909. 

(VIII) Simeon Borden (2), son of Hon. 
Nathaniel Briggs and Sarah (Gray) Borden, 
was born March 29, 1829. He acquired his 
elementar}' education in the public schools and 
was prepared for college at the Fruit Hill 
Academy, in the town of North Providence, R. 
I., wliich at the time was in the charge of the 
eminent instructor Mr. Belden. Entering Har- 
vard in 1846, he graduated therefrom with hon- 
or in 1850, in a class many of whom later won 
distinction in civil and professional life, among 
them Charles Hale, editor of the Boston Adver- 
tiser, consul general to Egypt, and assistant 
secretary of State; Everett Branfleld, assistant 
secretary of the treasury; Rev. Dr. Joseph H. 
Thayer Bussey, professor of sacred literature 
at Harvard and professor at Andover Theologi- 
cal Seminary; Hon. T. Jefferson Coolidge, 
United States minister to France ; Hon. James 
C. Carter, of the New York bar ; Gen. William 
A. Burt, postmaster of Boston, etc. 

After his graduation from Harvard Mr. Bor- 
den entered the Cambridge Law School, from 
which he received the degree of LL. B. two 
years later. He then spent a year in the law 
oflSce of William Bridgham, of Boston, and was 



88 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



admitted to the bar in 1853, and began active 
practice in Pall Eiver. Mr. Borden was en- 
dowed by nature with a judicial temperament, 
whicii combined with experience as the years 
passed, gained by long and iaitlil'ul study, soon 
won for liim the respect and esteem of both his 
fellow citizens and his legal associates. He was 
the associate counsel and prepared with great 
ability the case before the legislative committee 
defending the constitutional line, which subse- 
quently became the present boundary line be- 
tween Rhode Island and ilassachusetts. He 
was also one of the counsel in tlie important 
Allen Mason will trial, which he prepared with 
remarkable skill and care. He was a member 
of the common council of Fall River two years 
and its president one year, a member of the 
board of aldermen for seven consecutive years, 
city solicitor two years, member of the Massa- 
chusetts House of Representatives two years, 
a trustee of the Fall Eiver Free Library for 
seventeen years, one of the commissioners of 
the sinking fund, a trustee of the Fall River 
Savings Bank, a trustee of the Taunton Luna- 
tic Hospital, and a member of the old fire de- 
partment, being foreman of Niagara Engine 
Company. Upon the resignation of Mr. John 
S. Brayton as clerk of the Bristol courts, in 
January, 1864, Mr. Borden was appointed by 
the justices of the Supreme Judicial court to 
fill the vacancy until the annual election, when 
he was elected for the unexpired term, and by 
repeated reelections continued to hold the of- 
fice until his death. 

Mr. Borden carried into the performance of 
public duties the same conscientious spirit and 
high standard which he exhibited in those of a 
private nature. He illustrated in civil life the 
very best New England examples. Possessing 
a sound legal training, the ability, fidelity, in- 
tegrity and unfailing courtesy with which he 
discharged the arduous and exacting responsi- 
bilities of the office of clerk of the courts for 
nearly a generation won the unstinted praise 
and approval of the judiciary, the bar and all 
with whom he came in contact. He was justly 
called the model clerk, "and was without an 
equal in the Commonwealth." "His records, 
while elaborate, were simple and concise, and 
were expressed in clear, vigorous English. Be- 
yond the required duties of his position, by his 
care and industry; the office has thirty bound 
volumes of exceptions and briefs of counsel in 
cases which have been argued before the Su- 
preme Judicial court." He was largely instru- 
mental in establishing the valuable law library 
at Taunton. 

Mr. Borden died March 9, 1896, at Fall 



River, Mass., and immediately following this 
event resolutions were adopted by the bar of 
Bristol county, from which the following ex- 
tracts are quoted : 

"Devoted to the best traditions and loyal to 
the highest standards in the profession of the 
law, it was the lifelong purpose and constant 
effort of our friend and brother to uphold, in 
connection with the courts of the Common- 
wealth, the highest conception of professional 
honor and the noblest type of the professional 
character. Always glad to welcome to the prac- 
tice of tlie profession the young men at the 
opening of their careers, it was a delight to him 
to contribute from the abundance of his knowl- 
edge and wisdom in order to make the pathway 
for them easier and pleasanter, asking for and 
thinking of no return for the help and assist- 
ance rendered other than the satisfaction which 
he derived in gratifying . his own sympathetic 
nature." 

Jlr. Borden was a public-spirited citizen, tak- 
ing a deep interest in all worthy movements, 
and liberally supporting every charitable enter- 
prise. In politics he was a strong antislavery 
advocate and a Republican. He was the first 
president of the Harvard Club in Fall Eiver. 
Upon his death he was succeeded as clerk of the 
courts by his son, Simeon Borden, Jr. 

On Aug. 22, 1855, Mr. Borcen was married 
to Irene S. Hathaway, daughter of Isaac N. 
and Eliza W. (Tobey) Hathaway, and they be- 
came the parents of two children: Sarah, born 
June 18, 1858, and Simeon, born June 27, 
1860. 

(IX) SiMEOx BoRDEX, son of Simeon and 
Irene S. (Hathaway) Borden, was born in Fall 
River June 27, 1860. He attended the public 
schools of his native city and prepared for col- 
lege in the high school, from which he was grad- 
uated with the class of 1878. He entered 
Brown University the same year, and was grad- 
uated therefrom in 1882, with the degree of 
A. B. Shortly after his graduation he became 
a clerk in his father's office, and continued in 
that capacity until 1888, when he was appoint- 
ed assistant clerk of courts. This position he 
held at the time of his father's death in 1896, 
when he was appointed to fill the vacancy untfl 
the next election. At this time he was nomi- 
nated on the Republican ticket for the office of 
clerk of courts, and was elected by a large ma- 
jority, and again received the honor in 1901 
and 1906, for terms of five years each. Mr. 
Borden has many of the personal characteris- 
tics which endeared his father to all who en- 
joyed his sterling friendship, and is held in 
high esteem by all of those with whom, by vir- 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



89 



tue of his public position, he comes in contact. 
He is interested m tlie business life of Fall 
River as a director in the Barnard Manufactur- 
ing Company and a member of the corporation 
of the Fall River Savings Bank. He is a trus- 
tee of the Taunton Hospital for the Insane. 

Mr. Borden married Minnie W. Hood, of 
Fall River, who died in 1895. 

(VIII) Nathaniel Briggs Borden, son 
of Nathaniel Briggs and Sarah Gould (BufEum) 
Borden, was born in Fall River Feb. 2'6, 1844, 
and began his education in the schools of that 
place, which he attended until 1862, when he 
went to the Phillips Academy at Exeter, N. H. 
Studying there until 1864, he entered Harvard - 
College in the class which graduated in 1868. 
His father died in 1865, and in the fall of that 
year Mr. Borden went to Peacedale, R. I., and 
was employed in the woolen mills of R. G. 
Hazard & Co., for the purpose of learning the 
woolen manufacturing business. Afterward he 
was at the Carolina mills, in Rhode Island. 
While at Peacedale and Carolina Mr. Borden 
familiarized himself with the practical working 
of the machinery of the various departments. 
In 1869 he left Carolina and went to Valley 
Falls, R. I., entering the employ of his uncle, 
Samuel B. Chace, in the counting room of the 
Valley Falls Company, which was engaged in 
the manufacture of cotton cloth. In the spring 
of 1870 he returned to Fall River and entered 
the employ of the Mercliauts" Manufacturing 
»Company as bookkeeper. 

In 1871 Mr. Borden went back to Valley 
Falls to become the agent and superintendent 
of the Valley Falls Company's cotton mills of 
about 35,000 spindles. In October, 1873, he 
returned to Fall River, and immediately began 
to solicit subscriptions for the formation of a 
corporation to engage in the manufacture of 
cotton cloth. As a consequence of his exer- 
tions the Barnard Manufacturing Company was 
organized and Mr. Borden was elected treas- 
urer. He continued in the position to the end 
of his life, conducting successfully the business 
of that corporation. Tlie mill was erected and 
equipped in 1874 under Mr. Borden's supervis- 
ion, and in December, 1895, he was authorized 
by his stockholders to increase the facilities to 
64,560 spindles. 1,708 looms, and the capital 
stock to $495,000. Mr. Borden was president 
of the Fall River Cotton Manufacturers' Asso- 
ciation from 1889 to 1906. 

In 1890 Mr. Borden was elected a member of 
the common council and again in 1891, being 
president of that body both vears. He was a 
director and vice president of the Massasoit Na- 
tional Bank until on the consolidatiion of the 



Massasoit National Bank, Pocasset National 
Bank and National Union Bank forming the 
Massasoit-Pocasset National Bank, he became 
a director of tlie new organization. He was 
a trustee of the Fall River Five Cents Savings 
Bank, and of the Taunton Hospital for the In- 
sane, and president of the Cliildren's Home 
Corporation, having held that office from 1889. 
In short, he was a citizen whose activities ex- 
tended to almost everything affecting the local 
welfare. He was a member of the Unitarian 
Society, and in this as in other relations was 
very highly esteemed. He was found trust- 
worthy, fair-minded, and kind-hearted in what- 
ever capacity he served during a useful and 
beneficent life. He died Jan. 9, 1909, at liis 
Fall River home. No. 645 High street, leaving 
a void in many circles. Editorially the Fall 
River News said of him : 

"In the death of Nathaniel B. Borden Fall 
River loses another of its leading citizens. In- 
timately connected with the business interests 
of the city, for years president of the Manufac- 
turers' Association, the able treasurer of one of 
our mills, a bank officer, he was also a public- 
spirited man, deeply interested in some of the 
city's charities, especially in the Children's 
Home, of whose directors he had been president 
for nearly or quite a score of years. He has 
written nearly all of the last twenty annual re- 
ports and presided over not only the annual 
meetings but also over the monthly meetings of 
the directors. Into that beautiful charity he 
had thus put a great amount of interested labor. 
Some years ago he was appointed a trustee of 
the Taunton Insane Asylum and he had been 
made chairman of that board. To that duty to 
one of the institutions of the State he gave 
much time and thought. He will thus be greatly 
missed in a variety of important relations the 
scope and extent of which are indicated in his 
biography. Citizens of his temper and caliber 
are too precious a possession that a city can 
see them pass without the expression of its sin- 
cere lament." 

On Feb. 2, 1870, Mr. Borden was married 
to Annie E. Brown, daughter of Jeremiah and 
Emeline E. (Almy) Brown, and their children 
were : Nathaniel Briggs, born March 4, 1871 ; 
Annie Brown, Dec. 4, 1877; Arnold Buffum, 
March 19, 1882 (died April 30, 1907) ; Louise 
Gould, Oct. 11, 1883. 

(IX) Nathaniel Briggs Borden, Jr., son of 
Nathaniel Briggs and Annie E. (Brown) Bor- 
den, was born in Fall River, Mass., March 4, 
1871. He was educated in the schools of that 
city and at the Phillips Exeter Academy, at 
Exeter, N. H. On March 1, 1890, he began 



90 



SOUTHEASTEEN MASSACHUSETTS 



work in the office of the Barnard Manufacturing 
Company in Fall River, and on Jan. 11, 1909, 
was elected treasurer pro tem. of that company 
to succeed his father. In October, 1909, he 
was elected treasurer, an office which he has 
since acceptably filled. 

On June 4, 1895, Mr. Borden married Annie 
Eemington Smith, daughter of William W. 
Smith, and they have one daughter, Louise 
Smith, born Jan. 8, 1899. 

HON. JOHN SAXTON KENT, ex-mayor of 
the city of Brockton, and one of that city's lead'- 
ing manufacturers, is as well one of the most 
enterprising and progressive citizens who have 
made their way to success in this Common- 
wealth. Merit commands recognition, and the 
deserving find doors opening and the way 
growing plainer as they go onward. In the life 
of Mr. Kent we have a noble example of the 
result of pluck, untiring energy and persever- 
ance, combined with natural business acumen, 
he being the architect of his own successful 
career, and having acquired, through his own 
capabilities, a place among the foremost and 
prosperous shoe manufacturers of the State. 
Mr. Kent is a native of Brockton, which at the 
time of his birth was known as North Bridge- 
water, born April 18, 1860, only son of Pat- 
rick and Susan (Saxton) Kent. 

Patrick Kent, the father, came to North 
Bridgewater in 1854, and has been a respected 
resident of the community in which his long 
and industrious life has been spent. For about 
forty years he was a trusted employee of the 
well Icnown firm of Howard & Clark, furniture 
dealers, since which time he has been living re- 
tired, enjoying the comforts of life surrounded 
by his children and grandchildren, and 
although in his eighty-third year is still pos- 
sessed of his faculties and good health. Mr. 
Kent was united in marriage with Susan Sax- 
ton, who passed away in Brockton in June, 
1905, aged seventy-four years, the mother of 
three children: John Saxton is the subject of 
this review: Mary Alice is the wife of Wil- 
liam H. Fitzpatrick, of Brockton, where they 
reside ; Katherine L. married Frank E. John- 
son, of Whitman, and they reside in Brockton, 
where he is connected with the M. A. Packard 
Shoe Company. 

John Saxton Kent, as stated above, was born 
in North Bridgewater (now Brockton) April 
18, 1860, and after attending the public schools 
and the high school of his native town, gradu- 
ating from the latter in 1877, he became a 
student at Bryant & Stratton's Business Col- 
lege at Boston, where he took a special business 



course, and from which he was graduated with 
high honors, attaining in his final examina- 
tions a percentage of 100 — ^the second student 
of that institution of learning to attain that 
liigh rank. Returning to Brockton, at the re- 
quest of the late Hon. Edward Crocker, then a 
leading manufacturer and financier, Mr. Kent 
opened a set of books for the firm of A. S. 
Porter & Sons, who were at that time exten- 
sively engaged in the carriage and livery busi- • 
ness, remaining with this concern in the capac- 
ity of bookkeeper for a period of about four 
years, during which time he was also called 
upon to do much legal work for the firm, mem- 
bers of which were deputy sheriffs of Plymouth 
county. Resigning his position with this firm 
in 1883, Mr. Kent then became bookkeeper for 
Moses A. Packard, one of the well known shoe 
manufacturers of the city, continuing with Mr. 
Packard and with the firm of Packard & Grover 
for a period of about five years in that capac- 
ity. The following year he was made superin- 
tendent of their shoe factory, which position 
he filled for about one year. Capt. R. B. 
Grover then withdrew from the business which 
on Jan. 1, 1889, was reorganized as M. A. 
Packard & Co., Mr. Kent and Oliver M. 
Fisher, who had also been in the employ of 
Mr. Packard for several years, becoming mem- 
bers of the firm. On March 1, 1898, the busi- 
ness was incorporated under the laws of Mass- 
achusetts, with a capital stock of $200,000, as 
the M. A. Packard Company, at which time 
Mr. Kent was elected treasurer of the corpo- 
ration, in wliich capacity he has since effici- 
ently served. The M. A. Packard Company 
manufactures what is known as the medium 
fine grade shoe, which retails for from $3 to 
$5, their special makes being known as the 
"Packard" shoe and the "John Mitchell" shoe, 
which have an extensive sale and are well 
known all over- the country. This firm em- 
ploys from seven hundred and fifty to eight 
hundred hands, and has an output of over thir- 
ty-six hundred pairs of shoes per day. 

Although a thorough business man and de- 
voted to his extensive business affairs, Mr. 
Kent has, nevertheless, found time to interest 
himself in the welfare of his native city and 
to make that interest manifest. In political 
faith he is a strong advocate of protection, 
and a firm believer in the principles of the Re- 
publican party. In 1886, 1887 and 1888 he 
was a member of the school committee, and for 
nine years was a trustee of the public library. 
In 1906. yielding to the solicitations of his 
many friends, Mr. Kent became a candidate 
for the mayoralty of the city, and at the fol- 





WF- 








^MA.r,jtA. 



I PC 



S-*f ^^6-' fffiSi— .j*^^^^^ 




SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



91 



lowing election was chosen to fill that office, to 
which he was reelected for two succeeding . 
years, serving his native city as its chief exe- 
cutive during the years 1907, 1908 and 1909, 
with credit to himself and to the satisfaction 
of his constituents; although importuned to be 
a candidate for a fourth term, he declined to 
be a candidate for another year. Upon retir- 
ing from the office of mayor of the city, in 
January, 1910, he was unanimously elected a 
member of the board of sinking fund commis- 
sioners of the city for a term of three years, to 
succeed the late Baalis Sanford. For a num- 
ber of years Mr. Kent has taken an active in- 
terest in the Brockton hospital, serving for 
seven years as a member of the executive board 
and for three years as president of the same. 
He is one of the vice presidents of the New 
England Shoe and Leather Association of Bos- 
ton, of which he has also been a director for 
several years, and is also a member of the 
Brockton Shoe Manufacturers' Association, 
which he has long served as a member of the 
executive committee, and of which he was 
president for one year; he has taken an active 
and interested part in the work of that organi- 
zation. Mr. Kent has also been prominently 
identified with the city's financial institutions, 
being a director of the Home National Bank 
of Brockton, and was one of the original in- 
corporators of the People's Savings Bank, of 
which he has also been a trustee for several 
years, and of which he was clerk of the board 
of trustees for a period of ten years. 

Mr. Kent and his family are consistent 
members of St. Patrick's Roman Catholic 
Church, of Broclcton, to which he is liberal in 
his support. Socially he is an active and val- 
ued member of the Commercial Club, of Brock- 
ton, which he has served for three years as 
president, and is also a member of Seville 
Council, No. 93, Knights of Columbus. 

On Sept. 11, 1889, Mr. Kent was united in 
marriage to Mary Agnes Clark,' daughter of 
Thomas J. and Ellen (Fitzpatrick) Clark, of 
New Orleans, La., and this happy union has 
been blessed with children as follows : Helen 
Clark, Susan Saxton (both students at Elm- 
hurst Academy, Providence, E. I.), Jolm S., 
Jr., and Alfred Thomas. 

Mr. Kent is a courteous, affable gentleman; 
he .is unvarj-ingly plain and agreeable in' his 
social relations; the friends he makes are fast 
friends; his private character is without stain, 
and his name carries no blemish. His useful- 
ness as a citizen extends far outside his busi- 
ness career into various spheres of active bene- 
ficence. He has taken an active interest in the 



growth and development of his native city, and 
all worthy objects find in him an active worker 
to that end. Possessed of marked executive 
ability and untiring energy, the notable suc- 
cess and continual growth of the extensive 
manufacturing concern with which he has been 
so actively identified are largely due to his 
efforts. A forceful and fluent speaker, Mr. 
Kent is frequently called to the political stump 
as well as before various bodies, to address 
them on industrial conditions and affairs of 
general interest. 

READ. (I) John Read, supposed son of 
William and Lucy (Henage) Read, was born 
in 1598, and it is said came to America with 
the great fleet in 1630. He is of record in 
1637 in Weymouth, was in Dorchester the next 
year, and went from there to that part of 
Braintree now Quincy. In 1643 or 1644 he 
accompanied Rev. Mr. Newman and his church 
society to Rehoboth, where his name appears 
the third on the list of purchasers of the town. 
He was a man of large property for those 
times, and held the ofBce of constable, which 
was the chief exeputive office in town. He 
lived in that part of Rehoboth now Seekonk, 
and was a prominent and leading man; he 
kept a public house. He died Sept. 7, 1685, 
aged eighty-seven years. The Christian name 
of his wife was Sarah, and their children 
were: Samuel, William, Abigail, John, 
Thomas, Ezekiel and Zachariah (twins), 
Moses, Mary, Elizabeth, Daniel, Israel and Me- 
hetabel. 

(II) Samuel Read, son of John, joined the 
colonists of Braintree in the settlement of Men- 
don, Mass. He married in 1661 Hopestill Hol- 
brook. He was constable of Mendon in 1681. 
From him have descended the Mendon, Ux- 
bridge, Northbridge, Milford, Oxford and 
Charlton Reads. His children were : Mary, 
Samuel, Ebenezer, John, Sarah, Josiah. The 
mother of these died Jan. 12, 1706, and he 
married again, the Christian name of his wife 
being Hannah. She died Jan. 24, 1717. Ilis 
will is dated April 5, 1717. 

(III) Ebenezer Read, son of Samuel and 
Hopestill, married Feb. 7, 1704, Sarah Chapin, 
who lived to the advanced age of ninety-five 
years, dying at Uxbridge, Mass., May 16, 1773. 
The children of Ebenezer and Sarah were: 
Lydia, born May 15, 1706 (died that same 
year); John, Aug. 3, 1707; David, Aug. 19, 
1709; Ebenezer, Feb. 27, 1711 ; Hannah, March 
19, 1714; Abigail, March 15, 1717; Mary, Feb. 
4, 1721; and Josiah, Jan. 24, 1723 (probably 
killed by Indians at Housac Fort, Sept. 15, 1746) 



92 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



(IV) Ebenezer Read (2), son of Ebenezer, 
born Feb. 37, 1711, in Mendon, Mass., mar- 
ried (first) June 26, 1736, Esther Webb, of 
Braintree. He also married a second time, the 
Christian name of his wife being Hannah. His 
children were: John; Benjamin, born Jan. 21, 
1740; Ebenezer, born Aug. 24, 1741; Esther, 
born Aug. 24, 1743. 

(V) Deacon Ebenezer Read, son of Ebene- 
zer (2), born Aug. 24, 1741, married Feb. 23, 
1763, Mary Chapin. Deacon Read lived for 
many years on what later became known as the 
Ira Cleveland place in Milford, Mass. His 
homestead was a fine one on the apex of old 
Magomiscock Hill. He and his wife became 
members of the Milford Congregational Church 
in 1767, and he was chosen deacon in 1786. 
They were dismissed to the church in Worces- 
ter, Mass., in February, 1796. Their children 
were: Hannah, born May 1, 1764; Ichabod, 
Jan. 27, 1766 (died in that same year) ; Abi- 
gail, June 1, 1767; Mary, July 30, 1769 (died 
May, 1770); Sylvia, July IS, 1771; Martha 
and Sarah (twins), March 4. 1773; Samuel 
Torrey, Oct. 17, 1774; Mary (3), Dec. 16, 
1776; Ebenezer, May 1, 1779; Benjamin, May 
1, 1781; Ruth, Feb. 14, 1784; and Alexander, 
July 10, 1786. 

(VI) De. Alexander Read, son of Deacon 
Ebenezer and Mary (Chapin) Read, was born 
July 10, 1786, in the town of Milford, Mass. 
In his boyhood his father and the family re- 
moved to Worcester. He was graduated with 
honors from Dartmouth College in 1808. He 
studied medicine under the direction of Dr. 
Greene, of Worcester, and of Nathan Smith, 
M.D., and began practice in New Bedford in 
1811. He soon acquired the reputation of a 
skillful and attentive physician, and received 
the patronage of a numerous circle of intel- 
ligent and wealthy citizens. A course of lec- 
tures prepared and delivered by him on chem- 
istry and botany with great acceptance was a 
happy introduction to the youthful portion of 
the more intelligent population, and many of 
the attendants were ever after his ardent 
friends. He possessed by nature a sanguine 
temperament, and by cultivation and inter- 
course with, good society refined tastes which 
made him a conspicuous and welcome figure in 
the circle in which he moved. His ruling pas- 
sion was to promote the well being of tbose 
with whom he associated. Hence as a physi- 
cian he was ardent in the pursuit of knowl- 
edge, careful in his observation of the chang- 
ing phases of disease, kind in his deportment, 
courteous in all the relations of life, and skill- 
ful to perceive and minister to the necessities 
of his numerous patients. 



Dr. Read received the degree of M.D. at ISiew 
Haven in 1816. He was a skillful surgeon as 
well as a physician and his advice was much 
sought and highly valued by his professional 
brethren. He published but little. His re- 
marks on the mode of preparation and uses of 
datura stramonium are a model of simplicity 
and directness in medical communications. Dr. 
Read was an ardent and devoted Christian, hav- 
ing the most reverent regard for the Bible. 

On Apjil 16, 1818, Dr. Read married Sarah 
Willis, daughter of Samuel, of Bridgewater, 
and the union was blessed with children : Mary, 
William A. (died young), Sarah, William A. 
(2) and Elizabeth T. 

Dr. Read was known as a good husband, kind 
father, beloved physician and in every relation 
eminently a good man. His fatal disease was 
liiematuria, followed by chronic disorganization 
and protracted suffering. He died at his home 
in New Bedford, Mass., Nov. 20, 1849, aged 
sixty-three years. His wife Sarah (Willis), 
who was born April 23, 1794, survived liim 
many years, dying Dec. 25, 1874, aged eighty 
years. 

WRIGHT. The family of this name is an 
early Boston family, which through marriage is 
allied with some of the historic families of New 
England, among them those of Adams, Wins- 
low and Wentworth. We give herewith an out- 
line of the earlier generations, beginning with 
the first ancestor in this country. 

(I) Richard Wright, born about 1607, died 
in Plymouth, Mass., June 9, 1691. In. 1644 he 
married Hester Cook, and they had children: 
Adam, Esther and Mary. , 

(II) Adam Wright, born about 1644, died 
Sept. 20, 1724. He was twice married, having 
by his first wife, Sarah (Soule), two children, 
John and Isaac, and by his second wife, Mehita- 
ble (Barrows), four children, Samuel, Moses, 
James and Nathan. 

(III) Samuel Wright, born about 1700, died 
Jan. 5, 1773. He was of Plympton. By his 
wife, Anna (Tillson), born about 1704, died 
Nov. 16, 1793, he had children as follows : Ruth, 
born Aug. 12, 1733; Ruth (2), March 1, 1725; 
Sarah, June 3, 1726 (married a Hall) ; Samuel, 
Oct. 6, 1738; Edmund, Oct. 28, 1730; Jacob, 
x\pril 17, 1733: Lydia, Sept. 33, 1736. 

(IV) Jacob Wright, of Plympton, born April 
17, 1733, son of Samuel and Anna (Tillson) 
Wright, died March 30, 1818. He married 
Deborah Torrey, of Weymouth, born Sept. 18, 
1731, died Dec' 31, 1820. Children : Ann, born 
Jan. 1, 1753; Zadoc, April 17, 1754 (served in 
the Revohitionary war) ; Joseph, Oct. 31, 1736; 
Deborah, April 14, 1761 ; Edmund, July 26, 




I P u 




(J^^ 



SOUTHEASTEKN MASSACHUSETTS 



93 



1763; Jabez, July 13, 1765; Silas, March 7, 
1773 (died in Boston). 

(V) Edmund Wright, of Boston, born July 
26, 1763, died in Boston, Dec. 10, 1837. He 
was married there April 2, 1789, to Mary Pratt 
(widow of Joseph Pratt), born April 11, 1756, 
died Oct. 1, 1845, and they had the following 
named children: Margaret (Peggy), born March 
23, 1791, married Thomas Wiley m 1810, and 
died in June, 1883; Mary, born Dec. 15, 1792, 
married Wiuslow Wright in 1821, and died 
Dec. 29, 1830; Edmund, born Oct. 16, 1794, is 
mentioned below; Catharine Landor, born Jan. 
7, 1797, married Lewis G. Pray in January, 
1823, and died Feb. 12, 1887; Thomas, born 
June 30, 1801, died Aug. 1, 1801. 

(VI) Edmund Wright (2), of Boston, son 
of Edmund, born Oct. 16, 1794, in Boston, mar- 
ried (first) Angeline Standish, of New Bedford, 
who died in 1839. There were no children by 
this union. On Oct. 1, 1840, he was married 
(second) in Boston to Sarah Augusta, born 
Dec. 25, 1808, in Boston, daughter of Joab (2) 
and Kezia (Wentworth) Hunt, and grand- 
daughter of Joab and Sarah (Adams) Hunt, 
of Boston, the latter a daughter of Thomas 
and Sarah Adams. Of her father, Joab Hunt 
(2), a daughter, the late Miss Harriot K. Hunt, 
M. D., of Boston, a distinguished physician and 
gifted woman, wrote : "My father was entirely 
a 'North-Ender.' His family always lived, as 
did his maternal grandparents, in Charter street. 
A bright, glad, witty man — without a shade of 
vulgarity — perfectly the master of all those 
nice little arts and manners which give zest to 
conversation, enlivening it — with a true, con- 
stant and genial benevolence in thought, word 
and deed — his face always radiant with a pleas- 
ure that had its source in his heart — 'a content- 
ed mind is a continual feast' " Mr. Hunt 

was by trade and occupation for many years a 
ship joiner, but later he went into the business 
of Eastern Navigation. He died instantly, on 
the evening of Nov. 15, 1827, at the rooms of the 
St. Andrew's Lodge of Freemasons, of Boston. 
Of Mr. Hunt one of his Masonic brethren said : 
"Thus died Joab Hunt, one of the oldest mem- 
bers of St. Andrew's Lodge, a man honored and 

' respected in society, a just and upright Mason 
and one of the noblest works of God's creation, 
an honest man; one who was beloved by all the 
members of the lodge, who will long lament his 
loss. He was at all times vigilant, prompt and 
judicious in guarding the honor and promoting 
the true interests of the lodge; he was a true 
friend, a good citizen; blest with a cheerful 
disposition, he diffused happiness wherever he 
went; he was generous in his feelings, and al- 



ways ready to bear his full share in alleviating 
the troubles of the unfortunate; he was most 
truly an ornament to our fraternity." Dr. Hunt, 
quoted above, concerning her mother said : "My 
mother was a pet child, the youngest of lier 
family. Before she was ten years old her moth- 
er died. But the love that had been breathed on 
her childhood for those ten years remained for- 
ever. Its memory was the glad light that 
cheered and guided her in the performance of 

her duties in after life I remember often 

hearing in childhood of my mother's usefulness, 
of her great capacity for doing good to others. 
It was all reflected back upon her in respect and 
blessing...." Mrs. Hunt died April 21, 1847. 
She was a direct descendant on her father's 
side of Elder William Wentworth, the immi- 
grant who came to Boston as early as 1639, and 
after several removals finally settled and died in 
Dover, N. H. ; from whom her descent is 
through John, Edward and Edward Wentworth 
(2) ; while on her mother's side she descended 
from Kenelm AVinslow, a native of Droitwitch, 
W^orcestershire, England, who came to Ply- 
mouth, New England, and later settled as an 
original proprietor in Freetown, from whom her 
lineage is through Kenelm (2), Josiah, Josiah 
(2) and Susannah Winslow. 

Edmund Wright (2) died April 24, 1874, in 
Boston, Mass., aged seventy-nine years. "The 
end of that man is peace.'"' In this connection, 
again quoting from Dr. Hunt : "In October, 
1840, my sister was married to Mr. Edmund 
Wright, the son of the revered man of that 
name who came forward after my father's death 
and became my mother's bondsman; he knew 
nothing of our business at that time, he only 
knew that we were honest and desired nothing 
but justice. He trusted us. These words are 
full of import. Trust arouses hope to action, 
stimulates the mind, and induces trust in God. 
She did not leave her home; her mother and 
sister were still as dear to her as ever; we were 
not displaced in her heart; it had widened to 
receive another guest. We had gained a son 
and brother. Her love nature enlarged and 
beautified all her relations. Her companion 
was one fitted to appreciate these relations. His 
own unselfish devotion to his mother and family 
rendered my sister's position clear to him . . . . " 
Edmund Wright (2) published at Boston The 
Daih/ Patriot. His wife Sarali Augusta (Hunt) 
Wright died in Boston July 8, 1867. Their 
children were: (1) Harriot Augusta, born Jan. 
9, 1843, in Boston, died there Oct. 10, 1845. (2) 
Edmund Wentworth, born April 23, 1844, in 
Boston, was graduated at Harvard College in 
1866, later lived in Duxbury, Mass., where he 



94 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



was principal of the academy, and is now living 
at Old Orchard, Maine. He married at Provi- 
dence, R. I., Sept. 5, 1870, Eliza Jane Davis, 
and in 1881 married (second) Mary E. Spencer, 
of Sterling, 111. They have had three children, 
born as follows: Eleanor May, Jan. 12, 1886; 
Wentworth Spencer, Jan. 19, 1889; Lawrence 
Hunt, March, 1895. (3) Theodore Francis, 
bom Aug. 3, 1845, is mentioned below. (4) 
Augustus Hunt, born Dec. 23, 1846, is men- 
tioned below. (5) Eev. Horace Winslow was 
born June 21, 1848. (6) Miss Mary Angeline, 
born Feb. 11, 1850, in Dorchester, Mass., is a 
resident of Boston. 

(VII) Theodore Francis Wright was one 
of the most notable leaders of the New Jeru- 
salem Church of his generation. Born Aug. 3, 
1845, in Dorchester, Mass., he lived there until 
his seventeenth year, meantime attending the 
public schools. His religious training began 
early. Coming of a family of thinkers, he was 
imbued from childhood with the sense of per- 
sonal responsibility which seemed to be the 
guiding factor in his busy and useful life. His 
grandparents on both sides had adopted the 
teachings of the Universalist faith, and his 
father was an earnest and regular attendant at 
the Unitarian Church in Dorchester, where 
Theodore was a member of the Sunday school 
and also attended church. Under his* mother's 
guidance he began the reading of the Bible 
when a mere child, and, living in a home where 
every influence for the uplift of mankind re- 
ceived the most sincere support, and in a day 
when many of the most vital questions of the 
present were beginning to attract the attention 
of men and women of intellect and high pur- 
pose, with a heart and mind open to such im- 
pressions and a disposition to labor for the 
realization of his ideals, his environment was 
most favorable for the development that result- 
ed in a life of the utmost consecration and use- 
fulness. In his youth he became interested in 
the temperance question, and during his fif- 
teenth and sixteenth years he attended lectures 
at the Mechanics' Institute, in Eoxbury, by 
such men as Phillips, Curtis, Beecher, Chapin, 
Higginson, Schurz, Wliipple, Sumner, Emer- 
son — leaders of thought well calculated to in- 
fluence one of his nature. The last two years 
of his college preparatory work were spent at 
the private school of Mr. W. H. Brooks, in 
Boston. The family moved to Boston in April, 
1862, and in July he entered Harvard, begin- 
ning his studies there Aug. 29th, a member of 
the class of 1866. He continued his studies 
faithfully, hut the war spirit called him to the 
service of his country, and he prepared him- 



self to enter the army with the same fore- 
thoiight which characterized everything he im- 
dertook, so that ou April 4, 1864, he received 
a certificate of rank as first lieutenant of infan- 
try, and on June 22d was appointed to the 
108th Regiment, U. S. Colored Infantry, with 
orders to report at Louisville, Ky. He served 
until July 23, 1865, and after a six weeks' vaca- 
tion returned to liis studies, graduating with 
his class in spite of the interruption. Mean- 
time he had become interested in the doctrines 
of Swedenborg, reading and studying faithfully 
during his absence at the front, and immediate- 
ly upon graduation from college presented him- 
self as a member of the entering class of the 
Theological School then opening at Waltham. 
The term was a summer one of two months, and 
in October he became a member of the Boston 
Society. From this time on his record is one 
of struggle for the attainment of high ideals, 
and practical work of such value as to seem 
almost too great for the accomplishment of one 
man. And though he died at a comparatively 
early age, in his sixty-third year, his broad sym- 
pathies and ceaseless activity led him into 
fields of usefulness where he himself, with his 
modest conception of his own powers, would 
hardly have dared to venture except at the call 
of duty. In 1867 began his connection with 
The Magazine of the New Church, which ulti- 
mately, mainly as the result of his influence, 
developed into The New Church Revieiv, and 
with which he was identified to the close of his 
life ; from 1893 until his death he was the 
editor in chief. 

From a long and successful pastorate in 
Bridgewater he was called to take a chair in 
the Theological School, and in 1889 was called 
to take charge as resident professor of the 
school tlien opened at Cambridge and to become 
pastor of the Society just beginning there. He 
was at Cambridge the remainder of his life, 
during his early years hot only attending to 
his pastoral duties but also doing the work for 
his Ph. D. degree, conferred upon him in 1891. 
The history of his life from this time on is the 
history of the progress of the church itself. 
He not only kept pace with that progress, but 
was a leader in much of what constitutes the 
best development of the New Church. As writer, 
lecturer, preacher, teacher, secretary of the 
Association for the long period of forty years 
continuously, dean of the Theological School at 
Cambridge, honorary general secretary and lec- 
turer of the Palestine Exploration Fund of 
England to represent the Society in America, 
member of the missionary board of the Society, 
representative at important conventions of the 



SOUTHEASTEEN MASSACHUSETTS 



95 



denomination here and abroad, he had a 
place m tlie church which few men would have 
undertaken to fill. Yet with all this, he found 
time to be a useful citizen in general, and his 
work as a temperance advocate, as president of 
the East End Christian Union, as vice-president 
of the Associated Charities, in the Young Wo- 
men's Christian Association, and in other rela- 
tions, was a distinct factor in the successful 
promotion of all their efforts. While in Bridge- 
water he had originated the movement which 
resulted in the foundation of the public library 
and acted as chairman of the building commit- 
tee for the Memorial Hall, in which it was 
housed. And so wherever he was located, he 
was a leader in thought and action who set in 
motion activities which still bear the impress 
of his influence. All his life, too, he was in- 
terested in the cultivation of the soil, and 
from boyhood to the end of his days had liis 
garden. While in Bridgewater he became a 
member of the Plymouth County Agricultural 
Society, and he always maintained his interest 
in its objects and exhibitions. In his boyhood 
and young manhood he was an ardent lover 
of baseball and outdoor sports generally, and 
so on through his life he continued to be 
wholesome and human. His religion was a very 
real thing to the many who knew him and 
were helped by him. 

Dr. Wright traveled considerably, and he 
died while abroad, on the Mediterranean, Nov. 
13, 1907. He was twice married, the first time 
in Boston April 6, 1868, to Harriet Susanna 
Chapman, born Aug. 15, 1844, in Cambridge, 
Mass., daughter of Edmund Augustus and Har- 
riet (Brown) Chapman, of Cambridge. She 
died Sept. 15, 1877, and he married (second) 
Dec. 4, 1879, Pamelia Keith, of Bridgewater, 
Mass., daughter of Edwin and Saba (Hooper) 
Keith, who is now living at No. 42 Quincy 
street, Cambridge. There were no children of 
either marriage. 

(VII) Augustus Hunt Wright, son of 
Edmund (2) and Sarah A. (Hunt) Wright, 
was born Dec. 23, 1846, in Boston, Mass. After 
attending the public schools of Dorchester, he 
took a special course at the Agricultural College 
at Amherst, Mass. On came the Civil war with 
its call to arms, with its demand for the youth 
of the land, and ere it had progressed far. 
tliough but a hoy of pixteen, young Wright laid 
aside his books for the tented field, casting his 
lot in the fall of 1863, as an enlisted man, with 
the 2d Massachusetts Volunteer Cavalry. Suffice 
it to say that he gave two years of his boyhood 
to the service of his country, serving later as a 
first lieutenant in the 24th U. S. Colored Troops. 



At the end of the war, returning to his home 
with an honorable war record, he was appointed 
an inspector in the United States Internal 
Revenue service stationed at Boston, a govern- 
ment relation he sustained for three years. For 
the succeeding three years he was in the employ 
of Mr. George Curtis in the capacity of superin- 
tendent of his lumber yard in Boston. His next 
experience was as a farmer in West Roxbury, 
Mass., an occupation he followed until the year 
1879. In that year he cast his lot for better or 
worse with the people of Abington, Mass., with 
whom he ever afterward remained, and the read- 
ing between the lines of this sketch is indicative 
of his valuable citizenship to this community, 
and the good account he gave of himself. 

During his residence in Abington Mr. Wright 
served some ten or more years as trustee of the 
Abington Savings Bank, twenty and more years 
as chief engineer of the Abington fire depart- 
ment, was member of the board of selectmen, 
overseer of the poor and assessor, for ten years 
or more was chairman of the road commission- 
ers, and for about the same length of time was 
superintendent of the waterworks. It goes 
without saying that Lieutenant Wright was an 
active and prominent member of the Grand 
Army of the Republic, identified for years with 
the local post — McPherson, No. 73 — in Abing- 
ton. 

On Oct. 21, 1868, Mr. Wright was married 
to Julia Porter Billings, of Roxbury, born Feb. 
10, 1849, daughter of George and Lucy 
(Parker) Billings, of West Roxbury; she died 
Nov. 22, 1869, in West Roxbury. He married 
(second) Oct. 1, 1874, Jane Billings, of West 
Roxbury, and one child, a son, Edmund, was 
born to them. Mr. Wright died at his home in 
Abington, Mass., Dec. 4, 1905, aged fifty-eight 
years, eleven months, eleven days. He was bur- 
ied in Mount Vernon cemetery. His widow 
continues to make her home at Abington, where 
she has many interests, her sympathetic disposi- 
tion and earnest nature leading her into active 
church work and various lines of helpful and 
benevolent effort. She is a charter member of 
the local Woman's Relief Corps, a member of 
the King's Daughters and of the W. C. T. U., in 
which latter she takes special interest, being 
a strong advocate of temperance. Mrs. Wright 
is a descendant of old New England ancestry, 
being a daughter of Joseph H. and Sarah 
(Keith) Billings, and granddaughter of Wil- 
liam and Sarah (Pollv) Keith, of Boston. 

(VIII) Edmund Wright, only child of 
Augustus Hunt and Jane (Billings) Wright, 
was born Aug. 1, 1877, in West Roxbury, 
Mass., and received the greater part of his edu- 



96 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



cation in the public and high schools of Abing- 
ton, whither his parents removed while he was 
an infant. Later he attended a commercial 
college in Boston, after which he became in- 
terested in the leather business, forming a 
partnership with Wilson E. Blake, under the 
iirm name of Blake, Wright & Co., leather 
dealers, doing business in Boston. Mr. Wright 
makes his home, however, in Abington. He 
was married there, June 16, 1903, to Grace 
Huntington Nash, of that place, daughter of 
Joshua H. Nash and granddaughter of Joshua 
L. Nash, of Abington. They have had two 
children: Helen Billings, born April 11, 1905, 
and Alice Huntington, born Dec. 2o, 1907. 

(VII) Rev. Horace Winslow Wright, 
youngest son of Ednmnd Wright (2), was born 
June 21, 1848, in Dorchester, Mass., and re- 
ceived his early education in the public schools 
of that place and of Boston, Mass., and in a 
private jireparatory school. Later he entered 
Harvard College, where in 1865 he received 
the degree of A. B., and in 1872 the degree 
of A. M. After leaving college he took up the 
study of theology at the New Church Theologi- 
cal School, at Waltham, in 1870, and after a 
three years' course graduated in 1873. He was 
ordained to the ministry of the Church of the 
New Jerusalem and went to Abington where 
he preached for tliree years, continuing to make 
liis home there a number of years longer, dur- 
ing which time he took an active part in estab- 
lishing a public library. He was also a member 
of the school committee, from 1879 to 1882. 
In 1891 he removed to Boston, where he has 
made his home ever since and has given much 
time to study, spending his summers in com- 
pany with his sister at Jefferson, N. H., where 
they have had a cottage for the past thirty 
years. Mr. Wright is a deep student of nature 
and has taken special interest in bird life, 
which he has been studying for years, principal- 
ly on the Commons in Boston. In 1909, he 
published a book on bird life as seen on the 
Commons and the migration of birds, this work 
being the result of fifteen years' study. 

CHARLES HOWARD, founder and pres- 
ident of the Howard & Foster Company, one of 
the largest and best known shoe manufacturing 
concerns in this Commonwealth, and an original 
promoter of the Brockton Agricultural Society, 
of which he ife also president, is one of the fore- 
most business men and citizens of Brockton, 
Plymouth Co., Mass., for over forty years con- 
tinuously and prominently identified with the 
industrial and financial growth of that city. Mr. 
Howard was born Jan. 9, 1837, in North 



Bridgewater, now Brockton, eldest son of the 
late Charles and Lavina (Rounds) Howard, 
and a descendant of several of New England's 
earliest settled families. 

The Howard family i;s one of long and hon- 
orable standing in this Commonwealth, the 
name being variously spelled Haywood, Hay- 
ward and Howard, and these forms are often 
confounded, by many being pronounced alike. 
They seem to have been the same name origin- 
ally, although for several generations many 
bearing the name have adopted the spelling 
Howard. The genealogy of the family here 
under consideration follows, the generations 
being given in chronological order from the first 
American ancestor of this branch of the family. 

(I) William Hayward or Haywood was an 
early inhabitant of Cbarlestown, Mass., where 
lie was a proprietor in 1637. He removed to 
Braintree, where he was deputy in 1641, and 
bought land in 1648. He signed his name 
"William Haywood" as witness to a deed of 
James Everill in 1654. He was drowmed the 
10th day of the 3d month. 1659. Administra- 
tion was granted the 14th of June, 1659, to 
his widow Margery for herself and children. 
Tlie widow died the 18th of tlie 5th montli, 
1676, and administration of her estate was 
granted the 1st of August, 1676, to her son 
Jonathan. The children were : Huldah, who 
married Fcrdinando Thayer; and Jonathan. 

(II) Jonathan Haywood, of Braintree, son 
of William, married May 6, 1663, Sarah 
Tliayer. daughter of Ricliard Thayer, and their 
children were: Hannah, Sarah, Jonathan. 
William, Huldah, Samuel, Sarah (2), Samuel 
(2), Benjamin and Sarah (3). Jonathan Hay- 
wood, the father, died Nov. 21, 1690, aged 
forty-nine years. 

(III) Benjamin Haywood, of Braintree, 
married July 1, 1708, Mary Arnold, and their 
children of Braintree town record were: Ben- 
jamin, who died young: Hannah: Benjamin 
(2); Joseph; Ephraim: Deborah; Judith; 
Huldah, and Rebecca. 

(IV) Benjamin Howard (2), son of Ben- 
jamin and Mary, married Hannah French. 
According to his will he was a yeoman of Ran- 
dolph, Mass. His children were: Almira, 
Benjamin, Ira, Seth, Ammi and Jonathan. 

(V) Benjamin Howard (3), of Randolph, 
son of Benjamin (2), married July 7, 1764, 
Elizabeth Bird, of Stoughton, Massachusetts. 

(VI) Asa Howard, son of Benjamin (3), 
was born in Randolph, Mass., Sept. 24, 1776, 
and in 1802 came to North Bridgewater, where 
he continued to follow his trade of blacksmith, 
his shop being an institution well known 




^<^^A^e.^.^ J^C- 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



97 



among all the dwellers of the North parish, 
located near the present site of the H. W. 
Robinson Company's store on Main street. He 
was a man who took an active interest in the 
atfairs of the town, his name heading the list 
of 214 petitioners who applied to the General 
Court of the Commonwealth in 1819 "that the 
said North parish may be set ofE from the town 
of Bridgewater, and incorporated into a separ- 
ate town by the name of North Bridgewater." 
This petition met with pronounced opposition, 
but finally passed both Houses, assembled June 
15, 1821. Asa Howard married in 1797 Eu- 
nice Thayer, born Aug. 21, 1778, daughter of 
Isaac and Rachel (Sawin) Thayer, of Ran- 
dolph, Mass. She descended from (I) Rich- 
ard Thayer of Braintree (a freeman in 1640) 
through (II) Richard and Dorothy (Pray) 
Thayer, (III) Nathaniel and Hannah (Hay- 
den) Thayer, (IV*) Zachariah and Elizabeth 
(Curtis) Thayer, (V) Zachariah (2) and Ly- 
dia (Pray) Thayer and (VI) Isaac and 
Rachel (Sawin) Thayer. To Mr. and Mrs. 
Asa Howard were born children as follows: 
Ephraim, born April L9, 1798, who married 
Lydia Cary and (second) Hannah Finney; 
Samuel, born July 12, 1800, who married Mary 
Carleton; Charles, born April 18, 1803, who 
married Lavina Rounds; Isaac, born May 7, 
1805, who died in 1822, aged seventeen years ; 
Mary Ann, born Feb. 24, 1808, who married 
William Faxon ; Asa, Jr., born July 4, 1813, 
who died in October, 1814; Asa (2), born Aug. 
28, 1815, who died Sept. 10, 1817; Elizabeth 
Bird, born Feb. 22, 1818, who married Lewis 
Fisher, Jr. ; Martha Jane, born June 10, 1820, 
who married David F. Studley. Asa Howard, 
the father, died Aug. 23, 1828, aged fifty-two 
years, less one month. 

(VII) Charles Howard, son of Asa and Eu- 
nice (Thayer), was born April 18, 1803, in 
North Bridgewater (now Brockton), and after 
attending the district schools of his native town 
entered the blacksmith shop of his father. Mr. 
Howard was long and prominently identified 
with the enterprises and the progress of the 
community. After leaving his father's employ 
he learned the trade of machinist, and later, 
when the making of shoes began to be the lead- 
ing industry of the town, he directed his ener- 
gies and skill to the manufacture of shoe tools, 
being associated in the business at different 
times with his brother, Ephraim Howard, Wil- 
liam Faxon, Lewis Fisher and Tyler Cobb. To 
facilitate the growing business which came to 
his hands Mr. Howard, when in company with 
his brother, introduced the first steam engine 
that was brought into the town, and set up in 



working order in one of Howard & Clark's 
buildings, a portion of which they were tlien 
occupying. Later he formed a partnership 
with Lewis Fisher, under the firm name of 
Howard & Fisher, and for some years was en- 
gaged in the manufacture of shoe tools, such 
as hammers, presses, wheels, spoke-shaves, 
knives, punches, awls, etc. During the panic 
of 1857 this firm, like many others, experi- 
enced financial reverses in business that more 
than wrested from Mr. Howard all the accu- 
mulations of previous years of hard labor and 
energy, and at this time the invention of the 
sewing machine opening the way to a new in- 
dustry — the manufacture of needles — which by 
the advice of friends he decided to enter into, 
with tools and appliances of a very primitive 
character, many of which he worked out and 
made with his own hands, he established him- 
self in business as a needle manufacturer in a 
building at the corner of Ward and Montello 
streets, and continued as sole proprietor of the 
business until 1869, when his sons, Charles and 
Henry H. Howard, became associated with him 
under the firm name of Charles Howard & Co. 
This business proved a marked success. Dur- 
ing the first year the production amounted to 
about 75,000 needles, and the business stead- 
ily grew until the firm manufactured over 10,- 
000,000 needles per year, employing about 125 
hands, the annual value of the product exceed- 
ing $100,000. The excellence of the work he 
put into his needles at once won for them a 
favorable reception, and Mr. Howard was 
shortly crowded with orders for all that he 
could possibly make. By the aid of improved 
machinery, much of it of his own invention — 
for he was of an inventive turn of mind, with 
a natural love for mechanics, and other facil- 
ities which he was able to procure, his business 
rapidly increased, and by the time he admitted 
his sons to partnership, some years later, he 
was giving employment to a number of skilled 
workmen and supplying quite a number of the 
leading houses in this country with his produc- 
tion. To the subsequent growth and expansion 
of the business of which he was the founder, 
until it finally became the largest needle man- 
ufacturing company in this country, it is un- 
necessary to refer, much of the later growth of 
the business being doubtless due to the energy 
and high business character of bis sons, but a 
reference to the success in life of Mr. Howard 
would not be complete without making promi- 
nent the fact that its foundation all the way 
through continued to be in the honest and 
thorough work that characterized all his pro- 
ductions. He could tolerate no shams; every- 



98 



SOUTHEASTEEN MASSACHUSETTS 



thing that went from his hands was as good 
as careful and skillful labor could possibly make 
it. Mr. Howard retired from active connection 
with the business in 1872, after having ac- 
quired a competency, and the business was then 
continued by his sons, Charles and Henry H., 
who retained, however, the firm name of 
Charles Howard & Co. They continued tiie 
business successfully for a number of years, 
when it was eventually sold to the National 
Needle Company, of Springfield, Massachusetts. 

In political. affiliations Mr. Howard was a 
Democrat of the old school, and his interest in 
town afEairs was ever manifest. This was es- 
pecially true in fire department matters, he 
being a member of the first engine company 
ever organized in the town, and he maintained 
a connection with the department for many 
years, holding for a time a position on the 
board of engineers, and also served for a num- 
ber of years as chief of the department. Tlie 
high esteem in which his memory was held 
among the firemen of later years was shown 
in the adoption of his name by the hook and 
ladder company at the center of the town. Mr. 
Howard, though never pushing himself forward 
into prominence, was always surrounded by 
many friends — he had no enemies — his genial, 
smiling countenance was the index of a warm 
and affectionate nature, which reached out in 
many ways for the good of others, and attracted 
to him all with whom he came in contact. His 
sterling honesty and the record of an upright 
life are a rich heritage that he has left both 
to his family and to the people of the com- 
munity in which bis long and useful life was 
spent. 

Mr. Howard was married July 6, 1828, to 
Lavina Rounds, of Rehoboth, daughter of John 
and Lavina (Horton) Rounds, and a member 
of the Rounds family that has been of record 
in Rehoboth, Mass., since 1702. Mr. and 
Mrs. Howard enjoyed a wedded life extending 
over a period of almost fifty-four years, broken 
then by Mr. Howard's death. On July G, 
1878, they celebrated their golden wedding 
anniversary, upon which occasion they were the 
recipients of many happy expressions of good 
cheer from their many friends and acquaint- 
ances. Mr. Howard died May 23, 1882, in the 
eightieth year of his age. Mrs. Howard died 
Jan. 11, 1901 — a devoted mother and a kind 
and considerate neighbor. Their children 
were: Lydia Williams, born Nov. 24, 18.34, 
who married Eeb. 12, 1864, George J. Crane, 
of Canton, Mass., and is now a widow, resid- 
ing in Brockton; Charles, born Jan. 9, 18.37, 
who married Maria Copeland ; George Elmer, 



born Sept. 6, 184fi, who died Oct. 2, 1847 ; and 
Henry Herbert, born March 22, 1849, who is 
in charge of the shipping department of the 
Howard & Foster Company, of Brockton (he 
married Mary Agnes Magee). 

(VIII) Charles Howard, son of the late 
Charles and Lavina (Rounds), was born Jan. 
9, 1837, in North Bridgewater (now Brock- 
ton), and in the common schools of his native 
town acquired his early educational training. 
Leaving school at the age of about sixteen 
years, he like nearly every other boy of his day 
in the town started his career in the shoe in- 
dustry, first entering the employ of Isaac Per- 
kins, whose shoe factory was located on Court 
street, where he remained about one year. Then 
he entered the slioe factory of the late Noah 
Chessman, becoming foreman of the stitching 
department, in whicii capacity he remained un- 
til Mr. Chessman discontinued tiie business 
during the Civil war. Mr. Howard then ac- 
cepted the position of foreman in the stitch- 
ing department of the F. A. & H. B. Thayer 
shoe factory, which was then located on the 
south side of Centre street, continuing in that 
position until in 1869, in which year he and his 
brother Henry H. became partners of their 
father in the manufacture of needles, which 
business had been founded by his father, and 
which by this time had developed into a thriv- 
ing industry. Upon Mr. Howard and his 
brother becoming identified with the needle 
business the firm name became Charles How- 
ard & Co., and to the energy and business abil- 
ity which Mr. Howard injected into the busi- 
ness was largely due the marked suc- 
cess which it attained during his connection 
with it. As stated above, this business devel- 
oped to the extent that it eventually became 
one of the largest needle manufacturing con- 
cerns of its day. The father retiring from the 
business in 1872, the sons continued to conduct 
it successfully under the same firm name until 
1887, in which year they sold out to the Na- 
tional Needle Company, of Springfield. Prior 
to this time Mr. Howard had become finan- 
cially interested in the shoe manufacturing con- 
cern of H. H. Mitchell & Co., and after retir- 
ing from the needle manufacturing business, 
and upon the death of Mr. Mitchell, Mr. How- 
ard took over the business of the firm, and in 
1887 formed a partnership with Charles H. 
Foster, under the firm name of Howard & Fos- 
ter, beginning the manufacture of shoes in the 
factory building at the corner of Ward and 
Montello streets, recently vacated by the needle 
business with which he had so long been con- 
nected. The firm of Howard & Foster con- 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



99 



tinued the business at tliat location until the 
business had grown to such proportions that 
they were obliged to seek larger quarters, and 
in 1906, under the laws of the State of Mass- 
achusetts, the business was incorporated as the 
Howard & Foster Company, with a capital 
stock of $150,00U. This enterprising firm then 
erected its present modern factory on Pleasant 
street, which is a live-story frame building, 
45x340 feet, with a connecting L, containing 
76,000 square feet of working space, together 
with an adjoining office building. This plant, 
which is up-to-date in all its appointments, 
and equipped with all the modern and latest 
improved machinery, automatic sprinklers, etc., 
is one of the most modern and best equipped 
shoe factory buildings in the city of Brockton, 
famed the world over as a shoe manufacturing 
center. Upon the incorporation of tlie Howard 
& Foster Company Mr. Howard became presi- 
dent of the same, in which capacity he has since 
continued, and the successful career which this 
concern has experienced and its rapid and 
steadily increasing growth are largely due to his 
thorough knowledge of the details of shoemak- 
ing as well as to his recognized energy and exe- 
cutive ability. The Howard & Foster Com- 
pany gives employment to about six hundred 
skilled hands in the manufacture of their prod- 
uct, which bears an enviable reputation for in- 
dividuality in quality, style and workmanship, 
and which is enjoying a steadily increasing 
sale throughout the country. 

Mr. Howard is an active and prominent 
member of the Masonic organization, being 
one of the oldest Masons in the city, where he 
joined Paul Revere Lodge, A. F. & A. M., in 
1863. He is also a member of Satucket Chap- 
ter, R. A. M. ; Brock-ton Council, R. & S. M. ; 
and Bay State Commandery, K.T., of Brockton. 
For a number of years Mr. Howard has been 
identified with the financial affairs of his native 
city, being a director of the Brockton Na- 
tional Bank. Socially he is an influential 
member of the Commercial Club, of the Mer- 
chants' and Manufacturers' Club, and the 
Brockton Shoe Manufacturers' Association. Mr. 
Howard was one of the active promoters and 
original members of the Brockton Agricultural 
Society, and has since been prominently identi- 
fied with the affairs of that Association, having 
served as a director since its incorporation in 
1874, and after serving a number of years as 
vice president of the same was in 1908 elected 
president, to succeed the late Henry W. Robin- 
son. The Brockton Fair, held annually by this 
Association, is one of the largest and best 
known fairs held in this country, and is at- 



tended each year by upward of two hundr/ed 
thousand people. In political faith Mr. 
Howard in early life became affiliated with the 
Democratic party, continuing loyal to the prin- 
ciples of tlmt party until the Presidential elec- 
tion of 1896, when owing to his firm faith in 
a sound money standard, he became a supporter 
of the principles of the Republican party, with 
independent tendencies in local politics. Al- 
though having always been deeply interested in 
the welfare of his native town he has never 
sought public office, preferring to devote his 
undivided attention to his extensive business 
interests. 

On Nov. 27, 1860, Mr. Howard was united 
in marriage with Maria Copeland, a native of 
North Bridgewater, daughter of the late 
Ephraim' and Hannah (Shaw) Copeland, of 
North Bridgewater, and to this union came one 
daughter, Mary Carleton, born April 3, 1862, 
who died April 23, 1879. 'Mrs. Howard died 
Dec. .'), 1911, aged seventy years, nine months, 
twenty-one days, and was interred in Union 
cemetery. She was a member of the Brockton 
Woman's Club. 

Mrs. Howard is also a descendant of several 
of New England's earliest settled families, her 
line of descent from the first American ances- 
tor of the Copelands, (I) Lawrence Copeland 
(who married Lydia Townsend, and was of 
Braintree), being through (II) William Cope- 
land (who married Mary, daughter of John 
Bass), (III) Jonathan Copeland (who mar- 
ried Betty, daughter of Thomas Snell, and 
settled in West Bridgewater), (IV) Jonathan 
Copeland (2) (who married Mehetabel, daugh- 
ter of Samuel Dunbar), (V) Caleb Copeland 
(wlio married Sally, daughter of Seth Byram) 
and (VI) Ephraim Copeland (who married 
Hannah, daughter of Micah Shaw, and settled 
in North Bridgewater). 

Mr. Howard is benevolent and charitable, 
and his wife shared this disposition to such 
an extent that their pleasant home became an 
abiding place of hospitality. He attends the 
Church of the New Jerusalem, as did also Mrs. 
Howard, and liberally supports all worthy 
objects. Mr. Howard is an untiring worker, 
and anything which he undertakes he does 
with all his might and energy. He is of an 
anal^-tical turn of mind, and is quick to see 
the result of a problem or proposition. He is 
a good judge of men and their qualifications, 
and this has enabled him to surround himself 
with an able corps of lieutenants. He'is sound 
in judgment, firm in purpose, and determined 
in business, or whose high standing as a citizen, 
have been prominent factors in all his business 



lUO 



SOUTHEASTEEN MASSACHUSETTS 



connections. In private life Mr. Howard is 
modest and unostentatious, one whose success 
cess in business, or wliose standing as a citizen, 
are not evidenced by the slightest outward show. 
He is courteous, easy-going, always with a 
pleasant smile, never passes an acquaintance 
without speaking, and yet never neglects the 
great volume of business which in his connec- 
tion with the firm must pass through his hands. 
Though not a public man, being averse to hold- 
ing office, he is ever ready to do good along the 
line of any worthy cause, either with his money 
or his personal labor; in fact, few men in the 
city to-day take as keen an interest in the city's 
welfare as does he, and he never shrinks from 
his duty as a loyal citizen. A man of the 
strictest integrity, popular with his fellow men, 
and with ideal home surroundings, his married 
life covering a period of over fifty years of 
happiness, Charles Howard is indeed a credit to 
the community and to the old and honorable 
name he bears. 

HON. JONATHAN WHITE, for sixty 
years a member of the Plymouth county bar 
and a citizen of note in what is now Brockton, 
Plymouth Co., Mass., was born Aug. 22, 1819, 
in that part of Eandolph called East Randolph 
(now Holbrook), Norfolk Co., Mass., son of 
Jonathan and Abigail (Holbrook) White. The 
Whites have lived in this section of Massa- 
chusetts from the time of the earliest settle- 
ments, and the members of the family in every 
generation have upheld the honorable name. 
Mr. White's lineage from the immigrant an- 
cestor follows: 

(I) Thomas White, probably from Eng- 
land, was in Weymouth as early as 1635, a 
member of the church there. He was admitted 
a freeman of Massachusetts Colony March 3, 
1635-36. His name appears upon the earliest 
records of We}Tnouth. He was many years 
one of the selectmen of the town, and was often 
chosen on important committees. He was in 
command of a military company and was rep- 
resentative in the General Court in 1637, 1640, 
1657 and 1670. His age is stated in a deposi- 
tion in 1659 as about sixty years. His will 
was proved Aug. 28, 1679. His children living 
at date of his will were: Joseph (married 
Lydia Rogers) ; Hannah (married Capt. John 
Baxter) : Samuel, born in 1642 (married Mary 
Dyer); Thomas: and Ebenezer, born in 1648 
(married Hannah Phillips). 

(II) Thomas White (2). born in Wey- 
mouth, married Mary, daughter of Matthew 
Pratt, and settled in Braintree. He was made 
a freeman in 1681, and had a high social posi- 



tion. He died April 11, 1706. His will was 
proved May 16, 1706. His children were: 
Thomas married Mehetabel Adams; Mary mar- 
ried Thomas Holbrook; Samuel, born Sept. 19, 
1676; Joseph, and Ebenezer, born in 1683. 

(III) Joseph White, of Braintree, mar- 
ried Dec. 6, 1704, Sarah Bailey, daughter of 
Thomas and Ruth (Porter) Bailey. He lived 
in that part of Braintree tliat became Ran- 
dolph, and later the town of Holbrook. His 
house occupied the present site of the Congre- 
gational church. He died in 1740. His children 
were: Joseph, born Oct. 1, 1706; Benjamin, 
born March 18, 1709; John, born Feb. 28, 
1710; Sarah, born Feb. 17, 1712; Daniel, born 
April 18, 1714; Benjamin (2), born July 7, 
1716; David, born Aug. 12, 1719; Sarah (2), 
born Jan. 12, 1720-21; Hannah, born Jan. 28, 
1723-24; and Mary, born June 11, 1727. 

(IV) Capt. John White, born Feb. 28, 
1710, in East Randolph, married in 1748, 
Ruth, born Dec. 1, 1729, daughter of David 
and Dorothy (Blanchard) Thayer. He passed 
his life in what became East Randolph, en- 
gaged in agricultural pursuits. He died in 
June, 1789. He had fourteen children. 

(V) Caleb White, son of Capt. John, was 
born March 17, 1762, in East Randolph, where 
he was a large landowner and engaged in farm- 
ing. He was one of the most prominent men 
of the day in his district. He died in that 
town Nov. 7, 1828, aged sixty-six years. He 
married Mehitable Randall, of East Randolph, 
and their children were : Jonathan, who is 
mentioned below ; Lutlier, who was engaged in 
farming in East Randolph (now Holbrook), 
wliere he died; and Elipha, a Congregational 
minister, who removed to South Carolina, 
where he died. 

(VI) Capt. Jonathan White, son of Caleb, 
was born March 4, 1791, in East Randolph 
(now Holbrook), Mass., where he died March 
28, 1879, aged eighty-eight years. For many 
years he successfully followed shoe mamifactur- 
ing in his native town, wliere he also was ex- 
tensively engaged in agricultural pursuits, tak- 
ing great pride in the cultivation of his land, 
and in his orchards. He was one of the earliest 
shoe manufacturers anywhere in this section. 
In early life he was a captain in the militia 
and was over afterward familiarly known to 
both old and young by his military title. In 
political faith he was an old-line Whig until 
the formation of the Republican party, when 
he became a stanch supporter of its principles, 
although he never aspired to nor cared for 
public office. Rugged in constitution and of 
an industrious nature, he continued active in 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



IDl 



the conduct of his business affairs until within 
a few years of his death, when on account of 
failing health he was compelled to relinquish 
his interest in affairs generally. In manner 
he was reserved and dignified, though kindly 
and affable, and of an even, quiet temperament, 
never making use of profane or harsh words 
under even the most trying circumstances. 

Captain White married (first) Betsey Jane 
Wales, of Holbrook, and they had one daugh- 
ter, Betsey Jane, who married Luther French. 
Captain White's (second) marriage was to Abi- 
gail Holbrook, daughter of Deacon Elisha and 
Sarah (Thayer) Holbrook, of Braiutree, Mass. 
She died at the advanced age of over ninety 
years. To this union were born six children, 
as follows: Eliza Ann, who married Samuel 
Vining, of Weymouth, died in Holbrook; 
Jonathan is mentioned below; Sallie married 
(first) Luther French, of East Randolph, and 
(second) John Adams, of Holbrook, where she 
died; Adouiram went in 1859 to California, 
where he conducted a ranch for several years, 
finally returning to Holbrook, where he was 
engaged in shoe manufacturing, and where he 
died ; Caleb settled in California, where he was 
very successfully engaged in ranching until his 
death, which occurred in 1905 ; Helen married 
Lemuel S. Whitcomb, of Holbrook, where he 
was engaged in shoe manufacturing and where 
she now resides, a widow. 

(VII) Jonathan White, son- of Capt. 
Jonathan, received his elementary education in 
the common schools and various academies and 
prepared for college at Phillips Andover Acad- 
emy, which he entered in 1837, graduating 
from that institution in 1840 at the head of 
his class. The same year he entered Yale, 
whence he was graduated in 1844 with second 
honors in a class of over one hundred. He was 
urged to enter the ministry or to prepare for 
teaching and go back to Yale as an instructor, 
his attainments having attracted favorable no- 
tice there. In the fall of 1844 he took up the 
study of law at Harvard, where he remained 
two years, also pursuing his law studies in the 
office of Richard H. Dana, of Boston, for one 
year. He was admitted to the bar at Boston 
in August, 1847, and after spending two years 
there settled in North Bridgewater (now 
Brockton), opening an office in a small build- 
ing of his own, where the Arcade now stands. 
For a number of years he practiced alone, later 
forming an association with the late Charles 
W. Sumner, under the firm name of White & 
Sumner. In 1890 he formed a partnership 
with the late Warren Goddard, becoming senior 
member of the firm of White & Goddard. 



Though over seventy years of age at the time 
he entered into this partnership he continued 
in active practice for about four years, retiring 
in 1894 on account of failure in the faculty 
of hearing. In 1875 he had removed into his 
own business block, at Main street and Maple 
avenue. 

Much might be said concerning Mr. White's 
career as a lawyer. His services of a public 
nature, which began almost with his residence 
in North Bridgewater, speak for his ability 
and the confidence he won among all classes. 
That faith in his intention and its fulfilment 
had its inception in honorable and conscientious 
service which gained him the good will of his 
clients as well as their belief in his powers, a 
trust which he justified in every responsibility 
ever intrusted to him. He built up a very 
large general practice, in spite of the fact that 
for years his activity in public affairs would 
have precluded anything else in the life of an 
average worker, and his work was consistently 
indicative of the high personal and professional 
standards he has ever maintained. 

Mr. White is still interested in to^vn affairs. 
In his professional capacity he served frequent- 
ly as town counsel for a long time previous 
to the incorporation of the city, and he was 
the first city solicitor of Brockton, resigning 
from that oflSce in 1883. His knowledge of 
municipal law made his services very valuable 
to the community in those positions and has 
been demonstrated upon a number of occasions 
when his opinion has been asked, both in his 
work as a public official and in his private 
functions. In important matters he was fre- 
quently consulted by neighboring towns and 
corporations and by individuals to obtain his 
legal opinion, which everywhere was recognized 
as entitled to great consideration ; and by both 
bench and bar he was regarded as a sound and 
logical thinker and terse and effective writer 
and speaker. 

On March 19, 1851, Mr. White was appointed 
a justice of the peace, and on March 15, 1859, 
a justice of the peace and quorum through- 
out the Commonwealth. In 18G7 he served as 
town auditor, and in 1868 as selectman. When 
the public library project was opened, in 1857, 
he was appointed one of the committee of nine 
who were to find a home for the library and 
establish rules and regulations. The authority 
given to this committee was later revoked and 
the matter was in abeyance for a time, but 
after the Civil war, in 1867, another committee 
of nine was appointed for the same work, and 
Mr. White was again a member. His wide 
knowledge of literature and wisdom in discern- 



102 



SOUTHEASTEEISr MASSACHUSETTS 



ing the taste of the patrons, as Well as his judg- 
ment in such matters, made him a valuable 
worker always for the library, and his long 
service as trustee showed how completely the 
people trusted him and how liighly he regarded 
their confidence. He was chairman of the 
library committee for several years. 

Naturally he was interested in the question 
of public education, to which many years of his 
best efforts were given, with such results that 
his name is regarded as the synonym of all 
that stands for progress in public education. 
His work in connection with the establisliment 
of the high school was particularly notable. 
The first efforts toward tliat end were made in 
1849, and though renewed from year to year 
nothing definite was done until 186-1, when a 
committee was appointed, including Mr. White, 
to consider what measures the town should take 
in the matter. They reported May 30, 186-4, 
in favor of establisliing a public high school, 
which up to the present has taken precedence 
of all the academic schools in tlie city. In 1866 
the building formerly occupied by the private 
academy of S. D. Hunt was secured and leased, 
but in 1871 the high school was moved to a 
central location on School street, and later to 
the Whitman building, on Main street. These 
changes were made necessary by the growth of 
the school, and Mr. White was very active in 
accomplishing them as well as other movements 
necessary to keep the public schools up to 
modern standards. His interest in the welfare 
of the high school was continuous, and he made 
frequent visits to the school, keeping himself 
well informed on tlie studies pursued, the 
methods adopted, the textbooks and appliances. 
His interest in the scientific branches was 
shown by his presentation to the school of a 
fine microscope, with specimens for class use, 
etc. Mr. White became a member of the town 
school committee in 1869, in which year it was 
voted to abolish school districts, a movement 
in which he took an active part, as well as in 
the erection of larger buildings, the grading 
of pupils, and other important changes which 
have since proved very beneficial. The ap- 
preciation with which the pupils regard Mr. 
White's services may be judged from the action 
of the high school alumni, who in 1902 secured 
a fine portrait of him for the high school build- 
ing, where it hangs in a conspicuous place. He 
was on the school committee in all about twenty 
years, and for several years served as chair- 
man. 

Aside from his services to the municipality 
Mr. White has taken an interest in the wider 
affairs of the people, in 1864 and 1866 repre- 



senting the town in the General Court, and in 
1869, 1877, 1878 and 1879 in the State Senate. 
His activity in the discussion and settlement 
of various questions of especial interest to his 
constituents placed him among the most re- 
spected members of the Assembly, and during 
his last three years in the State Senate he was 
a member of the committee on Judiciary, the 
last year serving as chairman of that body. 
His political sentiment has always been in 
favor of tlie Republican party, in which his 
standing as a counselor and worker is very 
high. 

Mr. White's professional reputation is an 
enviable one. He is esteemed among the mem- 
bers of the legal fraternity as only a lawyer 
well versed in the tenets of his profession could 
be. His practice was always extensive, and he 
has been widely known in the courts, having 
conducted many cases to successful issue before 
the Superior and Supreme courts. His literary 
attainments and interest in science, his polished 
English and ability as a speaker, his honest 
convictions and unequivocal position on all 
questions, have made him a citizen whose stand- 
ing in the community is that of a gentleman 
whose acquirements and accomplishments are 
a credit and a benefit to his fellow men at all 
times. He has never lost his taste and love 
for readiYig, enjoying the best in the old 
literature and keeping well informed on 
modern liappenings and science, as well as the 
effect of modern ideas and progress upon the 
profession to which all his active years were 
devoted. His principal diversion for over 
twenty years has been the study of vegetable 
histology, and his beautiful microscope, a large 
and powerful instrument, has afforded him 
much pleasure during his leisure hours. In 
this connefction he has made a few zoological 
experiments, but plant life has chiefly occupied 
his attention. Until a few years ago Mr. 
White was accustomed to take long walks, and 
lie still enjoys his daily stroll, though he is past 
ninety. The ninetieth anniversary of his birth 
was celebrated by a dinner at the home of his 
sister, Mrs. Whitcomb, of Holbrook, and on 
that occasion he remarked : "I want to live 
to be as old as Methuselah ; I am enjoying good 
health, spend much time in the open air and 
keep in touch with events nearly as closely as 
I did years ago." Longevity is a family char- 
acteristic. Mr. White upon his removal to 
Xorth Bridgewater became a member of the 
First Congregational Church and Parish in 
that place, and thereafter was an active and in- 
fluential member and an habitual attendant at 
the church, till, in late years, his diflSculty in 





A. oi^'^<^-^5 



SOUTHEASTEEN MASSACHUSETTS 



103 



liearing led to a discontiuuanee of the habit. 
On May 4, 18i8, Mr. White married Nancy 
M. Adams, of Ilolbrook, daughter of John and 
Mehitable (Faxon) Adams. She died March 
26, 1883, in Brockton, tlie mother of four 
daughters, namely: Alice A. married William 
Keith, of Brockton, and has two children, Alice 
and Bessie; Mary died in 1856; Annie H. and 
Winnifred F. are at home. The family resi- 
dence is at No. 14 Maple avenue. 



(I) Thomas Holbrooke came from England 
with his family, and settled in the northern 
part of Weymouth, on tide water, a locality 
which has long borne the name of "Old Spain." 

(II) Capt. John Ilolbrook, born in 1617, 
married (second) Elizabeth; lived in the north 
part of Weymouth. 

(III) Samuel Holbrook, born about 1654; 
lived in Weymouth; married (second) Lydia. 

(IV) Deacon John Holbrook, born April 
39, 1690, in Weymouth, married Sarah; set- 
tled in Braintree. 

(V) Col. John Holbrook, Ijorn June "20, 
1745, in Braintree, married Aug. 30, 1766, 
Anna Wild, born in August, 1749; lived in 
South Braintree. 

(VI) Elisha Holbrook, born Aug. 21, 1775, 
married in 1793 Sarah Thayer, born Sept. 24, 
1776 ; inherited the homestead and was a dea- 
con in the church in Randolph. 

STAPLES (Taunton family). The Staples 
name is one of long and lionorable standing in 
New England and the country. The family 
has been a continuous one in the Bay State for 
two hundred and seventy and more years, and 
at Taunton, in this Commonwealth, have lived 
generation after generation of the name down 
to the present — a worthy race, one representa- 
tive of the best type of citizenship. Such men 
in more recent generations as the two Sylvanus 
Staples, father and son, and the latter's son 
Sylvanus Nelson Staples, and the two Ebenezer 
Staples and Abiel B. Staples — all in line — have 
played well their part in the affairs of their 
communities in their day and generation. 

The Taunton Staples spring from the an- 
cient Weymouth family of the name, from John 
Staple (the common spelling both in England 
and America at that period omitting the final 
"s"), who appears on the records of that town, 
it is said, in 1636. His wife's name is given 
as Rebecca by the late Joseph W. Potter, of 
Bangor, Maine. John Staple became a free- 
man of the Colony May 10, 1648. He died July 
4, 1683, in Dorchester, leaving according to 
his will, children John, Jr., of Braintree, Joseph 



of Taunton, Abraham of Mendon, Rebecca, 
wife of Samuel Sumner of Dorchester, and 
Sarah, wife of Increase Sumner, also of Dor- 
chester. John Staple's son Abraham was a 
proprietor of Mendon. He married in 1660 
Mary, daughter of Robert Randall, of Wey- 
moutli, was a weaver l)y trade, served in King 
Philip's war, and was known — probably from 
service in the militia — as Sergeant Abraham. 
The territory of Mendham (Mendon), as it 
was originally named, comprised, besides the 
present town, tlie whole or portions of Milford, 
Blackstone, Bellingham, Upton and Uxbridge, 
and was set oft' to proprietors principally of 
Weymouth and Braintree, and settlement was 
made and houses built by 1663. It is a matter 
of history that the first blood shed in King 
Philip's war, within the Colony of Massachu- 
setts, was the massacre in Mendon of the fami- 
lies of Rockwell and Puffer, July 14, 1675. The 
town was finally abandoned, and the houses 
were burned in the following winter. The place 
was again occupied between 1677 and 1680. 

After a short residence with his son Jason, 
in Taunton, Abraham Staples died in Mendon 
Oct. 20, 1704. One of his descendants was 
the late Rev. Carlton Albert Staples, of the 
Unitarian denomination, whose service in the 
ministry covered a period of fifty years and 
more, nine of which he was pastor of the First 
Congregational (Unitarian) Church at Provi- 
dence, R. I., in which city had lived before 
him the distinguished jurist and author, Hon. 
William Read Staples, chief justice of the Su- 
preme court of Rhode Island. Other dis- 
tinguished men of the locality in question of 
the Staples name were Hon. Hamilton B. Sta- 
ples, judge of the Superior court of Massachu- 
setts,' and Samuel Elias Staples (1822-1902), 
founder and first president of the Worcester 
Society of Antiquity. 

As stated, one of the sons of John Staple, 
Joseph by name, settled in Taunton, Mass., 
tlie home town of the Staples family under con- 
sideration. Joseph's children were : John, born 
Jan. 28, 1671 ; Amy or Ann, born April 3, 
1674; Mary, born Jan. 26, 1678; Joseph, born 
March 12, 'l680; Hannah, born May 17, 1682; 
and Nathaniel, born March 22, 1685. 

Of more recent generations of the Taunton 
Staples (2), was born in Taunton, Mass., Aug. 
vanus Nelson Staples, were Sylvanus Staples 
and Sylvanus Staples (2). 

Sylvanus Nelson Staples, son of Sylvanus 
Staples (2), was born in Taunton, Mass., Aug. 
2, 1811. His father was born there Nov. 24, 
1783, and married Aug. 24 or 25, 1805, Sally, 
daughter of Capt. Jacob Phillips. She was 



104 



SOUTHEASTEEN MASSACHUSETTS 



born June 25, 1783, in Taunton, Mass. Of this 
union there were eleven children, namely: 
Asenath married Robert Abell; Sally A. mar- 
ried Jabez Irish; Rebecca A. married Albert 
Carpenter; Sylvanus Nelson is mentioned fully 
presently; Eliza N. married Adam Reed; 
Abiathar F. married Esther Jones; Hope Ann 
married- George Edgar; Tila married Nathan 
Maker; Deborah married Abel Reed; Henry 
died unmarried; John was drowned at the age 
of nine years. Sylvanus Staples, the father, 
was a brickmaker by trade and a Democrat in 
politics. Both Mr. and Mrs. Staples were mem- 
bers of the Baptist Church at Pawtucket, R. I., 
whither they had gone to live in 1830, and 
where their youngest two children were born. 
Mrs. Staples died Sept. 25, 1851, and Mr. Sta- 
ples died Feb. 25, 1852, both aged sixty-eight 
years, three months. 

Sylvanus Staples, father of Sylvanus and 
grandfather of Sylvanus N., was a native of 
Taunton, was a farmer by occupation, and died 
at a ripe old age. He married a Miss Pierce. 
They had four sons and two daughters, of whom 
Sylvanus, father of Sylvanus N., was the eld- 
est son. 

Sylvanus N. Staples, son of Sylvanus (2), re- 
ceived a common school education, working 
for his grandfather, Capt. Jacob Phillips, dur- 
ing the summers and attending school winters. 
He commenced a seafaring life as cabin boy 
when not more than ten years of age and gradu- 
ally rose through the various grades until he 
became master of a sloop at the early age of 
eighteen. He continued in the coasting trade, 
visiting the West Indies and the Gulf of 
Mexico, until he was twenty-eight. In the 
meantime he had several vessels built for his 
trade. In 1836 he commenced dealing in the 
wholesale and retail commission flour and gro- 
cery business with Frank D. Williams as part- 
ner, under the firm title of F. D. Williams & 
Company, Hiram Burt being the company, 
though not actively engaged in the business, as 
he was constantly at sea. After several years 
Mr. Staples bought his partner's interest and 
associated with him Messrs. James M. and 
Horatio Williams. They had various establish- 
ments at Taunton and the Weir, doing busi- 
ness under the firm names of S. N. Staples & 
Co., at New Bedford, James M. Williams & Co., 
and — at Norfolk, Va. — Williams, Staples & 
Williams. Their business extended to the West 
Indies and all along the Atlantic seaboard. 
Their West Indies enterprise did not prove al- 
together successful and in 1850 the partnership 
was dissolved. 

Mr. Staples began life again at the bottom 



of the ladder, and by the timely aid of his 
friends built a vessel called the "William Ma- 
son," named after one of Taunton's most en- 
terprising and wealthy citizens. Mr. Staples 
ran her a few years, was successful and gave 
her to his brother Abiathar, who ran her until 
she was sunk in collision with the "Queen of 
the West," off Tortugas, in 1861. Mr. Staples 
began commercial business, dealing in iron, coal 
and lime and doing a general freighting, with 
William H. Phillips in 1857, under the firm 
title of Staples & Phillips. They were very 
successful in tliis business from the first, a suc- 
cess which continued until the dissolution of 
the firm, in April, 1888. Since May of that 
year the business has been continued as the 
Staples Coal Company. 

Mr. Staples was also interested in various 
manufacturing industries, in all of which he 
was unusually successful. He was a director of 
the Bristol County National Bank, trustee of the 
Taunton Savings Bank and director of the 
Dighton Furnace CompanJ^ In politics he was 
a Republican. He held several local offices, 
but never aspired to political honors. He was 
a charter member of Alfred Baylies Lodge, A. 
F. & A. M., Weir ; member of St. John's Com- 
mandery, K. T., of Providence, and had attained 
the thirty-second degree. He was also a mem- 
ber of the I. 0. 0. F. He belonged to the 
Unitarian Church at Taunton and was one of 
its liberal supporters. 

On Jlay 22, 1835, Mr. Staples married D. 
Adaline Hood, daughter of Nathaniel and 
Fannie Hood, of Taunton. She died Feb. 23. 
1888. Their children were : (1) Elizabeth, born 
July 1, 1836, died Nov. 19, 1872, married Jan. 
23, 1867, Stephen A. Jenckes, of Pawtucket, 
R. I. (2) Adelaide N., born May 19, 1838. mar- 
ried Sept. 22, 1870, Lewis Williams. (3) Har- 
riet F., born Jan. 31, 1842, died Feb. 10, 1862. 
(4) Edwin Sylvanus, born July 21, 1845, died 
April 17, 1873. He married Oct. 12, 1872, 
Cora F. Cook. He was a member of Alfred 
Baylies Lodge, A. F. & A. M., at the Weir, 
and of St. John's Commandery, K. T., at Provi- 
dence. (5) Herbert M. was born March 20, 
1848. (6) Adell L., born May 20, 1850, died 
Feb. 13, 1888. 

Herbert Mason Staples, son of Capt. 
Sylvanus Nelson Staples, was born in Taunton 
March 20, 1848, and died Feb. 14, 1904. He 
was educated in the public schools of his native 
city, at Bristol Academy, and at Bryant & 
Stratton's commercial college in Providence. 
Having commercial tastes he early busied him- 
self with the complicated affairs of Staples & 
Phillips, when they were the largest coal mer- 




, HBe^ra S Ca 



PO 



7Gi^Q-^^j^^ uj^^/^ 



SOUTHEASTEEN MASSACHUSETTS 



105 



chants and sliip owners of Taunton and vicinity. 
He showed such an aptitude for the work, and 
such a grasp of commercial operations, that pro- 
motion followed promotion. When the old firm 
was dissolved and was followed by the great 
corporation known ^s the Staples Coal Company 
he took a leading position in that concern, being 
made general sales agent for the company, and 
kis part was well done from the beginning to 
the end, the burden being increased by the 
death of Mr. Lewis Williams, his brother-in- 
law, and Mr. Joseph Stickney. Whatever he 
had to do, he did well, and in a genial, courte- 
ous, kindly way that was characteristic, and 
made him a friend-maker, one who had the good 
will and respect of everybody. He had no 
taste for public office, but had decided political 
convictions and was an active Eepublican, and 
a friend of good municipal government. His 
public spirit was shown by the interest he had 
in other commercial enterprises besides the coal 
business, and like his father he always had a 
large share in building up the varied industries 
of his native city and in enlarging and improv- 
ing the volume of business on the river. In a 
word, he was an alert, sagacious and progres- 
sive business man, who put his heart as well as 
his hand into his work. 

Mr. Staples was much interested in the First 
Congregational Society and a liberal contribu- 
tor to its work. He gave efficient service on 
the prudential committee, and in all ways was 
ready to strengthen and enlarge the influence 
of the church just as his father had done before 
him. In his death Taunton lost one of its pro- 
gressive citizens, and his wife and son a good 
husband and father. Mr. Staples was a mem- 
ber of Alfred Baylies Lodge, A. F. & A. M., 
of Weir, of St. Mark's Eoyal Arch Chapter of 
Taunton, and of St. John's Comraandery, 
Providence. 

On Oct. 3, 1869, Mr. Staples married Alice 
Moore Presbrey, daughter of Henry Moore and 
Sally Maria (Cushman) Presbrey (she a 
daughter of Alva Cushman), and granddaugh- 
ter of Barney and Abigail (Godfrey) Presbrey, 
the latter a daughter of Brig. Gen. George 
Godfrey. Mr. and Mrs. Staples had one son, 
Arthur Carleton, born July 16, 1871, who mar- 
ried June 6, 1900, Grace Gordon Briggs (born 
March 16, 1876), and has two sons: Carleton 
Lewis, born July 26, 1901 ; and Herbert Mason, 
bora Dec. 18, 1906. 

CUSHMAN (Taunton family). The Cush- 
man family of Taunton here briefly reviewed, 
the family and lineage of the late Hon. Horatio 
Leonard Cushman, long one of the leading 



citizens and substantial men of Taunton, at 
one time the city's chief executive oSicer, and 
who had served most efficiently in both branches 
of the city government, as alderman and coun- 
cilman, and who in turn has been followed by 
his son, Seth Leonard Cushman, Esq., who for 
many years has been president of the Bristol 
County National Bank, is a branch of the 
family bearing the name of ancient Plymouth, 
which with its allied connections is one of the 
historic families of New England. Its pro- 
geiiitor, though of short life in New England, 
was one of the leading spirits in all the pre- 
liminary movements in both England and Hol- 
land incident to the coming of the "May- 
flower" Pilgrims to New England, where his 
descendants soon allied themselves with those 
of the "Mayflower" passengers. There follow 
in brief some of the incidents in the lives of 
members of this Taunton family, and in those 
of their forefathers, in chronological order be- 
ginning with Eobert Cushman, one of the lead- 
ers among the Pilgrims. 

(I) Eobert Cushman, a wool carder of 
Canterbury, England, married (second) at 
Leyden, Holland, June 3, 1617, Mary, widow 
of Thomas Chingleton, of Sandwich, England. 
He was associated with William Brewster as 
agent of the Leyden Church in negotiations for 
removal. He came to New England in the 
"Fortune" in 1631, bringing with him his only 
son, Thomas. He returned to England on 
business of the Colony, and died there in 1626. 
He left his son Thomas in the care of Governor 
Bradford. It is well known that Eobert Cush- 
man was among the eighteen- or twenty per- 
sons left at Plymouth when the "Mayflower" 
made her final departure from England. When 
the Pilgrims came to Southampton from Hol- 
land he was there, ha%ang gone ahead of them 
to England. And he was among them when 
they set sail from that port, only to put back 
into Dartmouth. They started again and again 
returned, this time going into Plymouth, when 
they made their final departure. Eobert Cush- 
man was, therefore, a passenger on the "May- 
flower" from the time she left Southampton 
until she left Plymouth. Governor Bradford 
says, "He" (meaning Christopher Martin) 
"was Governor in the bigger ship ; and Master 
Cushman, Assistant." At the bottom of one 
of the panels of the Forefathers' Monument at 
Plymouth is this statement: 

Robert Cushman, who chartered the May Flower 
and was active and prominent in securinfr the success 
of the Pilgrim Enterprise, came in the Fortune, 1621. 

(II) Thomas Cushman, son of Eobert, 
born in February, 1608, in England, ac- 



106 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



companied his father to Plymouth in 1621 in 
the ship "Fortune." He became an important 
man here in church and colony. He married 
about 1635 Mary Allerton, of the "Mayflower," 
1620; and they lived together the long period 
of fifty-five years, she surviving him nearly ten 
years. Mr. Cushman was chosen and ordained 
elder of the Plymouth Church in 1649, and was 
forty-three years in that office. His gravestone 
on the old Burial Hill at Plymouth calls him 
"that precious servant of God." He died Dec. 
10, 1691, aged nearly eighty-four years. The 
children of Mr. Cushman and wife were : 
Thomas, born in 1637; Sarah; Lydia ; Isaac, 
born in 1647-48; Elkanah, born in 1651; 
Feare, born in 1653; Eleazer, born in 1656-57; 
and Mary. 

(III) Thomas Cushman (2), son of Elder 
Thomas, born in 1637, married (first) in 1664 
Ruth, daughter of John Howland, and (sec- 
ond) in 1679 Abigail Fuller, of Rehoboth. He 
and his second wife were members of the 
Church at Plympton, of which he continued a 
worthy member through a long life. He lived 
to be eighty-nine years of age, dying in 1726. 
His children were: Robert, born in 1664 
(born to the first marriage) ; Job, born prob- 
ably about 1680; Bartholomew, born' in 1684; 
Samuel, born in 1687; and Benjamin, born in 
1691. 

(IV) Benjamin Cushman, son of Thomas 
(2), born in' 1691, married (first) in 1712 
Sarah Eaton, who died in Plympton, and he 
married (second) in 1738-39 Mrs. Sarah Bell. 
He and both his wives were members of the 
church at Plympton. He lived on a part of 
his father's farm, in a home on the south side 
of or near to Colchester brook. He died in 
Plympton in 1770. His children wei'e: Ja- 
bez, born in 1713; Caleb, in 1715; Solomon, 
in 1717; Jerusha, in 1719: Benjamin, in 1722; 
Sarah, in 1725; Abigail, in 1737; Thomas, in 
1730; Jerusha (2), in 1732; and Huldah, in 
1735. 

(V) Jabez Cushman, son of Benjamin, 
born Aug. 11, 1713, married a Padelford, 
and their children were : Zebedee, born Feb. 
17, 1740, in Middleboro, Mass.; Hannah; 
Samuel, born April 6, 1742; Phebe; Sarah; 
Huldah; Molly; and Jabez, born July 9, 1756, 
in Middleboro, Massachusetts. 

(VI) Zebedee Cushman, son of Jabez, born 
Feb. 17, 1740, in Middleboro, Mass., married 
Sarah Padelford, of Taunton, Mass., and they 
lived in that town, he dying there in March, 
1833. Their children were : Apollos, born 
Aug. 9, 1782; Betsey, June 9, 1785; Sarah, 
Feb. 28, 1788; Selina, May 25, 1790; Ann, 



Nov. 5, 1793; Christianna, Oct. 18, 1795; and 
Alvah, Oct. 10, 1797, in Taunton, Massa- 
chusetts. 

(VII) Alvah Cushman, son of Zebedee, 
born Oct. 10, 1797, in Taunton, Mass., made 
his home in his native town. On Nov. 27, 
1818, he married Sally Leonard, daughter of 
William Leonard. She was a strong and force- 
ful character, and her influence was a potent 
factor in the upbringing of her children. 
These children were: David, born July 15, 
1820; Horatio Leonard, Oct. 22, 1826; Sally 
M., July 29, 18f30 (married Henry Moore Prei- 
brey) ; Christianna L., Jan. 7, 1832; William, 
Aug. 28, 1834; Harriet F., Oct. 14, 1837; Wil- 
liam H., Nov. 2, 1839. 

(VIII) Horatio Leonard Cushman, son of 
Alvah, born Oct. 22, 1826, in Taunton, Mass., 
married there in 1847 Loretta Horton Rich- 
mond, and one child, a son, Seth Leonard, was 
born to them Aug. 13, 1849. Mrs. Loretta 
Horton (Richmond) Cushman was born Jan. 
2, 1830, daughter of Seth and Lydia (Bunn) 
Richmond, she a daughter of Nathaniel Bunn, 
of Dighton, Mass., and he a direct descendant 
of John Richmond, one of the early settlers of 
Taunton, from whom his lineage is through 
Edward, Josiah, Benjamin and Seth Richmond. 

Horatio L. Cushman's early days were spent 
at hard work instead of in school. He had 
thrift, economy and toil as his only inheritance. 
For years as a young man he worked in Sproat's 
sawmill, which occupied a site on Winthrop 
street. He then tried various branches of in- 
dustry, and finally took up the leathering of 
tacks, when such were popular, and for years 
carried on that business. As that industry de- 
clined he gave attention to a machine for mak- 
ing shoe buttons, and, perfecting it, carried 
on that line of manufacturing successfully for 
years, under the firm name of H. L. Cushman 
&i Co. He was always a hard and faithful 
worker. Mr. Cushman was interested in city 
politics, and in 1876 he was councilman from 
Ward One; in 1877 and 1878 alderman from 
the same ward, and in 1883 was mayor of the 
city. Into all of these oflSces he carried his 
unswerving fidelity to duty, and did not permit 
himself to be a mere figurehead. He will al- 
ways be recalled as a good citizen, a faithful 
public servant, an honest man of business and 
a warm and genial friend. His rugged adher- 
ence to what he believed to be right, his strong 
personality and his energetic advocacy of what 
he believed to be true, always won him friends 
and compelled those who differed from him to 
respect his sturdy maintenance of his opinions. 
He always was found on the side of morality, 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



107 



and was ready to labor for all that tended to 
the good of the public and the home. 

The death of Mr. Cushman occurred Sept. 
2, 1894, and the city council of Taunton, in 
joint convention, Sept. 13th following, passed 
the following preamble and resolutions: 

Whereas; For the second time in the histon^ of 
our city government we are called upon to note the 
death of one who has held the office of mayor of the 
city, Horatio Leonard Cushman, who died the 2d 
inst., was a member of the city council of this city 
in 1876; in 1877 he was elected to the board of 
aldei-men and re-elected in 1878. At the election 
held in 1882, he was chosen mayor for the ensuing 
year, 188.3, having been the eighth in succession. He 
served on the committee on printing during his first 
term in the common council in 1877, it being his first 
term in the upper board. He was chosen chair- 
mtm of the committee on public property, printing 
and sidewalks, and was a member of the important 
committee on highways. In 1878 he was chairman 
of the committee on public property, printing, and 
a member of the committee on highways. In what- 
ever position he was placed his influence was decided 
and always in the direction of what he believed to 
be right and just. He was a true representative 
of old New England sterling honesty and he carried 
his views into all his public and private life. Nothing 
was done by him for policy, the sole and paramount 
<|uestion being "Is it right, is it honest" ; and when con- 
vinced of the righteousness of his views human 
entreaty could not cause him to swerve — he went 
right on without fear to the consummation of his 
undertaking, ^o one had a keener understanding 
of human motives, no one had more charity for the 
needy and unfortunate. Underneath a manner often 
severe and imperious, he had as tender a regard for 
the unfortunate as the most sensitive woman. He 
was a man from the people and of the people. He 
knew what Abraham Lincoln called "the common 
people," and was alive to their needs, and no political 
or civic honors could have alienated him from the 
ranks whence he sprang. 

It is appropriate then, in view of the public ser- 
vices of the deceased, that at this time and in this 
place, where he sensed so well, such official action 
should be taken as will convey to the family and 
friends of the deceased, a token of the appreciation 
in which he was held. 

Resolved, That the Honorable Mayor and City 
Council in joint convention assembled, hereby tender 
to the members of the family of the late Horatio 
Leonard Cushman their sincere sympathy with them 
in their bereavement. 

Resolved, That the preamble and resolution be 
duly entered upon the records of the city, a copy 
furnished to the widow and son of the deceased, and 
for publication in the daily papers of the city. 

The following tribute to Mr. Cushman is 
quoted from "Rhymes of the Local Philoso- 
pher," by Henry W. Colby, Esq. : 

A FRrENDLT AND OtFICIAL TRIBUTE AT CiTY HaLL. 

Hon. H. L. C. 

"An honest man's the noblest work of God" ; 
Thus runs my thought, nor do I feel inclined 



To seek expression of a loftier kind, 
To praise the friend now resting 'neath the sod. 
'Twould ill become one who has known him well. 

To deck with fulsome flatterj- his grave ; 
When simple mention of his name should tell 

In quick response the compliments we crave. 
A manly, open hand, that never failed 

To grasp its duty, be it stern or mild; 
A stout, courageous heart that never quailed, 

And yet, withal, as tender as a child. 
He was my friend, this man, and I may dare 

To say to others — strangers, it may be — 
That there are many we could better spare, 

And few, alas, from weaknesses more free. 
Scan through his record made within these walls, — 

True to an oath not for one hour forgot, 
And eye of keenest searching never falls 

U|)on a page or line that marks a blot. 
Remembering him whose life has passed away, 

And saddened by the thoughts that memories 
lend, 
Than this, no higher tribute can I pay — 

"A just official, citizen and friend." 

(IX) Seth Leonard Cushmax, son of 
Horatio Leonard and Loretta H. (Richmond), 
was born in Taunton Aug. 13, 1849. His edu- 
cation was received in the public schools of 
Taunton, and he graduated from the high 
school in 1866. He entered the employ of the 
firm of N. H. Skinner & Co. in that same year, 
soon after his graduation, as assistant book- 
keeper, under Mr. Colby, and continued there 
until 1869. In August of the latter year he 
entered the Bristol County National Bank as 
teller, under its then president, Theodore Dean. 
He continued in this position until 1881, when 
he succeeded Mr. A. C. Place as cashier, which 
position he held until 1887, when he was elected 
president of the bank, and he has continued as 
such to the present time. As indicative of its 
growth since his connection with it as teller, 
cashier and president, it is interesting to note 
that in 1869 the deposits were about $176,000, 
and now (1909) about $900,000. In 1892 the 
old brick building was remodeled into the pres- 
ent excellent and commodious bank and office 
building. Unlike his father Mr. Cushman has 
taken no active part in public matters, giving 
his time and attention undivided to the busi- 
ness of the bank. 

In Masonic matters Mr. Cushman has taken 
a considerable interest and is a member and 
past master of Charles H. Titus Lodge, A. F. 
& A. M., of Taunton; St. Mark's Chapter, R. 
A. M. ; New Bedford Council, R. & S. M. ; and 
St. John's Commandery, K. T., of Providence, 
R. I. He has also been district deputy of the 
Twenty-third Masonic district. He has been 
treasurer and superintendent of Mount Pleasant 
cemetery since 1879, and his interest in it has 



108 



SOUTHEASTEEN MASSACHUSETTS 



no doubt contributed largely in making it the 
handsome burial place it is to-day. He is also 
a member of Winthrop Club. 

Mr. Cushman was married July 11, 1871, 
to Mary Frances Taylor, born Aug. 9, 1844, 
daughter of Nicholas and Prudence (Gray) 
Taylor, of Fall River. They have one son, 
Elton Gray, born Dec. 25, 1879, who graduated 
from Harvard University in 1902, and from 
Harvard Law School in 1905, and is now a 
practicing lawyer at Taunton; he married 
Frances, daughter of Stephen A. and Emily 
(Burt) Jenks, of Barrington, Rhode Island. 



(VIII) William H. Cushman, son of 
Alvah and Sally (Leonard ), was born in Taun- 
ton Nov. 2, 1839, and spent his entire life in 
his native place. For many years he was a 
nail maker with his brother David, and he was 
well known and beloved by all. He was a mem- 
ber of Alfred Baylies Lodge, A. F. & A. M., 
and held office in it for many years. He died 
at Taunton Aug. 27, 1901. He married Joanna 
Harlow, born Oct. 12, 1840, daughter of John 
B. and Rebecca (Reed) Paine, the mother be- 
ing a daughter of Levi Reed and Lucy (Doten), 
of Plymouth. Mrs. Cushman is now a resident 
of New Bedford. To this union were born 
children as follows: Henry Presbrey, born 
Oct. 8, 1860, who died March 9, 1861 ; Herbert 
Elsworth, born Jan. 1, 1862; Albert Francis, 
born March 21, 1864, who died Nov. 17, 1884; 
William Alvah, born March 30, 1871, who re- 
sides in New Bedford (he is connected with 
the Southern Massachusetts Telephone Com- 
pany) ; Jennie Editli, horn Jan. 13, 1874, who 
married Sept. 8, 1897, Lewis Bright Barker, 
now of Central Falls, R. I., and they have one 
son, Winston Cushman (born Dec. 25, 1899); 
Everett Morton, born Feb. 16, 1876 — superin- 
tendent of the Holmes Manufacturing Com- 
pany, New Bedford, who married July 19, 1905, 
Adelaide Susie Miner, and they have one son, 
Robert Miner (born Oct. 16, 1906) ; Grace 
Reed, born Jan. 31, 1881, who died Aug. 29, 
1882; and Bessie May, born Feb. 24, 1883, 
who married July 6, 1910, Francis N. Smith 
and resides in New Bedford. 

(IX) Herbert Elsworth Cushman, son 
of William H. and Joanna, was born in Taun- 
ton, Mass., Jan. 1, 1862, and was educated in 
the public and high schools of his native 
place, graduating from the latter in the class 
of 1880. Immediately after leaving school he 
entered the employ of the Taunton Locomotive 
Works as clerk, remaining there one year. From 
there he went to the Williams Manufacturing 
Company, of Taunton, as head bookkeeper. 



where he remained for a period of about six 
years. In 1887 he took up his residence in 
New Bedford, where he became the selling agent 
of the Morse Twist Drill & Machine Company, 
and he remained as such until he was elected 
to the office of treasurer and general manager 
in 1902, succeeding Mr. Gideon Allen, Jr., who 
became president. This position he still holds. 

Mr. Cushman is a director of the First Na- 
tional Bank ; trustee of the New Bedford Insti- 
tution for Savings; a director of the Fire- 
men's Mutual Insurance Company of Provi- 
dence; and was president for 1908 and 1909 
of the New Bedford Board of Trade. He is 
also a director of the Morse Twist Drill & Ma- 
chine Company, and the New Bedford Foundry 
& Machine Company. Fraternally he is a mem- 
ber of Alfred Baylies Lodge, A. F. & A. M. ; St. 
Mark's Chapter, R. A. M., at Taunton; New 
Bedford Council, R. & S. M.; and St. John's 
Commandery, K. T., of Providence. Socially 
he is a member of the Wamsutta and Country 
Clubs of New Bedford; of the Engineer and 
Machinery Clubs of New York City ; and of the 
American Society of Mechanical Engineers. 
He is also a member of both the Old Colony 
Historical Society, of Taunton, and the old 
Dartmouth Historical Society of New Bedford. 
His religious connection is with the Unitarian 
(First Congregational) Church of New Bed- 
ford. 

On Jan. 22, 1901, Mr. Cushman married 
Anna Russell Taber, daughter of William C. 
(deceased) and Sarah A. W. Taber. They have 
had three children : Mary Allerton, born Nov. 
0, 1901, who died Nov. 12, 1901 ; Sally (chris- 
tened Sarah), born Sept. 30, 1902 ; and Eleanor 
Jarvis, born Nov. 28, 1905. 

ARCHER (Fall River family). Through 
much of the nineteenth century the name open- 
ing this article was a most highly esteemed and 
respected one at Fall River, made so by the 
lives of the late Jason H. Archer, M. D., of 
the medical profession, and "his son, the late 
John Jason Archer, Esq., for years one of the 
learned members of the Fall River bar. 

The home at least for a time of this Fall 
River Archer family was in the nearby town 
of Wrentham, in Norfolk county, where lived 
Amos Archer, father of Dr. Jason H. Archer 
and grandfather of the late John Jason Archer, 
Esq. While the Wrentham vital records do not 
show the Archers among the town's early in- 
habitants the Archers as a family were here in 
Massachusetts in its early Colonial period. One 
Samuel Archer (name spelled in the early 
Essex county records Archard) was living in 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



109 



Salem as early as 1630, as on Oct. 19th of that 
year he took the freeman's oath there. He was 
born between 1602 and 1615, and was a car- 
penter. He was a member of the First Church 
before 1636; was constable of the town in 1657; 
and marshal from 1654 until his decease. He 
died in December, 1667. His wife Susanna sur- 
vived him, and married (second) Richard 
Hutchinson in October, 1668. His children, 
bom in Salem, Mass., were: Hannah, born in 
1632, married Matthew Dove, a planter of 
Salem; Samuel, born in 1634-35, married 
Hannah Osgood, of Andover, and lived in 
Salem, a house carpenter; John, born in 1638, 
married Bethiah Weeks, and lived in Salem, a 
cooper; Bethiah was baptized July 14, 1642. 

There was also an early Archer family at 
Roxbury, the head of which was Henry Archer, 
who married in December, 1639, Elizabeth, 
daughter of John Stow. He removed to Ips- 
wich. His children were : Rachel, John, Isaac 
and Theophilus, and maybe others. 

There follows a brief account of the Wren- 
tham-Fall River Archer family. 

Dr. Jason H. Archer, son of Amos, was 
born in 179-, in Wrentham, Mass., and in that 
town passed his youth and prepared for college. 
Entering Brown University in 1812, he was 
graduated therefrom in 1816. Immediately 
after his graduation he began the study of 
medicine under the direction of the celebrated 
Dr. William Ingalls, of Boston, and after com- 
pleting his studies soon settled in Fall River, 
where he became a successful practitioner and a 
leading citizen. 

Dr. Archer took an active part, in politics and 
public afPairs. On the organization of the 
Massasoit Bank in 1846 he was elected its 
president and a director, relations he sustained 
to the bank until his removal from Fall River 
to Wrentham, in 1852. This bank became in 
later years the Massasoit National Bank. On 
his removal to Wrentham Dr. Archer became 
a director in the Wrentham Bank. 

Dr. Archer married Jennette, daughter of 
Abraham and Ruth Bowen, and there were born 
to them children as follows: Amanda M., who 
died in 1904; Caroline A., who married 
Frederick H. Gee ; Jennette F., who died in 
infancy; and John Jason. 

Dr. Archer died at his home in Wrentham, 
Mass., in January, 1864. His wife survived 
him many years and died Jan. 19, 1883, in Fall 
River. 

John Jason Aecheb, son of Dr. Jason H. 
and Jennette (Bowen) Archer, was born July 
26, 1845, in Fall River, Mass., and here and in 
Wrentham, Mass., passed his early years. After 



due preparation for college he entered Brown 
University, from which institution he was 
graduated with the class of 1866. Soon after 
liis graduation he was appointed an instructor 
in English literature in the Naval Academy at 
Annapolis. In something more than a year 
after entering upon his professional duties he 
was attacked with measles, which at the time 
were epidemic at the academy. Owing to the 
efEect of this disease upon his eyes he was 
obliged to resign his position. Returning home, 
he not long thereafter took up the study of 
law, was admitted to the bar of Norfolk coun- 
ty, and soon thereafter located in its practice 
in Fall River. He became in time the senior 
member of the law firm of Archer & Jackson. 
Mr. Archer was prominent in educational af- 
fairs, and served as a member of the school 
committee. He received the appointment of 
associate justice. 

Mr. Archer died at his home in Fall River, 
Mass., Oct. 31, 1882, when in the thirty-eighth 
year of his age. He was one of the most highly 
esteemed members of the local bar and "in all 
the relations of life, as son, brother, wise and 
honest counselor, friend and good citizen, Mr. 
Archer has left a record that is equaled by few 
and seldom surpassed." 

The following preamble and resolutions on 
the death of Mr. Archer were adopted by the 
Bristol County bar, which met Nov. 1, 1882, 
to take action thereon : 

".With unfeigned sorrow we assemble here 
to-day. The death of John J. Archer has re- 
moved from our tar one whose place cannot 
easily be filled. Intellectually and morally he 
had few, if any, superiors in our community. 
His scholarship was not only wide and varied, 
but also accurate and unpretentious. Thorough- 
ly read in law and master of its fundamental 
principles, he was one of our safest and ablest 
counselors. No man had a keener sense of 
right or wrong, or stronger moral convictions. 
Upright in all his ways, he ever had a charit- 
able word for the wrong-doer. His attainments 
commanded the respect, and his character the 
regard, of all who knew him. 

"Realizing the worth of such a man, not only 
to our profession, which he dismified and 
adorned, but to the community at large, which 
he influenced and elevated ; 

"Resolved, That we, the members of the Fall 
River bar, most fully and keenly recognize the 
ability, worth and high character of our de- 
ceased brother, John J. Archer, and with feel- 
ings of mingled pride and sadness attest his 
many virtues, his professional attainments, and 
his upright life; that in him we have each lost 



110 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



a sympathizing friend, and one whose inter- 
course with us was ever marked by the greatest 
courtesy and kindness. 

"A. J. Jennings, 
"M. Eead, 
"H. K. Braley, 

"(Committee)." 

At a special session of the District court held 
before his Honor Judge Blaisdell, at which Mr. 
A. J. Jennings, on behalf of the members of 
the bar, presented the resolutions adopted at 
their meeting, Mr. Jennings, in a few remarks, 
said : "My heart responds to every word in 
the resolutions. It is a day when a bar like 
this should rejoice when they can write words 
of truth, as these words are, about any man who 
has been a member of it. I think we have a 
right to have something bright mingled with 
our sadness, when we can point to such a man 
as a member of the bar here, as one who has 
chosen our profession, as one whose every act 
and thought has simply tended to elevate, to 
raise, it, in the respect and esteem of the com- 
munity, and who gained for himself the love 
and respect of all his fellow meml)ers and the 
members of the community in which he lived. 

"As far as my personal knowledge is con- 
cerned, the words of the resolution and its 
preamble express to myself the cordial relation 
in which he stood to me. I never heard from 
his lips any words except those of truth, of 
justice, of honesty. I never heard from his 
lips any words in which he sought to belittle 
other men; strong words he sometimes spoke 
against wrong and evil, but he always found 
there was some good in the man that committed 
the wrong. 

"He seemed to be always looking for the best 
instead of for the worst, but always in the 
straight line of integrity, honesty and upright- 
ness, and all his words and acts conformed to 
it. He was very sparing of his speech to those 
who swerved from the true path, and I Bay 
we should honor him for it, and ahotild be 
proud of him for it. 

"One of our younger members has been taken 
away and our ranks are broken, but I am glad 
we can assemble here and feel that the good 
acts done will live after him. His acts must 
still remain to exert their influence upon us 
who have seen his life, been impressed by his 
thoughts and works, to make us better and 
truer members of the profession. I submit to 
the court these resolutions and ask that they 
be spread upon its records." 

On seconding the resolution Mayor Braley 
said : "It seems to me that it is fitting for 
the bar to pause a moment in its career of 



business, and take notice of the death of one 
of its members. Brother Archer. He delighted 
to make himself the master of law. He was a 
sound adviser, and was a legislator of this court 
for some time, and always presided with 
dignity, with impartiality, and with justice. 
In his intercourse with the members of the bar 
he was always pleasant, always cordial, and 
also strictly true. Whatever he said might be 
relied on, and in his death we lose a faithful 
friend." 

In accepting the resolution on behalf of the 
court Judge Blaisdell said : "After hearing 
the eulogies pronounced by you, gentlemen of 
the bar, I can but say that the occasion of our 
meeting is a most unusual one. 'A good man 
has fallen,' not simply a lawyer, not simply a 
neighbor or kind friend, but a good citizen, 
with all that that term implies. My words 
must be few after so much has been said. In 
the life of Mr. Archer, who has now passed 
on and gone before, we have a lesson for our- 
selves, a lesson for us to learn. He was a true 
man in all the relations of life. So far as I 
have knowledge of him, he was emphatically 
a true man. He never misled, never deceived, 
never permitted litigation for the sake of 
litigation. 

"I can only say that I only know John Jason 
Archer to respect him. As one of the special 
justices of this court he discharged the duties 
with fidelity, with truthfulness, with high 
notion before him to always do justly between 
party and party, and was conscientious in the 
discharge of his duty. More than a lawyer, 
his character, as I understand it, is engraven 
to-day not only upon our memories here, but 
it is engraven in matters of education, of good 
example here in our community, going in and 
out before all as an upright man. When such 
a man passes away we may well pause in our 
ordinarv proceedings of life to pay tribute to 
the fallen. Try and pay that tribute of 
respect which is due such a man. It is the 
pleasure of the court to order that these reso- 
lutions be enrolled upon the records of the 
court." 

Mrs. Jennette (Bowen) Archer was the 
daughter of Abraham Bowen and granddaugh- 
ter of Nathan Bowen. Abraham Bowen was 
descended from an old and prominent Massa- 
chusetts family and he himself was one of 
Fall River's most intelligent and useful citizens. 
He was for some eight years postmaster of Fall 
River, being the first to hold the office after the 
rocstablisliment of it here in 1816. The office 
was established in Fall River in 1811. but two 
years later it was removed to Steep Brook. In 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



111 



1816 it, however, was again changed to Fall 
Kiver. Mr. Bowen held the office some eight 
years, until the time of his death, when he was 
succeeded by his son, James G. Bowen. Mr. 
Bowen was one of the most prominent pro- 
moters of the Fall River Factory (.'orporation, 
which was one of the first two substantial cloth- 
making establishments of Fail River, the other 
being the Troy Company, and both started in 
1813. 

Caroline A. Archer, daughter of Dr. Jason 
H. Archer, married Frederick H. Gee, a native 
of New Hampshire, who has engaged in mer- 
cantile business in Wrentham, Mass., Provi- 
dence, R. I., and Pittsfield, N. H., and since 
1883 has resided in Fall River, Mass. To them 
was born one son, Frederic Archer Gee. 

Frederic Archer Gee was born in Provi- 
dence, R. I., March 20, 1860. His boyhood was 
passed in his grandfather Archer's home in 
Wrentham, and there he attended school until 
1876, when he came to Fall River and finished 
his schooling in the high school. For two years 
he was employed in the office of the J. A. 
Bowen Coal Company, and then engaged in the 
coal business for himself at Globe Corners, in 
Fall River. Later he gave up this business 
to his father. For fifteen years, from 1889 to 
1904, he served the city as truant officer. For 
many years Mr. Gee has engaged in the real 
estate business; in recent years he has re- 
modeled the buildings on the corner of Rock 
and Bank streets, and has also built the 
"Archer," an office building, and the "Fred- 
eric," a store and bachelors' apartrnent build- 
ing, both on Rock street, and equipped witli all 
modern improvements for the comfort and con- 
venience of the occupants. Mr. Gee was one 
of the pioneers in the real estate business of 
Tampa, Fla. Outside of business affairs he is 
interested in yachting, and was one of the char- 
ter members of the Fall River Yacht Club. As 
a relaxation from business life he spends the 
summers at Christmas Cove, Maine. 

On Feb. 3, 1891, Mr. Gee married Margaret 
Hapgood Hawkins, who was born July 28, 
1867, daughter of Edwin M. and Margaret 
(Hapgood) Hawkins, and to them have been 
born two sons and one daughter : John Archer, 
born Oct. 25, 1894 ; Margaret, born Nov. 7, 
1895; and Richard Hawkins, born Oct. 13, 
1897. 

FREDERICK PACl\ARD,-late of Brockton, 
was not only one of the best known men in 
the line of shoe manufacturing in that city 
but also one of its most honorable and respected 
citizens. He ranked among the city's most 



successful business men, one whose start in life 
was obtained by his energy and push, and these 
traits, combined with excellent business acumen, 
liad long secured for him a position of affluence, 
and caused the firm of wliich he had so long 
been the head to become one of the best known 
in its line in the country. Mr. Packard was 
born Dec. 11, 1836, in North Bridgewater (now 
Brockton), son of the late Josiah and Betsey 
D. (Bolton) Packard, and was descended from 
old and sturdy New England ancestry. The 
following history of his branch of the Packard 
family is given in chronological order from the 
American progenitor. 

(I) Samuel Packard came from Windham, 
near Hingham, England, witli his wife and child 
in the ship "Diligence," of Ipswich, in 1638, 
John Martin, master, there being 133 passen- 
gers on board. Samuel Packard settled first in 
Hingham, Mass., where he was a proprietor 
ill 1638. Later he removed to the West parish 
of Bridgewater, where the first interior settle- 
ment in the State was made. He was constable 
in 1644, and licensed to keep a tavern in 1670. 
His will was probated March 3, 1684-85, from 
which it appears that the Christian name of his 
wife was Elizabeth. His children were : Eliza- 
beth, Samuel, Jr., Zaccheus, Thomas, John, 
Nathaniel, Mary, Hannah, Israel, Jael, De- 
borah and Deliverance. 

(II) Zaccheus Packard, son of Samiiel, mar- 
ried Sarah Howard, daughter of John Howard, 
who was one of the first settlers of Bridgewater, 
in 1651. His children were: Israel, Sarah, 
Jonathan, David, Solomon, James, Zaccheus, 
Jr.. John and Abiel, the last six of whom set- 
tled in the North parish (now Brockton). The 
father died Aug. 3, 1723. 

(III) Israel Packard, the eldest son of 
Zaccheus, was l)orn April 27, 1680, and mar- 
ried in 1703 Hannah; their children were: 
Seth, Mehitahle, Sarah, Eliphalet, Hannah, 
Zeruiah and Israel, Jr. The mother of the 
above died, and Israel Packard married (sec- 
ond) Nov. 20, 1735, Susanna Field, daughter 
of Daniel Field. 

(IV) Seth Packard, son of Israel, was born 
in 1703, and married Mercy Bryant, and their 
children were : Sarah, Lucy, Mehitahle, Mercy, 
Isaac, Mary, Seth, Jr., Joshua, Abigail, Abner, 
Jonathan and Jerusha. 

(V) Jonathan Packard, son of Seth, was 
born Sept. 27, 1751, and married in 1778 Sus- 
anna Alger, and their cliildren were: Israel, 
Reuel, Othniel, Asa, Albe, Isaac and Betsey. 

(VI) Isaac Packard, son of Jonathan, was 
born in 1779, and died in North Bridgewater 
Jan. 17, 1856. In early life he was a tanner 



lla 



SOUTHEASTEEN MASSACHUSETTS 



and later became a boot and shoe maker. For 
a number of years he was sexton of the First 
Congregational Church, and upon the organi- 
zation of the Porter Congregational Church, 
in 1850, he went witli that clmrch, filling the 
same position therein until his death. He also 
for a number of years drove the town hearse. 
His tanning pits were located on the land at the 
corner of Belmont street and Warren avenue, 
adjacent to where now stands the First Bap- 
tist church. In 1801 he married Susanna 
Edson, who was born March 31, 1780, daughter 
of Josiah and Reliance (Fuller) Edson, of 
North Bridgewater. She died Jan. 15, 1855, 
aged seventy-four years, the mother of the 
following children: Josiah, born March 22, 
1802, is mentioned below; Melvin, born Jan. 
1, 1804, married Emily Merriman; Sidney, 
born Jan. 23, 1806, married Elmira Thompson; 
Liberty, born July 29, 1808, married Mary 
Dodge; Arvilla, born Sept. 7, 1810, married 
Lucius Gurney; Israel, born Feb. 23, 1813, 
married Mary Jane Morton; Alpheus, born 
July 19, 1815, died March 18, 1833; Henry H., 
born April 22, 1818, married Louisa Braman 
and (second) Matilda Dunham (he was for 
many years one of Brockton's leading dry goods 
merchants, and was also mayor of the city) ; 
Susanna, born May 6, 1821, died May 23, 
1840; David Cobb, born April 30, 1824, died 
in infancy. 

(VII) Josiah Packard, the eldest son of 
Isaac, was born March 22, 1802, in North 
Bridgewater, now Brockton, where his life was 
spent and where he died April 18, 1864, aged 
sixty-two years. Mr. Packard was one of the 
early shoe manufacturers of the town, and for 
a time was engaged in manufacturing in a 
building on Main street which stood where the 
Home National Bank. building is now located, 
shipping his goods to New Orleans in hogs- 
heads. He was a genial, social man in disposi- 
tion, and one who enjoyed meeting his friends, 
and it was a pleasure to meet him. He re- 
sided at the corner of Belmont street and War- 
ren avenue. In early life he allied himself with 
the Free-soil party, later becoming a Whig, and 
upon the organization of the Republican party 
allied himself therewith and ever afterward 
supported it. He was one of the original mem- 
bers of the Church of the New Jerusalem and 
took an active part in the organization of the 
church in North Bridgewater. In 1824 Mr. 
Packard was united in marriage to Betsey D. 
Bolton, daughter of John Bolton, of Bridge- 
water, and of Revolutionary ancestry. To Mr. 
and Mrs. Packard were born the following chil- 
dren: Sidney Henry, bom April 16, 1825, died 



Aug. 7, 1827; Eli^beth Ann, born May 15, 
18^8, married Nahum Jolmson, of West Bridge- 
water, who later became a shoe manufacturer in 
Brockton, where they both died, leaving two 
sons, George P. and Warren E. ; Louisa, born 
Nov. 29, 1829, married Aliira S. Porter, of 
Stoughton, who is mentioned elsewhere in tiiese 
volumes; Josiah Edson, born Nov. 24, 1833, 
was engaged for many years in the practice of 
dentistry m Brockton, where his death occurred 
in 1903 (he married Maria Foster Stoddard, 
and had children, Alice Maria, who married 
Frank M. Hauthaway, Addie P., who married 
Morton F. Copeland, and Emily Foster, who is 
the wife of Dr. Frank E. Constans) ; Eveline 
Augusta, born March 27, 1835, resides in 
Brockton, unmarried; Frederick, born Dec. 11, 
1836, is mentioned below; Reuben Merriman, 
born Dec. 31, 1839, died May 15, 1855; Jolm 
Denny, born June 22, 1844, is a shoe cutter 
by trade, residing in Brockton. He married 
Enna Packard, and they have become the par- 
ents of five cliildren : Abbie M., John F., Walter 
B., Henry H. and Evelyn E.) ; James Willard, 
born Nov. 29, 1846, who is a practicing den- 
tist in Brockton, married Mary Alice Cary, and 
they have become the parents of Bessie C. (who 
married Henry Stiff), Nathan C. and Mary 
L. (who died young) and Alice Maria (who 
became the second wife of Henry Stiff). 

(VIII) Frederick Packard, son of Josiah 
and Betsey D. (Bolton) Packard, was born in 
the Packard homestead which stood at the cor- 
ner of Belmont street and Warren avenue, and 
in the district schools of his native town acquired 
his early educational training. At the age of 
eight years he began to assist liis father in mak- 
ing boots and shoes, the stock for the same be- 
ing obtained at the factories and carried home, 
where the boots and shoes were made up, the 
product being returned to the factories ready 
for the market, as was then the custom.. He 
continued thus employed at home until he was 
twenty years of age, when his father gave him 
his time, and he set about making his own way 
in the world. Hiring a small shop of his grand- 
father, Isaac Packard, he started a "gang" at 
work on shoes, being one of the first to start 
gang work in the town. Thus he continued 
until his marriage, after which he went to live 
on his father-in-law's farm, which he success- 
fully conducted for a period of seven years. The 
first year he had charge of this farm he cut 
hut five tons of .hay, and during the time he 
conducted it he greatly improved the land, so 
much so that at the end of the seven years, in 
selling it to George L. Knapp, he guaranteed 
to the buyer that one hundred tons would be 



SOTJTHEASTEEN MASSACHUSETTS 



113 



cut therefrom, and to the surprise of the buyer 
the yield was 125 tons. 

Being of an energetic and persevering nature, 
during the time that he was conducting this 
farm Mr. Packard was also engaged in manu- 
facturing boys" and youths' boots and shoes, 
and upon retiring from the farm had accumu- 
lated $10,000 in cash. With this capital Mr. 
Packard built a small factory on Pond street, 
now Warren avenue, where he engaged in manu- 
facturing blackings, and shortly thereafter pur- 
chased the blacking business of Elisha Wash- 
burn, which business he removed to his Warren 
avenue plant, and until 1873 was engaged in 
the manufacturing of blackings, together with 
boots and shoes, adding to his factory as his 
business grew. In the latter j'ear he disposed 
of the blacking department of the business, 
selling the same to Charles B. Lincoln. Mr. 
Packard then branched out in the manufacture 
of shoes, taking into partnership with him S. 
Gardner Jones, under the firm name of Jones 
& Packard, this partnership lasting for about 
two years, at the end of which time he pur- 
chased the interests of Mr. Jones, and for about 
a year he was engaged in business on his own 
account. John W. Burt, of New York, then 
became his partner under the firm name of Burt 
& Packard, and this partnership continued for 
about eight years, the firm meeting with re- 
markable success. Mr. Packard then purchased 
his partner's interest in the business, and con- 
tinued to conduct it alone, though he retained 
the name of Burt & Packard. In 1896 the 
business was removed to Montello, on Emerson 
avenue, and the firm of Packard & Field was 
established, Mr. Packard taking into partner- 
ship with him his son-in-law, Fred F. Field, 
and Perley G. Flint, which firm is now engaged 
in manufacturing the Burt & Packard shoes, 
known as the "Korrect Shape" shoes, which 
enjoy a world-wide reputation; their manu- 
facturers have ranked for years among the 
representative shoes concerns of the city. 
Mr. Packard was the oldest manufacturer in 
the city, having been in the shoe business con- 
tinuously since 1863. Fortune had smiled upon 
all his undertakings and in spite of clouds upon 
the financial horizon of this country, he never 
was obliged to make an assignment nor was 
his credit ever questioned. The firm of Burt 
& Packard was builded on as firm a foundation 
as any in the country and has always had the 
reputation of manufacturing the finest shoes. 
Mr. Packard was esteemed for his integrity of 
character and his upright dealings. He was of 
genial disposition and numbered his friends by 
the hundreds. 



Mr. Packard, with his wife, was identified 
with the Church of the New Jerusalem, which 
they supported liberally. Politically he was a 
stanch Republican. He cast his first Presiden- 
tial vote for Fremont in 1856. 

Having been devoted to his business all his 
life, he had always declined public office of 
any kind. Fraternally he was a prominent 
member of the Masonic bodies, holding mem- 
bership in Paul Revere Lodge, A. F. & A. M., 
Satucket Chapter, R. A. M., Brockton Council, 
R. & S. M., and Bay State Commandery, 
Knights Templar (being the first to be initiated 
into the latter body), all of Brockton, and be 
was also a member of Aleppo Temple, A. A. 0. 
N. M. S., of Boston. He was also an original 
member of the Brockton Agricultural Society 
and a charter member of the Commercial Club, 
of Brockton, which is composed of the leading 
citizens of that community, and in which he 
remained an active member until his health 
began to fail. ilr. Packard was fond of sports 
in the open and much of his leisure time in the 
summer was devoted to fishing. He was one of 
the earliest summer residents to erect a large 
summer home at Monument Beach, and to pur- 
chase a yacht. He was well acquainted with 
the late Grover Cleveland, whose summer home 
was not far distant. During the course of his 
life he had traveled extensively about the coun- 
try and in 1885 took a trip abroad for pleasure, 
visiting England, Ireland and Scotland. A 
few years ago he made a trip to Cuba. A man 
well informed on most important questions of 
the day, he could talk in an interesting, infor- 
mative manner to friends, and he was held in 
much esteem by those favored with his friend- 
ship. "Big Fred" was tlie title by which he 
was affectionately known to intimates. It was 
given to him because of his splendid physique, 
Mr. Packard being tall, erect, deep of chest and 
broad-shouldered. 

On April 25, 1860, Mr. Packard was united 
in marriage with Mary Eliza Ramsdell, who 
was born at Salem, Mass., daughter of William 
Ramsdell, of Marblehead, Mass., who was a 
ropemaker, and his wife Hannah A. Kenny, of 
Salem, Mass., and this union was blessed with 
two children: William Frederick, born March 8, 
1861, who died in infancy; and Lizzie Kenny, 
born March 24, 1864. The daughter married 
Feb. 20, 1884, Fred Forest Field, of Brockton, 
who is one of the leading shoe manufacturers 
of that city, where they reside. They have had 
the following children : Fred Packard, who died 
when twenty-two months old ; Fred Forest, Jr., 
born May 25, 1889 (Harvard, class of 1911), 
who man-ied Feb. 15, 1911, Ruth Witherell 



114 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



Bunten, daughter of Frederick E. Bimten, of 
Cambridge, Mass. ; and Marjorie and Katharine 
Field, twins, born Oct. 1, 1897. 

On April 25, 1910, Mr. and Mrs. Packard 
had rounded out fifty years of happy wedded 
life, and the occasion was befittingly celebrated 
at their home, where gathered their near rel- 
atives and immediate friends to assist in the 
observance of the day. A feature of the occasion 
was the exhibition of the wedding cake, which 
was prepared for the event fifty years before. 

Mr. Packard lived in a pleasant home which 
he erected on Bolton place, which street he 
opened up, naming it in memory of his mother, 
and was devoted to his home and its surround- 
ings. He was possessed of an unpretentious 
nature, and though one of the most successful 
business men of the city was also one of the 
most democratic, enjoying the respect and es- 
teem of the community where his life had been 
spent. He was generous in his impulses, loyal 
in his friendships, and possessing the courage 
of his convictions had made a record for him- 
self of which he could justly feel proud. 

Mr. Packard passed away at his home. No. 
17 Bolton place, Brockton, Mass., May 16, 
1910, after an illness which extended over a 
period of about five years, during which time 
his health had been gradually failing. In all 
circles the news of his death was sulScient to 
inspire comment which reflected the general re- 
gret at his death, and his funeral, which was 
characterized by dignity and simplicity, out of 
respect for his wishes, was largely attended. The 
services were conducted by Eev. Dudley Hays 
Ferrell, pastor of the Church of the Unity. 

SWIFT. For a hundred years and more the 
Swift family in and about New Bedford has 
been one of prominence, wealth and influence, 
not only in the several local communities in 
which its members have resided but out through 
the Commonwealth and into the nation, where 
their extensive enterprises have extended. 
These Acushnet-New Bedford Swifts, a branch 
of the Cape Cod family, brought to their new 
field of effort that activity, industry, ability 
and honesty that had for generations character- 
ized their forefathers and also the line of busi- 
ness that had enriched earlier generations in 
the old home section — the dealing in live oak 
timber and its manufacture into water craft, 
in shipbuilding for not only the United States 
government, but for those across the water. 

(I) William Swift, the progenitor of the 
Svnfts under consideration in this article, was 
at Watertown in the year 16.S4, and it seems 
had then been there some time, coming thither 



from Bocking, England. He disposed of his 
estate in 1637, removed to Sandwich, and there 
died in January, 1644. His widow Joan, per- 
haps a second wife, made her will in October, 
1668, mentioning therein her sou William and 
his children. His daughter Hannah married 
Nov. 5, .1643, Daniel Wing. 

(II) William Swift (2), son of William the 
settler, was born in England, came to New 
England and lived in Sandwich, Mass., dying 
in the year 1705-06. He married a woman 
whose Clhristian name was Ruth, and their 
children were: (1) William, born Aug. 28, 
1654, died in 1700-01; he married Elizabeth, 
and their children were William, Joseph, 
Benjamin, Th6mas, Josiah and Ebenezer. (2) 
Ephraim, born June 6, 1656, died in 1740. He 
married Sarah, and their children were Eliza- 
beth, born Dec. 29, 1679; Johanna, born July 
7, 1683 ( ?) ; Samuel, born April 9, 1684 ( ?) ; 
Ephraim, born Dec. 9, 1688 ; Sarah, born April 
12, 1692; Hannah, born May 19, 1695; and 
Moses, born Sept. 15, 1699. (3) Mary was 
born April 7, 1659. (4) Samuel, born Aug. 
10, 1662, died in 1732. He married Mary. 
(5) Josiah married (first) April 16, 1706, 
Mary, born March 1, 1680, daughter of Joseph 
Bodfish, and (second) Experience, born Dec. 
16, 1682, daughter of John Nye. (6) Jireh 
is mentioned below. (7) Temperance. (8) 
Esther. (9) Dinah. 

(III) Jireh Swift, born according to one 
account in 1665, married (first) Nov. 26, 1697, 
Abigail Gibbs, and (second) Mary Besse. 
From' this Jireh Swift the name has been 
numerously perpetuated ,ind widely dispersed, 
and among his posterity have been many who 
became noted men. His children were born 
as follows: Alice, July 23, 1698; Susannah, 
Oct. 6, 1699; Jabez,' March 16, 1700-01; 
Zephaniah, March 6, 1702-03; William, 1703; 
Nathaniel, March 14, 1707-08; Jireh, Jr., Nov. 

23, 1709; Job, Oct. 3, 1711; Silas, Aug. 2, 
1713; Abigail, July 26, 1715; Isaac, May 3, 
1720; Rowland, March 24, 1721-22. 

(IV) Jireh Swift (2), born Nov. 23, 1709, 
died March 16, 1782. He moved with his 
family to Acusbnet from Sandwich, Mass. He 
married Oct. 9, 1730, Deborah Hathaway, who 
died Jan. 7, 1794, aged eighty-two. Their 
children were: (1) Jonathan, bom Dec. 12, 
1731, married Oct. 16, 1753, Elizabeth Fal- 
mouth. (2) Susanna, born Feb. 2, 1734, died 
June 8, 1806. She married Nov. 14, 1754, 
Dr. Samuel Perrv, w'ho died April 15. 1805. 
(3) Lois, born Sept. 14, 1737, died Oct. 11, 
1813. She married (intentions published Feb. 

24, 1764) Menassah Kempton, who died Dec. 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



115 



14, 180-4. (4) Jireh, bom May 31, 1741, is 
mentioned below. (5) Silas, born May 2, 1745, 
died Feb. 5, 1837. He married (intentions 
published Dec. 17, 1765) Deborah Tobey. 
Issue: Lemuel, born April 28, 1767; Susanna, 
born Sept. 17, 1773 (married Nov. 20, 1794, 
Thomas Duncan). (6) Paul, born in 1753, 
died Nov. 16, 1810. He married Feb. 9, 1775, 
Sarah Pope, who died Dec. 17, 1782, and (sec- 
ond) Jemina, who died Jan. 20, 1821, aged 
seventy-three. Issue: Deborah, born Nov. 21, 
1775, married Jan. 31, 1799, Benjamin Dilling- 
ham, Jr.; Elizabeth Pope, born May 15, 1778; 
Paul, born Sept. 21, 1781, married March 27, 
1803, Elizabeth Furbes. 

(V) Jireh Swift (3), born May 31, 1741, 
died July 26, 1817. He served as a minute- 
man from Acushnet in the Revolutionary war. 
He married (intentions published Oct. 8, 1762) 
Elizabeth Haskell, of Rochester, who died Aug. 
20, 1794. Children : Capt. Jonathan, born 
Oct. 5, 1763, died Sept. 19, 1834 (married- 
intentions published July 4, 1792 — at Fal- 
mouth Love Bassett, who died June 19, 1809, 
and — second — intentions published March 11, 
1815 — Susanna Marshall) ; Ruth, born July 7, 
1766, married Aug. 15, 1790, William Ross; 
Betsey, born July 4, 1770, married June 24, 
1787, Rev. John Briggs, of Tiverton, R. I.; 
Jireh, born Sept. 26, 1773, is mentioned be- 
low; Lydia, born April 29, 1780, married April 
7, 1808, Elisha Tobey; Nancy, born March 30, 
1785, married Sept. 21, 1806, Capt. Loum 
Snow, who died in Januarv, 1878. 

(VI) Jireh Swift (4), born Sept. 26, 1773, 
married Nov. 10, 1805, Elizabeth Hathaway, 
daughter of Stephen and Abigail (Hathaway) 
Swift. 

(VII) Humphrey Hathaway Swift, born 
at Lund's Corner, in the village of Acushnet, 
Nov. 30, 1819, received the greater part of his 
education at Paul Wing's school, in Sandwich, 
and later prepared for a college course, but 
before entering upon it decided to follow a 
business career. Meantime he had a brief ex- 
perience as a teacher, at the village school at 
Acushnet, then Fairhaven, on the Long Plain 
road, in 1839. He took the school to satisfy 
the people and prove that the pupils were no 
worse than other boys : the contrary had been 
strenuously proclaimed. He was paid $30 a 
month for three months, when the term ex- 
pired. The school committee offered him $60 
a month if he would take the school the next 
year, but he refused, saving he had kept school 
to carry out successfully a theory of his be- 
loved teacher, Paul Wing, of treating boys ac- 
cording to disposition. In October, 1840, Mr. 



Swift embarked from Salem on his first voyage 
to Pernambuco, Brazil, in the brig "America," 
Captain Hill. Arriving early in 1841 he en- 
gaged as clerk in the American exporting house 
of Henry Forster & Co., at Pernambuco, Brazil, 
thus entering upon a connection with the 
Brazilian trade which lasted for nearly sixty 
years, during which he became one of the most 
prominent merchants in that trade. The busi- 
ness of the firm was importing flour and other 
merchandise, and exporting cotton, sugar, 
hides, etc., and shipping. Mr. Swift came home 
in 1841, and soon after went to China .as cap- 
tain's clerk on the ship "Horatio," Capt. Wil- 
liams Howland, there visiting his cousins, 
Gideon and Clement Nye. His first venture 
as a merchant occurred on that trip. He pur- 
chased $10,000 worth of tea with bank credit, 
and shipped it to Brazil, making a handsome 
profit. Later he went up to Canton with Russel 
Sturgis on the latter's yacht, living there for 
several months with Gideon and Clement Nye, 
and Warren and Edward Delano. In January, 
1843, Mr. Swift started on his second voyage 
to Brazil. Until 1846 he was a clerk for Henry 
Forster & Co. That year he went home and 
was' in Pernambuco again in January, 1847, 
having already become a partner on Jan. 1st, 
and a very few years later a senior partner of 
the firm. 

Mr. Swift's life was one of great activity. 
He made frequent voyages between the United 
States and Brazil, and the home business con- 
ducted from Long Wharf, Boston, was in I860 
transferred to New York, under the name of 
H. H. Swift & Co., it being conducted until 
1886. He came to know the Brazilians as few 
foreigners knew them, and made many lasting 
friends — from Emperor Dom Pedro II. to 
humbler citizens. Besides carrying on bis 
business successfully and actively, he was in- 
terested in starting many improvements and re- 
forms in the country. He inaugurated and 
financed the first horse car line in the country, 
always known as "Bonds." The bonds of the 
company were printed , in America. There 
was great interest felt in the venture, and when 
they arrived by steamer the populace gathered 
to see them discharged — evidently just what a 
bond was the people failed to grasp. The first 
consignment of cars was also on the steamer. 
One of them was hoisted from the hold. What 
is that strange looking object ? A sudden in- 
spiration, "Oh ! the Bonds !" and hereafter the 
street cars were "Bonds." Small change be- 
ing scarce, the tram car or "bond" tickets were 
freely circulated as currency at their par value 
during Mr. Swift's connection with the com- 



116 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



pany, all bearing his signature. At one time 
there were nearly $70,000 of these tickets out- 
standing. 

Brazil had always been a slave-holding coun- 
try, the slaves being brought from Africa. 
About 1862 Dom Pedro began urging that laws 
be passed granting them freedom. Mr. Swift 
threw himself into this work and actively form- 
ed the "Sociason Emancipadora"' society for 
emancipation, incorporated under the patron- 
age of the provincial government, to create 
sentiment in favor of the cause. Much good 
work was done, many slaves being given their 
freedom. Mr. Swift bought all his servants 
with the understanding that they were to have 
their freedom subject to good behavior. In 
every instance his slaves were freed, a gi'eat 
many owing their free<lom to him besides the 
ones freed through the society. 

After a short absence Mr. Swift returned to 
Brazil in 1860. For some time he had been 
stimulating the Brazilian planters to increase 
their cotton acreage. By every vessel sent out 
by him he dispatched several iaarrels of Amer- 
ican cotton seed to be distributed gratuitously 
to the planters, writing them letters m which 
he told them that in case of war in the United 
States, which seemed to him inevitable, the 
price of cotton would be very much advanced. 
The first result of this policy was an order for 
thirty tons of seed from the Brazilian govern- 
ment. Mr. Swift worked hard to introduce 
the cotton gin. His enthusiasm made it suc- 
cessful. Without it the Brazilian planters 
would have been quite unable to handle the 
greatly increased crops. Mr. Swift was a di- 
rector of various important companies and 
banks, both at home and in Brazil, among 
them the Steam Coasting Company, and was 
instrumental in organizing a better service, a 
much needed improvement. He also estab- 
lished the first tugboat service in Brazil. 

Emperor Dom Pedro fully recognized the 
services Mr. Swift rendered Brazil, and this was 
attested by the fact that in 1868 he received 
from the emperor an order of knighthood, the 
news of which he learned first in Hamburg af- 
ter an absence from Brazil of two or three 
years. A translation of the imperial decree is 
as follows: 

"Humphrey Hathaway Swift, citizen of the 
United States of North America: 

"I, the Constitutional Emperor and Perpet- 
ual Defender of Brazil, send you greetings. 

"Recognizing the many services which you 
have rendered this empire, and wishing to make 
public testimonial of my imperial consideration, 
for the same, for your benefit, name you as a 



Knight of the Order of the Rose, and may our 
Lord have you in His Holy Keeping. 

"\\'ritteu in the palace of Rio de Janeiro, on 
the twenty-third day of November, one thous- 
and eight hundred and sixty-seven, and the 
forty-sixth j'ear of the independence and em- 
pire. 

(Signed) "Imperador 
"Jose Jo.\qm Fernandes Toehes." 

As the sympathies of practically all the 
English residents and a majority of the Bra- 
zilians were with the South Mr. Swift almost 
alone and with this strong feeling against him 
did what he could for the cause of the North. 
He secured absolute option on 20,000 tons of 
coal for the use of the United States cruisers, 
and so informed the government at home. For 
this he Avas thanked but told that in all proba- 
bility the coal would not be used. However, 
it proved otherwise ; many times warships of 
the North were glad to avail themselves of this 
supply. Mr. Swift's position as a director of 
the Brazilian Steam Coasting line facilitated 
the collection of the coal. He was instrumen- 
tal in helping the United States consul, Thomas 
Adamson, in providinjsr accommodations for 
over two hundred American sailors of Ameri- 
can ships, whalers as well as merchantmen, 
captured and burned at Fernando de' Noronha 
by the Confederates before the arrival of the 
American man-of-war. For the services out- 
lined above, and others that he rendered the 
government, Mr. Swift received' a letter from 
Secretary of State Seward extending the 
thanks of the government for patriotic services 
rendered. 

Mr. Swift joined the Union League Club of 
New York, and took an active part in organiz- 
ing colored regiments. He was appointed with 
Mr. Low to draw up an answer to a letter of 
protest addressed to the club, from the English 
members of the Bahia chamber of commerce, 
on the capture of a Confederate cruiser in the 
harl)or of that city. As he was familiar with 
that city and knew tlie signers personally, Mr. 
Low left him to write the letter for the secre- 
tary of the club to sign. 

Mr. Swift also interested himself in securing 
better consular service. President Grant ap- 
pointed him consul in Pernambuco. He re- 
fused the appointment, owing to his large 
business interests, as consuls were not supposed 
to be engaged in business not connected with 
the consulate. In spite of this his appointment 
was confirmed. Mr. Swift filled the office for 
several years and in finally accepting his resig- 
nation the secretarv of state wrote that while 



SOUTHEASTEKN MASSACHUSETTS 



117 



regretting his resignatiou, the government now 
felt that he was entitled to release, thanked 
him for the able and efficient manner in which 
he had filled the post and complimented him 
liighly. 

Mr. Swift made in all nearly thirty sea voy- 
ages to Brazil, China, Africa, Europe, etc. The 
iirst ten were in sailing vessels. He was a 
lover of horsgs, particularly saddle horses, and 
was never happier than when riding to hounds, 
his favorite outdoor pastime. 

In 1879 he retired from Henry Forster & 
Co. Ten years later, when senior partner of 
Swift, Billings & Co., he made his last voyage 
to Brazil. In 1896 he retired from active busi- 
ness, giving up his New York residence, mov- 
ing to his home in New Bedford, where he re- 
mained until 1910. From that time until his 
death he lived with his son-in-law and daugh- 
ter. Prof, and Mrs. Charles Burton Gulick, in 
Cambridge, Mass., where he died April 28, 
1911, in his ninety-second year. 

In New York Mr. Swift was a member of 
the Down Town Club and the Union League 
Club, life member of the New England Society, 
member of the Chamber of Commerce, trustee 
of the Sun Insurance Society, director of the 
St. Nicholas Bank, etc. 

In 1846 Mr. Swift married (first) Jane Eliz- 
abeth Gibbs, daughter of Alfred Gibbs, of New 
Bedford. She died in 1852 leaving three 
children: Alfred Gibbs and Thomas Nye, both 
of whom are now deceased, and Jennie Gibbs, 
who is the widow of Edmund Grinnell, of New 
Bedford. In 1865 Mr. Swift married (second) 
Bertha Wesselhoeft, born in Cambridge, Mass., 
the daughter of Dr. Eobert and Ferdinanda 
Amelia (Hecker) Wesselhoeft, who came to 
America from Germany about 1841. She died 
Sept. 18, 1910. To this union were born five 
children, namely: Bertha Wesselhoeft, Anne 
Hathaway (who married Prof. Charles Burton 
Gulick), Humphrey Hathaway, Jr.. Eobert 
Wesselhoeft (married Edith Steel) and Ruth. 

SHOVE. (I) Rev. George Shove, gentle- 
man, son of Margery, who was admitted to the 
church at Boston as a widow in 1638, and who 
subsequently was of Rowley and a proprietor 
and still later of Roxbury, where she married 
in 1654 Richard Peacock, became the tliird 
minister of Taunton, ordained Nov. 17, 1665. 
Of his ministerial life little is known except 
that he "preached acceptably," and taught the 
Taunton school ; and it is said that "no rumor 
of strife or discord in connection with him 
comes down to us." His fame, however, as a 
land holder and dealer in real estate has not 



failed to reach us. He is represented as having 
been largely concerned in the secular transac- 
tions of the town and possessed of considerable 
wealth. He was one of the six original pro- 
prietors of Assonet Neck, when that purchase 
was made in 1680. His home lot was that of 
William Phillips, one of the first settlers on the 
east side of what is now High street, between 
Cohannet and Winthrop streets. 

On July 14, 1664, Mr. Shove married Hope- 
still, daughter of Rev. Samuel Newman, a 
learned man, the distinguished minister of 
Rehoboth. She died March 7, 1673, and he 
married Feb. 17, 1674-75, Mrs. Hannah Walley. 
She died in September, 1685, and he married 
Dec. 3, 1686, Mrs. Sarah Farwell. He died 
April 21, 1687. His mother Margery was bur- 
ied at Taunton in 1680, with note that she was 
"mother of Mr. George Shove." 

The children of Minister Shove were : Ed- 
ward, born April 28, 1665 (buried Aug. 7, 
1665); Elizabeth, born Aug. 10, 1666; Seth, 
born Sept. 10, 1667 ; Nathaniel, born Jan. 29, 
1668-69; Samuel, born June 16, 1670; Sarah, 
born July 30. 1671 ; Mary, born Aug. 11, 1676; 
Joanna, born Sept. 28,' 1678; Edward (2), 
born Oct. 3, 1680 ; and Yetmercy, born Nov. 
7, 1682. 

(II) Edward Shove, son of Rev. George, 
born Oct. 3. 1680, died in 1746. He married 
in 1704 Lydia, granddaughter of Rev. William 
Witherell, of Scituate. Their children were 
George and Mary (twins), born June 2, 1705 
Lvdia. born Julv 31, 1707; Ruth, born Sept 
10, 1709; Elizabeth, born March 10, 1710-11 
Theophilus, born April 7, 1715; Edward, born 
Dec. 21, 1716 (died July 22, 1778) ; Hannah, 
born June 19, 1719 ; and Nathaniel, born May 
19 (or 9), 1723. 

(III) Theophilus Shove, son of Edward, 
born in what is now Dighton, Mass., "7th of 
2d month," 1715, was a minister of the Society 
nf Friends for about fifty years, and traveled 
extensively attending meetings. He married 
Philadelphia, daughter of Samuel and Sarah 
Osborn, 16th of 8th month, 1718, in Salem, 
Mass. They died, -Mr. Shove 30th of 3d month, 
1796, and Mrs. Shove 27th of 2d month, 1792, 
and both were buried in. tha-. J'riends' yard at 
Freetown, Mass. THeir "children were: Theo- 
philus, born 21st of 11th month, 1741, in 
Swansea; and Edward, born 13th of 1st month, 
1743, Sarah, born 24th of 12th month, 1747, 
and Azariah, born 2d of 8th month, 1749, all 
three born in Dighton. 

(IV) Theophilus Shove (2). son of Theo- 
philus and Philadelphia, born 21st of 11th 
month, 1741, in Swansea, Mass., married Lydia, 



118 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



daughter of Clarke Purinton and his wife Sarah 
(Sherman), of Swansea and Somerset, Mass. 
Mr. and Mrs. Shove were of Somerset, which 
formerly was a part of the town of Swansea. 
He was chosen one of the first board of select- 
men, assessors and overseers of the poor at the 
first meeting of Somerset held after the incor- 
poration of the town, Dec. 15, 1790. He was 
dead at the time of Ids son Clarke's marriage 
m 1814. His wife Lydia survived him and 
died 22d of 11th month, 1829, at Troy (now 
Fall Eiver), Mass., and her remains were in- 
terred in the Friends' yard in Somerset. Their 
children were : Samuel, born 28th of 3d month, 
1784; Clarke, born 11th of 10th month, 1786; 
Theophilus, born 23d of 6th month, 1788; 
Sarah, born 12th of 2d month, 1791; and 
Mary, born 12tli of 10th month. 1798. 

(V) Clarke Shove, son of Theophilus (2) 
and Lydia (Purinton) Shove, born in that part 
of Swansea that became Somerset, Mass., 11th 
of 10th month, 1786, died 18th of 11th 
month, 1841. He was one of the incorporators 
of the Fall River Bank. He married 2d of 6th 
month, 1814, Elizabeth, born 25th of 10th 
month, 1787, daughter of Benjamin and Eliza- 
beth Slade, of Swansea. Mrs. Shove died 28th 
of 8th month, 1855. Their children were: 
Samuel, born 18th of 5th month, 1815 (died 
27th of 5th month, 1850) ; Elizabeth R., born 
27th of 4th month, 1817; Abner S., born 9th 
of 2d month, 1819 (died 31st of 3d month, 
1837) ; Clarke, born 24th of 6th month, 1821 ; 
Charles 0., born 20th of 11th month, 1823; 
and Benjamin Slade, born 25th of 10th month, 
1826, all excepting the first and last two born 
in Swansea, and they respectively in Welling- 
ton and Troy (now Fall River), Massachu- 
setts. 

(VI) Charles 0. Shove, son of the late 
Clarke and Elizabeth Shove, was born in Fall 
River, Nov. 20, 1823. He was educated at the 
schools of his native city and the Friends' 
Boarding School in Providence, R. I., and on 
reacliing manhood entered an apothecary store 
then kept by his brother, Samuel Shove. Soon 
afterward, however, he accepted a position as 
bookkeeper in the Fall River Manufactory, and 
thence was transferred to the Metacomet Mill 
in the same capacity. Leaving that place, he 
was for a time associated with Robert K. Rem- 
ington, Esq., in the drug and chemical business, 
and afterward joined as partner Mr. Joseph C. 
Anthony, in the manufacture of cotton yarns, 
their location being on Almond street. The 
establishment being burned, Mr. Shove turned 
his attention toward the manufacture of print- 
ing cloth, and became a stockholder and direc- 



tor of the Union Mill that had started. He 
soon after, in 1863, projected the Granite Mills, 
and along with the late Lazarus Borden got up 
the plan, the corporation bemg chartered in 
1863. He was connected with that enterprise 
ever after, to the end of his days, holding the 
office of agent and treasurer; and the great 
success attending its management was largely 
due to his sagacity, industry and energetic ap- 
plication to business. He was considered one 
of the most competent and successful manufac- 
turers m his line. The disaster that befell the 
No. 1 mill in September, 1874, was a terrible 
draft on his naturally sensitive nature, and, 
combined with the great task of rebuilding and 
the care of the suits brought against tlie cor- 
poration as a consequence of the catastrophe, 
the wear and tear to his constitution was so 
constant and severe as to result fatally. He 
died at his home on Highland avenue in 1875, 
in his fifty-second year. At a meeting of the 
directors of the Granite Mills the death of the 
treasurer was announced by the president, and 
tile following memorial was adopted ; 

"We have learned with deep sadness of the 
death of our esteemed friend and associate Mr. 
Charles 0. Shove, the treasurer of this corpor; 
ation, and while we feel that words fail to ex- 
press our appreciation of his life and services 
and our sorrow at his death, we have a melan- 
choly satisfaction in placing on record our 
sense of the loss which this corporation, the 
community in which he lived and his friends 
have sustained by this sad event. 

"Mr. Shove was a man of marked ability and 
strength of character. He possessed in an un- 
usual degree energy and foresight and these 
qualities with his untiring industry and strict 
honesty had secured for him, wliile yet in the 
prime of life, an ample fortune and a large cir- 
cle of warm friends. 

"As a citizen he was interested in all that 
pertained to the welfare of this city and en- 
couraged by his counsel and influence a faithful 
administration of its affairs and a wise expen- 
diture of money for public improvements. He 
was largely identified with other business in- 
terests of Fall River and the advice arid sug- 
gestions which his long experience and his abil- 
ity so well qualified him to give and make were 
sought and received with respect and attention. 

"It is with this corporation, however, that 
his name will be most intimately connected. 
The Granite Mills owes its existence to his 
energy and enterprise. He gave to it the 
strength of the best years of his life; it was 
his pride that it should be excelled by none. 

"It has reached its great prosperity through 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



119 



his wise and judicious management and his 
close attention to its interests and it will be 
his enduring monument. 

"Mr. Shove was frank, genial, cheerful in his 
intercourse with others, but he was loyal and 
constant in his friendship; he enjoyed more 
than most the society of his friends, and was 
always ready with sympathy and aid. He was 
manly and upright in his dealings, shirking 
no responsibility and performing every duty 
with the grace of a Christian gentleman. 

"Of what he was in Ms domestic circle it does 
not become us to speak, or to intrude upon the 
sacredness of private grief; but as a token of 
our sympathy we will attend the funeral ser- 
vices in a body, and the mills of the corporation 
will suspend operations on that day. 

■'The clerk is requested to furnish the family 
and the press for publication with a copy of our 
doings and to enter the same upon the records 
of the corporation. 

"William Mason, 

"Pres. 
"John P. Slade, 

"Sec'y." 

Mr. Shove was the one who prepared the 
plans in the building of the new Shove Mill 
which bears his name and of which corporation 
he was president. He was also a trustee and a 
member of the board of investment of the Five 
Cents Savings Bank, and a director of the Fall 
River National Bank. He represented Ward 
Five (now Ward Seven) on the board of alder- 
men. He was an efficient member of the First 
Baptist Church of Fall River. 

In 1849 Mr. Shove married Rachel E. Haines, 
of Lockport. N. Y., daughter of Jesse P- 
Haines, and they had a family of six children: 
Ellen M., Charles M., Sarah (deceased), Alice 
(married Edward Brooks), Mary and Edward. 
Early in 1874 Mr. Shove completed the elegant 
family mansion on Highland avenue, having 
sold his former homestead to the Central Coi'- 
gregational Society, whose beautiful new church 
was erected upon the site. 

(VII) Charles M. Shove, son of Charles 
0. and Rachel E. (Haines) Shove, was born in 
Fall River July 15, 1853. He was educated 
in the public schools, and graduated from the 
high school in 1870. After spending two years 
in the Institute of Technology, he in 1873 
entered the office of the Granite Mills as clerk 
and draftsman, in which capacity he continued 
 until his father's death, in 1875. On Sept. 1, 
1875, he succeeded to his father's position as 
treasurer of the Granite Mills, and has held 
that position to the present time, a period of 
thirty-five years. In 1893 Mr. Shove built the 



No. 3 Mill. Since the beginning of his treas- 
urership the character of the business has 
changed entirely, and the equipment has almost 
doubled, to say nothing of the progress which 
has been made to keep the establishment abreast 
of the vast strides which have been made in 
this particular line of manufacturing. The 
original plant had 78,000 spindles. The plant 
now has 3,040 looms and 122,000 spindles. 
Mr. Shove has proved himself a man of large 
capacity, with the ability to manage great in- 
terests and develop them to their best advan- 
tage. He has other interests besides those in 
the Granite Mills, having been one of the orig- 
inal directors of the Bourne Mills and still a 
member of the board ; was a director in the 
Shove Mill, and has been a director of the Mas- 
sasoit Bank and its successor, the Massasoit- 
Pocasset Bank, since 1876; he has been presi- 
dent of the latter institution for a number of 
years. He is also director of the Fall River 
Manufacturers Mutual Fire Insurance Com- 
pany. Mr. Shove has not taken an active in- 
terest in politics or other public matters except 
such as every good citizen feels and exercises 
for the furtherance of good government. 

In 1880 Mr. Shove married (first) Annie 
H. Stickney, daughter of Charles P. Stickney. 
His second marriage, in 1893, was to Laura 
Gross, and his third to Mrs. Lucy G. (Hayes) 
Booth. His children are Margaret, Helen 
(who married Robert R. Borden) and Eleanor. 

(VII) Edwaed Shove, son of Charles 0. 
and Rachel E. (Haines) Shove, was born Dec. 
13, 1864, in Fall River. He received his edu- 
cation in the local public schools and at the Mas- 
sachusetts Institute of Technology, and spent 
some time in foreign travel before settling down 
to business. Entering the office of the Granite 
Mills, he remained in the establishment for sev- 
eral years, becoming familiar with the technical 
part of the business as well as with office work, 
and in time went into business on his own ac- 
co\mt, as a cotton broker, in which line he did 
well. In 1892 he was elected treasurer of the 
Mechanics' Mills, which position he held until 
1905, when he resigned because of a nervous 
breakdown which he suffered. He spent the 
next winter in New York State, and then en- 
gaged in business in Boston for a short time, 
about two years before his death returning to 
Fall River, where he again became a cotton 
broker. He had an office at No. 12 Bedford 
street, and represented S. M. Weld & Co. 
Though the illness which proved fatal had 
probably been developing for several years Mr. 
Shove continued to attend regularly to his af- 
fairs until about two months before his death. 



120 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



which occurred July 27, 1909, in Fall Eiver. 
Like other members of his family he h;id a wide 
acquaintance and reputation among cotton man- 
ufacturers. He had practically grown up in the 
midst of enterprises of such magnitude, and 
showed such aptitude in mastering and under- 
standing their management, that the ability 
he displayed in the conduct of his large inter- 
ests seemed most natural. Nevertheless he was 
active and diligent in business matters, and de- 
voted himself to their successful prosecution 
with a care which in itself would have insured 
prosperity in any line. His long connection 
with the Mechanics' Mills was an evidence of 
the value placed upon his services by those most 
competent to judge. 

On Oct. 13, 1892, Mr. Shove married Sarah 
Elmendorf, who was born May 14, 1866, daugh- 
ter of the late Eev. Joachim Elmendorf, of 
New York. She survives him, as do also the 
two daughters born to this marriage, Kathar- 
ine, born Sept. 34, 1895, and Eachel, born 
March 19, 1901. 



(VI) Benjamin Slade Shove, son of Clarke 
and Elizabeth (Slade) Shove, was born 35th 
of 10th month, 1836, in Troy (now Fall Riv- 
er), Mass. In early life he was a shipmaster, 
and not being in good health he followed the 
sea for some years. In 1849 he went to Cali- 
fornia and while there was half owner in a 
vessel engaged in trade on that coast. He sold 
this vessel interest and returned home at the 
time of his mother's death. He was also a rig- 
ger of vessels, and at the time of his death had 
just formed- a partnership in Fall River with 
Clarke Shove, to engage in the coal business. 
Mr. Shove died April 12, 1867. He was a 
member of the Second Baptist Church. He 
married Annie F. Coolidge, who was born in 
Weymouth, July 12, 1835, and they had three 
children: Walter Frank, born Aug. 12, 1858; 
Benjamin Clarke, born Oct. "4, 1860, who is 
living in Fall River; and Annie Borden, born 
Jan. 29, 1865, who married William Hampton, 
of Fall River. 

(VII) Walter Frank Shove, son of Ben- 
jamin S. and Annie F. (Coolidge) Shove, was 
born in Fall River Aug. 12, 1858. He was 
educated in the public schools of his native city, 
going as far as the second year in the high 
school, and left school for good when in his six- 
teenth year. In May, 1874, he went to work in 
the Fall River post office, first under Postmaster 
Shaw and later under Chester Green, and 
remained there until July, 1880. For one and 
a half years immerliatply thereafter he worked 



as second clerk in the Union Mill and then be- 
came bookkeeper, which position he held for 
eleven years. In April, 1891, he was elected 
treasurer of the Pocasset Mill, succeeding Brad- 
ford D. Davol, and has continued in that posi- 
tion to the present time. When Mr. Shove 
came to the Pocasset Mill it had 60,000 spin- 
dles; it now has 120,000. He was elected treas- 
urer of the Metacomet and Anawan Mills in 
1894 and served until they were sold to the 
Iron Works Company. In 1900 he was elected 
treasurer of the Fall River Manufactory (since 
purcliased by the Pocasset Mills). He was 
treasurer of the Windham Manufacturing Com- 
pany, of Willimantic, Conn.; and has been 
treasurer of the Wampanoag Mills since Febru- 
ary, 1905. He is a director of the National 
Association of Cotton Manufacturers. 

Mr. Shove is independent in politics and has 
taken no active part in public matters. He is 
a member of King Philip Lodge, A. F. & A. 
M., of Fall River, of the Royal Arch Chapter 
and of Godfrey de Bouillon Conmiandery (of 
which he is a past commander). 

On Sept. 5, 1883, Mr. Shove married Clara 
L. Ackley, daughter of Almerin L. and Eliza- 
beth (Holman) Ackley. They have had two 
children : Ethel, born Jan. 10, 1887, who died 
Jan. 24, 1887; and Ackley, born Feb. 5, 1896. 

BRAYTON. The first in America by this 
name, one Francis Brayton, came from Eng- 
land to Portsmouth, Rhode Island, where, in 
1643, he was received as an inhabitant, in 
1655, became a freeman, and to him nearly if 
not all the Braytons of New England trace 
their origin. He early entered into the political 
life of the country, serving as a member of 
the General Court of Commissioners for the 
Colony, for many years as member of the Rhode 
Island General Assembly, and frequently dur- 
ing the later generations his descendants have 
held positions of responsibility and trust in 
the public offices of State and the private offices 
of the business world. The name is found on 
the rolls of the United States Army and Navy, 
and on the professional records of the clergy, 
the physician, and the lawyer. 

This article, however, is confined to one of 
the branches of the family several of whose 
members chose the commercial world for their 
sphere and through which, during the phe- 
nomenal gro^vth of Fall River's industrial life, 
the name of Brayton became prominent and in- 
fluential. 

In 1714, Preserved Brayton, grandson of 
Francis, purchased 138 acres of land from Wil- 
liam Little, whose father was one of the pro- 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



121 



pnetors of the Shawoinet Purcliase in Swanzey, 
Jilassachusetts. Tliis farm, since laiown as the 
Brayton Homestead, borders on the west bank 
of the Taunton river and is located in the 
present town of Somerset, which, in 1790, was 
set apart from Swanzey (now spelled Swansea). 

Preserved had already married Content Cog- 
geshall, the granddaughter of John Coggeshall, 
whose name is handed down in history as that 
of a man foremost in the annals of Rhode 
Island. 

To this new home Preserved brought his 
wife and older children, and here was the 
birthplace of their younger children and many 
of their descendants. At the time of his death. 
Preserved left this farm to liis youngest son 
Israel, while to his other children he left land 
in different localities. 

Israel had a large family and his children 
unite the name of Brayton with those of Read, 
Bowers, Winslow, and Slade, all closely iden- 
tified with the growth of Swansea and Som- 
erset. From John, son of Israel, the liomestead 
came into possession of his son Israel, whose 
sons crossed the Taunton river and made their 
abode in the growing town of Fall River. 

The genealogy of this branch of the Brayton 
family from its advent into this country is 
chronologically arranged below. 

I. Francis Brayton, the progenitor of the 
family in this country, was born in 1611 and 
died in 1692. He and his wife Mary had six 
children, Francis, Stephen, Martha, Elizabeth, 
Sarah, and Mary. The first three generations 
of the . descendants of Francis are given by 
Austin in his Genealogical Dictionary of Rhode 
Island, and the records below briefly trace the 
line of his second son Stephen. 

II. Stephen Brayton, son of Francis, married 
in 1678-9 Ann Tallman, daughter of Peter and 
Ann Tallman. Their children were Mary, 
Elizabeth. Ann, Preserved, Stephen, and Israel. 

III. Preserved Brayton, son of Stephen, was 
born in Portsmouth, Rhode Island, March 31, 
1684-5, and died in Swanzev, Massachusetts, 
May 31, 1761. He married Content Coggeshall, 
daughter of John and Elizabeth (Timberlake) 
Coggeshall. Their children were John, Step- 
hen, David. Baulstone, Ann, Content, and Israel. 

IV. Israel Brayton, son of Preserved, was 
born in Swanzey, Massachusetts, October 13, 
1737. and married April 19, 1753, Mary Perry. 
Their children were Israel, born 1754, Pre- 
served, born 1756, Content, born 1758, (married 
Captain Nathan Read) David, born 1760, (died 
1776) John, born 1763, Mary, born 1764, 
(married Philip Bowers) Bethany, born 1766, 
(married Dr. John Winslow) Perry, born 1768, 



and Baulston, born 1769, (married Mercy 
Slade). 

V. Jolm Brayton, son of Israel, was born in 
Swanzey, April 13, 1762, and died in Somerset 
(which had been set apart from Swanzey) 
March 13, 1839. He married, November 31, 
1782, Sarah Bowers, who was born July 13, 
1763, and died August 17, 1843. She was the 
daughter of Philip and Mary Bowers and sister 
of Philip Bowers who married Mary Brayton, 
sister of John. The children of John and 
Sarah (Bowers) Brayton were Mary, born 
August 16, 1783, who became the second wife 
of Dr. John Winslow; Sarah, born December 
39. 1785, married Benjamin Clark Cornell; 
William Bowers, born February 2, 1788, 
drowned at sea; Nancy Jarrett Bowers, born 
July 18, 1790, who became the second wife 
of David Anthony; Israel, born July 29, 1792; 
Betsy W., died young; Content, died in 1872, 
unmarried; Stephen, who married, first, Mary 
H. Gray and second, Abby Gray; Almira, mar- 
ried Captain Jesse Chace; Caroline and John, 
who died young. 

VI. Israel Brayton, son of John, was born 
in Somerset, Massachusetts, July 29, 1792, and 
died there November 5. 1866. He married, 
August, 1813. Kezia Anthony, who was born in 
Somerset July 27, 1792, and died October 34, 
1880. She, also, was a descendant of -one of 
the early settlers of Rhode Island, John An- 
thony, who came from England in 1634. Her 
line of descent is, John and Susanna (Potter) 
Anthony, Abraham and Alice (Wodell) An- 
thony, "William and Mary (Coggeshall) An- 
thony, Benjamin and Martha (Luther) An- 
thony, David and Submit (Wheeler) Anthony, 
who were the parents of Kezia. 

Israel and Kezia (Anthony) Brayton had 
nine children, namely: (1) Mary, who married, 
first. Major Bradford Durfee, second, Jeremiah 
S. Young. Her only child, Bradford Matthew 
Chaloner Durfee, died September 13, 1872, 
and in his memory she gave to the city of Fall 
River the B. M. C. Durfee High School. (3) 
William Bowers, who married Hannah Turner 
Lawton. (3) Nancy Jarrett Bowers, who mar- 
ried Daniel Chace. Their only child died 
young. (4) Elizabeth Anthony, who married 
Rev. Roswell Dwight Hitchcock. Their chil- 
dren were Roswell D., Mary B., Harriet B., and 
Bradford W. Hitchcock. (5) David Anthony, 
who married Nancy R. Jenckes. (6) John Sum- 
merfield, who married Sarah J. Tinkham. (7) 
Israel Perry, who married Parthenia Gardner. 
(8) Hezekiah Anthony, who married Caroline 
E. Slade. (9) Sarah S. Brayton, unmarried. 

VII. Mary Brayton, eldest daughter of 



122 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



Israel and Kezia (Anthony) Brayton, was born 
at Foxboro, Mass., May 9, 1814, and for 
several years previous to her marriage was en- 
gaged as a school teacher. In 1842 slie married 
Major Bradford Durfee, of Fall River, who 
died in 1843. She was again married, in .1851, 
to Hon. Jeremiah S. Young, who died in 1861. 
To the first marriage there was born one son, 
Bradford Matthew Chaloner, on June 15, 1843, 
and he died unmarried in 1872. Mrs. Young died 
March 22, 1891. The following record of the 
school committee of Fall River, Mass., was pub- 
lished in one of their annual . reports : 

IN MEMOKIAM, 
Mabt Bbatton Young. 

The announcement of the death of Mrs. Alary 
Brayton Young has been received by the school 
committee of this city with sincere sorrow. Few who 
pass from our sight leave a more beautiful or lasting 
influence, an influence that must be felt, not only 
in this community, but throughout the world; for 
the works of all the good radiate in ever widening 
circles to every corner of the universe. 

Her gentle majiner, loving, unselfish disposition, 
generous, kindly and sympathetic nature, her quiet 
unostentatious life, impressed deeply all who came 
in contact with her. 

She has laid her hand in blessing upon our people 
in many silent but helpful ways. Her interest in 
the cause of education, which began when she her- 
self was a teacher in our public schools, continued 
through her long and useful life, and culminated 
in the greatest educational benefaction a city ever 
received. 

In the splendid gift of the B. M. C. Durfee High 
School building, she has blessed not only the present 
generation, but all who are to come. No one can 
wholly calculate the advantages of educational 
privileges in and upon a community. In so nobly 
perpetuating the memory of one who was most pre- 
cious to her mother heart, she has done that which 
will ever keep her own memory fresh and fragrant. 

Language is inadequate to express our admiration, 
esteem, and affection for this sincere friend of hu- 
manity whose loss we deplore to-day. 

We cannot forget her. Her virtues, her sincerity, 
her faithfulness, modesty, and true womanliness, her 
tender sympathy, her devotion to duty, her strict 
adherence to lofty principle, all her amiable and 
lovable qualities, endear her to our hearts. 

VII. William Bowers Brayton, eldest 
son of Israel and Kezia (Anthony) BraytoH, 
was born April 6, 1816, in Swansea, Massa- 
chusetts. He was educated in the schools of 
Swansea and spent one year at Wilbraham 
Academy. He became a teacher, as did nearly 
all of his brothers and sisters, and taught in 
Tiverton, Rhode Island, and elsewhere for two 
or three years. In 1832 he came to Fall River. 
His first commercial venture was in the grocery 
business, and he subsequently became a clerk 
on some of the boats running to Wood's Hole, 
and finally engaged in the grain business with 



his brother David. He continued in this busi- 
ness until his retirement, in 1877. His home 
was where the public library now stands. He 
was also engaged in farming in a limited way 
in the town of Somerset. Mr. Brayton was iden- 
tified with the life of the town in various rela- 
tions. In 1864 and 1865 he was a member of 
the common council; he was chairman of the 
Republican committee, and for some years 
served as a justice of the peace. He was one 
of the incorporators of the First National Bank, 
of which he was senior director from the time 
of its organization. He was a man of keen in- 
telligence and wide information. He attended 
the first Congregational Church, of which Mrs. 
Brayton and daughters became members. 

On Oct. 26, 1843, Mr. Brayton married 
Hannah Turner, daughter of Capt. George and 
Patience Turner Lawton, and to them were 
born four cliildren, namely: Julia Washburn, 
of Fall River; George Anthony, who married 
Sarah A. Smith and died in Fall River, with- 
out issue, Dec. 20, 1899; Mary, of Fall River; 
and William Bowers, Jr., who died June 4, 
1875. Mr. Brayton died in Fall River Aug. 
21, 1887, and Mrs. Brayton passed away on 
July 4, 1898. 

VII. David Anthony Brayton, son of 
Israel and Kezia (Anthony) Brayton, was born 
in Swansea, Massachusetts, April 2, 1824, and 
passed the greater part of his childhood on the 
farm in Somerset that for generations had been 
the home of his Brayton ancestors. His early 
education was acquired by regular attendance 
at the public schools of Somerset and Fall 
River, and when not at schbol he worked at 
different occupations with great energy and 
zeal. Manifesting in early youth a taste for 
business, he was not long in seeking a field 
larger than that which his boyhood home afford- 
ed, and when still a minor he made a business 
trip to Cuba. In later years he was extensively 
engaged in trade with the West Indies. 

The discovery of gold on the Pacific coast 
intensely interested Mr. Brayton, and in 1849 
he sailed in the ship "Mary Mitchell" for Cali- 
fornia, where he remained several months. On 
returning to Fall River, with Silas Bullard as 
partner, he erected the Bristol County Flour 
Mills, of which he subsequently became sole 
proprietor. 

Not long after the enactment of the National 
Banking Law, Mr. Brayton, with his brother 
John S. Brayton and their associates, established 
the First National Bank of Fall River. The 
directors of this corporation manifested their 
appreciation of his faithful and valuable ser- 
vices in its behalf when they spread upon its 




MetrapaTltau Publijiuii^ itnit^m^ C^BflStnn. 



. J«»- 




/f'^'^oCio/m^ <^/d/>w-e7^ <ycJ/i^fvyibny 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



123 



records at the time of his death the tribute that 
"To his remarkable foresight, energy, aud high 
moral character, this Institution owes its origm 
and its great success." 

Cotton goods were already manufactured in 
Fall River, and Mr. Brayton, with his usual 
foresight, realized the possibility of the growth 
of the cotton industry. In 1865, he conceived 
the idea of erecting a large manufactory, and 
a site was purchased bordering on the stream 
from which Fall River obtains its name. As a 
result of his sagacity, untiring industry, and 
acumen, Durfee Mills Number One was com- 
pleted m 1867 ; in 1871 Durfee Mills Number 
Two, a duplicate of Number One, was built, 
thus doubling the production of the print cloths 
of this corporation; and in 1880, the plant was 
again enlarged by the erection of mill Number 
Three. These mills, named in honor of Brad- 
ford Durfee, whose son, B. M. C. Durfee, was 
the largest stockholder, are an enduring monu- 
ment to the enterprise, energy, and sound 
judgment of David Anthony Brayton. From 
the time of their incorporation until his demise, 
Mr. Brayton was Treasurer and Manager of the 
Durfee Mills, which constituted for many years 
one of the largest print cloth plants in the 
country. 

The results of the business ability and wis- 
dom of David A. Brayton were not confined 
to these enterprises alone, but his knowledge 
and experience were widespread, and he held 
many offices of responsibility and trust. He 
was director in eight other corporations in Fall 
River, and at the time of his death was Presi- 
dent and principal owner of the Arnold Print 
Works in North Adams. Massachusetts. 

Deeply interested in the welfare of the city, 
he did not shun the responsibilities of the true 
citizen, nor did he deem it his obligation to 
accept the honors of civic office, and declined 
reelection after serving one term in the city 
government. 

He never lost his love for the country, and 
the freedom of its open life appealed to him. 
He purchased a large farm in Somerset, now 
known as Brayton Point, and this he cultivated 
with much pleasure and pride. Here he found 
his recreation away from the turmoil of the 
business world. 

Mr. Brayton was a re^ilar attendant and 
active member of the First Congregational 
Church of Fall River. He gave freely to the 
support of divine worship, was generously 
benevolent, and guided by his keen and quick 
judgment of persons, he willingly assisted those 
■whom he believed worthy of his aid. 

David A. Bra\i:on was married in Fall 



River, May 1, 1851, to Nancy R. Jenckes, 
daughter of Jolm and Nancy (Bellows) 
Jenckes. They had five children, Nannie 
Jenckes, David Anthony, John Jenckes, Eliza- 
beth Hitchcock, and Dana Dwight Brayton. 

In 1880 Mr. Brayton, accompanied by mem- 
bers of liis family, crossed tlie Atlantic in search 
of health, but, although every effort was exerted 
in his behalf, he died in London, England, 
on the twentieth of August, 1881. 

David Anthony Brayton was a man of cour- 
age, endowed with a large capacity for affairs, 
with sterling integrity aud a vigorous intellect 
trained in the contests of a stirring life ; a strong 
advocate of truth and strict honesty, frank and 
fearless in the performance of duty, prompt 
in decision, firm in action, and loyal in friend- 
ship. These were elements of his power and his 
success, the characteristics which made him a 
citizen of commanding influence and a recog- 
nized leader among men. 

VII. John Summeefield Brayton, son of 
Israel and Kezia (Anthony) Brayton, was born 
Dec. 3, 1826, in Swansea, Massachusetts. He 
attended the district school and fitted himself 
for the post of teacher and was enabled to fur- 
ther his studies at Peirce's Academy, in Middle- 
boro, and at the University Grammar School, 
at Providence. He entered Brown University 
in 1847 and was graduated therefrom with the 
class of 1851. Adopting the law as a profession 
he prepared for it in the office of Thomas Dawe 
Eliot, at New Bedford, and at the Dane Law 
School of Harvard College, from which he was 
graduated in 1853. He was admitted to the 
bar of Suffolk county August 8th of the year 
named, returning to Fall River began the prac- 
tice of liis profession, and within a year was 
chosen city solicitor, being the first incumbent 
of the office in the newly formed city. He was 
elected clerk of courts for Bristol county. In 
1864 he reentered the general practice of law, 
associating himself with James M. Morton, now 
one of the justices of the Massachusetts Su- 
preme bench. He retired from the practice of 
law to become financial agent of Mrs. Mary B. 
Young and B. M. C. Durfee and from that time 
until his death was a prominent business man 
of Fall River. In 1856 Mr. Brayton represented 
Fall River in the General Court of Massachu- 
setts and served as a member of the governor's 
council in 1866-67-68 and 1S79 80, under Gov- 
ernors Bullock. Talbot and Long. At home 
and elsewhere he was active in many charitable 
and philanthropic movements and generous in 
his donations to their funds. 

Mr. Brayton was an ardent historian, a pa- 
tron of art and literature and a lover of all 



124 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



that beautifies and uplifts. He manifested a 
deep interest in educational aii'airs, and when 
his sister gave to the city the magnificent B. M. 

C. Durfee high school Mr. Brayton devoted to 
its creation liis thought and attention. In 1893, 
in recognition of liis accomplishments, Brown 
University, his alma mater, conferred on him 
the degree of Doctor of Laws, and from 1898 
until his death he was a Fellow of Brown Uni- 
versity. He was for eighteen years, from 1883 
to 1900, a trustee of Amherst College. 

Mr. Brayton had historical tastes and his 
knowledge of the Narragansett country was 
perhaps exceeded by none. He was president 
of the Old Colony Historical Society for several 
years, a member of the New England Historic 
and Genealogical Society, and from 1898 to 
the time of his death a member of the Massa- 
chusetts Historical Society. 

In sympathy only with the best traditions 
and highest ideals, he entered in a remarkable 
degree into the successes of his friends and fel- 
low citizens in every field of worthy achieve- 
ment. Their honor was his pride. He delighted 
to bestow the expression of recognition for work 
well done, and in so doing extended an uplifting 
influence in the community which we can ill 
afford to lose in these days when commercial 
gain absorbs so much of the ambitions of life. 
As a man of large private responsibilities and 
an active participant in the conduct of public 
affairs Mr. Brayton was a leading figure in this 
section of the State. He had intense interest 
in and loyalty to those with whom he associated 
through ties of business or civic life. 

On Nov. 27, 1855, Mr. Brayton married 
Sarah Jane Tinkham, daughter of Enoch and 
Rebecca (Williams) Tinkham, of Middleboro, 
Mass. They had three children : Mary J., who 
married Dr. Charles L. Nichols, of Worcester 
(their three children are Charles L., Jr., Har- 
riet and Brayton) ; Harriet H., of Fall River; 
and John Summerfield, born in Fall River, 
Sept. 16, 1864, who was married June 20, 1894, 
to Jessie C. Flint, daughter of the late John 

D. Flint, of Fall River (their children are John 
S., Jr., Flint, Edith and Anthony). Mr. Bray- 
ton died Oct. 30, 1904, at his home in Fall 
River, Massachusetts. 

VII. Israel Perry Brayton, son of Israel 
and Kezia (Anthony) Brayton, was born May 
24, 1829, and died Aug. 10, 1878, in Fall 
River. He followed agricultural pursuits and 
had a well stocked farm in Swansea, Massachu- 
setts. Because of poor health lie was never able 
to engage actively in the business or political 
life of Fall River, but for some years served as 
a director of the First National Bank. 



Mr. Brayton married June 18, 1863, Par- 
thenia Gardner, daughter of Peleg Gardner, 
of Swansea. Mrs. Brayton died Feb. 24, 1882. 
To them were born two daughters: Nancy 
Jarrett Bowers and Sarah Chalouer. 

VIII. Nancy Jarrett Bowers Brayton mar- 
ried June 10, 1896, James Madison Morton, 
Jr., of the ninth generation of the Morton 
family, and to them have been born four chil- 
dren : James Madison, June 10, 1897 (died 
May 14, 1908) ; Brayton, Oct. 28, 1898; Sarah, 
Sept. 29, 1902; Hugh, Sept. 10, 1906. 

VII. Hezekiah Anthony Brayton^ son 
of Israel and Kezia (Anthony) Brayton, was 
born June 24, 1832, in Fall River, Massachu- 
setts, and passed his boyhood days at the Bray- 
ton homestead in Somerset, in the schools of 
which town he acquired his early education, 
furthering it at the East Greenwich (R. I.) 
Academy He taught school for one year in 
the town of Seekonk, Massachusetts, then for 
a time was employed in a railroad ticket office, 
from which he left for Texas in the capacity 
of surveyor. Returning to the North, he was 
for a time employed in the carding and mechan- 
ical engineering departments of the Pacific mills 
in Lawrence, this State. In 1857, in company 
with his brother Israel Perry Brayton, he went 
to Chicago and there engaged in the grain com- 
mission business on the Board of Trade, a line 
of business he later continued in on the Produce 
Exchange in New York City. 

Returning to Massachusetts in 1872, Mr. 
Brayton was actively and successfully occupied 
at Fall River the remainder of his life. He was 
chosen vice president and cashier of the First 
National Bank, and some six years later, at the 
time of the failure of the Sagamore mills, he 
was appointed one of the trustees of that prop- 
erty. When the business was finally settled and 
the corporation was reorganized as the Saga- 
more Manufacturing Company, he became treas- 
urer and a director, offices he held up to the 
time of his death. He was also president and 
director o;' the Durfee Mills and a trustee of the 
B. M. C. Durfee high school, which was given 
to the city by his sister, Mrs. Mary B. Young. 
Mr. Brayton was one of the most s\iccessful 
mill treasurers in Fall River. The Sagamore 
was among the corporations of Fall River 
which have paid phenomenal dividends. In this 
manufacturing company Mr. Brayton as treas- 
urer made a record in dividends that would be 
bard to surpass. He was devoted to his business, 
which he carried on to the last and which 
seemed to be his one pleasure; and for years 
before his death he had seldom been absent 
from Fall River except to visit his farm at the 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



135 



west end of Slade's Ferry Bridge, in Somerset. 
His judgment was usually accurate, and the 
results in returns to his stockholders most satis- 
factory. At the same time he pushed the de- 
velopment of the mills to the extreme of possi- 
bility. When he took charge the foundation of 
only one of tlie mills was laid. He put up the 
stone building on this foundation, and later, 
when the brick mill burned, he rebuilt it. His 
son, as treasurer, built an entirely new mill as 
a part of the plant. 

Mr. Brayton believed in new enterprises in 
Fall River and was willing to back them with 
his means, as in the case of the last cotton 
corporation formed there previous to his death, 
in which he subscribed for a considerable block 
of stock. 

On March 25, 1868, Mr. Brayton married 
Caroline Elizabeth, daughter of the late Hon. 
William Lawton and Mary (Sherman) Slade. 
of Somerset. She, with three sons and five 
daughters, survived him. Ten children were 
born to Mr. and Mrs. Brayton, as follows: (1) 
Caroline S. was born March 10, 1869. in New 
York City. (2) Abby S., born Nov. 10, 1870, 
in New York, married Randall N. Durfee, of 
Fall River, and they have had four children, 
Randall Nelson (born March i:?, 1897), Brad- 
ford Chaloner (born Aug. 12, 1900), Caroline 
(born March 12, 1904) and Mary Brayton 
(born March 4, 1909). (3) William L. S., 
born Nov. 13, 1872, in New Y'ork City, is 
treasurer of the Sagamore Manufacturing 
Company, having succeeded his father. He 
married June 18, 1903, Mary Easton Ashley. 
daughter of Stephen B. and Harriet Reming- 
ton (Da vol) Ashley, and they have had five 
children, born as follows : Lawion Slade, June 
20, 1904 ; Lincoln Davol, Oct. 20, 1905 ; Con- 
stance, March 22, 1907; Ruth Sherman, April 
17, 1908; and Perry Ashley, May 25, 1910. (4) 
Israel, born in Fall River Aug. 5, 1874. is a 
member of the law firm of Jennings, Morton 
& Brayton. (5) Mary Durfee, born May 1, 
1877, died March 29, 1889. (6) Stanley, born 
March 20, 1879, died July 29, 1902, in Caux, 
Switzerland. (7) Arthur Perry was born May 
25, 1881. (8) Margaret Lee was born Dec. 14, 
1883. (9) Dorothy was born Dec. 9, 1885. 
(10) Katharine was born Dec. 16, 1887. 

Mr. Bra^ion was devoted to his family, and 
the home life was made especially pleasant and 
happy. His home was always open and the 
many visitors there always hospitably enter- 
tained. In his business life he had formed 
strong friendships, and did much for those 
whom he favored in this way. He died sudden- 
ly in the evening of March 24, 1908, at his 



home. No. 260 North Main street. Fall River, 
in the seventy-sixth year of his age. 

At a meeting of the directors of the Saga- 
more Manufacturing Company, held March 25, 
1908, the following tribute to the late treas- 
urer, Mt. H. A. Brayton, was adopted : 

IN MEMORIAM, 
Hezekiah Anthony Bbayton. 

Hezekiali A. Brayton, treasurer of this corporation 
since the sixth day of November, 1879, died after 
a aliort illness on the twenty-fourtli day of March, 
1908, in the seventy-sixth year of his age. Mr. 
Brayton was born in this city on June 24th, 1832. 
His ancestors were among the earliest settlers in 
this part of New England. His boyhood was passed 
on the Homestead Farm in Somerset. He attended 
the District school and later went to the academy 
at East Greenwich. At tlie age of sixteen he taught 
school ; and from that time until his death he was ac- 
tively engaged in professional and business work. His 
life was an imusually varied one. As a yoxmg man, 
he studied surveying and went to Texas as a surveyor. 
Afterwards lie was, successively, a mechanical en- 
gineer at the Pacific mills in Lawrence, a grain 
broker in Chicago and New York (where he was a 
member of the Board of Triule), vice president and 
cashier of the First National Bank of Fall River. 
Upon the faihue of the Sagamore mills in 1878, he 
was appointed one of the reorganizing committee; 
and when the present corporation was formed he was 
chosen its treasurer, a position he continued to hold 
until his death. 

Tlie ability and signal success with wliich he man- 
aged the affairs of this corporation are recognized 
by every one familiar with it, and by the community 
at large. His personality dominated the entire or- 
ganization and impressed upon it his own belief In 
honest work and fidelity to everyday duty. It was 
his pride to make good goods, and to keep his word 
absolutely. A contract was to him a matter of per- 
sonal honor, as well as of dollars and cents. He was 
a man of strong and unique individuality, direct and 
straightforward in his dealings, frank of speech, abso- 
lutely honest, and with a rare touch of liumor. Be- 
hind his apparent impulsiveness, there often lay 
long and deeply considered reasons. 

As the years passed, he acquired in an extraordinary 
and ever increasing degree, the confidence of those 
who associated and dealt with him. He was for- 
tiuiate in his life ; and he died at the height of his 
success, before 'age had dulled his interest, or im- 
paired his mental vigor. His death is a serious loss 
to this corporation and to us, his associates. 

.\BISHAI MILLER, than wliom no man 
connected with the iron industry in New Eng- 
land stood higher in reputation for skill and 
efficiency in workmanship, and at the time of 
his death, Jan. 30, 1883, president of the At- 
lantic ^Vorks, whicii he had helped to organize 
and in the prosperity of which he had long been 
a vital factor, was born June 22, 1809, in Fall 
Brook, Middleboro, Mass., son of John and 
Susanna (Sparrow) Miller, and a member of 
a family which located in that town in the 
seventeenth century. 



126 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



(I) John Miller, a native of England, born 
in 1624, was a member of the Grand Inquest at 
Middleboro in 1672. He was among the pro- 
prietors of the Twenty-six Men's Purchase 
(1661-62) at their meeting in 1677. Previous 
to April 29, 1678, he bought a house lot of Ed- 
ward Gray. He was the owner of lot No. 154 
in the South Purchase (1673), and was one 
of the owners of the Sixteen Shilling Purchase 
(1675). Mr. Miller lived on Thompson street 
not far from the brook near the house of the 
late Elijah Shaw, in Middleboro. He died May 
11, 1720, in tlie ninety-seventh year of his age. 
His monument stands in the cemetery at "The 
Green," where rest the remains of six or more 
generations of his descendants. The Christian 
name of the wife of Mr. Miller was Mercy, and 
their children were : John, Mary and Elizabeth. 

(II) John Miller (2), soi* of John, born 
in 1669, married Feb. 12, 1701-02, Lydia 
Coombs, born in 1678, daughter of Francis and 
Deborah (Morton) Coombs. He lived in Mid- 
dleboro, and there died in 1727. His wife died 
March 6, 1734. Their children were: Francis, 
born Jan. 11, 1702-03, died in 1758, married 
Experience Sprout; John, born Oct. 28, 1704, 
is mentioned below; David, born April 17, 
1708, died Jan. 1, 1783, married Susanna 
Holmes in 1728; Elias, born Aug. 11, 1711, 
died Nov. 12, 1781, married in 1731 Sarah 
Holmes, and she died Sept. 28, l&OO, aged 
eighty-five years ; Hannah died in infancy. 

(III) John Miller (3), son of John (2), 
born Oct. 28, 1704, married Priscilla, born in 
1711, daughter of Peter Bennet (born in 1678, 
died in 1749) and his wife Priscilla (Rowland) 
(born in 1681), the latter a daughter of Isaac 
Howland (1649-1724) and his wife Elizabeth 
(Vaughan) (1652-1727), granddaughter of 
John Howland and his wife Elizabeth Tilley, 
of the "Mayflower," 1620, and great-grand- 
daughter of John Tilley, also of the "May- 
flower." John Miller died April 7, 1794. He 
was a lieutenant with Capt. Abiel Pierce's com- 
pany, as appears on the list of officers of the 
Massachusetts militia, which reinforced the 
army, joining Col. J. Ward's regiment; com- 
missioned Jan. 29, 1776. Also second lieuten- 
ant, Capt. Abishai Tinkham's company, 4th 
Plymouth county regiment, Massachusetts mil- 
itia; list of officers chosen in said regiment 
March 5, 1776, as returned by Ebenezer Sprout 
and Eleazer White, field oflncers. ordered in 
council May 9, 1776, that said officers be com- 
missioned; reported commissioned May 9, 1776. 
Also second lieutenant, Capt. Abishai Tink- 
ham's company, Col. Ebenezer Sprout's regi- 
ment, entered service May 6th, discharged May 



9th; entered service Sept. 6th, discharged Sept. 
12th, service nine days; company marched from 
Middleboro to Dartmouth, on two alarms, 1778. 
There was also a John Miller, a private in Capt. 
John Barrows's company. Col. Ebenezer 
Sprout's regiment, entered service Sept. 6, 1778, 
discharged Sept. 12, 1778, service six days; com- 
pany marched from Middleboro to Dartmouth, 
on two alarms, one in May and one in Septem- 
ber, 1778. To John and Priscilla (Bennet) 
Miller were born : Mary, July 25, 1736 ; John, 
Nov. 27, 1737; Seth, Feb. 22, 1738-40; Joseph, 
Jan. 8, 1741 ; Priscilla, May 19th, 1745; Lucien, 
Sept. 20, 1747; and Peter, March 31, 1750. 

(IV) John Miller (4), son of John (3), 
born Nov 27, 1737, married Zilpah Tinkham 
(1737-1818), she being a direct descendant of 
Peter Brown, one of the signers of the "May- 
flower" compact in the cabin of that vessel 
Nov. 11, 1620, from whom her descent is 
through Ephraim Tinkham -(1616-1685) and 
his wife Mary (Brown), Ephraim Tinkham 
(2) (1649-1714) and his wife Hester (Wright) 
(1649-1717), and John Tinkham (1680-1766) ; 
and of John Howland (1592-1672-73) and his 
wife Elizabeth (Tilley) (1600-1687), of the 
"Mayflower,'' 1620, the latter being a daughter 
of John Tilley, also of the "Mayflower," 1620, 
from whom her descent is through Isaac How- 
land (1649-1724) and his wife Elizabeth 
Vaughan (daughter of George Vanghan), and 
Hannah (Howland) (1692-1794). John Mil- 
ler died Dec. 1, 1807. The children born to 
him and his wife Zilpah were: Hannah, born 
March 23, 1765; Lydia, June 2, 1766; Abishai, 
Nov. 7, 1767; Zilpah, Nov. 3, 1769; John, July 

24, 1771; Priscilla, .\pril 16, 1773; Susanna, 
Dec. 10, 1776; and Minerva, Feb. 28, 1779. 

(V) John Miller (5), son of John (4), 
born July 24, 1771, died July 16, 1818. On 
Nov. 20, 1792, he married Susanna Sparrow, 
and they had children : Loring, born Sept. 14, 
1793; Zilpah, Jan. 17, 1796; Susanna, June 
23, 1799; John Tinkham, April 23, 1802; 
Rhoda Sparrow, March 29, 1806 (died April 

25, 1810) : and Abishai, June 32, 1809. 

(VI) Abishai Miller, son of John (5). born 
June 22. 1809, in Fall Brook, Middleboro, 
Mass., was educated in the common schools of 
Middleboro. He was a mere lad when his fa- 
ther died, and he left his home and went to 
Westboro and Taunton to learn the machinist's 
trade. He devoted himself to that line of work 
until he had thoroughly mastered it in all its 
details, and it was said of him that he was one 
of the best machinists in New England. A man 
of his mechanical genius could not long remain 
in a subordinate position. In 1837 he entered 



SOUTHEASTEEN MASSACHUSETTS 



127 



the service of Otis Tufts (at that time proprie- 
tor of a maeliine shop on Bloomfield street, 
Boston, but afterward known as one of the most 
successful engine builders in New England), 
and continued in his employ in that location 
and in East Boston until 1853. During this 
period he superintended the construction of 
much important work, and had as apprentices 
many young men who have become justly cele- 
brated in the line of iron manufacture, and 
shown the excellence of their training. In 
1853 Mr. Miller, with several other enterprising 
mechanics, organized the Atlantic Works, and 
obtained a charter from the Legislature. They 
put into this venture all their savings, and be- 
gan the difficult task of making a place for their 
company in the business world. They pur- 
chased land in East Boston and erected build- 
ings thereon for machine, blacksmith and boiler 
shops, and purchased. tools for these several de- 
partments. Mr. Miller became superintendent 
of construction, and, by dint of hard work, self- 
sacrifice and the utmost economy, soon succeed- 
ed in establishing a reputation, the business 
and facilities steadily increasing. About 1859 
Mr. Miller retired from active business arid 
went to Middleboro to take a much needed rest. 
At this time he erected a fine residence on the 
old homestead at Fall Brook, and here his 
friends found him happy and contented. When 
the Civil war broke out the Atlantic Works 
secured a contract for building one of the now 
famous "monitors," and at the earnest solici- 
tation of his associates in the business he re- 
turned to his old place as superintendent, and 
during the four years following a busier man 
could hardly be found in Boston. Under his 
direction were built the monitors "Casco" and 
"Nantucket," the turrets for the monitors 
"Monadnock," "Agamenticus," "Passaconaway" 
and "Shackamakon," and the machinery for 
the gunboats "Sagamore," "Canandaigua," 
"Sassacus," and "Osceola"; also for the U. S. 
man of war "Nyphon." At the close of the 
war Mr. Miller again retired, although remain- 
ing on the board of directors of the company 
until 1876, when, upon the death of the presi- 
dent, he was elected to that office, a position 
he filled until his death, in East Boston, Jaji. 
30, 1883. He was buried in Green cemetery 
in Middleboro, where several generations of the 
family have been interred. 

As a business man and mechanic few sur- 
passed Mr. Miller, and the success and pros- 
perity of the Atlantic Works was largely due 
to his management and skill. In private and 
social life he was greatly beloved. He never 
betrayed a friend nor deceived an enemy. His 



nature was positive. Strong in his likes and 
dislikes, he was always just and charitable. A 
friend in want or in trouble found in him a 
ready helper. It is said that the truly great 
man always reveres his mother, and Mr. Miller 
possessed that characteristic in a large degree, 
showing his mother marked tenderness and 
caring for her in his home during the last years 
of her life. Although he had neither time nor 
ambition to be active in town affairs, he never- 
theless when elected to office filled the position 
with credit, serving as selectman of Middleboro 
and in other positions of trust. He attended 
the Congregational Church, and liberally con- 
tributed toward its support. He was essentially 
a self-made man, and his life was devoted to 
business, his success being the fruit of mental 
strength, indomitable will and persevering in- 
dustry. This did not chill his genial nature, 
however, and he had a large circle of faithful 
friends. 

Mr. Miller married Julia A. Sparrow, daugh- 
ter of Edward Sparrow, of Middleboro, and 
she died many years before him. They are 
survived by a daughter, Julia H., now the 
widow of Dr. G. W. Copeland, of Boston. 

Dr. George Walter Copeland was a native 
of Nova Scotia, born at Pictou, a son of Samuel 
Copeland. He was educated in his native home, 
and at Dalhousie College. He took up the 
study of medicine in the Pennsylvania Medical 
College, and for a time practiced medicine in 
that State, later locating in Boston. In 1889 
he came to Middleboro, where he was living at 
the time of his death, April 29, 1896. In 
politics he was a Republican, and fraternally 
he was connected with the Masons. Mrs. Cope- 
land, formerly Julia H. Miller, resides in .her 
beautiful home on South Main street, Middle- 
boro. She takes a great interest in the social 
life of the town, and is a member of Nemasket 
Chapter, D. A. R., of which she is vice regent; 
and she was one of the organizers and is a 
charter member of the Cabot Club. She attends 
the Congregational Church. 

COPELAND (Whitman family). The fam- 
ily bearing this name is one of long and honor- 
able standing in southeastern Massachusetts. 
Early at Braintree, then at Bridgewater, and 
for generations in the town of Easton. this 
Easton-Whitman branch of the earlier Brain- 
tree stock has for several generations been one 
of Easton's leading families, and more recently 
— a later generation — in the new town of Whit- 
man, formerly South Abington. Reference is 
made to the forefathers of the present George 
Copeland and Horatio Franklin Copeland, 



138 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



M. D., brothers. The latter though of Easton 
birth has been for nearly half a century active 
and prominent in the professional and social 
life of what is now Whitman. Himself a vet- 
eran of the Civil war, the Doctor is a represen- 
tative of patriotic ancestry, his father being a 
soldier of the war of 1813 and Ins great-grand- 
father of the Kevolution, and lie, too, is repre- 
sentative of the Pilgrim Fathers, descending in 
direct line from John Alden and Priscilla Mul- 
lins, of the "Mayflower." 

There follows in chronological order from his 
first paternal American ancestor Dr. Copeland's 
lineage. 

(I) Lawrence Copeland is of record at 
Braintree as early as 1651, Dec. 13th of wliich 
year he married Lydia Townsend. His death 
occurred Dec. 30, 1699, when, according to the 
gravestone, he was aged an hundred years. His 
widow Lydia died Jan. 8, 1688. Their child- 
ren were: Thomas, born May 10, 1653; Thomas 
(2), born in 1654 or 1655; William, born Nov. 
15, 1656; John, born Feb. 10, 1659; Lydia, 
born May 31, 1661 ; Ephraim, born Jan. 17, 
1665; Hannah, born Feb. 35, 1668; Richard, 
born July 11, 1673; and Abigail, born in 1674. 

(II) William Copeland, born Nov. 15, 1656, 
married April 13, 1694, Mary, widow of Cliris- 
topher Webb, Jr., and daughter of John and 
Ruth (Alden) Bass, the latter a daughter of 
Hon. John Alden, the "Mayflower" Pilgrim. 
Mr. Copeland died about 1716 at Braintree, 
Mass. His children were: William, born 
March 7, 1695; Ephraim, Feb. 1, 1697; Eben- 
ezer, Feb. 16, 1698; Jonathan, Aug. 31, 1701; 
David, April 15, 1704; Joseph, May 18, 1706: 
Benjamin, Oct. 5, 1708; Moses, May 28, 1710; 
and' Mary, May 28, 1713. 

(III) Jonathan Copeland, born Aug. 31, 
1701, married in 1733 Betty, born in 1705, 
daughter of Thomas Snell (2) and grand- 
daughter of Thomas Spell, who came from 
England and settled in West Bridgewater, 
Mass., about 1665. Mr. Copeland settled in 
the town of West Bridgewater. He lived to his 
ninetieth year, dying in 1790. His children 
were: Abigail, born in 1734; Betty, born in 
1726; Jonathan, born in 1728; Mary, born in 
1731; Joseph, born in 1734; Hannah, born in 
1737; Elijah, born in 1739; Daniel, born in 
1741; Sarah, born in 1745; Ebenezer, born in 
1746; and Betty, born in 1750. 

(IV) Elijah Copeland, born in 1739, mar- 
ried in 1765 Rhoda, born in 1743, daughter of 
Josiah Snell (3), granddaughter of Josiah 
Snell and great-granddaughter of Thomas 
Snell, who came from England, as stated above. 
Mr. Copeland located in Easton. Mass., and 



lived to be seventy-eight years of age. He saw 
quite a Jittle service in the Revolution. It 
seems that two English and two Hessian brig- 
ades, under command of General Clinton, had 
come froia New York early in December, 1776, 
and took possession of Newport, R. I. Rhode 
Island could offer no resistance, and therefore 
the militia was summoned from the other New 
England Colonies in order to prevent an in- 
vasion of the country, should that be attempted. 
It was said that the enemy intended to march 
to Boston by way of Providence. From that 
time, for three years, there were continual 
alarms, and a good deal of what is called 
"Rhode Island service" for the militia of the 
vicinity. The British were closely watched all 
the time, and there were occasional skirmishes 
of an unimportant character. In one of the 
two companies that went from Easton which 
served until the end of the month, and the one 
commanded by Captain Keith, in Colonel Dag- 
gett's regiment, Elijah Copeland served as 
drummer. He was again in the service for 
three moatlis, beginning Dec. 30, 1777, at 
Providence. He was again out in 1780, and 
in 1781. In March of the last named year 
General Washington came to Rhode Island to 
arrange with Roehambeau for an active cam- 
paign. On the 14th a grand reception was 
given him at Providence, at which a company 
commanded by Captain Keith, from Easton, 
then in Rhode Island, was probably present. 
Elijah Copeland was a member of this company 
at the time. Mr. Copeland had a son Elijah, 
born in 1766, who might have performed to- 
ward the close of the war a part of the service 
attributed to his father. Elijah Copeland and 
his wife Rhoda lie buried in what is known as 
the Elijah Copeland graveyard located south of 
the old Copeland place on the Bay road, just 
opposite the end of Beaver street, and some 
distance from the road, in the town of Easton, 
Mass. Mr. Copeland died Sept. 8, 1817, aged 
seventy-eight years. His wife Rhoda died Oct. 
5, 1825, aged eighty-two years. The children 
of Elijah and Rhoda (Snell) Copeland were: 
Elijah', born in 1766; Josiah, born in 1768; 
Luther, born in 1770; a daughter, bom Jan. 
12, 1775, M'ho died Jan. 2.^, 1775; Calvin, born 
March 17. 1776, who died Sept. 14, 1778; 
Rhoda, born March IS, 1778, who married 
Aaron Gay Feb. 20, 1837, and (second) Eleazer 
Keith June 14, 1848; Abigail, born June 10, 
1781, who married June 16, 1803, James 
Guild ; Martin, born Jan. 16, 1784, who died 
June 2, 1814, and Molly, born Sept. 5, 1786. 
who married Leonard Dunbar. Of these Elijah 
moved to Weston, Mass., Tjuther to Vermont. 








-iL-t,^^ 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



129 



( \' ) Josiah Copeland, born in 1768, married 
Susanna Hayward, or Howard, who lived to 
the advanced age of eighty-five years, dying in 
Easton, Mass., May 5, 1859. Mr. Copeland 
lived in Easton and for a time in Bridgewater, 
Mass. He was quite an active, enterprising 
man. From toward the close of the eighteenth 
century for years into the nineteenth he, part 
of the time alone and part with others, was en- 
gaged in various manufacturing enterprises in 
South Easton, among them, the operation of a 
sawmill, oil mill, card wool machine, the man- 
ufacture of cotton yarn, the carrying on of a 
forge, etc. Mr. Copeland was one of the prom- 
inent men of the town. He served for live 
years — from 1811 to 1816 — as selectman. He 
died Dec. 14, 1852, at tHe age of eighty-four 
years. His children were : Horatio, born 
March 5, 1796; Hiram, Sept. 9, 1798; Susan- 
na, July 21, 1800. 

(VI) Horatio Copeland, son of Josiah and 
Susanna (Hayward or Howard) Copeland, was 
born March 5, 1796. He followed in the foot- 
steps of his father and was a very active and 
enterprising man. He was variously engaged 
in manufacturing, both in Massachusetts and 
in the South. During the war of 1812-15 he 
was in the service, being a member of Capt. 
Isaac Lothrop's company of light infantry, in 
the regiment commanded by Lieutenant Col- 
onel Towne. This company was called out and 
did duty about Boston, in September and Octo- 
ber, 1814. He was selectman for four years, 
from 1839 to 1843. The post office was estab- 
lished at South Easton village in 1849, and in 
March, 1854, Mr. Copeland was appointed post- 
master, being the third in that office and serv- 
ing seven years, when in 1861 he was succeeded 
by his son, George Copeland, who held the office 
for a period of almost fifty years. He married. 
May 16, 1834, Delia Maria Nye, born April 
14, 1804, daughter of Samuel and Polly Nye, 
and widow of Thomas Howard. She died at 
the home in Easton Jan. 36, 1878, and was 
buried there. Mr. Copeland died Dec. 2, 1865, 
and was also buried in Easton. Their children 
were: Sarah Frances, born June 5, 1835, died 
Aug. 27, 1845; George, born Jan. 5, 1837, is 
mentioned below; Josiah, born Sept. 5, 1838, 
died in Colorado in 1859 ; Horatio Franklin, 
born Nov. 15, 1842, is mentioned below. 

(VTI) Gkotiok Copeland. now living re- 
tired, was born in Easton Jan. 5, 1837. He 
was educated in the local common schools and 
at Peirce Academy, Middleboro, Mass. In 1859 
he embarked in the grocery business at South 
Easton, in which he was successfully engaged 
until 1882, when he sold out. Meantime, in 



October, 1861, he was appointed postmaster of 
South Easton, and he held the office continu- 
ously until July, 1910, a period of fifty years 
lacking but two months. He has taken consid- 
erable interest in jjublic atfairs and has given 
efficient service in the various responsibilities 
to which he has been called, having served as 
representative to the General Assembly in 
1873, and for over twenty years — from 1883 to 
1905 — as member of the board of selectmen of 
Easton. Politically he has always been a stanch 
Republican. He is a member of Paul Revere 
Lodge, A. F. & A. M., of Brockton. 

On June 30, 1868, Mr. Copeland married 
Harriet A. Kimball, daughter of John and Lu- 
sanna (Williams) Kimball, of Easton, and they 
have three children, namely : Marion A., wife 
of Clinton G. Brown, of Cambridge, Mass.; 
George H., of South Easton; and Ethel H., 
wife of George H. Briggs, residing at Dorches- 
ter, Mass. (they have two children, Blanche 
Elizabeth and Harold Copeland). 

(VII) HoEATio Franklin Copeland, 
M.D., son of Horatio Copeland and Delia 
Maria (Nye), was born Nov. 15, 1842, in Eas- 
ton, Mass. After acquiring his elementary edu- 
cation in the district schools of his native town, 
he was was fitted for college at Thetford (Vt.) 
Academy, but instead of then entering college 
decided upon medicine as his chosen profession, 
and after studying with that justly celebrated 
physician. Dr. Caleb Swan, of Easton, he at- 
tended Harvard Medical School, from which 
he was graduated in 1865, with the degree of 
M.D. His country needing his services dur- 
ing the memorable Civil war. Dr. Copeland re- 
ceived his degree in advance of the regular grad- 
uation, and at once (January, 1865) took the 
position of acting assistant surgeon in the Uni-. 
ted States service, and was placed in charge of 
the post hospital at Bermuda Hundred, and 
also of the large smallpox hospital located at 
that point. Acquiring valuable experience, and 
doing faithful service, he remained in the ser- 
vice until June of that same year or until the 
close of the war, when he returned to his native 
State, and located in the private practice of 
his chosen profession at Abington, now Whit- 
man, where he has since been constantly and 
successfully engaged and where he has acquired 
a large and lucrative practice. 

Dr. Copeland is untiring in his efforts to 
familiarize himself with new discoveries in the 
medical profession, and is endowed to an un- 
usual degree with the qualities which constitute 
a good physician and surgeon. 

In political sentiment Dr. Copeland is in ac- 
cord with the principles of the Republican 



130 



SOUTHEASTEEN MASSACHUSETTS 



party. In religious views he is liberal and at- 
tends the Congregational Church. Dr. Cope- 
land is a member of the Massachusetts Medical 
Society and the American Medical Association, 
having served in the latter as a member of the 
auxiliary legislative committee. He has long 
been an active and prominent member of the 
Masonic organization. He was admitted to the 
order in Kising Star Lodge, of Stoughton, later 
transferring his membership to Puritan Lodge, 
of South Abington. He is also a mem- 
ber of Pilgrim Chapter, E. A. M., of Abington ; 
Abington Council, E. & S. M., of which he was 
one of the constituent members, and of which 
he was the presiding officer for four years; and 
Old Colony Commandery, of Abington, of 
which he is past eminent commander. Dr. 
Copeland is also a valued member of the Grand 
Army of the Eepublic, holding membership in 
David A. Eussell Post, No. 78, of Whitman. 

Dr. Copeland is in accord with the progres- 
sive elements of society, his social qualities, his 
simple and democratic habits, together with his 
cordial and hospitable manner, attracting many 
friends, whom he retains by his omnipresent 
frankness and sincerity, his broad and charit- 
able opinions, and the strength of his adher- 
ence to his principles. He is a broad-minded 
practitioner, and has met with a degree of suc- 
cess that has placed him among the foremost 
members of his profession in Plymouth county, 
enjoying the esteem and confidence of his med- 
ical brethren. Although devoted to his profes- 
sion, his sphere of usefulness and success has 
by no means been confined to that calling alone. 
He has served several years as a director of the 
Whitman National Bank, and as a trustee of 
the Whitman Savings Bank. Dr. Copeland is 
fond of outdoor sports, and enjoys a jaunt with 
the gun and rod. He has always been ani- 
mated with a high appreciation of the duties 
of good citizenship, and commands the respect 
of the community in which he has long been a 
valued and honored resident. Dr. Copeland is 
unmarried. 

KIMBALL. (I) Eichard Kimball, of the 
parish of Eattlesden, County of Suffolk, Eng- 
land, with his family, came to New England in 
the ship "Elizabeth" in 1634, arriving at Bos- 
ton, and thence went to Watertown, Mass. He 
soon became a prominent and active man in the 
new settlement, was proclaimed a freeman in 
1635. and was proprietor in 1636-37. Soon 
thereafter he removed to Ipswich, where he 
passed the remainder of his life. His services 
as a wheelwright were very much appreciated. 
Mr. Kimball married IJrsiila, daughter of 



Henry Scott, of Eattlesden, and (second) Oct. 
25, 1661, Mrs. Margaret Dow, of Hampton, 
N. H. ile died June 22, 1675. His widow 
died March 1, 1676. His children, all by the 
first marriage, and all born in England except 
the youngest child, were : Abigail, Henry, 
Elizabeth, Eichard, Mary, Martha, John, 
Thomas and Sarah. 

(II) Eichard Kimball (2), sou of Eichard, 
was born in Eattlesden, England, about 1623. 
He came to New England with his parents. 
He removed from Ipswich to Wenham, near 
Ladd's Hill, in the western part of the town, 
and became a large land owner. He was a sub- 
scriber to the minister's rate in 1657 ; Dec. 4, 
1660, he was on the committee to see about 
building the new meetinghouse, and in 1663 
was on the committee to join with the select- 
men to put out the new contract. With the ex- 
ception of three years he served on the board 
of selectmen from 1658 to 1674. He owned 
200 acres of land in Eowley. He died in 1676. 
He seemed to have served in the Indian war. 
His second wife was Mary Gott, and their child- 
ren were: John, born about 1650, in Ipswich, 
who died in 1721 ; Samuel, born about 1651, in 
Ipswich; Thomas, born Nov. 12, 1657, who 
died Oct. 16, 1732 (married Elizabeth, daugh- 
ter of Anthony Potter, of Ipswich) ; Ephraim, 
born Feb. 18, 1660: Caleb, born in Wenham; 
Eichard, born July 7, 1671, at Eowley; and 
Nathaniel, born in 1676. 

(III) Samuel Kimball, son of Eichard (2), 
born about 1651, married Sept. 20, 1676, Mary, 
daughter of John and Sarah Witt, of Lynn, 
Mass. Mr. Kimball resided in Wenham ; was 
ensign in the militia; surveyor in 1677; con- 
stable in 1678; was made freeman May 24, 
1682, and was selectman in that year. He 
died Oct. 3, 1716. His estate was settled by 
his son Samuel, who took the property of his 
father, and paid off his brothers and sisters. 
Children: Samuel, born Aug. 19, 1677; Sarah 
born Sept. 6, 1678, who married John Her- 
rick, of Beverly, Mass. ; Martha, born May 24, 
1680, who died that year: Mary, born about 
1682, who married Elisha Dodds, of Beverly; 
Eichard, born about 1683 ; Jonathan, born in • 
1686; John, born Nov. 13, 1687; Ebenezer, 
born about 1690; Martha (2), horn about 1692, 
who married John Gott ; Thomas, born Feb. 22, 
1695-96; Benjamin, born April 17, 1698; Abi- 
gail, born May 25, 1700, who married Thomas 
Brown; and Jerusha, bom April 30. 1703, who 
died Aug. 22. of that same year. 

(IV) Samuel Kimball (2). son of Samuel, 
born Aug. 19, 1677. in Wenham, Mass., mar- 
ried (intentions expressed Jan. 25, 1698) Eliz- 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



131 



abeth, born in 1678, daughter of Joseph Fow- 
ler, of Wenham, Mass. She died Kov. 17, 
1736, and he married (second) Dec. 37, 1737, 
Abigail Foster, of Andover, Mass. She died 
Jan. 5, 1739-40, and he married (third) Jo- 
anna (Burnliam) Dodge, widow of Daniel 
Dodge, of Wenham. In a deed made in 1730 
Mr. Kimball is styled captain. He resided in 
Wenham, Mass. Children: Nathaniel, born 
Nov. 30, 1699, who died May 4, 1700; Na- 
thaniel (2), born March 4, 1700-01; Josiah, 
born Dec. 29, 1702; Benjamin, born in 1705- 
06; Mary; Elizabeth, born Dec. 4, 1709; and 
Samuel, born in April, 1716. 

(V) Samuel Kimball (3), son of iSamuel 
(2), born in April, 1716, in Wenliam, Mass., 
married Nov. 4, 1736, Elizabeth Rogers. He 
lived in Wenham and Easton, Mass. He died 
in 1757, and his widow married John Gott. 
Children: Elizabeth, born Aug. 24, 1737; Am- 
miruhamah, born Sept. 11, 1739; and William, 
born June 16, 1743. 

(VI) Ammiruhamah Kimball, son of Sam- 
uel (3), born Sept. 11, 1739, in Wenham, 
Mass., married Mary Trow, born Sept. 24, 
1742, and they resided in Mansfield, Norton 
and Easton, Mass. Mr. Kimball was out as a 
soldier in the Revolutionary army in the war, 
a member of Capt. Macy Williams's company 
from April 19 to April 28, 1775; was also 
from Mansfield in Captain Cobb's company Oct. 
6, 1775, and in October, 1777, he served in 
Capt. Isaac Hodge's company. He died Sept. 
21, 1808. His widow died May 19, 1814. 
Children: Solomon, born Jan. 20, 1761, in 
Norton; William, born Dec. 13, 1763, in Nor- 
ton; Hannah, born April 3, 1766, in Norton; 
Samuel, born June 12, 1768; Isaac, born Sept. 
18, 1770; Asa, born Dec. 8, 1772; and Polly, 
born Sept. 7, 1775, who married Francis Go- 
ward, of Easton. 

(VII) Isaac Kimball, son of Ammiruha- 
mah, born Sept. 18, 1770, in Easton, Mass., 
married Nov. 15, 1799, Rebecca Evans, horn 
Get. 15, 1776, and they were residents of Eas- 
ton, Mass., where Mr. Kimball was engaged 
in mercantile business. He died Aug. 28, 
1848, in Easton, Mass. His wife Rebecca died 
April 21, 1813. Children: Rebecca, born Oct. 
4, 1800, died Nov. 27, 1804; Betsey, born 
March 26, 1802, married Barzilla 'Drake; 
Thomas, born Feb. 9, 1806, died Feb. 7, 1808 ; 
Rebecca Smith, born Jan. 4, 1808, married Bar- 
zilla A. Drake; John, born Jan. 1, 1810, is 
mentioned below; Sally, born June 22, 1812, 
married Calvin Keith, of Easton, Massachu- 
setts. 

(VIII) John Kimball, son of Isaac, born 



Jan. 1, 1810, married April 30, 1833, Lusanna 
Williams, born Aug. 5, 1814, daughter of Seth 
and Sarah (Mitchell) Williams, of Easton, 
Mass. Mr. Kimball received a common school 
education and was trained from the time he 
was a lad of ten years for business under the 
direction of his father, who though a carpenter 
in early life became an innkeeper and mer- 
chant. The father built the dwelling in which 
John was born and in which the store and inn 
were kept and in which two succeeding genera- 
tions of the family lived and carried on busi- 
ness. And this stand in early years was a 
station where stopped the stages of that day 
for change of horses and for business. John, 
as the years passed, by liis attention to business 
and the care he gave to his affairs, prospered 
and became a man of usefulness and promi- 
nence in the town and was long esteemed and 
respected by his fellow townsmen. His polit- 
ical afiiliations were with the Whig and Re- 
publican parties, respectively. He was post- 
master at Easton from 1863 to 1882 — the long 
period of nineteen years; served as town clerk 
and treasurer from 1853 to 1872; was select- 
man and overseer of the poor from 1860 to 
1872; and represented his town in the General 
Court of Massachusetts in 1857. 

On x\pril 30, 1833, Mr. Kimball was married 
to Lusanna, born Aug. 5, 1814, in Easton, 
Mass., daughter of Lieut. Seth and Sarah (Mit- 
chell) Williams, and a direct descendant of 
Richard Williams, a native of Glamorganshire, 
Wales, who came to America, and became one 
of the original settlers of Taunton, in 1637-38- 
39 ; became one of the original proprietors of 
Dighton and was one among those who made 
the North Purchase, which included the pres- 
ent towns of Easton, Norton and Mansfield. 
This Richard Williams of Taunton belonged to 
a family of great antiquity in England and 
Wales. His lineage has been traced back to 
about the year 849, when lived Marchudes of 
Cyan, Lord of Aberglen in Denbighshire, of 
one of the fifteen tribes of North Wales. Rich- 
ard Williams's wife was Frances Dighton, a 
native of Somersetshire, England, .and a sister 
of the first wife of Governor Endicott. From 
Richard Williams the descent of Lusanna (Wil- 
liams) Kimball, according to the history of 
Bristol County, Mass. (1883), is through Ben- 
jamin Williams, who settled in Easton, Josiah 
Williams of Bridgewater, Seth and Susanna 
(Forbes) Williams of Easton, Edward and Sa- 
rah (Lothrop) Williams, and Lieut. Seth and 
Sarah (Mitchell) Williams, of Easton. 

The children born to John and Lusanna 
(Williams) Kimball were : Lusanna W., bora 



132 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



Aug. 5, 1834, who married June 15, 1853, 
Joshua D. Howard and died in Easton; Har- 
riet Augusta, born April 13, 1843, who mar- 
ried June 30, 1868, George Copeland; John 
Thomas, born April 11, 1845; and George 
Llewellyn, born Aug. 4, 1854. 

(IX) John Thomas Kimball, son of John 
and Lusanna (Williams) Kimball, born April 
11, 1845, in Easton, Mass., married June 30, 
1879, Arabella Greene Heath, born Oct. 1, 
1855, daughter of Dan W. and Esther M. 
(Walker) Heath, of Easton. 

(IX) George Llewellyn Kimball, son of 
John and Lusanna (Williams) Kimball, born 
Aug. 4, 1854, in Easton, Mass., married Dec. 
24, 1874, Sarah E. Heath, born March 8, 1853, 
daughter of Dan W. and Esther M. (Walker) 
Heath, of Easton, Mass. George L. Kimball 
died in 1910 in Easton. 

CHASE (Fall River family). The Chase 
family here considered is strictly speaking a 
Massachusetts-Rhode Island one, spo-inging as 
it does from the early Roxbury-Yarmouth 
family, a later generation of which located in 
Portsmouth, R. I. In the third generation from 
the immigrant ancestor through Joseph Chase, 
who located in Swansea, Mass., and Benjamin, 
who settled in Portsmouth, R. I., have descended 
the Chases who have come from those respective 
localities. And both branches have shared large- 
ly in the commercial and industrial life of this 
section of Massachusetts and Rhode Island. 
From the Portsmouth branch came the late 
Borden Chase, who for years was a coal dealer 
in Fall River, and his son, the present Simeon 
Borden Chase, has long been one of the fore- 
most cotton manufacturers of that same city 
apd as well a most active and influential citizen. 

There follows in chronological order from 
the immigrant settler, William Chase, the 
genealogy and family history of the Ports- 
mouth-Fall River family just alluded to. 

(I) William Chase, born about 1595, in 
England, witb wife Mary and son William came 
to America in the ship with Governor Winthrop 
and his colony in 1630, settling first in Roi- 
bury. He so'on became a member of the church 
of which the Rev. John Eliot, the Apostle to 
the Indians, was pastor. On Oct. 19, 1630, he 
applied for freemanship and was admitted a 
freeman May 14, 1634. In 1637, or thereabout, 
he became one of the company who made a new 
settlement at Yarmouth, of which town lie was 
made constable in 1639. He resided at Yar- 
mouth the rest of his life, dying in May, 1659. 
His widow died the following October. Their 
children were : William, born about 1622, in 



England; Mary, born in May, 1637, in Rox- 
bury; and Benjamin, born in 1639, in Yar- 
mouth. 

(II) William Chase (2), son of William and 
Mary, born about 1633, in England, came to 
America with his parents, married, and was a 
resident of Yarmouth. He died Feb. 27, 1685. 
His cliildren were: William, Jacob, John, 
Elizabeth, Abraham, Joseph, Benjamin and 
Samuel. 

(III) Benjamin Chase, son of William (2), 
married Amey Borden, she born May 30, 1678, 
daughter of John and Mary (Earle) Borden, 
and died before 1716. They were residents of 
Portsmouth, R. I. Their children were: 
Patience, born April 16, 1699; Elizabeth, born 
June 16, 1701; Amey, born July 21, 1702; 
Nathan, born Jan. 13, 1704; Benjamin, and 
Abner. 

(IV) Nathan Chase, born Jan. 13, 1704, 
married April 29, 1731, Elizabeth Shaw, and 
they were residents of Portsmouth. Their 
children were: Borden, born Feb. 28, 1731-32 
Holder, Aug. 24, 1733; Amey, Dec. 6, 1734 
Clark, May 2, 1736; Anna, April 12, 1738 
Content, July 5, 1741; Benjamin, Dec. 25, 
1747; and Hannah, March 15, 1749-50. 

(V) Holder Chase, son of Nathan and Eliza- 
beth (Shaw) Chase, born Aug. 24, 1733, mar- 
ried in Portsmouth, R. I., Feb. 21, 1760, Free- 
born! born Aug. 18, 1739, in Portsmouth, R. I., 
daughter of Joseph and Sarah (Durfee) Dennis. 
They lived in Portsmouth. Mr. Chase died in 
February, 1820. Their children were : Nathan, 
who died in childhood; Sarah, born in 1765, 
who married Benjamin Mott, of Portsmouth; 
Nathan (2), born in 1766, who married Anne 
Sherman, of Portsmouth, daughter of Sampson 
and Ruth (Fish) Sherman; Anna, born in 
1768, who married in Portsmouth John 
Weeden, of Jamestown, R. I.; Eliza; Borden, 
who married (first) Sept. 12, 1802, Sarah 
Folger and (second) Ruth Bunker, both of 
Nantucket, Mass. ; Amey, who died in child- 
hood ; Abner, born in Portsmouth, who married 
there Oct. 5, 1803, Deborah Chace, daughter 
of Benjamin and Mary (Almy) Chace; Clark; 
and Freeborn, who died unmarried Nov. 23, 
1819. 

(VI) Clark Chase, son of Holder, married 
in Tiverton, R. I., Dec. 26, 1811, Anne Borden, 
daughter of Simeon and Amey (Briggs) 
Borden. Their children were: Simeon B., 
born Oct. 5, 1812, died Nov. 8, 1832; Amey 
A., born July 9, 1814, married Jan. 5, 1838, 
Humphrey Almy; Borden, born April 5, 1816, 
is mentioned below ; Philip Briggs, bom Feb. 
3, 1818, married Sarah, daughter of William 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



133 



Earle and Eunice (Sherman) Cook; Sarah 
Freeborn, born Feb. 17, 1820, married Stephen 
Davol, of Fall River ; Eliza, born May 3, 182*2, 
married Charles Fowler, of Brooklyn, N. Y. ; 
Charles, born Feb. 2, 1824, married Frances 
C. Pearce, of Bristol, R. I., and had children, 
Charles and George; Nathaniel B., born Nov. 
1, 1825, married Louise M. Pierson, and had 
children, Howard and Ethel; Alfred Clark, 
born March 21, 1833, married (first) Mrs. 
Clapp and (second) Ruth Anthony, and had 
children, Ruth (Mrs. Hedley) and P'dmund. 

(VII) Borden Chase, son of Clark and Anne 
(Borden) Chase, born April 5, 1816, m'arried 
in Portsmouth, R. I., Dec. 24, 1838, Elizabeth 
Anthony Thomas, of Portsmouth, daughter of 
Joseph and Hannah (Anthony) Thomas. Mr. 
Chase lived in Portsmouth, "R. I., where he was 
successfully engaged in farming, his home be- 
ing noted for its bountiful hospitality. He 
resided there until 1875, when he removed 
to Fall River. He had engaged in the coal 
business there in 1871, establishing the Fall 
River Coal Company, and was later for a period 
interested in the Globe Coal Company of that 
city. He was for many years a warden in the 
Church of the Ascension at Fall River. He 
died Feb. 20, 1897. Four children were born 
to Mr. and Mrs. Chase: Annie Borden, horn 
Jan. 10, 1840, married William H. Jennings, 
of Fall River; Frederick, born Sept. 13, 18,43, 
married (first) Louise Tallman, of Portsmoutli, 
and (second) Edith Snell; Clark, born Jan. 10, 
1846, married Emma F. Boyd, and had children, 
Elizabeth C. Clark, Jr., and Charles; Simeon 
Borden was born Jan. 10, 1849. 

(VIII) Simeon Borden Chase, son of 
Borden and Elizabeth A. (Thomas) Chase, was 
born Jan. 10, 1849, in Portsmouth, E. I., where 
he passed his early years, attending school there 
until about eighteen years of age. He then 
took a business course of study in Scholfield's 
Commercial College, at Providence, and after 
his graduation from that institution became a 
clerk in the office of the Merchants' Manufactur- 
ing Company in Fall River, Mass. In the 
spring of 1870 he went to the West, and spent 
about a year and a half in the State of Nebraska. 
Returning to Fall River, he resumed his place 
with the Merchants' Manufacturing Company, 
in whose office he had become bookkeeper before 
he went West. In the year 1875 Mr. Chase 
left the employ of the Merchants' Manufactur- 
ing Company to accept a more responsible posi- 
tion at the Tecumseh Mills, of which he became 
treasurer at that time, continuing in that con- 
nection until about the vear 1883. when he 
resigned and returned to the Merchants' Manu- 



facturing Company, as treasurer. In February, 
1885, he again became treasurer of the King 
Philip Mills, which office he has since held, and 
the concern, which is one of the largest in Fall 
River and a very old one, has been one of the 
most prosperous. 

The interests of Mr. Chase have been by no 
means confined to the King Philip Mills. He 
has been president of the Barnaby Manufactur- 
ing Company, the Crystal Spring Bleaching and 
Dyeing Company, the Wampanoag Mills and 
the Globe Yarn Mills. Since the death of Mr. 
Frank S. Stevens, in 1898, he has been presi- 
dent of the Stevens Manufacturing Company. 
His other business connections at the present 
time are : Treasurer and director of the 
Tecumseh Mills; president and director of the 
Metacomet National Bank; director of the Os- 
born Mills, the Davol Mills, the Merchants' 
Manufacturing Company, Stevens Manufactur- 
ing Company, the Boston Manufacturers' 
Mutual Insurance Company, the Fall River 
Manufacturers Mutual Insurance Company, the 
North American Hat Company, and the 
Samoset Company of Valley Falls, Rhode 
Island. 

Mr. Chase aside from business has held no 
office, no official position, except that he was 
at one time a member of the common council, 
and is at present a member of the Massachusetts 
State Board of Education, appointed by Gov- 
ernor Draper. He has for many years been 
an earnest student of economic tiuestions, 
especially of the tariff, and the result of his 
study and investigation has led him to a belief 
in the protective policy. He is a Republican 
and in years past made many clear, direct and 
effective speeches in behalf of the principle of 
protection as it is advocated by the Republican 
party. His ability as a public speaker has thus 
been recognized, and he has delivered many 
lectures and read many essays before various 
literary societies of Fall River. His writings 
are notable for practical insight and original 
presentation of his views. Especially by his 
articles and speeches on the tariff question Mr. 
Chase has established an enviable reputation 
and become widely known as a vigorous thinker. 
The many responsible positions which he holds 
in the manufacturing world and his extended 
experience render him one of the highest 
authorities in the Commonwealth of Massachu- 
setts on questions relating to his special in- 
terests. In the business as well as the social 
life of Fall River he is highly esteemed and very 
popular for his personal qualities. 

In 1874 Mr. Chase married Louise Whitman 
Hills, daughter of John B. and Mary (Whit- 



134 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



man) Hills, and they have had the following 
children: Mary Whitman, Mrs. William Wil- 
son Heaton, residing at Greenwich, Conn., whu 
has tliree children, Mary, Chase and Sarah; 
Annie Borden, wife of Philip E. Tripp, of Fall 
River (who has a sketch elsewhere in this 
work) ; Louise W., Mrs. George Hewitt Myers, 
of Washington, D. C, who has one child, Persis 
Chase; Genevieve; and Florence. 

HUSSEY-MORGAN (New Bedford fam- 
ilies). These families, while not among those 
early here, are of approximately a hundred 
years' standing in this community, and with 
their allied connections are among the very 
respectable and wealthy families of the locality, 
the heads of two of these families here con- 
sidered being the late George Hussey and 
Charles Wain Morgan, who were e.xtensively 
engaged in whaling and shipping interests here 
in New Bedford through much of the first half 
of the nineteenth century. Here follows in 
detail arranged chronologically from the first 
American ancestor the Hussey genealogy, to- 
gether with that of some of its allied con- 
nections, et cetera. 

(I) Christopher Hussey, baptized ISth of 2d 
month, 1599, at Dorking, County of Surrey, 
England, son of John and Mary (Wood) of 
that place, and for a time in Holland, married 
Theodate, daughter of Stephen Batchelder, and 
came from London to New England in the 
same vessel with Mr. Batchelder, arriving at 
Boston in the "William and Francis," in 1633. 
He probably remained at Lynn, where his fa- 
ther-in-law was sometime minister, until 1636, 
then went to Newbury and there resided a year 
or two. He was deputy in 1637. was one of the 
original settlers of Hampton in 1638, at which 
time his mother was there with him, and was 
active and prominent in citizenship for mapy 
vears; was town clerk in 1650; selectman in 
1650-58-64-68 ; was known as both "lieutenant" 
and "captain" ; was one of the first deacons of 
the church: was deputy in 1658-59-60-72. Mr. 
Hussey was one of the nme purchasers of Nan- 
tucket, Mass., in 1659, but it is not known that 
he ever went to that island : he certainlv never 
lived there for any considerable time. He was 
empowered in 1659 to join in marriage persons 
within the limits of Hampton, if published 
previously. His wife died in 1649, and he mar- 
ried (second) in 1658 Ann, widow of Judge 
Jeffrey Gisgay, who died in 1680. He died 
March 6, 1686. His children were: Stephen, 
born in 1632; John, born in 1635: Mary, born 
in 1637: Theodate, born in 1640; Huldah, born 
in 1643; and Joseph. 



( II) Stephen Hussey, born in 1632, in Lynn, 
Mass. (being the second child bom there), mar- 
ried 8th of 10th month, 1676. Martha Bunker, 
born 1st of 11th month, 1656, daughter of 
George and Jane (Godfrey) Bunker. Mr. 
Hussey lived at Hampton, N. H., and Nan- 
tucket, Mass. He was for a time at Barbadoes, 
West Indies, and married late in life for those 
times. He and his brother John received in 
1671 a deed for Nantucket lands, and it was 
perhaps at this time that he went there to live. 
In 1694 he bought his brother's interest in the 
Nantucket lands which their father had deeded 
them. He united with the Society of Friends, 
being one of the seven persons who formed the 
first monthly meeting of Friends at Nantucket. 
He died 2d of 4th month, 1718, and was buried 
in the Friends" Butial Ground, Nantucket. His 
widow Martha passed away 21st of 9th month. 
1744. Their children were; Puella. born 10th 
of 10th month, 1677: Abigail, born 22d of 12th 
month, 1679 ; Silvanus, born 13th of 5th month, 
1682; Bachelor, born 18th of 2d month, 1685; 
Daniel, born 11th of 10th month, 1687; Mary, 
born 24th of 3d month, 1690; George, born 
21st of 6th month, 1694; and Theodate, born 
15th of 9th month, 1700. 

(III) Silvanus Hussey, born 13th of 5th 
month, 1682, married (first) 7th of 2d month, 
1702, Abial, daughter of John and Rachel 
(Gardner) Brown, who died in 1722, and he 
married (second) in 1723 Hepzibah, born 8th 
of 11th month, 1700, daughter of Nathaniel, 
Jr., and Dinali (Coffin) Starbuck. Mr. Hussey 
was a merchant of Nantucket, and one quite 
evidently of e.xtensive transactions. There 
were' thirty-six whales captured by boats from 
Nantucket in the spring of 1726, two of which 
number Mr. Hussev captured. He died 10th of 
2d month, 1767. His wife Hepzibah died 31st 
of 12th month, 1764. His children were: Obed, 
bom 25th of 6th month, 1708; Daniel; Rachel, 
horn 5th of 2d month, 1715; Jonathan, born 
21st of 8th month, 1718; Seth (all born to the 
first marriage) ; Christopher, born 3d of 11th 
month, 1724 : William, bom 10th of 12th month. 
1725 ; Batchelor, born 20th of 1st month, 1729 ; 
Nathaniel, born 2d of 1st month, 1731 ; 
Hepzibah. born 14th of 3d month, 1733; Sil- 
vanus. born 20th of 1st month, 1735; George, 
born 12tK of 7th month, 1738; and Joseph, 
born 20th of 7th month, 1740. 

(IV) Silvanus Hussey (2), bora 20th of 1st 
month, 1735, in Nantucket. Mass.. married 
(first) 10th month, 1756, Alice, daughter of 
Jeremiah and Theodate Gray, and (second) 
Lvdia, daughter of Samuel and Hepzibah 
(Hathaway) Wing. He died 26th of 7th month. 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



135 



1795, and Lydia passed away 1st of 8th month, 
1807. Their children were: Silvanus, bom in 
1784; George, born 2d of 3d month, 1791; 
William, born in 1793; and Samuel. 

(V) George Hussey, born 2d of 3d month, 
1791, in Lynn, Mass., married Jan. 11, 1821, 
Hetty Howland, born 3d of 3d month, 1795, 
daughter of William and Abigail (Wilbur) 
Howland, he born in 1756 and died in 1840, 
being a direct descendant of Henry Howland, 
one of the three Howlands — John, Arthur and 
Henry — who came to Plymouth probably be- 
fore 1625, John being one of the passengers 
on the "Mayiiower," 1620; Henry and Arthur 
were brothers, and it is thought by some all 
three sustained that relationship. From Henry 
Howland, who was a man of thrift, uprightness 
and one distinguished in civil affairs, often 
holding public office, the lineage of William 
Howland was through Zoeth and Abigail ; 
Benjamin (1657-1727) and his wife Judith 
(Sampson) ; Barnabas (1699-1773) and his 
wife Rebecca (Lapham) (1707-1736) ; and 
Gideon (1734-1823) and his wife Sarah 
(Hicks) (1736-1824). 

The children born to George and Hetty 
Hussey were : William H., born Jan. 24, 1824 ; 
John B. and Abby H., twins, born April 4, 1826, 
the former dying in August, 1909, the latter 
March 30, 1899; George, born Nov. 21, 1828, 
who died May 23, 1872; Elizabeth B., born 
Jan. 21, 1831, who was married Sept. 15, 1853, 
and died Oct. 16, 1906; Sarah H., born Jan. 
10, 1834; and Mary B., born Aug. 24, 1837, 
who died Dec. 25, 1839. 

George Hussey belonged to that galaxy of 
men who in the first half of the nineteenth 
century made names and places for themselves 
in the history of New Bedford and made the 
city famous, who as ship merchants, whalers 
and in occupations connected with that great 
industry accumulated large fortunes. He came 
to New Bedford from New York in about 1842, 
and in New Bedford was largely engaged in 
the merchant marine service as owner and cap- 
tain. From 1849 to 1866 Mr. Hussey was one 
of the directors of the old Bedford Commercial 
Bank, which was organized in 1816, and re- 
organized as the National Bank of Commerce 
in 1864 with a capital of a million dollars. His 
death occurred Jan. 18, 1868, at his home on 
County street, when he was aged seventy-seven 
years. 

(VI) George Hussey. Jr., son of George 
and Hetty (Howland) Hussey, born Nov. 21, 
1828, in New York City, finished his schooling 
at, Haverford College, in Pennsylvania, and 
then became associated in business with his 



father, who, as stated, was largely engaged as 
a ship merchant and in the whaling industry. 
He so continued through the remaining years 
of the father's lifetime, but not to any great 
extent after the latter's death. He was a man 
of sterling character and engaging manner and 
in his comparatively short career made and 
held many friends. 

On Nov. 5, 1855, Mr. Hussey was married to 
Elizabeth Rodman Morgan, and the union was 
blessed with children as follows: (1) Charles 
Morgan married Clara Almy Wing, daughter of 
William R. and Rebecca (Howland) Wing, and 
they have had four children, born, respectively : 
Rebecca W., Oct. 27, 1886; Elizabeth M., Jan. 
22, 1888; George, Sept. 1, 1891; Charles M., 
Jr., April 5, 1898, and died Nov. 15, 1908. 
(2) Emily Morgan. (3) Alice, born Jan. 31, 
1863, married Sept. 12, 1888, Henry M. Plum- 
mer, of Sharon, Mass., and they have had four 
children: Charles W., born May 25, 1890; 
Henry M., June 27, 1892; Morgan Hussey, 
March 2, 1894; and Thomas R., Oct. 11, 1900. 
(4) Rev. Alfred Rodman, born March 22, 1870, 
is pastor of a Unitarian Church at Baltimore, 
Md. He married Jan. 16, 1898, Mary L. 
Warren, of Dedham, and they have had four 
children: Margaret W., born Sept. 27, 1900; 
A. Rodman, Jr., Feb. 1, 1902; Mary Elizabeth, 
Nov. 15, 1905; and Emily M., Dec. 13, 1908. 

George Hussey, Jr., died suddenly at his 
summer home in Lakeville, Mass., May 23, 1872, 
in the forty-fourth year of his age. 

Charles Waln Morgan, father of Mrs. 
Elizabeth Rodman (Morgan) Hussey, was a 
native of Philadelphia, where he was born Sept. 
14, 1796, son of Thomas and Anne (Wain) 
Morgan. Locating in New Bedford in 1819, 
he soon became an extensive ship merchant in 
lines connected with the whaling industry and 
amassed a fortune, being one of the forty-six 
wealthy men of New Bedford in the fifties, 
among whom were Allen, Anthony, Arnold, 
Ashmead, Crocker, Delano, the Hathaways, the 
Howlands, the Rodmans, Rotch, Robinson and 
others, some of whom became millionaires dur- 
ing their active lives. 

Mr. Morgan was one of the incorporators of 
the New Bedford Institution for Savings in' 
1825. He was one of the building committee 
in 1836-38 of the church edifice of the First 
Congregational Society at New Bedford ; was 
one of the founders of ithe New Bedford Lyceum 
in 1828. He contributed toward the establish- 
ment of the Friends' Academy at New Bedford. 
He gave the second trust fund to the New Bed- 
ford Free Public Library, which was established 
under the act of 1851, George Howland, Jr., 



136 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



having given the first, and the portraits of both 
Morgan and Howland, with a number of others, 
now hang in the library. 

On June 3, 1819, Mr. Morgan married Sarah, 
born Oct. 31, 1793, died Sept. 26, 1888, daugh- 
ter of Samuel and Elizabeth (Rotch) Rodman 
and a direct descendant of John Rodman, of 
Barbadoes, who died there in the fall or winter 
of 1686 and who may have been the John Rod- 
man who was banished from Ireland in 1655 
"for wearing his hat in the Assizes in New 
Ro«s," from whom her descent is through 
Thomas Rodman (1640-1728) of Barbadoes and 
Newport, R. I., member of the Society of 
Friends and clerk of the monthly, quarterly and 
yearly meetings of Rhode Island, for some thirty 
years, etc., and his wife Hannah, daughter of 
"Gov. Walter Clarke; Samuel Rodman (1703- 
1749) and his wife Mary (Willetts), daughter 
of Col. Thomas Willetts, of Flushing, L. I.; 
Thomas Rodman (2) (1724-1766) and his wife 
Mary (Borden), and Samuel Rodman (2) 
(1753-1835) and his wife Elizabeth (Rotch) 
(Dec. 9, 1757-Aug. 2, 1856). 

The children born to Charles W. and Sarah 
(Rodman) Morgan were: Emily, born Dec. 31, 
1821. was the first wife of William J. Rotch, 
and died in 1863 ; Samuel Rodman, born Aug. 
18, 1824, married Josephine Wharton Craig, of 
Philadelphia; Isabel, horn Oct. 21, 1829, died 
May 18, 1847; Elizabeth Rodman was born Feb. 
20, 1833; Clara, born Dec. 1, 1836. became the 
second wife of William J. Rotch. 

Mr. Morgan died April 7, 1861, at his home 
on County street in New Bedford, Mass., and 
on that occasion the New Bedford Mercury said 
of him editorially: "He came from Phila- 
delphia to this city many years ago and at once 
took a prominent place in our community as an 
active and intelligent merchant, in which pur- 
suit he has since been successfully engaged. His 
character was marked with the most exact prob- 
ity and bountiful liberality, and his loss will be 
deeply deplored throughout this community." 

COUCH (Taunton family). The family bear- 
ing this name at Taunton whose representative 
head is now Leonard Crocker Couch, Esq., who 
since bovhood has been a resident of the city, 
occupied in mechanical and business lines, and 
for years one of the substantial men and useful 
citizens of the community, is one of long and 
honorable standing in the neighboring State 
of Connecticut and of distinction in our coun- 
try. And through its Taunton alliance of a 
generation ago — that of Maj. Gen. Darius Nash 
Couch, of Civil war fame, the father of the 
present Leonard Crocker Couch just alluded 
to — with the family of Crockers, it is connected 



with some of the first families of Ancient Taun- 
ton and of the Bay State, among them the 
Leonards. 

(I) Simon Coucli, ancestor of the Taunton 
family of the name, appears as a freeman of 
Fairfield, Conn., in October, 1664. From man- 
uscript in the possession of a descendant a tradi- 
tion is found that Thomas and Simon Couch 
ran away from England, secreting themselves 
on board a vessel; sailed for America; that 
they landed at New Haven, where they sep- 
arated, Thomas going to the east and Simon 
westward as far as Greens Farms, etc. Simon 
Couch married Mary, daughter of Francis An- 
drews, of Bankside. He became a large land- 
holder at Greens Farms. His will was pro- 
bated in 1689. He was buried on land belong- 
ing to him at Frost Point, looking out over 
the sound, which he had set apart as a family 
burying ground and which was long known as 
the Couch Burial Hill. His wife survived him, 
dying in 1691. In his will are mentioned chil- 
dren: Thomas, Simon, Samuel, Mary, Mar- 
tha, Sarah and Hannah. 

From this Simon Couch the lineage of the 
Taunton family is through Simon (2), 
Thomas, Thomas (2), Thomas (3), Jonathan 
and Maj. Gen. Darius Nash Couch. These 
generations more in detail and in regular order 
follow. 

(II) Simon Couch (2) received by the will 
of his father the greater part of the homestead 
and became a prominent man at Greens Farms, 
active in political, church and educational af- 
fairs. He owTied nearly the entire district 
which took his name, Couch's Hill. He mar- 
ried Abigail Sturges, daughter of John, mem- 
ber of a notable Fairfield family. His children 
mentioned in his will, which was made March 
2, 1712-13, and probated in April following, 
were: Abigail, born Jan. 31, 1694; Thomas, 
June 9, 1695; Simon, July 6, 1697; Hannah, 
Aug. 30, 1699; Sarah, March 30, 1706; Isa- 
belle, Sept. 17, 1708; Deborah, March 30, 1710. 

(III) Thomas Couch, son of Simon (2), 
married Dec. 17, 1721, Sarah, daughter of Gid- 
eon Allen. He settled at Greens Farms. His 
children were : Sarah, born in 1723 ; Thomas ; 
Thomas (2), born Nov. 28, 1725; and Simon, 
who married Abigail Jennings. 

(IV') Thomas Couch (2), son of Thomas, 
married Feb. 25, 1750, Elizabeth, born Feb. 
13, 1728, daughter of Edward Jessup, of Fair- 
field. Their children were : Thomas, horn 
Feb. 12, 1751; Simon, born Nov. 6, 1752; 
Sarah, born March 30, 1754; Elizabeth, born 
Jan. 23, 1756; Gideon, born Sept. 12, 1757; 
Mary, baptized May 15, 1760; and Stephen, 
born May 4, 1763. Of these, Simon settled in 



fJT. 




•^^ 




^^OSTO/yJs 
(' PUBLIC 



^"^■' iy 'i£ &-M3 .iv^.<..»^v; if ' * 




SOUTHEASTERIsr MASSACHUSETTS 



137 



Redding, Conn., on Umpawaug Hill. He mar- 
ried Eleanor, daughter of Jonathan Nash; two 
of their sons, Simon and Jessup, both gradu- 
ates of Yale, removed to Ohio, Simon settling 
at Marion, in the practice of medicine, and 
Jessup at Chillicothe, in the practice of law, 
beginning his professional career in 1804 and 
becoming judge of the Supreme court of Ohio 
in 1815; in the war of 1812 he was aide-de- 
camp to Governor Meigs of Ohio, and was the 
bearer of dispatches to General Hull. 

(V) Thomas Couch (3), born Feb. 12, 1751, 
married April 2, 1772, Sarah, daughter of 
Jonathan Nash, of Fairfield, Conn. Mr. 
Couch settled in Eedding about the time his 
brother Simon did. "At the outbreak of the 
Revolution he enlisted in the Patriot army and 
was one of the band of heroes present with 
Montgomery at the siege of Quebec. He left 
his wife with their young children in Fairfield. 
When Tryon moved on that town Mrs. Couch 
had what furniture and grain she could gather 
put in an ox-cart drawn by two yoke of oxen 
and started for Redding, where she owned 
land in her own right. She followed on horse- 
back, carrying her two children in her arms. 
At the close of the war her husband joined her 
in Redding, where they continued to live 
through the rest of their lives." He died 
March 16, 1817. Their children were: Sarah, 
born Aug. 9, 1773 (who died when young) ; 
Thomas, Sept. 23, 1774; Jonathan, Sept. (or 
Feb.) 13, 1777; Sarah, Sept. 18, 1779; Nathan, 
Dec. 14, 1783 : Esther, Oct. 2, 1786 ; Edward, 
March 7, 1789; Hezekiah, March 14, 1791; 
Mary, April 21, 1793; and John, 1795. 

(VI) Jonathan Couch, born Feb. (or Sept.) 
13, 1777, married Betsey Penney. 

(VII) Darius Nash Couch, son of Jona- 
than and Betsey (Penney) Couch, was born 
July 23, 1822, in the southeast part of Put- 
nam county, N. Y., and in due time entered 
the United States military academy, from 
which he was graduated in 1846. In his class 
were many who became commanders of note 
on both sides in the Civil war, among them 
being Generals Grant, McClellan, Franklin, 
Reno, Hancock, Foster, Storeman, Burnside 
and "Stonewall" Jackson. On his graduation 
from West Point he was assigned to the 4th 
Artillery, with which he served in the Mexican 
war, gaining the brevet of first lieutenant, 23d 
of February, 1847, for gallant conduct at 
Buena Vista. He received his full commission 
on Dec. 4, served against the Seminoles in 
1849-50, and in 1853, when on leave of ab- 
sence, made an exploring expedition into Mex- 
ico, which is thus mentioned in the United 



States Senate reports of "Explorations and 
Surveys for a Railroad from the Mississippi 
River to the Pacific Ocean" (1853-56), Vol. 
IX: "Should there be two species, and the 
smaller not named, I shall propose to call it 
C. Couchii, in honor of its indefatigable dis- 
coverer, Lieut. D. N. Couch, who at his own 
risk and cost undertook a journey into north- 
ern Mexico, when the country was swarming 
with bands of marauders, and made large col- 
lections in all branches of zoology, which have 
furnished a great amount of information re- 
specting the natural history of our borders, 
and the geographical distribution of vertebrata 
generally." Lieutenant Couch wrote an ac- 
count of his expedition entitled "Notes of 
Travel," but' it is still in manuscript. 

On April 30, 1855, Lieutenant Couch re- 
signed, was a merchant in New York City in 
1855-57, and engaged in manufacturing at 
Norton, Mass., from 1858 until the beginning 
of the Civil war. 

In 1861, on the outbreak of the war. Lieu- 
tenant Couch raised the 7th Massachusetts Reg- 
iment, of which he was appointed colonel and 
which he took to Washington in July of that 
year. He was appointed brigadier general to 
date from May 17, 1861, and served at the de- 
fences of Washington during the next year, and 
was in command of the 1st Division of the 4th 
Army Corps in McClellan's Peninsular cam- 
paign. He distinguished himself at the bat- 
tles of Fair Oaks and Malvern Hill. In the 
battle of Williamsburg he made the successful 
reconnaissance by which McClellan learned 
that the enemy had retired. At Malvern Hill 
he commanded the left of the army. On July 
4, 1862, General Couch was promoted to major 
general of volunteers and commanded a divi- 
sion in Pope's army on the retreat from Man- 
assas, was in the attack on Maryland Heights 
at Harper's Ferry, Sept. 17, 1862, and on the 
two following days followed Lee's retreat to 
Antietam. In October he was put in command 
of the 2d Corps, and was in the Rappahannock 
campaign in October and November. He com- 
manded the same corps until June, 1863, be- 
ing engaged in the battles of Fredericksburg 
and Chancellorsville in the previous December. 
From June 11, 1863, until Dec. 1. 1864, he 
commanded the Department of the Susque- 
hanna and was engaged in reorganizing the 
militia of Pennsylvania. On Dec. 15, 1864, he 
wrfs at Nashville, Tenn., where he assembled 
and successfully carried Hood's extreme left. 
Toward the close of the war General Couch 
was in Schofield's army in North Carolina, and 
he resigned from the army May 26, 1865. Dur- 



138 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



ing his service he was wounded several times, 
and had horses shot under him. 

General Couch was the unsuccessful Demo- 
cratic candidate for governor of Massachusetts 
in 1865. He was collector of the port of Bos- 
ton from Oct. 1, 1866, to March 4, 1867, when 
the failure of the Senate to confirm his ap- 
pointment forced him to vacate the office. He 
became president of a Virginia Mining and 
Manufacturing Company in 1867, but subse- 
quently removed to Norwalk, Conn., where he 
afterward resided. He was quartermaster-gen- 
eral of the State of Connecticut in 1877-78, 
and adjutant general in 1883-84. 

In 1854 General Couch married Mary Caro- 
line, eldest daughter of Samuel L. Crocker, of 
Taunton, Mass. The children born to them 
were : Alice Leavenworth, who married in 
1881 H. LeRoy Randall, of New Milford, 
Conn. ; and Leonard Crocker, who married Ce- 
cilia May Francis. 

Mrs. Mary Caroline (Crocker) Couch was a 
direct descendant of the distinguished Crocker 
and Leonard families of Taunton, the progeni- 
tors of which were William Crocker, of Scitu- 
ate, and James Leonard, of Lynn and Taun- 
ton ; the house of Crocker or Croker being an 
ancient family seated at Crokers Hele and Cro- 
kern Foe, in Devonshire, England, and by 
marriage with the heiress of Chiirchill became 
possessed of Lineham ; while the Leonards, it 
has been said, are of the family of Lennard, 
Lord Dacre, one of the most distinguished fam- 
ilies of the nobility in the United Kingdom 
and descended in two lines from Edward IIL 

Rev. Josiah Crocker, the third Josiah in di- 
rect line from William Crocker, of Scituate, 
and a graduate of Harvard College, class of 
1738, became the settled pastor of the church 
in Taunton, and continued there in the active 
ministry for upward of twenty years. From 
this Rev. Josiah Crocker the descent of Leon- 
ard Crocker Couch of Taunton is through Jo- 
siah Crocker and his wife Abigail (Leonard), 
Samuel L. Crocker and wife Hannah 
(Thomas) and Mary Caroline (Crocker) 
Couch; and through Abigail (Leonard) 
Crocker his descent from James Leonard, of 
Lynn and Taunton, is through James (2). 
James (3), Stephen and Maj. Zephaniah Leon- 
ard. 

(VIII) Leonard Crocker Couch, son of 
Maj. Gen. Darius Nash and Mary Caroline 
(Crocker) Couch, was born Sept. 26, 1856,. in 
the city of Brooklyn, N. Y. He acquired his 
education at Norwalk, Conn., and in 1875 he 
went to New England, and in the town of his 
maternal ancestors and the scenes of his father's 



earlier operations, at Taunton, entered the em- 
ploy of the Taunton Locomotive Manufactur- 
ing Company, beginning there the trade of a 
machinist. By his diligence and application 
he soon won promotion after promotion, until 
he became superintendent of the locomotive 
department of the plant and had charge of 
the draftmg room. He continued his services 
with this concern until they discontinued the 
department of locomotive building. His next 
experience, and immediately following his con- 
nection with the Taunton Locomotive Manu- 
facturing Company, was as chief draftsman for 
the Fitchburg Railroad Company, in the loco- 
motive department. With this company he re- 
mained one year. In 1890, after the death of 
the late Andrew S. Briggs, of Taunton, Mr. 
Couch bought the insurance business formerly 
carried on by that gentleman, and has since 
been actively engaged in its conduct. Mr. 
Couch was park commissioner in 1894, in 1896 
and again took that office in 1910, being now 
chairman of the board ; he was license commis- 
sioner in 1894 and 1895. He was a member 
of tlie board of aldermen from 1900 to 1904 
inclusive, and in the council in 1905 and 1906. 
He is a member of the Aztec Club of 1847, of 
the Sons of the American Revolution and of 
the Sons of Veterans, U. S. A. ; he has been a 
member of the last named order for twenty 
years, and was commander of the Massachu- 
setts Division in 1898. 

In April, 1882, Mr. Couch was married to 
Cecilia May Francis, who died May 20, 1894. 
They had children: Cecil Thomas, Caroline 
Avis and Darius Nash (died in July, 1893). 
On March 28, 1908, Mr. Couch married (sec- 
ond) Mrs. Eliza A. Scofield, of Norwalk, Con- 
necticut. 

DWELLY (Fall River family). The name 
Dwelly is an uncommon one and the family not 
numerous in New England annals. The Fall 
River Dwelly family is a branch of the Rhode 
Island family and it of the Scituate (Mass.) 
family, the immediate Fall River family here 
considered being that of Dr. Jerome Dwelly, 
who for some threescore or more years has 
administered to the ailments of humanity in 
and about Fall River, where he has most surely 
been to this people the "beloved physician" and 
one of the city's substantial men. In the suc- 
ceeding generation, one of his sons — the late 
Frank H. Dwelly — was the treasurer of both 
the Tecumseh ^lills and the Ancona Company, 
extensive manufacturing concerns of Fall River. 

Here follows in detail and chronologically 
arranged from the first known American an- 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



139 



lestor of the family the history of this Fall 
River branch of the Dwelly family. 

(I) Richard Dwelly, of Scituate in 1665, or 
earlier, probably the same who was in Lancaster 
in 1654, and in Hingham in 1663, sold his 
estate in Hingham and removed to Scituate. His 
farm in the latter place was on the road leading 
from the third Herring brook to the harbor. 
For service in King Philip's war he received 
a grant of land between Cornet's mill and the 
Plymouth road. He had meadow land at Till's 
creek, which stream later took his name. He 
died in 1692. Besides Mary, baptized in 1664, 
at Hingham, he had children, Richard, Samuel 
and John. Of these, Samuel died in Phipps's 
expedition to Canada in 1690. John married 
in 1693 Rachel Buck, and they had a large 
family of children, most of whom lived in Han- 
over. 

(II) Richard Dwelly (2), son of Richard, 
married (first) April 4, 1682, Eamie, daughter 
of Roger Glase, of Duxbury, and (second) in 
1690 Elizabeth Simmons. He died Dec. 24, 
1708. His children were : Mary, born in 1684 ; 
Richard, born in 1685 ; Elizabeth, born in 1687 ; 
Joshua, born in 1689 ; Ruth, born in 1691 ; 
Samuel, born in 1693; Lydia, born in 1695; 
and Margaret, born in 1696. 

(III) Joshua Dwelly, son of Richard (2), 
born in 1689, is said to have removed to Swansea 
and later to Tiverton, R. I. The town records 
of Tiverton show the children of Joshua and 
Alee Dwelly as: Mary, born March 13, 1749; 
Richard, born April 2, 1751; Deborah, born 
May 20, 1753; Jeremiah, born May 21, 1755; 
Roda, born Sept. 17, 1759; Pearce, born Aug. 
IS, 1761; and Thankful, born July 4, 1766. 

(IV) Richard Dwellv, son of .Toslnia and 
Alee, born April 2, 1751, probably in Tiverton, 
R. I., married (first) Elizabeth and (second) 
Phebe, and lived in Tiverton, R. I., until about 
1802, when he removed to the State of New 
York, settling in Eagle Valley, in the new town 
of Manlius, in the new county of Onondaga. 
His children of record in Tiverton were: Sarah, 
born Feb. 11, 1777; George, born June 25, 
1779; Godfree, born March 12, 1781 (all to 
the first marriage) ; Seneca, born Oct. 8, 1786; 
Elce, born Aug. 9, 1788; Daniel, born June 8, 
1790; Marv, born March 18, 1792; and 
Jonathan, born Feb. 9, 1794-95. 

(V) Daniel Dwelly, son of Richard, born 
June 8, 1790, in Tiverton, R. I., married April 
12, 1813, Mary Borden Slade, born March 3, 
1795. daughter of Jonathan and Patience 
Slade. Mr. Dwelly accompanied his parents 
on their removal from Tiverton, R. I., to Man- 
lius, N. Y., but in later years returned to Tiver- 



ton, where he married and where were born 
his children, they being : Edwin, born Jan. 10, 
1814; Phebe Ann, born Oct. 27, 1815; Patience 
B., born May 27, 1817; Jerome, born Jan. 21, 
1823; Daniel, born Oct. 2, 1825; Leander, born 
Sept. 24, 1827; Jonathan S., born April 4, 
1830 ; and Richard, born Sept. 24, 1832. 

(VI) Jekome Dwelly. M. D., son of Daniel 
and Mary Borden (Slade) Dwelly, was born 
Jan. 21, 1823, some four and a half miles from 
tlie city of Fall River, in the town of Tiverton, 
R. I. Having become lame when quite young, 
he was sent io school at- Fall River, and subse- 
quently to Peirce Academy, in Middleboro, 
Mass., to prepare himself for college, with the 
idea of becoming a lawyer. After studying 
some three years, owing to ill health he was 
obliged to discontinue his studies for several 
years, and in the meantime his mind became 
changed and his thoughts directed to the study 
of medicine. Taking up the study of medicine 
under the direction of Dr. Thomas Wilbur, of 
Fall River, he later furthered his studies in the 
office of Dr. William E. Townsend, of Boston, 
whose father. Dr. Solomon D. Townsend, was 
then one of the surgeons of the Massachusetts 
General Hospital. While in Boston with Dr. 
Townsend he acted as assistant to his instructor, 
who was then one of the physicians of the Bos- 
ton Dispensary. Here he witnessed the use of 
sulphuric ether as an anesthetic. It had but 
recently come into use at the Massachusetts 
General Hospital. In May, 1817, while attend- 
ing an obstetrical case of an o^it-patient of the 
dispensary, under the care of Dr. Townsend, 
the use of instruments became necessary to save 
the patient's life. Ether was administered, and 
the operation, which proved difficult, was per- 
formed by Dr. Channing, professor of obstetrics 
in Harvard Medical College. This was perhaps 
the first case of the kind in the State, and was 
reported as such by Dr. Channing. 

Dr. Dwellv took his medical degree at 
Harvard Medical School, being: graduated there- 
from .\ug. 25, 1847, and as it was but a short 
time before that the case above described hap- 
pened he took as his graduation thesis "Sul- 
phuric Ether," in which he suggested that the 
inhalation of sulphuric ether would prove of 
great value in the reduction of fractures and 
dislocations on account of its powerful effects 
in producing muscular relaxation. 

Returning to Fall River after his graduation 
he began the practice of his profession there 
Sept. 1, 1847, his office being at the corner of 
South Main and Pocasset streets. Up to this 
time ether had not been used as an anesthetic 
in Fall River, and very little elsewhere except 



140 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



at the hospital. Dr. Dwelly, however, resolved 
to put it into practice at the first opportunity 
offered; this was in November, of that year, 
1847. A boy had a piece of wood two and a 
half inches long thrust into his back, and break- 
ing off it became deeply and firmly imbedded 
under the muscles of the spine. A deep incision 
became necessary to dislodge it, which was made 
by Dr. Dwelly after having first administered 
ether, and the piece of wood was removed while 
the patient was unconscious of any pain. Dr. 
Crary, at that time a surgeon of much repute 
in Fall River, was present, and expressed much 
gratification and surprise at the effects of the 
ether. This was without doubt the first use 
of ether in a cutting operation in this part of 
Massachusetts. 

On the inauguration of the city government 
in Fall River Dr. Dwelly was appointed the first 
city physician and served in that capacity 
through the cholera epidemic of 1854. Soon 
after the close of the Civil war he was appointed 
United States examining surgeon for pensions, 
which position he held for nearly thirty years. 
On the passage of the medical examiners' law 
of Massachusetts he was appointed to the office 
of medical examiner and for fourteen years con- 
tinued as such. Dr. Dwelly was a member of 
the Fall River school board for about twenty 
years. He was a member of the Massachusetts 
Medical Society and served as president of the 
Bristol County South Medical Society. 

Dr. Dwelly has been continuously in the 
active practice of his profession at Fall River 
and vicinity for over sixty-two years, excepting 
the years from 1849 to 1851, which time he 
passed in California. The charm of his con- 
versation and the cheerfulness of his manner 
have always brought hope and encouragement 
to the sick room ; and this no doubt has had 
its effect on the Doctor's great success. 

On Oct. 18, 1848, Dr. Dwelly married Janette 
A. Cook, who was bom April 4, 1829, daughter 
of George and Avis (Jennings) Cook, of Fall 
River, and fifty years thereafter they celebrated 
their golden wedding. The following children 
have been born to them: (1) Edwin J., born 
July 17, 1849, died Sept. 15, 1852. (2) Frank 
Henry is mentioned below. (3) Arthur Jerome, 
born March 16, 1855. was for many years super- 
intendent of the Slade Mills, Fall River, and 
later superintendent of the North Pownal 
Manufacturing Company, at North Pownal, 
Vt. He died Jan. 20, 1898. On July 2, 1884, 
he married Julia A. Thompson, daughter of 
James and Betsey (Slade) Thompson, and they 
had three children, born as follows : Avis 



Janette, March 6, 1886 (now wife of Dr. Forest 
L. Leland, of Boston) ; Edwin Slade, March 27, 
1889; and Marion Louise, Nov. 34, 1891 (now 
wife of Arthur Wilcox, of Fall River). (4) Avis 
Jennings, born March 29, 1858, married (first) 
in November, 1880, Charles P. Seabury, Jr., of 
New Bedford, and had one son, Richard, born 
Oct. 19, 1888, who died in 1890. Her second 
marriage, in 1898, was to Charles B. Woodman, 
of Fall River. (5) Frederick Osborn, born 
June 1, 1861, is connected with the city govern- 
ment of Fall River. (6) Mary Borden was 
born Nov. 18, 1869. 

(VII) Fr.\nk Henry Dwelly, son of Dr. 
Jerome and Janette A. (Cook) Dwelly, was 
born in Fall River Aug. 31, 1852. He attended 
the local public schools until eighteen years 
of age, when, leaving the high school, he en- 
tered the office of the Tecumseh Mills. He be- 
came acquainted with manufacturing while 
holding an assistant clerkship in the mills and 
determined upon a mill career. After succeed- 
ing Edward H. B. Brow as clerk of the mills, 
he became, in 1883, the treasurer, which office 
he ever after held. In July, 1903, he was 
elected treasurer of the Ancona Mills, in this 
as in his earlier position proving his surpassing 
ability in mill management. He was considered 
one of the ablest mill managers in the city and 
handled the corporations with which he was 
connected with marked success. Quiet but 
progressive in business, hi^ knowledge of his 
work extended to the utmost detail, and his at- 
tention to business was exact and highly in- 
telligent. He was a shrewd trader, always 
thoroughly informed upon the condition of the 
markets, and was able to make profit in the 
face of business conditions which brought 
losses to other corporations similarly circum- 
stanced. Those whom he served were conscious 
tliat he was giving them his best services. The 
new of his death, which occurred Jan. 25, 1908, 
caused general regret at the loss of a faithful 
and efficient man and exemplary citizen. His 
success was made only by hard work and he 
rose by his own merit. For five or six years, 
during- the eighties, he was a director of the 
Massasoit National Bank. He was a Mason, 
and a member of the Quequechan Club. In 
politics he was a Republican. 

On March 19, 1885, Mr. Dwelly was married 
to Mary A. Henry, who was born Dec. 14, 1856, 
daughter of James and Martha (Whitaker) 
Henry, and died Jan. 18, 1904, leaving one 
daughter, Martha Jeannette. born July 8, 1887, 
who married April 24, 1907, Andrew H. Gard- 
ner, of Fall River. 



SOUTHEASTEEN MASSACHUSETTS 



141 



JOHN PAULL, for over fifty years at the 
head of the firm of John Paull & (Jo., hay and 
grain dealers in Taunton, was throughout that 
long period a business man of the highest stand- 
ing, trusted by all who had relations with him. 
His honorable methods and upright standards 
were recognized by all his associates. His suc- 
cess evidenced his ability and placed him among 
the leading men of the community, although 
he did not identify iiimself particularly with 
its affairs outside the field of commerce. 

The Paull family of which John Paull was a 
descendant is one of the oldest and best known 
among the old families of Southeastern Massa- 
chusetts. The first of tlije name in -New Eng- 
land, 

(I) William Paull, was, according to tra- 
dition, a native of Scotland, and was a weaver 
by occupation. He located in Taunton, where 
he was an early inhabitant, where also was 
Eichard Paull, who was supposed to have been 
a brother of William. William Paull married 
Mary Eichmond, daughter of John Eichmond, 
of Taunton. He became one of the original 
proprietors of what was known as "Taunton 
South Purchase," which was purchased from 
the Indians in 1672. He was a large landowner 
in that territory which in 1713 was incorporated 
as the town of Dighton, Mass. He died, accord- 
ing to the inscription on tombstone, on Nov. 
9, 1704, aged eighty years, while his wife Mary 
died Oct. 3, 1715, aged seventy-six years. Their 
children were: James, born April 7, 1657; 
John, July 10, 1660; Edward, Feb. 7, 1665; 
Mary, Feb. 8. 1667; Sarali. July 5, 1668; 
Abigail, May 15, 1673. 

(II) James Paull, son of William, was born 
April 7, 1657. He settled in what is now the 
town of Dighton, where he was a landowner and 

farmer. He married Mary ■, and 

died before Jan. 14, 1724-25. He was one of 
the twenty-six proprietors of the South Pur- 
chase, Dighton, owning three shares. Among 
the children of James and Mary was a son Wil- 
liam. 

(III) William Paull (2), son of James, was 

born in 1687. He married Mary , 

and died in 1733-34. He lived in Dighton, 
where he was a landowner and farmer. Chil- 
dren (or among them) were: William, John 
and James. 

(IV) James Paull (2), son of William and 
Mary, was born in 1723, in Dighton. He mar- 
ried Sarah White and among their children 
were : Benjamin, John and Peter White. Mr. 
Paull, according to his great-grandson, after 
his marriage moved to Putney, Vt., but later 
went back to Dighton and there lived for a 



time with his son Peter White Paull. He, how- 
ever, again returned to Vermont and there died. 
His son John Paull was one of the twelve men 
who, under Colonel Barton, captured the British 
commander Prescott during the Eevolution. 

(V) Peter White Paull, son of James and 
Sarah (White) Paull, was born Nov. 30, 1760, 
in Dighton, where he followed farming. He 
married (first) intentions of marriage being 
published March 1, 1783, Silence Briggs, of 
Berkley. She died May 7, 1795, and he mar- 
ried (second) Hannah . Mr. Paull 

lived in Dighton until his death, wliich occurred 
m January, 1814, his death being caused by 
an accident, he falling from a load of hay. 
Children: Sally, born Aug. 25, 1784; Peter, 
born March 7, 1787; Benjamin, born Dec. 20, 
1789; James, born March 18, 1791 (all born 
to the first marriage) ; Elisha King, born Dec. 
14, 1798, died May 7, 1824; John, born April 
25, 1800, died April 9, 1822; and Job, born 
July 15, 1801. Hannah, the mother of the 
several last named children, died Oct. 7, 1822. 

(VI) Benjamin Paull, son of Peter Wliite 
and Silence (Briggs) Paull, was born Dec. 20, 
1789, in Dighton, Mass. Here he grew to man- 
hood and learned the trade of stone mason, 
which he made his life trade, working in 
Dighton and then in Taunton, where he finally 
took up his home. He died in September, 1847, 
and was buried in the Dighton cemetery in 
Dighton. Mr. Paull in 1814 married Mary 
Hathaway, born June 9, 1791, daughter of Isaac 
Hathaway, of Dighton. She died March 27, 1859, 
and is also buried in the Dighton cemetery. 
Their children were : Benjamin H.,born Jan. 12, 
1815, died in Taunton; Alfred W., born Feb. 
11, 1817, was a well known grain dealer in 
Taunton and died June 2, 1881 ; Mary A., born 
March 16, 1819, married Loring Coggeshall; 
Emily Jane, born Aug. 9, 1821, married Elkanah 
Lincoln (both are deceased) ; Bathsheba H., 
born July 23, 1823, married C'apt. Jacob Burt 
(she died Aug. 20, 1847) : Abbie L., born May 
16, 1825, -married (first) Ebenezer Walker and 
(second) Franklin Cobb, deceased (she is living 
in Taunton) ; Nancy A., born Oct. 28, 1826, 
married Lauriston French; John, born Jan. 4, 
1829, and Charles H., born Jan. 26, 1831. 

(VII) John Paull, son of Benjamin and 
Mary (Hathaway) Paull, was born Jan. 4, 1829, 
at Berkley, Mass. He followed various occupa- 
tions in his youth and early manhood, and with 
his brother Charles went out to the California 
gold fields with the "forty-niners," Charles 
spending two years, and John five years in that 
region. They met with success enough to give 
them a start in business, for on their return 



143 



SOUTHEASTEEN MASSACHUSETTS 



home they worked for their brother Alfred 
Paull, who was engaged in the grain business 
at the Weirs. They later bought out his interest 
and conducted the business under the name of 
John Paull & Co., building up through their 
own efforts one of the best paying businesses of 
its kind in this section of the State. In con- 
nection with the grain and hay business they 
supplied provisions and groceries to the vessels 
which came up the river with produce. Mr. 
Paull continued to give his full time and at- 
tention to his business to the very end of his 
long life, for though he lived to his eightieth 
year, he was found daily at his post of duty, 
working as faithfully as in his younger days. 
In fact, his death occurred suddenly, while at 
his place of business on West Water street, 
April 11, 1908. He was buried in Mayflower 
Hill cemetery. 

Mr. Paull married May 16, 1859, in Taunton, 
Abbie Frances Gushee, who was born in Weir 
village in the town of Taunton, daughter of 
Artemas and Abby (Leonard) Gushee, and 
granddaughter of Samuel Gushee, and Abiatha 
and Sarah (Dean) Leonard. Mr. and Mrs. 
Paull became the parents of three children : 
(1) John Francis died young. (2) Edward 
Curtis, traveling salesman, married Jennie 
Monks of Rockford, 111., and they have two 
children, Merle Hastings, M. D., of Boston, and 
John Ralph, a student at Yale, class of 1912. 
(3) Lillian Hathaway married Edward G. 
Hall, of Taunton, Massachusetts. 

Mr. Paull was well known and very highly 
respected for his high moral worth, not only 
as it characterized his business dealings, but 
also as shown in his Christian life. He was un- 
assuming in his manner and quiet in his tastes, 
enjoyinsf home life and temperate pleasures. 
He belonged to the Old Colony Historical So- 
ciety, and in religion was a member of the First 
M. E. Church. 

Mrs. John Paull is a descendant on the 
paternal side from an old French Huguenot 
family, and on the maternal side a descendant 
of the Leonards and Deans — the oldest and 
most prominent families in Taunton. Samuel 
Gushee was a soldier in the war of the Revo- 
lution. Mrs. Paull received her education in 
the public and high schools of Taunton, the 
private school of Mr. Southgate, the Bristol 
County Academy, Taunton, and the Lasell 
Academy of Newton, Mass. She received her 
musical education under Carl Zerrahn Keil- 
block and Dr. John O'Neill, of Boston, in voice 
culture, and in piano under Dr. John Orth, also 
of Boston, and she has given much of her time 
to the study of both. Her voice is a full con- 



tralto and she has sung in the churches in 
Taunton and for many charity musicals and 
other entertainments. Mrs. Paull has traveled 
extensively in Europe and also on the American 
continent, and she is a great student of nature. 
She has taught both vocal and instrumental 
music, but since the death of her husband has 
given much of her time to the conduct of the 
Jolm Paull & Co. grain business, in which she 
is assisted by her daughter Mrs. Hall. Mrs. 
Paull is a member of the D. A. R., being a char- 
ter member of the chapter at Taunton, and has 
for five years been a delegate to the D. A. R.'s 
Congress at Washington from her Chapter ; she 
was also delegate at .Paris, France, in 1900, 
representing the chapter, and while in France 
she visited the birthplace of her American an- 
cestor at Toulouse. She is an Episcopalian. 

Mrs. Edward G. Hall, daughter of Mr. and 
Mrs. John Paull, received her education in the 
public schools and liigh school of Taunton and 
the Bristol County Academy. She attended the 
Cowles Art School at Boston, took a musical 
course there also, under Madam Van Buren, and 
has displayed much talent in both. She is a 
member of the D. A. R. She married Edward 
G. Hall and their children are: John Henry, 
a student at the University of Pennsylvania at 
Philadelphia ; Harold Monroe, a student at the 
high school ; and Philip Edward. 

BOYDEN (Walpole-Bridgewater family). 
For a half century — for fifty and more years — 
the name Boyden has stood in the town of 
Bridgewater, Mass., as a synonym for the high- 
est type of useful, ennobling and elevating citi- 
zenship, as exemplified in the life of the now 
venerable principal emeritus of the Bridge- 
water State Normal School, Prof. Albert Gard- 
ner Boyden, who for the long period of fifty 
and more years has been identified as student, 
teacher and principal with the noted institu- 
tion of learning alluded to, and has reared a 
son who has taken up the work so recently laid 
down by the father and is now carrying it 
forward in a manner worthy of him whose 
mantle he wears. Reference is made to Prof. 
Arthur Clarke Boyden. 

This Boyden family of Bridgewater is de- 
scended from Thomas Boyden, of Watertown, 
who came in the ship "Francis" from Ipswich, 
England, in 16.34, when aged twenty-one years. 
He was of Scituate in the following year, unit- 
ing with the church there May 17th of that 
same year. He was made a freeman in 1647. 
By his wife Frances he had children : Thomas, 
born Sept. 26, 1639; Mary, born Oct. 15, 1641; 
Rebecca, born Nov. 1. 1643; Nathaniel, born 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



143 



in 1650; Jonathan, born Feb. 20, 1652; and 
Sarah, born Oct. 12, 1651. The father re- 
moved to Boston in 1651 and Jonathan and 
Sarah were born there. The mother of these 
died March 17, 1658, and he married Nov. 3d, 
following, Mrs. Hannah Morse, widow of Jo- 
seph, and removed in a few years to Medfield. 
So far as is known only one of the sons of 
Thomas Boyden went with him to Medfield, 
Jonathan Boyden, who was born in Boston in 
1652, and was there married in 1673 to Mary, 
born in 1619, daughter of Joseph and Alice 
Clark, the former one of the earliest settlers 
of Dedham, Mass., and one of the first thirteen 
who undertook the settlement of the town of 
Medfield. Jonathan Boyden became promi- 
nent in town affairs; was in full communion 
in the church prior to 1697; became captain in 
1712; was representative in the Legislature in 
1715. His second wife, whose Christian name 
was Anne, died in 1735. He died in 1732. 

The birthplace and early home of Albert 
Gardner Boyden, the head of the Bridgewater 
branch of this Boyden family, and of liis par- 
ents, Phineas and Harriet (Carroll) Boyden, 
was in the town of Walpole, Norfolk county, 
this Commonwealth, which locality for gener- 
ations had been the home of the Boyden family. 
Going back to an earlier period, the land in 
the town of Dedham, in that same county, was 
granted by the General Court of the Colonies 
to twelve persons in 1635, for the purpose of 
founding a settlement there ; the settlement 
began in the year following (nearly all of the 
settlers coming from Watertown and Rox- 
bury), and was at the time called Contentment. 
Out of this territory was formed in 1724 the 
town of Walpole. 

Professor Boyden traces his lineage from 
(I) ThomSs Boyden through (II) Jonathan, 
(III) Jonathan '(2), (IV) Jonathan (3), (V) 
Benjamin, (VI) Phineas and (VII) Phineas 
(2). A brief record of these generations fol- 
lows. 

(II) Jonathan Boyden, son of Thomas, had 
children born as follows: Jonathan, July 30, 
1674; Mary, April 13, 1677; Elizabeth, July 
22, 1678; Mehitabel, July 31, 1679; Thomas, 
March 16, 1681; John, April 14, 1685; Jo- 
seph, Feb. 1, 1687: Sarah, Nov. 21, 1690 
(married Nov. 14, 1710, David Jones, of Wal- 
pole). 

(III) Jonathan Boyden (2), son of Jona- 
than, and grandson of Thomas Boyden, the 
emigrant, born in Medfield July 30. 1674, mar- 
ried (first) Nov. 17, 1698, Rachel Fisher, who 
was born March 24, 1680, daughter of John 
and Hannah (Adams) Fisher, and died March 



31, 1712, and (second) Feb. 12, 1713, Esther 
Thurston, who was born Jan. 23, 1674. The 
father died March 3, 1719, in the town of his 
birth, and his widow married John Turner on 
Sept. 14, 1727. She died March 10, 1755. 
Jonathan Boyden's children were as follows: 
Jonathan, born March 13, 1700; Jolin, Sept. 
30, 1702; Marah, July 4, 1705 (died July 6, 
1705); David, Oct. 13, 1706; Joshua, Aug. 
20, 1709; Benoni, March 24, 1712 (died July 
16, 1712) ; Silence, March 25, 1714 (died 
April 13, 1714) ; Seth, March 19, 1715. Of 
this family — 

Three of the sons, Jonathan, born in 1700, 
John, born in 1702, and David, all settled in 
Walpole as early as 1729. And the records of 
the town bear evidence of the position and in- 
fluence they and their descendants held in their 
various communities. On that memorable 
April day in 1775 when the Lexington alarm 
was sounded not less than four of the Boyden 
name were found responding to the call, and 
John, Jonathan, Joshua and Joshua Boyden, 
Jr., all marched to the scene under Capt. Jere- 
miah Smith, and later on through the struggle 
then begun many of the name were found in 
the ranks. -Later on Hon. Jesse Boyden repre- 
sented Walpole in the State Assembly, in 1820 
and 1821 ; and Hon. Harvey Boyden, Jr., in 
1854. It was from the nearby town of Fox- 
boro that came Seth Boyden, the inventor and 
benefactor of his race, who was born and 
reared there and from his early application at 
the forge was making nails and cutting files 
before he was twenty-one years of age with im- 
proved machines of his own construction. And 
later came his improved machinery, originally 
devised by the father, for leather splitting, for 
use in the binding of books. His most im- 
portant invention, however, was the cut-off in 
place of the throttle-valve for steam engines. 
Urial Atherton Boyden, brother of Seth, who 
was also a native of the same town, and a prod- 
uct of the Foxboro Boydens, later acquired 
great mechanical skill, became an engineer and 
was employed in the construction of the rail- 
road between Boston and Nashua; still later 
improved the construction of the turbine 'water 
wheel, etc. The Boyden Library in Foxboro 
and the Soldiers' Memorial building there are 
evidences of his interest in his native town. 
This article, however, is to treat specially of 
the Walpole-Bridgpwater family alluded to in 
the foregoing. 

(IV) Jonathan Boyden (3), son of Jona- 
than and Rachel (Fisher) Boyden, was born 
March 13, 1700, in Medfield, Mass., and there 
married, on May 31, 1726, Mehitabel Lovell, 



144 



SOUTHEASTEEN MASSACHUSETTS 



of Medfield, where she was born March 23, 
1706. She was a daughter of Alexander anJ 
Elizabeth (Dyer) Lovell, of Medfield. Mr. 
and Mrs. jioyden resided in Walpole, where 
she died July 3, 1793. They had four child- 
ren, all of whom were born in Walpole, Mass. ; 
Jonathan, Dec. 4, 172i); Benjamin, Nov. 6, 
1733; Lydia, July 18, 1736 (died July 4, 
1815; she married Jonathan Carroll) ; Joseph, 
April 24, 1741 (died Nov. 16, 1749). 

(V) Benjamin Boyden, son of Jonathan 
(3), was born in Walpole, Mass., Nov. 6, 1733, 
and there married (first) May 12, 1757, Hul- 
dah Armsly, of Medfield, daughter of Joshua 
and Esther (Cheney) Armsly, and grand- 
daughter of Joshua and Mehitabel (Boyden) 
Armsly. Mrs. Boyden died Feb. 4, 1784, and 
he married (second) April 25, 1785, Mrs. 
Hannah Maxfield, of Walpole. He was a sol- 
dier in the Eevolutionary war, a private in Capt. 
Nathaniel Heath's company. Col. Jonathan 
Reed's (1st) regiment of guards; enlisted April 
2, 1778; discharged July 2, 1778; enlistment 
three months, service three months, and three 
days, at Cambridge; also muster roll dated 
Boston, May 14, 1778. 

Benjamin Boyden's children were : Molly, 
born March 28, 1758, died July 8, 1777; Phin- 
eas, born Nov. 2, 1760, is mentioned below; 
Merab, born March 5, 1763, married Jan. 26, 
1786, John Smith; Anne, born April 7, 1765, 
married Nov. 22, 1787, Samuel Smith; Cyn- 
thia, born Aug. 21, 1769, died Aug. 19, 1778; 
Lewis was born Sept. 17, 1771; Jason was born 
Dec. 4, 1775 ; Esther, born Sept. 7, 1778, died 
Oct. 3, 1858, married May 31, 1797, Oliver 
Page, of Walpole. 

(VI) Phineas Boyden, son of Benjamin, was 
born in Walpole, Mass., Nov. 2, 1760, and died 
there April 27, 1828. He married in Wal- 
pole Jan. 16, 1783, Lydia Boyden, born April 
26, 1764, daughter of Jonathan and Freelove 
Boyden; she died Dec. 17, 1838. Children: 
Molly, born May 18, 1784, died Aug. 26, 1836, 
married Jan. 1, 1806, Isaac Alden; Harvey 
was born April 26, 1787; Pliny, Nov. 2, 1788; 
James, Aug. 30, 1790; Warren, Aug. 5, 1792 
(married April 9, 1817, Lucretia Pond) ; 
Jason, Nov. 18, 1798 (died Aug. 22, 1876, 
married Feb. 5, 1835, Caroline Fuller, of Ded 
ham, who died June 2, 1886) ; Phineas, Feb. 
4, 1801. 

Phineas Boyden was a soldier in the Eevo- 
lutionary war. He was a private, Capt. Tim- 
othy Mann's company, 4th Sufl'olk County 
Regiment, under command of Maj. Seth Bul- 
lard ; marched July 28, 1780 ; discharged Aug. 7, 
1780; served 13 days on alarm at Rhode Island. 



(VII) Phineas Boyden (2), son ©f Phineas, 
was born in Walpole and there attended school. 
He grew to manhood on the farm of Ms father, 
and learned the trade of blacksmith and horse- 
shoer, following that occupation nearly all his 
life. After learning the trade he bought the 
business out and conducted it successfully up 
to his death in the same shop. His place of 
business was on the Boston and Providence 
turnpike in the town of Walpole, and he did 
all the horseshoeing and other work for the 
stagecoach company. He was a man well known 
and very highly respected and led a true Chris- 
tian life. He died May 18, 1874, in Walpole, 
and is buried there. 

On April 30, 1826, Mr. Boyden married Har- 
riet Carroll, born Dec. 23, 1806, who died Nov. 
22, 1857, and was buried in the cemetery of 
Walpole. She was a woman of fine character, 
who set before her children the ideal of a noble 
life. Six children were born to the union: 
Albert Gardner, Feb. 5, 1827; Ellen Frances, 
Feb. 20, 1829 (died Sept. 12, 1893) ; Edson 
Carroll, Feb. 11, 1833; Martha Carpenter, Aug. 
30, 1835 (died March 2, 1864) ; Edward Au- 
gustus, April 26, 1838 (died Dec. 4, 1909) ; 
Esther Asenath, Jan. 28, 1841 (married Nov. 
27, 1862, David Bentley, and died Oct. 28, 
1909). 

(VIII) Albert Gardner Boyden was born 
in Walpole Feb. 5, 1827. From his early boy- 
hood he was required to rise early, and he was 
actively employed until bedtime. He was a 
leader in the sports of his fellows, and knew 
the products of all the fields, woods and 
streams in the neighborhood of his native vil- 
lage. He attended the district school summer 
and winter until ten years of age, and in win- 
ter until eighteen. At fourteen years of age he 
decided to be a teacher. Strongly deSiring to go 
to college, but unable to get the funds, he gave 
his evenings to study, determined to do what he 
could for himself. He worked on the farm and 
in his father's blacksmith shop until, at twenty- 
one, he had mastered the trade, and in the 
meantime had taught three winters in the town 
of Foxboro. On reaching his majority he had 
good health, good habits, his trade and the 
assurance of success in teaching. 

Having saved some money toward paying his 
expenses, he entered the State normal school 
at Bridgewater, earning the remainder by serv- 
ing as janitor. He was graduated from this 
school in November, 1849, and taught a gram- 
mar school in Hingham during the next win- 
ter. He received an appointment as assistant 
teacher in the Bridgewater State Normal School 
in July, 1850, and held the position three years. 



SOUTHEASTEEN MASSACHUSETTS 



145 



under the wise counsel and sympathetic help of 
the distinguished founder of the school, Nicho- 
las Tillinghast ; was principal of the English 
High School for Boys in Salem three years; 
sub-master of the Chapman Grammar School, 
Boston, one year; first assistant again in the 
Bridgewater Normal School three and a half 
years, under the able tuition of the second 
principal, Marshall Conant; was appointed 
principal of the school in August, 1860, and 
received the honorary degree of Master of Arts 
from Amherst College. He was a diligent stu- 
dent, studying under private tutors, and during 
the time he was assistant in the normal school 
was called upon to teach nearly all the branches 
of the course, and to make a careful study of 
the principles and method of teaching. He 
started in life with the determination to do 
everything intrusted to him to the best of his 
ability, and has never sought a position as 
teacher. 

Mr. Boyden filled the position of principal 
of the Bridgewater Normal School with emi- 
nent ability and fidelity. Under him the num- 
ber of students steadily increased, the course 
of study was e.xpanded, the building, grounds 
and equipments of the school materially en- 
larged, and the professional spirit of the school 
greatly developed. In the fall term of 1860, 
when he assumed charge, there were sixty-seven 
pupils. In the fall term of 1894 there were 
253. In 1860 the course of study extended 
through three terms of twenty weeks each. At 
present six courses are in operation : a two 
years' course, a three years' course, a four years' 
course, a post-graduate course for college grad-- 
uates, and special courses for teachers of experi- 
ence. 

The first six years of its life the school held 
its sessions in the town hall. In 1846 it moved 
into a new building, the first State normal 
school building, up to that time, erected in 
America. In 1861 this building was enlarged, 
increasing its capacity seventy per cent. In 
1871 the building was again enlarged, by the 
addition of a third story. In 1881 a building 
for chemical, physical and industrial laborato- 
ries was built. In 1890 these buildings were 
removed, and a massive brick structure, 86x187 
feet, three stories above the basement, was erect- 
ed. In 1894 this building was extended, in- 
creasing its capacity fifty per cent. In 1869 the 
boarding department of the school became a 
necessity, and a residence hall was erected, ac- 
commodating fifty-two students and the family 
of the principal. In 1873 it was enlarged to 
accommodate 148 students. In 1891 the labor- 
atory building was converted into a residence 

10 



hall, accommodating thirty-two students. The 
present school building, with its equipments, is 
not surpassed by any normal school building 
in the country in the adaptation to its purpose. 
It will accommodate 275 normal students and 
a practical school of 500 pupils. The grounds 
have been increased from one and a quarter 
acres to sixteen acres, including a beautiful 
park and grove of six and a half acres, and a 
natural science garden, covering nearly two 
acres, which was presented by Dr. Boyden. 

Dr. Boyden has given his best thought to the 
study of man, to find the principles of educa- 
tion which should determine the method of all 
true teaching, and to the application of these 
principles in coordinating the work of the school 
to make it a thorough normal training school 
in all its courses. He has sought, with the 
more than five thousand pupils who have come 
under tuition in his school, to set before them 
a high ideal of what life should be, to awaken 
their consciences to the responsibilities of the 
teacher, to give them command of themselves, 
of the philosophy of teaching, and of the sub- 
jects to be used in teaching, and such a knowl- 
edge of children that they shall be • able to 
practice wisely the art of instruction. 

The school has a national reputation. Its 
graduates are engaged in all lines of educa- 
tional work, as teachers in common, high and 
normal schools, as superintendents of schools, 
State agents and State superintendents. Some 
have become prominent as lawyers, physicians, 
clergymen and in business. Many as wives and 
mothers exert a strong educational influence. 
Some are missionaries in distant lands. 

As teacher and citizen. Dr. Boyden is held in 
the highest esteem. He has been president of 
the Plymouth County Teachers' Association, of 
the Massachusetts Teachers' Association, of the 
Massachusetts Schoolmasters' Club, of the New 
England Normal Council ; vice president of the 
American Institute of Instruction; secretary 
of the National Council of Education ; trustee 
of the Bridgewater Savings Bank; clerk of the 
Central Square Congregational Society (since 
1863) ; president of the Old Colony Congrega- 
tional Club; editor of "The Massachusetts 
Teacher;" and author of numerous educational 
addresses. 

On Nov. 18, 1851, Dr. Boyden was married 
at Newport, Maine, to one of his classmates at 
the Bridgewater Normal School, Isabella Whit- 
ten Clarke, daughter of Thomas and Martha 
Louisa (Whitten) Clarke, the former a farmer, 
born in Wales, Maine, the latter born in Alfred, 
Maine. Mrs. Bovden was the fourth in a family 
of eight childreii. She died Oct. 1, 1895. Three 



146 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



sons were born to this union; Arthur Clarke, 
A. M., now principal of the Bridgewater Nor- 
mal School; Walter Clarke, born Oct. 2, 1854, 
who died Jan. 19, 1856; and Wallace Clarke, 
A. M., born in November, 1858, now head 
master of the Boston Normal School. 

In August, 1906, Dr. Boyden, after forty-six 
years of continuous service as principal of the 
Bridgewater State Normal School and of up- 
ward of a half century's connection with it, 
resigned his charge, but it was only the re- 
moval of the mantle he had worn so worthily 
for so long a period from his own shoulders to 
those of his son. The father as principal 
emeritus continues teaching in the institution. 
On Aug. 24, 1898, Dr. Boyden married (sec- 
ond) Clara Adelia Armes, eldest daughter of 
Eev. Josiah L. and Marcia K. Armes, of 
Nashua, N. H., one of six sisters and three 
brothers. She was born Sept. 6, 1843, in Mans- 
field, and died April 19, 1906, in Bridgewater, 
Mass. At the age of fifteen years she began 
teaching in rural schools, subsequently taking 
a four years' course in the classics and mathe- 
matics at Colby Seminary, New London, N. H. 
She was graduated in 1869 from the Bridge- 
water State Normal School. She was for two 
years master's assistant in the Claflin school at 
Newtonville, following which she tauglit music 
and mathematics for eight years in the Bridge-- 
water Normal School, and then for a time was 
assistant or vice principal of the Plymouth (N. 
H.) Normal Scliool. Her next field of labor 
was as principal of the high school at Hanover, 
N. H., and for the last twelve years of her 
active educational work she was in charge of the 
commercial department of the English High 
School at Cambridge. After her marriage to 
Mr. Boyden she was most heartily one with 
him in all the interests of the home and normal 
school, and took a deep interest in the intellec- 
tual and moral life of the community . She was 
deeply interested in the life and work of the 
church ; loved its services ; was keenly interested 
in missions, and was president of the Woman's 
Missionary Society of the Church. 

"Grove Side," Mr. Boyden's home, is one of 
the most attractive in Bridgewater. The 
groxmds on which he erected his residence were 
owned at one time by the Hon. John A. Shaw, 
who was a well known educator in Bridgewater 
in his day. Dr. Boyden has taken great inter- 
est and pride in the house and grounds, which 
under his care have been most tastefully cared 
for. 

(IX) Arthur Clarke Boyden. A. M., son 
of Allaert Gardner and Isabella Whitten 
(Clarke) Boyden, is a native of Bridgewater, 



Mass., born Sept. 27, 1852, and here in the 
town's schools and Bridgewater Academy re-, 
ceived his preliminary education, which was 
furthered at the Bridgewater Normal School, 
from which institution he was graduated in 
1871. After this event he was for the following 
year engaged in teaching in the Medway 
(Mass.) high school. Entering Amherst Col- 
lege in 1872, he was graduated therefrom with 
honors in 1876. For three years following his 
graduation (1876-79) he was teacher of mathe- 
matics in the Chauncey Hall School at Boston. 
In 1879 his alma mater (Amherst) conferred 
upon him the degree of A. M., and in that 
same year lie began his work as teacher in the 
Bridgewater State Normal School. In 1896 
he was made vice principal of that institution, 
continuing this relation until the resignation 
of his father, in August, 1906, when he succeed- 
ed the latter as principal, the father remaining 
with the institution as principal emeritus. The 
relations this change brought about in all their 
bearings must have been most happy to all 
concerned, one of rare occurrence, one furnishing 
a theme for thought; both sons of the institu- 
tion, with the elder his very life for upward of 
fifty years and with the younger hardly of less 
moment through the traditions and memories 
of the father, surely the arrangement is one 
highly pleasing to the management of the in- 
stitution. 

The younger Boyden through the summers 
has taught at various times and places. In 
1891 he was one of the educational committee 
to go with Secretary John W. Dickinson to 
Jamaica, which for one of his experience was 
considered an important relation and compli- 
mentary to his ability and fitness. He has been 
especially interested in the study of nature; has 
prepared and published several books upon the 
subject; has taught history and nature study in 
several State institutions, and his services have 
been sought in various parts of his native State 
and in other States as lecturer upon the subject. 

Notwithstanding the fact that Mr. Boyden 
has been so engrossed with his manifold duties 
in teaching and those akin thereto, he has 
found time to interest himself in the welfare of 
his town and has filled many offices of trust 
and responsibility. For some fifteen years he 
has been a trustee of the Bridgewater Public 
Library. He was for a period the efficient presi- 
dent of the Bridgewater Improvement Associa- 
tion. He is a member of Fellowship Lodge, A. 
F. & A. M., and is past master of the same ; a 
member of Harmony Chapter, R. A. M., both 
of Bridgewater ; and a member of Brockton 
Council, R. & S. M., and Bay State Command- 



SOUTHEASTEKN MASSACHUSETTS 



147 



ery, Knights Templar, of Brockton. He is 
also past district deputy of the Twenty-fourth 
Masonic district. 

On Oct. 11, 1877, he married Katherine 
Chipman Allen, of New Bedford, Mass., and 
they have had two children, Ethel, born Aug. 
9, 1879, and Edward Allen, born March 20, 
1886. The son received his preparatory educa- 
tion in Bridgewater, taking a four years' course 
at the normal school, and is now a student at 
Harvard College, where he is taking a post 
graduate course in biology. 

(IX) Wallace Clarke Boyden, youngest 
son of Albert Gardner Boyden, was born in 
Bridgewater in November, 1858. He attended 
the public schools of the town and took a four 
years' course in the State Normal School, 
graduating in the class of 1880, with honors. 
Entering Amherst College, he graduated from 
that institution in 1883, with the degree of A. 
B., receiving later the degree "of A. M. Upon 
leaving college he became principal of the high 
school at Stoughton, Mass., where he spent 
one year, after which he became instructor in 
mathematics in Williston Seminary, at East- 
hampton, Mass., where he spent six years. In 
1896 he accepted a position as teacher in the 
Boston Normal School, and for the past ten 
years he has been head master in that institu- 
tion. 

On July 8, 1885, Mr. Boyden married Mabel 
Rossiter Wetherby, of Marshfield, Mass., and 
they have had three children : Robert Wetherby, 
born March 7, 1889; Alice Gordon, July 18, 
1892; and Bartlett Wetherby, Oct. 2, 1899. 

No mention of the Boydens and their connec- 
tion with the Bridgewater State Normal School 
could be made without reviving memories of 
Mrs. Isabella Whitten (Clarke) Boyden, whose 
years of devotion to the school and its students 
have left a permanent impression upon the 
institution. A devoted wife and mother, and 
a bom teacher as well, Mrs. Boyden's sym- 
pathies with her husband's work were not only 
those of a personal nature but also the result of 
her own ambitions and inclinations. The ties 
which bound the school life to their home life 
soon drew her into active participation in the 
work of the school, and from that time until 
her death there was no more potent influence 
among its students. 

Mrs. Boyden was a native of East Newport, 
Maine, born Sept. 9, 1825. Regarding her 
early life, we have some remarks written by 
one who knew her from youth, and incliided 
in an address made by Mrs. Ella Fisher Adams, 
of Cambridge, at the memorial exercises held 
for Mrs. Boyden June 24, 1896, during the 



forty-third convention of the Bridgewater 
Normal Association. The services were opened 
with prayer by Rev. E. S. Porter, of Bridge- 
water, Mrs. Boyden's pastor, who was followed 
by several speakers, all of whom had long 
known Mrs. Boyden, some as graduates of the 
school and some in association with her as 
teacher there. Mrs. Adams, after a few pre- 
liminary remarks, read what the friend of her 
early days had written. We quote in part: 

"She was delicate in her childhood and was 
much with her mother, who was a woman of re- 
markable excellence of character, and whom the 
daughter resembled in many respects. She 
inherited from this excellent mother the bright- 
ness and companionability by which she won 
the hearts of those who knew her. She was care- 
fully taught by her mother in all those things 
which pertain to womanly character. To her 
she was indebted for strong early religious im- 
pressions. 

"In the quiet home on the farm, with broth- 
ers and sisters in the companionship of her 
mother, often in the fields with her father, and 
in communion with the visible forms of nature, 
she spent the years of her childhood and youth. 
Here was kindled her love for the beauties of 
nature which was so prominent an element of 
her thought and feeling through all her life. 
She shared in the merry sports of her brothers 
and sisters in the joyous spring and summer 
time, in the golden autumn, and in the long 
winter evenings. Thus through all the long 
round of the seasons her young mind was gath- 
ering ideas from the book of nature which awak- 
ened new emotions ; her quick imagination was 
forming bright ideals. The girl was forming 
those habits of thought, feeling and action, of 
reverence for God, of love for His works, of 
affectionate obedience to her parents, of regard 
for others, which became the outlines of char- 
acter in the future woman. 

"She attended the district school in the short 
terms of the summer and winter, and at the 
age of seventeen began to teach in the district 
school of the neighboring town. She had 
marked success from the beginning of her efforts 
as a teacher. She continued to teach in sum- 
mer and winter, extending her preparation by 
attending the Academy in the fall and spring. 

"On Aug. 3, 1848, at the age of twenty-three, 
she entered the State Normal School at Bridge- 
water. She stood in the front rank in this 
school, taking advanced studies in addition to 
the regular course. After lier graduation she 
was a teacher of marked ability in Westerly, 
R. I., in Hingham, Mass., and in Wheaton 
Female Seminary, Norton, Mass 



148 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



"She was a student as long as she; lived, she 
studied much in connection with tlie normal 
school. She was a thoughtful reader, an easy 
and effective writer. 

"She taught her sons until they went from her 
tuition into the upper grades of the grammar 
school, and she taught them in part in their 
studies for college. 

"In the last decade of her life she had several 
ladies as students in the Western States whom 
she taught by correspondence in courses of 
History and Literature." 

The speaker's personal tribute to the char- 
acter of Mrs. Boyden and its influence in the 
school even before she had assumed the definite 
relation which afterward brought her into close 
contact with all the students was the sincere 
expression of an affectionate regard which 
seems to have been shared by all. There were 
many other testimonials to the large place Mrs. 
Boyden had filled in the life of Bridgewater, 
both in connection with and aside from her re- 
lation to the normal school. In Dr. Boyden's 
early years as principal, when her interest and 
association with tlie young people were sus- 
tained mostly in their social life, they were made 
to feel that here was a spirit whose sympathy 
and understanding were for all. She was clear- 
sighted and recognized the good and the bad 
with equal facility. She was not to be deceived, 
and she demanded high standards, yet she had 
kindliness and help for all who wanted her 
assistance, and nothing was too much to under- 
take in encouraging those who had ambition. 
Her own ambition was boundless. She was the 
most progressive of women. Yet her work was 
undertaken with the spirit that gave only the 
impression of an active, vigorous and aspiring 
mind, with none of the aggressiveness which 
characterizes so many who undertake advance- 
ment in the name of reform. 

Later, in her long and intimate association 
with the students at the Normal Hall, Mrs. 
Boyden literally "mothered" them all. She was 
teacher, guide, friend, counselor. She had com- 
fort for all the discouraged, infinite hope for 
the possibilities latent in the young, and faith 
in the ability of devoted educators to make the 
most of the material which came into their 
hands for shaping into instniments of future 
usefulness. Of her broad outlook and versatile 
intellect Mr. George H. Martin, for eighteen 
years a teacher in the normal school, said : 

"Most marked of all was her absorbing in- 
terest in this school and its work. She not 
only knew its history, but she had imbibed its 
spirit, and had devoted herself to its interests. 
This devotion never weakened. She anticipated 



every forward movement with satisfaction, en- 
tered unreservedly into every plan, familiarized 
herself with every detail of administration, and 
contributed of her own ample mental and moral 
resources to make this the best possible fitting 
school for teachers. 

"Her natural endowments for this work were 
great. On the intellectual side sh^was remark- 
ably strong and clear in her thinking, and pro- 
nounced and firm in her judgments. Her 
moral instincts were unerring. She was active 
and interested in all the great Social and reli- 
gious movements of her generation, and was 
always on the side of progress. 

"She knew the trend of theology and politics. 
To the Sunday school and missionary work of 
the church, to the autislavery and temperance 
movements in society, to the higher education 
of women, she gave liberally of her sympathy 
and support. 

"In ail these respects she seemed to me to 
be a typical New England woman. Quick, clear, 
discriminating in judgment, seeing the prac- 
tical side of things, full of moral earnestness, 
impatient of cant and sham, these qualities 
have been the glory of New England women 
for generations, and have directly and indirectly 
given to New England its commanding influence 
in the nation. 

"But with all this wealth of character and 
power, her work was always distinctively wo- 
man's work. The work of building up this school 
was her husband's life work; it became hers 
because it was his. She was a mother and she 
studied for and with her children. Her work 
in the church and society was always along 
the lines set apart for women; and her hope 
for the women of the future was that they 
might be better fitted to do the work of women.'' 

We also include a tribute from the address of 
Miss Isabelle S. Home, long a member of the 
normal school faculty : 

"I am glad to add a few words in grateful, 
affectionate remembrance of her whose great 
heart had room for so many friends. Among 
my first recollections of Bridgewater are those 
of her kind, thoughtful attentions to me, a 
stranger. She received me into her home and 
made me feel at once that I was among friends. 

"Always approachable, never obtrusive, ready 
to listen to whatever I might bring to her, I 
soon learned to go to her freely, sure of a kindly 
interest, and a ready sympathy in my joys and 
in ray sorrows, and to rely upon the wise advice 
I never failed to receive from her. 

"Never to be forgotten are the meetings 
held in her parlor, once a week, for many years, 
to read and discuss books, new and old, of 



SOUTHEASTEEN MASSACHUSETTS 



149 



which little coterie she was a most valued mem- 
ber. Independent in thought, of quick percep- 
tion, and a native ability for keen reasoning, 
her mind grasped intuitively the salient points 
in an essay or in a character, and she often in 
a few words, made clear the key to the whole 
situation. 

"The members of this little circle, six in 
number, became very close friends. They 
learned to know each other more 'throughly' 
than they could have done in most other cir- 
cumstances. Twice has Death entered that cir- 
cle of friends, binding even closer the ties be- 
tween those left, to whom those evenings will 
never cease to be a delightful memory. 

"It was her nature to go out in helpfulness 
to others, and she identified herself with every 
good work. She was especially interested in 
the movement for home study, and conducted, 
by correspondence, the studies of several young 
women who were striving under adverse cir- 
cumstances to gain an education. She directed 
by letter their reading, answered puzzling ques- 
tions that came in course of their study, help- 
ing them over hard places, and inspiring them 
to continued effort. Many delightful friend- 
ships were thus formed, broken only by her 
death. Some of these young people she never 
met. One of them lived far away, on the 
Pacific coast. She called them her 'adopted 
children,' and she took a genuine interest in all 
that came into their lives. 

"A true friend she was to them, and in many 
ways helped them to nobler, broader, richer 
living. The inspiring influence of her work 
with them will never die. 

"Sensitive to her surroundings, and with a 
delicate perception of the influence of the pres- 
ence of others, she was strong in her intuitions, 
and keen to detect the true from the false, 
in the character of those with whom she came 
in contact. 

"To me she was the beloved elder sister, 
whose interest never fails, and to whose loss 
neither time nor other friends ever wholly re- 
concile us. 

'Tl/oyal to her friends, and tenacious of their 
love, friendships once formed seldom grew cold, 
and were broken more rarely. 

"Most fitting it is, that to-day, at the reunion 
of friends of the school which was so dear to her 
heart, and in whose prosperity she took so deep 
an interest, we should join in testifying our 
love and appreciation of her noble character. 
'Absent but not forgotten,' her memory will 
never die so long as this school has a name to 
live." 

Such are a few of the expressions of love 



and gratitude which the death of this devoted 
worker brought forth. That Mrs. Boyden was 
indefatigable in the pursuit of the many labors 
she undertook is evidenced by tlie great amount 
she accomplished. That much of it was done 
under what to some natures would have been 
the greatest discouragement, that of ill health, 
shows that her spirit dominated her physical 
powers to an unusual e.xtent. Other unusual 
things she did, too. When her duties called her 
to the care of the Normal • Hall, instead of 
giving up her home life she merely widened 
it, taking all who came under her care into 
the charmed circle. Yet with all her interests 
she kept pace with current events. As one has 
remarked: "Her opportunities here for mental 
growth were unusual, and how diligently they 
were improved ! AVith what zest she listened 
to the presentation of new subjects ! She 
seemed never to grow weary in the search for 
knowledge !" As to the normal school, she knew 
so much about its aims and possibilities, she 
herself was such an excellent exponent of its 
work and objects, that her presence and associa- 
tion among the pupils was of itself a help 
and source of inspiration not to be lightly 
esteemed. 

From the report of the committee on necro- 
logy of the Massachusetts Teachers' Association 
for 1895 we take the following: 

"It seems fitting that mention should be 
made in this report on necrology of the 
death of Mrs. A. G. Boyden, wife of the 
honored principal of the Bridgewater State 
Normal School, in which literally thousands 
of teachers sustain a personal loss. Rarely 
has it been given to any woman to de- 
vote herself for forty years to the interests 
of two hundred students annually, young men 
and women, many of whom have become the 
leading teachers and superintendents of the 
East. 

"Rarely has it been the privilege of an Ameri- 
can woman to impress upon thousands of young 
men and women more worthily the value of 
personal character in life. She was in a broad 
sense an educator, whose influence and example 
were felt in the development of the best types 
of womanhood. Her memory will stimulate 
hundreds to a nobler life in the educational 
work. She was a loyal wife and a beloved 
mother of sons eminent in the teaching profes- 
sion. The mention of the good works of such 
women will do much toward giving the women 
of our land a position in the educational world 
which their virtues and good deeds entitle them 
to enjoy." 

We have spoken of Mrs. Boyden almost en- 



150 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



tirely from the standpoint of her relations to 
the normal school. So closely was her life 
bound up in its interests that no history of 
either could be written without including the 
other. Yet her sympathies and influence by 
no means ended there. She formed many warm 
friendships in the town, took a deep interest 
in church work and particularly in the mis- 
sionary field, and held a place in the esteem of 
the community, gained by nobility of character 
and sincere earnestness of purpose. Though 
she lived to round out her threescore years and 
ten she was as unfailing as ever in devotion to 
her duty in the broad sense in which she saw 
it. She literally found the fountain of youth 
in her work, and though over fifteen years have 
elapsed since she was called from the scene of 
her earthly labors her work still goes on, a 
perpetual source of inspiration to noble effort 
to all who understand its significance and worth. 

ASHLEY (New Bedford family). Among 
the first settlers of Rochester, Mass., and their 
families appear the names of Joseph Ashley and 
his wife Elizabeth and their children. There 
had settled at Springfield as early as 1639 
Robert Ashley; and from the fact that many 
of the early settlers of Springfield were drawn 
from Roxbury by Pynchon, perhaps Mr. Ashley 
had been there previously a short time. One 
Thomas Ashley resided at Cape Ann (Glou- 
cester) in 1639 ; he was admitted an inhabitant 
of Boston in 1658, and was probably the Thomas 
Ashley of Maine, 1654, who, says Savage, may 
have removed in 1658 to Boston, where his wife 
Joanna died Dec. 37. 1661, and he married the 
last of the next month Widow Hannah Broome. 
At Wells, Maine, lived William Ashley, whose 
name is given among those who were in- 
habitants of that place from 1641 to 1687. He 
was appointed constable there July 4, 1659. 

Joseph Ashley, the head of the Rochester 
family alluded to in the foregoing, is made 
by some members of the Rochester-New Bedford 
branch of the Ashley family the son of William 
and Elizabeth (Batson) Ashley and grandson 
of Thomas Ashley, who was a brother of Robert 
Ashley, of Springfield. Accepting this, Joseph 
Ashley of Rochester is made generation (III) 
in the genealogy that follows. 

This article, however, is to deal with the one 
branch only of the New Bedford family — that 
whose head was the late Joshua B. Ashley, a 
manufacturer of New Bedford, and one of her 
active, enterprising business men, one of whose 
sons, Hon. Charles Sumner Ashley, has long 
been one of the leading business men and prom- 
inent public officials of his native city, serving 



as chief executive officer of New Bedford, as 
well as in the city council, on the board of alder- 
men, and as postmaster. 

From Joseph Ashley of Rochester the 
genealogy and family history of the New Bed- 
ford family mentioned, chronologically ar- 
ranged, follows: 

(III) Joseph Ashley, son of William and 
Elizabeth (probably), married (first) in Fal- 
mouth, Mass., 5th of 8th month, 1704, Elizabeth 
Percival. Their children were: Thomas, born 
Feb. 21, 1704-05; Jethro, born Jan. 11, 1706- 
07; William, born Sept. 12, 1708; Elizabeth, 
born June 4, 1710-11; and Mary, born March 
12, 1718-19. The father married (second) in 
Rochester, Mass., Jan. 5, 1728-29, a daughter 
of William Hall, supposed to be Mary, widow of 
a Mr. Whitridge, and the children of this mar- 
riage were Joseph and Abraham. 

(IV) Abraham Ashley, son of Joseph, is 
supposed to have married (first) Nov. 27, 1733, 
Elizabeth Rogers, and (second) Mary Whit- 
ridge. His children were : Percival, born in 
1740; Deborah, born in 1749 (married 
Benjamin Heath) ; William, born Dec. 22, 
1761; Mary (married Ichabod Johnson); 
Barnabas (married Rebecca Ashley) ; and Lydia 
(married Elijah Braley). 

(V) Percival Ashley, son of Abraham, born 
in 1740, married in Rochester, Mass., Aug. 7, 

1761, Ann Bishop. Their children were: John, 
born in 1763; Hannah, born in 1763; Percival, 
born Sept. 23, 1769; Abraham, born Jan. 1, 
1772; Jethro, born in 1775; James, born Feb. 
3, 1777; Mary, born Nov. 13, 1778; Simeon, 
born June 6, 1782; and Bishop, born Oct. 5, 
1785. 

(VI) John Ashley, son of Percival, born in 

1762, married Dec. 22, 1782, Charity Sherman, 
of Freetown, Mass., daughter of John and Ruth 
(Allen) Sherman. Their children, all born 
in Rochester, Mass., were: Joy, born Sept. 
22, 1784; Thomas, Jan. 15, 1786; Lydia, April 
21, 1789; John Sherman, May 3, 1790; Anna, 
Aug. 26, 1802 ; and Charity, July 23, 1810. 

(VII) John Sherman Ashley, son of John, 
born May 3, 1790, married in Rochester, Mass., 
June 17, 1815, Mary G. (Gouch) Brown. Their 
children, all bom in Rochester, were: John 
Sherman, born March 30, 1817; Rhodolphus, 
May 19, 1818; Joshua B., Sept. 8, 1820; and 
Caroline Brown, July 4, 1822. 

(VIII) Joshua Bishop Ashley, son of John 
Sherman, born Sept. 8, 1820, in Rochester, mar- 
ried Susan Sanderson, born Aug. 31, 1824, 
daughter of William and Ruth (Allen) Sander- 
son, of New Bedford, and the following children 
blessed the union : Susan Sanderson, born Feb. 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



151 



28, 1844, in New Bedford, Mass., married May 
23, 1871, Thomas MePherson; Hannah, born 
July 20, 1845, died in infancy; William 
Walter, born June 20, 184G, died November 
20, 1865; Robert Eugene, born Sept. 15, 1848, 
died Nov. 10, 1877; Ellaphine was born Nov. 
12, 1852; Carrie S., born May 4, 1855, died 
Aug. 29, 1856 ; Charles Sumner was born Sept. 
5, 1858 : Joshua B., born April 2, 1863, married 
Annie M., daughter of Thomas H. and Torrey 
(Bryant) Hersom, and has children, Joshua 
B. and Zelma ; John Sherman, born Nov. 7, 
1864, died Dec. 29, 1864. The parents died, 
Mr. Ashley May 13, 1906, the mother May 31, 
1896. 

(IX) Charles Sumner Ashley, son of 
Joshua Bishop and Susan (Sanderson) Ashley, 
was born Sept. 5, 1858, in New Bedford, Mass. 
He was educated in the public schools of his 
native town, being graduated from the Parker 
street grammar school, and at the Friends' 
Academy. It had been the intention of his 
parents that he should attend college, but he 
had by that time decided to follow a business 
career. To this end at the age of seventeen 
years he engaged in the market business in 
association with Fred Covell, their location be- 
ing on Purchase street, under the name of 
Covell & Ashley. Owing to ill health Mr. 
Covell withdrew from the firm, Mr. Ashley con- 
tinuing the business, and through his eiforts 
and ability it was developed into one of con- 
siderable proportions, extending into wholesale 
lines in smoked meats, etc. Later on he dis- 
posed of this business and in partnership with 
Stephen D. Pierce, under the firm style of Ash- 
ley & Pierce, engaged in the clothing and fur- 
nishing goods line at Nos. 72-74 William street, 
where his energj' and business capacity con- 
tributed to build up a large trade. 

With tastes and qualifications peculiarly fit- 
ting him for public life, and having early made 
a study of political problems and conditions, 
Mr. Ashley was carried into the arena of politics 
at an early age and his now nearly thirty years 
of public service in his native city, much of it 
as chief executive otficer, is in many respects 
without a parallel. He started out as a Dem- 
ocrat on broad and liberal lines, in which he 
has continued. When he came into official posi- 
tion, at the age of twenty-six, party lines were 
not closely drawn in New Bedford, nor have 
they been since, and- candidates for city offices 
have received support from citizens without 
close regard to political faith. In 1884 he was 
chosen one of the common council under Mayor 
George Wilson. The next year he ran for alder- 
man in Ward Three, but although he ran ahead 



of his ticket he was defeated by a small 
plurality. In the following year, however, he 
was more successful and was the only alderman 
elected on the ticket. Moreover, as showing 
his popularity and the confidence reposed in him 
by his constituents, it may be again stated that 
he polled more votes than did Mr. Rotch for the 
mayoralty. In 1887 he was again elected to 
the upper branch of the city government by a 
very flattering vote. 

In the fall of 1888 a number of Mr. Ashless 
friends, disliking with him the fusion movement 
participated in by the Citizens" party that year, 
urged him to accept a nomination at their 
hands for the mayoralty. He finally accepted, 
but much against his inclinations. At that 
time, when referring to Mr. Ashley, who was 
to lead the Independent Citizens' party, Chair- 
man Brownell said in part: "In Charles S. 
Ashley we have a type of the energy, enterprise, 
industry and telling push which characterize 
our Western cities and it is by the power, work 
and industry of such men that our thriving 
Western cities have made such a rapid growth 
and enjoyed such a marvelous prosperity as to 
excite the wonder of the whole world. Had our 
less enterprising brothers gone West that great 
territory would not have been traversed by rail- 
roads, nor the prairies changed to wheat and 
corn fields, the forests to vineyards with cities, 
yes, metropolitan cities, with from 40,000 to 
200,000 inhabitants and less than twenty-one 
years old. These great strides in progress have 
been accomplished by men possessing the same 
elements of success that we find in our fellow 
citizen, our candidate for mavor, Mr. Charles 
S. Ashley." 

The brief speech of Mr. Ashley in accepting 
this honor is given here, as it is so characteristic 
of the man: "My record as an alderman for 
the last two years you know as well as I. If 
that record is satisfactory to you and if you are 
willing to accept my platform I will accept the 
nomination. It is no boy's play with me, but 
business. I go in to win and for work. If you 
are willing to accept me clean and clear from 
any incumbrance whatever, without any 
promises of any kind, I accept your nomination 
gratefully and gladly." 

Although defeated at the election by a sur- 
prisingly small plurality, the flattering vote ac- 
corded Mr. Ashley was looked upon by his 
adherents as a victory; and in the following 
year, under the same political auspices, he again 
failed of reaching the mayor's chair. 

In 1890 came Mr. Ashley's triumph, when 
his friends, not disheartened and strong in their 
faith in their candidate, again placed him at 



153 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



the head of their ticket, and he was elected 
mayor of New Bedford by a plurality that was 
highly satisfactory to his constituents. Mr. 
Ashley was one of the youngest mayors the city 
had had, but his administration was character- 
ized by vigor, independence, assiduous attention 
to all measures that would in his belief be for 
the welfare of the community. Of his time 
and labor he gave freely to the arduous and 
perplexing duties of the ottice, and gained the 
good will of many who had not supported him 
for the office by his evident earnestness of pur- 
pose and unselfishness of motives. It was his full 
determination to decline to stand as a candidate 
for a second term, but the persistence of his 
friepds and their belief tliat no other available 
candidate would be so sure of success at the 
polls finally prevailed upon him to accept. The 
result justified their anticipations, for he was 
elected by an increased plurality. 

The election each year in New Bedford for 
the office of mayor is held in December for the 
term beginning in January following. Mr. 
Ashley was again the standard bearer of the 
Independent Citizens' party for mayor in 1896, 
1897, 1898 and 1899 and was each time elected, 
by flattering pluralities, and, as will be seen 
by the following editorial from the Mercury of 
Dec. 6, 1899, was then judged to be at the acme 
of his popularity : 

"It is obvious that a very large majority of 
citizens are satisfied with the administration of 
Mayor Ashley. He carried every precinct in 
the city and his reelection is by a magnificent 
plurality, which must be a source of gratification 
to him. He has now been a candidfite for mayor 
eight times and completes his fifth term this 
month. And he is now at the acme of his 
popularity, as the unprecedented vote of yes- 
terday tells. Not only does his total vote break 
all the records, but his plurality is larger than 
any mayoralty candidate ever received even in 
years when candidates have been without formal 
opposition. 

"In a general way the opposition party re- 
lied upon a general criticism of extravagance to 
accomplish Mayor Ashley's defeat, but if its 
spokesmen had any plans for economy they 
lacked the courage to declare them and no im- 
pression was made. The other issues relied 
upon were shopworn goods and did not appeal 
to the voters. We congratulate Mr. Ashley upon 
his reelection and wish him a pleasant and 
successful administration." 

Mayor Ashley was again elected chief 
executive officer of New Bedford in 1900 by 
over 1,200 maiority, and it was the expres.sion 
of one of the leading local papers at the time 



that he had become a "specialist in administer- 
ing the affairs of the city, and their interests 
pending which require a thoroughly trained and 
equipped man in office the coming year," and 
that the choice was a "discerning one." In 
the following year — 1901 — he was again chosen 
mayor, this time by a plurality of 1,516 over 
his nearest competitor, being carried along on 
the top of the wave which arises in his favor 
in December of every year. In 1903 he was 
reelected by the largest vote he had ever re- 
ceived — his plurality being 1,983. That year 
and the year before the "Ashley" party de- 
feated Andrew P. Doyle, the candidate of the 
Independent party; and of this said the Mer- 
cury : 

"It was in truth a famous victory and a re- 
markable tribute to the administration of the 

city afi^airs by Mayor Ashley Mayor 

Ashley's vote broke all records and he carried 
every precinct. Such a result, following eight 
years' service as mayor, must he a grateful en- 
dorsement to the chief executive. Mayor Ash- 
ley's success can be traced to the fact that the af- 
fairs of this city are excellently well managed. 
He is public-spirited and enthusiastic in her in- 
terest,- and his voice has never been raised to 
malign and bespatter her fair name. We are 
confident the citizens have chosen wisely." 

In December, 1903, Mr. Ashley received near- 
ly half of the entire registered vote of the city 
for mayor, his majority being greater than the 
plurality of any candidate for mayor in the 
municipal history of New Bedford. On Dec. 
7. 1904, Mr. Ashley was reelected, and on the 
first Monday in January, 1905, he began his 
eleventh term as mayor of his native city. On 
this occasion said one of the local papers 
editorially : 

" 'The supernal tide' rolled in at 3 o'clock 
yesterday afternoon and landed Mayor Ashley 
in the office of mayor for another year. Next 
month Mayor Ashley will accordingly enter 
upon the eleventh year of his service as mayor 
of New Bedford, an extraordinary record, the 
more remarkable that the mayor's vote increases 
from year to year. Even the fact that this year 
was his thirteenth candidacy, a number which 
might have daunted a superstitious candidate, 
did not break the spell he has cast upon the 
citizens, and his vote was the largest, with one 
exception, ever recorded in his favor. This is 
the more impressive when it is considered that 
men who hold office for so long a term are bound 
to make enemies of disappointed aspirants for 
office and favor-seekers, that many careless 
voters like to elect new men just to 'see what 
they will do,' and that a certain envy and 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



153 



jealousy for the successful are mean liuinan 
L'liaracteristics." 

Mr. Ashley declined to run for mayor in 
December, 1905, but was forced by his many 
friends to run again in December, 1906, and 
was chosen for the twelfth term, receiving the 
largest vote that had ever been given up to that 
time to a candidate for such office in his city. 
After a rest of two years Mr. Ashley, in Decem- 
ber, 1909, was again chosen chief executive 
officer of New Bedford. "The fact that after 
twelve years' administration of the office of 
mayor Mr. Ashley is summoned back to the 
public service, is almost without precedent in 
the annals of Municipal government in the 
United States. It is because a majority of the 
citizens recognize that he possesses peculiar and 
expert ability as a chief executive, and we trust 
this service may bring no disappointment in 
the year to come." 

Mr. Ashley was reelected in December, 1910, 
by the largest vote ever given any candidate for 
election in the city and he carried his entire 
ticket. 

Mr. Ashley also served as postmaster of New 
Bedford during the years 189.3-94-95, resigning 
to run for mayor. In the social life of the city 
he has been no less conspicuous than in its 
public service. He is genial in temperament, 
with an unceasing flow of good spirits, and a 
friendly hand for all. Without doubt he is 
one of the most popular public men and officials 
New Bedford has ever had. 

Mr. Ashley is both an Odd Fellow and a 
thirty-second-degree Mason, a Shriner, and an 
Elk. He is also a member of various clubs, 
among them the Wamsutta, Dartmouth, Boston 
Athletic, Boston City, and the Mayors Club of 
Massachusetts, and of the Ancient and Honor- 
able Artillery Company. 

In November, 1879, Mr. Ashley was married 
to Annie Butler Luce, who was born Aug. 16, 
1858, daughter of Thomas Luce, of New Bed- 
ford. To them came children as follows: (1) 
Hannah Butler, born May 20, 1881, was 
graduated from Dana Hall, Wellesley, in 1901. 
(2) Ralph Eugene, born Sept. 14, 1884, mar- 
ried Roberta Sherman, of New Bedford. (3) 
Charles Sumner, born Jan. 6, 1887, was grad- 
uated from the Peekskill (N. Y.) Military 
Academy and from the Colorado School of 
Mines, and for a time was located at a mine 
in Arizona, but is now engaged in the insur- 
ance and real estate business in New Bedford, 
with his brother R. Eugene, under the firm 
name of Charles S. Ashley, Jr. & Co. On June 
3, 1911, he married Helen Porter Wood, of 
Middleboro, Mass., daughter of George Wood. 



(4) Susan Brown, born Feb. 28, 1888, died in 
June, 1889. The mother of these died June 6, 
1890, and the father remarried, -marrying (sec- 
ond) Julia A. Purington, widow of Philip 
Purington and daughter of Asahel and Julia 
Howard of Bridgewater, Massachusetts. 

ROWLAND. (I) Arthur and Henry How- 
land are believed to have come to America 
together and probably before 1625; they ap- 
peared in Plymouth Colony in the early days 
of its settlement. They were members of the 
Society of Friends and most of their descend- 
ants for many generations were, and many at 
the present time are. Friends. Arthur lived 
for a few years in Plymouth, then became a 
landholder and resident of Marshfield ; while 
Henry, the progenitor of the Ancient Dart- 
mouth Howland family, the branch here spe- 
cially considered, lived at Duxbury. The first 
mention of him in New England is that made 
in the allotment of cattle to the different 
families in Plymouth in 1624. Perhaps none 
of the colonists have a better record for intelli- 
gence, thrift, uprightness and unmixed faith 
in the Divine One than Henry Howland, and 
these virtues have permeated the lives of his 
posterity. In general they are a family of 
great respectability, and as a people thrifty, 
economical and good managers of finance, most 
of them having a fair share of this world's 
goods, some amassing millions. 

Henry Howland was made a freeman in 
1633; was chosen constable for Duxbury in 
1635; bought land there in 1640; was for some 
years surveyor of highways; served repeatedly 
on the grand jury, etc. He joined the Society 
of Friends, perhaps 1657, and was not a little 
persecuted thereafter on this account. In 1652^ 
associated with others, he bought a large tract 
of land in Dartmouth; was one of the twenty-, 
seven purchasers of what is now Freetown in 
1659, and in the division of 1660 he received 
for his share the sixth lot, which was afterward 
inherited by his son Samuel Howland. He was 
one of the grantees of Bridgewater but never 
lived there. Mr. Howland married Mary New- 
land, and both likely died at the old homestead 
in Duxbury. Their children were: Joseph, 
Zoeth, John, Samuel, Sarah, Elizabeth, Mary 
and Abigail. Through Zoeth Howland, son of 
Henry, and Zoeth's sons Nathaniel, Benjamin 
and ilenry, have descended the Ancient Dart- 
mouth Howlands alluded to in the foregoing 
and treated in this article. 

(II) Zoeth Howland was born in Duxbury 
and settled at Dartmouth as early as 1662. He 
took the oath of fidelity at Duxbury in 1657 



154 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



and probably about this time with his father 
became a convert to Quakerism, and meetings 
were held at his house, for which he was fined. 
He was killed by the Indians at Pocasset, 21st 
of 1st month, 1676. Tiverton and Little Comp- 
ton were known as Pocasset and later Tiverton ; 
and at the present stone bridge was Howland's 
ferry, which was later kept by Daniel, son of 
Zoeth Howland. Zoeth's widow married (sec- 
ond) in 1676 Eichard Kirby. Zoeth's sons were 
all active members of the Apponegansett Meet- 
ing except Samuel. His children were : 
Nathaniel, Benjamin, Daniel, Lydia, Mary, 
Sarah, Henry, Abigail, Nicholas and Samuel. 

(III) Henry Howland, born 30th of 6th 
month, 1672, married (first) 3d of 6th month, 
1698, Deborah, daughter of Thomas Briggs, 
of Dartmouth, Mass. She was born in 1674, 
and died in 1712. Mr. Howland married (sec- 
ond) in 1714 Elizabeth Northup. Mr. Howland 
was a housebuilder, and did a large business in 
sawing lumber. His homestead was situated 
a little west of the Apponegansett Friends" 
meeting hoiise, on the opposite side of the road. 
He seems to have been abundantly honored by 
his fellow townsmen. He occupied a prominent 
position in the Friends' Meeting. He was towji 
treasurer in 1716 and 1723, selectman in 
1724-28-29 and constable in 1729. He "died in 
1766. His children were: Edward, born in 
1698; Zoeth, 1701; Henry, 1703; Mary, 1706; 
Abigail, 1708; Thomas, 1709; Hannah, 1711 
(all born to the first marriage) ; Stephen, 1716 ; 
Deborah, 1717; William, 1720; and Meribah. 

(IV) Zoeth Howland (3), born 3d of 11th 
month, 1701, in Dartmouth, Mass., married 
Sarah. Mr. Howland was a farmer by occupa- 
tion, and was living in Dartmouth in 1731. He 
lived in Westport during the last of his life. His 
children were : Lydia, born in 1725 ; Hannah, 
1726; Daniel. 1728; and Philip, 1731. 

(V) Philip Howland, born 21st of 3d 
month, 1731, in Westport, Mass., married 
Thankful (?). born 15th of 4th month, 1730; 
both lived and died in Westport, Mass., he 
dying in 1814, and she in 1818. The farm on 
which they lived was perhaps a mile west of 
Westport village and was later occupied by 
George H. Gifford, Esq. Their children were: 
Humphrey, born in 1751 ; John; Isaac, born in 
1763; and Peace, born in 1768. 

(VI) Isaac Howland, born 30th of 6th 
month, 1763, in Westport, Mass., married 30th 
of 13th month, 1784, Lydia, daughter of 
Thomas Cornell, of Westport. Mr. Howland 
was a substantial farmer and a citizen of good 
standing in his native town, where he always 
lived. His children were: Philip, born 31st 



of 10th month, 1785; and Stephen, born 38th 
of 9th month, 1794. 

(VII) Stephen Howland, born 38th of 9th 
month, 1794, in Westport, Mass., married (first) 
27th of 6th month, 1819, Amy P. White, born 
9th of 6th month, 1802. She died 12th of 9th 
month, 1820, and he married (second) 4th of 3d 
month, 1824, Meribah Cornell, born 29th of 
12th month, 1801. She died 18th of 8th month, 
1841, and he married (third) 17th of 5th 
month, 1842, Mary Cornell, born 10th of 4th 
month, 1799. She died 4th of 1st month, 1881. 
The above, with the following children, were 
all born in Westport, Mass., where Stephen and 
his wives died. Mr. Howland was a prominent 
business man in his native town, where he 
was highly respected. His place of residence 
was at Westport village. His death occurred 
28th of 3d month, 1855. His children were: 
Hannah W., born 14th of 7th month, 1820; 
Isaac, born 9th of 10th month, 1827; George 
W., born 6th of 4th month, 1828; Peleg C, 
born 29th of 4th month, 1830; Charles C, 
born 26th of 10th month, 1832 ; Amy W., bom 
28th of 5th month, 1836; Philip H., born 18th 
of 1st month, 1839; and Meribah A., born 16th 
of 2d month, 1841. 

(VIII) Peleg C. Howland was born in 
Westport April 29, 1830, at which time his 
father, Stephen Howland, lived in that village, 
and was among the most respected citizens of the 
place. He received his early education in the 
public schools of his native town, and supple- 
mented it by study at Mr. Bartlett's well known 
school in Poughkeepsie, N. Y. After leaving 
school he served for a short time as clerk for 
a firm of grocers in Westport, and entered the 
Merchants' Bank as clerk Aug. 13, 1846. At 
that time John Avery Parker was president of 
the bank, and James B. Congdon, cashier. The 
young man undoubtedly felt that he had found 
an acceptable life work. He slept in the bank, 
and gave its interests, as far as he was then 
able, the same watchful care that characterized 
his after life. Knowledge of the rules .and 
principles of financiering seemed to reach him 
almost by intuition, and he advanced rapidly. 
He was made teller of the bank May 30, 1851 ; 
was appointed assistant cashier Jan. 10, 1854, 
and cashier Jan. 1, 1858, to fill the vacancy 
caused by the resignation of James B. Congdon, 
who had been in the cashier's office from the 
organization of the bank in 1825. This position 
Mr. Howland held until his death, and his un- 
tiring and unselfish devotion to the interests 
of the institution, his marvelous ability as a 
financier, ranking among the foremost in the 
country, his tact, skill and fidelity as a manager. 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



155 



were the subject of widespread commendation. 
The bank was his pride, and he was completely 
identified with its interests, giving .little atten- 
tion to the affairs of the community in other 
directions. Under his gifted and faithful 
administration the stock of the bank rose to an 
exceptionally high figure, and it became, and 
still is, a leading financial institution in tliis 
part of the State. Mr. Rowland's death occurred 
Oct. 26, 1885. The appreciation in which his 
services wete held by liis associates in the Mer- 
chants' Bank is fittingly expressed in the follow- 
ing memorial resolutions, which were adopted 
at a meeting held shortly after his death : 

"Resolved, The directors of the Merchants' 
National Bank of New Bedford desire to give 
expression to their sense of the loss which they, 
and the corporation which they represent, have 
sustained by the death of Peleg C. Howland, 
whose connection with the Merchants' Bank, 
beginning Aug. 13, 1846, continued after its 
reorganization under a federal charter until his 
death on the 26th of October, 1885, a period of 
thirty-nine years -of continuous service; and 
while it is more fitting that the character of 
our late cashier in his home and as a citizen 
should receive proper recognition elsewhere, of 
his qualities as a man of affairs and of business 
we may speak; and so speaking we would 
commemorate his unvarying courtesy of man- 
ner, his integrity, his comprehensive grasp of 
the largest transactions as well as the minutest 
details — none too minute to receive that atten- 
tion which was always his best; his rare 
financial ability; liis ripe experience and exten- 
sive knowledge of banking; his unstinting de- 
votion to the trusts committed to his charge; 
his wise foresight and anxious care for the in- 
terests of the bank, and his pride in its success 
— all these combine to make him what he was, 
and was recognized to be, a model corporation 
officer and cashier." 

Socially, Mr. Howland was a man of pleasant 
address and urbane courtesy, and his domestic 
relations were all that could be desired. He 
married June 3, 1851, Lucy C. Congdon, daugh- 
ter of James B. Congdon ; she died Oct. 8, 1867. 
He married (second) Oct. 29, 1872, Clara E. 
Kempton, daughter of Horatio A. Kempton, 
and after her death, which occurred Aug. 15, 
1879, he married (third) Nov. 16, 1882, Eliza- 
beth T. Kempton, sister of his second wife. He 
was the father of three children: Elizabeth 
Kempton, born March 19, 1874; Horatio 
Kempton, born Oct. 1, 1875 ; and Clara Earle, 
born Jan. 17, 1878, who married Nov. 10, 1897, 
Joseph Cornell Nowell, and has two children, 
Joseph Cornell, born May 2, 1901, and Eliza- 
beth Howland, bom June 10, 1904. 



PIEECE (Pearce, Pearse). The Pierce 
family is both ancient and historic in the an- 
nals of England, the lineage of Richard Pearse, 
the immigrant to New England and founder 
of the American family, being traced to the 
time of Galfred. In more recent English gen- 
erations were Peter Percy, standard bearer of 
Richard III. at the battle of Bosworth Pield 
(1485), and Richard Percy, the founder of 
Pearce Hall. 

The Pierce families of this country are and 
have long been very numerous. Early in the 
settlement of New England came representa- 
tives from England, most of them not related, 
so far as now known. Among them were 
Abraham, of Plymouth, 1623, who became one 
of the original purchasers of Bridgewater in 
1645; Daniel, of Newbury, blacksmith, who 
came from Ipswich, County of Suffolk, in 1634, 
aged twenty-three years; John, of Dorchester, 
mariner from Stepney, Middlesex, before 1631 ; 
another John, of Dorchester and Boston ; John, 
of Watertown, 1638; Capt. Michael, of Hing- 
ham and Scituate ; Richard, of Portsmouth, 
R. I. ; Robert, of Dorchester ; Thomas, of 
Charlestown, who was admitted to the church 
there in 1634; and Capt. William, of Boston, 
who was • a distinguished shipmaster of his 
time. 

The name is variously spelled, Pearce, Peirce 
and Pierce being the most common forms. It 
is probable the name was Percy in its earliest 
English form, and perhaps yet earlier was 
Peter. No less than seven family histories and 
genealogies, devoted to recording the previously 
named settlers and their descendants, have been 
published in this country. The most familiar 
pronunciations nowadays are that used in the 
verb "to pierce" and "perce" (purse), for at 
least several generations used by the family now 
under consideration. This article is to particu- 
larly treat of the branch of the family to 
which belonged the late Charles S. Pierce, an 
upright and respected citizen of Brockton, and 
his sons, the present George R. Pierce, who is 
one of the leading merchants of that city, and 
Charles S. Pierce, who is a prominent manu- 
facturer there. 

(I) Richard Pearse (name changed in this 
generation from Percy), born in England in 
1590, married in England — his wife's name be- 
ing Martha — and was a resident of Bristol, 
England. He was a son of Richard, who re- 
sided on the homestead of his father, grandson 
of Richard Percy, the founder of Pearce Hall, 
in York, England, where he lived and died, 
and great-grandson of Peter Percy, who was 
standard bearer to Richard III. at the battle 
of Bosworth Field, in 1485. 



156 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



Eichard Pearse came to America in the ship 
"Lyon," from Bristol, England, his brother, 
Capt. William Pearse, being master of the ship. 
His children were: Richard, John, Samuel, 
Hannah, Martha, Sarah, William and Mary. 
(Capt. William Pearse, of the ship "Lyon," was 
a distinguished shipmaster. He was killed by 
the Spaniards at Providence, in the Bahamas, 
1641. He is credited with being the author of 
the first almanac, for 1639, published in North 
America, ) 

(II) Richard Pearse (2), son of Richard 
the settler, born in 1615 in England, married 
in 1642, in Portsmouth, R. I., Susannah 
Wright, born in 1620. Mr. Pearse died in 1678 
in Portsmouth, and Mrs. Pearse was dead at 
that time. He was at Portsmouth as early as 
1654, and was admitted a freeman of the 
Colony from Portsmouth. His children were: 
Richard, born Oct. 3, 1643; Martha, Sept. 13, 
1645: John, Sept. 8, 1647; Giles, July 22, 
1651: Susannah. Nov. 22, 1652; Mary, May 
6, 1654; Jeremiah, Nov. 17, 1656; Isaac, 
December, 1658; George, July 10, 1662; and 
Samuel, Dec. 22, 1664. 

(III) George Pearce, born July 10, 1662, 
married April 7, 1687, Alice, born March 8, 
1664, daughter of Eichard and Hannah Hart, 
of Portsmouth, R. I., and (second) March 22, 
1721, Temperance Kirby, liorn May 5, 1670. 
He lived in the town of Little Compton, and 
died Aug. 30, 1752. His wife Alice died March 
11, 1718. His wife Temperance died Feb. 25, 
1761. His children were : Susannah, born Aug. 
21, 1688; George, born March 2, 1697; James, 
born Sept. 4, 1691 : Samuel, born Feb. 3, 1695; 
and Mary, born May 16, 1700. 

(IV) George Pearce (2), born March 2, 
1697, married Feb. 20, 1717, Deborah Searles, 
bom Nov. 17, 1695. He resided in Little 
Compton, and died Feb. 22, 1764. She died 
May 16, 1776. Their children were: Alice, 
born Nov. 4, 1718; Sarah, born in 1720, who 
died in 1721; Jeptha, born Feb. 20, 1722; 
Temperance, born Jan. 26, 1723; Jeremiah, 
born Dec. 22, 1725; Nathaniel, born Oct. 13, 
1727; Sarah, born Jan. 12, 1729; Ruth, born 
Sept. 20, 1731; Anstras, born Nov. 12, 1733; 
Deborah, born Feb. 23, 1735; and Richard, 
born April 19, 1738. 

(V) Nathaniel Pearce, born Oct. 13, 1727, 
married Dec. 1, 1750, Sarah Eouse, born Jan. 
14, 1728, and they resided in Tiverton, E. I. 
He died Feb. 19,' 1801. She died Nov. 23, 
1812. Their children were: Phebe, born March 
21, 1752 ; Mary, born April 30, 1754; Elizabeth, 
born Nov. 14, 1756 ; John, born April 26, 1758 ; 
George, who died at sea in 1792; Valentine, 



born Feb. 14, 1759; Nathaniel, born Dec. 17, 
1761 (died at sea in 1779); Sarah, born in 
1762, and Joseph, born Jan. 26, 1764. 

(VI) John Pearce, born April 26, 1758, 
married in January, 1783, Deborah Hicks, born 
Sept. 8, 1761, and they resided in Tiverton, 
E. I. He died Nov. 13, 1827. She died Oct. 
14, 1834. Their children were: Mary, born 
Dec. 24, 1784; George, born Jan. 31, 1787; 
Nathaniel, born May 11, 1789; Jeremiah, born 
June 21, 1791; John, born Oct. 19, 1793; 
Philip, born April 17, 1796; Sarah, born Oct. 
13, 1799; Betsey, born Dec. 15, 1802; and 
Peleg, born June 31, 1804. 

(VII) Philip Pearce, born April 17, 1796, 
married Fanny Gray. He lived at Taunton, 
and was a blacksmith by occupation. His chil- 
dren were: Philip, who died in North Bridge- 
water ; Susan, who died in North Bridgewater, 
immarried; Sarah, who married (first) a Mr. 
Borden and (second) a Mr. Gray, and died 
in Providence; and Charles S., the father of 
George E. and Charles S. Pierce. 

(VIII) Charles Sexton Pierce, son of Philip 
and Fanny (Gray), was born Aug. 9, 1823, in 
Fall River, Mass., where in his early life he 
was engaged in calico printing, which was then 
done by hand. In about 1850 he came to North 
Bridgewater (now Brockton), where he entered 
the employ of Howard & Clark, the well known 
furniture manufacturers, with whom he soon 
acquired a thorough knowledge of the details 
of cabinetmaking, which trade he continued to 
follow until his death. He was one of the 
firm's most reliable and trusted employees. 
Although of a quiet and retiring nature, Mr. 
Pierce was outspoken in all matters of moral 
reform. He was a devout member of the Cen- 
tral Methodist Episcopal Church of Brockton, 
and an earnest Christian ; he was a strong advo- 
cate of temperance. In political faith he was 
an old-line Whig, later becoming a Eepublican. 

Mr. Pierce married Elizabeth Copeland, who 
was born Oct. 1, 1823, in Fall Eiver, Mass., 
daughter of Ward Cotton and Martha (Monroe) 
Copeland. Her father. Ward C. Copeland, was 
born in Bridgewater, Mass., June 1, 1795, and 
served in the war of 1812 as a private in Capt. 
Sears Washburn's company that served at Ply- 
mouth in 1814. He was a wood turner and 
carver by trade, and after following that voca- 
tion in various places came to North Bridge- 
water in 1850 from Bristol, R. I. Mrs. Pierce 
was also of distinguished old New England 
ancestry, being a direct descendant in the sev- 
enth generation from Lawrence Copeland (I), 
of Braintree, Mass., who married Lydia Town- 
send, and was the first of the name in this 




3m* y -, 






SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



157 



country, her liue of descent being through 
William and Mary (Bass) Copeland (II) ; 
Jonathan and Betty (Snell) Copeland (III) ; 
Daniel and Susanna (Ames) Copeland (IV) ; 
Deacon Cyrus and Abigail (Dyer) Copeland 
(V) ; and Ward Cotton and Martha (Monroe) 
Copeland (VI). She was also a "Mayflower' 
descendant, being in the eighth generation from 
John Alden and Priscilla Mullins, whose daugh- 
ter Ruth Alden married John Bass, of Brain- 
tree, and his daughter, Mary Bass, married 
(first) Christopher Webb, Jr., and (second) 
William Copeland (II). To Charles S. and 
Elizabeth (Copeland) Pierce were born four 
children, as follows: Abbie C, born July 24, 
1846, married Stanford W. Vincent, of North 
Bridgewater, where she died in January, 1877; 
George R., born Aug. 20, 1848, is mentioned 
below; Susan M., born Feb. 17, 1850, is the 
widow of Walter 0. Packard, of Brockton, 
where she resides; and Charles S., born Nov. 
29, 1851, is mentioned below. The father of 
the above named children died in North Bridge- 
water July 29, 1869, aged forty-six years, being 
survived by the mother, who passed away May 
13, 1898, in the seventy-fifth year of her age. 
(IX) Geoege R. Pierce, eldest son of the 
late Charles S. and Elizabeth (Copeland) 
Pierce, was born Aug. 20, 1848, in Fall River, 
Mass., and when he was but two years of age 
his parents removed to North Bridgewater, 
where his early education was acquired in the 
common schools. Leaving school when about 
fifteen years of age, he began his career as a 
clerk in the grocery store of Simeon Mitchell, 
in whose employ he remained for a short time, 
when he accepted a similar position with L. C. 
Bliss, who later established himself in the shoe 
manufacturing business which has since become 
the Regal Shoe Company. After continuing 
in tlie employ of Mr. Bliss for about three 
years he filled a similar position with the late 
Lyman E. Cobb, for several years, and with the 
late Thomas P. Ripley for a short time, finally 
accepting a position as clerk in the drug and 
grocery store of J. J. Whipple & Co., in the 
employ of which firm he remained for a period 
of about eight years. Upon leaving the employ 
of the latter firm Mr. Pierce, in company with 
Henry F. Packard, in March, 1877, under the 
firm name of Pierce & Packard, purchased the 
grocery business of na>T\-ard Brothers, at No. 
1048 Main street, Campello, since which time 
Mr. Pierce has been the senior member of the 
firm, which has met with deserved success. The 
store is well stocked with a choice line of gro- 
ceries, meats and provisions, and the services 
of about ten clerks and several delivery wagons 



are required to serve the large and steady 
patronage. 

In political faith Mr. Pierce is a Republican 
with independent tendencies, an advocate of 
good government and favoring all moral re- 
forms, and in 1888 and 1889 served as a mem- 
ber of the common council from Ward Three. 
Fraternally he is a member of Campello Lodge, 
No. 30, Ancient Order of United Workmen. 

Mr. Pierce and his wife both take an active 
interest and are earnest workers in religious 
matters, l)eing consistent members of the South 
Street Methodist Episcopal Church of Cam- 
j)ello, of which they were original members. 
Mr. Pierce has served the church as senior war- 
den, president of the board of trustees, class 
leader, and for fifteen years as superintendent 
of the Sunday school, while Mrs. Pierce has 
served several years as superintendent of the 
primary department of the Sunday school. In 
May, 1908, Mr. Pierce and liis wife attended 
the General Conference of the Methodist Epis- 
copal Church, which was held at Baltimore, 
Md., he being a delegate to the same from the- 
New England Southern Conference. Mr. Pierce 
has also taken an active interest in the afEairs 
of the Young Men's Christian Association, hav- 
ing been one of the original directors of the 
association, in which capacity he served for 
several years. 

On Jan. 16, 1873, Mr. Pierce was united in 
marriage to Rebecca Drake Reynolds, daughter 
of the late Philip and Lucy (Drake) Reynolds, 
of Brockton, and as well a descendant of hon- 
ored New England ancestry. This union has 
been blessed with children as follows: (1) Mat- 
tie Copeland, born Dec. 9, 1873, graduated from 
the Brockton high school, and on Dec. 13, 1894, 
married George L. Knowles, of East Bridgewa- 
ter, who is in the employ of Pierce & Packard ; 
they reside in Brockton and are the parents of 
two children, Irving Pierce, born Oct. 17, 1895, 
and Bemice Louise, born May 15, 1903. (2) 
Edith May, born June 21, 1876, died when 
fifteen months old. (3) Fred Merton, born Sept. 
12, 1881, was graduated from the Brockton 
high school and the School of Technology at 
Boston, and is now a draftsman in the employ 
of the Pennsylvania Steel Bridge Company 
at Beaver Falls, Pa. ; on Jan. 1, 1908, he mar- 
ried Charlotte Louise Turner, of Brockton, and 
they are the parents of one son, John Philip, 
born Nov. 9, 1909. 

Mr. and Mrs. Pierce are of a home-loving 
nature, warm-hearted, and benevolent, and are 
highly respected by all who know them. 

(IX) Charles S. Pierce, the youngest son 
of the late Charles S. and Elizabeth (Copeland) 



158 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



Pierce, was;.borii Nov. 29, 1851, in North 
Bridgewateri,.and attended the common schools 
of his native town until he was twelve years of 
age. He then decided that he was old enough 
to work, and taking matters inte his own hands 
obtained employment in the shoe factory of the 
late Peleg S. Leach, where he had been work- 
ing for a month before his father discovered 
that he had left school. Judging it best not 
to interfere, the father left him to follow liis 
own inclinations, and for a year or more he 
remained in that factory, receiving four dol- 
lars per week for his services. After that he 
earned fairly good wages, his father allowing 
him to retain all that he made over five dollars 
a week. For a period of about ten years he 
worked for wages, employed in various shoe 
factories when business was good, and as clerk 
at other times in the grocery and drug store 
of J. J. Whipple & Co., and other merchants. 
Possessed of energy, determination and an am- 
bition to succeed in this life, he resolved to 
engage in business on his own accoimt. and 
in 1872, his capital being very limited, he bor- 
rowed one hundred dollars, and in company 
with the late Enos S. Maloon, under the firm 
name of Maloon & Pierce, established the busi- 
ness of embossing vamps and uppers for boots. 
This firm continued tlius engaged until 1883, 
when they branched out into the manufacture 
of shoes, employing at first less than a dozen 
hands. The embossing, vamping and crimping 
branch of their business was kept apart from 
the shoe manufacturing, the latter of which 
grew rapidly until the firm was giving employ- 
ment to from one hundred and fifty to two hun- 
dred hands, and manufacturing several hun- 
dred pairs of shoes, of the medium grade, per 
day. About 1884 the late William S. Morey 
became a member of the firm, which was then 
changed to Maloon, Pierce & Morey. and upon 
the death of Mr. Maloon, in l'886, Mr. Pierce 
purchased the latter's interest in the business 
and the firm then became W. S. Morey & Co. 
Like many other of the shoe manufacturers of 
the city, this firm was handicapped in business 
by being tied u\> with the "forty-two" manufac- 
turers in the^ famous strike of 1886, and two 
years later, in 1888, Mr. Pierce, having other 
prospects, purchased the interests of Mr. Morey 
in the business, and discontinued the manufac- 
ture of shoes, since which time he has been 
without an associate in business. Mr. Pierce 
was the first to "crimp" congress shoes by 
machine, a process of adjusting the shoe to the 
shape of the last, the machine used being known 
as the J. C. Locket Crimping Machine, which 
inveiition Mr. Pierce purchased and has since 



improved and patented. This machine has since 
been universally used, and is manufactured by 
the Carver Cotton Gin Company, of East 
Bridgewater, by a company formed in 1890 
(with offices in Boston) for the purpose of 
manufacturing these machines, of which com- 
pany Mr. Pierce is president. 

Mr. Pierce's business having grown to such 
proportions that he required much more floor 
space, in 1895 he erected on Montello street 
the present large factory building which bears 
his name. This is a substantial frame structure 
with a frontage of 100 feet, five stories high, and 
extending back to the railroad, which is con- 
nected with the building by a private track. He 
has since erected other buildings on land adjoin- 
ing, until he now occupies the greater part of 
four factory buildings for manufacturing pur- 
poses. No. 1 factory being used in the manufac- 
ture of box toes; No. 2, in which the power 
plant is located, being used for the crimping 
department and in the making of shoe forms 
and tips ; No. 3, devoted to the manufacture 
of shoe dressings of all kinds, and No. 4, occu- 
pied in the manufacture of shoe counters and 
heels, between three hundred and three hun- 
dred and fifty hands being employed in these 
various departments. The products of Mr. 
Pierce's establishment are well and favorably 
known to the shoe trade throughout the world 
and are in universal use, and for the purpose 
of increasing and facilitating the sale of his 
goods he has established salesrooms in St. Louis, 
Mo., and Cincinnati, Ohio, as well as in Leices- 
ter, England, and Hamburg, Germany. 

Fraternally Mr. Pierce is a prominent mem- 
ber of the Masonic organization, being a mem- 
ber of Paul Revere Lodge, A. F. & A. M., 
Satucket C^bapter, R. A. M., Brockton Council, 
R. & S. M.. and Bay State Commandery, K. T., 
of Brockton ; and of Aleppo Temple, Nobles of 
the Mystic Shrine, of Boston. He is also a 
thirty-second-degree Mason, al member of the 
Consi.storv in Boston. Socially he is an active 
member of the Commercial Club of Brockton, 
which organization he has served as a member 
of the executive committee and the house com- 
mittee, and a member of the Economic Club. 
He is also a member of the Thorny Lea Golf 
Club of Brockton, and the Plymouth Golf Club 
of Plymouth, Mass. Mr. Pierce is a trustee of 
the TJnion cemetery of Brockton, and has been 
active in the improvement and development of 
same. Although a stanch Republican in politi- 
cal faith he has not taken an active part in such 
affairs, preferring to devote his undivided time 
to his various business interests. A Congrega- 
tionalist in religious belief, he and his family 




^JC^M:^ Mlo^C^.r^^.^lJ--' 



SOUTHEASTEKN MASSACHUSETTS 



159 



attend the Porter Congregational Church, 
where Mr. Pierce is a pewhoider. 

On June 18, 1889, Mr. Pierce was united in 
marriage to Anna L. Bigeiow, daughter of 
Charles and Hannah B. (Thwing) Bigeiow, of 
Millis, Mas^., and tliis union has been blessed 
witii one daughter, Marian B. Pierce. 

While there are numerous cases of men at- 
tempting to establish themselves in a business 
enterprise with no capital other than a willing- 
ness to work, combined with a goodly amount 
of pluck, energy and perseverance, yet many of 
these meet with failure, and few, indeed, are 
they who succeed in increasing their trade to 
the volume which Mr. Pierce's business has at- 
tained. He is regarded as one of Brockton's 
successful and progressive citizens. His success 
has been achieved through perseverance and his 
ability to take the initiative, combined with 
natural business acumen, and he has earned for 
himself a high place in the confidence of the 
business circles of his native city, as well as in 
all circles in which he is known. Although he 
has attained a position of affluence he is still 
democratic in his manner, unpretentious and 
retiring in nature, and yet he has just cause 
to feel a pride in his life's achievements, accom- 
plished in the city of his birth, where he holds 
the respect and esteem of the entire community. 
He is generous in his impulses, charitable, and 
benevolent to those less fortunate than himself. 

NATHANIEL NEWCOMB, of Norton, 
Mass., was connected with the cotton manufac- 
turing business from 1814 until 1861, and' dur- 
ing this long period of activity won a com- 
petency not by lucky speculation but through 
the safer and saner methods of careful con- 
sideration, industry and frugality, maintaining 
throughout the highest personal and commercial 
integrity. 

Mr. Newcomb was born April 12, 1797, 
of the sixth generation in descent from 
(I) Francis Newcomb, who was born probably 
in Hertfordshire, England, about 1605, and 
came to America in the ship "Planter" in 1635, 
accompanied by his wife Rachel, then aged 
twenty, his daughter Rachel (aged two and a 
half years) and son John (aged nine months). 
After residing in Boston three years Francis 
Newcomb moved his little family to Braintree 
(now Qnincy, Norfolk Co., Mass.), where he 
died May 27, 1693, his gravestone says "aged 
one hundred years." Tradition says he came 
from Oxfordshire, England, and was of pure 
Saxon blood. He owned several tracts of land 
in Braintree. He had ten children. 

(II) Peter Newcomb, son of Francis and 



Rachel, was born in Braintree. He was a 
"husbandman" and much in public ofiSce. His 
estate was inventoried at £740, Is. He mar- 
ried Susannah, daughter of Richard and Sarah 
Cutting, of Watertown, and they had nine 
children. 

(III) Jonathan Newcomb, son of Peter and 
Susannah, was born in Braintree in 1685-86. 
He was a "yeoman" and owned several pieces 
of land. On Jan. 22, 1727, he bought fifty-two 
acres in Norton for £360, and removed thither 
in March, 1728. The same year he bought 
thirty-five acres more for £245, and in 1742 
seventy acres for £200. He served in the mem- 
orable expedition against Louisburg, on Cape 
Breton, and died while in service, before Nov- 
ember, 1745. By his wife Deborah (who died 
in 1780, aged ninety-five years) he had eight 
children. 

(IV) Joseph Newcomb, son of Jonathan, 
was born in Braintree, but removed to Norton 
with his parents when twelve years old. He 
served in the old French war, first in 1749 in 
Z. Leonard's company, Raynham. In 1757 he 
was in S. Witherell's company of Norton. His 
will disposed of about 650 acres of land, and his 
personal estate inventoried at £1,286, 6s, 8d. 
He married (intentions published) Oct. 3, 1745, 
Judith Pratt, daughter of Josiah, and their 
children were: Joseph, born June 28, 1746; 
Sarah, Oct. 14, 1748; Samuel, Dec. 1, 1752; 
Anna, April 15, 1756; Asa, Dec. 15, 1759; 
Annas, March 25, 1762; and Josiah, April 14, 
1764. 

(V) Josiah Newcomb, son of Joseph, born 
April 14, 1764, was a farmer and resided dur- 
ing his lifetime in Norton. He was a soldier 
in the Continental army in the Revolution, en- 
listing July 27, 1780, in Capt. John Allen's 
company of Col. Carpenter's regiment. Josiah 
Newcomb married (intentions published) Oct. 
17, 1782, Rebecca Godfrey, of Easton, daughter 
of Joseph and Rebecca (tisdale) Godfrey. She 
was born in Easton Sept. 27, 1765, and died 
Sept. 25, 1831. In 1834 he married (second) 
Charlotte Forrest. His children, all by the first 
marriage, were: Becca, bom Feb. 29, 1784; 
Josiah, Dec. 22, 1785; Nathaniel, April 12, 
1797: and Anna, March 17, 1799. 

(VI) Nathaniel Newcomb was given the 
advantages of the common schools, and at the 
age of seventeen entered the employ of his 
brother-in-law, Simeon Presbrey, in a cotton 
mill in Stoughton, and was thus started in the 
line of work that was to engross his attention 
for nearly all the remainder of his life. Under 
Mr. Presbrey he learned the rudiments of the 
business, and when he began for himself in his 



160 



SOUTHEASTEEN MASSACHUSETTS 



native +o^vti his understanding of the work was 
so clea. ' it iiu ^'^^^, at once attended his efforts 
as a manufacturer of cotton thread. The thread 
mill was burned Dec. 31, 1831, and he then 
began the manufacture of wadding, buying of 
James Beaumont the patent right to make 
wadding, and continuing in the wadding and 
batting business till, having accumulated a 
handsome fortune by his untiring industry 
and rigid economy, lie gave up active connec- 
tion with the work in 1861. He was known as 
a man of caution, one who took no risk, and 
he was often sought for advice. During his 
life he used his money to develop the business 
in which he had made it, but he often expressed 
a desire that at his death he might leave some 
token of remembrance to the town with which 
he had so long been i}l.,>;-,'t'.'^°d. This wish his 
daughter carried ouooi. "^^ presenting to the 
town a memorial' -Vi,.L;r''i^-.v3r in the shape 
of the present town hall. 

Mr. Newcomb was a Democrat in politics, but 
he had no desire for official position. He was 
of a strong and positive nature, and carefully 
considered a subject before expressing his opin- 
ion. His life was one of study and of active 
devotion to business, and his success was the 
natural outcome of his ability and courage. He 
was genial and social, and won and retained 
the respect of men in every walk of life. 

On April 17, 1823, Mr. Newcomb married 
Betsey, daughter of Gen. Thomas and Esther 
(Newland) Lincoln, of Taunton. She was born 
Feb. 10, 1795, and died Aug. 16. 1878. He 
died Nov. 18, 1876. Their children were: 
Betsey Thomas, born April 5, 1825, who mar- 
ried William A. Hayward, of Milford, Mass., 
and died June 3, 1884; and Harriot Augusta, 
born Jan. 3. 1833, who resides in Norton. On 
April 17, 1873, Mr. and Mrs. Newcomb cele- 
brated the fiftieth anniversary of their mar- 
riage, entertaining a large number of friends 
from various places. 

JACKSON (Fall Eiver family). While the 
Jackson family is not strictly speaking an'old 
Fall River one, it is one ancient and honorable 
in the Commonwealth, and of distinction here 
in the city named for a generation. Reference 
is made especially to the sons of Rev. John Jack- 
son, John Henry Jackson, A. M., M. D., and 
Col. Amos Messer Jackson, A. M., M. D., 
lieutenant colonel by brevet, U. S. A., both 
physicians and surgeons here for some thirty- 
five years, and the younger a veteran and officer 
of the Civil war, and a man repeatedly highly 
honored by his fellow citizens in the city of 
his a'd option. 



The Massachusetts Jacksons, at least some 
branches of them, were conspicuous as a family 
in the American Revolution. Col. Michael 
Jackson, of Newton, who had been a lieutenant 
in the French war, at the breaking out of the 
Revolution was a private soldier in a volunteer 
company of minute-men of the town. On the 
news of the Lexington Alarm reaching the town 
in the captain's absence Jackson was chosen in 
his stead and he led the company by way of the 
shortest route to the enemy, and while near 
Concord village, en route, came in contact with 
Lord Percy's reserve; though his command for 
a time was dispersed the men soon rallied, 
formed again in a wood near by, where they 
were joined by a part of the Watertown com- 
pany, and hung upon the flank and rear of the 
retreating enemy with much effect until they 
reached Lechmere Point at nightfall and took 
boat for Boston ; and for their bravery the men 
received the thanks of General Warren upon 
the field. Suffice it to say that Captain Jackson 
soon after received a major's commission in the 
Continental army, then quartered at Cambridge, 
and was subsequently promoted to the command 
of the 8th Regiment in the Massachusetts Line, 
than which no regiment was more distinguished 
for bravery and good conduct during the war. 
He was severely wounded in an action with the 
British on Montressor's island, in New York. 
Five of his brothers and five of his sons were 
in the army of the Revolution. 

But here in this article it is the purpose to 
treat of but one branch or family of the Massa- 
chusetts Jacksons — the family of John Jackson, 
who was a descendant of the Middleboro settler 
of the name, one John Jackson, and who in time 
removed to the State of Maine, the home State 
for several generations of the Fall River Jack- 
sons in question. The first Jolm Jackson came 
from England to New England and settled in 
Middleboro, where in May, 1714. he was mar- 
ried to Mary Smith. They had two children 
(if not more), John arkd Cornelius, the latter 
of whom was born in Middleboro Sept. 11, 1716. 
The father died in 1731! 

On Aug. 19, 1735, John Jackson, Jr., was 
married to Jemima, born in 1718, daughter of 
Joseph and Joanna (Tinkham) Bates, of 
Middleboro, Mass. Both Mr. and Mrs. Jack- 
son were admitted to the First Congregational 
Church at Middleboro, he March 7, 1743, 'and 
she, Oct. 14, 1739. This couple, presumably 
with the family, removed to the State of Maine 
before the American Revolution, and there Mr. 
Jackson died June 11, 1810, aged over ninety 
years. Mrs. Jemima Jackson died Feb. 28, 
1820, aged eighty-seven. 



SOUTHEASTEEN MASSACHUSETTS 



161 



Vassalboro, in the State of Maine, and vicin- 
ity has continued to be the home of later gen- 
erations of the Middleboro Jackson family. 
This town began to be settled as early as 1760, 
at which time it embraced tlie territory which 
forms the town of Sidney; ten families com- 
prised the nucleus of the settlement tliere in 
the year 1768. 

Deacon John Jackson, son of John and 
Jemima, and his wife Euth (Godfrey), the 
grandparents of Col. A. M. Jackson and brother, 
of Fall Eiver, were residents of that part of 
Vassalboro which became Sidney at the begin- 
ning of the nineteenth century; and, says fam- 
ily tradition, either this John or an earlier one 
was a soldier of the Eevolution. He died Aug 
IT), 1831, aged seventy-one years, and she died 
May 29, 1870, aged ninety-five years, four 
months, twenty-six days, at the home of her 
son John. They had children as follows: (1) 
Benjamin married Mary Trask, who died in 
1856. Children: Silas Plummer; Benjamin 
F., who died Sept. 17, 1855; Arvilla L., who 
died Dec. 15, 1850, aged twenty; and Lavina, 
who married Lorenzo Bates. (3) Godfrey and 
his wife Serena had children : Mary, who mar- 
ried a Mr. Lowell ; Edward B., who lived at 
Bridgton, Maine ; William, who was wounded 
in the battle of the Wilderness; Euth; Mrs. 
Bagley, and Elizabeth, who married Mr. Patten, 
of Lee, Maine. (3) Eev. John is mentioned 
further on. (4) Euth married a Mr. Sherman. 
(5) Jemima married (first) William Eobinson 
and had sons, Augustus, Charles, Adoniram 
Judson and George, all deceased, the last named 
killed in the Civil war. She married for her sec- 
ond husband Lewis Bassett, and had two chil- 
dren, Lavina Helen and Hartwell (killed in 
the Civil war). (6) Joane married Benjamin 
McKerson and had children : Charles, a con- 
tractor in the Bronx district in New York ; 
Frank, who is in the West, and William J., a 
physician in New Bedford, Mass. (7) Sylvia 
married David Dyer. 

Eev. John Jackson, son of John and Euth, 
was born in Sidney, Maine, Dec. 25, 1804. He 
was for a period a resident of Lee, Maine, where 
he was licensed to preach by the Baptist As- 
sociation, in March, 1848, removing thence to 
Patten, Maine, and thence to the town of Litch- 
field Corners, in the same State, for the purpose 
of educating his children. Here his death oc- 
curred' May 1, 1882. His wife, Sarah (Cun- 
ningham), whom he married in 1835, died May 
11, 1882, aged seventy-one years. Their children 
were: Charlotte M. married (first) Thomas B. 
Sampson, a druggist, and (second) Euel W. 
Hanscom, a dry goods merchant, who did busi- 

11 



ness in Lewiston, Maine (they lived, however, 
in Auburn, Maine) ; John Henry was born 
March 26, 1838; Amos Messer was born Oct. 
19, 1840. 

John Henky Jackson, M. D., a son of Eev. 
John and Sarah (Cunningham) Jackson, was 
born March 26, 1838, at Lee, Maine. He was 
prepared for college in the academy at Litch 
field Corners, and then entered Colby Univer- 
sity (then known as Waterville College), at 
Waterville, Maine, from which institution he 
was graduated with the degree A. B. in 1860, 
and received the A. M. degree in 1863. He was 
a Phi Beta Kappa man. After his graduation 
lie was occupied until 1865 in teaching in the 
high schools of Maine and Wisconsin. In 1865 
he entered the medical department of Bowdoin 
College, at Brunswick, Maine, remaining there 
three years and receiving the degree of M. D. 
from that institution in 1868. From 1868 
until 1873 he was engaged in the practice of 
medicine in Vassalboro, M^-'ie. t- the year 
last named he removed  is 

Commonwealth, where lo. ov •..id- le 

time of his decease, he was a su-^. .. physi- 

cian, widely known, highly esteemed and re- 
spected. 

For some years beginning with 1893 Dr. 
Jackson was professor of theory and practice of 
medicine in the College of Physicians and 
Surgeons of Boston. He was a member of the 
Fall Eiver Medical Society, and of the Amer- 
ican and Massachusetts Jledical Associations. 

On Jan. 29, 1862, Dr. Jackson married Clara, 
born Feb. 10, 1840, in Waterville, Maine, daugh- 
ter of George and Sophia F. (Lovejoy) Went- 
worth, of Sidney, Maine, and a descendant of 
Elder William Wentworth, the immigrant, who 
was one of the founders of Exeter, N. H., July 
16, 1639, from whom her descent is through 
Benjamin and Sarah (Allen) Wentworth, Lieut. 
Benjamin (born Dec. 11, 1703) and Deborah 
(Stimpson) Wentworth, Bartholomew (born 
Nov. 28, 1737) and Euth (Hall) Wentworth, 
Benjamin (born Feb. 21, 1771) and Olive 
(Cousins) Wentworth, and George (born June 
23, 1810) and Sophia F. (Lovejoy) Went- 
worth. 

Dr. John H. and Clara (Wentworth) Jack- 
son, had one child, Ealph Wentworth, born 
May 13, 1868, who is engaged in the practice 
of medicine in Fall Eiver. 

Dr. Jackson died Oct. 27, 1908, at his home 
in Franklin street, Fall Eiver, Mass., when in 
the seventy-first year of his age. A highly re- 
spected and able physician, his death was a 
matter of general loss. 

Ealph Wentworth Jackson, M. D., son of 



162 



SOUTHEASTEKN MASSACHUSETTS 



Dr. John Henry and Clara (Wentworth) Jack- 
son, was born at Waterville, Maine, May 13, 
1868. He was educated in the public and high 
schools of Fall Eiver, and graduated from 
Brown University with the degree of A. B., in 
1889, while there becoming a member of the 
Delta Phi fraternity and of the Phi Beta 
Kappa. For one year he studied medicine at 
the University of Vermont, and for two years 
at the Long Island College Hospital, graduating 
in 1892. That year he began practice in Fall 
Eiver and for about six years lectured on 
Obstetrics and demonstrated anatomy at the 
College of Physicians and Surgeons of Boston. 
In 1910-1911 he took a special course on 
rectal diseases at St. Mark's and the Gordon 
hospitals in London, following this with 
two months' work at the Post Graduate 
and Polyclinic Hospitals in New York City, 
and now makes a specialty of diseases of the 
colon and rectum. Dr. Jackson is a m.ember of 
the Fall River, Massachusetts State and Amer- 
ican Medical Associations. Fraternally he is 
a member of King Philip Lodge, A. F. & A. M., 
and Manchester Unity, I. 0. 0. F. 

On Dec. 26, 1896, he married Gertrude Pear- 
son, and they have one son, Eric Pearson, born 
Feb. 1, 1899. 

Amos Messer Jackson, M. D., son of Eev. 
John and Sarah (Cunningham) Jackson, was 
born Oct. 19, 1840, in Lee, Maine. He was 
prepared for college at the Liberal Institute at 
Litchfield Corners, and then entered Waterville 
College, now Colby University, at Waterville, 
Maine, from which institution he was graduated 
A. B. in 1861, receiving in time the A. M. 
degree. By this time the Civil war had begun 
and like thousands of the boys of our land young 
Jackson barkened to the call of his country and 
went to her defense. In August, 1863, he en- 
listed in the 24th Eegirpent, Maine Volunteer 
Infantry, and was appointed second lieutenant 
of Company F, of that regiment, detailed to 
Signal Corps and sent to the Department of the 
Gulf. He was promoted to first lieutenant in 
1863, in the 24th Maine Volunteer Infantry, 
and commissioned second lieutenant. Signal 
Corps, U. S. A. ; served through the Pojt Hud- 
son campaign in western Louisiana and Texas, 
in 1864 in Indianola, Texas, and in charge of 
secret service department at General Canby's 
headquarters; commissioned major, 10th Regi- 
ment, United States Colored Artillery (Heavy), 
in December; in 1865 was president of court 
martial for several months ; provost marshal, 
city of New Orleans, from July, 1865, to June, 
1866; provost marshal general. Department of 
Gulf, to wind up office; mustered out, Feb. 22, 



1867 ; brevetted lieutenant colonel, U. S. A., 
for faithful and meritorious service throughout 
the war. 

Eeturning home after a most creditable and 
lionora^ble war record Colonel Jackson engaged 
in the dry goods business in 1867, continuing 
therein until the fall of 1871. He then pre- 
pared hiniselt' for the practice of medicine, going 
first to Long Island Medical School and 
graduating from Dartmouth Medical College in 
1872. He immediately located in Gardner, 
Maine, coming to Fall River, Mass., about Jan. 
1, 1874, and there he has since remained and 
built up an extensive and lucrative practice. A 
man well fitted by nature and experience for 
public position, his fellow citizens have a num- 
ber of times called him to trusts of honor and 
responsibility, and as often has he performed 
their duties with credit alike to himself and 
his constituents. For some eight or more years 
he was chairman of the school board of Fall 
River. He was for three years commander of 
Richard Borden Post, No. 46, G. A. R. In 1890 
he was a member of Governor Brackett's staff, 
with the rank of colonel, and in 1897 he was 
president of the common council of Fall River. 
In that same year he was elected, as a Repub- 
lican, mayor of the city, for 1898, and he was 
again elected for 1899, serving during the period 
of the Spanish-American war. Dr. Jackson 
is a member of the Loyal Legion. 

Oji Jan. 1, 1865, Dr. Jackson was married at 
New Orleans to Susan A. Noe, daughter of 
James Noe, and a descendant of French Hugue- 
not stock. Their three children are: Amy L., 
now the widow of Edward L. Hawkins; Oliver 
Howard Jackson, M. D., of Fall River; and 
Ruel H. 

Omvkr Howard Jacksox, M. D., son of 
Amos M. Jackson, was born Aug. 28, 1871, in 
Andover, Maine. In his early childhood the fam- 
ily came to Fall River, Mass., and there in the 
public schools he received his literary education, 
graduating from high school in 1889. For the 
two years following he was a student at the 
Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Boston, 
and then entered Ijong Island Medical College, 
Brooklyn, graduating from that institution in 
1894. He furthered his preparation for the 
practice of medicine by a year's service in the 
King's county hospital, one and a half years on 
the stafl' of the Brooklyn Eye and Ear Hospital 
and one year in the study of his specialty in 
London, Paris and Berlin, settling for practice 
in Fall River in 1897 or 1898. He has since 
devoted himself untiringly to his professional 
labors, making a specialty of diseases of the 
eve, ear, nose and throat, and his success has 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



163 



been notable, his practice being probably the 
largest of the kind in the city. The thorough- 
ness with which he prepared for his chosen 
calling was indicative of the character of the 
man and the spirit with which he takes up his 
work, the Doctor being noted for conscientious 
and faitliful attention to his duties and an in- 
tellect wliich finds its most congenial exercise in 
devotion to the exactions of his profession. He 
is a Mason, holding membership in King Philip 
Lodge, A. F. & A. M., and is also a member of 
the Quequechan Club. 

Dr. Jackson married Maud L. Thompson, 
daughter of A. D. Thompson, of Fall River, 
and they have had three children, Paul, Louise 
and Oliver Howard, Jr. 

CLIFFORD'. Among the most prominent 
law offices in southern Massachusetts is one 
which by lineal succession has existed for nearly, 
if not quite, a hundred years, and in which 
three generations of the Clifford family have 
been represented. 

Timothy Gardner Coffin, conceded to be the 
ablest lawyer of his time in southern Massachu- 
setts, was admitted to the bar in 1811 and be- 
gan his practice in New Bedford. John H. 
Clifford, who had fceen a student in Mr. Coffin's 
office, and who afterwards became attorney gen- 
.eral and governor of the Commonwealth, was 
admitted to the bar in New Bedford in 1830. 
For a brief period the partnership of Coffin & 
Clifford existed. Harrison G. 0. Colby, who 
afterwards became judge of the court of Com- 
mon Pleas, was also admitted to the bar in 
1830. In 1838 the law partnership of Colby & 
Clifford was formed, and from that time to the 
present the law office then founded has existed 
in New Bedford under successive changes. 
Colby & Clifford was followed by Colby, Clifford 
& Brigham — Lincoln F. Brigham, afterwards 
chief justice of the Superior court, becoming a 
member of the firm. Upon Judge Colby's ap- 
pointment to the bench in 1845 the firm became 
Clifford & Brigham. In 1853 Mr. Clifford be- 
came governor of the Commonwealth and 
Joshua C. Stoife, who at one time was judge of 
the court of Insolvency for Bristol county, 
joined Mr. Brigham under the firm name of 
Brigham & Stone. This lasted until 1858, when 
Judge Brigham was appointed to the bench 
and Mr. Stone removed to Boston. The office 
then passed to William W. Crapo, afterwards a 
member of Congress, who had been a student 
in the office of Clifford & Brigham, and who 
was admitted to the bar in 1855. In 1862 Mr. 
Crapo formed a partnership with Judge Stone, 
who returned to New Bedford from Boston, and 



this firm existed until the death of Judge Stone, 
in 1869. Mr. Crapo then enlarged the firm by 
taking in as partners George Marston, after- 
wards attorney general, who was admitted to 
the bar in 1845, Wendell H. Cobb, afterwards 
city solicitor of New Bedford, who was admitted 
to the bar in 1865, and Charles W. Clifford, 9 
son of John H. Clifford, afterwards commis- 
sioner on the Revision of the Statutes, 1902, 
who was admitted to the bar in 1868. The firm 
name was Marston & Crapo. This firm lasted 
until 1878, when owing to the conflict of re- 
tainers growing out of the Fall River mill dis- 
aster it was divided into two firms, Marston & 
Cobb, and Crapo, Clifford & Clifford, Walter 
Clifford, a younger son of John H. Clifford, 
afterwards mayor of New Bedford, and who was 
admitted to the bar in 1874, becoming a member 
of the firm. From 1882 until his deatli in 1886 
Frederick C. S. Bartlett, who was a member 
of the Judiciary committee of the House of 
Representatives of Massachusetts (1886), and 
who was admitted to the bar in 1878, was a 
member of the firm. In 1887 Henry H. Crapo, 
who subsequently became president of the three 
street railway companies of southern Massachu- 
setts, and who was admitted to the bar in 1886, 
became a member of the firm. In 1894 Oliver 
Prescott, who was admitted to the bar in 1892, 
recognized as one of the soundest and best 
equipped lawyers of his time, was admitted to 
the firm and the name was changed to Crapo, 
Clifford & Prescott. In 1909 John H. Clifford, 
a son of Walter Clifford and a grandson of John 
H. Clifford, who was admitted to the bar in 
1904, became a member of the firm. The pres- 
ent members of the firm are William W. Crapo, 
Charles W. Clifford, Walter Clifford, Henry H. 
Crapo, Oliver Prescott and John H. Clifford. 
Walter Clifford and Henry H. Crapo have re- 
tired from active practice, the former on account 
of ill health and the latter on account of the 
pressure of his duties as president of the trolley 
•system. 

The members of the Clifford family who have 
been such important factors in this old and 
prominent law firm came of a distinguished 
ancestry. The late John H. Clifford was a 
direct descendant in the eighth generation from 
George Clifford, who came with his wife Eliza- 
beth and son John from Arnold village and 
parish, Nottinghamshire, England, to Boston in 
1644. He was a member of the Ancient and 
Honorable Artillery Company of that place. 
The English ancestry of George Clifford is not 
entirely certain, but he was probably a descend- 
ant of "the Chudleigh Cliffords. John H. Clif- 
ford was also a direct descendant of Thomas 



164 



SOUTHEASTEEN MASSACHUSETTS 



Mayhew, governor of Martha's Vineyard. His 
sons are also through their mother direct 
descendants in the ninth generation from Capt. 
Myles Standish of Plymouth. 

From the immigrant ancestor, George Clif- 
ford, the lineage of John H. Clifford of New 
Bedford is traced through John Clifford, John 
Clifford (2), Jacob Clifford, Jacob Clifford (2), 
Jacob Clifford (3) and Benjamin Clifford. 
These generations in detail and in regular order 
follow. 

(II) John Clifford, son of George Clifford, the 
immigrant, was born in 1614 in England. He 
was three times married, his first wife's name 
being Sarah. His second wife, to whom he 
was married Sept. 28, 1658, was Mrs. Elizabeth 
Eichardson, who died Dec. 1, 1667. His third 
marriage was to Mrs. Bridget Huggins, who 
was the widow of John Huggins. Mr. Clifford's 
death occurred Oct. 17, 1694, when he was 
eighty years of age. His children was as fol- 
lows: John (mentioned below), Israel, Han- 
nah, Elizabeth, Elizabeth (2), Isaac and Mary. 

(III) John Clifford (2), son of John Clif- 
ford and grandson of George Clifford, the 
immigrant, was born in the year 1645. He 
settled in Hampton. He was united in mar- 
riage, Aug. 18, 1670, to Sarah Godfrey, who 
was the daughter of Deacon William Godfrey. 
The following named children were born to this 
union : John, Sarah, Deborah, Mehetebel, 
Jacob, Joseph, Zachariah and John. 

(IV^ Jacob Clifford, son of John Clifford 
(2), and the fourth generation in the line we 
are tracing from George, was born April 7, 
1679. He was united in marriage with Eliza- 
beth Mayhew and settled in Hampton. Their 
children were: Hannah, Sarah, Elizabeth and 
Jacob. 

(V) Jacob Clifford (2), son of Jacob, born 
May 11, 1715 (a posthumous child), married 
Bathsheba Skiff and had a son Jacob. 

(VI) Jacob Clifford (.3), of Tisbury, son of 
Jacob (2), married Nov. 8, 1770. Elizabeth, 
daughter of Abraham Smith, of Providence, and 
they lived in Providence, E. I. They had a son 
Benjamin. The father died Feb. 3,"l793'. 7 

(VII) Benjamin Clifford married Sept. 27. 
1795, Achsah Wade, and lived in Providence, 
E. I. Achsah Wade was born Feb. 27. 1774. 
probably in Eehoboth. Mass.. where she was mar- 
ried. She was the daughter of Tchabod and Mary 
(Peck) Wade, who were married Nov. 24. 1763, 
at Taunton likely, as their marriage is of record 
there, and at that time Mr. Wade is referred 
to as of Taunton. Mass. Their children of 
Eehoboth town record were: Silvanus. born 
Aug. 28, 1764; Lewis, born Sept. 11, 1766; 



Alpheus, born July 26, 1768; Ichabod, July 27, 
1770; Elbannon, born Feb. 27, 1772; Achsah, 
born Feb. 27, 1774; Ebenezer, born Feb. 10, 
1776; Sarah Peck, born Jan. 10, 1778; John 
Leland, born April 25, 1780; Mary, born March 
5, 1782; Comfort, born April 7, 1786; and 
Sally, born July 28, 1788. 

The children of Benjamin and Achsah Clif- 
ford of Providence town record were: Mary 
Ann, born Nov. 5, 1796; Joseph Peck, born 
Oct. 6, 1798; Benjamin, born Dec. 13, 1800; 
Sally Smith, born Nov. 8, 1802; a son, born 
June 12.1804; a daughter, born June 12, 1804; 
Lewis Wade, born Aug. 17, 1805 ; Fanny Eliza, 
born June 5, 1807; John Henry, born Jan. 16, 
1809; William Ebenezer, born Dec. 26, 1810; 
Caroline Achsah, born Oct. 12, 1812; Abby, 
born Feb. 4, 1815; Anna, born Feb. 4, 1815; 
and George Edward, born Aug. 20, 1818. 

(VIII) John Henry Clifford, son of Ben- 
jamin and Achsah (Wade) Clifford, was born 
Jan. 16, 1809, in Providence, E. I. He was 
graduated from Brown University in 1827. He 
completed his law studies under the direction 
of Timothy G. Coffin, in New Bedford, and 
Theron Metcalf, at Dedham, and was admitted 
to the bar in 1830. He located in the practice 
of tlie law in New Bedford a»d there practiced 
throughout his lifetime. Mr. Clifford began his 
public career as a member of the Massachusetts 
Legislature. He was made one of the aides-de- 
camp of Governor Everett in 1836 and in 1840 
he was appointed by Governor Everett district 
attorney for the Southern district, an office 
which iie filled with marked ability for nearly 
ten years. In the meantime, in 1845, he was 
elected to the State Senate. He was appointed 
attorney general of Massachusetts in 1849, and 
in 1850 he was engaged in that most memor- 
able trial of Prof. John W. Webster for the 
murder of Dr. George Parkman. In the year 
1852 the Whig party nominated him for gov- 
ernor of Massachusetts, and although he re- 
ceived nearly 25.000 more votes than either of 
the opposing candidates he was not elected by 
the people. On the convening of the Legis- 
lature he was chosen to the Sffice by bo'th 
branches and bis inaugriration took place Jan. 
14. 1853. He declined a renomination and his 
successor called him to his former office as 
attorney general, which he held until 1858. In 
1862 he was elected to the State Senate and 
became the presiding officer of that body. He 
was made president of the Boston & Providence 
Eailway Company in 1867. Governor Clifford 
was honored with numerous other positions of 
trust and responsibility. What he always re- 
garded as one of his highest distinctions was his 



SOUTHEASTEKN MASSACHUSETTS 



165 



election by the alumni of Harvard College 
as an overseer of the college — he being a grad- 
uate of Brown — and his selection as president 
of the board. 

On Jan. 16, 1833, Mr. Clifford was married 
to Sarah Parker Allen, daughter of William 
Harland and Euth (Parker) Allen, the latter a 
daughter of John Avery and Averice (Stand- 
ish) Parker, who was a direct descendant from 
Capt. Myles Standish. Their children were : 
Ruth, born Sept. 23, 1833, died the same day; 
Mary, born March 15, 1836, died Nov. 24, 
1842; Anna, born Jan. 22, 1838, died March 8, 
1909 ; Edward Everett, born May 18, 1840, died 
Nov. 28, 1842; Robert Winthrop, born April 13, 
1842, died Aug. 28, 1843 ; Charles Warren, born 
Aug. 19, 1844, is mentioned below; Ellen was 
born May 3, 1846; Walter, Aug, 11, 1849; 
Arthur, April 7, 1857 (died Feb. 26, 1881). 

It has been said justly that "any sketch of 
Governor Clifford, however otherwise complete, 
would do him great injustice which would fail 
to notice the patriotic course pursued by him 
during the late war (Civil). From the moment 
of the attack on Fort Sumter to the close of the 
contest he gave his whole energies to the support 
of the administration. His voice and his pen 
were given with his whole heart to the service 
of his country. From the very first he never 
doubted an instant as to what his duty, nor 
hesitated in performing it. President Lincoln 
had no truer friend, and he knew it, and Gen- 
eral Grant no more earnest supporter in the 
work of reconstruction. General Grant, in 
grateful recognition of his patriotism as well 
as with a desire to secure his services in the 
diplomatic department of the government, 
tendered to Governor Clifford the mission to 
Russia, and afterwards to Turkey, both of which 
he was obliged to decline. 

"But it was as a man, as a private citizen, as 
a neighbor, as a friend that those who knew him 
will prefer to remember him. He possessed such 
traits of character that all who knew him re- 
spected him, and those who knew him best loved 
him most." 

After a brief visit abroad in quest of re- 
newed health Governor Clifford died at his home 
in New Bedford, Mass., Jan. 2. 1876. On the 
announcement of his death at the annual meet- 
ing of the Peabody trustees at the White Sul- 
phur Springs, in Virginia, in August following, 
the distinguished statesman Hon. Alexander 
H. H. Stuart, of that Commonwealth, paid 
Governor Clifford the following tribute: 

"There was a quiet dignity and grace in 
every movement, and his countenance beamed 
•with intelligence and benignity. To a mind of 



great power he united a heart wluch throbbed 
with generous impulses, and a happy faculty 
of expression which gave a peculiar charm to 
his conversation. There was a frankness to his 
bearing and a genial urbanity about him which 
at once commanded confidence and inspired 
good will. Everyone who approached him felt 
attracted by a species of personal magnetism 
which was irresistible." 

(IX) Charles Warren Clifford, son of 
John Henry and Sarah Parker (Allen) CUfford' 
was born Aug. 19, 1844, in New Bed- 
ford, Mass. He was prepared for college 
under the direction of Mr. T. Prentiss 
Allen, at the Friends' Academy in his native 
town. Entering Harvard College at the age 
of seventeen, he was graduated therefrom in 
July, 1865, A. M. 1868. Having early decided 
upon the law as his profession, after his 
graduation he entered upon his legal studies 
under the direction of Hon. Edmund H. 
Bennett, of Taunton; these he continued at the 
Harvard Law School and later under Hon. John 
C. Dodge, of Boston. He was admitted to the 
bar in June, 1868, and began practice in his 
native city and in the office formerly occupied 
by his father. 

In 1876 Mr. Clifford was appointed one of 
the commissioners to revise the judiciary system 
of the Commonwealth. In 1891 he received the 
most hearty and nearly unanimous support of 
the bar of Massachusetts for an appointment as 
judge of the Circuit court of the United States. 
Subsequently the state of his health at the time 
prevented his appointment upon the bench of 
the Supreme judicial court and as judge of the 
District court of the United States. He was a 
civil service commissioner of Massachusetts 
from November, 1884, to July, 1888, being one 
of the original board which established the pres- 
ent system. Mr. Clifford has served as a com- 
missioner of the United States Circuit court; a 
member of the standing committee upon Com- 
mercial Law, American Bar Association : and 
as one of the standing examiners of applicants 
for admission to the Bristol (Bristol county) 
bar. In 1898-1901 Mr. Clifford served as one 
of the commissioners on the Revision of 
the Statutes of Massachusetts, and in 1904 on 
the commission for the Revision of the Building 
Laws. He was counsel for the owners of the 
"Cape Horn Pigeon" and as such took part in 
the arbitration between the United States and 
Russia at the Hague in June, 1902. As counsel 
for the owners of the "Hope On" he acted in 
the arbitration between the United States and 
Chili at Washington in 1886. He prepared the 
testimony relative to the whaling vessels 



166 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



destroyed by the Confederate cruisers whicli was 
presented to the Geneva Arbitration. He was 
president of the Southern Massachusetts Tele- 
phone Company, the National Bank of Com- 
merce of New Bedford and the Harvard Club of 
New Bedford. He is president of the Masonic 
Building Association, of St. Luke's Hospital, 
the Country Club of New Bedford and the New 
Bedford Bar Association. He is vice president 
of the Swain Free School, the New Bedford In- 
stitution for Savings and the Massachusetts Bar 
Association. He is a member of the Bunker 
Hill Monument Association and the Colonial 
Society, of the Union Club of Boston and the 
University Clubs of Boston and New York. 

Mr. Clifford has always been loyal in his sup- 
port of the Republican party; he has served 
several times as chairman of the Republican 
city committee ; managed the campaign of Hon. 
William W. Crapo for the gubernatorial nom- 
ination in 1882, has been a member of the 
Republican State central committee, and in 
1880 was a delegate to and assistant secretary 
of the Republican National Convention at Chi- 
cago. 

Mr. Clifford has been twice married, first 
May 5, 1869, to Frances Lothrop, daughter of 
Charles L. Wood, of New Bedford (who died 
April 28, 1872), and second March 15, 1876, 
to Wilhelmina H., daughter of the late Governor 
Crapo of Michigan and a sister of his partner, 
Hon. William W. Crapo, who died Aug. 23, 
1909. His only child (by his first wife) died 
at birth. 

(IX) Walter Clifford, son of John Henry 
and Sarah Parker (Allen) Clifford and brother 
of Charles W., and also a member of the law 
firm of Crapo, Clifford & Clifford, of New Bed- 
ford, was born in the city named Aug. 11, 1849. 
He acquired his elementary and preliminary 
education in private schools and at the Friends' 
Academy, New Bedford. He was prepared for 
college at Phillips Exeter (N. H.) Academy, 
entered Harvard University and was graduated 
therefrom A. B. with the class of 1871. In the 
year following his graduation, 1872, he entered 
Harvard Law School and was graduated LL. B. 
with the class of 1875. While maintaining his 
connection with Harvard Law School lie was 
for one year a student in the office of Messrs. 
Staples & Goulding, at Worcester, Mass., and 
while there was admitted to the bar of New 
Bedford, in June, 1874. In 1875 he became 
a law clerk in the office of Messrs. Marston & 
Crapo, of New Bedford, and continued this con- 
nection until 1878, when he became a partner 
in the law firm of Crapo, Clifford & Clifford. 

Mr. Clifford has been connected with various 



business institutions as director, and served sev- 
eral years as vice president of the New Bedford 
Five Cents Savings Bank. During 1889-91 he 
was the efficient mayor of his native city. He 
is a member of the Somerset and Union Clubs 
of Boston. 

On June 5, 1878, Mr. Clifford was married 
at New Bedford to Harriet Perry, daughter of 
Charles S. and Sarah (Perry) Randall. Four 
children have been born to them : John H., born 
May 7, 1879; Rosamond, born Aug. 24, 1881; 
Hilda, born July 25, 1883 (married John H. 
Stedman, of New York, Oct. 14, 1905), and 
Randall, born May 12, 1889. 

(X) John" H. Clifford, the son of Walter 
and Harriet Perry (Randall) Clifford and 
grandson of John H. Clifford, the member of 
tlie firm in tlie tliird generation, was born at 
New Bedford May 7, 1879. He was educated 
at the Groton School and Harvard University, 
where he graduated in 1902. Having com- 
pleted his four years" course in three years, he 
spent his senior year at the Law School and 
was admitted to the bar in 1904. He at once 
entered the law office of Crapo, Clifford & Pres- 
cott and became a partner in the firm in 1909. 

Mr. Clifford is a trustee of the Sphinx Club 
of Cambridge, and treasurer of the Harvard 
Club, the Parish Club and the Art Club of New 
Bedford, and recently succeeded his father as 
vice president of the New Bedford Five Cents 
Savings Bank. He is unmarried. 

SEARS (Fall River family). The family 
bearing this name is one ancient in New 
England, an early Cape Cod family, the an- 
cestor iising the orthography Sares. Says the 
family historian : "There is a popular belief 
that the family of Sears is of Norman origin, 
and it is noticeable that in the eastern parishes 
of London, and adjacent villages, which con- 
tained many Huguenot, Flemish and Walloon 
emigrants, the name of Sears or Sares is com- 
mon about 1600. However, the parentage, place 
and date of birth of Richard Sares, the first 
American ancestor of the family considered, are 
unknown. Marbleiiead, at which point Richard 
Sares was found in 1638, was largely settled 
by people from tiie islands of Guernsey and Jer- 
sey; the names of Sarres and Serres have been 
represented in Guernsey for several centuries, 
and are found there to-day." 

As will be seen in what follows the Fall River 
family of Sears here considered — to which be- 
longs Chauncey Howe Sears, an extensive mason 
contractor and builder and one of Fall River's 
well-known citizens and substantial men — is one 
of some two hundred and sixty and more years' 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



167 



staiidiug in this Commonwealth. The family 
history and genealogy of the Fall River family 
follow in chronological order from the immi- 
grant settler. 

(I) Richard Saras (name variously spelled, 
in time taking the form of Sears) is of record 
at Plymouth as early as March, 1632-33, when 
taxed. He soon crossed over to Marblehead and 
was there taxed in 1637. He removed to Yar- 
mouth, where he was a proprietor, 1638. His 
name was in the list of those able to bear arms 
in 1643. He became a freeman June 7, 1653. 
Commissioners were appointed Oct. 26, 1647, to 
meet at his house on Indian affairs. He died 
in Yarmouth, and was buried there Aug. 26, 
1676. His widow, Dorothy, was buried there 
March 19, 1678-79. It is not certain that she 
was his only wife, or the mother of all, if any, 
of his children. His cliildren were : Paul, born 
in 1637-38; Silas, possibly a twin of Paul, as 
his age given by Otis at his death would indi- 
cate; and Deborah, born in September, 1639. 

(II) (Lieut.) Silas Sears, born as indicated 
by his age given by Otis at the time of his death, 
in 1637-38, married Anna, perhaps Bursell, 
daughter of James Bursell, of Yarmouth. Both 
died at Yarmouth, Mr. Sears Jan. 13, 1697-98, 
and Mrs. Sears March 4, 1725-26. Lieutenant 
Sears lived in the East Precinct of Yarmouth, 
which later became Dennis. He was commis- 
sioned ensign Oct. 28, 1681, and lieutenant July 
7, 1682. He was chosen representative to the 
General Court at Plymouth, 1685-91, select- 
man, 1680-94, and juryman, 1680-83. He was 
appointed in 1676 one of the administrators of^ 
the estate of James Bursell of Yarmouth. The 
children of Silas Sears were: Silas, born in 
1661 ; Richard (both born in Yarmouth) ; Han- 
nah, born in December, 1672, in Eastham; 
Joseph and Josiah, both born about 1675 in 
Yarmouth; Elizabeth and Dorothy, both born 
in Yarmouth. 

(III) Capt. Joseph Sears, born about 1675 
in Yarmouth, married there Sept. 19, 1700, 
Hannah Hall, of Yarmouth. He lived in the 
East Precinct of Yarmouth, now East Dennis. 
He was styled captain and in his will calls him- 
self yeoman. He died May 7, 1750, in his 
seventy-fifth year. His wife, Hannah, survived 
him and died July 28, 1753, in her seventy- 
third year. Their children were: Priscilla, 
born July 1, 1701 (married Josiah Gorham) ; 
Hannah," Dec. 10, 1703 (married Peter Bla;'k- 
more) ; Zachariah, April 22, 1706; Joseph, 
March 27, 1708; Stephen, July 22, 1710; 
Roland, May 17, 1711; Barnabas, April 5, 
1714; Peter,' May 20, 1716; Bethia, March 20, 
1718-19 (married Thomas Howes) ; Silas, Feb. 



11, 1719-20; and Thankful April 11, 1723— all 
born in Yarmouth, Massachusetts. 

(IV) Joseph Sears, born March 27, 1708, in 
Yarmouth, Mass., married in Harwich, May 
21, 1733, Ruth, born July 4, 1715, daughter 
of Samuel and Ruth (Merrick) Sears. She 
died March 27, 1761, and he married (second) 
in Harwich, Oct. 28, 1761, Thankful Snow, and 
(third) Dec. 4, 1766, Bashua (Nickerson) 
Chase, nee Smalley. Mr. Sears lived in that 
part of Harwich which became Brewster, Mass. 
He was admitted to the Second Church in East 
Yarmouth June 29, 1742. He died Aug. 6, 1779, 
in his seventy-second year. His children, all 
except the first of Yarmouth record and born 
to wife Ruth, were: Isaac, born Oct. 28, 1734, 
in Harwich, died March 24, 1759; Stephen was 
born Sept. 5, 1736; Lamed, born Oct. 22, 1738, 
married Ann Bangs; Ruth, born Dec. 10, 1740, 
married James Wing. 

(V) Stephen Sears, born Sept. 5, 1736, in 
Yarmouth, Mass., married Nov. 12, 1758, Eliza- 
beth, daughter of Silas and Elizabeth (Nicker- 
son) Sears. Mr. Sears lived in the ancient 
Judah Sears's house at "'Punkhorn,'' in West 
Brewster, Mass. He was a soldier of the Revo- 
lution, turning out as a member of the Capt. 
Samuel Berry company, and marching on the 
alarm at Bedford and Falmouth, Sept. 7, 1778, 
the company marching one hundred and twelve 
miles. His children, all baptized in Harwich 
and on dates specified below, were : Mary, Ruth 
and Isaac, all Oct. 19, 1766: David and Earned, 
May 3, 1767; Levi, Jan. 22, 1769; Mary, May 
17, 1772; Stephen; Elizabeth, June 12, 1774; 
Joseph, Oct. 12, 1776; Lavinia, May 23, 1779; 
Washington, Nov. 25, 1781 ; and Greene, Nov. 
25, 1781. 

(VI) Isaac Sears, baptized Oct. 19, 1766, in 
Harwich, Mass., married Nov. 3. 1784, Sarah 
Eldredge, of Chatham, Mass. Mr. Sears was 
found dead in the road in March, 1816. His 
wife was baptized and admitted to the church 
in Chatham, July 10, 1796. Their children, 
all born in Dennis, Mass., were : Mulford, born 
Nov. 1. 1785; Patty, born Nov. 1, 1785; and 
Eldredge, born Sept. 25, 1790. 

(VII) Mulford Sears, born Nov. 1, 1785, in 
Dennis, Mass., and baptized July 10, 1796, mar- 
ried (published Aug. 31, 1811) Patty, daughter 
of Barnabas Crosby. Mr. Sears died Aug. 4, 
1827, in East Dennis, Mass. Their children, all 
born in Dennis, were : Solomon, born July 10, 
1812 (died May 11, 1821); Calvin, "Dec. 
6, 1813 ; Isaiah Crosby, Aug. 2, 1816 ; Mulford, 
Sept. 7, 1818 (died May 10, 1821) ; Barnabas, 
Nov. 1, 1820 (died June 20, 1821) ; and Mul- 
ford (2). March 26, 1823. 



168 



SOUTHEASTEEN MASSACHUSETTS 



(VIII) Capt. Isaiah Crosby Sears, father of 
Chauncey Howe Sears, of Fall River, was born 
Aug. 2, 1816, in Dennis, Mass. He was a sea- 
faring man, and resided at East Dennis, Mass., 
where he died March 19, 1882. He was in the 
coastwise service and commanded a number of 
different vessels, being part owner in a number 
of them. He was a member of the Methodist 
Church, in East Dennis, was active in its affairs, 
and being the possessor of a good bass voice 
he for many years led the choir. He was a 
man much esteemed and respected. He married 
in Brewster, Mass., Nov. 15, 18.38, Jedidah 
Snow Baker, born Sept. 14, 1810, in Yarmouth, 
Mass., daughter of Obadiah Baker. Mrs. Sears 
survived her husband, dying in 1888, and was 
buried beside him in East Dennis. Their 
children, all born in Dennis, were: Obadiah 
Baker, born Aug. 20, 18.39, died April 10, 1841 ; 
Obadiah Baker (2), born July 25, 1842, was a 
sea captain and spent many years in the Pacific 
and later in the Atlantic coast trade, and died 
in Brooklyn, N. Y. (he married Mrs. Lizzie 
Atkinson) ; Isaiah Francis, born Jan. 20, 1844, 
resides in Fall River and is a bookkeeper in 
the employ of his brother, Chauncey H. (he 
married Sarah A. Little) ; Herbert Wallace, 
born July 31, 1848, was a mechanic and died 
in Taunton, Mass., unmarried ; Horace Augus- 
tus, born Nov. 1, 1851, a mason, resided in Fall 
River, where he and his wife died (he married 
Carrie Robinson) ; Chauncey Howe was born 
Dec. 5, 1853. 

(IX) Chauncet Howe Sears was born in 
East Dennis, Mass., and received his education 
in the public schools of his native place. He 
left home while yet a boy, being in his 
eighteenth year, and coming to Fall River be- 
gan to learn the trade of mason under Charles 
Norman. His apprenticeship was to cover a 
period of three years, all of which he served 
lacking seven days, which time he bought from 
his employer. It is interesting to note that the 
first year of his apprenticeship his wages were 
thirty-five cents a day and board for the long 
hours which comprised a day's work at that 
time. In October, 1874, before he was twenty- 
one, he began business for himself as a con- 
tractor and builder, in a small way. Through 
his superior business skill his patronage has 
grown to be one of the largest of its kind in 
the city'. He has done a great deal in the way 
of mill construction as well as work on public 
buildings. Among the mills he has constructed 
may be mentioned Hargraves Mill No. 1, the 
Sanford Spinning Company's mill. Globe Yarn 
No. 3, all the mills of the Stevens Manufactur- 



ing Company, the Barnard mill, the Lincoln 
mill, the Luther Manufacturing Company's 
mill, Arkwright mill, Davis Mills Nos. 1 and 
2, Marshall's hat factory, Charlton mills, the 
Corr mill at East Taunton, the Queen City cot- 
ton mill at Burlington, Vt., besides large addi- 
tions to numerous other mills. Among his 
more important contracts among the public 
buildings in Fall River may be mentioned the 
Masonic Hall, the "Mellen House," the Brad- 
ford Durfee Textile School, the E. S. Brown 
block, the Flint building, and Hudner's two 
buildings. Some of his contracts have amounted 
to several hundred thousand dollars. To facili- 
tate the work on his various contracts, Mr. Sears 
owns and operates his own stone quarries, and 
he also conducts a large teaming business. He 
has also acquired extensive interests outside of 
his immediate field of operations, being heavily 
interested in various mills, and is a director of 
the Stevens Manufacturing Company, Davis 
Mills, Arkwright Mills, Luther Manufacturing 
Company, Charlton Mills, and the Corr Manu- 
facturing Company, the latter being an East 
Taunton concern. 

Mr. Sears has never taken any part in pub- 
lic affairs or aspired to office holding, but he 
is nevertheless one of the leading citizens of 
Fall River, progressive and public-spirited to 
a degree that makes his influence sought and 
valued. He is a self-made man, but though he 
has worked hard he has retained his genial .social 
qualities and is well known in the local clubs 
and fraternal bodies. He was made a master 
Mason in Mount Hope Lodge, A. F. & A. M., 
and became a charter member of Narragansett 
Lodge; is a member of Fall River Chapter, R. 
A. M., of Fall River Council, Godfrey de Bouil- 
lon Commandery, K. T., and all the Scottish 
Rite bodies, having taken the thirty-second de- 
gree; he is also a member of Aleppo Temple, 
A. A. 0. N. M. S., at Boston. He belongs to 
the Knights of Pythias, the Quequechan Club. 
Fall River Auto Club, the Wamsutta Club and 
the Country Club at New Bedford, and to the 
Fall River and Charles River Driving Clubs 
(the latter a Boston organization), being an en- 
thusiastic horseman and always owning one or 
more blooded horses. He is a Republican in 
politics. 

On June' 14, 1883, Mr. Sears married, in 
Fall River, Georgianna Teresa Newell, who was 
born in Fall River Sept. 3, 1863, daughter of 
William Newell. They have had two children: 
Roy H., who is his father's business assistant, 
and Gladys L., a graduate of the Bennett 
School, of Millbrook, New York. 




^JTB»*rm <» £•. 








SOUTHEASTEKN MASSACHUSETTS 



169 



ALBERT CRANSTON THOMPSON, a 
resident of Brockton, Plymouth county, for 
over forty years, was a citizen of proved worth 
in business and public life. His influence in 
both is a permanent factor in the city's devel- 
opment, a force which dominates the policy of 
at least one phase of its civil administration, 
and his memory is cherished by the many with 
whom he had long sustained commercial and 
social relations. As the head of an important 
industrial concern for a period of over thirty 
years, as chairman for nearly ten years, up to 
the time of his death, of the sewerage commis- 
sioners of Brockton, as president of the Com- 
mercial Club, as an active worker in church 
and social organizations, he had a diversity 
of interests which brought him into contact 
with all sorts and conditions of men and broad- 
ened his life to an unusual degree. Good will 
and sympathy characterized his intercourse 
with all his fellows. As may be judged from 
his numerous interests and his activity in all 
he was a man of many accomplishments, of un- 
usual ability, of attractive personality and un- 
questionable integrity. He was earnest in 
everything which commanded his attention and 
zealous in promoting the welfare of any object 
which appealed to him, and his executive abil- 
ity and untiring energy made him an ideal 
worker in the different organizations of every 
kind with which he was connected. 

Mr. Thompson was a native of the county 
in which he passed all his life, having been 
bom Dec. 19, 1843, in Halifax, a descendant 
of one of the oldest and best known families 
of that town. The families of Thompson and 
Fuller were very numerous and prominent in 
that region, so much so that according to tradi- 
tion a public speaker once, in opening his ad- 
dress, instead of beginning with the custo- 
mary "Toadies and Gentlemen" said "Fullers 
and Thompsons." So much for their numbers. 
The line of descent is traced back to early Col- 
onial days. 

(I) John Thomson or Thompson is of rec- 
ord at Plymouth in 1643, in which year he is 
given as among those able to bear arms. It 
seems uncertain when he came. It has been 
set forth that he ;was bom in 1616 in the 
northern part of Wales: that he came to New 
England with one of the early embarkations 
and landed at Plymouth; that with Richard 
Church he built the first framed meetinghouse 
in Plymouth in 1637. He served against the 
Narragansetts for seventeen days from Aug. 
15, 1645. He was town officer and juryman. 
He bought in 1645 a home and garden in 
Plymouth, and in that year, Dec. 26th, he 



married Mary, born in 1626, daughter of Fran- 
cis Cooke, of the "Mayflower," 1620. He finally 
bought much land some thirteen miles west 
of the village of Plymouth on the confines of 
Bridgewater, Middleboro and what was then 
called Plymouth (now Halifax), building his 
house in Middleboro, and in it lived until it 
was burned by the Indians. He was an active 
participant in King Philip's war, during which 
he held the commission of lieutenant com- 
mandant, and after the war built a frame house 
near the site of the old log one referred to as 
having been burned, and in it he lived through 
the remainder of his life; and four genera- 
tions of his posterity occupied it. He died 
June 16, 1696, in the eightieth year of his age; 
his wife Mary died March 21, 1714, in the 
eighty-eighth year of her age. Their children 
were : Adam, who died young ; John, born in 
1648; Mary, born in 1650; Esther, born in 
1652; Elizabeth, born in 1654; Sarah, born in 
1657; Lydia, bom in 1659; Jacob, born in 
1662; Thomas, bom in 1664; Peter; and 
Mercy, born in 1671. 

(II) Jacob Thomson, born April 24, 1662, 
was for a number of years a justice of the 
peace. He married Abigail Wadsworth, and died 
Sept. 1, 1726, in .his sixty-fifth year, his wife 
dying Sept. 15, 1744, in her seventy-fifth year. 
Their children were: Jacob, born in 1695; 
Abigail, 1697; Mercy, 1699; John, 1701; 
Lydia, 1703; Barnabas, 1705; Esther, 1707; 
Hannah, 1709; Mary, 1711; and Caleb, 1712. 

(III) Barnabas Thomson, born Jan. 28, 
1705, married Hannah, daughter of Samuel 
Porter, of Abington, and sister of Rev. John 
Porter of Bridgewater. Mr. Thomson served 
a long time as deacon of the church at Halifax. 
He died Dec. 20, 1798, in his ninety-fourth 
year, his wife dying May 2, 1787, in her seven- 
ty-fifth year. Their children were: Abigail, 
born in 1741; Barnabas, born in 1742; Jacob 
and Samuel, twins, born in 1743; Jabez, horn 
in 1744; Asa, born in 1745; Noah, born in 
1747; Hannah, bom in 1748; Isaac, born in 
1749; David, born in 1750; Olive and Abel, 
twins, born in 1752: Adam, born in 1754; and 
Ichahod, born in 1756. 

(IV) Adam Thomson, bom April 24, 1754, 
married Molly Thomson, daughter of Amasa 
and Lydia (Cobb) Thomson, and they died, 
he Aug. 20, 1821, and she June 12, 18.35. Their 
children were: Samuel, bora in 1778; Adam, 
born in 1784; Ward, bom in 1786; and Zadoc, 
bom in 1790. 

(V) Adam Thompson (2), born May 27, 
1784, married Salvina Wood, daughter of Tim- 
othy and Salvina (Soule) Wood. They died, 



170 



SOUTHEASTEEN MASSACHUSETTS 



he April 22, 1867, and she June 10, 1856. Their 
children were: Molly, born March 14, 1811 
(died Feb. 13, 1853); Otis, May 1, 1813; Al- 
bertj Oct. 9, 1815; and Shepard, Nov. 2, 1820. 

(VI) Albert Thompson, born Oct. 9, 1815, 
married Charlotte Maria, daughter of Silas 
Warren. She died July 12, 1875, aged fifty- 
three years, seven months, eleven days. Their 
only child, Albert Cranston, was born Dec. 19, 
1843. 

(VII) Albert Cranston Thompson, after re- 
ceiving an ordinary education in the district 
schools of Halifax, was m attendance at school 
in Abington one year, and in 1857 attended 
the Dwight school in Boston. He learned the 
carpenter's trade under his father, serving un- 
til he was almost twenty-one, so that his fa- 
miliarity with building began early and stood 
him in good stead in the business which was 
practically his life work, as well as in many 
positions which he was called upon to fill in 
his later years. He began life with little finan- 
cial backing, and his success, from both a mate- 
rial and a moral standpoint, was notable. At 
the age of twenty he came to Brockton, making 
his home in the city from Feb. 29, 1864, until 
his death, Feb. 5, 1906. He began woTk here 
in the employ of Philip Reynolds, who was 
then engaged in the manufacture of melodeons 
on Main street, over the store of A. P. Hazard, 
now the site of the L. Richmond Company. 
Mr. Reynolds later carried on the manufacture 
of cabinet organs. After only a few years, in 
1869, Mr. Thompson became his employer's 
partner, and the association lasted until 1873, 
when he sold out to Mr. Reynolds and em- 
barked in the business to which he gave his 
principal attention during the remainder of his 
life. At that time he purchased the wood 
turning business of George M. Copeland, then 
located in the second story of Ellis Packard's 
mill on Crescent street (now owned by Elmer 
C. Packard). Later he leased from Oakes S. 
Soule a lot on Montello street, at the foot of 
Ward street, where he put up a steam mill, 
and after conducting that for a time purchased 
a lot from William Perry, at No. 78 East Rail- 
road avenue, where he found a permanent lo- 
cation for his planing-mill. He established 
himself at this location in 1878, in the plan- 
ing and molding business, doing fine wood 
work for builders, a business in which he con- 
tinued with great success to almost the close 
of his days. In January, 1893. Ellery C. Dean, 
who had learned his trade of Mr. Thompson, 
became a partner in the business, which then 
became known as the A. C. Thompson Com- 

.pany. Mr. Tliompson's ability as a business 



man was demonstrated by the success and 
growth of this establislmient under his man- 
agement. It attained such proportions that it 
was an important asset in the commercial well- 
being of the city, and Mr. Thompson was re- 
garded everywhere as one of Brockton's fore- 
most business men. His straightforward meth- 
ods in all transactions, his candor with liis 
patrons and his liberality in dealing made him 
popular as well as respected. He had a reputa- 
tion for good judgment that made his advice 
much sought, and he gave it unselfishly. He 
not only used his knowledge of business condi- 
tions to further his own affairs, but assisted 
his fellow men whenever possible with his 
means as well as his counsel when necessary. 

The East Side Electric Railroad was one of 
the first in Brockton and Plymouth county, if 
not in the country, to be run by electricity, and 
its route lay from the city proper to the eastern 
part, toward Whitman. It was in poor condi- 
tion when Mr. Thompson was asked to take it 
in hand as director and president, and under 
his management, until it was leased to the 
Brockton Street Railway Company for ninety- 
nine years, it was brought up to a five per cent 
basis ; it was leased at that yearly rate, but this 
lease has since been canceled, the stock being 
merged into the Lessees Railway Company. 
Mr. Thompson's long connection with two of 
the solid financial institutions of the city, the 
Brockton Savings Bank and the Home Na- 
tional Bank, as trustee and member of the in- 
vestment committee of the former and as di- 
rector of the latter from 1890, had a marked 
effect upon the prosperity and standing of 
those concerns, which in turn reflected higli 
credit upon his sagacity and policies. One 
of his associates in the management of the 
Home National Bank said at the time of his 
death : 

"A close personal friendship, and a business 
association with him of twenty years on the 
board of directors of the Home National Bank, 
has given me a good opportunity to see and 
appreciate those qualities in him which make 
a man's life of so much value to those with 
whom he comes in contact, and which cause 
his death to be so sincerely regretted by the 
community. His opinion in financial matters 
was also sought and highly respected by his 
associates, and in the board of investment of 
the Brockton Savings Bank, where he has been 
an interested workei' for many years, he will 
be missed as are few men of the present day." 

Mr. Thompson retained his connection with 
the banks up to the time of his decease, but he 
retired from the wood turning business Feb. 1, 



SOUTHEASTEKN MASSACHUSETTS 



171 



1905, being succeeded by a former partner, El- 
lery C. Dean (who was connected with the busi- 
ness for a number of years), and J. B. Pen- 
ney, of Campello (Brockton), who have since 
conducted the establishment under the name of 
Dean-Penney Company. During his long-con- 
tinued activity in the business world Mr. 
Thompson formed a host of friends and ac- 
quaintances, not only among the contractors 
and builders with whose interests his own were 
so closely allied but also among progressive 
commercial leaders in various other lines. His 
high standing in the Commercial Club, of 
which he was a corporate member and ever a 
faithful worker for its interests, was shown 
by the number of services he was asked to per- 
form. From the time of its organization until 
his death he was almost continuously in office 
or engaged in work on the various committees', 
and at the last annual meeting of the club be- 
fore his death he was elected to the presidency 
by a flattering vote. Owing to poor health he 
felt that he could not do justice to the office, 
as matters of particular importance were pend- 
ing, and accordingly he tendered his resigna- 
tion in January, 1906, the month before his 
death. His letter was characteristic, showing 
the conscientious care he gave to everything he 
undertook, but the committee declined to con- 
sider the matter, sending him a message of 
sympathy and good cheer which expressed the 
wishes of the entire membership. A former 
president of the club said : "Mr. Thompson's 
death will be a great loss to the club and to the 
city. He will be greatly missed by any in- 
terest with which he was associated. He had 
reached that point in life when through the 
ripeness of his experience and his innate abil- 
ity he was of great value to any endeavor for- 
tunate enoiigh to secure his interest. He was 
a most faithful worker. During my presidency 
of the club I often had occasion to call upon 
some member to do some little thing that was 
necessary, but which many would have refused. 
He never refused. He was always ready and 
willing to do the best he could for the club. In 
his capacity as first vice president T made him 
chairman of various committees, including the 
committee on the proposed annex. He gave to 
it a thoroughness of investigation and a com- 
petency gained from years of experience in 
connection with building operations and with 
the world in general. He had ability, energy, 
experience and all that goes to make up a 
thoroughly well rounded man. Others might 
be equally willing, but few had his ripened 
knowledge and trained abilities. He was a 
man who never shirked. Personally he was 



the finest of men. In fact, he was a man 
through and through in the best sense of the 
word." 

Though a busy man Mr. Thompson found 
time for public service. He was an alderman 
in 1887 and 1888; represented the city in the 
State Legislature in 1888 (during which year 
he served on the committee on Federal Rela- 
tions) and was reelected for 1889 (that session 
serving on the committee on Water Supply), 
and gained especial prominence by his efl!ective 
work as a member of the sewerage commission. 
As a member of the House his interested and 
untiring eft'orts won the commendation of hii 
fellow legislators as well as of his constituents. 
He was one of the principal promoters who as- 
sured the success of the electric railway system 
in Brockton. He was one of the original mem- 
bers of the sewerage commission, having been 
appointed when the board was first authorized, 
and continued in office by reappointment until 
his death. Upon the retirement of Rufus King- 
man he became chairman, and served as such 
to the close of his life. His work in this con- 
nection was of permanent value to the city, 
and so deep was his sense of the importance of 
his duties that while on a pleasure trip to Ger- 
many, a fe\V years before his death, he devoted 
much of the time to investigating approved sys- 
tems in the foreign cities, with the result that 
he had many sagacious suggestions to make to 
his fellow commissioners, who esteemed his ad- 
vice highly. His encouragement and hope- 
fulness carried the board through many a try- 
ing period, and nowhere was he more greatly 
missed than at the meetings of this body. 
Everywhere he left the memory of one who was 
just and indisposed to criticize in his judg- 
ment of others, scrupulously faithful in the dis- 
charge of his responsibilities as he saw them, 
and fully able to grapple with any situation 
and to defend his own position when necessary. 
His strength and courage were the outward evi- 
dences of a well balanced mind and a nature 
controlled by the kindliest impulses and the 
highest principles which mark the Christian 
man's bearing toward his fellow-beings. 

Mr. Thompson's church relations, covering 
a long period of active association with Unity 
Church (Unitarian), were a source of the 
deepest pleasure to him. Liberal in his dona- 
tions to the church and in his support of its 
various enterprises, he also gave freely of his 
time and counsel in the promotion of such 
works, and he was a leader in the con- 
gregation for many years, being chairman of 
the board of trustees at the time of his death. 
In no other relation were his inspiring dispo- 



172 



SOUTHEASTEEN MASSACHUSETTS 



^ition and unselfish labors more apparent than 
in his efficient work in this office, the success- 
ful administration of which depended so large- 
ly upon his personal interest and ability. In 
broadening the scope of the society's work, in 
the intelligent direction of its moral and mate- 
rial affairs, his aid was regarded as invaluable 
by his coworkers in the church. Here, as else- 
where, he never obtruded his own opinions and 
plans to the exclusion of others, and he never 
withheld his sympathies or support from any 
well directed project. 

There was no more honored member of the 
Masonic fraternity in Brockton. He was a 
thirty-second-degree Mason, "one of the old 
guard in the Masonic bodies of Brockton and 
Old North Bridgewater," a member of Paul 
Revere Lodge, Satucket Chapter, Brockton 
Council, Bay State Commandery, and Massa- 
chusetts Consistory at Boston. Joining the 
fraternity in 1867, he took his first Masonic 
office in Paul Revere Lodge in 1868, and ad- 
vanced steadily from that time until he be- 
came a past worshipful master of that body. 
In the higher organizations he was equally ac- 
tive and popular, doing good work both in 
the offices and on the various committees. He 
was a past high priest of his chapter, a past 
thrice illustrious master of his council, and a 
past eminent commander of Bay State Com- 
mandery; for years a member of the Past Com- 
manders' Union of Rliode Island and Massa- 
chusetts, and served at times as deputy grand 
master for different lodges in this section of 
Massachusetts. Mr. Thompson's brother 
Masons relied upon his advice and assistance 
as implicitly as his associates in other organi- 
zations. Being a regular attendant at meet- 
ings he kept well informed upon the work of 
the various bodies to which he belonged, and 
he was generally called upon to assist in de- 
ciding vital questions or directing important 
work. He was one of the committee that di- 
rected the equipment of Masonic headquarters 
in the old City block and later was on the com- 
mittee that had charge of the fitting of the 
present adequate quarters in the Masonic build- 
ing on Centre street. Mr. Thompson was also 
a member of the Knights of Honor, the New 
England Order of Protection, an associate 
member of Fletcher Webster Post, G. A. R., 
and a member of the Old Bridgewater His- 
torical Society, which he joined shortly before 
his death. 

During his last fa*v years Mr. Thompson's 
health was not as rugged as he might have 
wished, and he had spent his winters in the 
South, feeling much benefited by the change. 



But the last winter of his life an attack came 
on before he had the chance to make the trip 
safely, and he grew steadily worse until the 
end came, while he was a patient in the Brock- 
ton Hospital, Feb. 5, 1906. The Brockton 
Daily Enterprise of that date said : 

"Mr. Thompson came to this city in 1864 
and since that time had won for himself a place 
in the front ranks of the business men of the 
city and at the same time had not forgotten 
the pleasanter side of life and made himself 
one of the most sincerely beloved of Brock- 
ton's citizens. He was the friend of all. He 
was an ardent worker in all that he undertook 
and was a power for good in the advancement 
of any interest that claimed his attention 

"As a man he was loved by friends, associ- 
ates, employees and the great mass of people of 
this city who have lived here long and have 
been fortunate enough to come within the 
radius of his ever serene good cheer and hearty 
Christian sympathy for all men. His life was 
an exposition of the great principle of brotherly 
love. In his death there is universal grief and 
a great sympathy that goes out to those that 
were near and dear to him." 

The expressions of grief and sympathy upon 
the occasion of his funeral were universal and 
sincere. All business was suspejaded in the 
city during the services, and the city hall was 
closed for the afternoon. It had always been 
Mr. Thompson's wish that the last rites over 
his remains should be extremely unostenta- 
tious, and his desire was respected. The pew 
in Unity Cliurch which he had so long occu- 
pied was filled with the floral offerings sent in 
profusion, and the simple religious services 
were conducted by his friend. Rev. Dudley H. 
Ferrell, pastor of the Church of the Unity. 
Though his Masonic brethren were present in 
large numbers, representatives from all the bod- 
ies to which he belonged being present, the im- 
pressive Masonic ritual was not used. The 
Commercial Club, the various administrative 
departments of the city, the banks with which 
he was connected, the church and the various 
social organizations with which he was identi- 
fied were all well represented. Mr. Ferrell's 
brief address was an appreciative tribute to the 
goodness and high character of the deceased. 
Mr. Thompson was laid to rest in Melrose ceme- 
tery. 

On Oct. '^. 1871, Mr. Tliompson was united 
in marriage, in Provincetown, Mass., to Mar- 
ria Anna Nickerson, daugliter of the late Capt. 
Alfred and Mary H. (Hill) Nickerson, of that 
place. No children were born to this union. 
Mr. and Mrs. Thompson passed all their mar- 





n B L 1 c ) 



^(JOgx L yC ^ U i^^>^ a/^l 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



173 



ried life in Brockton, residing for a time in 
the house now used as the annex to the "Hotel 
Hamilton"' and later removing to their hand- 
some home at No. 19 Maple avenue. 

Capt. Alfred Nickerson, father of Mrs. 
Tliompson, passed away Dec. 4, 1897, aged 
eighty-one years, ten months, twenty days, at 
Provincetown, Mass. He was the son of 
Thomas and Mary Nickerson, and was one of 
nine children born to his parents in Province- 
town, where he had always resided. Captain 
Nickerson was a well known and much re- 
spected citizen of the community where his long 
and useful life had been spent. He was for 
many years engaged in an active business life. 
In early years he followed the sea for a liveli- 
hood, and after retiring from a seafaring life 
lie engaged in business as a painting contractor, 
which business he followed the remaining years 
of his active business life, in which he met with 
deserving success. Quiet and retiring in dis- 
position, he nevertheless possessed character- 
istics which attracted and won the warm friend- 
ship of all acquaintances. As a kind neighbor 
and true friend he will long be remembered by 
both old and young. 

ROBERT KNIGHT REMINGTON, philan- 
thropist, reformer, successful business man and 
Christian gentleman, was born in Grafton, 
Mass., July 12, 1826, son of Jeremiah Reming- 
ton, and died at his home in Fall River Nov. 
25, 1886. 

As early as 1661 John Remington and his 
wife Abigail were at Haverhill, where their 
children, Daniel and Hannah, were born. John 
Remington is credited by one writer as being 
the emigrant ancestor from Wales of the Rhode 
Island Remingtons. He appears of record as 
early as 1669 at Jamestown, R. I., where Aug. 
28th of that year he and two others were or- 
dered to assemble inhabitants of Conanicut Isl- 
and to consider what might be most suitable 
for defense and preservation against any inva- 
sion or insurrection of the Indians. He had 
been earlier at Haverhill, Mass. (1661), and 
Andover. He was one. of the grantees in 1677 
of what became East Greenwich, R. I. He and 
his sons were taxed in 1680. In 1695 he gave 
his son Thomas Remington, of Warwick, a deed 
for his Haverhill interests, and redeeded to 
him the same in 1709, he then being apparently 
of Warwick, R. I., the former deed having be- 
come "damnified through disaster." His chil- 
dren were: John, who married Abigail Rich- 
mond, and was a resident of Newport and 
Kingstown, R. I. : Joseph, of Jamestown ; Dan- 
iel, born at Haverhill Oct. 18, 1661, who lived 



in Jamestown; Hannah, born at Haverhill July 
3, 1664, of Jamestown, R. I.; Stephen, who 
married Penelope and lived in Jamestown; and 
Thomas, who married Mary, daughter of Wil- 
liam Allen, of Prudence Island, and lived there 
(at Portsmouth) and, at Warwick, Rhode 
Island. 

From the foregoing source have come the 
Rhode Island and vicinity Remingtons. And 
so far as traceable from the village records the 
following is the line of the branch of the fam- 
ily which settled in Fall River nearly a cen- 
tury ago and which has since been active and 
prominent in the business and social life of 
that town and city. Reference is especially 
made to the brothers Hale and Robert Knight 
Remington, both now deceased, whose sons and 
grandsons have followed in their footsteps and 
are now active and prominent in citizenship. 

Thomas Remington, the ancestor of the pres- 
ent Fall River family in question, is referred 
to when married as of Providence, this event 
taking place at Scituate in November, 1740. 
His wife Mary (Collins) is designated as of 
Scituate, R. I. Their children of Scituate 
town record were: Margaret, born May 18, 
1742; Jonathan, born Dee. 21, 1743; Pru- 
dence, born March 16, 1749; Joseph Lippitt, 
born June 15, 1751; and Mary, born June 29, 
1757. 

Joseph Lippitt Remington, son of Thomas 
and Mary (Collins) Remington, born June 15, 
1751, in Scituate, R. I., married Alcey or Alice 
and among their children was Jeremiah, born 
Sept. 14, 1787, in Scituate. 

Jeremiah Remington, son of Joseph L. and 
Alcey Remington, born Sept. 14, 1787, in Scit- 
uate, R. I., married Dorcas Knight, born May 

16, 1791, died March 29, 1877. For a time Mr. 
Remington lived in Cranston, R. I., and at 
Grafton, Mass., where "Captain" Remington 
built a house in the year 1806-07. He died, 
however, in the town of Rehoboth, Mass., Sept. 
22, 1845, aged fifty-eight years, eight days, and 
was buried in Fall River. The children of 
Jeremiah and Dorcas were: Joseph, born June 

17, 1812, who married Alcy Wilkinson; Hale, 
born Aug. 17, 1814; and Robert K. 

Robert Knisrht Remington, son of Jeremiah 
and Dorcas (Knight) Remington, received his 
early school training in the town of Monson, 
and bis education was completed at Fall Eiver, 
Mass., whither the family removed. His first 
business venture was with his brother. Hale 
Remington, a business pioneer of Fall River, 
the two engaging in a grocery business. Later 
he entered the grocery and drug business with 
Charles M. Shove. For many years he con- 



174 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



trolled a large and important trade, furnishing 
mill supplies. Success and misfortune followed 
each other in his ventures, and twice he suf- 
fered severe reverses, but he paid every claim 
in full, and his integrity was unquestioned, his 
commercial rating first-class. 

Mr. Eemington was always interested in the 
development of his home town, and a gentle- 
man who had long known hjm said of him: 
"Mr. Remington was president of the local 
board of Mutual Reserve Fund Association and 
a director in the Fall River and Crystal Spring 
Bleacheries. He was a very able business man 
and had a most extensive acquaintance. He 
had a large iiLfluence from the fact that his hon- 
esty was everywhere recognized. As a salesman 
he had few equals, and was gifted with great 
tact in meeting men, besides being a close stu- 
dent of human nature. There are very few 
business men in this section of the State who 
had a larger number of acquaintances." 

Mr. Remington was a man of strong and in- 
dependent character and was fearless in his 
convictions. For many years he was active in 
Central Congregational Church, being closely 
identified with both church and Sabbath school 
as well as its various missions, especially the 
Pleasant Street Mission. For many years he 
was superintendent of the Sabbath school, and 
his voice was always heard in conference meet- 
ings. His time, his influence, his money, his 
counsel were always at the service of the so- 
ciety. He thoroughly enjoyed church work; 
especially was he interested in the conversion 
of young men, and he led a life that was in it- 
self practical Christianity. His interest in the 
cause of religion carried him to all parts of 
New England, and lie was active in the mis- 
sions at St. Johnsbury, Vt., and Keene, N. H., 
and was a familiar figure at Y. M. C. A. meet- 
ings. Remington Hall, the auditorium annex 
to the Y. M. C. A. building at Fall River, was 
the gift, in his memory, of Mrs. Remington. 
He was an easy and fluent speaker, and of fine 
personal presence, and was so thoroughly in 
earnest that young men delighted in hearing 
him. On the occasion of a visit to Colby Uni- 
versity, in Maine, he addressed the students on 
"Temperance," the boys turning out en masse 
to hear him, and passing him a vote of thanks 
at the close. He was the friend of young men, 
and many a young man he helped toward his 
education, and in the days of his prosperity 
his generosity was extraordinary, many owing 
their entire success to his generosity, while 
many a fallen man found in him a prop in the 
hour of trouble. Wherever the evangelization 
of young men was to he presented he loved to 



be. Mr. Remington was practical and sincere 
in his advocacy of temperance, and he aban- 
doned smoking because it impaired his in- 
fluence. He viewed with great alarm the 
growth of intemperance among young men, 
and was earnest in advocating total abstinence. 
The clergy of ail denominations found a hearty 
welcome in his home, which was always open, 
especially to 'strangers. He was often heard to 
say that the happiest hours he passed were 
those in the entertainment of poor people in 
his home. Mr. Remington was outspoken in 
his condemnation of the indifference of the 
wealthy toward the demands of religion and 
intemperaiu'e. His method of speech was plain 
and blunt, and though radical in his ideas he 
enjoyed the respect even of those who did not 
sympathize with him. 

Mr. Remington was twice married, his first 
union being with Harriet M. Hill, daughter of 
Ebenezer Hill, a native of Slatersville, R. I. 
She died Dec. 13, 1848. His second wife, Eliza- 
beth Allen Thatcher, of Middleboro, was a 
daughter of Allen C. and Elizabeth Rounsville 
(Peirce) Thatcher. Mr. Remington was sur- 
vived by his wife and six children, five daugh- 
ters and one son, all born to the second mar- 
riage, namely: Mary Elizabeth (now de- 
ceased), wife of William E. Dunham; Harriet 
Thatcher (now dec(!ased), wife of George H. 
Hills (see sketch elsewhere) ; Annie Lincoln 
(who died July 2, 1895), wife of Charles F. 
Borden (who has sketch elsewhere) ; Alice 
Knight, Mrs. Warren S. Barker, who has two 
children, Harold R., who married Edith K. 
Hawes, and Edith R., who married E. Gordon 
Thatcher: Agnes Carleton, who died unmar- 
ried at the age of twenty-one ; and Edward 
Borden, president and general manager of the 
Borden & Remington Company, who married 
Jeanette Milne, daughter of John C. Milne. 

One writer concerning Mr. Remington said : 
"We are hut recalling the lesson of a life which 
among the people of this city [Fall River] and 
elsewhere was 'known and read of all men,' of 
a Christian and churchly character which had 
a deepening influence in this community. The 
individuality and the personality of the gentle- 
man herein commemorated were so striking 
and so distinguishing that he occupied a pecu- 
liar place in the regard and esteem of those 
who knew him. Although of strong convic- 
tions based on faith, he held them with char- 
itv : liis influence was for the common good, 
and his thoughtfulness was always active. Mr. 
Remington was a man who had faith in and 
unfailing kindness for people. He believed in 
men. He counted them worth while, and there- 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



175 



fore he felt it a thing worth doing to give time, 
money, counsel and strength for their moral, 
physical and mental welfare. He was ever 
ready to give his hand to every cause which 
meant the moral uplift of the city ; his voice 
in championship of every enterprise of worth, 
and his cheer to noble enthusiasm." 

A Fall River paper said editorially at the 
time of his death : "The death of Mr. Robert 
K. Remington will be a matter of general and 
deep regret. No citizen of Fall River stood 
higher in the estimation of the people than Mr. 
Remington, and none in whom were all the 
best characteristics of the gentleman, tTie phi- 
lanthropist and the blameless citizen stood 
higher, and he had the rare sense to perceive 
that as a man is his own worst enemy, so, re- 
forming the man, leading him to a better and 
more moral life, was the best way in which to 
improve him and place him on a higher plane 
of intelligence and happiness. Mr. Reming- 
ton was no politician as politicians go, but he 
was always active in promoting the best inter- 
ests of the city, in helping its gi-owth and 
prosperity, in encouraging temperance, and in 
furthering the cause of education and, having 
the courage of opinions which were extreme 
in their boldness as against intemperance, im- 
providence and immorality, there was no mis- 
sionary or reform work in the city in which he 
was not a prominent worker, and an enthusias- 
tic participator." 

Hale Remington, son of Jeremiah and Dor- 
cas (Knight) Remington, was bom Aug. 17, 
1814, in the town of Cranston, R. I. He lo- 
cated in Fall River, Mass., in 183.3 and became 
one of the prominent business men of the town 
and city. On his removal to Fall River he 
entered the employ of Mr. Nathan Durfee, a 
druggist, and it was not long until he was the 
proprietor of the business, which he greatly 
increased by the addition of a stock of chem- 
icals and dye stuffs. In time he also engaged 
in the insurance business, and was successful 
in all these lines. 

Mr. Remington became largely interested in 
cotton manufacturing, was one of the chief 
promoters of the Union Mills in 18.59, and for 
a time he was agent for the Globe Print Works. 
He was one of the incorporators and first di- 
rectors of the Wamsutta Bank, June 4, 1856. 
In ISS.*) he was one of the incorporators of the 
Fall River Five Cents Savings Bank, and was 
chosen secretary of the institution. He died 
at his home in Fall River Aug. 4, 1870. 

Mr. Remington married Catherine Groose- 
beck Van Santvoort, of Swansea, Mass., born 



Nov. 29, 1817, in Albany, N. Y., daughter of 
Peleg and Sarah (Van Santvoort) Barney, and 
they had ten children, born as follows : Clin- 
ton V. S., Oct. 15, 1839; Winfield Scott, May 
5, 1841 (died Dec. 15, 1841) ; Henry Hale, 
Oct. 30, 1843 (died April 21, 1895) ; Joseph 
Augustus, July 10, 1845 (died Jan. 15, 1884) ; 
Laura Minerva, May 26, 1847 (died Aug. 14, 
1848) ; Catharine Hale, July 13, 1849 (mar- 
ried Owen Reynard) ; Sarah Wheaton, Aug. 18, 
1851; Laura Minerva (2), Dec. 14, 1855 (mar- 
ried William D. Merrill) ; Ella Chapin, Aug. 
20, 1860 (died Oct. 27, 1884) ; Clara Dorcas, 
Nov. 26, 1863 (married John H. Hambley). 
Mrs. Hale Remington died Oct. 2, 1884. 

Clinton V. S. Remington, son of Hale and 
Catherine G. Van Santvoort Remington, was 
born Oct. 15, 1839, in Fall River, Mass. He 
was educated in the public schools of his na- 
tive city and began his business career as a 
cotton and cotton cloth broker in Providence, 
R. I. After an experience there of a couple of 
years he returned in September, 1864, to Fall 
River and engaged in the same business there, 
in which he has continued, and that intelli- 
gently and successfully. His first place of 
business in Fall River was on Pocasset street. 
Two years later he removed to the Mount Hope 
block, on North Main street. Here he contin- 
ued until the year 1883, in the meantime asso- 
ciating himself in a copartnership with Wil- 
liam C. Davol, Jr., and they did an extensive 
business together, as dealers in cotton and cot- 
ton goods on Bedford street, until the dissolu- 
tion of the partnership in 1895. Mr. Reming- 
ton is still active in business and enjoys the 
distinction of being the pioneer print cloth 
broker in this section of New England. He 
was for several years a director of the Fall 
River Board of Trade. 

Mr. Remington is a most active business 
man and useful citizen, a leader in everything 
he is connected with. In 1873 and 1874 he 
was a member of the common council, and was 
again a member, as well as president of that 
body, in 1876. For a period in the early years 
of the Civil war Mr. Remington was in the 
service of the government, being in 1861-62 
quartermaster's clerk, under General Rucker, 
and in the field during the winter of 1862. 
But owing to illness incident to his duties in 
the army he was obliged to return to his 
home. He has been active and prominent in 
church work, for many years serving as the 
efficient superintendent of the Sunday school 
of the Central Congregational Church. In 
1897 and 1898 he was chosen vice president of 
the Massachusetts Sunday School Association, 



176 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



was presideijt in 1899, and for twelve years 
was chairman of the finance committee of that 
body, resigning in 1908. He is a member of 
the Masonic fraternity, affiliating with King 
Philip Lodge and Godfrey de Bouillon Com- 
mandery. Knights Templar, and belongs to the 
Society of the Sous of the Revolution. 

On May 18, 1864, Mr. Remington was mar- 
ried to Mary A., daughter of Charles C. and 
Mary (Montgomery) Waterman, of Boston, the 
former a native of New Bedford, Mass., born 
Oct. 19, 1807, tlie latter born Sept. 10, 1810, 
in Andover, Mass. Five children were born to 
Mr. and Mrs. Remington, as follows: Clinton 
V. S., Jr. ; Hale, who in 1899 married Lillian 
C. Reed, and died Nov. 9, 1905, aged thirty-nine 
years; Robert K., who married June 8, 1898, 
Mona Plum Tobin; Berthold M., who married 
June 3, 1891, Helen A. Francis; and Mary 
Waterman, born Feb. 15, 1872, who died April 
12, 1877. Mr. and Mrs. Remington have an 
adopted daughter, Marion A., who is the wife 
of Edward H. Davol, of Fall River. 

FILOON. For several generations the fam- 
ily bearing the name of Filoon has lived in 
Abington and North Bridgewater (now Brock- 
ton), where evidences of their thrift, solidity 
and respectability are manifest, and there also 
have lived the Brett and Fullerton families, 
with which the more recent generations of the 
Filoons have been allied through marriage, the 
Brett family being one of the ancient families 
of the Old Colony and its progenitor an orig- 
inal proprietor of Bridgewater. This article 
is to particularly treat of the branch of the 
Filoon family to which belonged the late Ver- 
anus Filoon, who was long and prominently 
identified with the business and social circles 
of North Bridgewater and Brockton, and his 
son, the present Fred W. Filoon, who as his 
father's successor is continuing the business 
with marked success, as well as the former's 
brother, the present Henry H. Filoon, who has 
long been a leading and successful practicing 
dentist. 

James Filoon, the American progenitor 
of this family, was born in County Armagh, 
Ireland, his ancestors having emigrated to 
Ireland from Scotland on account of religious 
persecution. As was compulsory as late as the 
year 1800, James Filoon served in the English 
army, but becoming dissatisfied with the life 
in the army he and his brother and another 
young man boarded a vessel bound for Amer- 
ica as stowaways, arriving here in 1802. Upon 
his arrival in this country James Filoon set- 
tled in South Abington, Mass., where he lived 



for some years, later removing to Livermore, 
Maine, where he followed the occupation of 
farming. He was of an industrious nature, and 
possessing a quiet, unassuming manner was 
generally liked and esteemed by all who knew 
him. lie was a man very religiously inclined, . 
and both he and his wife were devout members 
of the Universalist Church. James Filoon 
married Christiana Ann Burrell, of Abington, 
Mass. Tliey both passed away in Livermore, 
Maine. To their union were born cliildren as 
follows: Mary, Mrs. Fisher, died in Liver- 
more; James, Jr., was a successful farmer in 
Livermore, and died in Auburn, Maine; John 
Williams is mentioned below; Mehitable, who 
married a Mr. Young, died in Livermore ; Thax- 
ter was successfully engaged in agricultural 
pursuits in Livermore, where he died; Chris- 
tiana died in Maine. 

John Williams Filoon, son of James and 
Christiana Ann (Burrell) Filoon, was born 
Nov. 30, 1811, in Abingtoii (now Whitman), 
Mass., and was reared on his father's farm, 
removing with his parents to Livermore, 
Maine, where lie continued, at home, until he 
reached his majority. At the age of twenty- 
one years he returned to Massachusetts with 
his savings, which amounted to one hundred 
dollars, and settled in Hanover, where he be- 
came engaged in farming. Later he located in 
his native town, Abington, where he became 
engaged in shoemaking, following that occupa- 
tion for a number of years. In 1844 he came 
to North Bridgewater (now Brockton), where 
he continued at his trade, eventually opening a 
shop of his own on the north side of Crescent 
street, adjoining his home, and here he thus 
continued while rearing his family. Under 
his instruction all his boys were taught the art 
of shoemaking, they being given their time 
when they reached the age of nineteen years. 
A careful and painstaking mechanic, and one 
of more than ordinary ability, he was always 
in demand and found no difficulty in obtain- 
ing employment at his trade. Later in life 
he took charge of the estate of the late Chand- 
ler Sprague, where for several years he had 
general charge of the farming on the estate, 
and upon retiring from this position accepted 
a place in the factory of his son, the late Ver- 
anus Filoon, continuing thus employed until he 
had reached the age of seventy-five years, when 
he retired from an active life. 

Although a man who had decided views Mr. 
Filoon was liberal minded, and being of a 
genial and affable nature he retained the friend- 
ships he made and commanded the respect and 
esteem of all who knew him. After coming 





^^^^^i^-^'-^-t^ 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



177 



to North Bridgewater he joined the Central 
Methodist Episcopal Church, and continued a 
consistent member of the same until his death, 
which occurred in Brockton Aug. 18, 1898, in 
the eighty-seventh year of his age. Mr. Filoon 
was a strong Antislavery advocate, and was 
active in giving assistance to the slaves who- 
were secretly transported from New Bedford 
through North Bridgewater on their way to 
Canada. 

On May 2, 1837, Mr. Filoon married Mary 
Fullerton, daughter of Noah Fullerton, of Ab- 
ington, who was a descendant of several of New 
England's historic old families. She was born 
March 9, 1818, and died in Brockton June 29, 
1880, aged sixty-two years. To this union were 
born the following children : John Williams, 
Jr., born Dec. 19, 1837, in Abington, was a 
soldier in the Civil war, being a member of 
Company D, 9th New York Volunteers, and was 
killed at the battle of Winchester, Va., Sept. 
19, 1864 (he was unmarried) ; Veranus, born 
April 25, 1841, is mentioned below ; Henry 
Harrison, born April 4, 1843, is mentioned be- 
low; Martha Jane, born Oct. 21, 1846, in North 
Bridgewater, was married there to Samuel J. 
Wade, and died in Brockton, May 8, 1908; 
Mary Adeline, born Jan. 27, 1850, married 
Alvin Phillips, of Easton, Mass., and died in 
Brockton, March 16, 1901; Frank Wendell, 
-born Jan. 28, 1853, died April 14, 1872, aged 
nineteen years; and Lizzie Emma, born Sept. 
2, 1859, married George A. Dow, of Brockton, 
where they reside. 

Vekanus Filoon, son of the late John 
Williams and Mary (Fullerton) Filoon, was 
born April 25, 1841, in Abington (now Whit- 
man), Mass. When he was about four years 
of age his parents removed to the town of 
North Bridgewater, the son accompanying the 
family hither, and this point, now the city of 
Brockton, continued to be his place of residence 
and field of operations from that time until 
liis death. Until the age of sixteen years he 
attended the public schools of North Bridge- 
water, devoting his spare moments during 
this time to assisting his father in making 
shoes, continuing with him until he had 
reached the age of nineteen years, when his 
father gave him his time. He was then em- 
ployed at needlemaking for a year or more, 
and for a period during the years 1860 and 
1861 worked at the same occupation in Rich- 
mond, Va., where he was located at the time 
of the breaking out of the Civil war. Return- 
ing to North Bridgewater he again took up the 
trade of shoemaking which he followed until 
the last year of the war, when he offered his 

12 



services to his country in its struggle to main- 
tain the Union of the States, enlisting at Read- 
ville, Mass., July 8, 1864, as a member of Com- 
pany C, 60th Regiment, Massachusetts V. M. ; 
he served until the expiration of his term of 
enlistment, Nov. 30th of that year. Upon his 
return from the war he again engaged in the 
shoe industry, in North Bridgewater, on June 
27, 1865, entering the employ of Keith & Pack- 
ard, which firm was composed of the late Aber- 
deen Keith and Davis S. Packard, and engaged 
in the. manufacture of boot counters. Mr. 
Filoon continued in the employ of this firm, 
which was dissolved in 1876 and was succeeded 
by the firm of D. S. Packard & Co., of which 
latter firm Mr. Filoon became the junior mem- 
ber on July 1, 1880. In 1886 the manufacture 
of shoe counters was added to the business, and 
during the succeeding years this firm built up 
a very extensive trade, whicli now extends all 
over the United States, their product being 
well and favorably known in all shoe manufac- 
turing centers in this country. At that time, 
in the middle eighties, Mr. Filoon gave his at- 
tention to the buying of materials and also to 
the selling of their product. In 1895 Mr. 
Packard retired from active business, and Mr. 
Filoon pui-chased his interests in the concern, 
continuing to conduct it alone for a period of 
about two years under the same firm style, 
when he admitted his son, Fred Williams 
Filoon, into partnership. In 1900 the firm 
name was changed to V. & F. W. Filoon, and 
the leather business was added, which has since 
become an important branch of the business 
of this well knov^Ti house. The business was 
conducted under that firm name until the 
death of Mr. Veranus Filoon, which occurred 
July 4, 1905, since which time it has been con- 
tinued by his son, the present Fred W. Filoon, 
as a close corporation. 

Mr. Filoon was a prominent and active mem- 
ber of long standing in the Masonic organiza- 
tion, and had been honored in the several 
bodies to which he belonged. He was a mem- 
ber of Paul Revere Lodge, A. F. & A. M. ; Sa- 
tucket Chapter, R. A. M., of which he was a 
past high priest; Brockton Council, R. & S. M., 
of which he was a charter member and in 
which he bore the distinction of being the first 
thrice illustrious master; and Bay State Com- 
mandery. Knights Templar, of Brockton, of 
which he was a past eminent commander. He 
was also a charter member of the Commercial 
Club of Brockton, and was a member of the 
building committee which had charge of the 
erection of the present commodious club house 
at the corner of North Main and Spring streets. 



178 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



He also held membership in Fletcher Webster 
Post, No. 13, G. A. E., of Brockton. Although 
a stanch Republican in his political views, Mr. 
Filoon never cared for public office, preferring 
to devote his undivided attention to his ex- 
tensive business interests. 

On Sept. 24, 1863, Mr. Filoon was united in 
marriage with Sarah Adelaide Brett, daughter 
of David and Caroline E. (Freeman) Brett, of 
North Bridgewater. Mrs. Filoon, who was a 
devoted and loving wife and mother, and 
whose love for her husband found expression in 
her devotion to her family, survived her hus- 
band, passing away in Brockton Aug. 15, 1909. 
Mrs. Filoon was descended from historic old 
New England ancestry on both maternal and 
paternal sides, her mother, Caroline E. Free- 
man, daughter of Christopher and Elizabeth 
(Meade) Freeman, having traced her ancestry 
to Colonial times through the Meade ' family 
of Boston. On the paternal side Mrs. Filoon 
was a direct descendant in the eighth genera- 
tion from William Brett, who came to Dux- 
bury, Mass., in 1645, from Kent, England, and 
later became one of the original proprietors of 
the ancient town of Bridgewater, locating in 
what is now W^est Bridgewater. He was an 
elder in the church, and often, when Rev. 
James Keith was sick, he preached to the 
people. He, a leading man not only in church 
but also in town affairs, was often representa- 
tive to the General Court of the Colony. The 
Chri.stian name of his wife was Margaret, and 
they had six children, through whom have de- 
scended prol)ably all bearing the name of Brett 
in this country. From this (I) William Brett 
the lineage of Mrs. Filoon is through (II) Na- 
thaniel and Sarah (Hayward) Brett; (III) 
Seth and Sarah (Alden) Brett; (IV) Samuel 
and Hannah (Packard) Brett; (V) Isaac and 
Priscilla (Jackson) Brett; (A^'I) Joseph and 
Olive (Beal) Brett; and (VII) David and 
Caroline E. (Freeman) Brett. In this lineage 
it will be noted that through the marriage of 
the Bretts into other early New England fami- 
lies Mrs. Filoon was also descended from Sam- 
uel Packard, who with his wife and child came 
from Windham, England, in the ship "Dili- 
gence," and settled in Hingham, Mass., in 1638, 
later becoming an early settler of West Bridge- 
water, and through whom have descended prob- 
ably all those bearing the name of Packard in 
this country ; and as well from John Alden and 
Priscilla Mullens, of the "Mayflower," 1620, 
whose courtship has been immortalized in Long- 
fellow's poem. To Mr. and Mrs. Veranus Fi- 
loon were born the following children : Mabel 
Adelaide; a son who died in infancy; Fred 



Williams, mentioned below; and Helen Martha. 

In the death of Veranus Filoon, which oc- 
curred July 4, 1905, at his home. No. 114 Pros- 
pect street, Brockton, that city lost one of its 
prominent citizens and successful business men. 
His death was the result of three successive 
shocks. Mr. Filoon was in every sense of the 
word a self-made man. Endowed with remark- 
able energy and business tact, with a good con- 
stitution and vigorous health, he devoted him- 
self to as many hours of service as he required 
of his employees, and prosperity crowned his 
efforts. He was of a generous, noble nature, 
commending himself not only to his business 
associates and others whom he met in a busi- 
ness way by his practical wisdom, ability, trust- 
worthy judgment and upright honesty of pur- 
pose, but also to the general public by those 
more general qualities of character which go 
to make a complete manhood, and which are 
well calculated to secure the confidence and 
regard of all classes. His habits were largely 
domestic and he took much delight in making 
his home cheerful, pleasant and happy, and in 
it he found his enjoyment, leaving a memory 
which is cherished and honored by his children. 

Feed Williams Filoon, only son of the 
late Veranus and Sarah Adelaide (Brett) Fi- 
loon, was born Sept. 26, 1870, in North Bridge- 
water (now Brockton), and acquired liis edu- 
cational training in the public schools and the 
high school of his native city. After leaving 
school he became a clerk in the office of Bouve, 
Crawford & Co., shoe manufacturers of Brock- 
ton, in which capacity he continued for a pe- 
riod of about iiTe j'ears. In 1892 he entered 
the employ of the firm of D. S. Packard & Co.. 
manufacturers of shoe counters, of which firm 
his father, the late Veranus Filoon, was the 
junior member. In 1897 he was admitted to 
partnership in this business, of which his 
father was then the sole proprietor.' In 1900 
this firm name was changed from D. S. Pack- 
ard & Co. to V. & F. W. Filoon, at which time 
the firm also became dealers in sole leather of 
all kinds, and under this firm name the busi- 
ness was carried on until after the death, in 
1905, of Mr. Veranus Filoon, when it was in- 
corporated under the laws of Massachusetts as 
the V. & F. W. Filoon Company, with a capital 
stock of $100,000, of which Fred W. Filoon is 
the president and treasurer. This concern is 
engaged in the manufacture of shoe counters 
of all kinds and as well as dealers in sole 
leather, giving employment to from 150 to 200 
hands. The product has a ready market in 
every shoe manufacturing center in this coun- 
try. 



SOUTHEASTEEN MASSACHUSETTS 



179 



Mr. Filoon, like his father, is an active mem- 
ber of the Masonic bodies, holding membership 
in Paul Eevere Lodge, A. F. & A. M.; Satucket 
Chapter, R. A. M.; Brockton Council, R. & 
S. M.; and Bay State Commandery, Knights 
Templar, of Brockton. He is also a member 
of the Commercial Club, which numbers among 
its membership the leading business and pro- 
fessional men of the city. He is also identified 
with one of the city's leading financial institu- 
tions, being a director of the Brockton Na- 
tional Bank. In political faith he is a Repub- 
lican, but his strict attention to his increasing 
business interests prohibits him from taking 
an active part in political affairs. 

Although among the younger business men 
of Brockton, Mr. Filoon possesses pronounced 
business acumen, and, notwithstanding the fact 
that in assuming the sole management of the 
business of V. & F. W. Filoon he took charge 
of »-hat liad been for many years a successful 
business enterprise, he has greatly increased 
the volume of business done by the concern. 

On Oct. 22, 1902, Mr. Filoon was united in 
marriage to Mary Helen Whipple, daughter of 
Col. John J. and Helen Otis (Howard) Whip- 
ple, of Brockton, and this union has been 
blessed with one son, John Whipple Filoon, 
who was born June 13, 1906, in Brockton. 

Henry Harrison Filoon, son of the late 
John Williams and Mary (Fullerton) Fi- 
loon, was born April 4, 1843, in South Abing- 
ton (now Whitman), Mass., his parents remov- 
ing to North Bridgewater (now Brock-ton) 
when he was about one year old. His educational 
training was begun in the district school of 
the latter town, where he attended the Sprague 
school, in that part of the town known as Fac- 
tory Village. Leaving school at the age of 
fourteen years, he then took up shoemaking 
with his father, with whom he continued until 
he was nineteen years of age. Being of a stu- 
dious nature, he had kept up his studies after 
leaving school, and having as associates several 
young men who were attending Prof. Sereno 
D. Hunt's Academy he purchased textbooks in 
line with the studies pursued by them. About 
this time he, in company with several other 
young men of his age, engaged Prof. Alfred 
Laws, who was one of the first principals of 
tlip high sdiool, to give them evening instruc- 
tion, and while his days were devoted to shoe- 
making with his father, his evenings and spare 
moments were devoted to study. After leaving 
his father's service he went to work on boots 
for Webster Spear, in whose employ he re- 
mained several months. As there was at 
that time a very great demand for army hand- 



made shoes, he accepted employment sewing 
these shoes for Cyrus Kingman and Emerson 
Kingman, remaining in their employ several 
months. Before the Civil war had closed a 
eliange had taken place in the making of shoes, 
the many small shops in which three or four 
workmen would make the shoes and return 
them to the factories ready for the market giv- 
ing way to the larger factories, where the 
shoes were manufactured in greater num- 
bers and much more speedily, each work- 
man having his special work to do on the 
shoes. For a time Mr. Filoon was employed 
in the factory of the late David Howard, on 
Linden street, but the strain of the gang work 
and rush in the larger factory soon proved too 
strenuous for him, and in the summer of 1863 
he went to Raynham, Mass., where he found 
employment in a smaller factory, remaining 
there until the following winter. In January, 
1864, he returned to North Bridgewater, where 
he went to work on shoe knives in the employ 
of Webster Brothers, in whose employ he con- 
tinued for a period of about two years. Dur- 
ing the summer of 1865 he was offered the op- 
portunity of learning dentistry by the late Dr. 
George E. AVhitney, who was then located in 
the building which stood on Main street, where 
now stands the Goldthwaite building, and on 
Jan. 2, 1866, he entered Dr. Whitney's office 
under a three years' contract. He continued 
in the latter's office until in May, 1867, when on 
account of ill health Dr. Whitney was com- 
pelled to retire for a time and Mr. Filoon then 
v-ent to New Bedford, entering the office of 
Dr. C. G. Davis, on May 20, 1867. There ho 
continued his studies in dentistry for one year, 
on May 20th of the following year returning 
to the office of Dr. Whitney, at North Bridge- 
water, the latter having regained his health. 
After several months he formed a partnership 
with Dr. Whitney, which association continued 
for one year. In April, 1871, Dr. Filoon opened 
an office on his own account for the practice of 
his chosen profession, locating in the building 
at the corner of Main and High streets, where 
now stands the "Metropolitan Hotel" building. 
Here he remained until in July, 1872, when 
upon the completion of Clark's block, at the 
corner of Main and Centre streets, he removed 
his office thereto, and at this location continued 
successfullv engaged in the practice of his pro- 
fession until 1892, when he sold out to Dr. 
Charles E. Foster. On Sept. 1. 1892, Dr. Fi- 
loon formed a partnership with Charles E. 
Johnson, under the firm name of Johnson & 
Filoon, and engaged in the leather business. 



180 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



This partnership continued until Jan. 1, 1896, 
when they withdrew from the business. Dr. 
Filoon then engaged in the real estate and in- 
surance business, in which he was interested for 
a year or two, when upon the death of Dr. 
Charles E. Foster, his successor in the dental 
business, he in 1899 purchased tha business and 
again entered upon the practice of his profes- 
sion. Shortly afterward he removed his dental 
parlors to the Times building, at the corner of 
Main and Pleasant streets, where he has since 
continued in the practice of dentistry, in which 
lie has met with deserving success. 

Fraternally Dr. Filoon is a member of vari- 
ous Masonic bodies, holding membership in 
Paul Revere Lodge, A. F. & A. M. ; Satucket 
Chapter, R. A. M. ; and Bay State Comraand- 
ery. Knights Templar, of Brockton. He is 
one of the charter members of the Brockton 
Dental Society, organized in 1908, and was the 
first president of the society, holding that office 
for two years. He was also a member of the 
Commercial Club for a number of years, hav- 
ing been one of the original members. In 
political faith Dr. Filoon is a Democrat, and 
has served the city as a member of the common 
coiincil from Ward Two — in 1895 and 1896. 
He also served as a trustee of the Brockton 
Public Library for a period of six years, from 
1887 to 1893. Dr. Filoon is one of the original 
incorporators of the Brockton Savings Bank, 
which was incorporated in 1881. He is a mem- 
ber of the Brockton Country Club, and is fond 
of golf as a recreation. He is also a member 
of the Anti-imperialistic League of Massa- 
chusetts, and was for many years a member of 
the Massachusetts Reforfti Club, with head- 
quarters in Boston. 

In early life Dr. Filoon was a member 
of the Central Methodist Episcopal Church, of 
Brockton, and for a time was a teacher in the 
Sunday school, but while at New Bedford, 
Mass., in the office of Dr. Davis, who was a 
Unitarian, he became imbued with the creed 
of Unitarianism and became much interested 
in the doctrines of that denomination as pro- 
mulgated by Rev. William J. Potter, a very able 
Unitarian minister then in charge of the 
church at New Bedford, and whose services he 
attended occasionally. Upon returning to 
North Bridgewater Dr. Filoon found a growing 
class of Unitarians, and joining with them, he 
leased on his own responsibility, for a month, 
Satucket hall, wliore the first service of that 
denomination in the town was held, he furnish- 
ing the organ, choir and seats. Encouraged by 
the increasing attendance the first month, on 



May 1, 1881, the Church of the Unity was or- 
ganized and the expenses of the first month as- 
sumed by the society. For three years the serv- 
ices of the church were held in Satucket hall, 
at the end of which time the society was able 
to erect its present church edifice on W^arren 
avenue. Dr. Filoon has been distinctly in- 
fluential in the church, of which he is an active 
and consistent member, and which he has 
served in various capacities with fidelity and 
faithfulness. He has been a member of the 
standing committee and clerk of the same for 
many years ; has served as superintendent of 
the Sunday School at various times, and has 
been a teacher in the Sunday school since the 
organization of the church. For several years 
he has been president of the Plymouth and Bay 
Conference of the Unitarian Churches. He is 
also a life member of the American Unitarian 
Association, being the first member of that as- 
sociation made by the Brockton society. 

On Sept. C, 1871, Dr. Filoon was united in 
marriage to Catherine Howard Brett, daugh- 
ter of Martin Luther and Catherine (Howard) 
Brett, of Easton, Mass. Mrs. Filoon is a de- 
scendant of several of New England's earliest 
settled families, as well as being descended 
from "Mayflower"' ancestry, numbered among 
whom are John Alden and Priscilla Mullins. 
To Dr. and Mrs. Filoon have been born three 
daughters, as follows: Alice Howard, who is 
the wife of Arthur Hayward Alger, of West 
Bridgewater; Kate Harrison, who was a teacher 
of domestic science in the public schools of 
Washington. D. C, and is now engaged in the 
same profession at New Britain, Conn., and 
Annie Mitchell, who is a trained nurse by pro- 
fession, and resides at home with her parents. 

Dr. Filoon is courteous and affable in man- 
ner, generous in his impulses, and ha\ing been 
a student since his boyhood days is well versed 
on many topics. He is fond of good litera- 
ture, his well selected library affording him 
ample opportunity for literary entertainment. 

CUSHMAN (Acushnet family). For per- 
haps fifty years there has lived in what is now 
Acushnet and figured largely in the industrial 
life of the locality a branch of the ancient and 
historic Cushman family of the Old Colony, in 
the immediate family of the late Emery Cush- 
man, whose early life was passed in Duxbury : 
himself the founder of an enterprise here in 
which lie was succeeded by his son and the lat- 
ter by his sons, all of M'hom contributed through 
the manufacturing plant to the material progress 
and welfare of their localitv. 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



181 



It will be remembered that Eobert Cushman 
was one of the most active and influential men 
in all of the preliminary movements of the Pil- 
grims in going to Leyden and thence to New 
England, he the ancestor of the Cushman family 
here in question, the marriage of whose son into 
the Howland family further identifies it with 
the "Mayflower" party. 

There follows the history and genealogy of 
this Acushnet Cushman family in chronological 
order from this first American ancestor. 

(I) Robert Cushman, a wool carder, of Can- 
terbury, England, married (second) at Ley- 
den, Holland, June 3, 1617, Mary, widow of 
Thomas Chingleton, of Sandwich, England. He 
and William Brewster were agents of the Leyden 
Church in negotiations for removal. He came 
to New England in the "Fortune," in 1631, 
bringing with him his only son, Thomas. He 
returned to England on business of the Colony, 
and died there in 1626. He left his son Thomas 
in the care of Governor Bradford. 

(II) Thomas Cushman, son of Robert, born 
in February, 1608, in England, accompanied his 
father to Plymouth in 1621 in the ship "For- 
tune." He became an important man here in 
church and colony. He married about 1635 
UsLvy Allerton, of "the "Mayflower," 1620; and 
they lived together the long period of fifty-five 
years, she surviving him nearly ten years. Mr. 
Cushman was chosen and ordained elder of the 
Plymouth Church in 1649, and was forty-three 
years in that office. He died Dec. 11, 1691, aged 
nearly ninety-five years. The children of Mr. 
Cushman and wife were: Thomas, born in 
1637; Sarah; Lydia; Isaac, born in 1647-48; 
Elkanah, born in 1651; Feare, born in 1653; 
Eleazer, born in 1656-57; and Mary. 

(III) Thomas Cushman (2), born Sept. 16, 
1637, married (first) Nov. 17, 1663, Ruth, 
daughter of John Howland, of the "Mayflower." 
She died between May 25, 1672, and her hus- 
band's remarriage, which occurred Oct. 16, 1679, 
when he married Abigail Fuller, of Rehoboth, 
and both were members of the church at 
Plympton. He lived on the west side of the 
highway that leads from the Plympton meeting- 
house to the north part of town, aii'l "Colchester 
Brook" ran through his farm, which contained 
a large quantity of land. He died Aug. 23, 
1726, aged eighty-nine years, and was interred 
in the Centre burying-ground at Plympton. His 
children were: Robert, born Oct. 4, 1664; Job, 
born about 1680; Bartholomew, born in 1684; 
Samuel, born July 16, 1687; Benjamin, born in 
1691. 

(IV) Robert Cushman. born Oct. 4, 1664, 
married (first) Persis, who died Jan. 14, 1743- 



44, and at eighty years of age married (second) 
in February, 1744-45, Prudence Sherman, of 
Marshfield. He lived to be ninety-two years, 
eleven months, three days old. His children 
were: Eobert, born July 2, 1698; Ruth, born 
March 25, 1700; Abigail, born July 3, 1701; 
Hannah, born Dec. 25, 1704; Thomas, born 
Feb. 14, 1706; Joshua, born Oct. 14, 1708; and 
Jonathan, born July 28, 1712. 

(V) Joshua Cushman, born Oct. 14, 1708, 
married (first) Jan. 2, 1733, Mary, born Dec. 
6, 1706, daughter of Josiah Soule, of Duxbury, 
and (second) March 5, 1752, Deborah Ford, of 
Marshfield, born in 1718. Mr. Cushman settled 
in Duxbury, coming thither from Lebanon, 
Conn. His children were : Joseph, born in 
1733; Molly, born in 1736; Joshua; Cephas; 
Soule; Paul; ApoUos; Ezra; Consider; Robert; 
Mial; and Deborah. 

(VI) Joseph Cushman, born in 1733, mar- 
ried Elizabeth Sampson, of Middleboro, 
Mass., and lived in that town. He died in 1822, 
aged eighty-nine years. Their children were: 
George, born Jan. 7, 1759; Hannah, born Nov. 
8, 1761; David, born in 1767; David (2), born 
Dec. 22, 1774; Joseph, who died at sea, unmar- 
ried ; Soule ; Mercy ; Abigail ; Lydia Soule ; 
Sarah, and Elizabeth or Betsey. 

(VII) David Cushman, born Dec. 22, 1774, 
married (first) April 18, 1799, Betsey Thomas, 
of Middleboro, Mass., born July 10, 1778. 
He married (second) a Miss Sampson. He 
lived in Duxbury, Mass. His children were : 
Lucy, born Dec. '28, 1799; Elisha, born April 
14, 1802; Sally, born Aug. 16, 1804; Sally (2)^ 
born in Novernber, 1805 ; David, born Sept. 24, 
1807; Cephas, born March 2, 1810; George S., 
born June 25, 1812; Emery, bom July 6, 1814; 
Joseph S., born Sept. 30, 1816; Mial, born June 
23. 1819; and Cephas (3), born Sept. 19, 1836. 

(VIII) Emery Cushman, son of David, was 
born July 6, 1814. in Duxbury, Mass. Condi- 
tions surrounding his boyhood were such as to 
afford him but meagre school advantages, and 
at an early age he began learning the cabinet- 
maker's trade. In 1840, when twenty-six years 
of age. he commenced the business of manu- 
facturing wooden boxes at Providence, R. I., 
continuing at this pursuit there until 1857, 
when he removed to what is now Acushnet, this 
State. Here he built the dwelling hou.se now 
standing on the west side of the Long Plain 
road of the "Parting Ways." which he continued 
to make his home the remaining years of his 
life. In the rear of his residence stood his 
factory building. 

With the rapidly increasing manufacture of 
cotton in and about New Bedford there came 



182 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



an increased demand for the product of Mr. 
Cuslunan, and it was not long ere his business 
outgrew his quarters and he purchased the 
Thomas Wood mill property to the northeast of 
his residence. He removed his business hither 
in the year 1874, and here he carried on opera- 
tions until the time of his death. 

Mr. Cuslunan was a man of large energy and 
tireless industry which, coupled with his rare 
good judgment and care in management and his 
straightforward course — through his honorable 
dealings — met with good success, he being 
abundantly prospered. 

On June 2, 1853, Mr. Cuslmian was married 
to Caroline S., born Aug. 8, 1830, daughter of 
Barnabas and Phoebe Nye (Swift) Douglass 
and a direct descendant of John Douglass, a 
native of Scotland who came to this county and 
settled in Middleboro. Barnabas Douglass 
in early life was engaged in the merchant 
marine service. He later carried on a commis- 
sion business at Savannah, Ga., but still later 
in life he retired to his farm in Rochester, Mass., 
where his death occurred. 

Mr. Cushman for many years was a consistent 
member, as was his wife, of the Methodist 
Episcopal Church, and he an official in the 
church and generous toward its support. 

The children born to Mr. and Mrs. Cush- 
man were: Julia L. D., born Sept. 25, 1854; 
Carrie D. ; Henry W. ; and Emery E. Of these 
Julia L. D. married Pardon T. Gardner and 
they had one child. Earl C, who was born Oct. 
14, 1885 ; the motlier died Jan. 6, 1887. Emery 
E., who was born Oct. 13, 1866, received a pub- 
lic school education, then took a business course 
at Bryant & Stratton's business college, entered 
the factory of liis father and for seventeen years 
was foreman there. He has since been engaged 
in the poultry business, dealing only in fine bred 
stock. He married in August, 1891, Deborah 
C, daughter of Horatio N. and Mary 'J. Wilbur, 
and since in 1896 has been established in a home 
of his own, which he built in that year and which 
is located on the Fairhaven road opposite the 
estate of Mr. Horatio N. Wilbur. Mr. Cush- 
man has been actively identified with the 
affairs of Acushnet and a participant in the 
town's business, having served as a member of 
the school committee and as its chairman and 
as a member of the board of health. One child, 
Mary, Wilbur, born Feb. 23, 1900, has blessed 
his home. Mr. Emery Cushman, Sr., died 
April 5, 1884, at his home in Acushnet, Mass., 
his wife surviving him many vears and dA'ing 
May 31, 1900. 

(IX) Hehry W. CnsHMAN. son of Emery 
and Caroline S. (Douglass) Cushman, was born 



Feb. 20, 1859, in Acushnet, Mass., and there 
passed his lifetime. After his school days were 
over with, after having received a good com- 
mon school education in the local schools, he 
entered the business of his father, assisting him 
in it and in time, after the death of the father, 
became his successor. His father, as stated in 
the foregoing, was a manufacturer of wooden 
boxes, and developed quite an extensive and 
profitable business, which the son aided him in 
very materially. He later carried the enter- 
prise to still greater proportions, and by his 
straightforward course in business, through his 
close attention to his affairs and promptness in 
all business matters, attained for himself high 
standing in business circles and was prospered 
in his undertakings. His business grew to be 
the largest enterprise of its kind in south- 
eastern Massachusetts. 

On Nov. 20, 1885, Mr. Cushman was mar- 
ried to Frances R., daughter of Francis and 
Kate (Brady) Eldredge,_ of Fairhaven, Mass., 
and granddaughter of Capt. Ellis C. Eldredge, 
of that town, and to them came children: 
Henrv E., born Sept. 7, 1886; Emery, born 
Oct. 24, 1887; Ruth, born Oct. 27, 1889; and 
Francis, born Oct. 10, 1895. Of these, Henry 
E. Cushman married Nov. 13, 1907, Bessie M. 
Bigney, and they have one child, Elizabeth, 
born Oct. 14, 1908 ; and Emery Cushman mar- 
ried June 2, 1909, Marion Downes, and they 
have one child, Florence Eldredge, born June 
8, 1910. 

Mr. Cushman died May 12, 1904, at his home 
in Acushnet, Mass., in which community he was 
respected and esteemed ; and since this event 
the business left by him has been carried on by 
his sous Henry and Emery in the interest of 
the heirs, it being incorporated in 1905 under 
the firm name of Henry W. Cushman Co. 
These young men, after receiving quite a lib- 
eral education in the excellent public schools 
of their home town and New Bedford, fur- 
thered their studies in the Military Academy at 
Worcester, Mass. They are worthily wearing 
the family name and sustaining its reputation. 

LUND (New Bedford family). For two 
hundred and more years, since toward the 
close of the seventeenth century, the I;und 
family has played its part in Massachusetts- 
New Hampshire history, the changing of the 
line between the two Commonwealths in the 
middle of the eighteenth century transferring 
them to Now Hampshire. Reference is made 
to the Old Dunstable, Mass.-Nashua, N. H. 
family of the name, and to the especial branch 
of the latter family which in the early years of 



SOUTHEASTEKN MASSACHUSETTS 



183 



the century hut recently closed removed to 
Acushnet, in the town of New Bedford, this 
State. The head of this latter family was the 
late Jonathan P. Lund, who some three- 
quarters of a century ago established the hard- 
ware and tin business, which was long carried 
on by him, assisted in time by his son, the pres- 
ent venerable Parkman Macy Lund, who later 
succeeded the father, the two being among the 
substantial men and worthy citizens of this 
community. 

Members of the Old Dunstable Lund family 
became known to local history from their ac- 
tivity in the campaigns against the Indians, 
and, if we mistake not, the family has figured 
in all the wars in which our country has iieen 
engaged, Maj. John Lund serving in the Eevo- 
hition at the battle of Bunker Hill. 

Thomas Lund, the progenitor of the Lunds 
here considered, appeared an early settler of 
Dunstable, where he was selectman. He had 
children: Thomas, born Sept. 9, 1682; Eliza- 
beth, born Sept. 29, 1684; and William, ^born 
Jan. 25, 1686. It is worthy of note that the 
lineage of Thomas Lund is said to be traced 
to William Du Lund, whose name appears in 
1313 on a list of 400 and more persons wlio 
were pardoned by the King of England for 
participating in the rebellion of that time. 

Of the sons of Thomas Lund, Thomas, Jr., 
was killed by the Indians in 1724, near 
Nashua, N. H. His remains with those of 
others who lost their lives at the same time 
were interred in the Ancient burial ground 
near the State line, in which there is a monu- 
ment (1846) still standing, on which is the 
inscription: "Memento Mori. Here lies the 
body of Mr. Thomas Lund, who departed this 
life Sept. 5th, 1724, in the forty-second year of 
his age. This man with seven more that lies 
in this grave was slew all in a day by the In- 
dians." 

From Thomas Lund, the Dunstable settler, 
the lineage of Mr. Parkman Macy Lund of 
New Bedford is through William Lund, Wil- 
liam Lund (2), Maj. John Lund and Jonathan 
P. Lund. These generations somewhat in de- 
tail and in the order named follow. 

(II) William Lund, born Jan. 25, 16rt6, 
married Rachel Holden. Some time during the 
year 1724, the year in which his brother, 
Thomas Lund, was killed, Mr. Tiimd "being in 
tlie service of his country, was taken prisoner 
by the Indian enemy and carried into captivity, 
•where he suffered great hardships and was 
obliged to pay a great price for his ransom." 
This brief record is all that seems to be known 
of the incident. He was carried into Canada. 



He lived to be eighty-one years of age, dying 
m 1768. His children were : William, born 
July 18, 1717; Rachel; Charity (son), born 
Feb. 16, 1731; and Mary. 

(III) William Lund (2), born July 18, 
1717, married Sarah, and died May 20, 1782. 
Children: Hannah, born in January, 1743; 
V( iliiam, born in May, 1745 (died young) ; 
Sarah, born in April, 1747 ; John, born Feb. 
22, 1749; Levi, born in December, 1754; Re- 
becca, born in March, 1757; William (2), 
born in July, 1759; Mary, born in April, 1762; 
and Augustus, born in December, 1764. 

(IV) Maj. John Lund, born Feb. 22, 1749, 
married Hannah Phelps. He was a patriot 
and officer in the war of the Revolution, and 
was at the battle of Bunker Hill. He died on 
the old Lund homestead March 11, 1822. The 
homestead on the change in State line fell into 
what is Nashua, N. H., and it remained in 
the family until 1897. His children were born 
as follows: Sarah, June, 1772; Lucy, Decem- 
ber, 1773; William, January, 1778; Rebecca, 
December, 1780; Mary, September, 178»; Clif- 
ton, Dec. 7, 1784; John, December, 1788; 
Clarissa, May, 1793; and Jonathan P., Sept. 
17, 1796. 

(V) Jonathan P. Lund was born Sept. 17, 
1796, in Nashua, N. H. In 1831 he removed 
to Acushnet in the town of New Bedford, 
Mass., and in 1836 established the hardware 
and tin business which continued long in the 
Lund name. He was also engaged in another 
New Bedford enterprise, associated with the 
late Charles W. Morgan, the two conducting 
from 1842 to 1862 a candle, paper and, later, 
wall paper factory. He retired from the hard- 
ware business in the year 1864, being suc- 
ceeded in it by his son, Parkman Macy Lund. 

On Nov. 25, 1827, Mr. Lund was married to 
Rebecca Ames Eaton, born Dec. 22, 1799, 
daughter of Jacob Eaton, of South Reading, 
now Wakefield, Mass. To them were born 
children : Parkman Macy was born in Wake- 
field, Feb. 25, 1829; Rebecca H., born June 
7, 1830, married Feb. 18, 1850, Charles A. M. 
Taber, lived in Wakefield and died Sept. 8, 
1901 ; Eliza S., born Feb. 15. 1832, in North 
Fairhaven, married Jan. 9, 1867, James H. 
Carter, and lived in Wakefield ; Jonathan P., 
born Aug. 21, 1834, in New Bedford, married 
Oct. 10, 1860, Rebecca E. Doty, and died Dec. 
31, 1863; Edward, born Sept. 2, 1839, mar- 
ried Oct. 6, 1864, Mary L. Doty, and died June 
10, 1866. The father died at his home, Acush- 
net, New Bedford, Mass., Dec. 4, 1874. The 
mother passed away June 8, 1883. 

Mrs. Lund was a direct descendant of 



184 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



Jonas Eaton, an early settler of Eeading, 
Mass., of which town he was a freeman, 1653, 
served as selectman, etc. He lived m the 
northwest part of Cowdrey's hill. From him 
her descent is through Jonathan Eaton 
and his wife Mary; Xoah Eaton and his wife 
Phebe (Lilley) ; Lilley Eaton and his wife 
Sarah (Emerson) ; and Jacob Eaton and his 
wife Rebecca (Holmes), the latter from 
Bridgewater. Both Lilley Eaton and his son 
Jacob lived in the ancient mansion that for- 
merly stood on the corner of Eaton and Cres- 
cent streets, Reading, Mass. Jacob Eaton was 
one of the founders, and, for more than half 
a century, a deacon, of the Baptist Church. A 
memoir of his life has been published, which 
truly says of him that "he was of noble per- 
son and noble intellect, and long stood in the 
front rank of our citizens, esteemed for his 
integrity, venerated for his wisdom and be- 
loved for his goodness." 

(VI) Parkman Macy Lund, son of Jona- 
than P. and Rebecca Ames (Eaton) Lund, was 
born Feb. 25, 1839, in Wakefield. Mass. _ Com- 
ing to Acushnet, New Bedford, with the 
family in 1831, when a babe, he here acquired 
in the New Bedford public schools and in the 
high school his education. He practically, as 
it were, grew up in the hardware and tin es- 
tablishment of his father, at Acushnet, and 
received from him his business training. In 
1864 he succeeded to the business of his father. 
This he continued engaged in and successfully 
until 1868, when he disposed of it and has 
since given his time to the management of 
his personal interests. 

One has only to read between the lines of 
this family sketch to judge of the stand- 
ing and worth of the Lunds in the 
community in the affairs of which they 
have taken an active part for nearly three- 
quarters of a century. Parkman M. Lund 
was one of the founders of the New Bedford 
Board of Trade. Since January, 1879, he has 
been a trustee of the Five Cents Savings Bank, 
and clerk of the board since 1888. It goes 
without saying that Mr. Lund is one of the 
substantial men of New Bedford and one of 
its esteemed and respected citizens. 

On Jan. 23, 1863, Mr. Lund was married 
to Sarah R., daughter of Clifton Tjund, of 
Nashua, N. H. She died May 23, 1905. Their 
only child was William Clifton Lund, born 
Oct. 27, 1866. 

KEITH (Taunton family). The family 
bearing the name of Keith at Taunton, whose 
head was the late Edwin Keith, Esq., who for 



some sixty years was engaged in business there 
and was one of the highly esteemed and re- 
spected citizens of the place, for upward of 
twenty-five years connected with the Taunton 
Gas Company, long its superintendent and 
treasurer, and who in various capacities served 
liis adopted town and city officially, is a branch 
of the ancient Bridgewater Keith family, the 
progenitor of which was Rev. James Keith, 
formerly of Scotland, who came to New Eng- 
land and soon thereafter became pastor of the 
church at Bridgewater, which he served for 
fifty and more years. 

From this first American ancestor, James 
Keith, the lineage of the late Edwin Keith, of 
Taunton, is through Samuel, Robert, Robert 
(2) and Jonathan Keith. These generations 
follow in detail and regular order. 

(I) James Keith, born in Scotland in 1644, 
was educated at Aberdeen, came to Boston, 
Mass., about 1662, and became the first or- 
dained minister of the church at Bridgewater 
Feb.. 18, 16G4. His pastorate continued until 
his death, a period of more than half a century. 
He o\vned a one-fifty- sixth proprietary interest 
in all the lands of Bridgewater. Mr. Keith 
had much to do with saving the life of the wife 
and son of the Indian chief. King Philip, in 
1676. His death occurred July 33, 1719, in 
Bridgewater, Massachusetts. 

(II) Samuel Keith, son of Rev. James, mar- 
ried in 1703 ,Bethia, daughter of Deacon Ed- 
ward Fobes, and they resided in the South 
parish of Bridgewater, Mass., where Mr. Keith 
died in 1750. Their children were: Constance, 
bora in 1703 ; Amos, in 1705; Samuel, in 1707 ; 
Bethia, in 1710; Susanna, in 1714; Ebenezer, 
in 1716; Robert, in 1718; Jane, in 1730; and 
Benjamin, in 1723. 

(III) Robert Keith, son of Samuel and Be- 
thia (Fobes) Keith, married in 1741 Tabitha 
Leach, and their children were : Robert, born 
in 1742; Phebe; Hazadiah ; Tabitha; Sarah; 
Constant, born in 1752; Wealthy; Sarah; Eliz- 
abeth, born in 1756; and Asa, born in 1758. 
The will of the father of these children was 
made in 1787, and he died in 1796, aged sev- 
enty-seven years. 

(IV) Robert Keith (2), son of Robert and 
Tabitha (Leach) Keith, born in 1742, married 
in 1763 Silence, daughter of Nathan Hartwell, 
and their children were : Hartwell, born in 
1764; Jonathan, horn in 1766; and Sylvanus, 
born in 1767. The father of these died in 1818, 
and the mother in 1808. 

(V) Jonathan Keith, son of Robert (2) 
and Silence (Hartwell) Keith, born in 1766. 



'^^ 





r-nr iy£ C W/a»«« S JirwJGr 



(Lu^j-^^ c/i^JHy 



»«^ 



SOUTHEASTEEN MASSACHUSETTS 



185 



married in 1792 Sarah, daughter of James 
Leacli, and they resided in Bridgewater, Mass. 
He died in 1824 and she died in 1842. Their 
cliildren were: Sylvanus, born in 1792; Jona- 
than, in 1794; Sally, in 179G; Robert, in 1799; 
Olive, in 1801; .Edwin, in 1804; Albert, in 
1807. and Harriet in 1810. Jonathan Keith 
was a soldier in the Eevolution. 

(VI) Edwin Keith, son of Jonathan and 
Sarah (Leach) Keith, born in Bridgewater, 
Mass., in 1804, married June 5, 1831, Betsey, 
born in 1807, daughter of Zebulon and Abigail 
(Leonard) Field, of Taunton, and granddaugh- 
ter of Capt. Zebulon Field and of Col. Nathan- 
iel Leonard. She died Nov. 16, 1885. 

Mr. Keith was reared on a farm and had only 
such educational advantages as the schools of 
his town afforded. His uncle, Mr. James Leach, 
was engaged in business at Taunton, and thither 
young Edwin went at the age of eighteen years 
to learn the trade of a machinist under Mr. 
Leach's direction, apprenticing himself to him. 
In due time the young man was taken into 
partnership with the uncle, and they did busi- 
ness together under the firm style of Leach & 
Keith. Later, on the dissolution of the firm, 
Mr. Keith for a time was engaged in the in- 
surance business in Taunton. During the years 
thus occupied he had so grown in public favor, 
had established such reputation as a capable 
business man of probity and integrity, that in 
1855 he became identified with the Taunton 
Gas Light Company, and from thence onward 
until the time of his death his efforts were un- 
reservedly given to the interests of that corpora- 
tion, he serving it through all of those years as 
superintendent, clerk and treasurer. And not 
only were his qualities of mind and body shown 
in this company, but as selectman, member of 
the Taunton common council, director of the 
Bristol County National Bank, etc. He ever 
took a deep interest in all matters pertaining 
to the advancement of liis adopted town. 

Mr. Keith was a deservedly successful busi- 
ness man. His Judgment was considered sound 
and his counsel was much sought for in busi- 
ness circles, his opinions being always sincerely 
given when sought. He was a man of exalted 
character, which in substance follows as por- 
trayed by his biographer, Samuel Hopkins 
Emery, in his history of Taunton: Mr. Keith 
was. known and loved for his genial tempera- 
ment and amiable disposition. Though his 
life was a quiet, undemonstrative one, yet it 
was eminently a useful one. In the home circle 
it was said of him that his kindly nature car- 
ried always sunshine and peace, and with his 



sunny temperament were united incorruptible' 
integrity and moral worth. He was a prominent 
member of the First Congregational Society 
and Church of Taunton, serving also as dea- 
con of the church many years. He was a con- 
stant attendant on public worship, thus en- 
couraging the heart of his pastor and giving 
his influence in favor of a suitable observance 
of the Lord's Day. While he was temperate, 
moral, strictly virtuous, and rigidly correct in 
his own deportmfent, yet his kindly heart was 
always lenient in judgment of the erring, and 
his opinions of his fellow men were tinged with 
the inborn  charity of his nature. He was a 
man whose moral worth all who knew liim 
attest, and Taunton sustained a severe loss in 
his death. 

The death of Mr. Keith occurred at Taunton, 
Mass., April 30, 1882, suddenly and unexpected- 
ly. He died almost instantly of heart disease. 
At this time, though well advanced in life, be- 
ing in his seventy-eighth year, he was still in 
active business. He had passed upward of sixty 
years of business life in Taunton. The only 
child born to Mr. and Mrs. Keith is the pres- 
ent Miss Sarah E. Keith, who occupies the Keith 
homestead at Taunton, Massachusetts. 

SANFORD. The town of Taunton, which 
included within its original boundaries the 
neighboring village of Berkley, has been the 
home of a branch of the Sanford family for 
about two hundred years. This Berkley- 
Taunton branch of the family, in the line of 
Capt. Joseph Sanford, an active patriot of the 
Revolution, has been more or less eminent in 
professional life. Four of the sons of Capt. 
Joseph Sanford were colleg(J graduates and 
ministers of the gospel ; and several of their pos- 
terity have followed the learned professions. 
One of the grandsons of Capt. .Joseph was the 
late Hon. John Elliott Sanford, of Taunton, 
lawyer, legislator, railroad commissioner, etc., 
who at the time of his death was characterized 
by the local paper as Taunton's "first citizen." 

(I) John Sanford, the first settler by that 
name in New England, was the son of Samuel 
and Ellenor, of Alford, Lincolnshire, England. 
He came to Boston in the 'T^yon" in 1631, 
with Rev. John Eliot, John Winthrop, Jr., 
and others, and his name stands one hundred 
and eight on the list of church membership). 
He was sworn a freeman April 3, 1632, and the 
same year made cannoneer of the fort. Gov. 
Thomas Hutchinson mentioned him among the 
distinguished citizens (Hist. Vol. I, p. 73). 

In 1637 he was disarmed, i. e., deprived of 



186 



SOUTHEASTEEN MASSACHUSETTS 



•his civil privileges because of his support of 
John Wheelwright and Mrs. Anne Hutchinson 
in their controversy with the Colonial authori- 
ties. In March, 1638, he left Boston for Aquid- 
neck, now the island of Ehode Island, with 
William Coddington, Edward Hutchinson and 
sixteen others, having made, as the records 
show, "an honest purchase of tlie island." He 
held many important offices in the Ehode 
Island Colony. He was chosen constable tor 
the year 1640 and lieutenant Jan. 13, 1644. 
The three settlements were united by a com- 
mon charter in 1647, and on May 21st he was 
chosen assistant governor, and acted as coroner. 
He was reelected general assistant May 23, 
1649; chosen general treasurer of the Colony 
May 22, 1655; general recorder and treasurer 
on May 20, 1656; and "clarke" of the General 
Assembly, Eoger Williams having at the same 
time been chosen moderator. He w-as reelected 
"clarke" in 1657-58. He was later deputy for 
Portsmouth to the General Assembly at New- 
port; and Oct. 31, 1677, one of the committee 
to lay out East Greenwich. At the time of his 
death he was president of the Colony. He was 
married (first) about the time he went to 
Boston, to Elizabeth Webb, sister of Henry 
W^ebb. Their children were : John, baptized 
June 24, 1632; Samuel, baptized June 22, 
1634; and Eliphalet, baptized in December, 
1637. He married (second) Bridget, daughter 
of the celebrated Anne Hutchinson, and by 
her had ten children. 

(II) John Sanford, son of John and Eliza- 
beth (Webb), was baptized June 24, 1632. He 
was admitted a freeman at the General As- 
sembly held at Newport May 17, 1653. He 
was a man of learning and filled high offices 
in the Colony. He married Aug. 8, 1654, 
Elizabeth, eldest daughter of Henry Sparhurst, 
of Bermuda. She died Dec. 6, 1660. This 
marriage was blessed with children as follows : 
Elizabeth, born July 11. 1655; Mary, Aug. 18, 
1656; Susanna, July 31, 1658; and Eebeeca, 
June 23, 1660. John Sanford married (sec- 
ond) April 11, 1663. Mary, daughter of Eev. 
Samuel Gorton, of Warwick, and widow of 
Peter Green. To this union were born : Mary, 
March 3, 1664; Eliphalet, Feb. 20, 1666; John, 
June 18, 1672; and Samuel, Oct. 5, 1677. 

(III) John Sanford, son of John and 
Mary (Gorton), was born June 18, 1672. He 
located in Taunton, that is, Berkley, about 
1713, on July 1st of which year he married 
Ahiffail Pitts, born 1689, daughter of Samuel 
Pitts, of Taunton, and granddaughter of Peter 
Pitts. She received fronr her father a tract 
of land described in Liber 4, p. 150. Her 



brothers were: Peter, Ebenezer and Samuel. 
John Sanford was a large land owner and is 
described in one of the records as a mason by 
trade. To him and his wife Abigail was born, 
among other children, a son George. 

(IV ) George Sanford, son, of John and Abi- 
gail (Pitts), born in 1725, lived to the good 
old age of ninety-four years, dying Feb. 19, 
1820. His wife was Mary (or Mercy) Phil- 
lips (1727-1793). 

(V) Joseph Sanford, son of George and 
Mercy (Phillips), was born at Berkley, June 
24, 1761, and died April 12, 1835. Accord- 
ing to his son, John, he was a man who 
"possessed a strong mind in a strong body." He 
taught school in his native town for forty 
winters. He had a reputation for skill in navi- 
gation, algebra and other branches of mathe- 
matics, and used to amuse himself in winter, 
after he had become too old to teach, by cal- 
culating eclipses. He was a soldier in the war 
of the Eevolution, with the rank of captain. 
In 1785 he married Eleanor Macomber, born 
Aug. 3, 1763, died Aug. 11, 1844. Their 
children were: James, John, Eleanor (mar- 
ried Abner Pitts), Alpheus, Enoch, Joseph, 
Baalis and Mary. Four of these six sons were 
graduates of Brown University, James and 
John in the class of 1812, Enoch in 1820 and 
Baalis in 1823. They all afterward entered the 
ministry. James, born May 7, 1786, was for 
some years pastor of churches of the Congre- 
gational denomination in the States of New 
York and Massachusetts; John, bom Sept. 12, 
1788, is mentioned below; Enoch, born Nov. 30, 
1795, was for two years a tutor at Brown and 
then pastor of the First Congregational Church 
at Eaynham, Mass., for twenty-five years; 
Baalis, born July 16, 1801, after his gradua- 
tion from the Andover Theological Seminary, 
in 1826, was pastor of the Congregational 
Churches at East and West Bridgewater, 
Mass., 1827-49, and of Trinity Church, East 
Bridgewater, 1850-61. 

(VI) John Sanford, son of Joseph and 
Eleanor (Macomber), was born Sept. 12, 1788, 
at Berkley, and died at Taunton, July 11, 1866. 
In 1815 he was ordained a Congregational 
clergjTnan and for three years preached as an 
evangelist. From 1818 to 1829 he was pastor 
of the church at South Dennis, Mass. In 1824 
he married Sophia lioud, of Weymouth, Mass., 
born May 4, 1790; died Nov. 11, 1869. Their 
children were : Baalis, born April 20, 1825, 
died Nov. 29, 1875; Sarah, born March 23, 
1828, died Jan. 24, 1832; John Elliott, born 
Nov. 22, 1830, died Oct. 11, 1907; James, bom 
May 10, 1832, died Oct. 23, 1832. 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



187 



(VII) John Elliott Sanfokd, son of John 
and i'ophia Loud, was born Nov. 22, 1830, 
at South Dennis, Mass. He had a long and 
active life, the greater part of which he lived 
in Taunton, where his death occurred Oct. 11, 
1907. The following sketch of his career ap- 
peared in the Taunton Daily Gazette of Oct. 
12th, of that year: 

"His withdrawal from the sphere of earthly 
activity causes general sorrow, for since he 
started out as an earnest and ambitious young 
man, he has been a leader easily in all things 
in which he interested himself and a guide and 
safe counsellor for others. No doubt heredity 
and the healthful associations of early home 
training had great influence in shaping his life. 
He was the child of a family where the typical 
plain living and high thinking of three quar- 
ters of a century ago was the rule, for his 
father was a country minister, and his home 
life as a youth was that of so many eminent 
men and women who were fortunate enough 
to have a similar ancestry. 

"Rev. John Sanford, his father, was a native 
of Berkley, and came of the old-fashioned ster- 
ling New England stock which considered it 
an honor to a family and to a town to have 
one of its sons assume the responsibilities of 
the ministerial profession. The Sanford fam- 
ily, too, has made its record for the number 
of its sons who in the pulpit, law, medical and 
business field gave proof of superior ability in 
the chosen line of service by successful lives in 
widely diverging paths. During a settlement 
of the father as minister of the Congregational 
Society at Dennis, John Elliott was born on 
Nov. 22, 1830, and Dennis was his home for 
the early years of his boyhood. Life in a Cape 
Cod village nearly seventy-seven years ago was 
not broadening save in the matter of home in- 
fluence, and the salary of a parish minister of 
those days, although sufficient for the neces- 
sities of life, called for the strictest economy 
and gave no room for luxuries. One thing is 
certain, the minister fared as well as his people, 
and his activities covered a wider mental 
range and his family felt the vivifying in- 
fluence. Before his children were old enough 
to listen to the 'calling of the sea,' which 
used to lure almost all the boys of the Cape, 
Eev. Mr. Sanford determined to retire from 
the ministry and live where he could give his 
children the benefit of a liberal education. He 
chose Amherst as his home, and there at a 
good local academy the subject of this sketch 
was prepared for college and matriculated at 
Amherst in 1847, in his seventeenth year. He 
was graduated in 1851 and the character of 



his work was shown by the fact that he was the 
first scholar of his class and was awarded the 
ionor of the valedictory address on the com- 
mencement program. The promise of his 
young manhood was not dimmed by neglect 
and failure in his later years. Tiie high siaiid- 
ard set by his ancestors and kinfolk was main- 
tained until the end. For a time he served 
his college as a tutor and taught in other 
places, including Bristol Academy in this city, 
while studying law